

2022 Rivian R1S & R1T Replace Accelerator Pedal

NHTSA Recall No. 23V-883 Rivian Recall No. FSAM-1342

IMPORTANT SAFETY RECALL

Dear <FirstName LastName,>

This notice is sent to you in accordance with the National Traffic and Motor Vehicle Safety Act. Rivian Automotive, LLC has decided that a defect which relates to motor vehicle safety exists in certain model year 2022 Rivian R1S and R1T vehicles. Our records show that you are the owner of a vehicle affected by this condition.

What is the problem?

The accelerator pedal may not detect when the driver releases the pedal in hot cabin temperatures, failing to activate "auto-hold" or "park" as intended. If this occurs, the vehicle may not automatically go into "auto-hold" or "park". This condition may cause the vehicle to creep forward. If this occurs, the driver will be required to take other action to place the vehicle into "hold" or "park," such as depressing the brake pedal and/or pressing the "park" button. If the vehicle does not automatically go into "auto-hold" or "park," this may increase the risk of a crash.

What will Rivian do?

Rivian has already implemented a new software update (2023.46.01 or 2023.50). Software update should take an hour to complete.

Rivian will also replace all subject accelerator pedals, free of charge.

What should you do?

Please call 1-855-748-4265 to schedule the accelerator pedal service repair with your Rivian

Service Center immediately. The estimated service time should take less than an hour to complete, please plan accordingly. Information about this recall is listed on our website. <u>https://rivian.com/support/article/recall-information</u>



Do you have other questions?

If you have further questions or if you no longer own this vehicle, please call Rivian Service Support at 1-855-748-4265. For additional information please visit NHTSA.gov/recalls. If you believe that Rivian has failed or is unable to remedy the defect within a reasonable time or without charge, you may submit a complaint to the Administrator, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 1200 New Jersey Avenue S.E., Washington, D.C. 20590, or call the tollfree Vehicle Safety Hot Line at 1-888-327-4236 (TTY: 1-800-424-9153) or visit <u>www.safercar.gov</u>.

Federal law requires that you forward a copy of this safety recall notice to the lessee within 10 days.

Thank you for your attention to this important matter. The quality and safety of your vehicle is of the utmost importance to us.

Rivian





Federal law requires any lessor who receives this notification pertaining to any leased motor vehicle to send the notice to the lessee within 10 days.