Subarunet Announcement

To: All Subaru Retailers

From: Subaru of America, Inc.

Date: February 6, 2018

UPDATE - Takata Recall Expansion -TKA-18, TKB-18, TKC-18

Affected VINs

Affected vehicle information will be loaded into the system tomorrow. Affected VIN lists will be distributed to each Region/Zone.

Bulletin

The TKA18/TKB18/TKC18 bulletin will be posted to STIS once affected vehicle information is loaded into the system.

Owner Notification

Owner notification for all affected vehicles, <u>except Forester</u>, will begin on February 9. Owner notification for all affected Forester vehicles will occur by March 9.

As previously announced in 2016 and 2017, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) is prioritizing the recalls of all non-desiccated Takata-sourced passenger side Takata air bag inflators based on the risk of injury or death to vehicle occupants. NHTSA has ordered the automakers to prioritize the Takata recalls by age and location of the vehicles. To do so, NHTSA has established three geographical Zones – A, B, and C – based on the level of heat and humidity.

The next scheduled phase of the Takata recall expansion will include 229,538 additional U.S. Subaru vehicles, which involves <u>adding one additional model year to each Zone</u> as listed below:

- Zone A vehicles 2013 model year and older (Recall code TKA-18)
- Zone B vehicles 2010 model year and older (Recall code TKB-18)
- Zone C vehicles 2009 model year and older (Recall code TKC-18)

Future phases of the Takata recalls will be implemented each year until the year 2020, to include additional vehicles until all non-desiccated Takata-sourced passenger side Takata air bag inflators are recalled.

Affected Vehicle Information

The following models will be added to the Takata recalls in this phase of the expansion.

- Vehicles with registration history in Zone A:
 - 2013 Legacy and Outback
 - o 2013 WRX and STI

- o 2013 Forester
- o 2013 Tribeca
- Vehicles with registration history in Zone B:
 - o 2010 Legacy and Outback
 - o 2010 Impreza, WRX, and STI
 - o 2010 Forester
 - o 2010 Tribeca
- Vehicles with registration history in Zone C:
 - o 2009 Legacy and Outback
 - o 2009 Impreza, WRX, and STI
 - o 2009 Forester
 - o 2009 Tribeca

In addition, any older models not previously recalled which have established registration within Zones A or B since recalls TKA17 and TKB17 were implemented last year will also be included in this phase of the expansion.