Subarunet Announcement



To: All Subaru Retailers From: Subaru of America, Inc. Date: July 14, 2016

Subject: UPDATE - Takata Recall Expansion – New Subaru Recall Campaigns TKA-16, TKB-16, TKC-16

As previously posted, the National Traffic and Highway Safety Administration (NHTSA) has announced the planned expansions of the Takata airbag inflator recall to an additional 35 to 40 million vehicles from various manufacturers nationwide.

Subaru will be affected by these expansions, for frontal passenger-side air bag inflators only.

Subaru vehicles do not contain any Takata-sourced frontal driver-side air bags.

Parts Information and Repair Procedures

Affected VIN information will be loaded today, and the product campaign bulletin is now available on STIS. Please refer to page 4 of the bulletin regarding the status of the parts and service procedures.

As a reminder, if a customer requests a loaner car due to the insufficient supply of parts, retailers should make every effort to comply with this request, and should follow normal warranty procedures to obtain reimbursement for the loaner car. See Section 8.4.7 of the Claims Policies and Procedures Manual on subarunet.com for details on rental authorizations.

Owner Notification

Owner notification letters will be mailed on July 22, 2016, and emails will be sent to all affected owners with a valid email address on file with MySubaru.com. With the exception of 2009 model year Legacy and Outback, this will be an interim notification until sufficient parts supply is available.

Expansion Schedule

The expansions are planned to take place in phases between now and the beginning of the year 2020. Under the Amended Consent Order, Takata will file Defect Information Reports (DIRs) covering all nondesiccated frontal Takata PSAN inflators by December 31, 2019. Takata will submit DIRs on a rolling basis prioritized by risk as set forth in the schedule in the Amended Consent Order.

Each phase of the expansions will address the most at risk vehicles first and is divided into three geographic zones based on temperature fluctuations and humidity and the exposure time required under those environmental conditions to degrade the propellant to the point where it poses an unreasonable risk to safety.

NHTSA may alter the schedule at any time to protect the public from an unreasonable risk to safety.

Zone Identification

The registration history search is complete. Listed below are the definitions of each zone and affected vehicle counts:

- <u>Zone A</u>: The first phase of the expansion for this zone will include certain <u>2003-2011</u> model year Subaru vehicles with registration history in Zone A, which includes states and U.S. territories with the greatest temperature cycling and absolute humidity.
 - Zone A includes: Alabama, California, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, Texas, Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands (Saipan), and the U.S. Virgin Islands.
 - For identification purposes, Subaru will assign recall code <u>TKA-16</u> to the <u>Zone A</u> vehicles (approximately 300,000 vehicles).
 - The <u>TKA-16</u> recall affects Takata non-desiccated frontal passenger-side air bag inflators containing Phase Stabilized Ammonium Nitrate for Zone A, for vehicles not already covered under the current Takata recalls. Potentially affected Subaru models found to have had Zone A registration history will include:
 - 2003-2004 Legacy and Outback
 - 2003-2006 Baja
 - 2009-2011 Legacy and Outback
 - 2006-2011 Impreza and WRX
 - 2009-2011 Forester
 - 2006-2011 Tribeca
- <u>Zone B</u>: The first phase of the expansion for this zone will include certain <u>2003-2008</u> model year Subaru vehicles with registration history in Zone B, but not in Zone A, which includes states with moderate temperature cycling and absolute humidity.
 - Zone B includes: Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.
 - For identification purposes, Subaru will assign recall code <u>TKB-16</u> to the <u>Zone B</u> vehicles (approximately 145,000 vehicles).
 - The <u>TKB-16</u> recall affects Takata non-desiccated frontal passenger-side air bag inflators containing Phase Stabilized Ammonium Nitrate for Zone B, for vehicles not already covered under current Takata recalls. Potentially affected Subaru models found to have had Zone B registration history will include:
 - 2003-2004 Legacy and Outback
 - 2003-2006 Baja
 - 2006-2008 Impreza and WRX
 - 2006-2008 Tribeca
- <u>Zone C</u>: The first phase of the expansion for this zone will include certain <u>2003-2004</u> model year Subaru vehicles with registration history in Zone C, but not in Zones A or B, which includes states with lower temperature cycling and absolute humidity.
 - Zone C includes: Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
 - For identification purposes, Subaru will assign recall code <u>TKC-16</u> to the <u>Zone C</u> vehicles (approximately 63,000 vehicles).

- The <u>TKC-16</u> recall affects Takata non-desiccated frontal passenger-side air bag inflators containing Phase Stabilized Ammonium Nitrate for Zone C, for vehicles not already covered under current Takata recalls. Potentially affected Subaru models found to have had Zone C registration history will include:
 - 2003-2004 Legacy and Outback
 - 2003-2004 Baja

We sincerely appreciate the efforts and cooperation of our retailers as we work through this unprecedented recall. Please realize that most of these customers are in the later stages of their ownership cycle and will be considering their next vehicle purchase. Let's take every opportunity to take care of these customers and provide a great service experience, despite the circumstances.