

NOTIFICATION OF SAFETY RECALL J069 (NHTSA # 16V-373): PASSENGER AIRBAG

SERVICE BULLETIN

01-JUN-16 NO.: 7-110USA SEC.: RECALL

Jaguar Land Rover North America, LLC has informed the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) of its intent to perform a voluntary Safety Recall on 2009-2011 model year Jaguar XF vehicles imported into the United States market. Information relating to the Recall will be posted on the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration website.

United States Federal regulations require that retailers must be advised of this Recall notification within three working days after government notification.

United States Federal law requires retailers to complete any outstanding safety Recall service before a new vehicle is delivered to the buyer or lessee. Violation of this requirement by a retailer could result in a civil penalty of up to \$21,000.00 per vehicle.

This Recall Service Bulletin serves as notification to all Jaguar retailers in the United States and Puerto Rico that any affected new vehicles may not be sold and delivered for customer use until the Recall repair is completed.

DESCRIPTION

An issue has been identified on a limited number of vehicles listed in the Affected Vehicle Range with a potential defect in front passenger airbag inflators where Ammonium Nitrate without desiccant propellant is utilized in frontal airbags.

AFFECTED VEHICLE RANGE

A total of 20,016 vehicles are potentially involved in the USA and Territories as listed in the Appendix.

XF (X250)

Model Year: 2009-2011

VIN: SAJWA05BX9HR0002-SAJWA0FB8BLS20750

EFFECT ON VEHICLE OPERATION

Activation of a non-desiccated ammonium nitrate inflator with degraded propellant may result in an inflator rupture. An inflator rupture may cause metal fragments to pass through the airbag and into the vehicle interior at high speed, which may result in injury or death to vehicle occupants.

SERVICE PROGRAM / REWORK ACTION

Jaguar Land Rover is currently sourcing replacement parts for this Recall. Parts are therefore not available. Retailers will receive updates on parts availability as soon as information becomes available. A Technical Bulletin will be published to TOPIx once a service repair is available. At that time, owners will be notified by mail to take their vehicle to a Jaguar retailer who will replace the front passenger airbag.

There will be no charge to owners for this action.

OWNER NOTIFICATION

Owners will receive an interim notification by mail on or before 31 July 2016. They will receive a further notification by mail once a service repair is available.

Affected vehicle range state that this recall includes 2009-2011 model year US Jaguar XF vehicles that have ever been registered in the States and Territories listed in the Appendix under Zone A.

ACTION TO BE TAKEN

Check DDW to ensure that the vehicle is affected by this program (J069) prior to undertaking any rework action.

Retailers are required to **HOLD** only affected new vehicles that are within your control and refrain from releasing the vehicles for **new vehicle sale** pending completion of the rework action.

Sold vehicles will be subject to the standard Recall notification and Recall bulletin process detailing the action required for vehicles in the hands of owners.

A Technical Bulletin will be published to TOPIx once repair instructions are finalised and all required parts have been procured.

Jaguar Land Rover North America recommends that affected sales demonstrator and loaner vehicles are repaired before use and that used vehicles are repaired before sale. In addition, *Fixing America's Surface Transportation Act* (FAST Act) of 2015, effective June 1, 2016 now prohibits any company or retailer with fleets greater than 35 vehicles from renting unrepaired recalled vehicles.

Thank you for your cooperation in this matter. Jaguar Land Rover North America apologizes for any inconvenience this may cause.

SAFETY RECALL JO69: APPENDIX

ZONE A STATES AND TERRITORIES:

Alabama, California, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, Texas, Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Guam, The Northern Mariana Islands (Saipan), The U.S. Virgin Islands.