PB92-196252

Digest of State Alcohol-Highway Safety Related Legislation

Current as of January 1988

Sixth Edition

REPRODUCED BY U.S. DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE NATIONAL TECHNICAL INFORMATION SERVICE SPRINGFIELD, VA 22161



U.S. Department of Transportation

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

DIGEST OF STATE ALCOHOL-HIGHWAY SAFETY RELATED LEGISLATION

SIXTH EDITION

CURRENT AS OF

· .

JANUARY 1, 1988

U.S. Department of Transportation National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Washington, DC 20590

PREFACE

Drunk driving continues to be one of our nation's most serious public health and safety problems. It is, in fact, a national epidemic which transcends State boundaries and from which no one is immune. In excess of 50 percent of all drivers killed each year have blood alcohol concentrations (BACs) higher than the legally recognized limit, 0.10 percent. In single vehicle fatal crashes, more than 65 percent of the drivers who died were legally drunk. Over the past decade, the United States has experienced an average of 25,000 deaths per year involving alcohol. Therefore, approximately one quarter of a million persons have been killed in alcohol-related crashes in the past ten (10) years.

Injuries and costs to society are equally staggering. Over 650,000 persons per year are injured in alcohol-related crashes. Estimates of the costs of these crashes vary widely. However, it has been estimated that such crashes cost the nation over \$24 billion per year in damages, hospital costs, lost work, etc., in addition to the needless pain and suffering. The toll is especially tragic for our young. On the average, 14 teenagers are killed and 360 injured every day. The leading cause of death for the 15-to-24-year age group is drunk driving.

Because of increased national awareness, much activity concerning alcohol legislation has occurred and is occurring. This digest is an attempt to summarize the existing legislation as of January 1, 1988.

i i i i

6th Edition

• .

New York Contraction of the Cont a Article and A and the second and the second and the second

,

 $e^{-i\omega t}$, $e^{-i\omega t}$, $e^{-i\omega t}$, $e^{-i\omega t}$, $e^{-i\omega t}$, $e^{-i\omega t}$, $e^{-i\omega t}$,

r a star

-..

CONTENTS

.

.

PREFACE
INTRODUCTION
ANALYSIS BY STATE - HIGH INTEREST LEGISLATION
STATE LAW SUMMARY ANALYSIS
Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
District of Columbia3-65
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana

Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Puerto Rico
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee

•

•

Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming
APPENDIX A - UNIFORM VEHICLE CODE
APPENDIX B - FEDERAL ALCOHOL INCENTIVE GRANT CRITERIA

.

1

. •

6th Edition

a . . .

· . . .

.

.

ан арана 19 19 - Сарана Сарана 19 - Сарана Сарана (с. 1997)

.

.

PURPOSE

This Digest is designed for use by anyone interested in State laws related to alcohol and drug use and highway safety. It provides the reader with the status of such State laws as of January 1, 1988.

ORGANIZATION

The Digest is divided into three main areas: (1) Introduction; (2) High Interest Legislation; and (3) State Law Summary. The Summary is organized by State and then by specific legal topics. The Summary includes code and, where needed, case law citations; these should help individuals conducting additional research in this area of the law. It should be noted that the Summary can be used to facilitate the comparison of State laws in the subject areas.

The Digest also includes two appendices, using the State Law Summary's format, giving (1) the Uniform Vecicle Code's alcohol and drug driving offense provisions and (2) certain criteria for Federal Alcohol Incentive Grant Funds under 23 USC §408.

EXPLANATIONS

The following statements clarify the contents of and/or establish certain presumptions used in the Digest.

1. For each State in the Summary, the section on "Other Tests for BAC Levels which are Authorized by Law" identifies other bodily substances (e.g., blood) which may be tested under the implied consent law. Thus, a driver who refuses to submit to such tests, if legally requested to do so by a law enforcement officer, could be subjected to the same sanctions as those specified for a refusal to submit to a chemical breath test.

2. The sanctions listed for convictions of alcohol/drug related driving offenses (e.g., driving while impaired, driving while intoxicated, illegal <u>per</u> <u>se</u>, etc.) are those specified by statute. If a sanction is not <u>specified</u> by law (e.g., community service, et al.), it is not listed.

3. The term "mandatory sanction" means either a criminal sanction (e.g., jail, fine or community service) or an administrative licensing action (e.g., license suspension or revocation) which <u>must</u> be imposed by either a court or an administrative agency. That is, statutory law specifically requires that such sanction be given; this may be accomplished by denying either the court or the administrative agency the power to either suspend or otherwise prevent the imposition of such sanction.

4. Unless otherwise stated, the sanctions are the same for all alcohol driving offenses (e.g., driving while under the influence, illegal <u>per se</u>, et al.). Likewise, sanctions for alcohol and drug driving offenses are the same unless otherwise specified.

6th Edition

1-1

5. States without vehicle homicide laws treat deaths, which are caused by persons while operating motor vehicles, under their general criminal homicide laws such as manslaughter.

6. For each State in the Summary, in the section on "Driving After License hasbeen Suspended or Revoked for an Alcohol Driving Offense," the general sanctions for operating a vehicle while in a license suspension/revocation status are given in the absence of any specific sanctions dealing with the exact subject of the section.

7. A number of States have adopted the concept of a dram shop law via case law decisions. State courts making such decisions have used a multiplicity of legal theories in their opinions. Citations to major case law decisions are give in this Digest. Note: Some States have both case law and statutes.

8. The "Open Container" Law section also includes State laws which prohibit the consumption of alcoholic beverages in motor vehicles.

9. A statute or regulation banning "Happy Hours" means one that prohibits the sale of alcoholic beverages below the price per quantity normally charge for such beverages

LEGISLATIVE SUBJECT AREAS

•: ,

2

pi i

- o Basis for an Alcohol Driving Offense and BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) Level
- o Basis for a Drug Driving Offense (Types of Drugs)
- o Chemical Breath Tests
 - o Preliminary
 - o Evidential (Implied Consent Law)
- o Other Tests for BAC/Drugs Under the Implied Consent Law
- o Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a Chemical Test Under an Implied Consent Law
- o Adjudication of Alcohol Driving Offenses
 - o Mandatory Adjudication
 - o Anti-Plea Bargaining Statutes
 - o Pre-Sentence Investigation

o Sanctions Following a Conviction for an Alcohol Driving Offense

- o Criminal
- o Administrative (Civil: Pre-conviction and Post conviction)
- o Rehabilitation
- o Vehicle Impoundment
- o Homicide by Vehicle:
- o Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis was an Alcohol Driving Offense
- o Habitual Offender Laws
- o BAC Tests Required for Persons Killed as a Result of a Traffic Crash
- Laws Establishing Minimum Ages Concerning the Use of Alcohol Beverages
- o Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions

- Laws Concerning Criminal/Administrative Actions Against Employees/Owners of Licensed Liquor Establishments who Sell Alcoholic Beverages to Persons who are under the Legal Drinking Age or who are Intoxicated
 Laws Prohibiting "Happy Hours"
 Laws Prohibiting the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic
 - Beverages in Motor Vehicles (the Passenger Compartment)
 - Laws Prohibiting the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in Motor Vehicles

ABBREVIATIONS

- c1	=	class
cons	=	consecutive
dy	=	day
dys	=	days
hr	=	hour
hrs	=	hours
mand	=	mandatory
misd	=	misdemeanor
mo	=	month
mos	=	months
N/A	=	not applicable
n.a.	=	not available
off	=	offense
offs	=	offenses
rev	=	revocation
susp	=	suspension
UVC	=	Uniform Vehicle
veh	Ξ	vehicle
w/n	=	within
yr	=	year
yrs	R	years

Code

FEEDBACK

We intend, of course, to update this publication periodically. Accordingly, the NHTSA staff would appreciate receiving any comments that you might have concerning improving any future digest's readability or accuracy.

Any comments, corrections or new information should be sent to:

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Office of Alcohol and State Programs - Code NTS-20 400 7th Street, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20590

Attention: Legislative Resource Center

Telephone: (202) 366-2729

Finally, NHTSA staff hopes that this document will be useful to you. If you are interested in receiving updates to this Digest, please let us know via either telephone or letter.

						÷ .		
				Admin-				
	Implied Consent Ref			istrative	Administrative Per Se			
STATE	PBT1	PBT ¹ <u>Mand Min Lic Acti</u>		Per	(Mand Min Licensing Action)			
	Law	lst	2nd	Se	lst	2nd	3rd	
		Refusal	Refusal	(BAC	Offense	Offense	Offense	
				Level)				
AL		S-90 dys	S-1 yr	<u>N</u>		·		
AK	X	R-90 dys	R-1 yr	Y-0.10	R-30 dys	R-1 yr	R-10 yrs	
AZ		S-12 mos	S-12 mos	Y-0.10	S-30 dys	S-90 dys	S-90 dys	
AR		S-6 mos	S-1 yr	N				
CA		S-6_mos	S-2 yrs	A ²				
co	X	R-1 yr	R-1 yr	Y-0.15	R-1 yr	R-1 yr	R-1 yr	
CT		S-6 mos	S-1 yr	N				
DE	х	R-6 mos	R-18 mos	¥3	R-3 mos	R-1 yr	R-18 mos	
DC		S-12 mos	S-12 mos	¥4				
FL	X		S-18 mos	N				
GA		S-6 mos	S-6 mos	N				
HI		R-12 mos	R-2 yrs	N				
ID		S-180 dys	S-180 dys	N		- -		
IL	X		S-90 dys	Y-0.10		S-90 dys	S–90 dys	
IN		S-1 yr	S-1 yr	Y-0.10	S-180 dys ⁵	S-180 dys5		
IA	X		R-360 dys6	Y-0.10		R-1 yr	R-1 yr	
KS	X			N				
кү	х			A7				
LA		S-90 dys	S-545 dys	Y-0.10	S-30 dys	S-365 dys	S-365 dys	
ME		S-90 dys	<u>S-1 yr</u>	<u>Y-0.10</u>				
MD	X			N			· ·	
MA		S-120 dys	S-120 dys	A7				
MI	X		S-1 уг	N				
MN	X			Y-0.10				
MS	X	<u>S-90 dys</u> 8	<u>S-90 dys8</u>	<u>Y-0.109</u>				
MO			R-1 yr	Y-0.13				
MT		S-90 dys	R-1 yr	N				
NE	х	R-60 dys	R-6 mos	N		·		
NV	х	R-1 yr	R-3 yrs	Y-0.10				
NH	X	R-90 dys	R-1 yr	N				
NJ		R-6 mos	R-2 yrs	N				
NM		R-1 yr	R-1 yr	Y-0.10	R-90 dys10) R-1 yr	R-1 yr	
NY	х	R-6 mos	R-1 yr	A7				
NC	х	R-6 mos	R-12 mos	Y-0.10 ⁹	R-10 dys	R-10 dys	R-10 dys	
ND	X	R-1 yr	R-2 yrs	<u>Y-0,10</u>	<u>S-30 dys</u>	S-364 dys	S-2 yrs	
он				A7				
ок		<u> </u>		Y-0.10				
OR		S-90 dys	S-l yr	Y-0.08	S-30 dys	S-1 yr	S-1 yr	
PA	x	S-12 mos	S-12 mos	N				
PR	X			<u>N</u>				
Rİ	X	S-3 mos	S-1 yr	N				
SC		S-90 dys	S-90 dys	N		·		
SD	х			N		- -	- -	
TN				N				
TX				N		<u></u>		

ANALYSIS BY STATES -- HIGH-INTEREST LEGISLATION TABLE 1

١,

2 - 1

STATE F I		Implied C	Consent Ref	Admin- istrative	Admi	nistrative	Per Se
I	PBTĽ	Mand Min	Lic Action	Per	(Mand M	<u>in Licensi</u>	ng Action)
	Law	lst	2nd	Se	lst	2nd	3rd
		Refusal	Refusal	(BAC	Offense	Offense	Offense
				Level)	<u> </u>		
UT		R-1 yr	R-1 yr	X-0.08	· · ·		
VT Va	X X	S-6 mos S-6 mos	S-18 mos S-1 yr	N N			3
VA VA	л	R-1 yr	R-2 yrs	N			
	х	R-1 yr R-1 yr	R-5 yrs	Y-0.1011	R-90 dys	R-5 yrs	R-10 yrs
WI	<u>x</u>	R-30 dys	R-90 dys	Y-0.10	S-15 dys	S-15 dys	S-15 dys
WY		S-6 mos	<u>S-6 mos</u>	Y-0.10		S-90 dvs	S-90 dys
		······································					
TOTAL	26	S - 21	S – 23	Admin	S – 6	S – 8	S – 8
		R - 17	R – 19	Per Se	R – 6	R – 7	R - 5
				- 23	۰.		
			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·			- <u>,</u>
		S _ Su	spension	Y = Yes			
			vocation	N = NO		÷	
		$\mathbf{K} = \mathbf{K}\mathbf{e}$	vocacion	A = Alter	native		-
			ĩ				
· · ·		-					
		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				
		a .m	1		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		
		· •	• •				

ANALYSIS BY STATES -- HIGH-INTEREST LEGISLATION TABLE 1 (continued)

PA restricted license may be issued for an implied consent law violation provided the defendant pleads guilty to a subsequent DWI charge.

⁷Alternative pre-DWI criminal adjudication licensing action by the courts.

⁸License suspension for one (1) year if the driver has a prior DWI offense conviction.

⁹Special provisions/procedures.

10Applies to persons 18 years old or above.

11Or under the influence of alcohol.

2 - 2

ANALYSIS BY STATES -- HIGH-INTEREST LEGISLATION TABLE 2

and the second
	Illegal	Pre-	In Ve			Legal
STATE	Per Se	sumptive	Prohib.		Dram	Purch/
, ř., s	(BAC	(BAC	Open	Anti-	Shop	Sale
	Level)	level)	Con-	Consump-	Law ²	for Alc
			tainer1	tion Law		Bev
AL	0.10	0.10			Statute	21
AK	0.10			•	Statute	21
AZ	0.10	0.10		х3	Statute	21
AR .	0.10			X4	No	21
CA	0.10	0.10	<u>X</u>	<u> </u>	Statute ⁵	21
CO	0.15	.05106		X	Statute	21
CT .	0.10			-	Statute ⁸	21
DÉ	0.10	0.109			No	21
DC ,	0.10	0.059		х	Case Law	2110
FL	0.10				Statute11	21
GA	0.12	0.10			Possible ⁷	21
HI	0.10		X	X	Case Law	21
ID	0.10	>0.08	x		Statute	21
IL	0.10	0.10	x		Statute ⁸	21
IN	0.10	0.109			Statute	21
IA	0.10		X	X	Statute	21
KS	0.10	0.109	X	x	No	21
ку		0.10		X	Case Law	21
LA	0.10	0.10			Possible ¹²	21
ME	0.10		<i>.</i> .	2	Statute ⁸	21
MD		.08,.139,13	x14	<u>x</u> 3	No	21
MA		0.10		хз	Case Law	21
MI	0.10	>.07,.106	X	X .	Statute	21
MN	0.10		X	X	Statute	21
MS	0.10		A .	, A	Statute	21
MO	0.10	0.109		·	Statute ¹⁵	21
MU	0.10	0.10	X	х	Statute	21
NE	0.10	0.10	А	X	No	21
NV	0.10	0.10		x3	No	21
NH	0.10	0.109		<u>x</u> 4	Statute	21
NJ	0.10	0.10		<u> </u>	Statute	21
NM	0.10	0.10		"A	Statute	21
NY	0.10	0.089		Х	Statute	21
NC	0.10		<u>x</u> 14	х х14,3	Statute	21
ND	0.10	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	X	X	Statute	21
OH	0.10			<u> </u>	Statute	21
OK	0.10	0.109	x	x	Case Law	
OR	0.10	0.0817	X	X	Statute	21 21
			л	х х3		
PA	0.10			..	Statute	21
PR		0.10			No	18
RI	0.10		v	<u>х</u> з	Statute	21
SC		0.10	X	X4	Possible ⁷	21
SD	0.10	0.10	x		No	2123
TN		0.10		2	Statute	21
TX	0.10			<u>X3</u>	<u>Statute21</u>	21

6th Edition

ANALYSIS BY STATES -- HIGH-INTEREST LEGISLATION TABLE 2 (continued)

	Illegal	Pre-	In Ve	hicle		Legal
STATE	Per Se	sumptive	<u>Prohib</u>	<u>itions</u>	Dram	Purch/
	(BAC	(BAC	Open	Anti-	Shop	Sale
	Level)	Level)	Con-	Consump-		for Alc
			<u>tainer</u>	tion Law	<u> </u>	Bev
UT	0.08		X	X	Statute	21
VT	0.10	0.10		<u>х</u> з	Statute	2118
VA	0.10	0.10	- ''	X4	No	21
WA	0.10		х	х	Case Law8&19	21
WV	0.10	0.1020		<u> </u>	No	21
WI	0.10	·	х	X	Statute ⁵	21
WY		0.10			<u>Statute²²</u>	19
TOTAL	.08 – 2	>.08 - 1	19	34	Case	18 - 1
	.10 - 41	.10 - 21		-	Law - 6	19 - 1
	.12 - 1	.10 <u>prima</u>			Statute	21 - 50
	.15 - 1	facie - 7			- 33	
		Other - 5			Possible	
					Case Law	
					- 3	

¹Laws prohibiting the possession of an open container of an alcoholic beverage in the passenger compartment of a motor vehicle.
²Ten (10) States do not have dram shop liability.
³Applies to drivers <u>only</u>.

⁴Possible.

⁵Applies only to the actions of intoxicated minors; previous case law as to other types of dram shop actions has been specifically abrogated by legislation.

2 - 4

⁶The lower of the two numbers is driving while impaired; the higher is driving while under the influence.

⁷Possible case law.

⁸This state has a statute that places a monetary limit on the amount of damages that can be awarded in dram shop liability actions.

⁹BAC level or levels which indicated prima facie evidence.

10 Persons who were 18 before 9/30/86, may continue to purchase beer and light wine (14% alcohol or less).

¹¹Applies only to the actions of intoxicated minors or persons known to be habitually addicted to alcohol.

ANALYSIS BY STATES -- HIGH-INTEREST LEGISLATION TABLE 2 (continued)

¹²Possible case law based upon the actions of minors. 13The lower of the two numbers is prima facie evidence of driving while under the influence; the higher is prima facie evidence of driving while intoxicated. ¹⁴Limited application. ¹⁵Cause of action limited to licensees who have been convicted of selling alcoholic beverages either to minors or to intoxicated individuals. ¹⁶The statute applies specifically to the actions of intoxicated minors, but the law does not foreclose developing case law as to other types of dram shop actions. 1^{7} Not less than 0.08 constitutes being under the influence of intoxicating liquor. ¹⁸Persons who were 18 as of 6/30/86 may continue to purchase alcoholic beverages. 19Applies only to the actions of (1) intoxicated minors and/or (2) adults who have lost their will to stop drinking. 20This state has both prima facie and presumptive evidence laws with BAC levels of 0.10. ²¹Statutory law has limited dram shop actions.

 22 Liability limited only to the actions of persons who are under 19 years old. 23 Until 4/1/88, persons who are at least 19 years of age can purchase 3.2%

beer.

and the company and the providence of the contract of the second s

· ·

ANALYSIS BY STATES -- HIGH-INTEREST LEGISLATION TABLE 3

	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Fine (\$)		Imprisonment				
STATE	(Mand	latory Minim	um)	(Mandatory Minimum)				
STAT	First	Second	Third	First	Second	Third		
	Offense	Offense	Offense	Offense	Offense	Offense		
AL	,, , <u> </u>				48 con hrs	60 dys		
AK	 ,			72 con hrs	20 con dys	30 con dys		
AZ	\$250	\$500		24 con hrs	60 dys	6 mos		
AR	 '				·			
<u>CA</u>	\$390	<u>\$375</u>	\$390		48 hrs1&2			
CO	- · · ·	·		' ' <i></i> '.	7 dys	7 dys		
СТ				48 con hrs	10 dys	120 dys		
DE					60 d y s	60 dys		
DC								
FL					<u>10 dys</u>	<u>30 dys</u>		
GA	2			3	48 hrs	10 dys		
HI	\$ 150 -10 00 ³		·	48 hrs ³	48 con hrs			
ID				~	10 dys	30 dys		
IL					48 con hrs	 		
IN			<u> </u>		<u>5 dys4</u>	<u>5 dys</u> 4		
IA	\$5006	\$750	\$750		7 dys ⁷	30 dys		
KS	· · · ·			48 hrs	5 dys	90 dys		
KY	·	:	— <u> </u>	 0	7 dys	30 dys		
LA ME	 #250	 #250	\$750	2 dys <u>48 hrs¹⁷</u>	15 dys 7 dys	6 mos		
MD	\$350	\$350	\$750	40 1115+	7 dys 48 con hrs	<u>30 dys</u> 48 con hrs		
MA					14 dys ⁸			
ma MI	- 1	· .		a ta	14 dys	60 d y s		
MN Ö						· · · ·		
MS	\$200	\$400	\$500			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		
MO					48 con hrs			
MT			· ·	24 con hrs ⁹	$3 \text{ dys}^{4\&9}$	10 dys ¹⁰		
NE					48 hrs	7 dys		
NV	· ·			2 dys11	10 dys ¹²	1 yr^{13}		
NH	· · ·			~~	10 dys ¹⁴	<u>10 dys¹⁴</u>		
NJ				15	48 con hrs			
NM				·	48 con hrs	48 con hrs		
NY	\$350	\$500	\$500		·	····		
NC				· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	7 dys	7 dys		
ND	\$250	\$500	\$1,000	·	4 dys ⁴	60 dys4		
он	\$150	\$150	\$150			30 con dys		
ок			—	·`		· ·		
ÓR				5	48 hrs	48 hrs		
PA	\$300	\$300	\$300		30 dys	90 dy s		
PR								
RI	\$100	\$400	\$400		48 con hrs	48 con hrs		
SC	\$200			48 hrs.	48 hrs	60 dys		
SD								
TN	\$250	\$500	\$1,000	48 hrs	45 dys	120 dys		
<u>TX</u>					<u>72 hrs¹⁶</u>	<u>10 dys¹⁶</u>		

State of the second

STATE	(Mand	Fine (\$) atory Minim	um)	Imprisonment (Mandatory Minimum)			
	First Offense	Second Offense	Third Offense	First Offense	Second Offense	Third Offense	
JT	\$150	\$299	\$299	48 con hrs	240 con hrs	720 dys	
TV		· ·			48 con hrs	48 con hrs	
AV			~		48 hrs	30 dys	
A	\$250	\$500	\$500	24 con hrs	7 dys	7 dys	
NV.	\$100	\$1,000	\$3,000	<u>24 hrs</u>	6 mos	<u>l yr</u>	
NI I							
WY					<u>7 dys</u>	<u> 7 dys </u>	
TOTAL	16	14	13	14	42	39	
				<i>.</i> .			

ANALYSIS BY STATES -- HIGH-INTEREST LEGISLATION TABLE 3 (continued)

¹The 48 hours (2nd off) and 120 days (3rd off) are not necessarily served consecutively.

²48 consecutive hours or 10 days of community service are mandatory if the Dept. of Motor Vehicles certifies that an application for 23 USC 408 grant funds has been submitted to the U.S. Dept. of Transportation.

³See Footnote No. 3 on Table 4.

⁴Must serve at least 48 consecutive hours.

⁵48 con. hrs. but work release is allowed for litter collection.

⁶Not more than 200 hours of community service in lieu of the fine.

⁷This sentence may not be suspended; however, the statute is silent as to probation.

⁸Or 14 days in a treatment facility.

⁹Does not apply to illegal <u>per se</u> offense; this sanction only applies to "regular" DWI offenses.

¹⁰Must serve 48 consecutive hours; does not apply to illegal <u>per se</u> offenses.
¹¹One day imprisonment or 24 hrs of community service if rehabilitation is taken.

 12 5 days if rehabilitation is taken; 48 hours must be served consecutively. 13 48 hrs. must be served consecutively.

¹⁴Three (3) consecutive 24 hour periods in a house of correction and seven (7) consecutive 24 hour periods in a DWI detention center.

¹⁵Mandatory treatment of not less than 12 nor more than 48 hours; this time is to be spent in an intoxicated driver resource center.

¹⁶As a part of probation.

¹⁷Provided the defendant either (1) had a BAC level of 0.15 or more, (2) was driving 30 MPH over the speed and had a BAC level of 0.10 or more or (3) was eluding police and had a BAC level of 0.10 or more.

ANALYSIS BY STATES -- HIGH-INTEREST LEGISLATION TABLE 4

• • •

TABLE 4							
	Солл	unity Ser	y Service License Sanction				
	In Lieu of Jail			(Mandatory Minimum			
STATE	<u> </u>				ing a DWI Co		
	First	Second	Third	First	Second	Third	
	Offense	Offense	Offense	Offense	Offense	Offense	
AL		20 dys		S-90 dys	R-1 yr	R-3 yrs	
AK				R-30 dys	R-1 yr	R-10 yrs	
AZ	8 hrs			S-90 dys ⁵	R-1 yr	R-3 yrs	
AR			- -		S-1 yr	S-2 yrs	
CA		<u>10 dys¹</u>	1		S-30 dys	R-3 yrs	
CO	(60 hrs) ²	² (60 hrs)	² (60 hrs)	2	R-1 yr	R-2 yrs	
CT	100 hrs			S-1 yr	S-2 yrs	S-3 yrs	
DE				R-90 dys	R-6 mos	R-6 mos	
DC			- -	R-6 mos	R-1 yr	R-2 yrs	
<u>FL</u>	$(50 \text{ hrs})^2$	2			<u>R-12 mos</u>	<u>R-24 mos</u>	
GA		80 hrs	30 dys		S-120 dys	R-5 yrs	
HI	(72 hrs) ³	10 dys		S-30 dys	S-1 yr	R-1 yr	
ID					S-30 dys	S-1 yr	
IL		10 d y s					
IN		10 d y s	10 dys	S-30 dys	S-l yr	S-1 yr	
IA					R-1 yr	R-2 yrs	
KS	100 hrs			S-21 dys ⁸	S-120 dys ⁸	³ R-1 yr ⁸	
КY	-~			S-30 dys	R-12 mos	R-24 mos	
LA	4 dys	30 dys			R-12 mos	R-12 mos	
ME				<u>S-60 dys⁹</u>	<u>S-8 mos⁹</u>	S-16 mos ⁹	
MD		80 hrs	80 hrs			<u> </u>	
MA				S-45 dys	R-1 yr	R-2 yrs	
MI	· · ·	<u> </u>		'	R-1 yr	R-1 yr	
MN			·			<u>·</u> ·	
MS				S-45 dys	S-1 yr	S-1 yr	
MO		10 dys4		·:	R-1 yr6	R-1 yr6	
MT	~		·	_ ·	R-3 mos	R-3 mos	
NE		'. <u> </u>		R-60 dys	R-6 mos	R-1 yr	
NV	48 hrs	 .		R-45 dys	R-l yr	🕆 R-1.5 yrs	
NH				R-90 dys	R-3 yrs	R-3 yrs	
NJ	($(30 \rm{dys})^2$	(90 dys) ²	R-6 mos ⁷	R-2 yrs ⁷	R-10 yrs ⁷	
NM		· _ _	`		R-1 yr	R-5 yrs	
NY						·	
 NC		<i>— –</i>	<u></u> %		R-2 yrs	R-3 yrs	
ND		<u>10 dy</u> s		S-30 dys	S-364 dy:	s <u>S-728 dys</u>	
OH	-~	·				S-180 dys	
ОК	·		· · · · ·	R-6 mos	R-2 yrs	R-3 yrs	
OR	80 hrs	80 hrs	80 hrs		S-90 dys	S-1 yr	
PA				S-1 mo	S-12 mos	S-12 mos	
PR							
RI				S-3 mos	S-1 yr	S-2 yrs	
SC	48 hrs	10 dys			S-1 yr	S-2 yrs	
SD					R-1 yr	R-1 yr	
TN					R-2 yrs	R-3 yrs	
<u>TX</u>						_	

2 - 8

		Community Se In Lieu of	,	License Sanction (Mandatory Minimum			
STATE	First	Second	Third	<u> </u>	Second	<u>Conviction)</u> Third	
·	Offense	•			Offense	Offense	1
UT	24 hrs	80 hrs	240 hrs	S-90 dys ¹⁰	R-1 yr ¹⁰	R-1 yr ¹⁰	
VT		10 dy s	10 dys	S-90 dys	S-18 mos	R-2 yrs	
VA				— —	R-2 yrs	R-5 yrs	
WA			- <u>-</u>	S-30 dys	R-1 yr	R-2 yrs	
WV	·		·	N/A	N/A	N/A	
WI		,		S-15 dys	R-60 dys	R-90 dys	
<u>WY</u>					S-1 yr	R-3 yrs	
		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				an a	
TOTAL	- 8	14	7	S – 17	S – 17	. S - 12	ι.
				R - 8	R – 27	R - 33	
		1 X	· -				,
	•			S = Suspe			
			1	R = Revoc	ation		
		$\gamma_{\rm eff} = -\gamma_{\rm eff}$	a state da da da				· .

1See Footnote No. 2 on p. 2-7.

²<u>Mandatory</u> community service regardless of whether there is a mandatory imprisonment sanction.

³The court <u>must</u> sentence defendants to at least one of these sanctions but may sentence them to more than one such sanction.

⁴Involving at least 40 hours.

⁵May not apply to certain offenders who have been suspended pursuant to the administrative per se law.

⁶Applies only to intoxicated offenses; for illegal per se and

admin. <u>per se</u> actions, a restricted hardship license may be granted provided the defendant has not received such a privilege within the passed 5 years.

⁷The law states that the right to operate a motor vehicle is "forfeited." ⁸It may be possible to modify this suspension/revocation period.

⁹Temporary restricted license may be issued <u>only</u> for the purpose of attending either an alcohol education or treatment program.

2 -

6th Edition

¹⁰May not be mandatory in all cases as limited driving privileges may be granted in certain hardship situations. •

.

21 I 1

. .**.**

, *4* igari. Ngj

.;

50 70 1

STATE General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DW1 Offense: Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law:
Implied Consent Law:
Arrest Required (Yes/No):
Implied Consent Law Applies to
Drugs (Yes/No):
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test
Admitted into Evidence:
Other Information:

ALABAMA See Code of Alabama

Under the influence of alcohol \$32-5A-191(a)(2) Yes 0.10 §32-5A-191(a)(1) Yes 0.10 \$32-5A-194(b)(3) (1) Any substance, (2) a Controlled Substance and(3) Alcohol and a Controlled Substance \$32-5A-191(a) None

No

Yes \$32-5-192

No

Yes (Criminal & Civil Cases) \$32-5A-194(c) Special Note: A person who has been arrested for a DWI charge shall not be released until their BAC Level is less than 0.10; see §32-5A-191(g)

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which

Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes §32-5	5-192
Urine:	Yes \$32-1	5-192
Other:	None	

Adjudication of DW1 Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No):	No
Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):	No
Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI)	
(Yes/No):	No

Sanctions for Refusel to Submit to a BAC Chemical Test:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test:	
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	N/A
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	N/A
Other:	N/A

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>: (continued)

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail):

None

Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): <u>Ist Refusal</u> - Susp-90 dys; <u>2nd Refusal</u> (w/n 5 vrs) - Susp-1 vr: Special Note: These susp

Other:

yrs) – Susp-1 yr; Special Note: These susp appear to be mandatory¹ §32–5–192 None

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment/Fine:

mpi i sonnen i yr me.

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$):

Other Penalties: Community Service:

Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)

Ist off §32-5A-191(c)-Not more than 1 yr, \$250-1,000; 2nd Off (w/n 5 yrs) §32-5A-191(d)-Not more than 1 yr, \$500 - 2,500; 3rd or subsequent offs (w/n 5 yrs) 60 dys to 1 yr, \$1,000-5,000 §32-5A-191(e) Serious Bodily Injury related to a DWI Off (assult in the first degree-Class B felony): 2-20 yrs², not more than \$10,000² §\$13A-5-6(a)(2), 13A-5-11(a)(2) and 13A-6-20(a)(5) & (b) For non-injury DWI offs: 2nd off-48 cons hrs³; 3rd & sub off-60 dys None

2nd Off (w/n 5 yrs)-Not less than 20 dys^3 §32-5A-191(c) & (d) Yes, Victims' Compensation Fund; see §15-23-1 et

seq. Special Note: Under \$15-18-65 et seq., a defendant may be required to pay restitution to a victim (or a victim's representative) as a result of damages caused by the defendant's criminal behavior.

Other:

Administrative Licensing Actions:

<u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law: Other:

No None

¹These suspensions periods may be reduced <u>only if</u> the driver is acquitted of the related DWI charge; see §32-5-192(c).

²These sanctions apply to 1st offence convictions for assult in the first degree; to determine the sanctions for 2nd and subsequent offenses of this type, see \$13A-5-9.

³The 20-dy community service sanction may be used as an alternative to the 48 consecutive hour imprisonment term.

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Off: (continued)

Post DWI Conviction Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev) and Term of Withdrawal:

> Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

lst_off - Susp, 90 dys 32-5A-191(c); 2nd off -Rev, 1 yr 32-5A-191(d); 3rd or subsequent offs -Rev.-3 yrs 32-5A-191(e)

Ist off - 90 dys; 2nd off - 1 yr; 3rd or subsequent offs - 3 yrs

> 32-5A-191(c) 32-5A-191(c)

Other:

1.	
Rehabilitation:	
Alcohol Education:	<u>lst_off</u> – Yes
Alcohol Treatment:	<u>lst off</u> – Yes
Alcohol Education/	
Treatment as an Altern-	
ative to Criminal	
Licensing Actions	
(Describe):	

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other: Miscellaneous Sanctions Not included Elsewhere:

None

None

None

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle:

Yes, Felony¹ "Homicide By Veh"; §32-5A-192 State Has Such Law/Type of Offense: Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction:

Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Not less than I yr nor more than 5 yrs None Not less than \$500 nor more than \$2,000 (and/or Imprisonment)

\$500

¹See §13A-1-2(4) and Whirley v. State, 481 So.2d 1151 (Ala. Cr. App. 1985).

STATE - Alabama

and the second
nd Driving: (continued)				••		, s.		ы н
Administrative Liessaine Asting		51			-	1. 1911		
Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and		1 ·		, •		11 1	·.	
-	Day 672						5.5	
Type of Action: Length of Term of	Rev \$32-	04-1900	() (I)					
Licensing Withdrawal:	Not more	+		632 6	105			
Mandatory Action—Minimum		inan i	yr.	372-21	-1 - 77(, m . 2		
Length of License						· · ·		
Withdrawal:	None		-	ч. ¹ .	."			
Other:	None		•, *	. · · · *	. :	÷ .		
riving While License Suspended or Revoked		÷ '	. ' <u>.</u> '	•. • ¹		1.10		 A state
here the Basis Was a DWI Offense:							i.	t a st
Sanction:								
Criminal:		. • •		ъ			•.*	
imprisonment (Term):	(Misd) n	ot more	+ than	180 (iys (a	nd/or	fine);	1 a.
	\$32-6-19						. '	
Mandatory Minimum Term	2.1		- 1	•	•	· ·		
of Imprisonment:	None							
Fine (\$ Range):	Not' less	than \$	100 n	or moi	re tha	n \$500) (and/	or
(a) A statistical statisticae statisticae statistic	imprison	ment);	§32-6	-19				
Mandatory Minimum Fine:	\$25							
		an in the						
Administrative Licensing Actions:	1			th sn'		, ·	: +	
Type of Licensing Action							•	
(Susp/Rev):	Rev (at ·				the d	irecto	or of	
	public s	afety)	§32-4	6-19		· ·		
Length of Term of License		_						
Withdrawal Action:	An addit	ional p		01 6	mos	902-0-	-19	1
Mandatory Term of License								
Withdrawal Action:	None						·.	
the second of the second se	•		. •					
abitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No):	Na				5 m			
Grounds for Being Declared an	No							
Habitual Offender:		. .,			. <i>.</i>			•
	÷-{: ,		;					
Under Habitual Offender Status:		. N .						
Type of Criminal Offense if		na se						
Convicted on Charges of		2 V				•		
Driving While on Habitual	· .	5					, .	
Offender Status		,					•,	
	ş, e							
$(2^{n})^{-1} = (2^{n})^{-1} = (2^{$								
								-
and the second								
Para na kaominina amin'ny fisiana amin'ny fisiana								
	1 A A							
1947 - 1947 - 1947 - 1947 - 1947 - 1947 - 1947 - 1947 - 1947 - 1947 - 1947 - 1947 - 1947 - 1947 - 1947 - 1947 -								

· .

n Na Start Start 6th Edition

STATE - Alabama

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

> Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment:

> > Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No):

BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons:

Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:

> Minimum Age (Years) Possession: Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:

No (Not specifically provided for by statute. Note: In Lankford v. Redwing Carriers, Inc., 344 So.2d 515 (Ala., 1977), the BAC test law provisions were doemed to apply to dead persons.)

 $528-1-5 \le 28-3A-25(a)(19)$ (Year off. 1985) 528-3A-25(a)(19)528-3A-25(a)(19)

Yes \$6-5-71

Yes, see Buchanan v. Merger Enterprises, Inc., 463 So.2d 121 (1984)

No DeLoach v. Mayer Electric Co., 378 So.2d 733 (1979) and Beeson v. Scoles Cadillac Corp., 506 So.2d 999 (1987)¹ (Note: These cases involved "business" social host situations.) None

Other:

¹The court held that the Dram Shop Act, §6-5-71, does not apply to social host situations where alcoholic beverages are not sold.

3 - 5

11.

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

> Imrisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages

Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term of License Withdrawal:

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

See Regulation 20-X-6-.02 which prohibits the sale of alcoholic beverages to persons "acting in a manner as to appear to be intoxicated." Reg. promulgated via §28-3-49.¹ It is a misd. to violate a regulation (§28-3-20) Not more than 6 mos §28-3-20² Not more than \$500 §28-3-20²

 $\frac{1 \text{ st off } - \text{Misd; } 2nd \text{ off } - \text{Misd; } 3rd \text{ and}}{\text{subsequent Off } \text{Misd } 528-3A-25(a)(3)}$ $\frac{1 \text{ st off } - \text{ Not more than } 6 \text{ mos; } 2nd \text{ off } - 3 \text{ to}}{6 \text{ mos; } 3rd \text{ and } \text{ subsequent off } 6 \text{ to } 12 \text{ mos}}$ $\frac{528-3A-25(b)(1)}{1 \text{ st off } - \$100 \text{ to } 1,000; } 2nd \text{ off } -\$100 \text{ to}}$

1,000; <u>3rd and subsequent off</u> - \$100 to 1,000 \$28-3A-25(b)(1)

6th Edition

The legislature repealed the law, \$28-3-260(2), that prohibited the sale of alcoholic beverages to visibly intoxicated persons; see Acts of 1980, No. 80-529, p. 806 \$27. Reg. 20-X-6-.02 was promulgated as a substitute for this repealed law. 2See \$28-3-19 which also makes it a misd. to violated alc. bev. control regs.: Fine -\$100-200 and/or imprisonmnet for not more than 90 days.

No

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No): Yes <u>lst off</u> - None; <u>2nd and subsequent off</u> -Rev §28-3A-26 <u>lst off</u> None; <u>2nd and subsequent off</u> - 1 yr §38-3A-26

No

No

No

3 - 7

6th Edition

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):
Presumption (BAC Level):
Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Yes \$28.35.031(b)

Yes \$28.35.031

No

Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence:

Other Information:

Yes (Criminal & Civil Cases) §28.35.032(e) Special Note: A chemical test may be administered to a person without their consent if they have been arrested for a DWI off where there has been an accident involving death or physical injury to another person; See §28.35.035(a)

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	No
Urine:	No
Other:	None

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):

Yes §28.35.030(d)

No

No

6th Edition

ALASKA

See Alaska Statutes

Under the influence of intoxicating liquor \$28.35.030(a)(1) Yes 0.10 \$28.35.030(a)(2) None (1) A Controlled Substance and (2) Intoxicating Liquor and Another Substance \$528.35.030(a)(1) & (3) None

STATE - Alaska

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u> :	
Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test:	
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	<u>Infraction</u> not more than \$300 §§28.35.031(e) & 28.35.230(c)
Administrative Licensing Action 👘	
(Susp/Rev):	None
Other:	None
Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test	
Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail):	<u>CI A misd</u> , Not more than I yr imprisonment and/or \$5,000 fine (sanctions vary for each separate off and are the same as for DWI offs; \$28.35.032(f) & (g))
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	<u>Ist Refusal</u> -Not less than a 90-day rev; <u>2nd</u> <u>Refusal</u> or a 1st refusal where there has been a previous DWL conviction-Not less than 1 yr rev ¹
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	\$\$28.15.165, 28.15.166 & 28.15.181(c)
Other:	Special Note: All license rev periods given are mandatory.

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment/Fine:

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$):

Other Penalties: Community Service: <u>Cl A Misd</u>, <u>lst Off</u> - Not more than 1 yr, \$250 - 5,000; <u>2nd Off</u>² (w/n 10 yrs) - Not more than 1 yr, \$500 - 5,000; <u>Subsequent Offs</u>² (w/n 10 yrs) - Not more than 1 yr, \$1,000 - 5,000 \$12.55.135 lst off - 72 cons hrs; 2nd off - 20 cons dys; 3rd off - 30 cons dys None

<u>Cl A Misd</u>, <u>lst Off</u> - Yes³; <u>2nd Off</u>² (w/n 10 yrs) - Yes³; <u>Subsequent Offs</u>³ (w/n 10 yrs) - Yes³ \$12.55.055

¹Subsequent refusal where there have been 2 or more refusals or DWI conviction or a combination thereof - not less than a 10 yr rev. (The previous refusal/DWI conviction must have occurred within 10 yrs of the 1st refusal. §§28.15.164, 28.15.166 and 28.15.181(c))

²Special Note: A previous off is considered to be <u>either</u> a previous chemical test refusal <u>or</u> a previous DWI conviction (This note also applies to CLA misd offs for refusal to submit to a chemical test; see §28.25.032(f) & (2).)

³This community service is <u>not</u> an alternative to the mandatory minimum terms of imprisonment; the length and type of community service is discretionary with the court.

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)

Other:

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law: Yes The court may order a defendant to pay direct compensation to a victim(s). \$12.55.045 None

Yes 0.10, <u>ist Off</u>-rev for not less than 90 dys (30 dys are mandatory; a restricted hardship license may be issued for 60 dys); <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 10 yrs)-rev for not less than I yr (mandatory)¹ None

Other:

<u>Post DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Rev §28.15.181(c)

Special Note: The <u>revs for</u> 1st, 2nd and subsequent <u>DWI convictions are</u> respectively <u>the</u> <u>same as for</u> 1st, 2nd and subsequent <u>admin.per</u> <u>se offs</u>.

See Special Note above.

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

Yes² §28.35.030(c) Yes² §28.35.030(c)

No

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority:

Yes §28.35.036 A vehicle used in a DWI offense may be subject to forfeiture if the operator has been previously convicted of a DWI or implied consent law offense.

Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other:

N/A None

¹Subsequent offs (w/n 10 yrs) - rev for not less than 10 yrs (mandatory) §§28.15.165, 28.15.166 and 28.15.181(c)

²For any DWI conviction, a defendant must complete either an alcohol education or an alcohol treatment program that the Court feels is appropriate for that defendant. §28.35.030(c)

STATE – Alaska

continued)	i <mark>ense</mark> : Politika (1999), soda objektiva (1999) Maria (1999), soda (1999), soda (1999), soda
Miscellaneous Sanctions	
	and the state of the second
Not Included Elsewhere:	 None State of the state of the
	Special Note: The Court may order the
	forfeiture of a driver's veh following either a
	DWI or chemical test refusal conviction if they
	have had more than one such conviction; also,
	under §28.35.038 municipalities may enact
	ordinances to impound/forfeit motor vehicles for
	violations of local DWI/chemical test refusal
	laws
ther Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol	
se and Driving:	
	 A set of the set of
Homicide by Vehicle:	
State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:	No.
Sanctions:	
Criminal Sanction:	
Imprisonment (Term):	
Mandatory Minimum Term:	•
Fine (\$ Range):	
Mandatory Minimum Fine:	
Homicide by Vehicle	۰ <i></i>
Administrative Licensing Action:	
Licensing Authorized and	
Type of Action:	See Footnote No. below.
Length of Term of	
Licensing Withdrawal:	
Mandatory ActionMinimum	
Length of License	·
Withdrawal:	
Other:	
, oner:	•
Delutes While Lineare Cusses and an Develo	с. "ш.
Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense:	
Where the basis was a DWI Offense: Sanction:	
Criminal:	
Imprisonment (Term):	Not less than 90 dys §28.15.291
Mandatory Minimum Term	
of Imprisonment:	90 dys
Fine (\$ Range):	Not less than \$1,000
Mandatory Minimum Fine:	None

¹Special Note: Even though this State does not have a veh homicide statute, it, nevertheless, provides for discretionary license rev for I yr for a conviction of manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle.

6th Edition
STATE - Alaska

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued) Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Rev \$28,15.291 Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action: Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action: None Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): No Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify): Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use

And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons:

Driver:

. . ъ. г.

Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

Original susp or rev extended I yr

524 4

Ъ.,

No

STATE - Alaska

eggi per sette g

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:

Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): Yes \$04.21.020 "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:

License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

21 5904.16.50, .51 & .52 (Year: Eff: 1983) 21 (There are exemptions for parents/physicians furnishing alcoholic beverages to minors) \$\$04.16.50, .51 & .52 21 (There are exemptions for parents/physicians furnishing alcoholic beverages to minors) **§§04.** | 6.50, .51 & .52

Yes Nazareo v. Unie, 638 p.2d 671 (1981) Note: The holding in this case limited to actions arising before \$04.21.020 was amended by the legislature in 1980. No (No cases) ~ .

None

CI A misd \$\$04.16.030 & 04.16.180 Not more than i yr Not more than \$5,000

Yes §04, 16, 180

Length of Term of License Withdrawal: 1st conviction--45 day susp; 2nd conviction ---90 day susp; 3rd and/or subsequent convictions---discretionary (no time limit given in the statute); Note: The susps and revs are not mandatory. §04.16.180

> CI A Misd \$\$04.16.052 & 04.16.180 Not more than 1 yr Not more than \$5,000

STATE - Alaska

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

- Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:
 - License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):
 - Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Yes \$04.16.180

<u>ist conviction</u>--45 day susp; <u>2nd convictions</u> --90-day susp; <u>3rd and/or subsequent</u> <u>convictions</u>--Court's discretion (no time limit given in the statute.) Note: The time limitations are not mandatory.

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Yes \$04.16.015

No

No

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

6th Edition

n te te a constante en 1995 - Stan Stan Stan 1996 - Stan Stan Stan 1997 - Stan Stan Stan

A.

. : •

STATE: General Comments: ARIZONA See Arizona Revised Statutes Annotated

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:	Under the influence of intoxicating liquor §28–692(A)
lllegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):	Yes 0.10 §28–692
Presumption (BAC Level):	Yes 0.10 §28–692
Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:	Any Drug §28–692(b)
Other:	None

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law:	No	
Implied Consent Law:		
Arrest Required (Yes/No):	Yes §28–692	
Implied Consent Law Applies to		
Drugs (Yes/No):	Yes	
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test		
Admitted into Evidence:	Yes (Criminal & Civil Cases) 28-692	C
Other Information:	None	

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes \$28-691
Urine:	Yes §28-691
Other:	"Other bodily substances" approved in §28-691
	(G) but not in §28-691 (implied consent statute)

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No):	No	
Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):	Yes	\$\$28-692(C) & 28-692.04
Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI)		
(Yes/No):	Yes	\$28-692.0IA

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test:	
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	N/A
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	N/A
Other:	N/A

¹A DWI charge shall not be dismissed or changed to another misd/petty off unless there is clearly an insufficient legal basis for the DWI off charge.

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>: (continued)

> Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail):

> > (Susp/Rev):

None

12 month susp (Mandatory) §28–691 A person may be required to attend and successfully complete a driver training course §28–446

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Administrative Licensing Action

Criminal Sanctions:

Other:

Imprisonment/Fine/Term:

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$):

Other Penalties:

Community Service:

Restitution (eq Victim's Fund)

Other:

<u>lst off</u>-Cl 1 misd - Not more than 6 mos, Not more than \$1,000; <u>2nd off</u>-Cl 1 misd (w/n 60 mos) - Not more than 6 mos, not more than \$1,000 \$\$13-707 & 28-692.01; <u>3rd off</u> (w/n 60 mos)-Cl 5 felony \$28-692 - 1 to 2 yrs¹, not more than \$150,000 \$13-801 lst off - 24 cons hrs; 2nd off - 60 dys; 3rd off

- 6 mos <u>lst off</u> CI | misd-**\$250;** <u>2nd off</u> CI | misd (w/n

60 mos)-**\$500;** <u>3rd off</u> (w/n 60 mos) CI 5 felony §28-692.01-None (See Footnote No. 2.)

<u>Ist off</u> (Cl | misd)-Yes 8-24 hrs (May be used in addition to or as an alternate for imprisonment, provided the defendant (1) did not have a BAC level of 0.20 or more or (2) did not cause serious physical injury to another person; see \$28-692.01(C) & (D).

Yes, a victims' compensation fund; see \$41-2407. Also, whare a defendant's conviction was for an off that resulted in economic loss to a victim, the <u>Court may order that all or any</u> <u>portion of the fine imposed on the defendant be</u> <u>allocated as restitution</u>. \$13-804 <u>lst off</u> (Cl | misd)-Traffic safety school may be required.

See §28-692.01(H) where a defendant may serve the imprisonment term on a part time basis for employment purposes.

²Under §36-2219A, an additional fee of \$30 is collected from each defendant for the purpose of financing emergency medical services operating fund. Also, under §36-2219A, \$40 of the regular fine must be deposited into the alcohol abuse treatment fund.

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action:

Administrative Per Se Law:

Yes, 0.10 \$28-694 For a mandatory suspension period of 90 consecutive days (for 1st offenders who did not (1) have a BAC level of 0.20 or more or (2) cause serious physical injury, the license suspension period is 30 days (mandatory) with a restricted license for an additional 60 days; see §28-6948.) None

Other:

Post DWI Conviction Licensing Action:

Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev) and Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal:

<u>lst off</u>-Susp, not less than 90 con dys³; <u>2nd</u> <u>off</u>-Rev, not less than 1 yr; <u>3rd & sub off</u>-Rev, <u>3 yrs; §§28-445;28-448 & 28-692.01¹</u>

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

<u>lst off</u>-90 con dys³; <u>2nd off</u>-1 yr²; <u>3rd & sub</u> <u>off</u>-3 yrs

Other:

Rehabilitation:

Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe): <u>lst off</u> - Yes <u>2nd off</u> - Yes; <u>3rd Off</u> - Yes

None

In addition to any other legal sanction for a DWI off conviction, a person under 18 yrs old must receive license suspension for two (2) yrs; however, restricted driving privileges are available for employment/education purposes; see \$\$1-125(4) and 8-249(A) and (D). Note: The legal purchase/possession/consumption age is 21 for all alcoholic beverages. ²Mandatory if second off. was committed w/n 36 mos. of the first; see \$28-445(b).

³Note: This suspension period does not apply to certain 1st offenders who have been suspended pursuant to the admin. per se law; see §28-692.01J.

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued)

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority:

1.2.11 Wells - Aller Aller · . . .

energies and the second

Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other: Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere:

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Offense: No . Sanctions: Criminal Sanction:

Imprisonment (Term):

1.2.2.2

- Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine:
 - Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action:
 - Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: Mandatory Action-Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other:

Yes Under §28-1259, vehicle registration and license plates are suspended for the same period of time as the vehicle owner's driver's license. For second or subsequent offenses w/n 36 mos, this suspension is mandatory. (Note: If a person has had their license suspended/revoked for a DWI offense and they are convicted of another such offense while in a DWI suspension/revocation status, their vehicle is forfeited. \$28-692.06(A)

> . . . N/A None • • • None

1

Real and the second

. . . . , i

Note: License rev for I yr for any homicide resulting from the operation of a motor veh.

Note: See Restitution under Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense.

1.4-

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense:

Sanction:

Criminal: Imprisonment (Term):

> Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

> Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Habitual Offender Laws:

State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

See Vehicle Impoundmant/Confiscation on p. 3-20. 3 - 21 1 4 1 1 1

<u>lst off</u> - 10 dys to 6 mos; <u>2nd and subsequent</u> <u>offs</u> - Cl 5 felony (2 yrs) if convicted of a DWI off and driving while suspended or revoked; §28-692.02 §28-473

<u>lst off</u> - 48 hrs; <u>2nd or subsequent offs</u> - 6 mos; §28-269.02 <u>lst off</u> - \$100 to \$300 None

For <u>lst off & sub. offs.</u>: For driving while <u>suspended</u> - Susp; For driving while <u>revoked</u> -Rev §28-473¹

For <u>lst off & sub. offs.</u>: Susp equal to original susp period not to exceed one yr form the date of reinstatement; Rev I additional yr of rev §28-473

For <u>1st off & sub. offs</u>: Susp equal to original susp period not to exceed one yr form the date of reinstatement; Rev I additional yr of rev \$28-473

No

STATE - Arizona

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents:

State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

No

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession: Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

> Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:

Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:

Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:

> License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Yes - Susp or rev \$4-210(A)(9) Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Length of term not fixed

These cases may have been abrogated by statute; see \$4-312.B.

21 \$\$4-101(20) & 4-244(9) (Year Eff: 1985) 21 \$\$4-101(20) & 4-244(9) 21

Yes 54-311

Yes, Ontiveros v. Borak, et al., 667 P. 2d. 200 (Ariz. 1983), and Brannigan et al. v. Ray Buck, 667 P. 2d. 213 (Ariz. 1983)¹ No 54-301 (However, liability for minors' actions may still be possible) and Profitt v. Canez, 575 P.2d 1261 (1977) Nome

Cl | Misd \$\$4-244(14) & 4-246(B) Not more than 6 mos \$13-707(A) Not more than \$1,000 \$13-802(A)

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

- Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:
 - Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment:
 - Fine (\$ Range):
- Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:
 - License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Ci | Misd §§4-244(9) & 4-246(B) Not more than 6 mos §13-707(A) Not more than \$1,000 §13-802(A) and the second second

6th Edition

Yes - Susp or rev \$4-210(A)(9) Length of term not fixed

Yes \$4-244(24)

No

٠,

3 - 23

Yes <u>Driver only</u> §4-244(22) Note: There is also a law prohibiting the consumption of liquor (but not beer) in a public place; See §4-244(20); Beer may be consumed in certain limited public areas. · .

and the second

STATE: General Comments: ARKANSAS See Arkansas Statutes

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense: Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol: Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence: Other Information: Intoxicated \$\$75-2502 & 75-2503(1) Yes 0.10 \$75-2503(b) None Controlled Substance \$\$75-2003(a) & 75-2502 None

	No				
	Yeş	\$ 75~1045			
st	Yes	§75-1045			
51	n.a. None				
Law)	;		ı		

<u>Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which</u> <u>Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law)</u>

Blood:	Yes
Urine:	Yes
Other:	Non

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No):
Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):
Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI)
(Yes/No):

Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC Chemical Test:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test:	
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	N/A
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	N/A
Other:	N/A

¹Persons arrested for a DWI charge off shall be tried on such charges or plead to such charges and no such charges shall be reduced. §75-2508.

Yes I Yes I

Yes §75-2506

3 - 25

<u>Sanction for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>: (continued)

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test:

Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): None

<u>Ist ref</u>-susp. 6 mos; <u>2nd ref</u> (w/n 3 yrs)-susp. 1 yr-16 mos; <u>3rd ref</u> (w/n 3 yrs)-susp. 2 yrs-30 mos;<u>4th ref</u> (w/n 3 yrs)-rev. 3 yrs. (These susps and rev. are mandatory.) Note: Nonresidents of Ark. would only receive a 6 mos. susp. §75-1045(d) None

Other:

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions:

Imprisonment/Fine/ Mandatory Minimum Term:

Mandatory Minimum Term:

<u>Ist off</u>¹-24 hrs-1 yr \$150 - 1,000, None see Note; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 3 yrs)¹ - 7 dys-1 yr, \$400 to 3,000, None see Note; <u>3rd off</u> (w/n 3 yrs)¹ - 90 dys to 1 yr, \$900 - 5,000, None see Note; <u>4th</u> <u>and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 3 yrs)¹ - 1 to 6 yrs, None see Note; \$75-2504 Note: There is a special Court cost of \$250 for any person pleading guilty, noto contendere or who is found guilty of DWI. None

Note: The minimum sentence may not be mandatory due to the suspended sentence and/or probation provisions of §§41-108 and 43-2331. See §75-2509 which prohibits judges from placing on probation first DWI offenders who pleads guilty or nolo contendere to the DWI charge and after probation discharging the accused without adjudication (The recond is also expunged.).

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$): N

None

¹Special Note: Arkansas has two different sanctioning systems for DWI offs. One system applies to the imprisonment sanction and the other applies to the fine sanction. For the imprisonment sanction, the sanctions listed apply for any of the listed subsequent offs which have been committed within three (3) yrs of a first off. For the fine sanction, the sanctions listed apply for any of the listed subsequent offs which have been committed within five (5) yrs of a first off. For example, if a person has been convicted of a DWI off which occurred more than three but less than five yrs from a first DWI conviction, they would be imprisoned as if they were a first offender but fined as if they were a second. Note: The three yr time period as applied to the imprisonment sanction is also used to determine whether a fourth or subsequent DWI conviction is to be considered a felony.

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense</u>: (continued)

Other Penalties: Community Service:

Restitution

(eg, Victim's Fund)

Other:

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law: Other:

> Post DWI Conviction Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev) and Term of License Withdrawal Action:

> > Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe): <u>ist off</u> - Yes (Public Service in lieu of imprisonment; §75-2504(a) (Note: If a person is unable to pay a fine, they may be given community service as an alternative sanction; see §75-2533.)

Yes By the defendant \$41-803(4)(d) and via a crimes victim's compensation fund. The maximum amount that may be paid from this fund is \$10,000; see H.B. 1770 as enacted in 1987. None

None None

<u>Ist off</u> - Susp, 90-120 dys; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 3 yrs) - Susp, I yr-16 mos; <u>3rd off</u> (w/n 3 yrs) - Susp, 2yrs-30 mos; <u>4th and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 3 yrs) - Rev, 3 yrs \$75-2511

<u>lst off</u> - none¹; <u>2nd off</u> - 1 yr; <u>3rd off</u> - 2 yrs; <u>4th or subsequent offs</u> - 3 yrs

Yes

Yes

Note: Either an alcohol education or alcohol treatment program must be completed before either a suspended or a revoked license can be reinstated \$75-2507

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: N

None

Note: §75-2511, as amended by Acts 113 & 1064 of 1985, provides for restricted hardship licenses for first offenders.

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other:

and a subscription of the second s Second
Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere:

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

> Sanctions: Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Action:

> > Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other:

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: N/A

None

<u>License plates</u> shall be impounded for 90 dys if a driver has been arrested for driving while suspended or revoked where such susp or rev was based on an alcohol off conviction. However, a temporary license plate may be issued if the court determines that it is in the best interests of the dependents of the offender. \$75-2513

ν.,

Negligent homicide, If death is caused whice DWI, Class D Felony; \$41-1505 Not more than 6 yrs \$41-901(1)(e) None Not more than \$10,000 \$41-1101(1)(b) None

Rev §75–333(1)

l yr §75-335

l yr \$\$75-333(1) & 75-335 None

Misd 2 dys to 6 mos (§§75-341, 75-1029.1, 75-1053 and 75-2514)

10 dys if susp or rev is based on a DW1 charge \$75–2512 Not more than \$500 None

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

> Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

> > No

If based on susp, susp. If based on rev, rev.

Original susp period is extended a like period. Original period of rev is extended 1 yr.

Original susp period is extended a like period. Original period of rev is extended 1 yr.

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession: Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

21 \$\$48-903 & 48-903.1 (Year eff: 1935) 21 \$\$48-903 & 48-903.1 None

```
3 - 29
```

No

STATE - Arkansas

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the Case (Case Citation):

> Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

No Note: For cases denying liability, see Carr v. Turner, 385 S.W. 2d 656 (Ark. 1965) and Milligan v. County Line Liquor, 709 S.W.2d 409 (Ark. 1986) No (No cases)

None

No

Misd for all offenses (See Footnote No. 3 on page 3-31 for citations.) Package Sales: (1) All alcoholic beverages except those noted below-<u>1st off</u>.-none; <u>2nd &</u> <u>sub. off</u>.-6 mos - lyr; (2) Beer and wine not in excess of 5% alcohol by wgt-none. <u>On-Premisis</u> <u>Consumption Sales:</u> (1) All alcoholic beverages except those noted below-not more than 6 mos; (2) beer (all types)-none; (3) wine not exceeding 14%-10-30 dys

Package Sales: (1) All alcoholic beverages except those noted below-<u>1st off</u>.-\$100-250; <u>2nd</u> <u>& sub. off</u>.-\$250-500; (2) Beer and wine not in excess of 5% alcohol by wgt-none. <u>On-Premisis</u> <u>Consumption Sales:</u> (1) All alcoholic beverages except those noted below-not more than \$1,000; (2) beer (all types)-none; (3) wine not exceeding 14%-\$100-500 Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

> Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:

> > License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment:

Yes (under certain conditions) Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Package Sales: (1) All alcoholic beverages except those noted below-for two or more convictions-Rev¹ (and a possible administrative fine); (2) Beer and wine not in excess of 5% alcohol by wgt-none. On-Premisis Consumption Sales: (1) All alcoholic beverages except those noted below-Susp/Rev¹;(2) beer (all types)-Susp/Rev¹; (3) wine not exceeding 4%-Susp/Rev

> Misd for all offs. (except as noted) (See Footnote No. 3 for citations.) Package Sales: (1) All alcoholic beverages except those noted below - (a) where "knowledge" is a factor²-<u>lst off.</u>-not more than 10 days; <u>2nd</u> off (w/n 3 yrs)-felony-1-5 yrs; (b) where "knowledge" is not a factor²-<u>lst_off</u>-none; 2nd & sub. off-6 mos-1 yr or not more than 1 yr; (2) beer and wine not in excess of 5% alcohol by wgt.-not more than I yr On-Premisis Consumption Sales: (1) All alcoholic beverages except those noted below-not more than 6 mos; (2) beer and wine not in excess of 5% alcohol by wgt-not more than 1 yr; (3) wine not in excess of 14%-10-30 dys

Length of Rev/Susp is not specified in the statute. ²See State v. Jarvis, 427 S.W.2d 531 (1968).

³Citations: \$\$48-107, 48-110, 48-309, 48-316, 48-346, 48-503, 48-520, 48-524, 48-525, 48-529, 48-530, 48-606, 48-626, 48-629, 48-630 (w/ref to \$48-530 et seq.). 48-631, 48-901, 48-902.1, 48-903, 48-1014, 48-1414 and 48-1416.

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

io birving. (continue

Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

> License to Serve Alcohlic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Package Sales: (1) All alcoholic beverages except those noted below-(a) where "knowledge" is a factor¹-<u>lst off.</u>-not more than \$500; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 3 yrs)-felony-not more than \$500; (b) where "knowledge" is not a factor¹-<u>lst</u> <u>off</u>-\$100-250; 2nd & sub. off-\$250-500 or not more than 1

yr; (2) beer and wine not in excess of 5%
alcohol by wgt.-not more than \$500
On-Premisis Consumption Sales: (1) All
alcoholic beverages except those noted
below-not more than \$1,000; (2) beer and wine
not in excess of 5% alcohol by wgt-not more
than \$500; (3) wine not in excess of
[4%-\$100-500

Yes (under certain conditions) <u>Package Sales</u>: (1) All alcoholic beverages except those noted below - for two or more convictions-Rev²; (2) beer and wine not in excess of 5% alcohol by wgt.-1 yr Rev/Susp <u>On-Premisis Consumption Sales</u>: (1) All alcoholic beverages except those noted below-Rev/Susp²; (2) beer and wine not in excess of 5% alcohol by wgt-1 yr Rev/Susp; (3) wine not in excess of 14%-Rev/Susp²

No

No

Yes (Probably but the law is not specific) - drivers and passengers \$41-2913(3))

¹See State v. Jarvis, 427 S.W.2d 531 (1968). ²Length of Rev/Susp is not specified in the statute. STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Alcohol and Drugs:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Yes Veh. Code \$13353 Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence:

Other Information:

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood: Urine: Other:	Yes Veh. Code \$13353 Yes Veh. Code \$13353 None
Adjudication of DWI Charges:	
Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No): <u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u> :	No No (Note: Under Veh. Code §23212, the court must give the reasons a DWI charge either was reduced to a lesser offense or was dismissed.) No
Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action	: N/A
(Susp/Rev): Other:	N/A N/A

Special juvenile offense at 0.05; see Veh. Code \$23140.

5 -

6th Edition

Under the influence of an alcoholic beverage Veh. Code \$\$23152 & 23153 Yes 0.101 Veh. Code \$\$23152(b) and 23153(b) Yes 0.10 Veh Code \$23155(3) (1) Any Drug & (2) a Combination of Alcohol and Any Drug Code 5523152 & 23153 None

See West's Annotated California Codes

No

1. 1. J. J.

CALIFORNIA

Yes Veh. Code \$23353(a)(1)

Yes' (Criminal & Civil Cases) Veh. Code §13353(a)(4)

None

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>: (continued)

> Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test

Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): No

<u>Susp-6 mos; Rev</u> for 2 yrs if a person refuses after having been convicted of a DWI¹ off within 5 yrs of the date of refusal (Mandatory); Veh. Code \$\$13353² and 23157 <u>Rev</u> for 3 yrs if a person refuses after having been convicted 2 or more times of a DWI¹ off within 5 yrs of the date of refusal (Mandatory); Veh. Code \$\$13353 and 23157 See Special Note on p.3-35.

Other:

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment/Fine:

Non-Injury DWI Off (Veh. Code \$\$23152 et seq.), 1st Off-96 hrs-6 mos, \$390-\$1,000; 2nd Off² (w/n 7 yr)-90 dys-1 yr, \$390-1,000; 3rd Off² (w/n 7 yrs.)-120 dys-1 yr, \$390-1,000; 4th & Sub Off² (w/n 7 yrs) - 180 dys-1 yr. \$390-1,000; Injury related offs (Veh. Code §§23153 et seq.), 1st off - 90 dys-1 yr, \$390-1,000; 2nd off2 (w/n 7 yrs) - 120 dys-1 yr, \$390-5,000; 3rd and subsequent offs² (w/n. 7 yrs) - 2-4 yrs, \$1,015-5,000, Also, a person convicted of a DWI injury related offense in which more than one individual has been injured shall receive an enhanced prison term of one (1) year for each additional injured individual. The maximum number of one (1) year enhancements which may be imposed is three (3); see \$23182. See Footnote No. 3 for special juvenile offense.

²A previous off includes Yeh. Code \$\$23152 & 23153 and Penal Code \$192 offs.

For purposes of license sanction enhancements under Veh. Code §23157, a previous DWI off. includes a guilty or noto contendere plea to reckless driving (Veh. Code §23103) as a substitute for a DWI charge; see Veh. Code §§23103.1 & 23157(a)(1).

³Juvenile Offenses Involving Alcohol. Under Veh. Code §§23140 and 23142, it is unlawful for a person under 18 years old to operate a motor vehicle if they have a BAC level of 0.05 or more. A person found to have committed this offense is only subject either to participate in an alcohol education program or a community service program with an alcohol education component. Note: A person under 18 years old who violates this section as well as the regular DWI laws must also participate in either an alcohol education or rehabilitation program; see Veh. Code §23142.

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:

(continued)

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

Other Penalties: Community Service: Restitution (eg Victim's Fund) <u>Non-injury DWI off</u> - <u>2nd off</u> 48 hrs¹; 3rd off - 120 dys¹; 4th and sub off - 180 dys¹; <u>injury</u> <u>related DWI off</u>, 1st off - 5 dys; 2nd off - 30 dys¹; 3rd off - 1 yr See Special Note below.

<u>Non-Injury DWI Off</u>, <u>1st Off</u> - \$390; <u>2nd Off</u> (w/n 7 yr)-\$375; <u>3rd Off</u> (w/n 7 yrs)-\$390; <u>4th</u> <u>& Sub Offs</u> (w/n 7 yrs.)- \$390; <u>Injury related</u> <u>DWI off1s</u>, <u>1st Off-</u> \$390; <u>2nd Off</u> (w/n 7 yrs)-\$390; <u>3rd & Sub Off</u> (w/n 7 yrs) - \$390 See Special Note below.

None

Yes, <u>Injury-related DWI offs</u> (§§23153 et. seq.) See Gov't. Code §13959 (Victims' Assistance Fund) and Veh. Code §23191(a). The court may also order direct compensation by the defendant to the victim(s); see Gov't. Code §13967 and Penal Code §1203.1.

Special Note: A person who has been convicted of any DW1 offense and who has also refused to submit to a chemical test is subject to the follwing sanctions; see Veh. Code §23159 : <u>DW1</u> <u>non-injury offs.</u>: <u>ist off.</u>, if probation is granted, the court must use the follwing sentence structure: Jail-48 hrs. (mandatory) up to 6 mos.; fine-\$390 (mandatory) up to \$1,000; and lic. susp.-6 mos. <u>2nd off.</u>-96 hrs. in jail (mandatory). <u>3rd off.</u>-10 days in jail (mandatory). <u>4th & sub. offs.</u>-18 days in jail (mandatory). <u>DW1 injury offs.</u> Ist off.-48 continuous hrs. in jail (mandatory). <u>2nd off.</u> 96 hrs. in jail (mandatory).sequent off includes Veh. Code §23153 and Penal Code §192 offs.

Also, any person convicted of a DWI offense must pay the following assessments: (1) An amount not to exceed \$50 for the purpose of funding alcohol abuse education and prevention programs (see Veh. Code $$23196(a)^3$ (Ch. 1118 of the law of 1986)) and (2) an amount not to exceed \$50 for the purpose of funding an alcohol assessment program (see Veh. Code $$23244(a)^2$).

¹In addition to those given, the following mandatory sanctions become operative when the Dept of Motor Vehicles certifies to the State Sec. of State that the Dept. has submitted a completed application to the U.S. Dept. of Trans. for grant funds under 23 USC \$408. At least one period of 48 con. hours of imprisonment or 10 days of community service is mandatory; see \$23206.5.

²In 1986, the California Legislature enacted two different provisions of the Vehicle Code using the same section number citation (\$23240 et seq.). For alcohol assessment, see Ch. 985, §1, of the laws of 1986 and, for ingnition interlock systems, see Ch. 1108, §5, of the same laws. <u>Note:</u> By their own provisions, both of these laws will be repealed, unless otherwise extended, on <u>January 1, 1990</u>.

³In 1986, the California Legislature enacted two different provisions of the Vehicle Code using the same section number citition (\$23196). For vehicle forfeiture, see Ch. 1104, \$1 of the laws of 1986 and, for alcohol abuse education programs, see Ch. 1118. \$5 of the same laws. (continued)

	·
Other:	(1) A person may be held liable upto \$500 to pay for the cost of an emergency response which resulted from a DWI related offense; see Gov't. Code \$553150 et seq. (2) The court may require a definedant to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle as a condition of probation; see Veh. Code \$23240 et seq. ¹ (Ch. 1108 of the laws of 1986).
Administrative Licensing Actions:	
<u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action:	N-7 (the second se
Administrative Per Se Law: Other:	No ² (However, see Special Note below.) None
Post DWI Conviction Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	Non-Injury related DWI Off, 1st off Susp -
	(Veh. Code §23161); <u>2nd off Susp</u> – (Veh. Code
	\$23161(b)(3)); 3rd off Rev (Veh. Code
	\$23171(a)); 4th & subsequent off Rev -(Veh.

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.): Non-Injury related DWI Off, 1st off Susp -(Veh. Code \$23161); <u>2nd off Susp</u> - (Veh. Code \$23161(b)(3)); <u>3rd off Rev</u> (Veh. Code \$23171(a)); <u>4th & subsequent off Rev</u> -(Veh. Code \$23175); <u>Injury Related DWI Off</u>, <u>ist off</u> <u>Susp</u> -(Veh.\$23181(a)); <u>2nd off Rev</u> (Veh. Code \$23185); <u>3rd & subsequent Rev</u>-(Veh. Code \$23191(a)) See Special Note below.

<u>Non-Injury related DWI Off</u>, <u>1st Off-6 mos; 2nd</u> <u>Off-18 mos; 3rd Off-3 yrs; 4th & subsequent-4</u> yrs; <u>Injury Related DWI Off</u>, <u>1st Off-1 yr; 2nd</u> <u>Off-3 yrs; 3rd & subsequent Off-5 yrs; Note:</u> See generally Veh. Code \$\$13352 and 13352.5, See Special Note on p. 3-35 and Footnote No.2 below.

See Footnote No. 2 on p. 3-35.

²Under Veh. Code §13352.3 persons, under 18, who are convicted of an alcohol driving off have their licenses revoked (1) until they are 18, (2) for 1 yr or (3) per Veh. Code §13352 whichever period is longer.

Special Note: If a person is involved in an accident and they have a BAC level or 0.10 or more <u>and</u> they have been convicted of a DWI related vehicle homicide (w/n 5 yrs), their license shall be either suspended or revoked as follows: 1) If the accident <u>does not</u> result in a DWI conviction (either injury or non-injury) - suspension for I year (mandatory); and, 2) If the accident <u>results</u> in a DWI conviction (either injury or non-injury) - revocation for 3 years (mandatory). This revocation period is <u>concurrent</u> with any other DWI imposed restriction, supension or revocation if this is a first DWI conviction or a second conviction w/n 5 years. This revocation period is <u>cumulative</u> with any other DWI imposed restrictions, suspension or revocation, if there have been two (2) or more previous DWI convictions w/n 5 yrs. Veh. Code \$13954

STATE - California

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:</u> (continued)

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

Non-Injury related DWI Off, 1st Off--1; 2nd off--See Footnote No. 2--1; 3rd Off-3 yrs; 4th & subsequent Off- 4 yrs; Injury Related DWI Off, 1st Off-1 yr; 2nd Off - 1 yr susp.³; 3rd & subsequent Offs - 5 yrs

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education:

Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority:

Conditions of probation usually require a defendant to participate in an alcohol education program for any DWI off conviction. See Veh. Code §§23161, et seq. For persons convicted of a 3rd or subsequenct injury or non-injury alc. off- a 1 yr alc. rehb. program is required before their license can be reinstated; see Veh. Code §13352(a)(5). (Note: a person convicted of a first DWI offense in a juvenile court must participate in and complete either an alcohol or drug education program; see Veh. Code §23154.) None

None

Yes, <u>1st DW1 off</u> - (1) The veh may be impounded for a DW1 off from 1-30 dys; <u>2nd and subsequent</u> <u>DW1 offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - The veh may be impounded from 1 to 90 days; Veh. Code §23195.4 (2) However, A defendant's vehicle may be subject to forfeiture if they have been convicted of a DW1 serious injury offense (Veh. Code §23153) and they have been convicted of a previous DW1 offense (any type) w/n the past 5 years; see Veh. Code §23196⁵.

¹Driving privileges may be resticted (Veh. Code \$\$13352 & 13352.5) under certain probation conditions

²Restricted driving privileges may be granted 30 days after a defendant consents to participate in an alcohol rehabilitation program; see Veh. Code §13352.5(c).

³One (1) yr suspension and 2 yrs restricted driving privileges if the court grants probation; see Veh. Code §§13352.5(b) & 23186.

⁴No vehicle may be impounded if another person has a community property interest in the vehicle <u>and</u> it is the sole vehicle available to the defendant's immediate family. ⁵See Footnote No. 3 on p. 3-35.

3 - 37.

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released:

Other:

Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere:

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Offense: There are no special terms which have to be satisfied prior to releasing a vehicle. However, vehicles are impounded at the owners' expense; see Veh. Code \$23195. Note: A veh may also be impounded for a conviction of driving while license is suspended or revoked: 1st off-6 mos impoundment; 2nd and subsequent offs-12 mos impoundment; Veh. Code \$14602

Youthful (18-2! year old persons) DWI offenders may as a part of probation for a 1st off participate in a visitation program of an emergency medical care facilitie, coroner's office or an alcoholism treatment center; see Veh. Code §23145.2 et seq.

Yes - Vehicle Manslaughter See Penal Code \$\$17 191.5, 192(c)(3) and 193 Note: Generally, under Penal Code \$17, a crime is classified as a felony only if the defendant <u>can be</u> and <u>is</u> confined in the State prison. However, if the court can and does exercise its discretion to confine a defendant in a place other than the State prison (such as a county jail), impose just a fine, or place the person on probation without a confinement sentence, the crime is classified as a misdemeanor.

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: 1. Death caused by driving a motor veh, not involving alcohol/drugs: a. with gross negligence - Either in the county jail for not more than 1 yr or 2, 4, or 6 yrs in the State prison; b. without gross negligence - Not more than 1 yr; 2. Death caused by driving a motor veh in violation of Veh. Code \$\$23152 and 23153: a. with gross negligence - 4, 6, or 10 yrs; b. without gross negligence - Not more than 1 yr in the county jail or 16 mos, 2 or 4 yrs in the State prison.

None 3 - 38

None

None

STATE - California

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action:

Note: A violation of either Penal Code \$\$191.5 or 192(c)(3) is considered a violation of Veh. Code \$23153 (injury related DWI) for the purposes of determining the licensing sanctions to be imposed. See the section on DWI licensing sanctions above.

Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: See the Note above. Mandatory Action---Minimum Length of License Withdrawal:

Other:

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

<u>Ist off-10 dys-6 mos; 2nd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-**30 dys-1 yr** and veh impoundment; Veh. Code §14601.2 (See Footnote No. 1 below.)

<u>Ist off-10 dys; 2nd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-30 dys; <u>For a 2nd or subsequent off</u> w/n 7 but more than 5 yrs - 10 dys see Veh. Code \$14601.2(g)

<u>lst off</u>-Not more than \$1,000; <u>2nd and subsequent</u> <u>offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-Not more than \$2,000 None

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): None Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action: Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

A vehicle may be impounded following a conviction for this offense: 1st off-6 mos impoundment; sub. off-12 mos impoundment. See Veh. Code \$14602.

STATE - California

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol

<u>Use and Driving</u>: (continued)

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:

Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

Yes Govt. Code §27491.25 Yes Yes

Yes

21 Bus. & Prof. Code \$\$25658 & 25662 (Year Eff: 1933)

21 (Possession under 21 legal if minor is acting via a parent's order) Bus. & Prof. Code \$\$25658 & 25662

21 (This applies only to consumption on the premises of licensed establishments) Bus. & Prof. Code \$\$25658 & 25662

No

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

- Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No):
 - "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:

Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Administrative Actions Against Owners of

Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages
 Withdrawn (Yes/No):
 Yes, susp or rev

 Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Length of term not fixed
 Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages

2

-

Withdrawn (Yes/No); Length of Term License Withdrawal:

الله المراجع ا مراجع المراجع ال

, · · · .

and the second second

· · · ·

. . .

Yes. but limited to the serving of alcoholic beverages to obviously intoxicated minors. Bus. & Prof. Code \$\$25602 & 25602.1

No (Note: See Bus. & Prof. Code §25602(c), Civil Code \$1714 and Cory v. Shierloh, 629 P.2d 8, 174 Cal. Rptr. 500 (1981).) No Civil Code \$1714(c) and Cory v. Shierloh, 629 P.2d 8, 174 Cal. Rptr. 500 (1981)) None

A A Start And

Misd (Bus. & Prof. Code §25602) Not more than 6 mos, (Bus. & Prof. Code §25617) Not more than \$500 and the second second second

Yes, susp or nev

. • Misd (Bus. & Prof. Code §25658) Not more than **6 mos** Not more than \$500

5 1

÷.,

Yes, susp or rev. Length of term not fixed

.

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

No

3 - 42

Yes Veh. Code §§23222 & 23223

Yes driver and passengers, Veh. Code §§23220 & 23221

: چ STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):
Presumption (BAC Level):

Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No):

> Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence: Other Information:

COLORADO See Colorado Revised Statutes

Under the influence of intoxicating liquor (\$42-4-1202(1)(a))/Impaired by the consumption of alcohol (\$42-4-1202(1)(b)) Yes 0.15 \$42-4-1202(1.5)(a)Yes >0.05 (Driving while impaired) 0.10% (Driving under the influence) \$42-4-1202(1)(a)& (b) (1) Any Drug & (2) a Controlled Substance (Applies to both driving under the influence and driving while impaired) \$542-4-1202(1)(c)(1) & 42-4-1202(1)(d)(1)None

Yes \$42-4-1202(2.5)

Yes \$42-4-1202(3)(a) Express consent law not implied.

Yes §42-4-1202(3)(a)(111)

Yes (Criminal Cases) §42-4-1202(3)(e) N/A

<u>Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which</u> <u>Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law)</u>:

Blood:	Yes \$42-4-1202
Urine:	Yes
Other:	Saliva

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):

No Yes[|] \$42-4-1202(3.7) Yes

¹One may not plead guilty to non-alcohol or non-drug related traffic off if charged with DWI unless the prosecuter makes good a faith allegation that he/she could not establish a prima facie case on the original charge.

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail): No

> Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Other:

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Other:

None

No ·

None

Rev | yr (Mandatory) §§42-4-1202(3)(d) 42-2-122.1(3)(5) & 42-2-122.1(6)(a) None

. . . .

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions:

imprisonment:

Term (Day, Months, Years Etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine:

4

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$):

<u>Driving under the influence/illegal per se, 1st</u> <u>Off-5 dys to I yr; 1st Off</u>-70 dys to I yr; <u>2nd</u> <u>or subsequent off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-90 dys to I yr; <u>Driving while impaired</u>, <u>1st Off</u>-2 dys to 180 dys; <u>1st Off</u>2-60 dys to I yr; <u>2nd or subsequent</u> <u>off</u>-45 dys to I yr (if a previous impaired conviction)¹ \$42-4-1202

Driving under the influence/illegal per se, 1st Off-No; 1st Off¹-7 dys; 2nd or subsequent off (w/n 5 yrs)-7 dys; Driving while impaired 1st Off-No; 1st Off²-6 dys; 2nd or subsequent off-5 dys; See Alcohol Treatment

Driving under the influence/illegal per se, 1st Off-\$300 to 1,000; 1st Off¹-\$450 to 1,500; 2nd or subsequent off (w/n 5 yrs)- \$500 to 1,500; Driving while impaired, 1st Off- \$100 to 500; 1st Off²-\$450 to 1,200; 2nd or subsequent off-\$300 to 1,000 None Note: Defendants are required to pay \$65 into a law enforcement assistance fund and \$15 into the county treasury; see \$43-4-402.

· .

¹But where there has been within 5 yrs a conviction for a driving while impaired off ²But where there has been w/n 5 yrs a conviction for a driving while under the influence off.

3 - 44

ینیں۔ ج -ہیں

1 6

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued)

Other Penalties: Community Service:

Community Service:Driving under the influence/illegal per se, 1stOff-48 to 96 hrs (48 hrs. mandatory); 1st Off-56to 112 hrs (56 hrs mandatory); 2nd or subsequentoff (w/n 5 yrs)-60 to 120 hrs (60 hrsmandatory), Driving While Impaired, 1st Off-24to 48 hrs (24 hrs mandatory), 2nd or subsequentoff-48 to 96 hrs (48 hrs mandatory) \$42-4-1202Restitution (eg, Victim's Fund): Yes, A victims' compensation fund; see\$24-4.1-100.1 et seq.

Special Note: Persons assigned to community service must pay fee of no more than \$40; This is used to keep the community service selfsupporting and to purchase insurance; See \$42-4-1202(4)(g)(v)

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law:

Other:

Other:

<u>Post DWL Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action

(Susp/Rev):

Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.): Yes 0.15 Rev for a mandatory period of 1 yr \$42-2-122.1 None

Driving while under the influence and illegal per se, <u>lst off</u> - Susp/Rev; Driving while impaired, Susp/Rev¹⁸²

Driving while under the influence and illegal per se, <u>ist off</u>-Susp Not less than 1 yr; <u>Driving</u> while impaired, <u>ist off</u>-1 yr¹,²,³⁸⁴; \$42-2-123(8.5)

¹ For a driving while impaired conviction, eight (8) points placed on driver's record; generally the accumulation of either 12 points in 12 mos or 18 points in 24 mos results in license susp for not more than one yr, but a probationary-restricted license may be issued; see 42-2-123(1)(a), (5) and (11).

² A conviction for either an impaired, under the influence, or illegal per se off where there has been a previous alcohol driving off convictions of any type within a 5-yr period — Rev (42-2-122(1)(g) and 42-2-124(2)); A conviction for either an impaired, under the influence of illegal per se influence or illegal per se off where there has been two previous alcohol driving off convictions of any type — Rev (§ 42-2-122(1)(1))

³Special Note: If the first offender is a minor, a person under 21 yrs of age (see § 2-4-402(b)), their license <u>must</u> be revoked for a 1 yr period. See §§ 42-2-122(i)(j) and 42-2-124(2).

⁴A conviction for either an impaired, under the influence, or illegal per se off where there has been a previous alcohol driving off convictions of any type within a 5-yr period --Revocation for 1 yr; A conviction for either an impaired, under the influence of illegal per se influence or illegal per se off where there has been two previous alcohol driving off convictions of any type -- Revocation for an indefinite period.

3 - 45

6th Edition

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

> Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education:

Alcohol Treatment:

Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe): Driving while under the influence and illegal per se, <u>lst off</u> -None¹; Driving while impaired, <u>lst off</u> - None; See Footnotes 2 and 3 below.

<u>ist off</u>--Yes, court may suspend mandatory minimum sentence Ist off--Yes, court may suspend mandatory minimum sentence

lst off--court may suspend mandatory minimum sentence if defendant completes obligation of level | or level || program.

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other: Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere:

None

No

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Offense: Yes, Felony \$\$18-3-106 & \$42-4-1201

¹A probationary-restricted license may be issued for reasons of employment/alcohol education, et al; see § 42-2-123(11) & (13)

²Special Note: If the first offender is a minor, a person under 21 yrs of age (see § 2-4-402(b)), their license <u>must</u> be revoked for a 1 yr period. See §§42-2-122(i)(j) and 42-2-124(2).

 $^{{}^{3}}A$ conviction for either an impaired, under the influence, or illegal per se off where there has been a previous alcohol driving off convictions of any type w/n a 5-yr period - 1 yr; A conviction for either an impaired, under the influence of illegal per se influence or illegal per se off where there has been two previous alcohol driving off convictions of any type - 2 yrs

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Sanctions: Criminal Sanction:

Imprisonment (Term):	2-4 yrs
Mandatory Minimum Term:	None
Fine (\$ Range):	None
Mandatory Minimum Fine:	None
Administrative Licensing Action:	
Licensing Authorized and	_
Type of Action:	Rev
Length of Term of	
Licensing Withdrawal:	l yr '
Mandatory ActionMinimum	
Length of License	
Withdrawal:	liyn
Other:	None

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action: Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

4 yrs

None

Rev

4 yrs; \$42-2-130

offs-\$500 to 3,000

Habitual Offender Laws:

State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender:

Yes, 42-2-201

3 or more serious offs in 7 yrs, or 10 or more convictions for offs of 4 points or more within 5 yrs, or 18 or more convictions of 3 points or less within 5 yrs; \$42-2-2-20

1st_off-30 dys to 1 yr; 2nd and subsequent_

Ist off-30 dys; 2nd and subsequent offs-90 dys

1st off-\$500 to 1,000; 2nd and subsequent

offs-90 dys to 2 yrs; 42-2-130

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

,

Rev for 5 yrs; \$42-2-205

Felony, §42-2-206

I-2 yrs None None N/A None

Yes \$42-4-1211

Yes No Yes (15 years of age or older)

21 \$\$12-46-112 & 12-47-128 (Year Eff: 1987) 21 (applies to possession in public places and motor vehs) \$\$12-46-112 & 12-47-128

None
STATE - Colorado

Other_State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No):

> "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:

Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:

Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term of License Withdrawal

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Yes, \$\$12-46-112.5, 12-47-128.5 & 13-21-103 (Note: Damage awards are limited to \$150,000.)

Note: Dram shop case law (e.g., Kerby v. Flamingo Club, Inc., 532 P.2d 975 (1974)) may have been abrogated by legislation; see 12-46-112.5 & 12-47-125.5.

Yes, 12-46-112.5 & 12-47-128.5 (Limited to the actions of those under the legal drinking ages.) (Note: Damage awards are limited to \$150,000.) None

Misd¹ Not more than 90 days \$100 to 500

Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Susp.-Not more than 6 mos³ Rev.-Period not specified in the statutes

> Misd¹ Not more than 90 days \$100 to 500

· . . ·

For alcoholic beverages (except 3.2% beer), see 5512-47-128(1)(a) & 12-47-130(2). For 3.2% beer class 2 petty offense-a fine of not more than \$100; see 5512-46-112(1)(b), 12-46-114(2) & 12-46-114(3).

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Yes, Susp or Rev¹; Susp.-not more than 6 mos.² Rev.-period not specified in the statutes

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

No

No

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Yes - driver and passengers; \$12-47-128(1)(h) (Note: The law states that "it is unlawful for any person: to consume malt, wines, or spiritous liquor in a public place"; licensed premises are excepted)

For alcoholic beverages (except 3.2% beer), see §12-47-110. For 3.2% beer, see §12-46-107. 2Summary suspension is allowed for not more than 15 days. STATE: General Comments:

CONNECTICUT See Connecticut General Statutes Annotated

Under the influence of intoxicating liquor (14-227a(a))/imparied by the consumption of

0.10 14-227a(a)(2); driving while impaired¹ if

BAC is greater than 0.07 but less than 0.10; see

(1) Any Drug and (2) Any Drug and Intoxicating

intoxicating liquor (14-227a(b))

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):

Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law:	No	
Implied Consent Law:	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	1
Arrest Required (Yes/No):	Yes 4-227b	· .
Implied Consent Law Applies to		
Drugs (Yes/No):	Yes (4-227b(a)	
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test	· · · ·	•
Admitted into Evidence:	Yes (Criminal Cases) 14-227a(f)	
Other Information:	None	

14-227a(b)

Liquor 14-227a(a)

None

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which

Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:				Yes	14-227(d)
Urine:				Yes	4-227(d)
Other:	•			None	

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):

Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):

No²

No Note: The law requires the State to give to the Court in open session the reasons why a criminal DW1 charge was reduced or dismissed. 14-227a

Yes (first-time DWI offenders; see sec 4 of P.A. 81-446)

Driving while impaired is an infraction; see 14-227a(i) ²A pre-trial diversion program is available for first DWI offenders; see 54-56g

6th Edition

STATE - Connecticut

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test:	۰.
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	N/A
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	N/A
Other:	N/A

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test

Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

None

<u>Ist refusal</u> - susp for 6 mos; <u>2nd refusal</u>-Susp for 1 yr¹; <u>Subsequent refusal</u>-Susp for 3 yrs²; (These suspensions are mandatory) 14-227b(f) Special Note: If a driver has a BAC level 0.10 or more or refuses to submit to the chemical test, the police dept. must hold their license for 24 hrs. See 14-227a(F) & 14-227b(c)

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment:

Other:

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Other Penalties: Community Service:

<u>Ist Off-Not more than 6 mos; 2nd Off³-Not more</u> than 1 yr; <u>3rd Off³-Not more than 2 yrs; 4th and</u> <u>sub off¹s³</u>-Not more than 3 yrs 14-227a(h); <u>Driving While Impaired (Infraction)-None; Veh</u> <u>Assault-cl D felony Not more than 5 yrs 53a-60d</u> <u>Ist Off-48 con. hrs 2nd off-10 days; 3rd off-120</u> <u>dys; 4th and subsequent offs -1 yr</u>

. .

<u>lst Off</u> - \$500-1,000; <u>2nd Off</u>³ - \$500-2,000; <u>3rd</u> <u>Off</u>³ - \$1,000-4,000; <u>4th and subsequent off's</u>³ -\$2,000-8,000 14-227a(h); Driving While Impaired (Infraction) - Fine schedule determined by the Courts (See 51-164m); <u>Veh Assault</u> - CI D felony-Not more than \$5,000 All offs - None

 $\underline{lst \ Off} = 100 \ hrs \ in \ lieu of the 48 \ con. hrs. of mandatory imprisonment$

ي في من من من من من م

 $^{\rm I}{\rm This}$ I-yr susp would also apply to a 1st refusal where there has been a previous DWI off conviction.

 $^2{\rm This}$ 3-yr susp would also apply to a 2nd refusal where there has been a previous DWI off conviction.

³w/n 5 yrs

Same States

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued)

Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)

Other:

Yes, Criminal injuries compensation fund; see 54-209 & 54-215 All offs - None

Special Note: The police may take and hold a driver's license for 24 hrs if the driver has a BAC level of 0.10% or more; see 14-227a(b)

For 1st, 2nd and 3rd offs -Susp; 4th and subsequent offs - Rev 14-227a(h); Alcohol infraction - None; Veh_Assault, DWI off - Susp

lst off - 1 yr; 2nd off - 2 yrs ; 3rd off - 3

ist off - 1 yr¹; 2nd off - 2 yrs¹; 3rd off - 3

yrs¹; <u>4th and sub</u>sequent offs - Permanently¹;

yrs; 4th and subsequent offs - Permanently;

Alcohol_infraction - None; Veh Assault, DWI off - I yr

Administrative Licensing Actions:

Pre-DWI Conviction Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law: Other:

Post DW1 Conviction Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

Term of License Withdrawal

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

Alcohol Education:

Alcohol Treatment:

Alcohol Education/

(Describe):

(Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Rehabilitation:

Alcohol infraction - None; Veh Assault, DWI off - l yr

None

Other:

Yes - For all DWI criminal offs 14-227a(k) Yes - For all DWI criminal offs 14-227a(k)

Yes - For all DWI criminal offs

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: None Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other:

Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions

None Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere: None

Note: The law does not specifically prohibit a court from reducing these susp periods.

<u>Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol</u> <u>Use and Driving</u>:

Homicide by Vehicle:

State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

Yes, CI C felony (A person is guilty of manslaughter with a motor vehicle when, while operating a motor vehicle under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any drug or both, he causes the death of another person.) 53a-56b

Sanctions: Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Not	more	than	10	yrs;	53a-56b
None	9			· .	
Not	more	than:	\$5,	000;	53a-41

Administrative Licensing Action:	
Licensing Authorized and	
Type of Action:	Susp;
Length of Term of	
Licensing Withdrawat:	l yr
Mandatory ActionMinimum	
Length of License	5.7
Withdrawal:	None
Other:	None

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense:

Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Not more than 1 yr; 14-215(c) 5 dys

53a-56b

\$500-1,000 None

None

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

> Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

<u>ist off</u> - Susp; <u>Subsequent offs</u> - Susp; 14-111(b)

<u>lst off</u> - Not less than 1 yr; <u>Subsequent offs</u> -Not less than 5 yrs

None (Note: See [4-111(k))

<u>Other_Criminal</u>	<u>Actions</u>	Related	<u>to</u>	Alcohol
Use and Driving	i: (conti	i nued)		

Habitual Offender Laws:	
State Has Such Law (Yes/No):	No
Grounds for Being Declared an	
Habitual Offender:	14
Term of License Rev While	
Under Habitual Offender Status:	
Type of Criminal Offense if	
Convicted on Charges of	
Driving While on Habitual	
Offender Status	
Sanctions Following a Conviction of	
Driving While on Habitual Offender	
Status:	
<pre>imprisonment (Term):</pre>	
Mandatory Minimum Term of	
Imprisonment:	
Fine (\$ Range):	
Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$):	
Licensing Actions (Specify):	

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on
Persons Killed in Traffic
Accidents:
State Has Such a Law (Yes/No):
BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the
the Following Persons:
Driver:
Vehicle Passengers:
Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Minimum Age (Years) Consumption: Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:

2.28

Yes 14–227c Yes

No Yes

21 30-86 & 30-1(20) (Yr Eff: 1985) None

None

Yes, 30-102 (Note: Damages limited to \$50,000)

No No (No cases)

r State Laws Related To Alcohol Use	
<u>Driving</u> : (continued)	
	.
Other:	None
Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees	
of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic	
Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:	·. –
Type of Criminal Action:	Misd 30-86
Term of Imprisonment:	Not more than 1 yr 30-113
Fine (\$ Range):	Not more than \$1,000 30-113
Administrative Actions Against Owners of	- 14 - 14 - 14 - 14 - 14 - 14 - 14 - 14
Establishments that Serve Alcoholic	
Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:	(a) (b) (b) (b) (b) (b) (b) (b) (b) (b) (b
License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages	
	Yes Susp or rev 30-55
Length of Term of License Withdrawal:	•
Criminal Actions Against Owners or	
Employees of Establishments that Serve	
Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type	- : - ²
of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:	· ·
Type of Criminal Action:	Misd 30-86
Term of Imprisonment:	Not more than 1 yr 30-113
Fine (\$ Range):	Not more than \$1,000 30-113
The (Frange).	
Administrative Actions Against Owners of	
Establishments That Serve Alcoholic	
Beverages to Those Persons Under the	
Minimum Legal Drinking Age:	1 · · · ·
License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages	
Withdrawn (Yes/No):	Yes Susp of rev 30-55
Length of Term License Withdrawal:	Unspecified
Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regualtions:	No
Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of	an a
Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages	
and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic	
Beverages in the Passenger Compartment	1.
of a Vehicle:	
Open Container Law (Yes/No):	No

¹Special Note: Any person, except a parent, guardian or physician who gives/delivers liquors to a minor, shall be fined not more than \$1,500 or imprisoned not more than 18 months, or both; see 30-86.

STATE: General Comments:

DELAWARE

See Delaware Code Annotated

.

Standard DWI Offense:	Under the influence	of alcohol 21 \$4177(a)
Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):	Yes 0,10 21 \$4177(
Presumption (BAC Level):	None	
Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:	(1) Any Drug & (2) a	Combination of Alcohol
– –	and a Drug	
Other:	-	<u>na facie</u> evidence that, a
		influence of intoxicating
	liquor. 11 \$3505	
Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:	1	• • • • • • •
Preliminary Breath Test Law:	Yes 21 \$2741	· · · · · ·
Implied Consent Law:		· .
Arrest Required (Yes/No):	Probably not §2740	and §2742(e)
Implied Consent Law Applies to		
Drugs (Yes/No):	Yes	•
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test		£.*
Admitted into Evidence:	Yes (Criminal & Civ	il Cases) 21 §2749
Other Information:	None	
Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law)		
Blood:	Yes 21 \$2740	
Urine:	Yes 21 52740	
Other:	None	
	, ,	•
Adjudication of DWI Charges:	• •	
Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No):	No	
Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI)	No	
Pre-sentencing investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):	No	en e
(182/140):		
<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u>		
Chemical Test:		
Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test:	and the second second	
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	None	
Administrative Licensing Action		
(Susp/Rev):	None	
Refusal to Take Implied Consent		e e e e
•		
Chemical Test		
Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail):	None	

6th Edition

.

STATE - Delaware

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>: (continued)

Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

<u>Ist Refusal</u> - Rev for I yr (6 mos mandatory); (Note: A conditional hardship license may be issued of certain limited conditions are met.); <u>2nd Refusal</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - 18 mos (Mandatory Rev¹); <u>3rd and subsequent Refusals</u> (w/n 5 yrs) -24 mos (Mandatory Rev¹)

<u>Ist Off</u> - 60 dys-6 mos; <u>2nd or subsequent off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - 60 dys-18 mos; <u>Veh Assault</u>, A DWI

Under 21 §4177(f) a person convicted of a second

Ist Off- \$200-1,0001; 2nd or subsequent off (w/n

5 yrs)- \$500-2,000¹; <u>Veh Assault</u>, A DWI related injury where there has been (1) Negligent driving (CI B misd)-Not more than \$500; (2) Criminally negligent driving CI A Misd) - Not

related injury where there has been (1) Negligent driving (CI B misd)-Not more than 6 mos; (2) Criminally negligent driving (CI A

or subsequent DWI off may not receive a suspended sentence; however, there is not specific language that prohibits a Court from

placing a defendant on probation after

misd)-Not more than 2 yrs

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment:

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$):

Other Penalties: Community Service:

None

None

sentencing.

more than \$1,000

For a 2nd and 3rd refusals; the driver would probably not be eligible for a conditional hardship license. 21 \$\$2741, 2742, 2743, 4177E

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:</u> (continued)

Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)

Other:

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DW1 Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law:

Other:

<u>Post DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

<u>Ist Off</u>-Yes; <u>2nd and subsequent off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-Yes II \$9001 et seq.; An additional amount equal to 15% of any fine (whether the fine is suspended or not) is assessed against the defendant; such assessments are placed in a victim's Comp. Fund None

Yes Based on probable cause of DWI. Note: Licensing sanctions (Rev) under the Admin Per Se law are as follows: <u>1st off-</u> 3 mos; <u>2nd off-</u> 1 yr; <u>3rd or subsequent offs-</u> 18 mos; 2nd, 3rd, and subsequent offs include implied consent violations as well as DWI offs and are those occuring within five yrs of a first offs all admin. per se lic actions are mandatory (see 21 §§2742 and 2743).

None

<u>Ist Off-Rev; 2nd Off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-Rev; 3rd or <u>subsequent off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-Rev; 21 \$4177a; <u>Veh</u> <u>Assault</u>-A DWI related injury where there has been (1) negligent driving-Rev; (2) Criminally negligent driving-Rev

<u>Ist Off-</u>I yr; <u>2nd Off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-I yr; <u>3rd or</u> <u>subsequent off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-18 mos; <u>Veh Assault</u>, A DWI related injury where there has been (1) negligent driving-I yr; (2) Criminally negligent driving-2 yrs

<u>Ist Off</u>-90 dys (A conditional license may be issued after the first 90 dys of the rev period); <u>2nd and subsequent offs</u> - 6 mos; see 21 \$\$41778 & 4177C (A conditional license may be issued after 6 mos of the rev period, see 21 § 4177c(b)) <u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense</u>: (continued)

Other:

. . . .

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education:

Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other:

 Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere: For any DWI off-Course of instruction and rehabilitation required for convicted persons prior to having their licenses/driving privileges reinstated¹

No

Note: Impoundment of a vehicle or surrender of license plates/registration (for 90 dys for a lst off and 1 yr for a sub off) is authorized if vehicle operator was operating his/her vehicle while they are under license susp or rev for a DWI off. See 21 \$2756.

None

¹Subsequent offs within 5 yrs of a first - "Ordered to complete a program of education or rehabilitation which may include in-patient treatment followed by such other programs as established by training facility" for a time not to exceed 15 mos and pay a fee not to exceed the maximum fine. 21 \$4177 and 4177D--Persons violating either the implied consent or admin per se laws must complete an alcohol education/alcohol rehabilitation program (21 \$2743(c)).

. . -

1.1.1

on the states of the

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle:

State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

Yes, 1st degree (death caused by criminally negligent driving while DWI) CI D felony 11 \$630A; 2nd degree (death caused by (1) criminally negligent driving or (2) negligent driving while DWI) CLE felony 11 \$630

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Rance):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other:

ist degree-10 yrs; 2nd degree-7 yrs; 11 \$4205 None

<u>lst_degree_As the court may order; 2nd_degree_As</u> the court may order; 11 \$4205 None

1st_degree-Rev; 2nd_degree-Rev; 21 \$2732

1st degree-4 yrs; 2nd degree-3 yrs

1st degree-4 yrs; 2nd degree-3 yrs None

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

1st off-30 dys-6 mos; 2nd and subsequent offs-60 dys-1 yr; 21 \$2756

Ist off-30 dys#; 2nd and subsequent offs -60 dys#; 21 §2756 (*These special sanctions are mandatory where rev was based on vehicle homicide, et al. similar offenses where alcohol use was involved) 1st off-\$200-500; 2nd and subsequent offs-\$500-1,000; 21 \$2756 Ist off-\$500*; 2nd and subsequent_offs - \$500*; 21 §2756; (*These special sanctions are

mandatory where rev was based on vehicle

See Vehicle Impoundment/Consication under Other on p. 3-60.

homicide, et al.)

STATE - Delaware

Other Criminal Actions Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

> Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> > Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender:

> Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status:

Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender

Status:

Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

Other State Laws Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

> Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

<u>lst off</u>-Susp or rev; <u>2nd and subsequent</u> <u>offs</u>-Susp or rev

Original period of susp or rev extended by an equal amount; 21 \$2758

Original period of susp or rev extended by an equal amount

Yes, 21 §2801 et seq.

3 serious or 10 minor moving violations within a 5-yr period

Rev for 5 yrs if based on serious offs or for 3 yrs if based on minor moving violations:

Misd

1-5 yrs

None

None None

License denied for 5 yrs if the habitual offender status is based on serious offs. License denied for 3 yrs if the habitual offender status is based on minor offs.

3 - 62

No

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case

Citation):

. .

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Not specified by statute

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

> Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

21 4 \$904(f) (Year Eff: 1983)
21 4 \$904(f) (Law does not apply to alcohol use in religious services or in the home.)
21 (Law does not apply to alcohol use in religious services or in the home.)

No (For a case denying liability, see Wright v. Moffitt, 437 A2d 554 (1981). Note especially the statements made on p.559 by the Court on third party injury liability.) No

None

No

Not specified 4 \$711 1 mo 4 \$903 Not more than \$100 4 \$903

Yes, susp 1: Not specified by statute

Misd 4 9713

30 dys 4 \$904

Not more than \$100 (or imprisonment) 4 \$904

STATE - Delaware

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

- Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:
 - License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term License Withdrawal;

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Yes Susp 4 \$561 Not specified by statute

Nö

No

No

.

3 ~ 64

6th Edition

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense: Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA See generally D.C. Code and D.C. Municipal Regulations (DCMR)

Under the influence/while imparied \$40-716 . 0.10 \$40-716(b)(1) None . (1) Any Drug & (2) a Combination of Any Drug and Alcohol. \$40-716(b)(1) More than 0.05 constitutes prima facie proof of either driving while under the influence or driving while impaired \$40-717.1(2)

the second second second second second

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law:	No	, e , e je	
Implied Consent Law:		·	and the second
Arrest Required (Yes/No):	Yes	§40–502	
Implied Consent Law Applies to		and the second second	
Drugs (Yes/No):	Yes	\$40-502(a)	
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test			,
Admitted into Evidence:	Yes	(Criminal & Civil Cases)	§40-505(c)
Other Information:	None		

No

No

2

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes 40-502
Urine:	Yes 40-502
Other:	None

14

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pro-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No): Yes D.C. Code Ann. §23-103

Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC Chemical Test:

	Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test	:	
	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	N/A	
Administrative Licensing Action			
	(Susp/Rev):	N/A	
	Other:	N/A	
Refusal to Take Implied Consent			
	Chemical Test		
	Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail):	None	

3 - 65

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> Chemical Test:

Administrative Licensing Action

(Susp/Rev): Other: Susp for 12 mos \$40-505(a) Mandatory (No occupational hardship license shall be issued; see 18 DCMR 310.7(a)) None

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment:

Illegal per se/Under the Influence:¹ <u>ist Off</u>-Not more than 90 dys; <u>2nd Off</u>-(w/n 15 yrs)-Not more than 1 yr; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 15 yrs)-Not more than 1 yr; Impaired:¹ <u>ist Off</u>-Not more than 30 dys; <u>2nd Off</u> (w/n 15 yrs)-Not more than 90 dys² [See \$40-716(b)(1) & (12)] None

Illegal per se/Under the influence: I ist Off-Not

more than \$300; <u>2nd Off</u> (w/n 15 yrs)-Not more than \$5,000; <u>3rd off and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 15 yrs)-Not more than \$10,000; Impaired: <u>1 [st</u> Off-Not more than \$300; 2nd Off (w/n 15 yrs)-Not

Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Other Penalties: Community Service: Restitution (eg Victim's Fund) Other:

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction Licensing Action</u>:

Administrative Per Se Law: Yes⁴ Other: None

See D.C. Code \$40-716(b)(1) & (2)

 2 3rd and subsequent off (w/n 5 yrs) - Not more than 1 yr (D.C. Code §40-716(b)(1) & (2)) 3 3rd and subsequent off (w/n 5 yrs) - Not more than \$5,000 (D.C. Code §40-716(b)(1) & (2)) 4 Under Title 18 §302.5 of the D.C. Mun. Regs., the licensing agency may suspend/revoke a driver's license on its own without a DWI Court conviction if there is sufficient evidence to indicate that a person was operating a motor veh while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, for a 1st Admin. Action - Susp 2 to 30 dys; for subsequent Admin Actions - Susp 15 to 90 dys (See Title 18 §306.1 of the D.C. Mun. Regs.)

more than \$300³

None

None

None

None

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

> <u>Post DW1 Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> > Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: No Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other: None Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere: None

Driving under the influence/illegal per se -Rev for all offs; Driving while impaired for any off - Either susp or rev at the discretion of D.C. officials (see D.C. code \$40-302(a))

Driving under the influence/illegal per se: 1stoff - 6 mos; 2nd off - 1 yr; 3rd and subsequent offs - 2 yrs; see D.C. Code 40-302(a) and (b); 18 DCMR 301.1 and 306.5; Driving while impaired: 1st off - susp from 2 to 30 dys or rev for 6 mos; Subsequent offs - susp from 15 to 90 dys or rev where the time period is discretionary but must be for definitive period of time; see D.C. Code 40-302(a)

Driving under the influence/illegal per se, <u>1st</u> off - 6 mos; <u>2nd off</u> - 1 yr; <u>3rd and subsequent</u> offs - 2 yrs (Note: No occupational hardship licenses shall be issued; see 18 DCMR 310.9(a)); Driving while impaired: None (Note: Either a limited license (see 19 DCMR 309.1 et seq.) or a limited occupational hardship license (see 18 DCMR 310.1 et seq.) may be issued.)

District of Columbia

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Offense: Yes, negligent homicide, felony \$40-713 Received and the second s Sanctions: Criminal Sanction: Not more than 5 yrs ² Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term: None Fine (\$ Range): Not more than \$5,000 the set of the set Mandatory Minimum Fine: None and the second second second Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and \$40-716(d)(12) and 18 DCMR 301.1(b) and Type of Action: Rev 306.5 Length of Term of 1st off - 6 mos; 2nd off - 1 yr; 3rd and Licensing Withdrawal: subsequent offs - 2 yrs Mandatory Action--Minimum Langth of License Withdrawal: Ist off - 6 mos; 2nd off - 1 yr; 3rd ans subsequent offs - 2 yrs Other: None Driving While License Suspended or Revoked ben Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction: Criminal: Imprisonment (Term): Not more than 1 yr \$40-302(e) Mandatory Minimum Term of imprisonment: None Fine (\$ Range): Not more than **\$5,000** Mandatory Minimum Fine: None Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Rev/Susp Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action: Extend the period of susp or rev for an additional period of time which is equal to the length of the original susp or rev period; see D.C Code 40-302 and 18 DCMR 305.1 and 305.5 Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action: Licensing action is mandatory; no occupational license can be granted; see 18 DCMR 310.7(c) . <u>1</u> and the second second products of the second se The constraint of the first state of the second state of the secon

and the second second second second second

the state of the s

and a second second

1.1

. . 7

. <u>,</u> †

All All All All

District of Columbia

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued) sČ, Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): No Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify): Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): No BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Oriver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian: Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: 21 (Year Eff: 1986) \$25-121 Minimum Age (Years) Possession: None Minimum Age (Years) Consumption: 211 \$25-121 Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): No "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation): Yes, Rong Yao Zhou v. Jennifer Mall Restaurant, Inc., A.2d (D.C. 1987) (No. 86-809)

Persons who were 18 years old before September 30, 1986 may continue to purchase and consume light wine and beer; see §25-121(i). Light wine is that which contains 14% or less alcohol by volume; see §25-103(3).

3 - 69

District of Columbia

Other_State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: Other: No (No cases) None

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

> Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action:

> Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

> License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Unspecified but would probably be considered to be a misd Not more than 1 yr Not more than \$1,000 (D.C. Code \$\$25-118, 25-121, and 25-132)

Withdrawn (Yes/No): Yes Susp or rev Length of Term of License Withdrawal: For Rev - no new license shall be issued for 1 yr

> Unspecified but would probably be considered to be a misd §§25-121 & 25-132 Not more than 1 yr Not more than \$1,000

Yes Susp or rev For Rev - no new license shall be issued for 1 yr (D.C. Code \$\$25-118, 25-121, and 25-132)

21 -

No Yes - Driver and passengers §25-128(a)

Na

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):
Presumption (BAC Level):
Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:
Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemcial Test Admitted into Evidence:

Other Information:

FLORIDA See Florida Statutes Annotated

Under the influence of alcoholic beverages §316.193(1)(a) 0.10 §316.193(1)(b) None Controlled Substance §§316.193(1)(a) & 316.1931 0.10 BAC level - prima facie evidence of driving

under the influence \$316.1934(2)(c)

Yes §316,1932(b)(1)

Yes \$316.1932(1)(a)

Yes \$316.1932(1)

Yes (Criminal Cases) \$\$316.1932(1)(a) & 316.1932(1)(c)

Special Note: A blood test may be given a driver without their consent if they have been involved in an accident resulting in either death or serious bodily injury; See §316.1933

<u>Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which</u> Are Authorized Under Law (Impled Consent Law):

Blood:

Urine:

Other:

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No):

Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):

Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No): Yes (Only if incapacity renders the breath test impractical or impossible) §322.261 No (Note: Under §316.1932(1)(a) there is an implied consent to submit to a urine test for the purpose of detecting the presence of controlled substances.) None

Yes (Applies only to DWI manslaughter/veh homicide offs; See §316.656)

Yes (Fla. Stat. Ann. §316.656 (Note: Only applies if BAC level is 0.20% or more or for DWI/ Manslaughter/Veh Homicide off.)

No

STATE - Florida

Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC Chemical Test:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

None

(Susp/Rev):	None
Other:	None
Performant des Tales Implied Consert	
Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test	

Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action

(Susp/Rev):

Noné

1st refusal-Susp for 1 yr (hardship license available); <u>Sub</u>sequent refusals-Susp for 18 mos (Mandatory \$\$322.261 & 322.271(2)(a)) None

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment:

Other:

Mandatory Minimum Term:

1st Off-Not more than 6 mos; 2nd Off-Not more than 9 mos; 3rd Off-Not more than 12 mos; 4th or sub. Off (3rd degree felony)-Not more than 5 yrs¹ 2nd Off-10 dys if 2nd conviction was w/n 3 yrs of a previous DWI conviction 316.193(6); 3rd and subsequent Off-30 dys if 3rd conviction was w/n 5 yrs of a previous DWI conviction 316.193(6)

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Other Penalties:

Ist Off-\$250-500; 2nd Off-\$500-1,000; 3rd Off-\$1,000-2,500; 4th or sub. Off (3rd degree felony)-Not more than \$5,000 None

Also under §316.193, for under the influence offenses where there has been: (1) property damage or personal injury-Misd of the 1st degree-Not more than 1 yr in jail, a fine of not more than \$1,000; (2) serious bodily injury-3rd degree felony-Not more than 5 yrs in prison, a fine of not more than \$5,000; (3) a BAC level of 0.20 or more: 1st Off-Not more than 9 mos in jail, a fine of \$500-1,000; 2nd Off-Not more than 12 mos in jail, a fine of \$1,000-2,000; 3rd Off-Not more than 12 mos in jail, a fine of not less than \$2,000

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:</u> (continued)

Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)

Community Service:

<u>Ist off</u>-50 hrs or if the court thinks it in the best interests of the State, a \$10 fine for each hour of community work otherwise required. (Required notwithstanding other sanctions) Note: This sanction for 1st offerders is part of mandatory probation which is not to exceed 1 yr.

None

Special Note: A 5% surcharge is levied on all fines; This surcharge is paid into a crimes compensation trust fund; See §960.25 Alcohol related crash victims are not eligible this fund. Also, \$25 shall be added to any fine imposed; this amount shall be deposited in the

Administrative Licensing Actions:

Other:

· · ·

· • .

	Pre-DWI Conviction Licensing Action:	
•	Administrative Per Se Law:	None
'	Other:	None
	Post DWI Conviction Licensing Action:	••
•	Type of Licensing Action	•
	(Susp/Rev):	<u>lst Off</u> (Non injury)-Rev; <u>lst Off</u> -Under the
		influence offs bodily injury or property
		damage-Rev: 2nd Off (All offs) (w/n 5 vrs) -Rev:

\$316.193(6)

Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.): <u>lst Off</u> (Non injury)-Rev; <u>lst Off</u>-Under the influence offs bodily injury or property damage-Rev; <u>2nd Off</u> (All offs)(w/n 5 yrs)-Rev; <u>3rd Off</u> (All offs)(w/n 10 yrs)-Rev; <u>4th off</u>-Rev §322.28

Emergency Medical Services Trust Fund; see

<u>Ist Off</u> (Non injury)-180 dys-1 yr; <u>Ist Off</u>-Under the influence offs where there is any bodily injury or property damage-Not less than 3 yrs; <u>2nd Off</u> (All offs) (w/n 5 yrs)-Not less than 5 yrs; <u>3rd off</u> (All offs) (w/n 10 yrs)-Not less than 10 yrs.; and <u>4th off</u> (all offs)-Permanently §322.28

Special Note: Rev is permanent if thure is an alcohol off in connection with a vehmanslaughter/homicide off; see §322.28(2)(e).

STATE - Florida

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued)

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: <u>Ist Off</u>-Intoxication or under the influence offs-See Footnote No. I below; <u>Ist Off</u>-where there is any bodily injury or property damage-3 yrs; <u>2nd Off</u> (All offs) (w/n 5 yrs)-5 yrs (after 12 mos a restricted license may be issued); <u>3rd</u> <u>Off</u> (All offs) (w/n 10 yrs)-10 yrs (after 24 mos a restricted license may be issued); <u>4th Off</u> (All offs)-Permanently §§322.271(2)(b) and 322.28

Yes (Under \$\$316.193(3) and 322.291 a substance abuse course is required for a defendant convicted of any DWI off. Such a course must be successfully completed by defendants who have been convicted of either two DWI offs w/n 5 yrs or 3 such offs w/n 10 yrs before their license can be restored; see \$322.03(1)(b))

Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: No Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: None Other: None Miscellaneous Sanctions

Not Included Elsewhere:

None

. . .

Special Note: Under §322.291 a defendant may be required to complete a driver training course prior to having their license reinstated.

¹A temporary restricted use license for business/employment may be issued for 45 dys following the completion of either a driver training program or substance abuse course; the law is silent as to whether this license can be renewed for additional 45-day periods. §322.271(1) & (2)

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

> Sanctions: Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term):

> > Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range):

Yes, Manslaughter via Veh and DWI manslaughter¹-Felony 2nd degree §782.07; Veh Homicide,-Felony 3rd degree \$782.071

Manslaughter via veh and DWI manslaughter-Not more than 15 yrs; Vehicle Homicide, Felony 3rd degree-Not more than 5 yrs; §775.082(c) & (d) None

Manslaughter via veh and DWI manslaughter-Not more than \$10,000; Veh Homicide-Not more than \$5,000; \$775.083(1)(b) & (c)

Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action:

> Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal:

Manslaughter via veh, DW1 manslaughter and Veh Homicide-Rev; \$322.28(5)

For any death related to the operation of a motor vehicle, a defendant's licnese is revoked for a mandatory min. period of 3 yrs; see \$322.28(5)(a). Note: For DWI manslaughter, revocation could be permanent; see §322.28(2)(e).

Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other:

3 yrs None

None

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked . Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense:

Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

Ist off-Not more than 60 dys (misd 2nd degree); 2nd and subsequent offs §322.34(1)-Not more than l yr (misd lst degree); §775.082

Ist off-Not more than \$500; 2nd and subsequent

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

offs-Not more than \$1,000; \$775.083 None

None

Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

Ist off-Susp/Rev; 2nd and subsequent offs-Susp/Rev; \$322.28(3)

15316, 193(3) (c) (3)

STATE - Florida

<u>Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and</u> <u>Driving:</u> (continued)

> Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

> Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender:

> Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status:

Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

> Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

> Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

<u>lst off</u>-An additional 3 mos; <u>2nd and subsequent</u> <u>offs</u>-An additional 3 mos

(See §322.271 for basis to issue restricted hardship license.)

Yes \$322.264

3 serious or 15 normal moving violations within a 5-yr period

5-yr-Rev Period; (Note: After 12 mos, the offender may have his/her driving privileges restored; see §322.271(1)(b).) §322.27(5)

Misd of the 1st degree §322.34(2)

Not more than I yr \$775.082

None

Not more than \$1,000 \$775.083

None

Rev period extended an additional 3 mos \$322.28(3)

No

3 - 76

. . . .

. .

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages			
Concerning Alcoholic Beverages:			
Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:	21 §562.11(a) (Year Eff: 1985)		
Minimum Age (Years) Possession:	21 (Except for employment purposes) §562.11		
Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:	21 On licensed premises §562.11(a)		
Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions:			
State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No):	Yes \$768.125 Special Note: Actions under this law are limited to damages caused by selling alcoholic beverages (1) to persons und the legal drinking or (2) to persons habitual addicted to alcohol; see Barnes v. B.K. Credit Service, Inc., 461 So.2d 217 (Fla. App. 1984)		
"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been.			
Adopted Via a Change to the Common			
Law Rule by Action of the Highest	· ·		
Court of Record in the State (Case	· · ·		
Citation):	Possible See Allen v. Babrab, Inc.,		
	438 So.2d 356 (Fla. 1983).		
Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:	No See United Services Auto Assn. v. Butler, 359 So.2d 498 (1978)		
Other:	None		

None (Note: Fla. Stat. Ann. §562.50 makes it

5

illegal to sell or dispose of, in any way, intoxicating liquors to an individual when the

1

Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

> person, who is selling or disposing of such intoxicating liquor, has written notice that the person receiving such intoxicating liquor is an habitual drunkard.) None

> > None

3 - 77

Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

6th Edition

14 <u>- 1</u>1 -

STATE - Florida

Other State Laws Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): No Length of Term of License Withdrawal: N/A

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

- Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:
 - License to Serve Alcohlic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

- Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:
- Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:
 - Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

and the second
Misd (2nd degree) (Fla. Stat. Ann. §562.11) Not more than 60 dys Not more than \$500

Yes Susp or rev (Fla. Stat. Ann. §561.29(1)(a) and (w) Time period is not specified in the statute.

No No No No No No No No No No No

No No

.

STATE:

General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense: Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence: Other Information:

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood: Yes 40-5-55 Yes 40-5-55 Urine: Other: Or "other bodily substance" (The code does not language.) 40-5-55

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):

Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC Chemical Test:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Te	st:
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	N/A
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	N/A
Other:	N/A

GEORGIA

See Code of Georgia Annotated (Code of .1981)

Under the influence of alcohol 40-6-391(a)(1) 0.12 40-6-391 (a) (4) & 40-6-392 (a) (4) 0.10 40-6-392(b)(3) (1) Any Drug & (2) a Combination of Any Drug and Alcohol 40-6-391(a)(2) & (3) None

No

Yes 40-5-55

40-5-55(a) Yes

Yes (Criminal Cases) 40-6-392(c) None

specify the substances but only uses general

No No

(Note: Mandatory only in felony cases.) No

STATE - Georgia

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>: (continued)

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

None

Service)

None

None

None

w/n 5 yrs) (Misd) -\$1,000

imprisonment terms)

Susp for 6 mos 40-5-55 & 40-5-63(b) Mandatory

Other:

Special Note: If the refusal is in connection with a DWI- Homicide charge. The suspiperiod is a mandatory 12 mos; see 40-5-63(b)

<u>lst off</u> (Misd)-10 dys-1 yr; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-90 dys-1 yr; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5

<u>2nd off</u> (Misd)—**48 hrs;** <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs) (Misd)—10 dys; (Note: See Community

<u>lst off</u> (Misd)-**\$300-1,000**; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) (Misd)-**\$600-1,000**; 3rd and subsequent offs (all

<u>2nd off</u> (Misd.)-**80 hrs;** <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (all w/n 5 yrs)(Misd.)-**30 dys** (alternative sanction to the 48 hr/10 day minimum

yrs) (Misd)-120 dys-1 yr; 40-6-391(c)

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment:

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Other Penalties: Community Service:

> Restitution (eg Victim's Fund) Other:

Administrative Licensing Actions:

<u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law: None Other: None

<u>Post DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

<u>lst off</u>-Susp; <u>2nd off</u> -Susp; <u>3rd and subsequent</u> <u>offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-Rev 40-5- 70(b)(1)(A)(B)(C), 40-5-58 & 40-5-62

Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

<u>lst off-1 yr; 2nd offs-3 yrs; 3rd and subsequent</u> offs (all w/n 5 yrs)-5 yrs

DWI where there is a serious injury is a felony - imprisonment 1-5 years; see \$40-6-394.

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued)

> Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

<u>Ist of</u>f-License may be restored after 120 dys of the susp period have passed¹; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) License may be restored after 120 dys have passed²; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-5 yrs

Yes, for 1st and 2nd DWI offenders, the license may be restored before the end of the susp period as indicated provided the defendant completes an approved alcohol or drug program;

See 40-5-70.

Yes.

None

None

New York Adda

Other: Rehabilitation:

Alcohol Education:

Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: No

Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other: Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere: No (Note: Under Code of Ga. \$85-203, only certain illegally parked vehs may be impounded.)

.... ±r .

None

<u>Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol</u> <u>Use and Driving</u>:

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

Yes 1) Veh homicide where there is no "malice aforethought" but where there is a violation of \$\$40-6-271, 40-6-390 & 40-6-391 (veh homicide in the first degree-felony)³

¹Under 40-5-71 a 1st offender may be issued a hardship license; also, under 40-6-391.1 a license susp may be avoided on a 1st DWI off if the defendant pleads noto contendere to such off; thus, there is really no "mandatory" susp period for a 1st off. ²See rehabilitation section

³2) Veh homicide where the death is caused "without an intention to do so" and where driving while violating §§40-6-390,-391 is not involved (Veh Homicide in the Second Degree-Misd.); 3) Veh Homicide where the defendant is an habitual violator, his/her license has been revoked, and there is no "Malice Aforethought" (Veh Homicide in the First Degree-Felony) §§16-1-3(5) & 40-6-393

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol	
Use and Driving: (continued)	
Sanctions:	
Criminal Sanction:	
Imprisonment (Term):	1) 2-15 yrs ¹ 2) Not more than 12 mos ² 3) 3-15 yrs ³
Mandatory Minimum Term:	$3) I yr^3$
Fine (\$ Range):	2) Not more than \$1,000 ²
Mandatory Minimum Fine:	None
Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and	
Type of Action:	1) $Susp^{1}$ 2) $Susp^{2}$ 3) $Susp^{3}$
Length of Term of	
Licensing Withdrawal: Mandatory ActionMinimum	1) 3 yrs ¹ 2) 3 yrs ² 3) 3 yrs ³ , 40-5-64(f)
Length of License	
Withdrawal:	1) 3 yrs ¹ 2) 3 yrs ² 3) 3 yrs ³
Other:	None
Driving While License Suspended or Revoked	
Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense:	. · · ·
Sanction:	
Criminal:	
Imprisonment (Term):	2 dys-6 mos (Misd)
Mandatory Minimum Term	
of Imprisonment:	None
Fine (\$ Range):	Not more than \$500
Mandatory Minimum Fine:	None
Administrative Licensing Actions	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
Type of Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	Susp/Rev 40-5-121(b)
Length of Term of License	
Withdrawal Action:	Original susp or rev period is extended l yr
Mandatory Term of License	······································
Withdrawal Action:	Original susp or rev period is extended I yr

¹Veh homicide where there is no "malice aforethought" via a violation of 5540-6-271, 40-6-390 and 40-6-391 (alcohol offs)

²Veh homicide where the death is caused "without an intention to do so" and where driving while violating §§40-6-390,-391 is not involved (Veh Homicide in the Second Degree)

³Veh Homicide where the defendant is an habitual violator, his/her license has been revoked, and there is no "Malice Aforethought" (Veh Homicide in the First Degree) \$40-6-393

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No):

Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender:

Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status:

Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

<u>Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use</u> <u>And Driving</u>:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No):

> BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

Yes \$40-5-58(c) (Note: Previous code citation was \$688-308)

3 serious violations (w/n 5 yrs) alone or a combination of 15 serious/minor moving violations within a 5 yr period

5-yr rev period 540-5-62(a)(1) (Note: A probationary restricted hardship ficense may be issued after two yrs of the rev period have passed; 540-5-58(c))

Felony \$40-5-58(c)

1-5 yrs

None Not less than \$750 None None

Possible \$45-16-27 (Op. Att. Gen. 079-10) (Indrect chemical test via coroner.)

Possible Possible Possible

21 (Year Eff: 1986) 53-3-23(a)(1) & (2) 21 (Exceptions: Medical purposes, religious ceremonies, and home use with parental consent) N/A Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued) Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: . . State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): No "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest where the second second second second Court of Record in the State (Case Citation): Possible (For a case denying liability, see Nunn v. Comidas Exquisitos, Inc., 305 S.E.2d 487 (Ga. App. 1983); however, since social hosts may be held liable, this case may no longer be relevant.¹ See case under Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts below.) Yes See Sutter v. Hutchings, 327 S.E.2d 716 Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: (1985) Other: None Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action: Misd 553-1-2(2), 3-3-9, 3-3-22 & 17-10-3 Term of Imprisonment: Not more than 12 mos Fine (\$ Range): Not more than \$1,000 Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Yes Susp or cancellation \$3-2-3 Length of Term of License Withdrawal: 2 yrs Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action: Ist off- Misd Subsequent offs- Misd of a high and aggravated nature. \$\$3-1-2(2), 3-3-23, 3-3-23.1, 17-10-3 & 17-10-4 Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

For 1st and subsequent off-Not more than 12 mos <u>1st off</u>- Not more than \$1,000; <u>Subsequent off</u>-Not more than \$5,000

¹In this regard, see Bishop v. Fair Lanes Bowling, Inc., 633 F. Supp. (195) (1985) where a Federal District Court determined that a vender of alcoholic beverages could be held liable in a dram shop action under certain limited conditions.
Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

- Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:
 - License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Yes, susp or cancellation §3-2-3 2 yrs

No

No

No

. . .

•

1 ... •

 $(x_1, \dots, x_{n-1}) \in \mathbb{R}^{n-1}$

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):
Presumption (BAC Level):
Types of Drugs/Drugs and Aicohol:
Other:

HAWAII See Hawaii Revised Statutes

Under the influence of intoxicating liquor \$291-4(a)(1) 0.10 \$291-4(a)(2) None

Any Drug \$291-7

0.10 or more is considered competent evidence of driving under the influence if the chemical test was taken within 3 hrs of a DWI violation. \$291-5(a)

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit Chemical Test ADmitted into Evidence:

Other Information:

No

Yes §286-151

No

No (Specifically prohibited in both criminal and civil cases; see §286-159.) Special Note: It appears that either a blood or breath test may be given a driver without their consent in order to obtain evidence of their intoxication if they are involved in an accident resulting in injury to or death to another person; §286-163

<u>Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which</u> <u>Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law)</u>:

Urine: No	
Other: None	

No

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI; (Yes/No):

No

Yes 2nd & 3rd DWI offs \$291-4(c)

STATE - Hawaii

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test:	
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	N/A
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	N/A
Other:	N/A

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action

(Susp/Rev):

No

Rev 1st refusal 12 mos 2nd and sub. refusals (w/n 5 yrs) 2 to 5 years \$286-155) (Mandatory) Persons penalized under \$286-155 must under go an assessment for alcohol dependence and the need for treatment \$286-155(d)

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment:

Other:

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Other Penalties: Community Service:

Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)

G

Other:

<u>Ist alc. off</u>-48 hrs¹; <u>2nd alc. off</u> (w/n 5 yrs of a previous conviction)-48 hrs of cons imprisonment; <u>3rd alc. off</u> (w/n 5 yrs of two previous convictions)-10-180 dys §291-4 For any drug aff-not more than 1 yr §291-7 <u>2nd Alc. off</u> (w/5 yrs of a previous conviction)-48 cons hrs

<u>Ist alc. off</u>-\$150-1,000¹; <u>2nd alc. off</u> (w/n 5 yrs of a previous conviction)-\$500-1,000¹; <u>3rd</u> <u>alc. off</u> (w/n 5 yrs of two previous convictions)- \$500-1,000¹ \$291-4 <u>For any drug</u> <u>off</u>-not more than \$1,000 \$291-7 None

<u>Ist alc. off</u>-72 hrs¹; <u>2nd alc. off</u> (w/n 5 yrs of a previous conviction)-10 dys (80 hrs for a drug off.) as an alternative to imprisonment Yes Direct compensation by defendants to the victims; see §706-605(1)(e). None

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law: Other:

None None

The Court must sentence a person convicted of a 1st DWI off to at least one of these sanctions but it has the authority to sentence such person to more than one such sanction.

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DW1 Offense:</u> (continued)

<u>Post DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

Other: Rehabilitation:

Alcohol Education:

•	Alcohol Treatment:
	Alcohol Education/
	Treatment as an Altern-
	ative to Criminal
1. L	Licensing Actions
	(Describe):
	Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation
	Authorized by Specific
	Statutory Authority:
	Terms Upon Which Vehicle
e	Will Be Released:
	Other:
· <u> </u>	Miscellaneous Sanctions
· · · ·	Not included Elsewhere:

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

.

Yes--2 types of offs 1) Death caused by negligent veh operation (homicide in the first degree) a CI C felony 2) Death caused by simple negligence--homicide in the second degree) a misd

1.5 4

and the second
For alc. offenses only: 1st off-Susp¹; 2nd

off-Susp; <u>3rd off-Rev</u> §291-4 For any drug off-no licensing action is authorized.

For alc. offenses only: 1st off-90 dys¹; 2nd

For alc. offenses only: <u>lst off</u>-**30 dys** with a restricted license for 60 dys¹; 2nd off-1 yr

1st off - A mandatory 14 hr alcohol/drug abuse

For any drug off-N/A

education/counseling program.

off-1 yr; 3rd off-1-5 yrs For any drug off-N/A

Note: For certain serious traffic law violations, e.g., an alcohol driving offense, a person recieves points on their driving record. A license is suspended from 1-6 months if a person accumulates 12 points on their record. For an alcohol driving offense conviction, a person receives from 4 to 8 points. Consequently, for a first conviction for an alcohol driving offense , a person could recieve up to a 6 month license suspension if they have accumulated 12 points as a result of this conviction and from other previous traffic law violations. See \$286-128.

:

No

None None

None

· · · ·

STATE - Hawaii

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action:

> Length of Terfn of Licensing Withdrawal:

Mandatory Action -- Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other:

1 yr

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Death caused by negligent veh operation (homicide in the 1st degree) a CL C felony-Not more than 5 yrs; Death caused by simple negligence--homicide in the 2nd degree) a misd-Not more than I yr (Hawaii Rev. Stat. §§707~703 and 707-704)

To be determined by the paroling authority via special procedures (Hawaii Rev. Stat. \$\$707-703 and 707-704)

Death caused by negligent veh operation (homicide in the 1st degree) a CI C felony Not more than \$5,000 Death caused by simple negligence--<u>homicide in the 2nd degree</u>) a misd Not more than \$1,000 (Hawaii Rev. Stat. §§707-703 and 707-704) None

Death caused by negligent veh operation (homicide in the first_degree) a CI C felony-Rev¹; Death caused by simple negligence-homicide in the second degree) a misd-RevI

Death caused by negligent veh operation (homicide in the first_degree) a CI C felony-Not less than I yr; Death caused by simple negligence---homicide in the second degree) a misd-Not less than 1 vr

None

3 con days - 30 days (may be extended to 60 days for "good cause") §291-4.5

3 con days appears to be mandatory \$250-1,000 None

6th Edition

¹Mandatory rev in the statute applies to a conviction of the driver for manslaughter; the statute does not state in a definitive manner whether veh homicide is manslaughter; see 55286-124 and 286-126.

<u> Dther Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol</u> <u>Jse and Driving</u> : (continued)	
Administrative Licensing Actions	:
Type of Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	Susp or rev \$291-4.5
Length of Term of License	
Withdrawal Action: Mandatory Term of License	An additional period of one (I) year⁽
Withdrawal Action:	The above susp. or rev. appears to be mandatory
Habitual Offender Laws:	
State Has Such Law (Yes/No):	No
Grounds for Being Declared an	
Habitual Offender:	
Term of License Rev While	
Under Habitual Offender Status:	
Type of Criminal Offense if	
Convicted on Charges of	
Driving While on Habitual	
Offender Status	
Sanctions Following a Conviction of	
Driving While on Habitual Offender	
Status:	
(mprisonment (Term):	
Mandatory Minimum Term of	
Imprisonment:	
Fine (\$ Range):	
Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$):	
Licensing Actions (Specify):	
Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use	
And Driving:	
Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on	
Persons Killed in Traffic	
Accidents:	
State Has Such a Law (Yes/No):	Possible (Hawaii Rev. Stat. §841-3) (Indirect chemical test via coroner)
BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the	
the Following Persons:	
Driver:	Possible
Vehicle Passengers:	Possible
Pedestrian:	Possible

The suspension or revocation period commences upon the person's release from imprisonment.

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued) Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages 🐁 Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession: (Ь) Minimum Age (Years) Consumption: N/A Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): No "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation): Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: None Other: · . and the second second Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Administrative Actions Against Owners of

Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Not specified in

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action: a series de la companya de la compa A series de la companya de la company

21 (yr eff; 1986) \$\$281-1, 281-78 & 281-101.5 21 (Employment situations, medical treatment and religious ceremonies are excluded.) \$\$281-1, 281-78, 281-101.5 and 712-1250.5(2(a) & (b) N/A

Yes Ono v. Applegate, 612 P.2d 533 (1980) No (No cases)

Misd Not more than 6 mos (Hawaii Rev. Stat., \$\$281-78, 281-91 and 281-102) Not more than **\$500**

Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Not specified in the statute (Note: A civil penalty of not more than \$500 may be assessed in lieu of license susp or rev.)

Misd

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Term of imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Not more than **6 mos** Not more than **\$500** (Hawaii Rev. Stat. \$\$281-78, 281-91, and 281-102 & (Ch. 712)

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Yes, susp or rev

Not specified in the statute (Note: A civil penalty of not more than \$500 may be assessed in lieu of license susp or rev.) (Hawaii Rev. Stat. \$\$281-78, 281-91, and 281-10 & Ch. 712)

No (Note: Under S.B. 216 enacted in 1987, the liquor commission is required to promulgate regulations which prohibit practices which promote excessive consumption of alcoholic beverages.)

Yes \$\$291-3.1(a) & 291-3.2(a)¹ Yes- Driver and passengers \$\$291-3.1(b), 291-3.2(b) & 291-3.3¹

¹There is an exception in the case of motor vehicles for hire; see §291-3.4.

6th Edition

3 - 93

18.25 -

and the second × •,

5 K 2 1 1

 $(x_1, y_2, y_3) \in \{x_1, y_2, y_3\}$

.

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense: Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence:

Other Information:

IDAHO See General Laws of Idaho Annotated

Under the influence of alcohol \$18-8004(1) 0.10 \$18-8004(1) >0.08 \$18-6901 (1) Any Drug, (2) Intoxicating Substance and (3) a Combination of Any Drug and Alcohol \$\$18-8004(1) & 18-8004(5) No

No (See Footnote No. 1 below.) No

Yes \$18-8004(1)

Yes (Criminal Cases) State v. Bock, 328 P.2d 1065 (1958) The police need only reasonable grounds of an alcohol off before the implied consent law is applicable; See \$18-8002(1); However, see \$18-8002(4)(b) which appears to indicate that probable cause is needed.

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood: Yes! Urine: Yes! Other: See Footnote No. I below.

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):

Yes	§ 8-8005(5)
No	
140	

. .

6th Edition

¹The law refers to an evidentiary test for BAC levels without specifying the bodily substance to be tested; see §18-8002(1).

Al.

2

STATE - Idaho

Sanctions fo	or Refusal	to Submi	t to a BAC
Chemical Tes	<u>st</u> :		

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath	Test:	
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):		N/A
Administrative Licensing Action		
(Susp/Rev):	· · ·	N/A
Other:	÷.	N/A

Retus	sai to lake implied Consent
Chemi	ical Test
	Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail):
	Administrative Licensing Action
	(Susp/Rev):
	Other:



Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions:

Imprisonment:

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine: Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Other Penalties:

Community Service:

Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)

Other:

<u>Ist off-Not more than 6 mos; 2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) misdemeanor-10 dys to 1 yr; <u>3rd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) Felony-Not more than 5 years; Aggravated DWI where there is bodily harm/ disfigurement-Not more than 5 years

<u>Ist off Misd-None; 2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) Misd-10 dys; <u>3rd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) Felony-30 dys; <u>Aggravated DWI off</u> where there is bodily harm/disfigurement-30 dys¹

<u>Ist off</u> Misd-Not more than \$1,000²; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) Misd-Not more than \$2,000²; <u>3rd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) Felony-Not more than \$5,000²; <u>Aggravated</u> <u>DWI off</u> where there is bodily harm/disfigurement-Not more than \$5,000² None

None

Yes <u>Aggravated DWI off</u> where there is bodily harm/disfigurement; see \$18-8006(1)(e). There is also a victims' compensation fund; see \$72-1001 et seq.²

None

None

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law:

Other: None ISee State v. McCoy, 486 P.2d 247 (1971), in which the Idaho Supreme Court voided a statute

requiring mandatory sanctions.

 2 A defendant is also assessed a special fine of \$10 which is paid into a crime victims' compensation account; see §72-1025.

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:</u> (continued)

<u>Post DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

<u>lst off</u>-Susp¹; <u>2nd off</u>-Susp³; <u>3rd off</u>-Susp¹; <u>Aggravated DWI off</u>-Susp \$\$18-8005 & 18-8006

Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

<u>Ist off</u>-Not more than 180 dys; <u>2nd off</u>- 6 mos-1 year after release from confinement; <u>3rd off</u>- 1-5 years after release fr confinement; <u>Aggravated DW1</u> <u>off</u> - 1-5 years after release from confinement \$\$18-8005 & 18-8006

<u>lst off</u> -None²; <u>2nd off</u>-30 dys after release from confinement³; <u>3rd off</u>-1 year after release from confinement; <u>Aggravated DWI off</u>-1 year after release from confinement \$\$18-8005 & 18-8006

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education:

Alcohol Treatment:

A DWI offender may be referred for participation in retraining and/or rehabilitation program by a driver improvement counselor, a judge, a district court magistrate, or the hearing officer of the Department of Law Enforcement.

Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

¹If the offender is a minor (a person under 18 years old), their license is suspended or denied for either an additional I year or until the person reaches 18 which ever period is longer or following the end of any period of susp or rev; See § 18-8005(7) ²A restricted license may be issued for reasons of employment. ³After the 30 day mandatory period, a restricted license may be issued for reasons of employment for the balance of the 6 mo minimum susp period.

3 - 97

STATE - Idaho

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued)

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: No Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other: None Miscellaneous Sanctions Not included Elsewhere:

None

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term):

> Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action:

> Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal:

Yes--3 types of offs for veh manslaughter--death as a result either (1) of an unlawful act not amounting to a felony where gross negligence is involved (Felony); (2) a DWI off (Felony); or, (3) death as a result of an unlawful act not amounting to a felony where there is no gross negligence (Misd.). \$\$18-111, 18-4006(3) & 20-201 et seq.

(1) Veh manslaughter--death as a result of either gross negligence or of a DWI off-Not more than 7 years;

(2) Death as a result of an unlawful act not amounting to gross negligence - Not more than 1 year \$18-4007(3)

None (1) Veh manslaughter---death as a result either gross negligence or of a DWI off-Not more than \$7,000;

(2) Death as a result of an unlawful act not amounting to gross negligence - Not more than \$2,000

None

(1) Veh manslaughter--death as a result either gross negligence or a DWI offs; (2) Death as a result of an unlawful act not amounting to gross negligence - Rev \$49-329

(1) Veh manslaughter--death as a result either gross negligence is involved;

(2) Death as a result of an unlawful act not amounting to gross negligence - Not less than 1 yr \$49-331

3 - 98

STATE – I daho

<u>Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol</u> <u>Use and Driving:</u> (continued)

Mandatory Action---Minimum Length of License Withdrawal:

Other:

 <u>Veh manslaughter</u> -death as a result either gross negligence or of a DWI offs;
 Death as a result of an unlawful act not amounting to gross negligence - I year Note: The law specifically states that a temporary restricted license cannot be issued following revs based on veh <u>manslaughter</u>.

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense:

> Sanction: Criminal:

> > Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

<u>lst off</u> Misd-Not less than 2 dys to 6 mos; <u>2nd</u> <u>off</u> Misd (w/n 5 years)-20 dys to 1 yr (w/n 12 mos); <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 years)(felony)-Not more than 3 yrs, 18-8001

<u>lst off</u> Misd-2 dys; <u>2nd off</u> Misd (w/n 5 years)-20 dys; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5

years)(felony)-<mark>30 dys</mark> <u>lst off</u> Misd-Not more than **\$500;** <u>2nd off</u> Misd

(w/n 5 years)-Not more than \$1,000; <u>3rd and</u> <u>subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 years)(felony)-Not more than \$3,000

None

Special Note: If a person is convicted of an alcohol driving off and such person had no driving privileges at the time of arrest, the penalties imposed under \$18-8001 are in addition to any penalties imposed for an alcohol driving off conviction.

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

> Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

<u>lst off</u> Misd-Susp; <u>2nd off</u> Misd (w/n 5 years)-Susp; 3rd and subsequent offs (w/n 5 years)(felony) 18-8001 - Rev \$49-337

<u>Ist Off</u> Misd-License susp for an additional 6 mos¹;-<u>2nd Off</u> Misd (w/n 5 yrs)-License susp for an additional 1 yr; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)(felony)-License revoked for an additional 3 yrs, 18-8001

<u>2nd off</u> Misd (w/n 5 years) additional-1 yr; <u>3rd</u> and subsequent offs (w/n 5 years)(felony)-an additional **3 years**, 18-8001

Restricted licenses available for employment reasons or family health needs.

STATE - Idaho

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:

Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

No and a second se

Yes 549-1016 Yes No Yes

21¹ 5523-312, 23-929 & 23-1023 (Year Eff: 1987) 21¹ 523-949 (There is an employment exemption for persons who are at least 19 years old; see

\$\$23-1013 & 23-1334.) 21¹ \$23-949

Note: Persons who were at least 19 years old as of 4/9/87 may continue to purchase, possess and consume alcoholic beverages; see \$\$15 of H.B. enacted in 1987.

STATE - Idaho

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

> Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

> License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Yes \$23-808

Note: Case law (e.g., Alegria v. Payonk, 619 P.2d 135 (1980)) may have been abrogated by legislation enacted in 1986; see \$23-808. Yes \$23-808

Misd \$23-605 3 mos-i yr \$300-1,000

No

Yes, but may pay \$5,000 for 1st off in lieu of susp.

Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Statute has no stated time period.

Misd for 1st off; Felony-2nd and subsequent \$23-603

Misd for 1st off - 3 mos to 1 year; Felony 2nd and subsequent 5 years

Misd for 1st off - \$300-1,000; Felony-2nd and subsequent \$5,000

Yes but may pay \$5,000 for 1st off in lieu of SUSP

Indeterminate (statute has no specific time period) \$23-933

STATE - I daho

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

No

۰.

-,-

, .

\$23-933 Yes No

6th Edition

3 - 102 2

STATE: General Comments: ILLINOIS See Smith/Hurd Illinois Annot. Statutes

0.10 Ch. 95%, ¶11-501(a)(l)

0.10 Ch. 95%, ¶11-501.2(b)(3)

¶11-501(a)(2)

None

Under the influence of alcohol Ch. 95%,

(1) Any Drug and (2) a Combination of Any Drug and Alcohol See Ch. 95%, ¶111-501(a)(3) & (4)

Basis for a DW1 Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):
Presumption (BAC Level):
Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law:	Yes ^l Ch. 95%, ¶11-501.4
Implied Consent Law:	
Arrest Required (Yes/No):	Yes Ch. 95%, ¶11-501.1
Implied Consent Law Applies to	
Drugs (Yes/No):	Yes Ch. 95%, ¶li-501.1(a)
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test	
Admitted into Evidence:	Yes (Criminal Cases) Ch. 95%, ¶11-501.2(c)
Other Information:	None

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood: Unine:	Yes Ch. 92%, ¶11-501.1 Yes Ch. 95%, ¶11-501.1
Other:	None
Adjudication of DWI Charges:	
Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No):	No
Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):	No ²
Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI)	
(Yes/No):	Yes Ch. 95%, ¶[1-501(e)

Before the Preliminary Breath Test can be given, a law enforcement officer must have probable cause to believe that the driver is violating the DWI law. The test is given prior to an actual DWI arrest for the purpose of assisting the officer in determining whether to require a chemical (evidentiary) test under the implied consent law.

²Note: A defendant cannot obtain deferred judgement and be placed on supervision if within 5 ' years they have either (1) been convicted of DWL, (2) pleaded guilty to or by stipulated facts supporting the conviction of a DWL off charge, or (3) have received supervision for a prior DWL off; see Ch. 38, ¶¶1005-6-1(c) and 1005-6-1(d)).

3 - 103

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Other:

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail):

Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): None

None

None

None

<u>Ist refusal</u>-Susp for 6 mos (Note: A Judicial Driving Permit is available; see Footnote No. 1 (under Admin. per se) on p. 3-xxx for details.); <u>subsequent refusals</u>-Susp for 1 yr; (90 days mandatory; a restricted license may be issued after this 90 day period.) Ch. 95%, 1MT6-206(c)(3), 206.1, 208.1 and 11-501.1 None

Other:

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions:

Imprisonment:

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine: Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$):

Other Penalties: Community Service: <u>ist & 2nd offs</u> (Class A misd)-Less than I yr; <u>subsequent offs</u> (Class 4 felony)-1-3 yrs Ch. 38, M11005-8-1(a)(7) & 1005-8-3(a)(1) and Ch. 95%, M11-501.

2nd off (only) (w/n 5 yrs)-48 cons hrs (Ch. 38, 111005-5-3(c)(3) & 1005-6-1(d) (Ref: P.A. 83-204 and P.A. 83-207)

<u>lst & 2nd offs</u>-Not more than \$1,000; <u>subsequent</u> <u>offs</u>-Not more than \$10,000; Ch. 38, ¶1005-9-1(a)(1) & (2) None

<u>2nd off</u> (only) (w/n 5 yrs)-Yes See Ch. 38, ¶1005-5-6, a minimum of 10 dys (Alternative to the term of 48 cons hrs of mandatory imprisonment)

Special Note No. 1: Driving a school bus while DWI while the bus is occupied by school children is a CI 4 Felony; imprisonment from 1 to 3 yrs and/or a fine of not more than \$10,000; restitution may be required; see Ch. 38, 111005-8-1(a)(7), 1005-9-1(a)(1) and Ch. 95%, 111-501(a) & (d)(2).

Special Note No. 2: Causing a DWI related accident which results in either great bodily harm or permanent disability or disfigurement is also a Cl 4 felony; imprisonment from 1 to 3 years and/or a fine of not less than \$10,000; see Ch. 38, ¶MI1005-8-1(a)(7), 1005-9-1(a)(1) and Ch. 95%, ¶11-501(a) & (d)(3).

continued)		* <u>*</u>
	Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)	Yes, for all offs Paid directly by a defendant to a victim; see Ch. 38, MM1005-5-31(b)(7), 1005-6-3.1(c)(9) and 1005-5-6. There is also a
		victims' compensation fund; see Ch. 70, ¶72.
	Other:	None
Administ	rative Licensing Actions:	
Pre	<u>-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action:	
	Administrative Per Se Law:	Yes 0.10 <u>lst viol3</u> mos. susp. (not mand.) subsequent viol1 yr. susp.
	an an the an	(90 dys. mand.; a restricted lic. may be issued
		after this 90 dy. period.) Ch. 95%, 116-206,
		6-206. & 1-50]. (See Footnote No. below.)
		None
Poe	<u>t DWI Conviction Licensing Action:</u>	
	Type of Licensing Action	
	(Susp/Rev):	Rev. Ch. 95%, 116-205, 6-208 and 11-501
	Term of License Withdrawal	New, on: 55%, ([[0-203, 0-200 and 11-501
	(Days, Months, Years, etc.):	<u>ist off</u> -1 yr; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 20 yrs)-3 yrs;
		subsequent off-6 yrs Ch 95%, ¶6-208(b)(1), (2)
		<pre>subsequent off-6 yrs Ch 95%, ¶6-208(b)(1), (2) & (3) (Note: A hardship license may be issued;</pre>
	Nondatory Minimum Torm of	subsequent off-6 yrs Ch 95%, ¶6-208(b)(1), (2)
	Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:	<pre>subsequent off-6 yrs Ch 95%, ¶6-208(b)(1), (2) & (3) (Note: A hardship license may be issued; see Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(c).) A person, under 21 years old, who is convicted</pre>
	Withdrawal:	<pre>subsequent off-6 yrs Ch 95%, ¶6-208(b)(1), (2) & (3) (Note: A hardship license may be issued; see Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(c).) A person, under 21 years old, who is convicted of a DWI offense, must have their license</pre>
		<pre>subsequent off-6 yrs Ch 95%, ¶6-208(b)(1), (2) & (3) (Note: A hardship license may be issued; see Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(c).) A person, under 21 years old, who is convicted of a DWI offense, must have their license revoked for a mandatory period of 1 yr.² Ch. 05V, ¶6-205(d)</pre>
Othe	Withdrawal:	<pre>subsequent off-6 yrs Ch 95%, ¶6-208(b)(1), (2) & (3) (Note: A hardship license may be issued; see Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(c).) A person, under 21 years old, who is convicted of a DWI offense, must have their license revoked for a mandatory period of 1 yr.² Ch. 05K gc 205(d)</pre>
	Withdrawal:	<pre>subsequent off-6 yrs Ch 95%, ¶6-208(b)(1), (2) & (3) (Note: A hardship license may be issued; see Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(c).) A person, under 21 years old, who is convicted of a DWI offense, must have their license revoked for a mandatory period of 1 yr.² Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(d)</pre>
	Withdrawal: er: Rehabilitation:	<pre>subsequent off-6 yrs Ch 95%, ¶6-208(b)(1), (2) & (3) (Note: A hardship license may be issued; see Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(c).) A person, under 21 years old, who is convicted of a DWI offense, must have their license revoked for a mandatory period of 1 yr.² Ch. 05V, ¶6-205(d)</pre>
	Withdrawal:	<pre>subsequent off-6 yrs Ch 95%, ¶6-208(b)(1), (2) & (3) (Note: A hardship license may be issued; see Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(c).) A person, under 21 years old, who is convicted of a DWI offense, must have their license revoked for a mandatory period of 1 yr.² Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(d)</pre>
	Withdrawal: er: Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education:	<pre>subsequent off-6 yrs Ch 95%, ¶6-208(b)(1), (2) & (3) (Note: A hardship license may be issued; see Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(c).) A person, under 21 years old, who is convicted of a DWI offense, must have their license revoked for a mandatory period of 1 yr.² Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(d)</pre>
	Withdrawal: er: Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment:	<pre>subsequent off-6 yrs Ch 95%, ¶6-208(b)(1), (2) & (3) (Note: A hardship license may be issued; see Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(c).) A person, under 21 years old, who is convicted of a DWI offense, must have their license revoked for a mandatory period of 1 yr.² Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(d)</pre>
	Withdrawal: er: Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/	<pre>subsequent off-6 yrs Ch 95%, ¶6-208(b)(1), (2) & (3) (Note: A hardship license may be issued; see Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(c).) A person, under 21 years old, who is convicted of a DWI offense, must have their license revoked for a mandatory period of 1 yr.² Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(d)</pre>
	Withdrawal: er: Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Altern-	<pre>subsequent off-6 yrs Ch 95%, ¶6-208(b)(1), (2) & (3) (Note: A hardship license may be issued; see Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(c).) A person, under 21 years old, who is convicted of a DWI offense, must have their license revoked for a mandatory period of 1 yr.² Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(d)</pre>
	Withdrawal: er: Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Altern- ative to Criminal	<pre>subsequent off-6 yrs Ch 95%, ¶6-208(b)(1), (2) & (3) (Note: A hardship license may be issued; see Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(c).) A person, under 21 years old, who is convicted of a DWI offense, must have their license revoked for a mandatory period of 1 yr.² Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(d)</pre>
	Withdrawal: er: Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Altern- ative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):	<pre>subsequent off-6 yrs Ch 95%, ¶6-208(b)(1), (2) & (3) (Note: A hardship license may be issued; see Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(c).) A person, under 21 years old, who is convicted of a DWI offense, must have their license revoked for a mandatory period of 1 yr.² Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(d)</pre>
	Withdrawal: Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Altern- ative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe): Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation	<pre>subsequent off-6 yrs Ch 95%, ¶6-208(b)(1), (2) & (3) (Note: A hardship license may be issued; see Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(c).) A person, under 21 years old, who is convicted of a DWI offense, must have their license revoked for a mandatory period of 1 yr.² Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(d)</pre>
	Withdrawal: Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Altern- ative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe): Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation Authorized by Specific	<pre>subsequent off-6 yrs Ch 95%, ¶6-208(b)(1), (2) & (3) (Note: A hardship license may be issued; see Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(c).) A person, under 21 years old, who is convicted of a DWI offense, must have their license revoked for a mandatory period of 1 yr.² Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(d) </pre>
	Withdrawal: Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Altern- ative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe): Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority:	<pre>subsequent off-6 yrs Ch 95%, ¶6-208(b)(1), (2) & (3) (Note: A hardship license may be issued; see Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(c).) A person, under 21 years old, who is convicted of a DWI offense, must have their license revoked for a mandatory period of 1 yr.² Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(d) No</pre>
	Withdrawal: Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Altern- ative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe): Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: Terms Upon Which Vehicle	<pre>subsequent off-6 yrs Ch 95%, ¶6-208(b)(1), (2) & (3) (Note: A hardship license may be issued; see Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(c).) A person, under 21 years old, who is convicted of a DWI offense, must have their license revoked for a mandatory period of 1 yr.² Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(d)</pre>
	Withdrawal: Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Altern- ative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe): Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority:	<pre>subsequent off-6 yrs Ch 95%, ¶6-208(b)(1), (2) & (3) (Note: A hardship license may be issued; see Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(c).) A person, under 21 years old, who is convicted of a DWI offense, must have their license revoked for a mandatory period of 1 yr.² Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(d) No</pre>

of this susp. period. A judicial driving permit may be issued following either an admin. per se law violation or an implied consent law chemical test refusal. ²Note: After this I yr period, such a youthful offender must have their driving privileges restricted for at least I additional year; see Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(d).

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued)

Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere:

Special Note: Under Ch. 38, ¶¶1005-6-1 & 1005-6-3.1 a DWI offender may be placed in a Court supervised diversion program; however, the offender cannot be placed in such a program if they have had a prev. DWI conviction or has been in such a diversion program within 5 yrs of the charged off.

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

Yes, Cl 3 felony - Reckless homicide Ch. 38, ¶9_3

(Note: Death must be the result of reckless action of the accused driver. Ch. 38, ¶9-3(b) provides that being under the influence of alcohol or drugs (in the same manner as a DWI offense) at the time of the violation is prima facie evidence of a reckless act.)

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal:

> Mandatory Action --- Minimum Length of License Withdrawal:

Other:

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense:

Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

2-5 yrs Ch. 38, ¶1005-8-14(a)(6) None Not more than \$10,000 Ch.#38, ¶1005-9-1(a)(1) None

Rev Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(a)(1)

lst off-1 yr; 2nd off (w/n 20 yrs)-3 yrs; subsequent offs-6 yrs Ch. 95%, ¶6-208(b)(1), (2) & (3)

None (Note: A restricted license may be issued; see Ch. 95%, ¶6-205(c).) None

lst off-CL A misdemeanor-Less than 1 yr; Ch.38, ¶1005-8-3(a)(1), & Ch 95%, ¶6-303; subsequent off-Cl 4 felony-1-3 yrs Ch. 95%, ¶6-303(d) & Ch 38, ¶1005-8-1(a)(7)

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol <u>Use and Driving</u>: (continued)

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment:

7 cons dys-All offenses (Note: Alternatively, the defendant may be sentenced to 30 dys of community service.) Ch. 38, ¶1005-5-3(c)(3) & Ch. 95%, ¶6-303(c)

Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Ist off-Not more than \$1,000; Sub off¹ not more than \$10,000 Ch. 38, \$1005-9-1(a)(1) & (2) None

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Susp or rev Ch. 95%, ¶6-303(b) Length of Term of License

Withdrawal Action:

Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

If the original charge is based on a susp, the susp is extended an additional period of time equal to that if the original susp. If the original charge is based on a rev, the rev is extended | yr. Ch. 95%, ¶6-303(b)

Same as above

No

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status:

> Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual. Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum. Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

¹Provided the original rev. or susp. was a DWI off. conviction.

<u>Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use</u> <u>And Driving</u>:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents:

> State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers:

> > Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession: Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:

Other:

18 A. 18 18 18

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): and the set of the

Yes Ch. 31, ¶10(e)

Yes

No

Yes (16 years old or older)

21 Ch. 43, ¶|3| (yr eff: 1980)
21 (Ch. 43, ¶|34a)
21 (There are exemptions for religious ceremonies and for home use) (Ch. 43, ¶|34a)

Yes¹ Ch. 43, ¶135

Yes, Colligan v. Cousar, 38 111. App. 2d 392, 187 N.E. 2d 292 (1963) No Zamiar v. Linderman, 478 N.E.2d 534 (App. Ct. 1st Dist., 1985) and Heldt v. Brei, 455 N.E.2d 842 (App. Ct. 1st Dist., 1983)²

None

Cl A Misd Ch. 43, ¶131 Not more than 1 yr Ch. 38, ¶1005-8-3(a)(1) Not more than \$1,000 Ch. 38, ¶1005-9-1(a)(2)

and the second
Damages for personal injuries or to property are limited to \$30,000; loss of means of support is limited to \$40,000

²See also, Miller v. Moran, 421 N.E.2d 1046 (App. Ct. 4th Dist., 1981) and Lowe v. Rubin, 424 N.E.2d 710, (App. Ct. 5th Dist., 1981).

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic, Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages

Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

> License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Yes, Susp/Rev Ch. 43, ¶149 Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Not specified in the statute. (Note: In lieu of a lic. susp/rev., the licensee may be allowed to pay a fine of not more than \$1,000; see Ch. 43, ¶149.)

> CI A Misd Ch. 43, 1149 Not more than 1 yr Ch. 38, 1005-8-3(a)(1)Not more than \$1,000 Ch. 38, ¶1005-9-1(a)(2)

Yes, Susp/Rev Ch. 43, ¶149 Not specified in the statute. (Note: In lieu of a lic. susp/rev., the licensee may be allowed to pay a fine of not more than \$1,000; see Ch. 43, ¶149.)

Yes Ch. 95%, ¶11-502

No

No

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level) Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No):

> Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence: Other Information:

<u>Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which</u> <u>Are Authoized Under Law (Implied Consent Law)</u>:

Blood: Urine: Other:

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No): INDIANA

See Burn's Indiana Statutes Annotated

Operating a vehicle while intoxicated IC9-11-2-2 (The term "intoxicated" is defined as under the influence of alcohol, drugs, etc.; see IC9-11-1-5. 0.10¹ IC9-11-2-1 None¹ (1) Any Drug, (2) a Controlled Substance and (3)

Any Combination of Alcohol and Drugs See IC9-11-1-5 & 9-11-2-2 0.10 BAC is also prima facie evidence of

intoxication (IC9-II-I-7)

No²

No (See 9-11-4-2) (See also Clark v. State, 372 N.E.2d 185 (Ind. 1978 (where no arrest is required)

Yes (C9-11-4-1

Yes (Criminal & Civil Cases) IC9-11-4-3(b)

Yes 1C9-11-1-3 Yes 1C9-11-4-1 & 1C9-11-4-6 Any other bodily substance 1C9-11-1-3, 1C9-11-4-1 & 1C9-11-4-6

¹Under IC9-11-4-15(b)(2), a chemical test indicating a BAC level of 0.10 is to be taken as presumption of such BAC level.

²The Preliminary Breath Test Law (1C9-4-4.5-3) has been repealed; see \$9 of P.L. 143 enacted in 1983.

No

No

No

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u> :	-
Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test:	
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	N//
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	N//
Other:	NŻ
Refusal to Take Implied Consent	,
Chemical Test	
Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail):	No
Administrative Licensing Action	1
(Susp/Rev):	1-1
• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •	9_
Other:	No

1-yr susp (may not be mandatory in all cases²)

9-11-4-9(a) None

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment:

Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

1. <u>111egal per se</u> (C1 C misd) - Not more than 60 dys 1C9-11-21, 1C35-50-3-4; 2. <u>Intoxicated off</u> (C1 A misd) - Not more than 1 yr 1C9-11-2-2, 1C35-50-3-2; 3. Either 1 or 2 above if there has been a previous intoxicated off, (C1 D felony) -A fixed term of 2 yrs 1C9-11-23; 4. Violation of either 1 or 2 above where there has been a serious injury, (C1 D felony) - A fixed term of 2 yrs 1C9-11-2-4, 1C35-50-2-7; 5. Violation of either 1 or 2 above where there has been a death (C1 C felony) - A fixed term of 5 yrs (1C9-11-2-5 and 1C35-50-2-6).

Mandatory Minimum Term:

<u>Illegal per se off</u> (CI C misd) - None
 <u>IC9-11-21</u>; 2. <u>Intoxicated off</u> (CI A misd) - None
 IC9-11-2-2; 3. Either 1 or 2 above if there has been a previous intoxicated off (CI B felony) 5 dys of which 48 hrs must be served
 consecutively IC9-11-23, IC9-11-3-4(a) and (b);
 4. See Footnote No. 3; 5. See Footnote No. 4

¹Refusal to submit to a implied consent test, where there has been an accident in which there has been a death or a serious bodily injury likely to cause death, is a class C in Fraction (a fine of not more than \$500); see 9-4-1-39.1 and 34-4-32-4(c). In addition, the court may suspend a persons license for not more than 1 yr; see 9-4-1-39.1

²However, if a court finds in the sentence order for a <u>DWI Conviction</u> that it is in the best interest of society, it may terminate <u>all</u> or any part of this suspension; see 9-11-3-1 as amended by Sec. 8 of S.8. 146 as enacted in 1985

³DWI sanctions apply to anyone over 16 yrs old; see 1C31-6-2-1(6)(1)

⁴There is a mandatory imprisonment term of 5 dys (of which 48 hrs must be served cons or 10 dys of community service if the defendant has been convicted of a previous DWI off within a 5 yr period; see 1C9-11-3-4.

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

1. <u>111egal per se off</u> (CL C misd) - Not more than \$500 IC9-11-21; 2. <u>Intoxicated off</u> (CL A misd) - Not more than \$5,000 IC9-11-2-2; 3. Either 1 or 2 above if there has been a previous intoxicated off (CL D felony) - Not more than \$10,000 IC9-11-23; 4. Violation of either 1 or 2 above where ther is serious injury (CL D felony) - Not more than \$10,000 IC9-11-24; 5. Violation of either 1 or 2 above where there is a death (CL C felony) - Not more than \$10,000 IC9-11-2-5

3. Either illegal per se off (CI C misd) or intoxicated off (CI A misd) if there has been a previous intoxicated off (CI D felony) - 10 dys as an alternative to imprisonment IC9-II-2-3

Yes, a victims' compensation fund; see

ICI6-7-3.6-1 et seq.

Sec. N.

1.1.2.2.2.3.1.464

. . . . **.** . . .

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

None

None

Other Penalties:

Community Service:

Restitution

(eg Victim's Fund)

Other:

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law:

Yes (for all offs) for 0.10% (prima facie evidence) BAC susp up to 180 dys or until the DWI charges have been disposed of which ever occurs first. 1C9-11-4-9(b) if DWI charges are dismissed, the court shall order the driver's license reinstated; see 1C9-11-4-11(a)(1). If DWI charges are deferred, a driver's license is to be suspended for at least 90 dys but not more than two (2) yrs. 30 dys are mandatory. 1C16-13-6.1-15.1(6)

Other:

Post DWI Conviction Licensing Action:

Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Susp - All off

1. <u>Illegal per se off</u> (CI C misd) - 90 dys to 2 yrs; 2. Intoxicated off (CI A misd) - 90 dys to 2 yrs; 3. Either I or 2 above if there has been a previous intoxicated off (CI B felony) - I to 2 yrs; 4. Violation of either I or 2 above where there is serious injury (CI D felony) - 2 to 5 yrs; 5. Violation of either I or 2 above where there is a death (CI C felony) - 2 to 5 yrs; |C9-11-3-1, 9-11+3-3 and 9-11-2-1, -2-2, -2-3, -2-4 & -2-5

3 - 113

and the part of the second

6th Edition

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI_Offense:

(continued)

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

<u>Hiegal per se off</u> (CI C misd) -30 dys¹;
 <u>Intoxicated off</u> (CI A misd) - 30 dys; 3.
 Either I or 2 above if there has been a previous intoxicated off (CI D felony) - I yr; 4.
 Violation of either I or 2 above where there is serious injury (CI D felony) - I yr; 5.
 Violation of either I or 2 above where there is a death (CI C felony) - I yr;

Other:

Rehabilation:	
Alcohol Education:	Yes2
Alcohol Treatment:	Yes2
Alcohol Education/	
Treatment as as Altern-	
ative to Criminal/	
Licensing Actions	
(Describe):	Yes2

Vehicle Impoundment/Consfiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: No Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other: Vel

Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Eiswhere:

<u>Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol</u> Use and Driving

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Offense: Vehicle registration plates may also be suspended; see |C9-2-1-5(a).

None

Note: For a death related to a DWI offense, see "Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense" above.

¹A restricted license may be issued after the 30 day period. If a person does not have a previous driving while intoxicated conviction or has not refused to submit to a chemical test, they may be granted probationary restricted driving privileges for 180 days after the mandatory susp. period; see 9-110301(b), (c) & (d).

²For a first DWI off, the defendant may, as a condition of probation, be evaluated and treated for alcohol-realted problems. The law does not specifically extend such evaluation and treatment to subsequent DWI offenders. In addition, for any misd. in which alcohol abuse is a factor, the Court may take judicial notice that an alcohol training/rehabilitation program may reduce antisocial behavior. If a defendant satisfactorily completes such a program the charges against him/her shall be dismissed; however, licensing susps. still apply. A defendant is eligible to participate only once in this type of program.

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: See Footnote No. I below. Length of Term of Licensing Wighdrawal: Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other:

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense:

> Sanction: Criminal:

> > Imprisonment (Term):

CI A Misd – Not less than 2 dys to 6 mos IC9–I-4–52

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range) Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action: (Susp/Rev): Length of Term of License With drawal Action:

> Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

60 Dys Not more than \$500 None

Suspension

A mandatory suspension period -90dys-2 yrs. This suspension applies to convictions of driving while either suspended or revoked.

See the statement above.

¹Even though this State does not have a vehicle homicide statute, it either suspends or revokes the license (and registration plates) for not less than two (2) no more than five (5) years of any person who has been convicted of either manslaughter or reckless homicide resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle. It appears that these suspensions or revocations are mandatory; see 109-2-1-5(b)(1), (d)(2) & 109-4-1-54.5(c) -

and Driving: (continued)	
Habitual Offender Laws:	
State Has Such Law (Yes/No):	Yes
Grounds for Being Declared an	
Habitual Offender:	2 convictions (w/n 10 yrs) for very severe of as in IC9-12-1-4(b); 3 convictions (w/n 10 yr for major offs as listed in IC9-12-1-4(c); 10 convictions for any moving violations (w/n 10 yrs) (however, one of these must have been a
$\phi_{ij} = \phi_{ij} + \phi$	conviction for an off listed in either
والالار المحاج الأجار والمحك والمراجع الأبوا	1C9-12-1-4(b), 1C9-12-1-4(c) or 1C9-12-1-4(d)
	105-12-1-4(5), 105-12-1-4(6) 01 105-12-1-4(6)
Term of License Rev While	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
Under Habitual Offender Status:	2 convictions - 10 yr Susp; 3 convictions
under nabilität virlenden Status.	- 10 yr susp ¹ ; 10 convictions (moving
	violations) - 5 yr susp (A restricted
	license may be issued under certain limited
	conditions, see (C9-11-2-2-5.)
Type of Criminal Offense if	
Convicted on Charges of	
Driving While on Habitual	
Offender Status:	2 convictions - CL D Felony; 3 convictions - D Felony; 10 convictions - CL D Felony
Sanctions Following a Conviction of	
Driving While on Habitual Offender Status:	ng biga baran an taon ang ang ang ang ang ang ang ang ang an
Imprisonment (Term):	Not less than I yr nor more than 5
······································	yrs; Court may suspend up to 180 dys of the
$(x_{1}, x_{2}) \in \mathcal{M}_{0}$, $(x_{2}, x_{2}) \in \mathcal{M}_{0}$	sentence.
Mandatory Minimum Term of	
Imprisonment:	180 dys
Fine (\$ Range):	None
Mandatory Minimum Fine:	N/A
Licensing Actions (Specify):	Forfeiture of license for life
Licensing Actions (specify):	
or State Laws Related to Alcohol Hee	$\mathcal{D}_{i,j}(x_i) = (1 + i - 1) \sum_{i=1}^{n} (1 + i - 1$
er State Laws Related to Alcohol Use	
Driving:	$g = 2^{2} - \frac{1}{2} - $
Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on	
Persons Killed in Taffic	I.
Accidents:	· · · ·
State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the	No
Following Persons:	
Driver:	
Vehicle Passengers:	
Pedertrian:	

¹A probationary license may be issued after five (5) yrs of the susp. period have passed.

Other State Laws Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Reverages:

oncerning	j Alc	CONDITCI	peverages:	
Minimum	Age	(Years)	Sale/Purchase:	
Minimum	Age	(Years)	Possession:	
Minimum	Age	(Years)	Consumption:	

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No):

> "Dram Shop Law" Cocept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:

Other:

Criminal Action Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

> Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners or Establishements that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicate Patrons:

License of Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term of License Withdrawal: No period specified in the statute

21 (year Eff: 1934) IC7.7-5-7-7 21 21

Yes 107.1-5-10-15.51 (Comment: This statute may have abrogated, at least in part, the case law noted below.)

Yes, Elder v. Fisher, 217 N.E.2d 847 (1966) and Parrett v. Lebamoff, Inc. 408 N.E.2d 1344 (Inc. App. 1980) Yes Ashlock v. Norris, 475 N.E.2d 1167 (Ind. App. 3 Dist., 1985) and IC7.1-5-10-15.5 None

CI B Misd IC7.1-5-1-8, 7.1-5-10-15 and 35-50-3-3 Not more than 180 dys Not more than \$1,000 (Note: An administrative fine of not more than \$500 may also be imposed; see 1C7.1-3-23-3)

Yes, IC7.1-3-23-2 and 7.1-3-23-5

¹A commercial server or social host is not liable for the actions of intoxicated patrons or guests unless (1) the patron/guest was visibly intoxicated at the time alcoholic beverages were furnished and (2) the intoxicated person was the proximate cause of the injury or damage alleged.

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Drinking Age:

> Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishiments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term License Withdrawn:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

CI C Misd 1C7.1-5-7-8- and 35-50-3-4 Not more than 60 dys Not more than \$500 (Note: An administrative fine of not more than \$500 may also be imposed; see 1C7.1-3-23-3)

Yes, 107.1-3-23-2 and 7.1-3-23-5 For revs, no period is specified in the statute; see 107.1-3-23-6. For susps, not more than 30 dys; see 107.1-3-23-7.

Yes 1C7.1-5-10-20

No

3 - 118

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense: Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other: ·

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No):

> Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit a Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence: Other Information:

I OWA lowa Code Annotated

Operating while intoxicated¹ §321J.2 0.10 \$3211.2(1)(b) None

(1) Any Drug and (2) Any Combination of Drugs Including Alcohol See §32|J.2(1)(a) None

. .

۰.

Yes §321J.5

No (Note: A law enforcement officer only needs "reasonable grounds" and any one of the following: (1) A DWI arrest; (2) an accident. resulting in injury or death; (3) a PBT refusal; (4) a PBT reading of 0.10 or (5) a PBT reading of less than 0.10 but the officer has reasonable grounds that the driver was under the influence of drugs or a combination of drugs and alcohol. \$321J.6(1)

Yes \$321J.6

Yes (Criminal & Civil Cases) §321J.16 A person may be req'd to submit to a chem. test via a search warrant issued pursuant to an invest. of invol. manslaughter (\$707.5) where a traffic accident has resulted in a death or in a personal injury likely to cause death and there is evidence of a DWI off; see §321J.10

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes §321J.6(2)
Urine:	Yes §321J.6(2)
Other:	None
djudication of DWI Charges:	
Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No):	No
Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):	No
Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI)	
(Yes/No);	Yes if BAC level is 0.20 or more; see \$321J.3.

1

STATE - Iowa

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test:</u>

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Other:

None

None None

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail):

Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

None

Rev, <u>1st refusal</u> - 240 dys; <u>2nd and subsequent</u> <u>refusals</u> (w/n 6 yrs) - 540 dys (360 dys are mandatory) For both 1st and sub. refusals and a defendant is subject to license rev under the implied consent law but pleads guilty to a DUI charge, they may be issued a restricted lic. for the implied consent law rev.; the restricted lic. may only be used for treatment/employment purposes. §§321J.9 & 321J.20

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions:

Imprisonment: Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

<u>Ist off</u> (Serious misd) - Not more than 1 yr,; <u>2nd off</u> w/n 6 yrs (aggravated misd) - Not more than 2 yrs, ; <u>3rd and sub off</u> w/n 6 yrs (Cl D felony) - Not more than 5 yrs \$\$321J.2, 902.9 & 903.1

<u>Ist off</u> (Serious misd) None¹; <u>2nd off</u> w/n 6 yrs (aggravated misd) - 7 dys² §321J.2(2); <u>3rd and</u> <u>sub offs</u> w/n 6 yrs (Ci D felony)-**30 dys**

<u>lst off</u> (Serious misd) - **\$500 to 1,000**; <u>2nd off</u> w/n 6 yrs (Aggravated misd) - **\$750 to 5,000**; <u>3rd</u> and <u>sub offs</u> w/n 6 yrs (CI D felony) - Not more than **\$7,500**³

There is a minimum 48-hr sentence which may be suspended.

²This sentence may not be suspended. However, the statute is silent as to probation. ³There is also a civil penalty of \$100 that is imposed on any person who has had their license revoked under any section of the DWI law; see \$321J.17.
Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DW1 Offense: (continued)

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

Other Penalties: Community Service:

> Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)

Other:

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law:

> Other: <u>Post DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action:

Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

(Susp/Rev):

<u>lst off</u> (serious misd) - **\$500;** <u>2nd off</u> w/n 6 yrs (Aggravated misd) - **\$750;** <u>3rd and sub offs</u> w/n 6 yrs (Cl D felony) - **\$750**

. . . î.,

<u>lst off</u> (serious misd) - Not more than 200 hrs in lieu of the fine.

A separate additional civil penalty of \$100 is assessed against a defendant who has their license revoked as a result of a DWI conviction; money from these penalties is placed in a victim reparation fund. §321J.17 For any DWI off, the court may order the defendant to make restitution for any damages resulting from the off.¹; see §321J.2(8)

Special Note: Deferred judgment is allowed for any DWI off; if a defendant is allowed such deferment their license is to be revoked from 30-90 dys; however, a restricted hardship license may be issued. See §§321J.4(2) & 907.3

en al de la companya
Yes, Admin. Per Se at 0.10 with license revs as follows: <u>lst off</u> - 180 dys (or until the person reaches the age of 18 whichever period is longer; see §321J.4(6); <u>2nd and sub offs</u> (w/n 6 yrs of <u>any</u> other DW1 rev) - 1 yr (mandatory) (Note: A restricted hardship license may be issued for a 1st Admin. Per Se rev.) §§321J.12 & 321J.20 None

<u>Ist off</u> - Rev; <u>2nd off</u> - Rev; <u>3rd and subsequent</u> <u>offs</u> - Rev; Any DWI off conviction where there has been a serious injury - Rev; Any DWI off conviction where there has been a death - Rev §321J.4

and the second
The maximum amount of restitution damages that can be assessed is \$2,000.

1.1

and the second
<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

> Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

Other:

- Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):
- Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other: Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere:

None

No

None

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction:

Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Not more than 5 yrs⁵ None Not more than \$7,500 None

¹If a defendant is under 18 years old, the period of revocation shall be either as indicated or until the person reaches 18 whichever is the longer revocation period; see \$321J.4(6). ²A previous off includes either an admin. <u>per se</u> action or an implied consent law violation. ³In addition to any other revocation or suspension.

⁴Except as indicated, a person may obtain a temparory restricted license under §321J.20. ⁵Penalties for a CI. D Felony; see §902.9.

<u>lst off-180 dys; 2nd off (w/n 6 yrs)²-1 yr; 3rd</u> and sub. off (w/n 6 yrs)-6 yrs DWI off involving serious injury-1 yr³ DWI off where death is invloved-6 yrs 'See Footnote No. 1 below. \$321J.4

2nd off-1 yr; 3rd and sub. offs-2 yrs DWI death related-6 yrs \$\$321J.4 & 321J.20⁴

Yes §§321J.3 & 321J.22 Yes if BAC is .20 or more §§321J.3 & 321J.30

Yes CI D Felony if a DWI related death (Note: For vehicle homicide offenses, except those that are related either to DWI or to reckless driving which are CI. D felonies, the defendant has committed an aggravated misd; see \$707.6A(2).)

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: None Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other: None

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:

Criminal:

imprisonment (Term):

Serious misd - Not more than 1 yr \$\$321J.21 and 903.1

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: No Fine (\$ Range): No Mandatory Minimum Fine: No

None Not more than \$1,000 None

Administrative Licensing Actions:

Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Habitual Offender Laws:

State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender:

Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Susp or rev

Original period of Susp or Rev extended an additional like period

Original period of Susp or Rev extended an additional like period

Yes 321.55 and 321.560

3 serious offs (w/n 6-yr period or 6 minor offs in a 2-yr period)

If based on serious offs - 2 to 6 yrs; if based on minor offs - 1 yr $\,$

<u>Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol</u> <u>Use and Driving</u>: (continued)

Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

<u>Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use</u> <u>And Driving</u>:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: Other:

1.2

Aggravated misd

Not more than 2 yrs None Not more than \$5,000 None Same as for driving while revoked.

21 (Year Eff: 1986)

No.

21 (There are exemptions for medical reasons, employment and home use with parental consent) \$\$123.33, 123.47 & 123.47A None

Yes \$123.92

Yes, Lewis v. State, 256 N.W. 2d 181 (lowa 1977) and Haafke v. Mitchell, 347 N.W.2d 381 (lowa 1984) No¹ See §123.49(l) None

¹§§11 & 12 of S.F. 2265 enacted in 1986. Note: Social host liability has been abolished via statute; i.e., case law, Clark v. Mincks, 364 N.W.2d 226 (1985), establishing such liability has been specifically aborgated by §123.49(1).

STATE - Iowa

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued) Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action: Simple misd 55123.49(1) & 123.50(1) Term of Imprisonment: Not more than 30 dys \$123.50 Fine (\$ Range): Not more than \$150 Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Yes, Susp or rev \$123.50 Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Term of susp not specified; if the license is * nevoked, term of nev is 2 yrs Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons

Simple misd \$\$123.49(2)(h) & 123.50 Not more than **30 dys** Not more than **\$100**

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Yes, <u>lst off</u> - Susp; 2nd off w/n 2 yrs - Susp; <u>3rd off</u> w/n 5 yrs - Susp; <u>4th off</u> w/n 5 yrs -Rev; §123.50

<u>lst off</u> - 14 dys; <u>2nd off</u> w/n 2 yrs - 30 dys; <u>3rd off</u> w/n 5 yrs - 60 dys; <u>4th off</u> w/n 5 yrs -2 yrs

3 - 125

STATE - Iowa

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle: No

Open Container Law (Yes/No):

Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Yes \$123.28 (The law states that "a person driving a motor veh. shall not knowingly possess in a motor veh. upon a public street or highway an open or unsealed bottle, can, jar or other receptacle containing an alc. bev., wine, or beer w/the intent to consume...."

Yes - Driver and passengers \$123.46 (The law states that "it is unlawful for any person to use or consume alcoholic liquors or beer upon the public streets or highways....")

3 - 126

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense: Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol: Other: KANSAS See Kansas Statutes Annotated

Under the influence of alcohol \$8-1567(a)(2) 0.10 (\$8-1567(a)(1)) None Any Drug \$8-1567(b) 0.10 is prima facie evidence that the defendant was under the influence of alcohol (\$8-1005(a)(2))

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law:	Yes \$8-1012
Implied Consent Law:	
Arrest Required (Yes/No):	Yes ²
Implied Consent Law Applies to	
Drugs (Yes/No):	Yes
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test	
Admitted into Evidence:	Yes (Criminal Cases) §8-1001(f)
Other Information:	None

<u>Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which</u> <u>Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):</u>

Blood:	Yes ³
Urine:	Yes ³
Other:	Yes, other bodily substance ³

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):	No Yes §8–1567(o) (certain diversion programs are excepted ¹)
Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):	Yes \$\$8-1008 and 8-1567(c)

¹A defendant is not eligible to enter a diversion program if: (1) They have previously participate in such a program; (2) they have been convicted of an alcohol related driving offense; (3) their BAC level at the time of arrest was 0.20 or more; or (4) they were involved in an accident which has resulted in either a death or a bodily injury. See §§12-4415(b) & 22-2908(2)(a). For a description of the diversion program, see §§12-4416 & 22-2909. ²No arrest is required if the person has been involved in a motor vehicle accident resulting in property damage, personal injury or death. ³See §8-1001(a).

STATE – Kansas

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):

. . .

127

Yes,-infraction-a fine of not more than \$500; see \$\$21-3105(2) & 21-4503(4) (\$30 if a person pleads guilty or no contest under the uniform fine schedule; see \$8-2118(c).)

Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Other:

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action

(Susp/Rev):

None

None

No

Susp for 6 mos-1 yr (May not be mandatory; see \$8-255(b) KSA \$\$8-256(a) & 8-1002(a) None

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions:

Other:

Imprisonment:

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$):

Other Penalties: Community Service:

Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)

313

Other:

<u>Ist off</u> -48 con. hrs-6 mos¹; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-90 dys-1 yr; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - 90 dys-1 yr §8-1567(d), (e), (f), & (j) <u>Ist off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-48 con. hrs¹; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-5 con. dys; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-90 dys

<u>lst off</u> - \$200-500; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-\$500-1,000; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-\$1,000-2,500 None

<u>ist off</u> - 100 hrs (in lieu of imprisonment); <u>2nd</u> <u>off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-Yes (May be ordered in lieu of fine; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-Yes (May be ordered in lieu of fine; see $\frac{58}{1567(g)}$) Yes - All offs - Direct compensation by defendants to victims; see $\frac{521}{4603(2)(c)}$, (d) & (e), $\frac{21}{4610(4)(a)}$ and $\frac{22}{3717(1)}$. None

Under \$\$12-4415, 12-4416 or 22-2906 et seq. a defendant may enter a diversion program for 1st off and have the DWI criminal charges dismissed after the program has been successfully completed.

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DW1 Offense:</u> (continued)

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law: None Other: None

> <u>Post DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> > Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education:

Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe): <u>1st off-Susp.; 2nd off-Susp; 3rd and subsequent</u> <u>offs-Rev;</u> Note: Under \$8-1567(k), the court has the discretionary power to revoke a person's license for 1 yr for a 1st or 2nd DW1 conviction.

<u>1st off-21 dys - 1 yr¹; 2nd off-120dys-1 yr²;</u> <u>3rd and subsequent offs-1 yr</u>

<u>ist off-21</u> dys; <u>2nd off-120</u> dys, ; <u>3rd and</u> <u>subsequent offs</u> - 1 yr (may not be mandatory; see §8-255(b))

<u>1st off</u>-Defendant must complete either an alcohol education or treatment program; see \$8-1567(c), (d), & (e).

Note: Attendance at an alcohol education or freatment program could be a condition for issuing a restricted license.

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: No Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other: None Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere: None

(1) The license is suspended for 1 year or (2), in lieu of the full 1 year susp., the license is suspended for 21 days or until the person completes an alcohol education/treatment program whichever is the longer susp. period and thereafter restricted driving privileges are granted for the remainder of the one (1) year period. 58-1567(d)

 2 (1) The license is suspended for 1 year <u>or</u> (2), in lieu of the full 1 year susp., the license is susp. for 120 days or until the person completes an alcohol treatment program whichever is the longer susp. period and thereafter driving privileges are granted for the remainder of the one (1) year period. §8-1567(e)

STATE - Kansas

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle:

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine:

> Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other:

State Has Such Law/Type of Offense: Yes--Cl A misd; Death caused by operation of a veh in a manner which causes unreasonable (KSA §521-3405, 21-4502, and 21-4503) risk.

> Not more than I vr None Not more than \$2,500 None

Rev

Not less than I yr

None (A restricted license may be issued.) None

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Ist off CI B misd-Not more than 6 mos; 2nd off CI A misd-Not more than I yr; <u>3rd and subsequent</u> off CIE felony - 1-5 yrs \$8-262

90 dys For all_offenses (KSA \$8-262(a)(4)) 1st off-Not more than \$1,000; 2nd off-Not more than \$2,500; 3rd and subsequent off - Not more than \$5,000; None

All offs - If convicted of driving while license suspended, a susp; if convicted of driving while license revoked, a rev

Susp period extends and equals that of original susp period; Rev period is 6 mos and is added onto the original rev period

Susp period extends and guals that of original susp period; Rev period is 6 mos and is added onto original rev period

STATE - Kansas

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender:

> Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status

Three serious offs within 5 yrs

(KSA §§8-284 et seq.)

1-5 yrs

None

None

this off

-3 yrs

Yes \$8-285

CI E felony

Not more than \$5,000

Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status:

> Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment:

. Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Pedestrian:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: **Driver:** Vehicle Passengers:

No

6th Edition

3 - 131

No specific licensing action in the statute for

STATE - Kansas

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:

> Minimum Age (Years) Possession: Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

> Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): 21 (Yr. eff: 1985) \$\$21-3610, 21-3610a; 41-102(k) & 41-2701(g) 21 \$\$2 & 3 of S.B. 126 as enacted in 1985 21 \$\$2 & 3 of S.B. 126 as enacted in 1985

No
 No
 Statistical and statis and statisti and statistical and statistical and statistic

No (For a case denying liability, see Ling v. Jan's Liquors, 703 P.2d 731 (1985).) No (No Cases) None

Misd (KSA §§21-4502, 41-320, 41-328, 41-715, 41-2708, and 77-201)² Not more than **30 dys²** \$100-250² Note: A civil penalty of up to \$1,000 may also be imposed.

1 A 1 A 1 A

¹Except for licensed establishments, persons under the legal drinking age for alcoholic beverages, containing 3.2% or less alcohol, may possess and consume such beverages if they have the consent of and are supervised by a parent or guardian; see §§41-2704(e) & 41-2721. ²These sanctions, it appears, only apply to the service of alcoholic beverages containing more than 3.2% alcohol to intoxicated persons. See §§41-102(b) & 41-715.

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Not specified in the statute

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action:

> Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

CI B misd (furnishing alcoholic beverages to any person under 21 yrs of age) (KSA §§21-3610 & 21-3610a) Not more than 6 mos

Not more than \$1,000

Yes Susp or nev

Yes Susp or rev KSA §§41-2611(e) and 41-2708(k) Not specified \$\$41-715 and 41-2615 \$41-2708 . . .

Yes 5541-2640(a)(3) & 41-2722(a)(4)

Yes \$541-804 & 41-2719 Yes Driver and passengers 5541-719(a) & 41-2720(a)

3 - 133

6th Edition

and and a second s

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):
Presumption (BAC Level):
Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:
Other:

Under the influence of Alcohol which may impair

See: Kentucky Revised Statutes Annotated

one's driving ability \$189A.0.10(1) No 0.10 \$189.520(3)(c) Any Substance See \$189A.010(1) None

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence:

Other information:

Yes \$189.100

KENTUCKY

Yes No

0

Yes (Criminal Cases) Commonwealth v. Hager, 702 S.W.2d 431 (1986) Special Note: After a DWI arrest, if a defendant shows a BAC level of 0.15%, They must

be detained in custody at least 4 hrs following their arrest; see §189.110.

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes
Urine:	Yes
Other:	Yes- saliva

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):

Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI)⁺ (Yes/No): Nö

Yes If a defendant's BAC is 0.15 or more; see \$189A.120(2). Note: If a defendant's BAC level is between 0.10 and 0.15, a DWI charge may be changed provided the prosecutor gives reasons for such action to the court and the court records the reasons for such change, if granted, in the record of the case; see \$189A.120(1).

No

STATE - Kentucky

Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC Chemical Test:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail): None Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): None Other: None

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

None

Rev- Not more than 6 mos (Not mandatory) \$\$186.520(5) & 186.565(4) None

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment:

Other:

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Other Penalties:

Community Service:

Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)

<u>Ist off</u>-48 hrs-30 dys; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 years)-7 dys-6 mos; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 years)-30 dys-12 mos \$189.010(2) <u>Ist off</u> - 48 hrs¹; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 years)- 7 dys; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u>-30 dys \$189A.101(3)

Ist off-\$200-500; 2nd off (w/n 5 years)\$350-500; 3rd and subsequent offs- \$500-1,000
\$189.010(2); A convicted DWI defendant must pay
an \$150 service fee in addition to any other
fine; see \$189A.050.
None

<u>lst off</u> - 2-30 dys²; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 years) - 10 dys-6 mos³; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 years) - 10 dys-i2 mos³ Yes; see §348.020-a victim's compensation board. (See also §346.010 et seq.)

¹Mandatory only if defendant has caused physical injury as a result of the DWI, off in which case a defendant <u>cannot</u> receive community service in lieu of this prison term; see §189A.010(4). ²In lieu of fine or imprisonment except for injury related DWI offs; see §189A,010(2) ³A defendant may be sentenced to community service in addition to any other sanctions imposed; if the court imposes community service, the minimum term noted must be served; see §189A.010(3).

3 - 136

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

Other:

Note: (1) For a first DW1 offs conviction, at least one of the penalties (prison, fine, community service) <u>must</u> be assessed against defendant; see §189A.010(4) (2) For 1st and 2nd offenders, the imprisonment may be served on weekends provided that the period of incarceration be less than 24 hrs; see §189A.030.

Administrative Licensing Actions:

<u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law:

Other:

None A co

가 같은 것

A court may suspend a driver's license following a DWI arrest but prior to adjudication of the DWI charges if there is probable cause that the defendant committed such off and any one of the following circumstances is present: (1)Prior traffic violations (including DWI offs) which demonstrate a lack of regard for the safety of others; or (2) where the DWI charge involves physical injury the Court may suspend a license from 14 to 60 dys. If the defendant is convicted of the DWI charge, any susp time is credited towards their license rev following such conviction. See §189A.060.

Post DWI Conviction Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action

(Susp/Rev):

Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of • Withdrawal:

24.444 (3.47) (3

Rehabilitation:

Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment: <u>lst off</u>-Rev or Susp; <u>2nd & 3rd off</u> - Rev \$189A.070 For persons under 18 years old, see Footnote No. I below.

<u>lst off-6 mos Rev or a 30 dy</u> (Mandatory) susp and an alcohol education/treatment program; (§189A.040(1)²); <u>2nd off-12 mo license Rev; 3rd</u> <u>off-24 mo license Rev; see §189A.070.</u>

<u>lst off-6 mos license Rev or a 30 dy</u> (Mandatory) susp and an alcohol education/ treatment program ; <u>2nd off-12 mo license Rev (Mandatory)</u>; <u>3rd</u> <u>off-24 mo license Rev (Mandatory)</u> §189A.070.

Yes (See alternatives below)

For 2nd, 3rd and subsequent DWI off convictions, the defendant <u>must</u> be sentenced to an alcohol or substance abuse program; see \$189A.040(2) & (3)

¹Under §189A.070(2), a person under 18 years old has their license revoked until they are 18 or as otherwise provided under §189A.070 whichever sanction will result in the longer revocation period.

²See also \$\$186.560(5) & 189A.070(1)(a).

STATE - Kentucky

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense</u>: (continued)

> Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

For a first DWI off conviction, a defendant may have their license rev reduced from 6 mos to a 30 dy susp if they attend an alcohol of substance abuse education or treatment program; see \$189A.040(1).

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released:

No

None

None

Other: Miscellaneous Sanctions

Not Included Elsewhere:

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle:

State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

No (Special Note: "A person is guilty of manslaughter in the second degree when, including, but not limited to, the operation of a motor vehicle, he wantonly causes the death of another person (See § 507.040(1)); manslaughter in the second degree is a CI C felony" (See §507.040(2).)

Sanctions: Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action:

(Note: Even though this state does not have vehicle homicide statute, it, nevertheless provides for mandatory license rev for at least 6 mos for a conviction of manslaughter resulting from operation of a motor vehicle; the rev period could be 1 or 2 yrs if there have been previous mandatory lic rev actions. \$186.560(1)(a) & (4))

6th Edition

STATE - Kentucky

<u>Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol</u> <u>Use and Driving:</u> (continued)

Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other:

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:

×5.

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender:

> Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status:

Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Ist off (CI B misd)-Not more than 90 dys; 2nd off (CI A misd)-Not more than 12 mos; 3rd and subsequent offs (CI D felony)-1-5 yrs; \$\$189A.090(2), 532.060 & 532.090

None

<u>ist off</u>-Not more than \$250; <u>2nd off</u>-Not more than \$500; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u>-Not more than \$10,000¹; \$\$534.030 & 534.040 None

ist off-Rev; 2nd off-Rev; 3rd and subsequent
offs-Rev \$189A.090

The driver's license shall be revoked for twice the original period of rev §189A.090(3)

Yes, as indicated immediately above

Yes \$186.642

3 or more serious offs (including DWI offs) within 5 years

Rev of license for a period of 5 yrs if habitual offender status is based on three or more convictions for DWI

Misd

¹This fine is imposed only if the defendant is granted either a sentence of probation or conditional discharge.

e and Driving: (continued)		
e and priving: (continued)		
Sanctions Following a Conviction of	• •	e de la composition de
Driving While on Habitual Offender		
Status:		
Imprisonment (Term):	Not to exceed	12 mos
Mandatory Minimum Term of		
Imprisonment:	None	er e la companya de l
Fine (\$ Range):	None	
Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$):	N/A	
Licensing Actions (Specify):	See section on	suspended or revoked license
- . <i>,</i>		And the second
ther State Laws Related To Alcohol Use		$(1, \dots, n) = (1, \dots, n) = (1, \dots, n)$
nd Driving:		the second s
		and the second second
Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on		
Persons Killed in Traffic		
Accidents:		
State Has Such a Law (Yes/No):	Possible	e en
BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the		and the second
the Following Persons:		 Constraints and a second s
Driver:	Possible	
Vehicle Passengers:	Possible	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
Pedestrian:	Possible	÷ • • .
the second states the second state of the second states of the second states and the second states of the second s	r	
Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages		
Concerning Alcoholic Beverages:	21 (Year 544)	(070)
Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:	21 (Year Eff: 21 \$244-085	1978)
Minimum Age (Years) Possession:		
Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:	None	
Deem Shop Love and Polated Local Actions.		
Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions:	Al.	
State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No);	No	
"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common	•	
Law Rule by Action of the Highest		n an
,		
Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):	Vor Piko v C	eorge, 434 SW 2d 626 (Ky. 1968)
	No (No cases)	
Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: Other:		
vtner:	None	

Language in Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. \$189.590 requiring coroners to report on the circumstances surrounding fatal accidents may impliedly require such tests. Woosley v. Central Uniform Rental, 463 S.W. 2d 345 (1971). An investigative officer or a coroner may direct taking of blood samples of dead if necessarv. OAG 73-170 and OAG 73-196. blood samples of dead if necessary. OAG 73-170 and OAG 73-196. · · ·

.

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

> License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term License Withdrawal:

<u>Ist off</u>-Misd; <u>2nd and subsequent off</u>-Misd <u>\$\$241.010(2)</u>, 244.080(2) & 244.990(1) <u>Ist off</u>-Not more than 6 mos; <u>2nd off</u>-Not more than 6 mos Ist off-\$100-200; 2nd off-\$200-500

Withdrawn (Yes/No): Yes Susp or Rev §§243.480, 243.490 & 243.500 Length of Term of License Withdrawal: 2 yrs §243.100(5)

> <u>Ist off</u>-Misd; <u>2nd off</u>-Misd §§241.010(2), 244.080(1) & 244.990(1) <u>Ist off</u>-Not more than 6 mos; <u>2nd off</u>-Not more than 6 mos 1st off - \$100-200; <u>2nd off</u>-\$200-500

Yes Susp or Rev. \$\$243.480, 243.490 & 243.500¹ 2 yrs \$243.100(5)

Note: For a first violation, in leiu of revocation, the State may suspend a license. The licensee, however, as an alternative to this suspension, may at their discretion pay a fine. For retail "by the drink "and package liquor licensees, the fine is \$25 per day the license would have been suspended; for reatil been licensees such fine is \$10 per day; see \$243.480(1). For a second violation (w/n 2 yrs), the license must be revoked or suspended; see \$243.500(4).

STATE - Kentucky

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

No

No

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Yes Driver & passengers \$244.020 The law states that "no person shall drink any alcoholic beverage in any public place in or upon any passenger coach, street car or other vehicle commonly used for the transportation of passengers" STATE: General Comments:

LOUISIANA See West's Louisiana Statutes Annotated: Revised Statutes

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:Under the influence of alcohol \$\$14:98(A)(1)Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):0.10 \$\$14:98(A)(2)^1Presumption (BAC Level):0.10 \$\$32:662(A) (1) (c)Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:Any Controlled Dangerous Substance
See \$\$14:98(A)(3)

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: No Implied Consent Law: Yes §32:661 Arrest Required (Yes/No): Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Yes \$32:661(A) Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence: Yes (Criminal cases only; prohibited in civil cases except administrative licensing actions) \$32:666A(3) Other Information: Special Note: Under §32:666 a driver may not refuse to submit to a chemical test if they have been involved in a traffic fatality or accident

None

.

<u>Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which</u> <u>Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law)</u>:

Blood:	Yes	§32:661	
Urine:	Yes	§32:661	
Other:	Othe	r bodily substance	\$32:661

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): No Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): No Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No): Optic

No No Optional; see \$14:98(G)

resulting in a serious bodily injury

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test:	
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	N/A
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	N/A
Other:	N/A

I<u>All</u> DWI offenses are classified as the crime of operating a vehicle while intoxicated; this offense, therefore, includes operating a vehicle (1) with a BAC level of 0.10 or more and (2) while under the influence of alcohol.

<u>Sanction for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> Chemical Test: (continued)

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail):

None

Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

Other:

<u>Ist refusal</u>- Susp for 180 dys, the first 90 dys are mandatory; <u>2nd and subsequent refusals</u>- Susp for 545 dys (Mandatory); 32:667(B)(2) & 32:668(B)(1), (2), & (3) Special Note: A hardship license is only available to drivers for a 1st refusal after the first 90 dys of the susp period have passed.

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions:

Imprisonment:

Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

<u>1st off</u>-10 dys-6 mos; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-30 dys-6 mos; <u>3rd off</u>-felony (w/n 5 yrs)-1-5 yrs (w/or w/o hard labor)³; <u>4th off</u> felony (w/n 5 yrs)-10-30 yrs (w/hard labor) §14:98; <u>DW1</u> related injury-Not more than 6 mos (§§14:2(4) and 14:39.1) <u>1st off-¹</u>; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-²; <u>3rd off</u>-felony

<u>lst off</u>-'; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-²; <u>3rd off</u>-felony (w/n 5 yrs)-6 mos³

<u>Ist off</u>-\$125-500; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-\$300-500; <u>3rd off</u> felony-Not more than \$1,000; <u>4th off</u> felony - None; DWI related injury (veh. negligent injury)-Not more than \$500 Note: In the parishes of Caldwell, Catahoula, Concordia, Franklin, LaSalle and Temsas, an additional fine of \$25 is assessed against DWI offenders; see \$14:98(J). (See Footnote No. 4.) None

¹Aiternatives to the imposition of sentence. The imposition of sentence is mandatory unless one of these alternatives is taken: (1) Serve a minimum of 2 dys in jail and participate in substance abuse and driver improvement programs or (2) perform at least four eight-hr dys of community service and participate in substance abuse and driver improvement programs. ²Alternatives to the imposition of sentence. The imposition of sentence is mandatory unless one of these alternatives is taken: (a) Serve a minimum of 15 dys in jail and participate in substance abuse and driver improvement programs of (b) perform at least 30 eight-hr dys of community service and participate in substance abuse and driver improvement programs. ³If probation is granted for part of the sentence, the defendant must participate in substance abuse and driver improvement programs; however, 6 mos of the sentence is mandatory. ⁴Defendants must also pay a fee of not less than \$50 for felony convictions or one of \$7.50 for misdemeanor convictions, this fee is deposited in the State Treasury for the purpose of funding the crime victims reparations fund. See \$46:1816(D)(1)(a)

3 - 144

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued)

> Other Penalties: Community Service: Restitution (e.g. Victim's Fund) Other:

None

Nonel

None

A DW1 offender must pay a fee of \$50 for the purpose of covering the costs of administering a BAC chemical test. They also must pay a fee of \$50 to defray the expenses of admistering any conditions of probation or incarceration. See Code of Criminal Procedure \$887(C) & (D).

Yes BAC level of 0.10; <u>lst Off</u>-Susp for 90 dys; The lst 30 dys are mandatory; A restricted license may be issued a for the remaining 60 dys of the susp period; 2nd and subsequent offs (w/n

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law:

Other:

<u>Post DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Ist off-Susp; 2nd and subsequent offs (w/n 5 vrs)-Rev 532:414

5 yrs)-Susp for 365 dys (mandatory); \$\$32:667(B)(1) and 32:668(B)(3)

Ist off-60 dys (Hardship provision (to earn a livelihood) for <u>1st off</u> only); <u>2nd and</u> subsequent offs (w/n 5 yrs)-12 mos \$32:414 & \$32:415.

<u>Ist_off-No; 2nd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-12 mos

Yes Note: §32-415.1(A)(2). Judges are given the authority to refer first time offenders for education or rehabilitation. Restricted licenses are issued to facilitate attendance in driver improvement schools. Courts grant based on medical evaluation and on recommendations that the convicted DWI offender will benefit from such treatment. §14:98 (c) authorizes the court to order a DWI offender to undergo substance abuse treatment program in lieu of imprisonment.

¹A victim of a motor vehicle accident is not eligible for State compensation unless there was a crime which caused the injury or death and such was intentional. See §46:1805(B)

3 - 145

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offe (continued)	<u>nse</u> :
Alcohol Treatment:	Yes
Alcohol Education/	,05
Treatment as an Altern-	
ative to Criminal	
Licensing Actions	
(Describe):	Yes
Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific	
	No
Terms Upon Which Vehicle	
Will Be Released:	•
Other:	None
Miscellaneous Sanctions	
Not Included Elsewhere:	None
Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol	
Use and Driving:	
Homicide by Vehicle:	
State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:	Yes Restricted to death caused by a driver while DWI, or under the influence of certain
	drugs. §14:32.1
Sanctions:	
Criminal Sanction:	
Imprisonment (Term):	2-5 yrs ¹
Mandatory Minimum Term:	None
Fine (\$ Range):	\$2,000-5,000
Mandatory Minimum Fine:	None
Administrative Licensing Action:	
Licensing Authorized and Type of Action:	Rev §32:414
Length of Term of	
Licensing Withdrawal:	12 mos
Mandatory ActionMinimum	
Length of License	
Withdrawal:	12 mos
Other:	None
Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense:	
Sanction:	
Criminal:	
Imprisonment (Term):	Not more than 6 mos; 7 dys-6 mos if such violation was simultaneous with a second or subsequent DWI conviction \$32:415

.

i

```
3 - 146
```

.

If the defendant is imprisoned with <u>hard labor</u>, the conviction is considered a felony; otherwise it is misdemeanor. See $\frac{1}{2}$ (4) & (6) and 14:32.1(B).

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

7 dys if such violation was simultaneous with a second or subsequent DWI[®] conviction

Not more than \$500; \$300-500 if such violation

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Susp Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action: Orig Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action: For

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender:

> Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status:

Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$):

Licensing Actions (Specify):

was simultaneous with a second or subsequent DW1 conviction §32:415

None

Susp/Rev

Original susp/rev period extended for 1 yr

For 2nd and sub. offenses, original susp/rev period extended for 1 yr (mandatory) (Note: A hardship license is available for first offenders; see \$32:451.1)

Yes

Convictions for 3 or more serious traffic law offs w/n a 5 yr period or convictions for 10 or more minor and serious offs w/n a 3-yr period \$32:1472

3 yrs (Also, certain financial responsibility requirements must be met and petition must be made to court which may, upon showing of good cause, restore the license; Note: A lst time habitual offender may apply for a hardship license under §32:1477(B).)

Misd 514:2(4) & (6)

1-5 yrs \$32:1480 None None

N/A

None

r State Laws Related To Alcohol Use Driving:	
Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on	
Persons Killed in Traffic	
Accidents:	· · · · · · · · · · · ·
	Yes §32:398(E) & (F) (A report is made by the cornor.)
and the second	
BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the	$\Lambda^{*} = 0$
the Following Persons:	
Driver:	Yes
Vehicle Passengers:	Yes
Pedestrian:	Yes
Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages:	
Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:	21 \$26:88(1) (See also R.S. \$\$14:91, 14:91.)
	14:91.2 & 14:91.5) (Year Eff: 1987)
Minimum Age (Years) Possession:	21 \$14:91.5
Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:	None
Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions:	
State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No):	No (Under \$9:2800.1, neither a commercial
STATE HAS A DEAM SHOP LAW (TESTINO):	
	server nor a social host can be held liable for
	the actions of an intoxicated patron or guest
and a second br>Second second	who is over the legal drinking age. Note: This statute does not address the liability of
	commercial servers or social hosts with regards
	to the actions of intoxicated minors who have
	been served alcoholic beverages.)
"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been	
Adopted Via a Change to the Common	
Law Rule by Action of the Highest	
Court of Record in the State (Case	
Citation):	No Note: Possible liability under Pence v.
	Ketchum, 326 So. 2d 831 (La. 1976), Chausee v.
	Southland, 400 So.2d 1199 (La. App., 1981) and
	Farrington v. Houston's Inc., 750 F.2d 492
	(1985).
Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:	Possible See Garcia v. Jennings,
	427 So.2d 1329 (1983). Note: This case
	applied to the actions of intoxicated minors
	who were given alcoholic beverages in violation
and a second	of a statute that prohibits adults from
	purchasing such beverages for minors.

It is illegal for a person under 21 years old to purchase alcoholic beverages. Commercial dispensers of alcoholic beverages, however, are <u>not</u> criminally liable for selling such beverages to minors unless they are less than 18 years old.

<u>Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use</u> <u>And Driving</u>: (continued)

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): A. For alcoholic beverages with an alcohol content of 6% or above-Misd §§ 26:2(1) & 26:88(2) B For alcoholic beverages with an alcohol content of 1/2 of 1% to 6%-Misd §§ 26:241(1) & 26:285(2)

A. For alcoholic beverages with an alcohol content of 6% or above-30 dys-6 mos §26:191 B. For alcoholic beverages with an alcohol content of 1/2 of 1% to 6%, <u>1st off</u>-30 dys-6 mos; <u>2nd or</u> <u>subsequent off</u>-60 dys-12 mos; §26:521

A. For alcoholic beverages with an alcohol content of 6% or above-\$100-500 (and/or the following administrative fines: 1st off-\$50-500; 2nd off-(w/n 3 yrs)-\$250-1,000 3rd off-(w/n 3 yrs)-\$500-2,500 \$26:94) B. For alcoholicbeverages with an alcohol content of 1/2 of 1%to 6% ist off \$100-500; 2nd or sub offs-\$200-1,000 \$26:521 (and/or the followingadministrative fines: ist off-\$50-500; 2nd off(w/n 3 yrs) - \$250 - 500; 3rd off-(w/n 3 yrs) -\$500 - 2,500 \$26:290)

Yes, Rev or Susp Not mandatory \$\$26:88(B) & 26:285(B)

Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Not specified

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

(Note: See Footnote No. 1 on p. 3-148.)

A. For alcoholic beverages with an alcoholic content of 6% or above - Misd §§ 26:2(1) & 26:886(1) B. For alcoholic beverages with an alcoholic content of 1/2 of 1% to 6% - Misd §§26:241(1) & 26:286(1)

Same as for serving alcoholic beverages to an intoxicated person above.

Same as for serving alcoholic beverages to an intoxicated person above.

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued) Administrative Actions Against Owners of

Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

. . .

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations: No Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic

Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle: Open Container Law (Yes/No):

Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

(Note: See Footnote No. 1 on p. 3-xxx.)

Yes, but not mandatory \$\$26:88(B) & 26:285(B) Not specified

No

No

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level):

Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence: Other Information: MAINE See Maine Revised Statutes Annotated.

Under the influence of intoxicating liquor 29 MRSA \$1312-B(1)(A)

(· · · ·

Yes 0.10 29 MRSA \$1312-B.

Note: For purposes of evidence in proceedings other than those arising under \$1312-B, it shall be presumed that a person was under the

influence of intoxicating liquor when he has a blood-alochol level of 0.10 or more by wieght; see 29 MRSA \$1312(5)(C).

(1) Intoxicating Drugs or (2) a Combination of Liquor and Drugs 29 MRSA \$1312-B(1) None

No

No

No

Yes (Criminal Cases) 29 MRSA \$1312(8) The officer does not have to arrest a driver, they nevertheless, must have "probable cause" before a suspected drunk driver has to submit to a chemical test. 29 MRSA \$1312

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood: Urine: Other: Adjudication of DWL Charges:	Yes 29 MRSA §1312 No None
Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pro-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI)	No No

(Yes/No):

No

3 - 151

STATE - Maine

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test:	
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	N/A
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	N/A
Other:	N/A

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action

(Susp/Rev):

None

<u>Ist_refusal</u>- Susp for 180 dys¹(A restricted license may be issued after the first 90 dys which are mandatory; see 29 MRSA §1312-D(5)); <u>2nd refusal</u> (w/n 6 yrs)- Susp for 1 yr (mandatory) 29 MRSA §1312(2) None

....

Other:

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment: Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.): Mandatory Minimum Term:

<u>Cl D crime</u> less than 1 yr; 29 MRSA §1312-B <u>1st off</u> A DW1 conv. where the defendant (1) had a BAC level of 0.15 or more, (2) was driving 30 MPH over the speed limit with a BAC level of 0.10 or more or (3) was eluding a police officer and had a BAC level 0.10 or more-Not less than 48 hrs.; <u>2nd off.</u> (w/n 6 yrs)-7 days; <u>sub. offs</u>. (w/n 6 yrs)-30 dys. 29 MRSA §1312-B, sub. 2

Fine: Amount (\$ Range): Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

Other Penalties: Community Service: Restitution

(eg Victim's Fund)

<u>ist off</u>\$300; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 6 yrs.)-\$500; <u>3rd off</u> (w/n 6 yrs.)-\$750 29 MRSA §1312-B None

Not more than \$1,000

Yes, 17-A MRSA \$\$1204(2-A)(B) & 1321 et seq. Direct compensation by the defendant to a victim usually as a condition of probation. None

Other:

¹For a first refusal for a person under 21 years old where there is probable cause that they were driving with a BAC level of 0.02 or more, suspension for 1 year; see 29 MRSA § 2241-G(c).

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law:

Yes-0.10 BAC level. The periods of license susp for 1st and subsequent offs are the same as Post DWI Conviction Licensing Actions (below); however, a work restricted license may be issued; see 29 MRSA \$1311-A¹. None

an start St

Other:

<u>Post DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

> Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

Other:

R	ehabilitatio	on:
	Alcohol	Education:
	Alcohol	Treatment:
	Alcohol	Education/
	Treatr	ment as an Altern-
· ·	ative	to Criminal
	Licens	sing Actions
	(Desci	ribe):

For all offs - Susp

Ist off-90 dys; 2nd off (w/n 6 yrs.)-1 yr; Subsequent offs (w/n 6 yrs)-2 yrs.; 29 MRSA \$\$1312-B & 1312-D(1) Note: The licensing agency may increase the above susp. periods up to 275 dys; see 29 MRSA \$1312-D(1-A).

<u>lst off-60 dys; 2nd off-8 mos (243 dys); sub.</u> <u>off-16 mos (487 dys)</u> These are not mandatory in all cituations; see the Special Note below.

Special Note: After 2/3 of license susp period have passed, the DWI offender may be issued a license if they have completed an alcohol education/treatment program. If the actual license susp period which has expired is less than 90 dys, the license issued must be restricted to going either to employment or to an alcohol education/treatment program; the time period the license was actually suspended plus the time period for the restricted license must equal at least 90 dys. In addition, a temporary restricted license may be issued to a driver for the purpose of allowing them to attend an alcohol education/treatment program notwithstanding any other provision of law; see 29 MRSA \$1312-D(2), (3) and (4).

¹Maine has a special statute concerning the administrative susp of licenses for 1 yr of persons under 21 yrs of age who operate a veh while having a BAC level of 0.02%; hardship and provisional licenses are available; this statute is not reported in detail here; see 29 MRSA \$2241-G(B).

STATE - Maine

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI_Offense:

(continued)	
Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation	;
Authorized by Specific	
Statutory Authority:	No
Terms Upon Which Vehicle	
Will Be Released:	• *
Other:	None
Miscellaneous Sanctions	
Not Included Elsewhere:	None
Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:	
Homicide by Vehicle:	
State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:	Yes, (Class C Crime) applies only if death is caused by the reckless operation of a veh. 17-A MRSA \$203(3) and 29 MRSA \$1313 See Note on page 3-xxx.
Sanctions:	·
Criminal Sanction:	
Imprisonment (Term):	Not more than 5 yrs 17-A MRSA \$1252
Mandatory Minimum Term:	None
Fine (\$ Range):	Not more than \$2,500 17-A MRSA \$1301
Mandatory Minimum Fine:	None
Administrative Licensing Action:	
Licensing Authorized and	
Type of Action:	Rev
Length of Term of	_
Licensing Withdrawal:	5 yrs
Mandatory ActionMinimum	· · ·
Length of License Withdrawal:	5
Other:	5 yrs
offier :	Special Note: If alcohol or drugs are involved in a criminal homicide caused by the operation
	of a motor vehicle, a defendant must complete a
	driver education program and, if needed, a
	substance abuse and/or a 2 vr. after care
	program prior to license restoration. See 29 MRSA \$1313-A, para. 3.

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Less than 1 yr (CI D crime) 29 MRSA §2184

7 dys

Not more than \$2,500 29 MRSA 52184 \$350

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued) Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): S Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action: I Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action: I Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Y

Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status:

Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual

Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender

Mandatory Minimum Term of

Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$):

Licensing Actions (Specify):

Imprisonment (Term):

Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Offender Status

Status:

Susp

1-3 yrs added to the original susp or rev

1 yr added to the original susp or rev

Yes 29 MRSA \$2292

Convictions for 3 serious offs. (e.g. DWI)

The rev period is indefinite but relief from such rev may be granted after | yr|.

CI C crime 29 MRSA \$\$2292 and 2299

Not more than 5 yrs

60 dys

Not more than **\$5,000** 29 MRSA §2298 None

Relief from habitual offender status shall not be granted for at least 3 yrs from the date the offender would have been eligible.

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers:

Pedestrian:

¹A work-restricted license is available (see 29 MRSA §2296-B, sub. §1). However, a person is not eligible for this type of license, if they have been convicted of alcohol driving offenses, until they (1) complete the required license suspension periods under 29 MRSA §§1311-A & 1312-B and (2) complete any mandatory driver education and/or drug abuse treatment programs. See 29 MRSA §2296-B, sub. 4.

No

Other_State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

> Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:

> Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

. .

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No):

> "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation) ·

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:

Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

> Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

 $1 \leq 1$ · .

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages

Withdrawn (Yes/No):

See Footnote No. 1 on page 3-157.

.

, - .

 $H^{1}(x) = H^{1}(x) + H^{1}(x)$

21 (vr eff 1985) 28-A MRSA \$\$2051(1)(A) and citations listed under criminal actions for a selling alcohol to minors below.

a na anti-a

21 (Home and employment exemption) 28-A MRSA §2501(1)(E)

21. (Except at home in the presence of parents or legal guardians etc.) 28-A MRSA \$\$2051(1)(B)

Yes 28-A MRSA §2501 et seq. (Note: Except for medical expenses, recovery under the dram shop act is limited to \$250,000 per single accident or occurance; see 28-A MRSA §2509.)

· .

No -

Yes Liability is limited to situations where the social host served alcoholic beverages (1) to a minor or (2) to a minor or a visibly intoxicated person in a "reckless manner; see 28-A MRSA §§2503(5), 2505(2), 2506(1) & 2507 N/A

and the second
Class E Crime 28-A MRSA §§1, 62(8), 354,705(2)(A) & 705(3)(A) Mot more than 6 mos 17-A MRSA \$1252(2)(E) For a person, not more than \$500; for an organization, not more than \$5,000 17-A MRSA \$1301(1)(C) & (3)(E)

Yes Susp or rev 28-A MRSA \$\$801 & 803(5) Length of Term of License Withdrawal: For susp.-not specified in the statute; for rev.-I-5 vrs.1

> and the second A standard and a standard stan , .

· .

6th Edition
Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action:

> Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Class E Crime 28-a MRSA \$\$1, 2(20), 62(8), 354, 705(2)(E), 705(3)(E), 1901 & 1902 Not more than 6 mos. 17-A MRSA \$1252(2)(E)For a person, not more than \$500; for an organization, not more than \$5,000 17-A MRSA \$1301(1)(C) & (3)(E)

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Yes Susp or Rev 28-A MRSA \$\$801 & 803(5) For susp.-not specified in the statute; for rev.-1-5 yr11&2

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Yes 28-A MRSA \$709

Note: The Maine Criminal Code (17-A MRSA) does not use the terms "Misdemeanor" or "felony " to describe/define crimes. The law describes an offense such a vehicle homicide as a Class C crime without further identifing it as a misdemeanor or a felony. It appears, however, that a Class C crime would be considered a felony in most States

No

No

An administrative fine of \$50-\$1,500 may be imposed instead of or in addition to any license suspension or revocation; see 28-A MRSA \$803(8).

²An agent of a licnesse is subject to a civil forfeiture of not more than \$500 if they sell liquor to a minor; see 28-A MRSA §2084.

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence: Other Information:

MARYLAND

See Annotated Code of Maryland.

While intoxicated (Tran. §21-902(a)) and under the influence (Tran. §21-902(b)) No No (1) Any Drug, (2) Any Combination of Drugs, (3)

a Combination of One or More Drugs and Alcohol and (4) Any Controlled Dangerous Substance See §21-902(c)(1) & (d) A BAC of 0.08 is prima facie evidence of driving while under the influence. A BAC of 0.13 is prima facie evidence of intoxication. (Code of Maryland, Courts and Judicial Proceedings

§§10-309 and 10-307 and Transportation §21-902

Yes Tran. \$16-205.2

Yes

No

Yes (Criminal Cases) C&JP \$10-309(a) Special Note: If a driver is involved in a DNI related accident which resulted in the death of another person, the driver shall be required to submit to a chemical test of their blood or breath Tran. §16-205.1(c)

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood: Yes (Trans §16-205.1) Urine: No Other: None

No

felony offs.)

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No):

Adjudication of DVI Charges:

Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):

No No (Note: PSI required only for convictions of

STATE - Maryland

Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC Chemical Test:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

None

None None

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action

(Susp/Rev):

None

Ist refusal-Susp for 60 dys-6 mos; 2nd and subsequent refusals-Susp for 120 dys-1 yr; (Restricted license available; Tran. §16-205.1(f)(5) None

Other:

Other:

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment: Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Jerm;

Fine: Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$): Other Penalties: Community Service:

1.) Driving while under the influence (Misd), ist off-Not more than 2 mos; Subsequent off-Not more than 1 yr; 2.) Driving while intoxicated (Misd), Ist off-Not more than I yr; 2nd off-Not more than 2 yrs; 3rd & sub. off-not more than 3 vrs (Trans. §§21-902 and 27-101) For a subsequent intoxicated Off. conviction (w/n 3 yrs.)-481 con. hrs.²

1.) Driving while under the influence, 1st off-Not more than \$500; Subsequent off-Not more than \$500; 2.) Driving while intoxicated, 1st off-Not more than \$1,000, 2nd off-Not more than \$1,000; 3rd & sub. off-not more than \$2,000 None

For a subsequent Intoxicated Off. conviction (w/n 3 yrs.) in lieu of the mand. jail sentence-80 hrs. of community service.²

¹Imprisonment includes confinement in an inpatient rehabilitation or treatment center; see Tran. §27-101(j). ²Tran. §27-101(j)

ntinued)	
Restitution	
(eg Victim's Fund)	Optional when judgement's entrance is stayed an
Other:	individual is placed on probation. Art. 27 \$64 And person placed on probation for <u>any</u> alcohol driving offense must participate in either an alcohol education or treatment program; see Art 27, \$639(b).
Administrative Licensing Actions <u>Pre-DWI Conviction Licensing Action</u> :	na da anti-tana tanàna amin'ny fisiana. Ny INSEE dia mampika mandritra dia mampika dia mampika dia mandritra dia mandritra dia mandritra dia mandritra d
Administrative Per Se Law:	None
Other:	None
Post DWI Conviction Licensing Action:	
Type of Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	1.) Tran. 5516-205 and 16-208. <u>Driving while</u> <u>under the influence</u> (DUI), <u>1st off</u> -Susp; <u>2nd of</u> (w/n 3 yrs)-Susp; <u>3rd & sub. off</u> (w/n 3 yrs)-Rev; 2.) <u>Driving while intoxicated</u> (DWI)- Rev: See Note at end of the criminal sanctions section.
Term of License Withdrawal	
(Days, Months, Years, etc.):	1.) For <u>DUI</u> , <u>1st off</u> -Not more than 60 dys; <u>2nd</u> <u>off</u> (w/n 3 yrs)-Not more than 120 dys; For <u>DUI</u> <u>3rd & sub. off</u> (w/n 3 yrs) and for <u>all DWI</u>
	offs., the period of rev. is based on the number of previous revs. a person has regardless of th
	basis ¹ ; the periods are as follows: 6 mos for 1st rev; 1 yr for a 2nd rev; and, 18 mos for 3r and subsequent revs. See Special Note in
Man da barris Mita tarra Tarra a K	Footnote No. 2 below.
Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:	None
Other:	
Rehabilitation:	A REAL PROPERTY AND A REAL
Alcohol Education:	YesHealth-General \$8-404, Tran. \$16-212 & Art 27, \$639(b)
Alcohol Treatment:	YesHealth-General \$8-404, Tran. \$16-212 & Art 27, \$639(b)

¹I.e., the previous revocations do not have to be DUI/DWI related. ²Special Note: The licensing agency may when issuing a license and shall when directed to do so by a court, place a restriction on a person's license which prohibits them from operating a motor vehicle with alcohol in their blood. If at the time of an implied consent test, the person has a BAC level of 0.01 or more, such BAC level is <u>prima facie</u> evidence that the person was operating a motor vehicle with alcohol in their body. See Tran. §16-113(a)(2) & (f) and C&JP §10-307(f).

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

Yes--Under Trans. \$16-212, a person convicted of either DUI or DWI may be required to attend a driver improvement or alcohol education program as a condition or reinstatement of their driving privilege.

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other:

No

license is suspended or revoked for an alcohol off, the registration of the motor veh he or she was driving may be suspended for not more than 120 dys Tran: \$13-705.1

If a person drives a motor veh while his or her

Special Note: (1) A person who had been convicted of an alcohol driving off can have their license suspended/revoked either directly under Tran. §16-205 or via the point system under Tran. §16-401 et. seq. Under the point system, a driver is assessed the following points for alcohol driving offs convictions: Driving While Under the Influence (DUI) - 8 points

Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) - 12 points

Points assessed for any traffic law violation remain on a driver's record for two
 yrs. A person who accumulates either eight
 or 12 points at any time may have their license either suspended or revoked.
 Under certain circumstances a person could have their license <u>revoked</u> via the point system for a second DUI off conviction instead of suspended as described for this State. Under Tran.
 \$16-205(b), a person convicted of a second DUI off within three (3) yrs may have their license

Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere:

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:</u> (continued)

> suspended for no more than 120 dys. However, if such a DUI conviction occurred within two (2) years of a prior one, the driver would have accumulated 16 points on their driver's record (8 points assessed for each DUI conviction) and would, be subject to license rev under the point system. Thus, the 120 dy susp period may only apply if the second DUI off conviction is more than two (2) but less than three (3) years after a prior off. (3) And, license susp periods for first and second DUI off convictions appear to be limited to 60 and 120 dys respectively via the provisions of Tran. §16-205(b). This is despite the fact that under Tran. \$16-208(a), if a person who accumulates eight (8) points, they can have their license suspended for up to one (1) yr.

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle:

State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term):

> Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal:

> Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other:

Yes 1) Death caused by the operation of a veh "In a grossly negligent manner"- Misd 2) Death caused by operation of a motor veh while intoxicated-Misd Art. 27, §388

1) Operating "in a grossly negligent manner"-Not more than 5 yrs 2) Operating while intoxicated - Not more than 3 yrs None

 Death caused by the operation of a veh "in a grossly negligent manner"-Not more than \$1,000
 Death caused by operation of a motor veh while intoxicated-Not more than \$1,000
 None

Rev via the point system

6 mos if this is a first rev; I yr if this is a 2nd rev; and 18 mos if this is a 3rd rev

None Note: A restricted license may be issued None

STATE - Maryland

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense:

Sanction:

Criminal: Imprisonment (Term):

> Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action: <u>lst off</u> (Misd) - Not more than 1 yr; <u>2nd and</u> <u>subsequent offs</u>-Not more than 2 yrs; <u>\$\$16-303 &</u> 27-101

None

<u>lst off</u>-Not more than \$1,000; <u>2nd and subsequent</u> <u>offs</u>-Not more than \$1,000 None

· . · .

Ist off-Rev; 2nd and subsequent offs- Rev (via point system; rev under Tran; \$16-303 results in 12 points being assessed against a driver; see Tran. \$\$16-402 & 16-404) See Other column under Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation; Trans. \$\$16-303 and 27-101.

6 mos if a first rev; 1 yr if a second rev; 18 mos if this is a third rev

Note: Under Tran. \$16-405, a rev may be canceled or modified if a person's employment or opportunity for employment would be adversely affected.

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$):

Licensing Actions (Specify):

- 1

No

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons:

Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession: Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

> Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

> Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No);

21 Art. 2B, \$118(a) (yr eff: 1982) 21 Art. 2B, \$118(b) & Art. 21, \$400A 21 Art. 2B, §118(d) which provides that no one under 21 years old shall consume alcoholic beverages in a licensed establishment.

- 4, <u>5</u> 2

No

No

No Special Note: For a recent Maryland case denying liability in this area, see Felder v. Butler, 438 A.2d 494 (1981) No (No cases) None

Misd (Art. 2B, \$\$69, 69A, 118, and 200) See Footnote No. 1 on page 3-166. Not more than 2 yrs Not more than \$1,000

Yes Susp or nev (Note: For licenses issued by the Comptroller a monetary compromise of not more than \$2,000 may be paid in lieu of susp or rev.; see Art. 2B, \$69A.)

Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Generally 6 mos, but for certain counties it may be longer

STATE - Maryland

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action:

> Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

Open Container Law (Yes/No):

Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Misd (Art. 2B \$\$69, 69A, 118, and 200) See Footnote No. 1 below. Not more than 2 yrs Not more than \$1,000

Yes Susp or rev (Note: For licenses issued by the Comptroller, a monetary compromise of not more than \$2,000 may be paid in lieu of susp or rev.; see Art. 2B, §69A.) Generally 6 mos but for certain counties it may

be longer No

public parking areas. Art. 2B §§207-214 Yes-Tran. §21-903; applies to drivers only.

Yes- However, this law is limited to certain

In addition to these sanctions, Maryland law also provides for additional sanctions (jail terms, fines or administrative actions) in certain local jurisdictions; see Art. 2B, §203 for details.

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): No Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence:

Other Information:

MASSACHUSETTS See Massachusetts General Laws Annotated

Under the influence of intoxicating liquor Ch. 90 §24(1)(a)(1) None

Yes 0.10 Ch. 90 §24(1)(e) (I) Controlled Substance (such as marihuana, narcutic drugs and certain prohibited stimulantsubstances) & (2) Vapors of Glue See Ch. 90 §24(1)(a)(1) None

No

Yes Ch. 90 §24(f)

No (Specifically prohibited in both criminal and civil cases; see Ch. 90 §24(1)(e).) If person refuses to submit to a chemical test after being arrested, the police officer immediately prepares a written report which is forwarded to the register who then suspends the person's license for 120 dys. Ch. 90 §24(1)(f)

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:

Urine: Other:

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):

None (Unless brought in for treatment. Ch. 90 §24(1)(f))

No None

No

Yes Ch. 90 §24(g)

Yes Ch. 90 §24(1)(a)(4)

Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC Chemical Test:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test	:
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	N/A
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	N/A
Other:	N/A

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

None

Susp of license for 120 dys Ch. 90 §24(1)(f) (Mandatory) None

Other:

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment: Term (Day, Month, Years,

Etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$): Other Penalties: Community Service:

> Restitution (eg Victim's Fund) Other:

Ist off-Not more than 2 yrs; 2nd off (w/n 6 yrs)-14 dys-2 yrs; 3rd off - 90 dys-2 yrs; 4th and subsequent offs (w/n 6 yrs) - 6 mos-2 yrs Ch. 90 §24(1)(a)(1) See Footnote No. 2. Ist off-No; 2nd off-14 dys1; 3rd-60 dys1; 4th_ and subsequent offs-6 mos

<u>lst_off</u>=\$100=1,000; <u>2nd_off</u> =\$300=1,000; <u>3rd</u> off-\$500-1,000; 4th and subsequent_ offs-\$500-1,000 Ch. 90 §24(1)(a)(1) See Footnote No. 2. None

For any off a minimum of 30 hrs may be ordered by the Court as a condition of probation. See Ch. 90 §24D

None None

Work release is available for this period; see also the rehabilitation section (Ch. 90 §24(1)(a)(1)).

²<u>DWI serious bodily offs</u> (Ch. 90 §24L): Imprisonment-not more than 2% yrs; fine-not less than \$3,000 (Ch. 90 §24L(2)). If recklessness is involved in the off: Imprisonment-2%-10 yrs or 6 mos-2% yrs in a house of correction; fine-not more than \$5,000 (Ch. 90 §24L(1)).

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense</u>; (continued)

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law: Other:

No

At the time of arraignment, the court shall suspend a defendant's license until the case is disposed of (but in no case more than 90 dys), provided the State establishes a prima facie showing that the defendant was operating a motor vehicle with a BAC level of 0.10 or more. See Ch. 90 §24N.

<u>Post DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of

• Withdrawal:

Other: Rehabilitation:

Alcohol Education:

Rev for all offs Ch. 90 §24(1)(b) & (1)(c)

<u>lst off</u>-1 yr; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 6 yrs)-2 yrs; <u>3rd off</u> (w/n 6 yrs)-5 yrs; <u>4th and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 6 yrs)-10 yrs

<u>ist off-45</u> dys susp¹ (If defendant is placed on probation and agrees to participate in an alcohol education program; otherwise the license is revoked a mandatory 1 yr period; see Ch. 90 §24D); <u>2nd Off</u> (w/6 yrs)-1 yr rev; <u>3rd off</u> (w/6 yrs)-2 yrs rev; <u>4th and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 6 yrs)-5 yrs rev

Yes, <u>lst off</u>-If the defendent consents, he may be placed on 1-yr probation conditioned on attending an alcohol education treatment or rehabilitation program. At the court's discretion such persons must pay \$400 in fees for placement in the program. Ch. 90 §24D; <u>2nd</u> <u>off</u> - In lieu of imprisonment, defendant may serve at least 14 dys in a residential alcohol treatment program and be placed on 2 yrs probation. Ch. 90 §24

Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe): Yes see above

Yes see above

If the person is under 21 years old, the mandatory license suspension period is 180 dys provided they participate in a specifically designed program for the education and treatment of underage DWI offenders. Ch. 90 §24D

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued)

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: No Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other: None Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere: None

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle:

State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term: None Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: None

Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other:

Yes Misd. (Homicide by motor veh) Ch. 90 §246 See Footnote No.1 below.

30 dys to 2% yrs . Ch. 90 §24G(b) \$300 to 3,000 Ch. 90 §24G(b)

Rev Ch. 90 524G(c)

ist off-10 yrs; subsequent off-life

ist off-10 yrs; subsequent off-life None

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction: Criminal: Imprisonment (Term):

> Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: 60 dys to 2% yrs Ch. 90 §23

60 dys (However, a work release program is available.) \$1,000-10,000 None

3 - 170

Homicide by motor vehicle while under the influence of an intoxicating substance and where there is recklessness-Felony (See Ch. 274 §1): Imprisonment-2%-15 yrs (Mandatory imprisonment of lyr; however, work release is available); fine-not more than \$5,000. Ch. 90 \$246(a)

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): None Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action: Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender:

Yes Ch. 90 §22F

Felony Ch. 274 \$1

Any combination of three or more serious traffic offenses (e.g., DWI, reckless driving, ect.) (w/n 5 yrs)

4 yrs (lf the defendant has a proven hardship, a license may be issued after l yr) Ch. 90 \$22F

Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status:

Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status

Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status:

Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents:

State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver:

> Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

Imprisonment for not more than 2 yrs. Ch. 90 \$23

None \$200-1,000 None Rev

Yes Ch. 38 \$6(A)

Yes The law requires medical examiners to submit to the police lab blood samples of drivers who die of injuries received in auto accidents within 4 hrs of the accident. No

Yes (Same rule for drivers who die (Ch. 38 \$6(A)) Applies for pedestrians 16 yrs or older

3 - 171

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:

Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No); "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest - Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

A STATE STATE STATE Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: and the second
Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:

> License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

ang tengan sa kanang sa kang s Kang sa Alfaber and the second

فالتبعين والملاح مكر

21 Ch. 138 §34 (yr eff: 1985) 21 (Applies to the transportation of alcoholic beverages by an unattended person under 21; there is an exemption for persons 18 and 19 for employment purposes) Ch. 138 §34C None

and the second
n de la service
and the second second second Yes, Adamain v. Three Sons, 353 Mass. 498, 233 N.E. 2d 18 (Mass. 1967) and Cimino v. The Milford Keg, Inc., 431 N.E. 2d 920 (Mass.1982) Yes' Mc Guiggan v. New England Telephone Co., 496 N.E.2d 141 (1986) and Langemann v. Davis, 495 N.E.2d 847 (1986)

Note: An intoxicated patron may bring an action for personal injury damages against a licensee, if the damages were the result of the patron's having become intoxicated by the licensee; see O'Hanley v. Ninety-Nine, Inc., 421 N.E. 2d 920 (1981) as modified by Ch. 231 §85T

Misd. (See Ch. 138 5562 and 69) Not less than I mo and not more than I vr Not less than \$50 and not more than \$500

Yes Susp, rev or cancellation Ch. 138 \$64 Length of Term of License Withdrawal: If revocation is imposed, a licensee is disqualified from receiving a license for I year after the expiration of the term of the revoked license. Note: There is no established period for either a suspension or cancellation.

No

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action:

> Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

License to Serve Alcohlic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No);

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Misd (See Ch. 138 §34) Not more than 6 mos Not more than \$1,000

Yes Susp, rev or cancellation Ch. 138 \$64 If revocation is imposed, a licensee is disqualified from receiving a license for 1 year after the expiration of the term of the revoked license. Note: There is no established period for either a suspension or cancellation.

Yes 204 CMR 4.00 (regulation)

Yes (Applies to drivers only) Ch. 90 §241

3 - 173

No

6th Edition

and the second second second second second and the second
STATE: General Comments: MICHIGAN See Michigan Compiled Laws Annotated

0.10 \$257.625(2)

Under the influence of intoxicating liquor (\$257.625(1))/impaired (\$257.625b(1))

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):
Presumption (BAC Level):

Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

more is a presumption of driving while under the influence \$257.625a(3)(b) & (c) (l) A Controlled Substance and (2) a Combination of Liquor and a Controlled Substance. This applies to both under the influence and impaired offenses. See \$\$257.625(1) & 257.625b(1) None

A BAC of greater than 0.07 but less than 0.10 is a presumption of impairment. A BAC of 0.10 or

Preliminary Breath Test Law:	Yes §257.625h
Implied Consent Law:	
Arrest Required (Yes/No):	Yes \$257.625c(1)(a)
Implied Consent Law Applies to	
Drugs (Yes/No):	Yes 257.625c(1)
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test	
Admitted into Evidence:	No Prohibited via case law;
	see People v. Hayes, 235 N.W.2d 182 (CA, 1975)
Other Information:	Special Note: It appears that a test could be
	required via a court order; i.e. Consent by the
	driver is not required; see §257.625a(b)

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes	§257.625c()
Urine:	Yes	\$257.625c(1)
Other:	None	

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No):	No	
Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):	No	
Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI)		
(Yes/No):	Yes	\$\$257.625(8) & 257.625b(6)

A victim has a right to submit a statement and have it made a part of the pre-sentence investigation report; see §13 of Act No 87 of the Public Acts of 1985.

STATE - Michigan

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> Chemical Test: (continued)

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Other:

None

Civil infraction \$257.625h(5)

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

None

<u>Ist refusal</u> 6 mo susp (Note: A' restricted/hardship license may be issued.); <u>2nd</u> and subsequent refusals (w/n 7 yrs)-1 yr (mandatory susp) \$257.323c and \$257.625f(1) None

Other:

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment: Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

1.) <u>Driving while impaired</u> (\$257.625b) <u>lst off</u> Misd-Not more than 90 dys; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 7 yrs.) Misd-Not more than 1 yr; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 10 yrs) -Not more than 1 yr; <u>Driving while</u> <u>under the influence¹</u>, <u>lst off</u> Misd - Not more than 90 dys; <u>2nd off</u> Misd - Not more than 1 yr; <u>3rd and Subsequent offs</u> (w/n 10 yrs) Felony - 1 to 5 yrs None

Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

1.) <u>Driving while impaired</u> (\$257.625b) <u>lst</u> <u>off</u>-Not more than \$300; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 7 yrs)-Not more than \$1,000; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 10 yrs)-Not more than \$1,000; <u>2.)</u> <u>Driving</u> <u>while under the influence</u>¹ (\$257.625), <u>lst</u> <u>off</u>-\$100 to 500; <u>2nd off</u> w/n 7 yrs-Not more than \$1,000; <u>3rd and subsequent off</u> w/n a 10-yr period - Not more than \$1,000 None

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

Includes the illegal per se offense.

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued)

Other Penalties: Community Service:

> Restitution (eg Victim's Fund) Other:

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DW1 Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law: Other:

257.625b(5)

All offs - up to 12 dvs \$\$257.625(7) &

Post DWI Conviction Licensing Action:

Type of Licensing Action

(Susp/Rev):

Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal: 1.) Driving while impaired <u>1st off-Susp</u>; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 7 yrs)-Susp; <u>3rd and subsequent off</u> (w/n 10 yrs)-Rev §257.625b(2), (3) & (4); 2.) Driving while under the influence³ <u>1st off-Susp</u>; <u>2nd</u> <u>off</u>-Revoked; 3rd and subsequent offs (felony)-Revoked; §257.625(5) and (6)

1.) Driving while impaired <u>lst off-90 dys-1 yr;</u> <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 7 yrs)-6-18 mos; <u>3rd and subsequent</u> <u>off</u> (w/n 10 yrs)-1 yr (5 yrs²); 2.) Driving while under the influence <u>lst off-6 mos-2 yrs;</u> <u>2nd off-1 yr; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (felony)-5 yrs</u>

1.) Driving while impaired <u>lst off</u>-(A restricted/hardship license may be issued; see §257.625b(2)); <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 7 yrs)-60 dys (A restricted license may be issued after the 60 dy period; see §257.625b(3); <u>3rd and subsequent off</u> (w/10 yrs)-1 yr (5 yrs) §257.303(1)(d) and (e)(ii); 2.) Driving while under the influence³, <u>lst off</u>-A restricted hardship license may be issued §257.625(4); <u>2nd off</u>-1 yr §257.303(1)(d)(i); <u>3rd and subsequent off</u> (felony)-5 yrs §257.303(1)(d)(ii)

The State has a victims' compensation fund and, in addition, provides for direct compensation to victims by the defendant via court oredered restitution. The defendant's compensation offsets any compensation a victim may receive via a civil action, insurance payment, or the State compensation fund; see §§18.351 et seq. and Act No. 89 of the Public Acts of 1985 (§771.3 of the Michigan Complied Laws).

 $^{^{2}}$ if there has been a previous rev of any type within 7 yrs, the rev period is 5 yrs. 3 includes the illegal per se offense.

Sanctions Following	a Conviction	for a DWI	Offense:
(continued)			

Othe

er:								
Ret	habilitation:							
	Alcohol Education:	Yes	552	257.0	525(8)	8 2	57.625	5b(6)
	Alcohol Treatment:	Yes						
	Alcohol Education/							
	Treatment as an Altern-					,.		
	ative to Criminal							
	Licensing Actions							
•	(Describe):							N.
Veł	nicle Impoundment/Confiscatio	on:						
	Authorized by Specific							
	Statutory Authority:	No						
	Terms Upon Which Vehicle							
	Will Be Released:	÷						
	Other:	None						
Mis	scellaneous Sanctions	. ·					· .	· .
1	Not Included Elsewhere:	For	any	lst	alcoh	ol di	riving	, offe
								.

one

or any 1st alcohol driving offense conviction, the court may order that a BAC breath ignition interlock device be installed on a defendant's vehicle; see §§257.625(4) & 257.625b(2).

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

Yes Misd Death caused by the operation of a vehicle at an immoderate rate of speed or in a careless, reckless, or negligent manner but not wilfully or wantonly. §750.324 .

Sanctions: Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action:

> Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other:

Not more than 2 yrs None Not more than \$2,000 None

Susp (6 points are also accumulated for each \$257.319(1)(a) off)

90 dys-2 yrs §257.319(1)(a)

None None Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

> Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

None

<u>lst off</u>-Not more than \$100; <u>2nd and subsequent</u> <u>offs</u>-Not more than \$500 None

Susp or rev

The original license susp or rev is extended for a like period.

The original license susp or rev is extended a like period.

Habitual Offender Laws:	
State Has Such Law (Yes/No):	No
Grounds for Being Declared an	
Habitual Offender:	
Term of License Rev While	
Under Habitual Offender Status:	
Type of Criminal Offense if	
Convicted on Charges of	
Driving While on Habitual	
Offender Status	
Sanctions Following a Conviction of	•• ·
Driving While on Habitual Offender	r de la companya de l
Status:	
Imprisonment (Term):	
Mandatory Minimum Term of	2 M a g
Imprisonment:	
Fine (\$ Range):	
Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$):	
Licensing Actions (Specify):	
-	

·____

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on	a second and a second
Persons Killed in Traffic	
Accidents:	
State Has Such a Law (Yes/No):	No
BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the	
the Following Persons:	
Driver: 12 years of a second	and the second
Vehicle Passengers:	
Pedestrian:	
Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages	
Concerning Alcoholic Beverages:	
Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:	21 (yr eff: 1978) \$436.33
Minimum Age (Years) Possession:	21 (Employment exemption) \$436.33b(4)
Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:	21 (Applies to licensed premises) \$436.33b(1)
Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions:	
State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No):	Yes \$436_22(4)
"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been	
Adopted Via a Change to the Common	
Law Rule by Action of the Highest	
Court of Record in the State (Case	
Citation):	Yes Jones v. Bourrie, 120 N.W.2d 236 (1963) and
	Longstreth v. Fitzgibbon, 335 N.W.2d 677 (Mich.
	App. 1983)
Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:	Yes See Longstreth v. Gensel, 377 N.W.2d 804
	(Mich. 1985).
Other:	None the second se
and the second	
Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees	
of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic	
Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:	
Type of Criminal Action:	Misd §§436.22(3) & 436.50
Term of Imprisonment:	Not more than 6 mos
Fine (\$ Range):	Not more than \$500
Administrative Actions Against Owners of	
Establishments that Serve Alcoholic	
Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:	·
License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages	
CICENSE TO SELVE ALCOHOLIC DEVELOGES	Yes, susp or rev §436.20(1)
Withdrawn (Yes/No).	1031 3030 VI 107 37/012V(1/
Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term of License Withdrawal:	
	Period of license susp or rev not specified in

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

> License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Misd §§436.22(1), 436.22(3) & §436.33 Not more than 6 mos §436.50 Not more than \$500

Yes, susp or rev \$436.20(1)

Period of license susp or rev not specified in the statute (Note: A civil fine is of not more than \$1,000 may be assessed in addition to or in lieu of a susp or rev.)

Yes R 436.1438 (regulation)

Yes \$436.34a

Yes-Driver and passengers \$436.34 (The law states that "No alcoholic liquor shall be consumed on the public highways")

na na sana ang sana a Sana ang san

2 the second second second second

y Alexandra († 1945) 1999 - Alexandra († 1945) 1999 - Alexandra († 1945)

and the second
الم المحمد ال المحمد المحم

and a start of the second s Second
STATE: General Comments:



Basis_for a DWI_Charge:

Standard DWI Offense;

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):

Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Applied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence:

Other Information:

See Minnesota Stat. Annotated

MINNESOTA

Under the influence of alcohol \$169.121, subd. 1(a) Yes 0.10 \$\$169.01. subd. 61 & 169.121, subd. 1(d) N/A (1) A Controlled Substance and (2) a Combination of Alcohol and a Controlled Substance See \$169.121, subd. 1 None

Yes (\$169.121, subd. 6)

See Special Note under Other Information

Yes \$169.123 subd. 2

Yes (Criminal Cases) \$169.123 subd. 2(b)(5)

Special Note: A test can be given if: 1) A person has been lawfully placed under arrest under §169.121 2) If a person has refused to take preliminary screening test; 3) (f PBT is refused or shows BAC of 0.10 or more; 4) If a person is involved in an accident resulting in property damage, personal injury, or death.

1

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes
Urine:	Yes
Other:	None

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):

No	

Yes \$\$169.124, 169.126 and 260.193, subd. 8(h)

Yes

STATE - Minnesota

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):

> Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

License rev periods are the same as for implied consent law violations \$\$169.121 subd 6 & 169.123 subd 2 None

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test

Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail):

Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

Other:

Other:

None

None

Rev for not less than 1 yr (A limited license may be issued; see \$\$169.123 subd 9, & 171.30 subd 1 and \$169.123 subd 4) Special Note: If the person who refused to submit to the chemical test is under 18, their license is revoked for 1 yr or until they are 18 whichever is the greater period of time. (A limited license may be issued.)

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment:

Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$): Other Penalties: Community Service: Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)

Other:

<u>1st off</u> (Misd)-Up to 90 dys; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) <u>and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 10 yrs)(Gross Misd)-Up to 1 yr §§169.121 & 609.03; A DWI off causing injury where there is negligence (Felony) §609.21 subd-2 Not more than 3 yrs; §609.21 subd. 2

None

<u>Ist off</u> (Misd)-Not more than \$700; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs.) <u>and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 10yrs.)(Gross Misd)-Not more than \$3,000; A DWI off causing injury where there is negligence (Felony)-Not more than \$5,000 None

None

Yes Victim's Fund (see \$\$611A.01 et seq.)¹ and also direct payment by the defendant to a victim (see \$\$609.10 & 609.125(4)) None

Special Note: Payments to all claimants shall not exceed \$50,000 per victim; see \$611A.54

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued)

Administrative Licensing Actions: Pre-DWI Conviction Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law:

Other:

Post DWI Conviction Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

÷ •

Other:

1 g 1

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Altern-

ative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other: Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere:

1 B

Yes 0.10 BAC Rev for 90 dys; however, a limited license is available \$169.123 subd 41 None and the second

All offs-Rev

Ist off-Not less than 30 dys; 2nd off (w/n 5 yrs.)-Not less than 90 dys; 3rd off (w/n 5 yrs.)-Not less than I yr; 4th and subsequent offs-Not less than 2 yrs¹⁸² For persons under 18 years old, see Footnote No. 3.

None (Special Note: Under \$171.30 a limited license may be issued (1) for employment purposes or (2) for attendance at an alcohol treatment program.)

Yes 169.124 and 169.126 Yes 169.121(5) 169.124 and 169.126

No. (Note: The court may stay imposition of fine or jail sentence but not license rev if defendant submits to treatment at an authorized dependency facility, as provided by \$\$169.121 Subd.5 and 609.135 Subd. 1.)

. •

None (See Special Note on p. 3-186) None

¹If the person is under 18, the rev period is six (6) mos or until they reach 18 whichever is the longer period of time.

²Note: 90° additional dys are added to the above rev base periods if the DWL off involved either; a death or an injury.

 3 If the defendant is under 18 yrs of age and they are convicted of a DWI off, their license is revoked (1) until they reach 18; (2) for 6 mos; or (3) for the normal period of time for DWI offenders whichever is the greater period of time.

the second s

: •;*

STATE - Minnesota

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle:

State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal:

> Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other:

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

Yes (Felony) (Gross negligence causing death while under the influence of alcohol) §609.21 sub. 1

Not more than 5 yrs None Not more than \$10,000 None

Rev 169.11

Not specified by statute (Note: See Footnote No. 2 in the Post-DWI Conviction Licensing Section p. 3-185.)

60 dys §171.30 Note: A limited license may be issued after the 60 dy minimum license rev period §171.30 Subd. 2

Misd up to 90 dys¹ \$171.24 \$609.03

None Up to \$700 None

<u>Special Note</u>: A violation of \$171.24 shall result in a person having their motor veh registration plates and certificate impounded under \$168.041.

Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action: Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

None N/A

¹A person who commits a DWI offense while their license is still suspended or revoked is guilty of a gross misdemeanor. Imprisonment-not more than 1 yr; fine-not more than \$3,000 §§169.129 & 609.03(2)

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol	
Use and Driving: (continued)	
Habitual Offender Laws:	
State Has Such Law (Yes/No):	Ne
	No
Grounds for Being Declared an	
Habitual Offender:	
Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status:	
Type of Criminal Offense if	
Convicted on Charges of	
Driving While on Habitual Offender Status	
Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender	
Status:	·
Imprisonment (Term):	
Mandatory Minimum Term of	
Imprisonment:	
Fine (\$ Range):	
Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$):	
Licensing Actions (Specify):	
<u>Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use</u>	
And Driving:	
Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on	
Persons Killed in Traffic	
Accidents:	
State Has Such a Law (Yes/No):	Yes \$169.09, subd.
BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the	
the Following Persons:	
Driver:	Yes
Vehicle Passengers:	No
Pedestrian:	Yes, age 16 or older
Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages	
Concerning Alcoholic Beverages:	
Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:	21 (yr eff: 1986) \$340A.503
Minimum Age (Years) Possession:	21 ¹ (There is an exemption for the possession
	of alcoholic beverages in the home)
Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:	21 ¹ (There is an exemption for the consumption
	of alcoholic beverages in the home)

¹A person, born on or before September 1, 1967, may continue to purchase and consume alcoholic beverages; see §8 of S.F. 5 enacted in 1986.

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use -And Driving: (continued) Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: \$340A.801 State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): Yes "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest and the second second Court of Record in the State (Case : Citation): Yes Trail v. Christian, 298 Minn. 101, 213 N.W.2d 618 (1973) and Holmquist v. Miller, 352 19 A. 19 M. N.W.2d 47 (1984) No See Cady v. Coleman, 315 N.W. 2d 593 Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: (1982) and Hoffman v. Wiltscheck, 379 N.W.2d 145 (Ct. App. 1985) Other: None . and the second Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Gross Misd. \$\$340A.502 and 340A.702(7) and 609.03 Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Up to I yr Not more than \$3,000 (An admin. fine of up to Fine (\$ Range): \$500 may also be impossed; see §340A.415) Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Yes \$340A.415 , Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Suspended for up to 60 days or revoked for an unspecified period of time Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Gross. Misd \$\$340A.503, & 340A.702(8), & 609.03 Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Up to I yr Fine (\$ Range): Not more than \$3,000 (An admin. fine of up to \$500 may also be imposed; see \$340A.4(5)¹

11 J. 4 40

6th Edition

Note: The Minnesota Supreme Court has held that <u>criminal sanctions</u> cannot be imposed on employers for the illegal actions of employees who sell/serve alcoholic beverages to persons under the legal drinking age; see State v. Guminga, 395 N.W.2d 344 (1986). See §340A.501 as amended by §2 of Ch. 152 of the law of 1987 which eliminates the possibility of such vicarious criminal liability.

STATE - Minnesota

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

> License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Yes \$340A.415

Suspended for up to 60 days or revoked for an unspecified period of time

No

Yes \$169.122(2) & (3) Yes-Driver and passengers

\$169,122(1)

.

and the second

STATE: General Comments: MISSISSIPPI See: Mississippi Code Annotated.

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):
Presumption (BAC Level):
Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:
Other:

0.10 \$63-11-30(1) None Any Substance \$63-11-30(1) None

Under the influence of intoxicating liquor

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

 Preliminary Breath Test Law:
 Yes \$63-11-5

 Implied Consent Law:
 No

 Arrest Required (Yes/No):
 No

 Implied Consent Law Applies to
 Drugs (Yes/No):

 Drugs (Yes/No):
 No

 Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test
 Admitted into Evidence:

 Admitted into Evidence:
 Yes (Criminal Cases) \$63-11-41

 Other Information:
 Chemical test required on reasonable grounds and

\$63-11-30(1)(a)

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes \$63-11-5
Urine:	Yes \$63-11-5
Other:	None

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):

Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> Chemical_Test:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Other:

No

probable cause of DWI \$63-11-5

Yes, a DWI charge may not be reduced of the BAC level of the defendent was 0.10% or more \$63-11-39(3)

Yes - Limited Sec. 63-11-30(2)(d)

Preceding Page Blank

None

None

None

STATE - Mississippi

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>: (continued)

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

None

Susp for 90 dys if there has been no previous conviction for a DWI off (§63-11-30). Susp for 1 yr if there has been a previous conviction for a DWI off (§63-11-30) (These susps are mandatory) §63-11-5 & 63-11-23 Special Note: A de novo Court trial may be held following administrative hearings on these susps; see §63-11-25.

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions:

Other:

Imprisonment: Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

<u>Ist Off</u>-Not more than 24 hrs²; <u>2nd Off</u> (w/5 yrs)-48 cons hrs²-1 yr¹; <u>3rd Off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-30 dys²-1 yr; Conviction for a DWI off as above where there has been a chemical test refusal ($\frac{63}{11-30(3)}$)-Not more than 1 yr; Conviction for a DWI off where there has been negligence resulting in disfigurement, disability, etc., (felony) - Not more than 5 yrs. See generally $\frac{63-11-30}{No1}$.

Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

<u>1st_Off</u>-\$200-500; <u>2nd_Off</u> (w/n 5

yrs)-\$400-1,000; 3rd Off (w/n 5 yrs)-\$500-1,000; Conviction for a DWI off as above where there has been a chemical test refusal (\$63-11-30(3)) \$500-1,000

<u>lst off</u> - \$200; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - \$400; <u>3rd</u> <u>off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - \$500; Conviction for a DWI off as above where there has been a chemical test refusal (963-11-30(3)) - \$500 \$99-19-25

¹The law does not specifically prohibit suspending or placing persons on probation for the minimum imprisonment term; see also \$99–19–23 which allows suspended sentences for misdeameanor offenses.

- 192
<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

Other Penalties: Community Service:

Yes Community service from 10 dys to 1 yr as an alternative to imprisonment.

Restitution

(eg Victim's Fund) Other: None¹ None

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law:

Yes, limited to encouraging the speedy trial of DWI cases; where the offender has a BAC level of 0.10 if no trial is requested the license susp periods for implied consent violations apply; an accused offender is issued a temporary license by the police for up to 90 dys following license seizure after arrest; the temporary license if first issued by the arresting officer who takes the original license; the temporary license is initially valid for 30 dys but may be extended for two additional 30 dy periods by the Court. \$63-11-23(2)

Other:

Post DWL Conviction Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action

(Susp/Rev):

- 1

Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.): Susp - all offs \$63-11-30

<u>Ist off-90 dys-1 yr; 2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-2 yrs; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-3 yrs

1 A 1 A 1 A 1

Some victims of crimial activity may receive compensation from a special crime victims' escrow account. Funds for this account are provided via monies received by accused or convicted persons from the news, publicity or entertainment media for the purpose of reenacting the criminal event. A victim, however, must first have a money judgment against a defendant for the injury caused by a criminal action before they can receive funds from the escrow account. See S.B. 2381 as enacted in 1984.

119

None

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

<u>Ist off-90 dys (not less than 45 dys)</u>; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-1 yr¹; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-1 yr¹; DWI off where there has been a chemical test refusal - Same provided above depending upon whether the off is a 1st, 2nd or 3rd off; such susp is in <u>addition</u> to that imposed for chemical test refusal under the implied consent law.¹

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

<u>lst off</u> - Yes¹ required; See also \$63-11-32 2nd and 3rd offs - Yes¹

See Footnote No. 1 below.

None

None

None

§63-11-30(4)

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: I Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other: I Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere: I

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle:

State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction:

Imprisonment (Term):
Mandatory Minimum Term:
Fine (\$ Range):
Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Not more	than 5 yrs	<u>\$63-11-30(4)</u>
None		
None		
N / A		

Yes, (Felony) where death is a result of a DWI violation and negligent action by the driver.

¹Judicial review is not allowed for these susp actions by the licensing agency; see $\frac{63-11-26}{as}$ as they are based on a final DWI adjudication. <u>Ist Off</u> - On completion of the alcohol education program whichever is longer; reduced to not less than 45 dys; restricted hardship license may be issued for the remaining 45 dys; 2nd and Subsequent Offs - License may be reinstated after the completion of an alcohol diagnostic and treatment program; the license cannot be reinstated until after one yr after susp or completion of the program whichever is longer (63-11-30(d)).

6th Edition

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

dministrative Licensing Action:		
Licensing Authorized and	· ·	
Type of Action:	Rev	<u>\$63-1-51</u>
Length of Term of		
Licensing Withdrawal:	l yr	
Mandatory ActionMinimum	· •	
Length of License		
Withdrawal:	None	
Other:	None	-

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Off:

Sanction:

A

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):	Misd - 48 hrs-6 mos
Mandatory Minimum Term	
of Imprisonment:	None
Fine (\$ Range):	\$200 to 500
Mandatory Minimum Fine:	None

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action: Mandatory Term of License

Withdrawal Action:

6-mo susp added to the original susp period

6-mo susp added to the original susp period

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual

Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender

Status:

Imprisonment (Term):

No

Susp

<u>Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol</u> <u>Use and Driving</u>: (continued)

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedastrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

- Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No):
 - "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:

Other:

21 (Year eff: 1986) \$\$67-1-81 & 67-3-53(b) 21 - (Applies to possession of alcoholic beverages, which contain more than 4% alcohol by weight, in a public place; see \$\$67-1-81) None

Yes \$63-11-7

Yes

No

No

Yes \$67-3-73(2) & (4) (Note: Licensees are liable only for the actions of minors and visibly intoxicated persons.)

Yes, Munford, Inc. v. Peterson, 368 So. 2d 213 (Miss. 1979)¹ No \$67-3-73(3) See also,Boutwell v. Sullivan, 469 So.2d 526 (Miss., 1985) None

This case appears to have been abrogated by \$67-3-73.

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Misd \$\$67-1-71, 67-3-53, & 67-3-69 Not more than 6 mos \$\$67-1-71, 67-3-53, & 67-3-69 Not more than \$500 \$967-1-71, 67-3-53, & 67-3-69

Rev (A limited susp may be imposed in lieu of rev).

Length of Term of License Withdrawal: 2 yrs (Void for at least 1 yr-mandatory if beer or wine is given to an intoxicated person)

> Selling alcoholic beverages to those under 21, 1st off-Misd; 2nd and subsequent offs- Misd; Selling to a person under 21 beer and wine under 4% or less alcoholic content by weight-Misd; Miss. Code Ann. \$\$67-1-71, 67-1-81, and 67-3-53. Selling alcoholic beverages to those under 21, 2nd and subsequent offs-Not more than I yr; Selling to a person under 21 beer and wine under 4% alcoholic content by weight-Not more than 6 mos; Miss. Code Ann. \$\$67-1-71, 67-1-81, and 67-3-53.

Selling alcoholic beverages to those under 21, Ist off- \$500-1,000; 2nd and subsequent offs-\$1,000-2,000; Selling to a person under 21 beer and wine 4% or less alcoholic content by weight-Not more than \$500¹; Miss. Code Ann. \$\$67-1-71, 67-1-81, and 67-3-53.

¹The following <u>additional</u> sanctions also apply to selling beer and light wine (4% or less alcoholic content by weight) to persons under 21: 1st Off-A fine of not more than \$500 and lic. rev. for 3 months; 2nd Off-(w/n 12 mos)-A fine of not more than \$1,000 and lic. rev. for 6 mos; and 3rd & Subsequent Off-(w/n 12 mos)-A fine of not more than \$500 and a lic. rev. for l yr. See \$67-3-69(3); Eff 1/10/86.

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages

Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

No

No

No

3 - 198

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

¹A limited susp may be imposed in lieu of rev. ²See footnote on p. 3-197.

Selling alcoholic beverages to those under 21, <u>lst Off-Rev</u>; <u>2nd and subsequent Off-</u> Automatic Rev; Selling to a person under 21 beer and wine 4% or less alcoholic content by weight-Rev¹ Selling alcoholic beverages to those under 21, <u>lst off-2 yrs; 2nd and subsequent</u> <u>offs-Permanently; Selling to a person under 21</u> beer and wine 4% or less alcoholic content by weight-2 yrs (void for at least 1 yr--Mandatory)²

STATE: General Comments:

MISSOURI See Vernon's Annotated Missouri Statutes

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol: Other: Driving while intoxicated (This includes driving while under the influence of alcohol) \$\$577.001 & 577.010 0.10 \$577.012

None

Drugged Condition See \$577.010

A BAC of 0.10 or more is <u>prima facie</u> evidence of intoxication §577.037

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law:	No	
Implied Consent Law:		
Arrest Required (Yes/No):	Yes	\$577.020(1)
Implied Consent Law Applies to	۰.	
Drugs (Yes/No):	Yes	\$577.020(1)
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test		
Admitted into Evidence:	Yes	\$577.04
Other Information:	None	

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which

Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes
Urine:	Yes
Other:	Saliva

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): No Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): No Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No): No

Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC Chemical Test:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test:	•
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	Ň/A
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	N/A
Other:	N/A

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test:</u> (continued)

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test

> Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

None

<u>Ist Refusal</u>- Rev I yr (A restricted hardship license may be issued); <u>2nd Refusal</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-Rev, I yr (Mandatory); \$\$302.309(5)(d) & 577.041 None

Other:

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions:

Imprisonment: Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

Other Penalties: Community Service:

> Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)

Intoxicated off, <u>lst off</u> CI B Misd-not more than 6 mos; Per se off, <u>lst off</u> CI C Misd-not more than 15 dys; Intoxicated/illegal per se offs, <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) CI A Misd-not more than I yr; and <u>subsequent off</u> (w/n 10 yrs) - CI D Felony - Not more than 5 yrs Intoxicated/illegal per se offs, <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-48 cons hrs \$\$577.010 et seq: 577.011: 558.011: 560.011: and 560.016.

Intoxicated off, <u>ist off</u>-Not more than \$500; Per se off, <u>ist off</u>-Not more than \$300; Intoxicated/illegal per se off, <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-Not more than \$1,000; <u>3rd and subsequent</u> <u>offs</u> (w/n 10 yrs)-Not more than \$5,000 None

<u>2nd off</u>-in lieu of imprisonment, the defendant performs at least 10 dys (involving at least 40 hrs) of community service

Victim's compensation fund Defendants pay \$36 to the Court; \$35 is remitted to the State for the fund and \$1 is retained by the Court for admin. expenses. \$\$595.010 and 595.045 The court may also order direct compensation by defendants to victims; see \$\$595.200 & 595.203

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:</u> (continued)

Other:

For a first off, the sentence may be suspended provided the defendant is placed on probation for a minimum of two (2) yrs; see \$577.010(2)

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law:

Other:

Post DWI Conviction Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action

(Susp/Rev):

Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Yes-0.13% BAC (1) If there has been no prior alcohol related enforcement conviction w/5 yrs, susp for 30 dys with a restricted license for an additional 60 dys¹;(2) if there has been such prior contact (w/5 yrs), Rev for 1 yr². However, if the defendant has accumulated sufficient points together with an illegal perse conviction, their license is suspended by the licensing agency for a mandatory 30 dy period which may be followed by restricted hardship driving privileges for 60 dys. See §302.304 sub. 4; exception: A court may still grant restricted hardship driving privileges for the entire susp period; see §302.309 sub. 3(5). None a the second second

Intoxicated off, <u>lst off</u>-Point system 8 points; Per se off, <u>lst off</u>-6 points³; Intoxicated/illegal Per se offs, <u>2nd off</u>-12 points; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-12 points. For persons under 21 who are convicted of <u>any</u> DWI offense-Rev. (see §§1 through 3 of S.B. 230 enacted in 1987.)

Intoxicated off, <u>1st off</u>-30-90 dys¹; Per se off, <u>1st off</u>-30-90 dys¹; Intoxicated/illegal per se offs, <u>2nd off</u>-1 yr; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-1 yr. For persons under 21 who are convicted of <u>any</u> DWI offense-1 yr.

¹A court may grant restricted driving privileges for employment reasons; see §302.309 sub sec. 3. If the Court doesn't grant such privileges, the licensing agency must suspend the driver's license for a 30 dy mandatory period followed by restricted licensing/privileges for 60 dys. ²For second or subsequent (1) illegal per se offs under §577.012 (Not intoxicated offs under §577.010) or (2) admin. per se actions under §302.505 (read carefully §302.309 sub sec. 3), a court may grant restricted driving privileges for employment purposes <u>provided</u> the defendant has not received such privileges within the past 5 yrs.

³License susp action would occur <u>only</u> if the defendant had at least 2 more points on his/her record from some other driving off: i.e., a first illegal per se off conviction <u>alone</u> would not result in a license susp action. §§302.302, 302 and 302.304(4) and 302.304(b).

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued)

> Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

Intoxicated off 1st off - None; Per se off 1st off - None; Intoxicated/illegal per se offs 2nd off $| vr^2$; 3rd and subsequent offs (w/5 vrs.) | yr². (Note: A person under 21 who is convicted of a DWI offense has their driver's license revoked for I year. However, a hardship license is available under certain conditions. See §§1-3 of S.B. 230 enacted in 1987.) Note: Under the point system 8 points equals a susp. For a first suspension the time period is 30 dys; for a 2nd it is 60 dys, and for a 3rd and it is 90 dys -- 12 points in 12 mos or 18 points in 24 mos or 24 points in 36 mos equals rev for | yr.

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education:

Alcohol Treatment:

Intoxicated off, 1st off-Yes¹; Per se off-1st off-Yes! Intoxicated off, <u>lst off-Yes</u>; Per se off, lst off-Yes

Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe): Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: No Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other: None Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere: None

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

Yes (CI C felony) Veh homicide where death is caused by operating a motor vehicle while in an intoxicated condition or under the influence of controlled substances or drugs. §577.005

For a 1st intoxicated/per se off-Alternative to criminal sanctions; Ann. Mo. Stat. §§577.049 ²For second or subsequent (1) illegal per se offs under §577.012 (<u>Not</u> intoxicated offs under \$577.010) or (2) admin. per se actions under \$302.505 (read carefully \$302.309 sec. 3), a court may grant restricted driving privileges for employment purposes provided the defendant has not received such privileges within the past 5 yrs.

3 - 202

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol <u>Use and Driving</u>: (continued)

Sanctions: -Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term: None Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: None Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: I vr Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: l yr Other:

Not more than 7 yrs; \$577.005 Not more than \$5,000

Rev - (12 points)

Victim's compensation fund; see \$\$595.010 et seq.

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense:

Sanction:

Criminal: Imprisonment (Term):

> Mandatory Minimum Term of imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: None Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action: I yr Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action: l yr

Not more than I yr (CI A misd) 302.302 and 302:321

48^s cons hrs (In Lieus of imprisonment, the defendant performs at least 10 dys (involving at least 48 hrs of community service.) Not more than \$1,000

Rev (12 points)

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status

No

6th Edition

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued) Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify): Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Yes e - ⁵ . . . Vehicle Passengers: Yes Pedestrian: Yes . Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession: Minimum Age (Years) Consumption: None Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No):

"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: Other:

Yes and the second se

and an ann an Arraightean 1975 - Arraightean ann an Arraightean 1976 - Arraightean Arraightean Arraightean

Yes; Ann. Mo. Stat. §§58.445, 58.447 and 58.449 Yes Yes Yes

21 - Ann. Mo. Stat. \$311.325 (Year Eff: 1945) 21 - \$312.407 None

Yes-A cause of action for personal injuries or death may <u>only</u> be brought against a licensee who has been convicted of selling alcoholic beverages either to a person under 21 years old or to an intoxicated individual provided such sale was the proximate cause of the injury or death. See §537.053.

No (Prior case law abrogated via statute; see \$537.053.) No See \$537.053 None

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

> Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:

License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Not specified in the statute

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages

Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Law/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Misd - \$\$311.310, 311.720, 311.880, 312.400 and 312,500. Not more than 1 yr \$50-1,000

Misd \$\$311.310, 311.880, 312.400 & 312.500. Not more than 1 yr

\$50-1,000

Yes Rev

Yes Rev Not specified in the statute

No

No No na ann an Station Station (Station Station) An Station (Station Station)

.

and a strange of the
· · · · ·

. . STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

MONTANA

See Montana Revised Codes Annotated

Standard DWI Offense:Under the influence of alcohol \$61-8-401(1)(a)Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):0.10 \$561-8-406 & 61-8-407Presumption (BAC Level):0.10 \$61-8-401(3)(c)Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:(1) Any Drug, (2) a Narcotic Drug and (3)
alcohol and any drug See \$61-8-401(b), (c) & (d)Other:None

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law:		
Implied Consent Law:		
Arrest Required (Yes/No):		
Implied Consent Law Applies to		
Drugs (Yes/No):		
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test		
Admitted into Evidence:		

Yes \$61-8-402

No

No

No

No

Yes \$61-8-404(2) (Note: This statute may not be constitutional.) None

Other information:

<u>Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which</u> Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes	\$61-8-402(1)
Urine:	Yes	\$61-8-402(1)
Other:	None	

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PS1) (Yes/No):

No (Note: PSI given if crime carries a prison sentence of 1 yr or more) \$46-18-111

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath To	est:		. •
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	N/A		
Administrative Licensing Action			
(Susp/Rev):	N/A		
Other:	N/A	<i>e</i>	

Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC Chemical Test: (continued)

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test

Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

None

Ist Refusal - Mandatory susp for 90 dys; 2nd or subsequent refusals w/n 5 yrs of a previous one; mandatory new for I yr. The peace officer shall immediately seize the defendant's drivers license and it shall be forwarded to the driver licensing division; §61-8-402 None

Other:

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment:

> Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

> > Mandatory Minimum Term:

Amount (\$ Range):

(w/n 5 yrs)-7 dys-6 mos; 3rd or sub. off (w/5 yrs)-30 dys-1 yr; \$\$61-8-401 & 61-8-714; illegal Per Se Offs, <u>lst Of</u>f - Not more than 10 dys; 2nd Off (w/n 5 yrs) - 48 cons hrs to 30 dys; 3rd and subsequent offs (w/n 5 vrs) - 48 cons hrs to 6 mos; 61-8-722. Neg. Veh. Assult²-Not more than l yr; see \$45-5-205. See Special Note below. DWI Offs³, 1st Off-24 cons hrs (may only be suspended for the defendant's physical and mental well-being); 2nd Off (w/n 5 yrs)-3 dys, 48 hrs of which must be served cons (may not be suspended except for the defendant's physical or mental well-being); 3rd or subsequent offs (w/n 5 yrs) - 10 dys, 48 hrs of which must be served cons (may not be suspended if the 3rd off occurred w/n 5 yrs of the first off); \$61-8-714

DWI Off¹, 1st Off-24 cons hrs-60 dys; 2nd Off

DWI Off1, 1st Off-\$100-500; 2nd Off-(w/n 5 yrs)-\$300-500; 3rd and subsequent Off-(w/n 5 yrs)-\$500-1,000; Illegal Per Se Off, ist Off-\$100-500; 2nd Off (w/n 5 yrs)- \$300-500; 3rd and subsequent Off- (w/n 5 yrs)-\$500-1,000 Neg. Veh. Assult-Not more then \$1,000 None

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

Special Note: For persons under 18: (1) no incarceration; (2) standard fine; (3) license susp/rev for a period set by the court; and (4) possible vehicle impoundment not to exceed 60 days; see \$61-8-723.

DWI offenses except illegal per se.

Fine:

 2 Negligent Vehicle Assult-Driving while under the influence of alcohol that results in a serious bodily injury accident.

³These mandatory sanctions <u>do not</u> apply to illegal per offenses.

3 - 208

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:</u> (continued)

None
Nol
None
None
None
· · · · · ·
DWIG

Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal: and a state of the second s The second se The second se

DWI offs³, <u>1st Off</u>-Susp; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-Rev; <u>3rd and subsequent off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-Rev; <u>§§61-5-205(2)</u> & 61-5-208; Illegal Per Se offs, <u>1st Off</u>-Susp; <u>2nd Off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-Rev; <u>3rd and subsequent off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-Rev; <u>§§61-5-205(2)</u> & 61-8-722(4)² See Special Note on p. 3-208.

DWI Offs³, <u>1st Off</u>-6 mos; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-1 yr; <u>3rd and subsequent off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-1 yr 61-5-208; Illegal Per Se Offs, <u>1st off</u>-6 mos; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-1 yr; <u>3rd and subsequent off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-1 yr \$\$61-5-205 and 61-5-208

DWI Offs, <u>ist Off</u>-None (Under \$61-11-101, a restricted probationary license may be issued in lieu of a susp on the condition that the person attends an alcohol treatment program if available⁴); <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-3 mos; <u>3rd and</u> <u>subsequent off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-3 mos; §61-5-208(2), 61-2-302(2) & (9)⁵; Illegal Per Se Offs - Same as for DWI offs

Note: Montana has a victims' compensation fund but it does not apply to injuries resulting from violations of the motor vehicle laws such as DWI; see \$53-9-101 et seq.

²Special Note: Under \$61-11-203(2)(d) a person receives 10 points on their driving record for either a regular DWI or an illegal per se off conviction.

³DWI offs except illegal per se.

⁴Note: The original licensing action could also be stayed; see §61-2-302. ⁵After the mandatory periods provided and the driver participates in a rehabilitation and improvement program, either the original licensing action may be stayed or a probationary license may be issued.

and the second

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education:

Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe): Yehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: Terms Upon Which Yehicle Will Be Released:

Other: Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere: Yes all offs; (Either an alcohol education or alcohol treatment program is required. 61-8-714(4)); Illegal Per Se offs - For any illegal Per Se off there is a mandatory requirement for the defendant to participate in either an alcohol education or treatment program. See \$61-8-722(5) Yes

<u>1st DWI Off-Yes</u> (see \$61-11-101)

No None See Special Note on p. 3-208.

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Off: Sanctions: Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine:

> Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal:

None

No

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Other:

Special Note: Even though this State does not have a vehicle homicide statute, it nevertheless, provides for a 1 yr license rev following a conviction for manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle; only 3 mos of this action is mandatory a probationary restricted license may be issued for the remaining portion of the revolcation period if a person complies with the terms of a driver improvement program. See \$61-2-302(9)

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term): Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

> Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status:

- Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status
- Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status:

Imprisonment (Term):

Misd - 2 dys to 6 mos; \$61-5-212

None

Not more than **\$500**; **\$61-5-212** None

Susp or rev; \$61-5-212

The period of such susp or rev is extended for an additional like period; \$61-5-212

(Note: There may be no mandatory licensing action; see \$61-2-302(9)

Yes

Accumulation of 30 points in a 5 yr period

3 yrs If a driver participates in a driver rehabilitation and improvement program after 1 yr of the revocation period has passed, a restricted probationary license may be issued; see §61-2-302(9)

Misd; \$\$61-11-201 and 61-11-215

Not more than 1 yr

949 1

Ŋ

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol	
Jse and Driving: (continued)	
Mandatory Minimum Term of	
Imprisonment:	None
Fine (\$ Range):	Not more than \$1,000
Mandatory Minimum-Fine (\$): 3	None
Licensing Actions (Specify):	None
Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use	
And Driving:	
. ' n '	
Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on	
Persons Killed in Traffic	
Accidents:	
State Has Such a Law (Yes/No);	No
BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the	
the Following Persons:	
Driver	
Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:	
Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages	· · · ·
Concerning Alcoholic Beverages:	
Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:	21 (Year Eff: 1987); \$\$16-3-301-(2)(a) & 16-6-305
Minimum Age (Years) Possession:	21 ¹ \$45-5-624 (There is an employment exemption.)
	21 ¹ Exemptions for medical purposes and for
	parents giving alcoholic beverages to their
ender om de service de la construction de la construction de la construction de la construction de la construct A servición de la construction de la	children who are under 21 \$\$16-3-301-(2)(a) & 16-6-305
	and the second state of th
Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions:	
State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No):	Yes \$27-1-170 (Note: Recent case law
	indicated below may have been abrogated by this law which was enacted in 1986.)
"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been	
Adopted Via a Change to the Common	A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A
Law Rule by Action of the Highest	
Court of Record in the State (Case	
Citation):	Yes The following cases established common law
	dram shop liability. However, these cases may
	have been abrogated by the State legislature via
	\$27-1-170 as noted above. See Hehring v. La
	Counte, 712 P.2d 1329 (Mont. 1986) and Bissett
	v. DM1, Inc., 717 P.2d 545 (Mont. 1986).
Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:	Yes \$27-1-170
Other:	None

¹Note: Under §8 of H.B. 21 enacted in 1987, persons who are under 21 and who were born on or between April 1, 1966 and April 1, 1968 may continue to purchase, possess and consume alcoholic beverages.

4

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:

Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

> Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range);

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

> License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Misd (Note: See Mont. Code Ann. \$\$16-3-301, 16-6-304, 16-6-305, 16-6-314, and 46-18-212.) Not more than 6 mos Not more than \$500 (Note: A civil fine may be assessed by the licensing agency and such fine 🐁 is not to exceed \$1,500.)

Yes Suspior rev (Note: See Mont. Code Ann. \$16-4-406.) Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Not be more than 3 mos, the period of rev is not specified in the statute

> Misd 16-6-304, 16-6-314, and 16-18-212 Not more than 6 mos

Not more than \$500 (Note: A civil fine may be assessed by the licensing agency and such fine is not to exceed \$1,500.)

Yes Susp or nev

The period of susp may not be more than 3 mos; The period of rev. is not be specified in the statute .

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

> > والمحاج والمحاج والمحاج والمحاج

Yes¹; \$16-3-106(2)

Yes - Driver and passengers \$16-3-106(2)

¹The law states that "no common carrier or any other person shall open, break, or allow to be opened or broken any package or vessel containing liquor or drink or allow to be drunk or used any liquor there from while being carried or conveyed."

No

3 - 214

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):
Presumption (BAC Level):
Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:
Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence:

Other Information:

NEBRASKA

See Revised Statutes of Nebraska

Under the influence of alcoholic liquor \$39-699.07(1) 0.10 \$39-669.07(2) None Any Drug \$39-669.07(1) None

Yes \$39-669.08(3)

Yes §39-669.08(2)

No

Yes (Criminal Cases) State v. Romell, 204 N.W.2d 573 (1973)

Note: A surviving driver (or pedestrian under 16 years old), who is involved in an accident where there has been a fatality, shall be required to submit to a BAC chemical test. The results of such test, however, can only be used for statistical purposes. §§39-6,104.08 & 39-6,104.09

<u>Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which</u> Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes
Urine:	Yes
Other:	None

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory	Adjudication Law (Yes/No):
Anti-Plea	Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):
Pre-Senter	cing Investigation Law (PSI)
	(Yes/No):

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> Chemical Test:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):

> Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Other:

Class V misd. \$100 flne; No imprisonment \$528-106 & 39-669.08(3)

None None

No No

Yes

STATE - Nebraska

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>: (continued)

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test

Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail):

Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): CI W misd, <u>1st off</u>-30 dys & \$500 (Maximum); <u>2nd</u> <u>off</u>-30 dys (48 hrs Minimum); <u>3rd and</u> <u>subsequent</u>-3 mos-6 mos (maximum) (7 dys minimum) (CI W misds); §§28-106 & 39-669.08; Note: The court must impose the minimum sanction even if it suspends sentence or places a person on probation.

<u>Ist off-Rev 6 mos (60 dy minimum); 2nd off-Rev 1</u> yr (6 mos minimum); <u>3rd off-Rev 15 yrs (1 yr</u> minimum) 28-106 and 39.669.08 Note: The Court must impose the minimum license revocation periods even if it suspends sentence or places a person on probation.¹

CI W misd <u>lst off-30</u> dys; <u>2nd off-30</u> dys; <u>3rd</u> <u>and subsequent offs</u> - 3 to 6 mos §28-106; §39-669.07 DWI w/serious bodily injury-Cl. II Misd-Not more than 6 mos; see §39-669.39. Ist off- None; 2nd off-48 hrs; 3rd and

<u>subsequent offs</u> - 7 dys; (CI W misds) (The court must impose these minimum criminal

a person on probation.)

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment: Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

Other:

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

<u>lst off</u>- \$500; <u>2nd off</u>-\$500; <u>3rd and subsequent</u> <u>offs</u>- \$500; DWI w/serious bodily injury-Cl. II Misd.-Not more than \$1,000; see \$39-669.39. None

sanctions even if it suspends sentence or places

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$): • N

¹These revocations are based upon a conviction under \$39-669.08. If there is no conviction, the licensing agency can still impose a mandatory 6 mo license revocation for any chemical test refusal under \$39-669.16.

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued)

		01	her Po	enaltie	s:				
			Ca	mmunity	Servi	ce:			
	<i></i>	·	Restitution						
				(eg Vic		Fund)			
	۰.		0+	her:	2				
ţ		· · ·	5	· · .	1.10		÷		
21		$(1-i_{0})$	θ.		• •				

Administrative Licensing Actions: Pre-DWI Conviction Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law: Other:

Post DWI Conviction Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

Other: Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education:

and in

En el provención.

Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions

(Describe): Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: No Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other: Miscellaneous Sanctions

Not Included Elsewhere:

None

Yes Victims' compensation fund \$81-1801 et seq. Persons must attend and successfully complete a driver's education program of at least 8 hrs duration. §39-669.27

1. A S

1. 14

جہ بے بارے ا

C. S. C.

None and the spectrum of the None

Rev (A conviction automatically accumulates sufficient points to have license revoked administratively) §39-669.07 (see also:§60-424)

Ist off-6 mos; 2nd off-1 yr; 3rd off-15 yrs \$39-669.07

1st off-60 dys; 2nd off-6 mos; 3rd off - 1 yr; \$39-669.07 (The court must impose these minimum license revocation periods even if it suspends sentence or places a person on probation.)

Yes. Convicted persons may be required to attend an alcoholism treatment program as a term of probation. §39-669.07 Yes see above

12 A. A. A. A. A. A. Carl Barrier a sugar and a sugar الأستري المحالة الأراري والمحا

3 - 217

None

None

6th Edition

STATE - Nebraska

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle:

State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

Yes! Veh. Code Sec. 39-669.20 & Crim. Code \$\$28-306, 28-105, & 28-106 which provided respectively for a CL | Misd (unintentional death caused while operating a motor veh in violation of law except as noted) or a C1 IV Felony (if homicide was the result of DWI, reckless driving or willful reckless driving)

6 mos - \$39-669.20 (Veh. Code); (Crim. Code) Cl I Misd-I yr; CI IV Felony-5 yrs' Secs. 28-306, 28-105 and 28-106

\$500 - Sec. 39-669.20 (Veh. Code); CI | Misd-\$1,000; CI_JV Felony-\$10,000 None

Rev - \$39-669.20 (Veh. Code); CI | Misd-Rev; Cl IV Felony-Rev; (A person must also attend and successfully complete a driver's education course of at least 8 hrs duration.)

For all offenses - court discretion (but atleast the mandatory period of time)

For all offenses - 6 mos None

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment:

1st off CI III Misd-3 mos; 2nd off CI III Misd-3 mos; If license permanently revoked, i.e., a 3rd or subsequent DWI off or 3rd or subsequent_ refusal to submit to a chemical test--A class IV felony-5 yrs

None

None

Special Note: There are two veh homicide laws; one in the rules of road sec. of the Veh. Code and the other in the Criminal Code.

6th Edition

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term):

> Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action:

> Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal:

Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other:

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Fine (\$ Range):

<u>lst off</u>, CI III Misd-\$500; <u>2nd off</u>, CI III Misd-\$500; if license permanently revoked, i.e., <u>a 3rd or subsequent DWI off</u> or <u>3rd or subsequent</u> <u>refusal</u> to submit to a chemical test, a CI IV felony-\$10,000 None

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action: Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Habitual Offender Laws:

No

State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

<u>Ist & sub off</u>s-Driver ordered not to operate any motor veh. Special Note: Under \$60-430.06, a motor veh, operated by <u>any</u> person whose license has either been revoked or suspended, may be impounded for a period of time not exceeding 30 dys)

lst off-1 yr; sub. off-2 yrs

<u>lst_off</u>-1 yr; <u>sub._off</u>-2 yrs

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

> Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents:

State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test is Given to the the Following Persons:

Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

> Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Indeterminate

Yes \$39-6,104.07

Yes, if dead within 4 hrs of the accident. Nò Yes, if at least 16 yrs old and died within 4 hrs of the accident.

21; (Year Eff: 1985) \$\$53-103(23) & 53-180 21; Exemptions for possession in minor's "permanent place of residence" and for certain employment purposes by those 19 yrs old or older; \$\$53-102, 53-103(2), 53-103(23), & 53-180.2

None

None

No

No (Note: For a case denying liability, see Holmes v. Circo, 244 N.W.2d 65 (1976)) No`(No Cases)`

CI | Misd; \$53-180 \$53-180.05 \$28-106 Not more than 1 yr Not more than \$1,000

Yes: \$53-128 \$53-1.104

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

> Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Ci | Misd; \$53-180 \$53-180.05 \$28-106 Not more than | yr Not more than \$1,000

Yes; §53-128, §53-1,104

Yes: (regulation)

(Note: This regulation does not regulate the price of "single" drinks. It does, however, prohibit the selling of an unlimited quantity of drinks at one price or two or more drinks at the same price.)

No.

Yes - Driver and passengers; \$53-186 (The consumption of alcoholic liquors inside vehs on public roadways is unlawful "unless authorized" by the State or local government having jurisdiction over the particular public roadway where the consumption is to take place.)

3 - 221

and the first state of the

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DW1 Offense:

illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):
Presumption (BAC Level):
Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Blood:

Urine:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law:	Yes \$484.382
Arrest Required (Yes/No): Implied Consent Law Applies to	Yes \$484.383(1)
Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test	Yes §484.383(1)
Admitted into Evidence:	Yes (Criminal Cases) §484.389
Other Information:	Note: A BAC chemical test may be given without consent if (1) there was a death or substantial bodily harm to another person or (2) the driver

None

NEVADA

§484.379(1)(a)

See \$484.379(2)

See Nevada Revised Statutes

Yes, 0.10 \$484.379(1)(b)

Yes, 0.10 \$484.381(2)(c)

Under the influence of intoxicating liquor

(1) A Controlled Substance or a Combination of Intoxicating Liquor and a Controlled Substance and (2) Any Chemical, Poision, Organic Solvent and Any Compound or a Combination of These.

to be tested was convicted of a previous DWI

offense w/n 7 yrs; see §484.383(8).

<u>Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which</u> <u>Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):</u>

> Yes §484.383(1) Yes §484.383(1)] Or other unspecified bodily substances §484.383(1)

¹A urine test can only be requested under two conditions. (1) A driver has been arrested for an alcohol driving offense and it is determined that they have hemophilia or a heart condition which would exempt them from a blood test or (2) a driver has been arrested for a drug driving offense.

-

Preceding Page Blank

STATE - Nevada

Adjudication of DW1 Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):

Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> Chemical Test:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

Other:

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail):

> Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

Yes (Note: A DWI charge cannot be exchanged for a lesser charge unless there is no evidence to support such a DWI charge. \$484.3792(3))

Yes For 1st DWI offs. (§484.3792(1)) and for felony offs (§176.135.)

Nona

No

Rev-90 dys \$484.384(3)

None

<u>Ist Refusal</u> - Rev 1 yr mandatory; <u>2nd or</u> <u>subsequent Refusals</u> (w/n 7 yrs) - Rev 3 yrs mandatory; §§484.384(1) & (2) and 484.385. None

Other:

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI_Offense:

Criminal Sanctions:

Imprisonment: Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term:

All DWI offs are misds²

<u>Ist off-2 dys-6 mos; 2nd off</u> (w/n 7 yrs) - 10 dys-6 mos; <u>3rd and subsequent off</u> (w/n 7 yrs)-1-6 yrs; §§484.379 and 484.3792. <u>Ist off- 2 dys</u> (1 dy if rehabilitation is taken³); <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 7 yrs) - 10-dys¹ (5 dys if rehabilitation is taken³); <u>3rd and subsequent</u> off (w/n 7 yrs)-1 yr¹

²If there is bodily harm related to a DWI offense, the sanctions imposed are the same as for DWI vehicle homicide (\$484.3795); see pp. 3-226 & 3-227. ³See \$484/3794.

3 - 224

At least 48 hrs. must be served cons; see \$484.3792(4).

•

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued) Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

. .

Other Penalties: Community Service:

> Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)

Other:

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action:

Administrative Per Se Law:

Other:

<u>Post_DWL Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

Yes -- 0.10 BAC Level; License rev 90 dys; \$\$484.383, 484.384 & 484.385. None

lst off-\$200-1,000; 2nd off (w/n 7

if rehabilitation is taken, 24 hrs

Yes (1) As a condition for a suspended

indicated.

None

None

yrs)-\$500-1,000; <u>3rd and subsequent off</u> (w/n 7 yrs)-\$2,000-5,000; Special Note: <u>lst off</u> and <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 7 yrs)-If rehabilitation is taken, the fine can be no more than the minimum fine

1st off-48 hrs (alternative to imprisonment) or,

sentence, the court may order a defendant to pay compensation to a victim (§§1 & 2 of A.B. 808 enacted in 1987¹) and (2) Via a victims¹ compensation fund (§217.010 et seq.).

Note: If a license rev for a DWI off conviction follows one for an admin. per selaction, the admin. per selve is cancelled. The driver shall be given credit towards any DWI off conviction rev period for any time he/she was not eligible for a license under the admin. per selve. Also, following the cancellation of the administrative per selve, the legal provisions, concerning min. mandatory terms of license withdrawal and issuance of restricted licenses after a DWI off conviction, would apply.

<u>Ist off</u>-Rev; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 7 yrs)-Rev; 3rd and subsequent offs (w/n 7 yrs)-Rev; \$483.460.

المراجع المراجع

211 C 2 . 1 .

New sections added to Nevada Revised Statutes Chapters 4 and 5.

Sanctions	Following	a	Conviction	for	8	DWI	Offense:
(continued							

Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal: <u>lst off</u>-90 dys¹ (restricted license allowed); <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 7 yrs)-1 yr; <u>3rd and subsequent off</u> (w/n 7 yrs.)-3 yr¹ §483.460

<u>lst off</u>-45 dys¹; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 7 yrs)-1 yr (\$\$483.460(1)(b)(5) & 483.490(2)); <u>3rd and</u> <u>subsequent offs</u> (w/n 7 yrs)-1 1/2 yrs (483.490(2))

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education:

> Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

Yes A temporary alcohol education program may be established; see §5 of A.B. 461 enacted in 1987.

Yes For 1st & 2nd offs \$484.3794

Yes¹ for all offs except death or bodily injury offs

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other: Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere:

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

Yes, (1) Death caused by reckless driving where there is wanton disregard for the safety of others-felony (\$193.120) \$484.377 and (2) death caused by a DWI off-felony (\$193.120) \$484.3795 (See Special Note under "Sanctions: Other" below.)

¹Ist off-After half of the rev period has passed and the DWI offender has completed treatment a treatment program, a restricted license may be issued; see §§483.460(3) & 483.490(2).

. .

23.

None

None

None

STATE - Nevada

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

related offs. \$\$484.377 & 484.3795 For a DWI related death, I yr (This sentence may not be suspended nor may probation be granted.) Not more than \$5,000-reckless driving; \$2,000-5,000-DWI related offs. For a DWI related death, \$2,000 (This sentence may not be suspended nor may probation be granted.)

I to 6 yrs-Reckless driving; I to 20 yrs-DWI

Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action:

> Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal:

Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License

Rev 483.460 (Applies to either reckless driving or DWI related deaths.)

For a DWI related death, 3 yrs (Note: For any non-alcohol related death or other manslaughter off. not noted above caused by veh operations, the driver's license is revoked for 1 yr; see \$483,460(1)(b)(1))

Withdrawal:

IX yrs (Death related DWI offs.); 6 mos (Non-alcohol related death offs.) §§483.460(1) & 483.490(2) Special Note: \$484.3795 also applies to substantial bodily harm, as well as death, caused as a result of a DWI off.

Other:

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term): Misd - 30 dys-6 mos \$483.560 Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

30 dys \$500-1,000

\$500

For driving on a suspended license--a susp; For driving on a revoked license---Rev; \$483.560

Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

The original susp period extended a like period The original rev extended | yr \$483.560

STATE - Nevada

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions, Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession: Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

 $\frac{1}{2} \sum_{i=1}^{n} \frac{1}{2} \sum_{i=1}^{n} \frac{1}$

The original susp period extended a like period; The original rev extended 1 yr; §483.560; (Note: The restricted license provisions of §483.490(2), as noted in the Sanction After DWI/Pre-Sentencing - DWI Term of License Withdrawal heading may apply.)

, **No**g

Yes, see \$484.394 Yes Yes

21 (Year Eff: 1933) \$\$202.020 & 202.055 21 \$\$202.020 & 202.055

21 Applies to any place where alcoholic beverages are sold. \$\$202.020 & 202.055
Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

> Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

> Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): N/A Length of Term of License Withdrawal: N/A

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

> Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

> License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

No (Note: For a cases denying liability, see Hamm v. Carson City Nugget, 450 P.2d 358 (Nev. 1969) and Yoscovitch v. Wasson, 645 P.2d 975 (Nev. 1982)) No (No Cases)

None

No

No (Note: The State allows local governments broad power to license and regulate liquor retail establishments. Therefore, local laws may have been enacted to control the sale of alcoholic beverages to intoxicated persons.) N/A

N/A

3 - 229

Misd 55193.150 & 202.055 Not more than 6 mos Not more than \$1,000

(Note: Controlled by local law.) (Note: Controlled by local law.)

STATE - Nevada

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

.

No

.

· .

· · · · · ·

-

and the second

an dian An Artana An Artana

No

Yes, driver only \$484.448 (The law states that "it is unlawful for any person to drink any intoxicating liquor in a motor veh while such person is driving such motor veh upon a highway.")

Ν.

li ⊢¢

6th Edition

12

STATE: General Comments: NEW HAMPSHIRE See New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated

\$\$265:82(1)(a) & 265:82a(1)(a)

0.10 265:82(1)(b) & 265:82-a(11)

See §§265:82(1)(a) & 265:82-a(1)

intoxication. §265:89

Under the influence of intoxicating liquor

(1) Any Controlled Drug and (2) any Combination of Intoxicating Liquor and Controlled Drugs

A BAC level of 0.10 is prima facie evidence of

voneren vonnenns:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law:	Yes	\$265:92-a
Implied Consent Law:		· · · ·
Arrest Required (Yes/No):	Yes	§265:84
Implied Consent Law Applies to		
Drugs (Yes/No):	Yes	\$ 265:84
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test		
Admitted into Evidence:	Yes	(Criminal & Civil Cases) §265:88-a
Other Information:	None	

None

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which

Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes	§265:84
Urine:	Yes	§265:84
Other:	None	

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):

Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No): No

No (Note: The law requires to the filing of reports on plea bargaining agreements; these reports are public records and are available for public inspection, 265:82-c)

No, see \$651:4

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Other:

3 - 231

None

None

None

```
<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u>
<u>Chemical Test</u>: (continued)
```

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test

Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

Öther:

None

<u>Ist refusal</u> where there has been no previous DWI off-Rev for 90 dys; <u>2nd refusal</u> or a 1st refusal where there has been a previous DWI off-Rev for 1 yr; 265:92

Special Note: These Revs are mandatory. See the Footnote No. I below.

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions:

Imprisonment: Term (Day, Month, Yea

Term (Day, Month, Years,	
Etc.):	<u>Ist off-Violation;</u> No term of imprisonment <u>2nd</u> <u>and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 7 yrs.) Misd-Not more than 1 yr; 265:82 & 265:82-b, 1(b) & 651:2; Aggravated DW12-MisdNot more than 1 yr; 265:82a, 265:82-b(11) & 651:2
· · · · · · · · ·	
Mandatory Minimum Term:	<u>2nd and subsequent off</u> (w/n 7 yrs)-Misd, 10 cons dys ³
Fine:	
Amount (\$ Range):	<u>ist off</u> -Not more than \$1,000; <u>2nd and subsequent</u> <u>offs</u> (w/n 7 yrs) Misd-Not more than \$1,000; Aggravated DWI ² -Misd- \$350-1,000
Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):	Aggravated DWI ² -Misd-\$350; 265:82-b()
Other Penalties:	
Community Service:	None
Restitution	
(eg Victim's Fund)	None
Other:	None

¹A person holding an "at risk" probationary license whom police have reasonable cause to believe is driving with a BAC level of 0.03% and who refuses to take a BAC test, shall have their license suspended for 90 days. See 262:14-all1. See also, miscellaneous sanctions not included elsewhere on p. 3-234 below.

 2 Aggravated DWI (265:82a): A DWI offense where there is either serious bodily injury, speed in excess of 30 MPH over the speed limit or a 0.20 BAC level.

³The 10 con. dys are to be served as follows: 3 con. 24 hour periods in the county house of corrections and 7 con. 24 hour periods in a State operated multiple DWI offender intervention detention center. See §265:82-b, 1(b).

<u>Special Note:</u> Any person who has completed a multiple DWI offender intervention program and who is subsequently convicted of a DWI offense shall be imprisoned for 30 con. 24 hour periods. In addition, they must complete, at their own expense, a 28 day treatment program before their license may be restored. See §265:82-b, II-a.

ontinued)		
Administr	ative Licensing Actions:	
	<u>DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action:	
	Administrative Per Se Law:	None
	Other:	None
Post	<u>DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action:	
	Type of Licensing Action	
	··· · ·	ist off_Rev; 2nd off (w/n 7 yrs.)_Rev; 3rd and
7 M. A. A. A. A.	(000)///01/.	subsequent offs (w/n 10 yrs)-Rev; Aggravated
		DWI ¹ -Rev; (Note: See rehabilitation section for
;		this State.)
	· · · · · · · ·	This State./
	Term of License Withdrawal	
	(Days, Months, Years, etc.):	Ist off-90 dys-2 yrs; 2nd off (w/n 7 yrs)-3 yrs;
		<u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 10
		yrs)-Indefinitely; Aggravated DW(¹ -1 yr
	Mandatory Minimum Term of	
	Withdrawal:	<u>lst.off</u> -90 dys; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 7 yrs)-3 yrs; <u>3rd</u>
		<u>and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 10 yrs)-3 y rs ;
		Aggravated DWI ¹ -1 yr; 265:82-b()
Othe	r:	
	Rehabilitation:	
	Alcohol Education:	Yes (Must be completed before license can be
		restored for any alcohol related driving off;
		263:65a)
	Alcohol Treatment:	
	Alcohol Education/	
	Treatment as an Altern-	
	ative to Criminal	
	Licensing Actions	
	(Describe):	
	(Describer.	• •
,		
· · ·		
	•	and the second
		$(1,2,2) = \{1,2,2,3,3,3,3,3,3,3,3,3,3,3,3,3,3,3,3,3,$
		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·

Aggravated DWI (265:82a): A DWI offense where there is either serious bodily injury, speed in excess of 30 MPH over the speed limit or a 0.20 BAC level.

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other:

Niscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere:

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Off:

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: Mandatory Action—Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other:

Yes - Cl B felony applies only if death results from the reckless operation of a motor veh; 262-A:61 & 265:79

Any person who shall apply for reissuance of their license following an alcohol offense conviction is an "at risk" driver and their license shall be probationary for 3 yrs. Such probationary license may be suspended from 90 to 180 days if the driver operates a motor vehicle with BAC level of 0.03%. See 263:14a 1 & 11. Note: This suspension may not be mandatory.

Not more than 7 yrs; 262-A:61 None Not more than \$2,000; 262-A:61 None

Rev

None

None

Up to 7 yrs

None

None

STATE - New Hampshire

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked · Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense:

Sanction:

Criminal: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action: Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Misd - Not more than 1 yr; 263:64

7 cons 24 hrs periods Not more than \$1,000

Rev

None

An additional | yr

An additional | yr

Habitual Offender Laws:

State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender:

Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status

Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify): Yes \$259:39

3 serious offs. (w/n 5 yrs), 12 moving violations (w/n 5 yrs) or 1 serious off. and 8 moving violations (w/n 5 yrs)

Rev. 4 yrs 262.19, 111

Note: Type of off is not specified in the statute. It is probably a CI B felony with modifications in the penalty as provided in the habitual offender law. See 625:9, III(a)(2)

1-5 vrs \$262:23

l yr No fine stated in the statute N/A No specific licensing action provided for this off

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents:

State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages:

Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No):

> "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Yes \$507-F:1 et seq.¹ (Note: This statute

21; There are employment exemptions; see \$175-8 for details¹. \$\$175:6 & 175:8-a

and the second

 $(x_1, y_2) = (x_1, y_2)$

21; (Year Eff: 1985) 🔞175:6 & 175:8-a 👘

1 11

44 M. 19

• • · ·

· · · · · ·

. .

.

Yes

Yes

None

. No

Yes, see §262-A:69-1. Required, see §265:93

appears to have abrogated previous case law concerning dram shop liability; see \$507-F:8.)

No (The following case law appears to have been abrogated by \$507-F:1 et seq. (the dram shop statute). Burns v. Bradley, 419 A.2d 1069 (1980) which held that New Hampshire permits a plaintiff to maintain a common-law action against a liquor licensee for injuries received as a result of being served additional liquor while in an intoxicated state, 419 A.2d 1069, 1071 and Ramsey v. Anctil, 211 A.2d 900 (1965).)

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: Other:

and the second
and the second
No (No Cases) None

New Hampshire's Dram Shop Law is similar to the Model Alcoholic Beverage Retail Licensee Liability Act of 1985. This model law was developed via a grant for the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism.

1. J. J.

e provincia de Maria

STATE - New Hampshire

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued) Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action: Misd \$175.6 Term of Imprisonment: Not more than 1 yr Fine (\$ Range): Not more than \$1,000 Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Yes Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Susp, time period is not specified in the statute Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action: Misd. 175:6 Term of Imprisonment: Not more than 1 yr Not more than \$1,000 Fine (\$ Range): Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Yes Length of Term License Withdrawal: Susp; time period is not specified in the statute Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations: No Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle: Open Container Law (Yes/No): No Note: A person under 20 years of age, except when accompanied by a parent or legal guardian, shall not have an open container of an alcoholic beverage in a motor vehicle. See \$265:81 Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No): Possible - driver and passengers; \$177:4 (The law states that "...liquor sold in a state store

3 - 237

shall not be consumed in a public place." Note: The state is the <u>only</u> seller of sealed packaged alcoholic beverages; however, this would, it appears, not apply to packages

purchased outside of the state.)

6th Edition

and a start of the second s Second s

en a Marten († 1997) 1997 - Stationer († 1997) 1997 - Stationer († 1997)

. ,

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Reguired (Yes/No):

> Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence:

Other Information:

<u>Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which</u> Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	No
Urine:	No
Other:	None

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No):	No
Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):	No
Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI)	
(Yes/No):	No

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> Chemical Test:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test:	
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	N/A
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	N/A
Other:	N/A

NEW JERSEY See New Jersey Statutes Annotated

Under the influence of intoxicating liquor \$39:4-50(a) 0.10 \$39:4-50(a) None (1) Narcotic, (2) Hallucinogenic or (3) Habit-Producing Drug See \$39:4-50(a) None

No

Probably Yes However, see §39:4-50.2(a) where only "reasonable grounds" seem to be required. Under §39:4-50.4a, a driver's license can only be revoked when the refusal is based on an arrest.

No

Yes (Criminal Cases) See State v. Tabisz, 322 A.2d 453 (Super., 1974) None

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>: (continued)

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test

> Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

Other:

Fine: \$250-500 \$39:4-50.4a

Rev for 6 mos (Mandatory); Rev period is two (2) yrs (mandatory) if the driver has had a prior refusal; §§39:4-50.2 and 39:4-50.4a None

<u>Ist off</u>-Not more than 30 dys; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 10 yrs)-48 cons hrs-90 dys; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 10 yrs)-Not less than 180 dys; <u>39:4-50</u> <u>Ist off</u>-(See section on rehabilitation.);2nd off

rehabilitation); 3rd and subsequent offs (w/n 10

-\$500-1,0002; 3rd and subsequent offs (w/n 10

<u>2nd off</u>-30 dys¹; <u>3rd and subsequent off</u> (w/n 10 yrs)-Not more than 90 dys as an alternative to imprisonment; i.e. not more than 90 dys of the 180 dy sentence may be served performing

Yes⁴ §§2C:1-5(b), 2C:43-2 & 2C:44-2 (Paid by

(w/n 10 yrs)-48 cons hrs (see section on

yrs)-90 dys³See section on rehabilitation

Ist off-\$250-4002; 2nd off (w/n 10 yrs)

yrs)-\$1,000²; 39:4-50

community service.

the defendant to a victim)

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions:

Imprisonment:

Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$): Other Penalties: Community Service:

> Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)

Other:

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law: Other:

None None

None

None

¹May be mandatory and in addition to the minimum term of imprisonment.

 2 In addition, defendants are charged a \$100 surcharge which goes into a drunk driving enforcement fund; ch. 4 laws of N.J. 1984

³Statute not specific; suspended sentence/probation may still be possible under various provisions of the criminal justice code.

⁴A victim might also be able to recieve compensation from the Violent Crimes Compensation Board. The Board is authorized to make payments to persons who suffer injuries as a result of "any ... crime of violence" (\$52:48-11(b)); see generally \$52:48-1 et seq.

3 - 240

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:</u> (continued)

<u>Post DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment:

Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe): S Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: 1 Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other: 1 Miscellaneous Sanctions

Not included Elsewhere:

Rev (probably) The statute uses the terminology "forfeit his right to operate a motor veh." 39:4-50

<u>lst off-6 mos-1 yr; 2nd off-2 yrs; 3rd and</u> subsequent offs-10 yrs

<u>lst off-6 mos; 2nd off-2 yrs; 3rd and subsequent</u> offs-10 yrs

Note: A person convicted under DWI must satisfy the requirements of a program of alcohol education and rehabilitation approved by the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles. Failure to satisfy such requirements shall result in a driver license rev or susp and continuation of rev or susp until such requirements are satisfied unless stayed by Court Order in accordance with Rule 7:8-2 of the N.J. Court Rules, 1969, or §39:5-22. See §39:4-50(b).

Yes Ist Off-Yes¹; 2nd Off-Yes²; 3rd and subsequent offs-Yes³ \$39:4-50

18 (S. 17)

See note above on:

None

ed Elsewhere: None

There appears to be a mandatory treatment of not less than 48 hrs which is to be spent in an intoxicated driver resource center.

and the second
²The imprisonment term may be served in an intoxicated driver resource center. ³The imprisonment term may be served in an inpatient rehabilitation facility <u>but not</u> an intoxicated driver resource center.

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle:

State Has Such Law/Type of off:

Sanctions: Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: Mandatory Action---Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other:

Yes Crime of the third degree.¹ Death must have resulted from the reckless operation of the veh. "Death by auto" \$2C:11-5

3 to 5 yrs \$2C:43-6(a)(3) 270 dys of imprisonment is mandatory² if defendant was under the influence of alcohol, drugs, etc. at the time of the incident causing death

Not more than \$7,500 \$2C:43-3(b) None

Restitution; \$2C:43-3

None

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction: Criminal: Imprisonment (Term): Not more than 90 dys §39:3-40 Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: None Fine (\$ Range): \$500 Mandatory Minimum Fine: None Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action Susp; \$39:3-40

(Susp/Rev): Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

An additional period of not less than 1 yr nor more than 2 yrs; §39:3-40

l yr

¹Although not specifically set forth, a crime of the third degree would probably be considered a high misdemeanor; see 52C:43-1(b).

 $^{^{2}}$ In lieu of the 270 days of mandatory imprisonment, the court may order a defendant to participate in a community service program for a minimum of 270 days; see §26:11-5.

<u>Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol</u> <u>Use and Driving</u>: (continued)

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status

> Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitua! Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use . . . And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No):

> BAC Chemical Test is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver:

Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages:

Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession: Minimum Age (Years) Consumption: Yes \$26:2B-24

Yes (Note: Tests for alcohol may also be made on automobile drivers who survive traffic accidents fatal to others; see \$26:28-24. No

Yes

No

21 \$\$33:1-77 & 9:178-1 (yr eff: 1983) 21 \$2C:33-15

21 559:178-1 & 20:33-15

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No):

"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:

Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Yes¹ §2A:22A-1 et seq. (Ch. 152 of the laws of 1987)

No (Note: Previous case law (e.g., Rappaport v. Nichols, 156 A.2d 1 (1959)) has been abrogated by above dram shop statute.)

Yes² Linn v. Rand, 356 A.2d 15 (1976) and Kelly v. Gwinnell et al., 476 A.2d 564 (1982)

1.1

See Footnote No. 1 below.

<u>No specific State statute</u> on this subject. Local law may make such action an off.

No specific State statute on this subject.

However, there may be local law on this matter.

Length of Term of License Withdrawal:

الم من المراجع
¹Under a New Jersey regulation, NJAC 13:2-23-1, a bartender can be held liable for the injuries of either an intoxicated patron or a person the patron injuried if the bartender continued to serve alcoholic beverages to the patron when it should have been known that such person was intoxicated. Note: This regulation may have been abrogated by the dram shop statute. ²Note: Combined S.B.s 545 and 1152, passed by the legislature in 1987 but vetoed by the governor, would have revised the State's law on social host "dram shop" liability. In brief, this legislation would have limited a social host's liability for a guest's actions to situations (1) where the social host served alcoholic beverages to a "visibly intoxicated" guest <u>and</u> (2) where the guest, as a result of their intoxication, injured another person while operating a motor vehicle. The legislature will re-consider this vetoed legislation in January 1988.

<u>Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use</u> <u>And Driving</u>: (continued)

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action:

> Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

> License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

See S.B. 2312 enacted in 1985.

Disorderly Person Off¹ \$\$2C:43-3(c), 2C:43-8, and 33:1-77 Not more than **6 mos** Not more than **\$1,000**

Yes - Susp or Rev (Note: A compromise sum of money may be paid in lieu of susp.) 1st off - 2 yrs \$33:1-31

Yes (regulation - NJAC 13:2-23.16) (Note: This regulation does not regulated the price of "single" drinks. It does, however, prohibit the selling of an unlimited quantity of drinks at one price or charging one price for two or more drinks.)

No

Yes - Drivers and passengers; prohibits the consumption of alcoholic beverages by either a driver or passenger while the veh is being operated; there are exceptions for certain vehs for hire. §39:4-51a

· .

andres Andres and a state of the state of

می از می

a articles articles articles articles articles

andra and a second s Second
STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol: Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence:

Other Information:

NEW MEXICO See New Mexico statutes 1978 Annotated

Under the influence of intoxicating liquor \$66-8-102(A) 0.10 \$66-8-102(C) 0.10 \$66-8-110B(3) Any Drug \$66-8-102(B) None

No

Yes \$66-8-107

No

Yes (Criminal & Civil (Possible) Cases) See McKay v. Davis, 653 P.2d 860 (1982) Special Note: A driver may be required to submit to a chemical test based on a search warrant issued by a court upon probable cause that the driver has killed or greatly injured another person while operating a motor veh under the influence of alcohol; \$66-8-111A

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood: Urine: Other: Yes \$66-8-107 No None

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No):

Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):

Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):

No (Special Note: The police officer must charge a driver with committing a DWI off if the driver's BAC level is 0.10 or more; see \$66-8-110(C)

Yes §966-8-102.1 if a guilty plea is entered it must be to one of subsections of the DWI statute if BAC=0.15

Yes Note: DWI-PSI screening is discretionary; see \$66-8-1026.

3 - 247

Sanctions	for	Refusal	<u>to</u>	<u>Submit</u>	to	a BAC	2
Chemical	<u>Test</u> :	:					

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Te	st:
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	N/A
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	N/A
Other:	N/A
Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test	I

Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail):	None
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	l yr rev mandatory; \$66-8-111B
Other:	None

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment: Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

> Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine: Anount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

<u>Ist off-30-90 dys; 2nd and subsequent offs-90</u> dys - 1 yr 66-8-102; Great bodily injury where driver was intoxicated, 3rd degree felony - 3 yrs; §§66-8-101 & 31-18-15 (Could be 4 yrs if §31-18-15.1 is applied)

<u>1st off-No; 2nd and subsequent offs</u>-48 cons hrs¹ 66-8-102 and 66-8-102; Great bodily injury where driver was intoxicated, 3rd degree felony I yr (See §31-18-15.1)

<u>Ist off</u>-\$300-500; <u>2nd and subsequent offs</u>-Not more than \$1,000 66-8-102; Great bodily injury where driver was intoxicated, 3rd degree felony-Not more than \$5,000 <u>Ist off-No; 2nd and subsequent offs-No</u>

¹This mandatory sanction applies only if the second or subsequent off occurred within five (5) yrs of a first or prior offense.

Note: A person who, while operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol/drugs or while violation \$66-8-113, injuries to a pregnant woman is guilty of a third degree felony; see \$\$66-8-101.1 & 31-18-15.

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued)

Other Penalties: Community Service: Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)

None

None

Other:

Administrative Licensing Actions: Pre-DWI Conviction Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law:

> Other: Post DWI Conviction Licensing Action:

Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.): Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

> . • • • • e a de grande

and the second
.

8 6 6 J E

Restitution appears to be required if a sentence is either suspended or deferred; see \$\$31-17-1B & 31-20-6

£ ,

.

Yes, 31-17-1 (Restitution is to be paid by the defendant¹)

. ' I. For persons 18 yrs old and above who have a BAC level of 0.10 or more; 1st Admin per se off - 90 dys mandatory license rev (§66-8-111C(1)); 2nd and subsequent admin. per se offs where a person has also been convicted of a second or. subsequent DWI off - 1 yr mandatory license rev (66-5-29C); 2. For persons under 18 yrs of age who have a BAC level of 0.05 or more: 1st Admin. Per Se off - 6 mos mandatory license rev 5566-8-111C(2); 2nd Admin Per Se off - 1 yr mandatory license rev \$\$66-8-111(B) None

1st off-Rev; 2nd off-Rev \$\$66-5-29 & 66-5-32(B); 3rd off-Rev \$66-5-5(D)

1st_off-1 yr; 2nd off-1 yr; 3rd off-5 yrs

Ist off-(See Special Note); 2nd off-1 yr; 3rd off-5 yrs

Special Note: If a person has been convicted of a 1st DWI off but not subject to the mandatory license provisions of the admin per se law, they may obtain a restricted license. Such a license, however, is not available where there has been a consent decree based on a filing of any DWI charge. \$66-5-35A.

1.1

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense: (continued)

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education:

1) Yes \$66-5-29, \$43-2-1 et seq. After presentence investigation, a trial court, in its discretion, may order a first offender to attend a "driving-while-intoxicated school," also called the driver rehabilitation program, approved by both the Court and the Division of Motor Vehicles. 2) Ist offender may be allowed to attend driver rehabilitation program and if successfully completed Court may dismiss DWI charge and it is not a conviction, but does not constitute a first off.

Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe): Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: No Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other: None Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere:

None

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

> Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of off:

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term):

> Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action:

> Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawai:

Yes-Misd or Death where the driver was intoxicated-3rd degree felony \$66-8-101

Misd-Not more than 90 dys; 3rd degree felony-3 yrs (Could be 4 yrs if \$31-18-15.1 is applied) 5531-18-15 & 66-8-7B

3rd degree felony-1 yr (See §31-18-15.1) Misd-Not more than \$100; 3rd degree felony-Not more than \$5,000 None

Misd-Susp; 3rd_degree_felony-Susp §\$66-5-29 & 66-5-20

Misd-1 yr; 3rd_degree_felony-1 yr

<u>Other_Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol</u> <u>Use and Driving</u>: (continued)

Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other:

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense:

Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

> Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No):

> Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of

<u>3rd degree felony-l yr</u>

<u>Misd</u> - Restitution; <u>3rd degree felony</u>-Restitution (Victim restitution is either via the offender or via a State reparations fund; see \$\$31-17-1 & 31-22-1 et seq.

2 dys-6 mos \$66-5-39

No \$0-500 \$66-5-39 \$150 \$66-5-39(A)

Rev \$66-5-39

For driving while suspended – an additional suspension period equal to the original period. For driving while revoked – an additional revocation period of one (1) year.

The above additional suspension/revocation periods appear to be mandatory.

No, but \$66-5-5 does, prevent anyone who has been convicted of DWI 3 or more times since 1955 from having or applying for a drivers license for 5 yrs.

3 - 251

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

- Driving While on Habitual Offender Status:
 - Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of
 - Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):
 - Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on	
Persons Killed in Traffic	
Accidents:	
State Has Such a Law (Yes/No):	
BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the	5
the Following Persons:	
Driver:	;
Vehicle Passengers:	
Pedestrian:	

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:

Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Yes \$24-11-6(B)

Yes	
Yes	
Yes	
	جان ا

21 (Year Eff: 1934) \$\$60-3A-3(0), 60-7B-1 & 60-78-1.1

21 (Exemption when the minor is accompanied by a parent or guardian.) 960-3-A-(30), 60-78-1 & 60-78-1.

<u>Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use</u> <u>And Driving</u>: (continued)

Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

21 (Apply to allowing a minor accompanied by either a parent or legal guardian, to consume alcoholic beverages in a licensed establishment.) \$\$60-3A-(30), 60-78-1 & 60-78-1.1

Yes, Lopez v. Maze, 651 P.2d 1269 (N.M.

Yes \$41-11-1(E) Liability is based upon

the host providing alcoholic beverages to the quest in reckless disregard of the rights of

MRC Prop. v. Gries, 652 P.2d 732 (N.M. 1982)²

Yes! \$41-11-183

1982)2

None

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:

Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:

> Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Misd \$\$60-7A-16 & 60-7A-25 0-7 mos \$0-300 (If corporation, \$0-1,000)

others, including the guest.³

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages

Withdrawn (Yes/No): Yes \$\$60-7A-25 & 60-7B-1 Length of Term of License Withdrawal: 2 yrs

³Note: For each transaction or occurance, damage awards are subject to the following limits: (1) For one person, \$50,000 for injuries/death and \$20,000 for property damage; and, (2) for two or more persons, \$100,000 for injuries/death and \$20,000 for property damage. See \$41-11-1(1).

Law limits liability for social hosts to cases involving serving alcoholic beverages in reckless disregard of the rights of others and increases the burden of evidence needed to hold liquor license establishments liable for serving alcoholic beverages to intoxicated persons. 2Note: 541-11-1(H) may have abrogated the holding in this case.

<u>Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use</u> <u>And Driving</u>: (continued)

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

- Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:
 - License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Misd \$\$60-7A-25, 60-7B-1 & 60-7B-1.1 0-7 mos \$0-300 (If corporation, \$0-1,000)

Yes 60-6C-1 2 yrs 60-6C-8

No No

No

2-

STATE: General Comments:

Basis_for_a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):
Presumption (BAC Level):
Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law:

Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence: Other Information:

NEW YORK

See McKinney's Consolidated laws of New York Citations are to the Vehicle and Traffic Law unless otherwise stated.

(1) Ability to operate a vehicle is impaired by the consumption of alcohol (\$1192(1)); (2) operate a motor vehicle while in an intoxicated condition (\$1192(3)) Yes, 0.10 \$1192(2)

None

A Controlled Substance See §§114-a and 1192(4) of the V&T Law and §3306 of the Public Health Law.

A BAC of 0.05-0.07 is relevant evidence of being impaired; and a BAC of 0.08-0.10 is <u>prima facie</u> evidence of impairment; \$1195(c) and (b)

Yes (Note: This test is mandatory and applies to drivers involved in accidents and traffic law violations. \$1193(a))

Yes 51194

Yes \$1194 sub. 1

Yes (Criminal and Civil Cases) \$1194(4) Special Note: Under \$1194-a, a driver may be compelled to submit to a chemical test of their blood for alcoholic content if they have been involved in an accident in which there has been a fatality or serious physical injury related to a DWI off

<u>Other Chamical Tests for BAC Level Which</u> <u>Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law)</u>:

Blood: Urine: Other:

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):

Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No): Yes \$1194(1) Yes \$1194(1) Yes, Saliva \$1194(1)

No

Yes (Note: Plea bargaining allowed to one of the two alcohol offs) \$1196.2

Yes (Required for felony convictions) Criminal Procedure Law §390.20

6th Edition

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):

> Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Other:

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Infraction - fine up to \$50 and imprisonment up to 15 dys; \$1800(b)

None

None

None

Rev for at least 6 mos; Rev for at least 1 yr for a <u>2nd or subsequent refusal</u> (w/n 5 yrs) or a <u>lst refusal</u> where there has been a previous DWI off conviction (w/n 5 yrs)¹; Special Note: These revs are mandatory. See 55510(6), 521(1)(d), 1194(2) & 1194(5). See Special Note at the bottom of p. 3-257. Civil penalty of \$100; Civil Penalty of \$250 for

a 2nd or subsequent refusal (w/n 5 yrs) or for a 1st refusal where there has been a previous DWI off conviction (w/n 5 yrs); \$1194(3)(b)

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment: Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

Other:

"Impaired" status offs See 510 and 1192 (1 and 5); <u>1st off-Not more than 15 dys; 2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-Not more than 30 dys; <u>3rd and any</u> <u>subsequent off</u> (w/n 10 yrs)-Not more than 90 dys; Per Se and Intoxicated status offs, <u>1st off</u> (Misd)-Not more than 1 yr; <u>2nd and any</u> <u>subsequent offs</u> (w/n 10 yrs) CI E Felony-Not more than 4 yrs¹ \$\$510 & 1192 See Footnote No. 2 below for DWI offenses realted to the operation of certain commercial vehicles. None

Mandatory Minimum Term:

See N.Y. Penal Law \$\$66.10, 70.00 and 80.00.

²Under §1192(5-a), a person who is operating certain commercial vehicles (e.g., a taxicab, a bus, a truck over 18,000 pounds or a school bus) while "impaired," intoxicated or illegal <u>per</u> <u>se</u> is subject to the following sanctions: <u>lst off</u> (Misd)-Imprisonment-Not more than I yr, Fine-\$500-1,500, Lic. Action-Rev. I yr; <u>subsequent off</u> (w/n 10 yrs) (Felony)-Imprisonment-Not more than 4 yrs, Fine-\$1,000-5,000; Lic. Action-Rev. I yr and the person is disqualified from operating commercial vehicles for 5 years. See also Vehicle And Traffic Law §510(c)(1)(1V) & (V) and Penal Law §555.10(1)(b), 55.10(2)(b), 70.00(2)(c) & 70.15(1)(a).

2.

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

1 11101	
Amount (\$ Range):	"Impaired" status offs, <u>1st off</u> - \$250 ; <u>2nd off</u>
	(w/n 5 yrs)-\$350-500; 3rd and any subsequent
· · · ·	offs (w/n 10 yrs)-\$500-1,500; Per se and
	intoxicated status off, <u>lst off</u> (Misd)-\$350-500;
	2nd and subsequent offs (w/n 10 yrs) CI E
	Felony-\$500 to 5,000
Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):	"Impaired" status offs, <u>1st off</u> -\$250; <u>2nd off</u>
	(w/n 5 yrs)-\$350; 3rd and any subsequent offs
	(w/n 10 yrs)-\$500; Per se and intoxicated off,
	Ist off (Misd)-\$350; 2nd and any subsequent offs
	(w/n 10 yrs) CI E felony-\$500 \$1192(6)

Other Penalties: Community Service: Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)

Other:

None

Yes The court may require restitution by a defendant to a victim; see \$60.27 of the Penal Law. There is also a Victims' compensation fund; see \$620 et seq. of the Executive Law. Special Note: NY has an off known as "Vehicle Assault;" a person is guilty of such an off if they injure another in a criminally negligent manner while in violation of the DWI law; such an off is a CI E felony; see N.Y. Penal Law \$120.03.

Administrative Licensing Actions:

<u>Pre-DWI Conviction Licensing Action:</u>

- Administrative Per Se Law:
- Other:

None

Temporary susp is mandatory for repeat offenders w/n 5 yrs; see §510(2)(b)(vi)

<u>Post</u>	DWI	Conviction	Licensing	Action:

Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

"Impaired" status offs, 1st off-Susp (Rev if person is under 21 years old); 2nd off (w/n 5 yrs of any alcohol driving off)-Rev; Per se and intoxicated offs, 1st off-Rev \$510; 2nd and any subsequent offs (w/n 10 yrs)-Rev \$510; See footnote on p. 3-258 and the Special Note below.

Special Note: A person under 21 yrs old, who is convicted of <u>any</u> alcohol driving off or has refused to submit to a chemical test, shall have their license suspended/revoked for one (1) year or until they reach 21 which ever is the greater period of time (see \$510(e)). A conditional license is not available for a subsequent alcohol offense (see \$521(1)(f)).

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

Term of License Withdrawal

(Days, Months, Years, etc.):

"Impaired" status offs, 1st off-90 dys; 2nd off (w/n 5 yrs of any alcohol driving off)-6 mos; Per se and intoxicated offs, 1st off-At least 6 mos; 2nd and any subsequent offs (w/n 10 yrs)-At least 1 yr

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

For "permissive" revocations, no new license can be issued for 30 dys from the date of the start of the revocation period; see §510(6)(f). See Footnote No. I below.

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment:

> Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other:

Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere: Yes for all offs, §523(a) Yes for all offs, §521

Yes (with the Court's permission)

No

Special Note: A Certificate of Registration may be suspended or revoked for DWI convictions; see §510.

None

¹Under §521(1)(f) a person may be issued a conditional license while participating in a rehabilitation program; however, under §521(1)(c) a person is not permitted to take part in such a program if they have participated in one (1) within a five (5) yr period; in addition, successful completion of the program shall satisfy any sentence of imprisonment and allow an offender to apply for reinstatement of his/her driver's license. §§521(c) and (d)

<u>Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol</u> Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle:

State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction:

Imprisonment (Term):		
Mandatory Minimum Term:		
Fine (\$ Range):		
Mandatory Minimum Fine:		

Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: Mandatory Action—Minimum Length of License Withdrawal:

Yes, Cl D felony - death of another based on criminally negligent action while in violation of the DWI laws; see N.Y. Penal Law \$215.12

Not more than 7 yrs; Penal Law \$70.00(2)(d) See Penal Code \$70.00(3) on minimum sentences Not more than \$5,000; Penal Law \$80.00(1)(a) None

Rev: Veh. & Traffic Law \$510(2)(i)

Not specified--but see Veh. & Traffic Law \$510(b)

4 yrs Special Note: Under \$530(2), a restricted use license may be issued after 4 yrs. None

Other:

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:

Criminal: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment:

Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action: Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Misd¹, 7 to 180 dys; 5511

```
None
```

Fine (\$ Range): \$500-1,000¹ None

1

Susp or Rev

Not specified in the statute

None

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status:

No

¹If a person is operating a motor vehicle while DWI and while their license has either been suspended or revoked for a previous DWI offense, they have committed a Class E felony and are subject to the following sanctions: Imprisonment-Not more than 4 yrs; fine-\$500-5,000 (\$500 is mandatory).

	and the second
Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol	
<u>Use and Driving</u> : (continued)	· ·
Type of Criminal Offense if	and the second
Convicted on Charges of	
Driving While on Habitual	
Offender Status	
Sanctions Following a Conviction of	• ** · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
Driving While on Habitual Offender	
Status:	
Imprisonment (Term):	
Mandatory Minimum Term of	
Imprisonment:	
Fine (\$ Range):	
Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$):	
Licensing Actions (Specify):	
5	
Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use	
And Driving:	
Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on	
Persons Killed in Traffic	
Accidents:	
State Has Such a Law (Yes/No):	Yes N.Y. County Law \$674(3)(b)
BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the	
the Following Persons:	
Driver:	Yes
Vehicle Passengers:	No
Pedestrian:	Yes (if 16 yrs or older)
Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages	
Concerning Alcoholic Beverages:	
Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:	21 (Year Eff: 1985); Alcoholic Beverages
	Control Law \$\$65 & 65b and Penal Law \$260,20(4)
Minimum Age (Years) Possession:	None
Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:	None

The test shall not be made if there is reason to believe that the decedent is of a religious faith which is opposed to such test on religious or moral grounds; see N.Y. County Law \$674(3)(b).

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been

> Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:

Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

> Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages

Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action:

> Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Yes, N.Y. Gen. Oblig. Law 5511-100 & 11-101

Berkeley v. Park, 262 N.Y.S. 2d 290 (1965) Yes §11-100 of the Gen. Oblig. Law Applies only to actions of persons who under 21 years old; see also, Montgomery v. Orr, 498 N.Y.S.2d 968.

None

Class A Misd; \$130 of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Law and \$\$55.10(2)(b), 70.15(1) and 80.05()) of the Penal Law

Not more than 1 yr

Not more than \$1,000 (For corporations, the fine is not more than \$5,000; see \$80.10(1)(b) of the Penal Law.

Yes, suspended, cancelled, or revoked Alcoholic Beverage Control Law ∮17(3) Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Not specified in the statute

> Class B Misd, Alcoholic Beverage Control Law \$\$17(3), 65 and 130; Penal Law \$\$70.15(2), 80.05(2) and 260.20(4) & (5) Not more than 3 mos Not more than \$500 (For corporations, the fine is not more than \$2,000; see \$80.10(1)(c) of the

Penal Law \$260.20(4), concerning the selling or giving of alcoholic beverages to a person under 21 years old, does not apply to the parent or guardian of such a person.

Penal Law.)

STATE - New	u York
-------------	--------

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)		n Lagendar Lagendar
Administrative Actions Against Owners of		an a
Establishments That Serve Alcoholic	,	1 12 A
Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:		
License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):	Yes, suspended, cancelled, or revoke	d. t.
Length of Term License Withdrawal:	Not specified in the statute	
Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:	No	e de la production de la construcción de la constru
Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of	· · ·	
Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic		1
Beverages in the Passenger Compartment		
of a Vehicle: Open Container Law (Yes/No):	No	.,
Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):	Yes - Driver and passengers; \$1227	
	and the second	$\mathbf{v}^{(1)} = \mathbf{v}^{(1)}$

, F

. .

.

7

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol: Other: Under the influence of an impairing substance \$20-138.1(a)(1) 0.10¹ \$\$20-4.01(0.2) & 20-138.1(a)(2) None Any Impairing Substance \$20-138.1(a)(1) None

NORTH CAROLINA

See Gen. Stat. of North Carolina

<u>Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:</u>

 Preliminary Breath Test Law:
 Yes; \$20-16.3

 Implied Consent Law:
 Arrest Required (Yes/No):
 Yes (Implied); \$20-16.2(a)

 Implied Consent Law Applies to
 Drugs (Yes/No):
 Yes \$\$20-16.2 & 20-139.1

 Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test
 Admitted into Evidence:
 Yes (Criminal Cases) \$20-16.2(a)(3)

 Other Information:
 None

<u>Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level_Which</u> <u>Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law)</u>:

	•
Blood:	Yes
Urine:	No
Other:	None

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No):NoAnti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):No However, the law does require the prosecutor
to explain a reduction or dismissal of a DW1
charge; \$20-138.4Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PS1)
(Yes/No):Yes \$\$20-179(m) & 20-179.1

¹Special Note: It is illegal for a provisional licensee, a person between the ages of 16 and 18, to operate a motor veh with <u>any</u> alcohol in their body; see $\frac{520-138-3}{18-3}$.

 $(x_{ij}) \in X_{ij} = (x_{ij})$

STATE - North Carolina

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail); Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Other:

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test

Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

Other:

None

No

No

None

Rev of driving privileges for 12 mos (10 dy immediate rev) (Mandatory) \$\$20-16.2(c) & 20-16.51

Special Note: A Limited driving privilege license may be issued after 6 mos of the rev period have passed provided the driver has not had either a previous chemical test refusal or a DWI conviction within the past seven (7) yrs or the charge did not involve death or critical injury to another person. §20-16.2(e)

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment: Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.): Mandatory Minimum Term: See Special Note on p. 3-265. See Special Note on p. 3-265. Level 1 Punishment - 14 dys-24 mos; Level 2 Punishment - 7 dys-12 mos; Level 2 Punishment - 7 dys-12 mos; Level 3 Punishment -72 hrs-6 mos²; Level 4 Punishment - 48 hrs-120 dys²; Level 5 Punishment - 24 hrs to 60 dys² §20-179 Level 1 Punishment - 14 dys; Level 2 Punishment

- 7 dvs

¹For persons 16-18, provisional licensees, a rev of 45 dys or until the person reaches 18 whichever is the longer period (mandatory); this rev is in addition to and runs concurrently with any other licensing action authorized by law for an implied consent law violation; see \$20-13.2.

²The term of imprisonment may be suspended on the condition that the defendant either (1) serve the minimum term of imprisonment as a special condition of probation, or (2) perform the indicated community service, or (3) have their license withdrawn for the period of time shown under Post-DWI Conviction Licensing Action or (4) any combination of the above.
<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:</u> (continued)

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Level | Punishment -Not more than \$2,000; Level 2 Punishment -Not more than \$1,000; Level 3 Punishment -Not more than \$500; Level 4 Punishment -Not more than \$250; Level 5 Punishment -Not more than \$100 \$20-179 None

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

Other Penalties:

Community Service:

Restitution

(eg Victim's Fund)

Other:

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law:

Other:

Level 3 Punishment -72 hrs; Level 4 Punishment -48 hrs; Level 5 Punishment - 24 hrs See Footnote No. 1 below. \$20-179

Yes, Direct compensation by the defendant to a victim; see 15B-24.2

None

Special Note: The level of punishment to be given a DWI defendant is determined by weighing the aggravating and mitigating factors as specified in \$20-179; however, (1) the Court must impose level 2 punishment if there has been a previous DWI conviction w/n a 7 yr period; (2) the Court must impose level 2 punishment if there has been an injury related to a DWI off; and (3) the Court must impose level 1 punishment if there has been a previous DWI conviction w/n a 7 yr period and either the previous conviction or the present offense were injury related.

Yes, 0.10 BAC-Rev for 10 dys (No limited license following a rev under this section; see \$20-16.5(1)) Note: If the driver is late is surrendering or does not surrender their license to the court when ordered to do so, the rev period is 30 dys. None

¹Community service is imposed as a condition of probation. ²Note: The State's victims compensation statute does not apply to victims of a traffic accident (Ch. 20); see §15B-1 et seq. and especially §15B-2(5). <u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

> <u>Post DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> > Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment: <u>Ist DWI off</u>-Rev; <u>2nd DWI off</u> (w/n 3 yrs)- Rev; <u>3rd DWI off</u> (where the 2nd DWI off was w/n 5 yrs of the 3rd)-Rev; §§20-17, 20-19 & 20-179¹

<u>Ist DWI off</u>-1 yr (See levels of punishment)²; <u>2nd DWI off</u>-4 yrs; <u>3rd DWI off</u> (where the 2nd DWI off was w/n 5 yrs of the 3rd) Permanent; <u>Levels I & 2</u> Punishment-See the revs above for multiple DWI convictions and the special note under Other Penalties; <u>Level 3</u> Punishment-90 dys; <u>Level 4</u> Punishment-60 dys; <u>Level 5</u> Punishment-30 dys

<u>2nd DWI off</u>-2 yrs (After 2 yrs., a conditional license may be issued); <u>3rd DWI off</u>- 3 yrs (After 3 yrs., a conditional license may be issued) (Note: For <u>Levels 3, 4, & 5</u> Punishment: Temporary license withdrawal as a condition of probation.)

Yes See \$20-179.2. Yes Under \$20-179.1, treatment may be order by the court as a condition of probation. Also, under \$29-179(k1), the court may order that a term of imprisonment imposed as a condition of probation be served in an inpatient alcohol treatment facility.

Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

¹For persons who have provisional licenses, persons 16-18 yrs old, the following sanctions apply:

1) For the offs of driving with any alcohol in their body but where such amount would not result in a normal DWI charge and conviction (see 920-138.3) - a rev for 45 dys or until the person reaches 18 whichever is the longer rev period; this revocation period is mandatory.

2) For a DWI conviction - a rev for 45 dys or until the person reaches 18 whichever is the longer rev period (this revocation period is mandatory) <u>plus</u> a regular DWI rev. These revs, however, are to run concurrently; see 620-13.2.

²Special Note: Under \$20-179.3, a limited driving privilege may be granted for essential purposes as specified in the section (e.g., employment) provided a driver has not had either a previous conviction w/n 7 yrs or a previous DWI injury related conviction; the privilege is not effective until after the Court ordered license withdrawal period, if any, has been completed as a part of probation requirements.

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: None Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released:

Other:

Miscellaneous Sanctions Not included Elsewhere: A driver's veh may be subject to forfeiture if the driver is convicted of driving while his/or her license is revoked where the basis of the rev was a DWI conviction. §20-28.2

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

> Sanctions: Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term):

> > Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal:

> Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other:

Yes, Death by Vehicle (CI I felony if death is DWI related) Misd (If death is not DWI related) \$20-141.4

<u>Cl | felony</u>-Not more than 5 yrs (§14-1.1); <u>Misd</u>-Not more than 2 yrs (§20-141.4(b)) None

<u>Cl 1 felony</u>-Fines authorized but not specified in the statue; see §14-1.1; Misd-Not more than \$500 (§20-141.4(b))

None

Alono

Rev

I yr unless the trial judge issues a limited driving privilege to the person convicted containing a condition that the defendant successfully completes a course of instruction at an Alcohol Drug. Ed. Traffic School. If the defendant complies with these provisions, the Division must restore his/her license within 6 mos. \$\$20-17(1) and 29-19(c)

None None

<u>Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol</u> <u>Use and Driving</u>: (continued)

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense:

> Sanction: Criminal:

> > Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No):

• • • • • • • • •

Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: (See "Other" under Vehicle Impoundment/ Confiscation.)

<u>Ist off</u>-Not to exceed 2 yrs; <u>2nd off</u>-Not to exceed 2 yrs; <u>3rd off</u>-Not to exceed 2 yrs 20-28(a); If a person's license has been permanently revoked and they thereafter drive they commit a misd-30 dys to 2 yrs

. . .

. ..

If a person's license has been permanently revoked and they thereafter drive they commit a misd - **30 dys**

<u>Ist off</u>-Not less than \$200; <u>2nd off</u>-Not less than \$200; <u>3rd off</u>-Not less than \$200, 20-28(a); If a person's license has been permanently revoked and they thereafter drive they commit a misd-Not more than \$1,000

None

<u>lst off</u>-Susp or Rev; <u>2nd off</u>-Susp or Rev; <u>3rd</u> <u>off</u>-Rev

1

<u>lst off</u>-l yr (additional to original term); <u>2nd</u> <u>off-2</u> yrs (additional to original term); <u>3rd</u> <u>off</u>-Permanently

<u>Ist off-90 dys; 2nd off-12 mos; 3rd off-3 yrs;</u> (The licensing agency may issue a new license with or without conditions after these terms of license withdrawal.)

Special Note: If a person is convicted of a DWI off and they were at the time of such off driving while their license was revoked for a previous DWI off conviction (w/n 7 yrs), the Court must impose Level I punishment as set out under Other Penalties. See \$20-179(c)

No (Note: The habitual offender law (\$\$20-220 to 20-231) was repealed by Session Laws 1977, Ch. 243, \$1.)

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)				анана 1917 — Алтана 1917 — Алтана	à
Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal off if	-				
Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status				, ,	
Sanctions Following a Conviction of	·				
Driving While on Habitual Offender					
Status:					
Imprisonment (Term):					
Mandatory Minimum Term of					
Imprisonment:			· ·		
Fine (\$ Range):					
Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$):	1				
Licensing Actions (Specify):					
<u>Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use</u> <u>And Driving</u> : Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on					
Persons Killed in Traffic	-	· · · ·	•		· .
Accidents:		19			
State Has Such a Law (Yes/No):	No				
BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the					
the Following Persons:		· · ·			
Driver:		· ·			
Vehicle Passengers:				· · · ·	
Pedestrian:					÷
Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages					
Concerning Alcoholic Beverages:		•		41.	
Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:	21 (Year Eff: 188-302	1986)	§§188-30	0,188-3	<u>8</u> 10
Minimum Age (Years) Possession:	21				
Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:	21				
Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions:					
State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No):	Yes, \$\$188-120	et seq.	/ (Law i	mits rec	overy to

¹These statutory provisions create a Dram Shop type of Hability to situations involving minors (those persons under 19 yrs old) who cause damages while DWI and places limitations on damage amounts which can be awarded in such actions under such statuary provisions. However, the law specifically does not limit or prohibit other types of Dram Shop civil actions which are based either on other statutes or on case law.

\$500,000)

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:

Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:

Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

ICert. den., 462 U.S. 1106 (1983). ²Administrative penalty

Yes, Hutchens v. Hankins, 303 S.E.2d 584 (N.C. App. 1983) and Chastain v. Litton Systems, Inc., 694 F.2d 957 (CA4, 1982) 1.

No (Note: There are no State cases directly on this issue; however, see Chastain v. Litton, Systems, Inc., 694 F.2d 957 (CA 4th Cir., 1982)

None

None N/A

Ist off-up to \$500²; 2nd off-up to 750²; 3rd off-up to \$1,0002; 188-104 \$188-305

Yes, (left to Board's discretion whether to suspended or revoked.) \$188-104 188-305 Length of Term of License Withdrawal: For a specified time up to 3 yrs if suspended and permanently if revoked \$188-104 \$188-305

None

N/A Ist off-up to \$5002; 2nd off-up to \$7502; 3rd

off-up to \$1,000²); \$188-104 and \$188-302



<u>Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use</u> <u>And Driving</u>: (continued)

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

> License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Yes (Left to Board's discretion whether suspended or revoked.) \$18b-104 \$188-302 For a specific time up to 3 yrs if suspended and permanently if revoked. \$188-104 and \$188-302

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

No

.

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Yes¹ §188-401(a) Yes¹ driver only §188-401(a)

¹The law states that "it shall be unlawful for a person to transport fortified wine or spiritous liquor in the passenger area of a motor veh in other than the manufacturer's unopened original container. It shall be unlawful for a person who is driving a motor veh on a highway or public veh area to consume in the passenger area of that veh any malt beverage or unfortified wine." .

.

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):
Presumption (BAC Level):
Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law:	Yes	\$39-20-14
Implied Consent Law:		
Arrest Required (Yes/No):	Yes	§39-20-01
Implied Consent Law Applies to		
Drugs (Yes/No):	Yes	§39-20-01
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test		
Admitted into Evidence:	Yes	(Criminal Cases) §39-20-08
	Admi	ssible provided the defendant testifies.
Other Information:	In a	ny accident in which there is either a death

None

None

NORTH DAKOTA

§39-08-01(1) & (2)

§39-08-01(1) & (2)

See: North Dakota Century Code Annotated

Under the influence of intoxicating liquor

0.10 \$\$39-08-01(1) & (2) and 39-20-07(3)

(1) Any Drug or Substance, (2) Any Combination of Drugs or Substances and (3) a Combination of Intoxicating Liquor and Any Drug or Substance

In any accident in which there is either a death or a serious bodily injury and there is probable cause showing that a driver is DWI, such driver may be compelled to submit to a chemical test; see \$39-20-01.1.

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes
Urine:	Yes
Other:	Saliva

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):

Yes \$39-08-01

No

No

Preceding Page Blank

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>: (continued)

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

No

Same as for Implied Consent Refusal \$\$39-20-04 & 39-20-14 None

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test

Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): None

Ist refusal Rev.-1 yr ;2nd refusal (w/n 5 yrs.) Rev.-2 yrs; 3rd or sub. refusal (w/n 5 yrs.) Rev.-3 yrs. These license revocations are mandatory; i.e., no temporary restricted license may be issued. See 39-05.1-11(2) & 39-20-04.1 None

Other:

Other:

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment:

> Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

Other Penalties: Community Service: <u>lst off</u> (CI B Misd)-Not more than **30 dys**; <u>2nd</u> <u>off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) (CI B Misd)-Not more than **30** dys; <u>3rd</u> (w/n 5 yrs) (CI A Misd)-Not more than I yr; <u>4th and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 7 yrs) (CI A Misd)-Not more than I yr

<u>1st off-No; 2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-4 dys of which 48 hrs must be served cons; <u>3rd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-60 dys of which 48 hrs must served cons; <u>4th and subsequent off</u> (w/n 7 yrs)-180 dys of which 48 hrs must be served cons. See note on p. 3-276.

<u>Ist off</u>-Not more than \$500; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-Not more than \$500; <u>3rd off</u>s (w/n 5 yrs)-Not more than \$1,000; <u>4th and subsequent</u> <u>off</u>-Not more than \$1,000 <u>Ist off</u>-\$250; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-\$500; <u>3rd and</u> <u>subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs) \$1,000

<u>lst off-No; 2nd and subsequent off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-10 dys as an alternative to imprisonment

¹Special Note: Previous DWI convictions are considered as previous refusals for the purpose of determining license enhancement sanctions under the Implied Consent Law.

3 - 274

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

> Restitution (eq Victim's Fund)

Other:

Yes By the defendant for all offs (\$\$5-01-06, 12.1-32-02 & 12.1-32.08) and via a victims' compensation fund (\$65-13-01 et seq.). Special Note: North Dakota has two alcohol-driving offs, \$\$39-08-01(1) & 39-08-01(2). The provisions are identical except that under \$39-08-01(1) "A person may not drive any veh" whereas, under \$39-08-01(2), "A person may not be in actual physical control of any veh." The penalties for both offs are the same. However, the imposition of mandatory sanctions is <u>not</u> required following a conviction under \$39-08-01(2) whereas it is required following a conviction under \$39-08-01(1); see also \$39-08-01(5)(e)(1).

Yes-0.10 BAC and the person was arrested for violating \$39-08-01¹; <u>1st off</u>-91 dy susp (30 dys are mandatory); <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-**364 dy susp** (mandatory); and 3rd and sub. off (w/n 5 yrs.)-2

Ist off-Susp; 2nd off (w/n 5 yrs)- Susp; 3rd off

1st off-91 dys; 2nd off (w/n 5 yrs)-364 dys; 3rd

(w/n 5 yrs)-Susp; Note: <u>4th off</u> (w/n 7 yrs)-Susp, treated as a 1st off **\$\$39-06-35** &

<u>Ist off</u>-30 dys (A temporary license may be issued after the 30 dy mandatory period; see \$39-06.1-11.); 2nd off (w/5 yrs)- **364** dys; 3rd

vrs. susp. (mandatory)

off (w/5 yrs)-728 dys

off (w/n 5 yrs)-728 dys

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law:

Other:

<u>Post DWL Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education:

Yes

None

39-06.1-10

See \$\$39-20-03.1, 39-06.1-11(2) & 39-20-04.1.

STATE - North Dakota

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued)

Alcohol Treatment:

and the second second and the second second and the second second second second second and the second states and present and second and the second
Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe): Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other:

I HAR THE REAL PROPERTY OF THE , · · Miscellaneous Sanctions

Not Included Elsewhere:

and the second
Yes For 1st, 2nd and 3rd alcohol-driving off convictions, the sentence must include referral to a treatment program; see \$39-08-01(5) Note: Under Section 16 of Senate Bill 2373 as enacted in 1983 a person's license may be suspended for failure to participate in and complete a Court ordered alcohol treatment program; see the cited section for details on susp periods.

> 1. 1. The second sec and the second second

License plates may be impounded following a conviction for an alcohol driving off; see §39-08-01(4)

Note: Special mandatory sanctions apply if either death or injury is caused by a DWI. If a person is convicted of DWI and either manslaughter (\$12,1-16-02) or negligent homicide (§12.1-16-03), there is a mandatory penalty of 1 yr. imprisonment. If, a person is convicted of both DWI and reckless driving where there is a personal injury caused by the convicted driver, there is a mandatory penalty of 90 dys imprisonment. See §§39-06-31(1) & 39-08-01.2.

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

an an tha an Bit Homicide by Vehicle:

State Has Such Law/Type of off: Sanctions: . . . Criminal Sanction:

Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine:

No See note above.

No

. and the state of the

and the second state of th

STATE - North Dakota

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action:

> Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: Mandatory Action—Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other:

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Adm

Special Note: Even though this State does not have a veh homicide statute, it, nevertheless, provides for mandatory license rev from 30 dys to 1 yr for a conviction of manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor veh. \$39-06-31-(1)

Cl B Misd Not more than **30 dys**; §**39-06-42**; Note: Under §**39-06-42(3)**, license plates may also be impounded for the duration of the driver's license susp/rev.

4 con. dys See \$\$39-06-42(2) & 37-08-01 Not more than \$500 None

Additional mandatory susp for a like period¹, a person driving while his license is revoked would incur a mandatory 1-yr extension of the period of Rev. Note: Special licensing actions apply for a violation of the conditions of a restricted license; see 39-06.1-11, 39-06-43 and 39-08-01.

Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action: Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

See above

Same as above; see §39-06.1-11(2)N/A

¹If the actual suspension was for an indefinite or unstated period of time, the additional suspension shall be for a period of six (6) months.

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual offender: Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

. .

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession: Minimum Age (Years) Consumption: No

Yes \$39-20-13

Yes Yes

21 (yr eff: 1936) §§5-01-08 & 5-02-06 21 None Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No):

> "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation): Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:

Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

> Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term of License Withdrawal)

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

> License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Yes \$5-01-06.1 Special Note: The law prohibits an adult passenger, who is injuried while riding with an intoxicated driver, from bringing a dram shop cause of action.

No

Possible statutory liability See \$5-01-06 None

Cl A Misd \$5-01-09 Not more than | yr \$12.1-32-01 Not more than \$1,000 \$12.1-32-01

Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Time period not specified in the statute \$5-02-11

> CI A Misd \$\$5-01-09 & 5-02-06 Not more than 1 yr \$12.1-32-01 Not more than \$1,000 \$12.1-32-01

Yes, rev or susp \$\$5-02-10 and 25-02-11 Time period not specified in the statute \$5-02-11

. .

<u>Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use</u> <u>And Driving</u>: (continued)

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

No

3 - 280

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Yes \$39-08-18

Yes Driver and passengers \$37-08-18 (The law states that "no person shall drink or consume alcoholic beverages ... in or on any motor veh when such veh is upon a public highway or in an area used principally for public parking.")

6th Edition

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense: illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence:

OHIO See C

See Ohio Revised Code Annotated

Under the influence of alcohol \$4511.19(A)(1) 0.10¹ \$4511.19(A)(2) & (3) None e", coa (1) Any Drug or (2) Combination of These and Alcohol \$4511.19(A)(1) None the second second second second second second and the second of · · · · 10 B. B. B. No Let Brits Let Brits and Article 1 Yes §4511.191(A) Yes 4511.191(A) Yes City of Westerville v. Cunningham, 239 N.E.2d 40 (1968)

Other Information:

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

 Blood:
 Yes \$4511.191(A)

 Urine:
 Yes \$4511.191(A)

 Other:
 Probably no ("Other bodily substance applicable to 4511.19 but not mentioned in \$4511.191 which is the implied Consent Statute) \$4511.191(A), and \$4511.19

No

No

No -

None

Adjudication of DVI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test:</u>

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test:	
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	N/A
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	N/A
Other:	N/A

Note: The illegal per selevels for blood and breath are 0.10; however; the illegal per selevel of urine is 0.14 (§4511.19(A)(4)).

· · ·

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>: (continued)

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail):

Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): <u>Ist Refusal</u>-Not more than \$100; <u>2nd refusal</u> (w/n | yr)--30 dys and not more than \$250; <u>3rd</u> <u>and subsequent refusals</u> (w/l yr. of lst)--not more than 60 dys and not more than \$500; \$\$4511.99(E) and 2929.21

For <u>any Refusal</u> Susp-1 yr \$4511.191(D) (Occupational driving privileges may be granted; see \$4511.191(G)(5)) None

Other:

STATE - Ohio

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment: Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

Misd of the first degree, <u>lst Off</u> - Not more than 6 mos; <u>2nd Off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - Not more than 6 mos; <u>Subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - **30-dys-1** yr \$\$2929.21 & 4511.99(A) <u>lst Off</u> - 3 dys[#]; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - 10 dys; <u>Subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - **30 dys**; These dys are to be served consecutively

Fine:

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

Other Penalties: Community Service: Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)

Other:

<u>ist Off</u> -\$150-1,000; <u>2nd off</u> (w/5 yrs) -\$150-1,000; <u>Subsequent offs</u> (w/5 yrs)- \$150-1,000 \$150 for all offenses

None

Yes: (Compensation by the defendant for property damage to a victim; see §2929.21(E).) Driver's intervention program; see §3720.66.

*In lieu of this 3 day jail sanction, the court may place a defendant on probation and order them to attend a driver's intervention program for 3 consecutive days; see §§4511.99(A)(!) and 3720.66.



Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued)

Administrative Licensing Actions:

Other:

<u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law:

Rons

At the initial court appearance, following a DWI arrest, the court shall immediately suspend a driver's license if the driver, at the time of arrest, either refused to submit to a chemical test or, having submitted to such a test, was found to have a BAC level of 0.10 or more and one of the following: 1) The driver has had a previous DWI conviction; 2) The driver's license is either revoked or suspended; 3) The driver has caused either death or serious harm to another person; 4) The driver fails to appear for the hearing; or 5) The court determines that the driver's continued operation of a motor veh will be a threat to the public safety. This susp continues until the DWI charge is adjudicated; this usually takes 90 dys after the DWI arrest. It appears that occupational driving privileges may be granted during this susp period. Note: A law enforcement officer may sieze a driver's license after a DWI arrest if the driver refuses to submit to a chemical test or if the driver's BAC level is 0.10 or more. See \$\$4511.191(E), (G), (J), and (K).

<u>Post DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

<u>1st Off-Susp; 2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) Susp; <u>Subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - Susp; \$4507.16(B) See Special Note below.

<u>1st Off</u> -60 dys-3 yrs; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-120 dys-5 yrs; Occupational driving privileges may be granted for 1st and <u>2nd off</u>s; see \$4507.16(D); Subsequent off (w/n 5 yrs)-180 dys-10 yrs

<u>3rd & Subsequent Off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-180 dys \$4507.16(F); After the mandatory minimum term, occupational driving privileges may be granted \$4507.16(D)

Special Note: A driver's license can also be revoked for any DWI offense conviction undar \$4507.16(B). This section does not provide for a specific period of time for such revocation. However, \$4507.34 provides that revocation periods shall not exceed I year for the operation of a vehicle relating to "recklessness." In City of Columbus v. Tyson, 484 N.E.2d 155 (Ohio App. 1983), the court held that the term "recklessness" in this particular section included other offenses not just strictly the offense of operating a vehicle in a reckless manner. As a result, DWI might be included in this term. Further court decisions, no doubt, will be necessary in order to resolve this issue.

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DW1_Offense</u>: (continued)

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe): and the second
May be imposed if defendant is an alcoholic or suffering from acute alcohol intoxication. This treatment may be imposed in place of a jail term. Confinement shall be for at least 3 dys and no more than length of maximum prison sentence. §2935.33

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: I Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other:

Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere:

<u>Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol</u> Use_and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Off:

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term): No

Yes

(Special Note: A vehicle's registration certificate and license plates may be impounded if the owner thereof has had their driver's license either suspended or revoked; see \$4507.164. Note: This applies not only to DWI susps/revs but also to susps/revs for other types of traffic law offenses.

Special Note: A license may be suspended via a point system under \$4507.40. In brief, under this section a DWI conviction results in as assessment of 6 points; if a driver accumulates 12 or more points from traffic violations within a 2 yr period, their license may be suspended for 6 mos.

Yes Aggrevated Vehicle Homicide-felony (\$2903.06) and Negligent vehicle homicide-1st off -misd; sub. off-felony (\$2903.07)

· ·

Aggrevated Vehicle Homicide: Ist off (felony 4th degree)-18 mos-5 yrs; <u>sub. off</u> (felony 3rd degree)-2-10 yrs <u>Vehicle Homicide</u>: Ist off (misd. 1st degree)-not more than 6 mos; <u>sub. off</u> (felony 4th degree)-18 mos-5 yrs <u>\$\$2929.11</u> & 2929.21 See Footnote No. 1 on p. 3-285.

3 - 284

6th Edition

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)	
Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range):	See Footnote No. 2. <u>Aggrevated Vehicle Homicide: 1st off</u> (felony 4th degree)-not more than \$2,500; <u>sub. off</u> ¹ (felony 3rd degree)-not more than \$5,000 <u>Vehicle Homicide: 1st off</u> (misd. 1st degree)-not more than \$1,000; <u>sub. off</u> ¹ (felony 4th degree)-not more than \$2,500 §52929.11 & 2929.21
Mandatory Minimum Fine:	See Footnote No. 2.
Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and	
Type of Action:	For either Aggrevated Vehicle Homicide or Vehicle Homicide-Susp or rev See §§2903.06(B), 2903.07(B), 4507.16(A), 4507.16(C) & 4507.34 and City of Columbus v. Tyson, 484 N.E.2d 155 (Ohio App. 1983).
Length of Term of	
Licensing Withdrawal:	For either Aggrevated Vehicle Homicide or Vehicle Homicide-susp-30 dys-3 yrs or rev-not more than I yr For either offense, if alcohol

Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal:

Other:

For either Aggrevated Vehicle Homicide or Vehicle Homicide-susp-30 dys-3 yrs or rev-not more than I yr For either offense, if alcohol or drugs were involved, the driver's license is permanently revoked.

or drugs were involved, the driver's license is

permanently revoked.

For either offense, 6 points are assessed against a driver's record; see §4507.021(G)(3). A driver's license may be suspended for 6 mos if a person has accumulated 12 points w/n a 2 year period.

A previous offense includes either either a \$2903.06 or \$2903.07 offense. ²For either type of offense, either a second offender or a lst offender who has had a previous DWI conviction is not eligible for probation; see §§2903.06(C) & 2903.07(C).

3 - 285

STATE - Ohio

<u>Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol</u> <u>Use and Driving</u>: (continued)

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense:

Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Habitual Offender Laws:

State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status:

Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify): §§4507.02 & 4507.99

Not more than 6 mos (Misd of the first degree)

None Not more than \$1,000 \$4507.99 None

Susp points gained (certificate of registration and license plates in defendant's name shall be impounded for duration of license susp time.) \$4507.02(F)

Discretionary susp for not more than 1 yr or; mandatory 6 points on 12-point susp system \$\$4507.99 and 4507.021

None

No

¹Driving while suspended for an implied consent law violation (refusal)-Misd. of the first degree: Imprisonment-not more than 6 mos (\$2929.21(B)(1)); fine-not more than \$1,000 (\$2929.(C)(1)); and license revocation-not more than 1 year (\$4511.99(B)); see generally \$\$4511.192 & 4511.99.

Driving:	
Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on	
Persons Killed in Traffic	
Accidents:	
State Has Such a Law (Yes/No):	No
BAC Chemical Test is Given to the	
the Following Persons:	
Oriver:	
Vehicle Passengers:	,
Pedestrian:	
Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages	
Concerning Alcoholic Beverages:	
Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:	21 \$\$4301.63 & 4301.69 (Year Eff: 1987)
Minimum Age (Years) Possession:	21 \$4301.632
Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:	21 \$\$4301.631, 4301.632 & 4301.69
Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No):	Yes \$\$4399.01, 4399.02 & 4399.18
"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been	165 334333.01, 4333.02 & 4333.10
Adopted Via a Change to the Common	
Law Rule by Action of the Highest	
Court of Record in the State (Case	
Citation):	Yes, Mason v. Roberts, 244 N.E. 2d 844 (19
Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:	No Settlemyer v. Wilmington Veterans Post
brain Shop Actions-Social Hosts.	No. 49, American Legion, Inc.,
	464 N.E.2d 521 (1984)
Other:	None
omer :	
Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees	
of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic	
Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:	
Type of Criminal Action:	3rd Degree - Misd \$\$4301.22(8), 4301.991(
Term of Imprisonment:	Not more than 60 days; §2929.21(B)(3)
Fine (\$ Range):	Not more than \$500; \$2929.21(c)(3)
Administrative Actions Against Owners of	
Establishments that Serve Alcoholic	
Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:	
License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages	
Withdrawn (Yes/No):	Yes \$\$4301.25 and 4301.27

ς.

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol_Use And Driving: (continued)

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

> Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

> License to Serve Alcohlic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Misd

Misd. 1st Degree: Not more than 6 mos; §2929.21(B)(1) Misd. 3rd Degree: Not more than 60 days; §2929.21(B)(3) Misd. 1st Degree: Not more than \$1,000; §2929.21(c)(1) Misd. 3rd Degree: Not more than \$5,000; §2929.21(c)(3)

Yes \$\$4301.25 and 4301.27 Indeterminate

Yes 4301:1-1-50 (regulation)

No

Yes Drivers and passengers \$4301.64 (The law states that "No person shall consume any beer or intoxicating liquor in a motor veh")

IA person may be charged with a misd. of <u>either</u> the 1st or 3rd degree; see \$\$4301.22(A), 4301.69, 4301.99(C) & \$4301.99(E).

5 - 288

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):
Presumption (BAC Level):

Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

3

. . .

. •

Other:

OKLAHOMA

See Oklahoma Statutes Annotated

(1) Under the influence of alcohol (see 47 \$110902(A)(2)) and (2) Impaired by the consumption of alcohol (see 47 \$761(A))
0.10 Title 47 \$11-902(A)(1)
0.05 and <0.10 is evidence of Driving While Impaired Title 47 \$756(b)
(1) Intoxicating Substances or (2) a Combination of These and Alcohol 47 \$11-902(A)(3) & (4)
0.10 BAC level is also prima facie evidence that a person was under the influence of alcohol Title 47 \$756(c)

· . .

. .

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law:	No.
Implied Consent Law:	
Arrest Required (Yes/No):	Yes 47 §751
Implied Consent Law Applies to	the second s I the second
Drugs (Yes/No):	Yes 47 §751 (A)
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test	'
Admitted into Evidence:	Yes (Criminal Cases) 47 §756
Other Information:	Note: The law authorizes a mandatory chemical test in situations where there is probable cause

and the second

test in situations where there is probable cause that a person has been operating a motor vehicle while DWI and such operation has caused either death or serious physical injury to another person. See 47 §753.

and the second
Other Chemical	Tests	for	BAC Level	Which	
Are Authorized	Under	Law	(Implied	Consent	Law)

Blood: Urine: Other:	No None
Adjudication of DWI Charges:	ار المادية معادية. المحمد المحمد المحم المحمد المحمد المحم
Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI)	No No
(Yes/No):	Yes, (2nd and subsequent offs) 22 §982

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test:	
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	N/A
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	N/A
Other:	N/A

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail):

None

Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

Rev 6 mos (Note: Hardship driving privileges are available) 47 \$\$753, 754.1 & 755

Other:

None

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions:

Imprisonment:

Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$): Other Penalties: Community Service: Restitution (eg Victim's Fund) Other: Driving While Under the Influence/Illegal Per Se <u>lst Off</u> (Misd)-10 dys-1 yr; <u>2nd & subsequent</u> <u>offs</u> (w/n 10 yrs-felony)-1 yr-5 yrs 47 \$11-902; Personal Injury Accident w/BAC of 0.10-<u>1st Off</u> (Misd)-90 dys-1 yr; <u>2nd Off</u> (felony)-1-5 yrs 47 \$11-904

<u>For all offs</u> - None (Note: A Court has the power the suspend a sentence and/or place a defendant on probation; see 22 §991a)

Driving While Impaired, <u>1st off</u>-\$100-300; <u>2nd &</u> <u>subsequent offs</u>-\$100-300 47 §761; Driving While Under the Influence/Illegal Per Se, <u>1st Off</u> (Misd) - Not more than \$1,000; <u>2nd & subsequent</u> <u>offs</u> (w/n 10 yrs-felony)-Not more than \$2,500 47 §11-902; Personal injury Accident w/BAC of 0.10, <u>1st off</u> (Misd)-Not more than \$2,000; <u>2nd off</u> (Felony)-Not more than \$5,000; 47 §11-904 None

For all offs - Yes; see 22 \$991a

For all offs - Yes; see 22 \$991a None

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law:

Yes - 0.10 BAC level; Rev for 90 dys (The rev may be modified by a District Court in cases of unusual hardship related to employment) 47 \$\$754 & 755 None

Other:

Post DWI Conviction Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Fo

> Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal: For driving while impaired (47 §76J)- <u>lst Off</u>-No licensing action is taken for a lst off; <u>2nd</u> and subsequent offs-Susp 47 §761; For Driving While Under the Influence/Illegal Per Se (47 §11-902)¹; <u>lst Off-Rev; lst Off</u> (where there has a previous driving while impaired off w/n 3 yrs)-Rev¹; Sub. off.-Rev.

For driving while impaired, <u>2nd and subsequent</u> offs-6 mos; For driving While Under the influence/illegal Per Se, <u>1st Off</u>-6 mos; <u>1st Off</u> (where there has been a previous driving while impaired off w/3 yrs)-1 yr; <u>2nd Off</u>- Rev 2 yrs; <u>3rd off</u> w/n 3 yrs - Rev 3 yrs; 47 §96-205 and 6-208

For driving while impaired <u>2nd and subsequent</u> <u>offs</u>-6 mos; For Driving While Under the Influence/Illegal Per Se, <u>1st Off</u>-6 mos; <u>1st Off</u> (where there has been a previous driving while impaired Off w/n 3 yrs.)-1 yr; <u>2nd Off</u>-2 yrs; 3rd Off-3 yrs

The revs for a violation of 47 \$11-902 would, it appears, apply also to violations 47 \$11-904 (See 47 \$6-205 and 47 \$756); however, there are no specific licensing actions in 47 \$11-904.

3 - 291

and set of the second

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

Other: Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment:



r≉a kara kara (ber set) Aray kara (ber set) (ber set) Aray (ber set)

Yes Nonprofit educational institutions of higher learning, governmental or nonprofit organizations offer courses for drinking driver retraining; a court may (with defendant's consent), upon DWI defendant's plea of guilty or nolo contendere, but before judgement is entered, commit defendant to undertake these courses. Further judicial proceedings are deferred only upon conditions that defendant attend and successfully complete courses at their own expense. A defendant could be assigned to an alcohol treatment program while they are serving their imprisonment sanctions; see 47 §§11-902(c), (d), & (e), 11-902.1, 11-902.2 and 11-902.3. In addition, under 47 \$6-212.2, a DWI defendant must complete an alcohol and substance abuse course before their license can be reinstated.

х 1	5	· · · · ·
Alcohol Education/		
Treatment as an Altern-	5	$C_{i} = (1 + 1) (1 +$
arive to criminal		general films of the second
Licensing Actions		
(Describe):		s di
Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscatio	ก่ะ	• • · ·
Authorized by Specific		
Statutory Authority:	No	
Terms Upon Which Vehicle		· ·
Will Be Released:		
Other:	None	
Miscellaneous Sanctions		
Not Included Elsewhere:	None	

Yes

. .

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle:

State Has Such Law/Type of Offense: Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction:

Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Yes Misd. 21 555 & 6 and 47 511-903

Not more than 1 yr in the county jail None

\$100-1,000

None

Special Note: The Oklahoma Courts have decided that if a veh homicide is proximately caused by an alcohol driving law offender, for a first off the charge may be Manslaughter I and for a second off the charge may be Murder II. See respectively para. I of sec. 711 of Title 31 (Mc Connell v. State, 485 P.2d.764 (1971) and White v. State 483 P.2d 751 (1971) and para 2 sec. 701.8 of Title 21 (Isom v. State, 646 P.2d 1288 (1982)).

Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal:

> Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other:

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DW1 Offense: Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: <u>lst off</u>-6 mos; <u>2nd off</u>-2 yrs 47 \$\$6-205(1), 6-208(b)(1) & (3) and 11-903(c)

6 Mos None

Rev

Where the original licensing action was a 1st or 2nd driving off of either under the influence 111egal Per Se or Admin. Pe Se - 10 dys to 12 mos; Where the original licensing action was a 3rd off of either driving under the influence, 111egal Per Se or Admin Per Se action (w/n 3 yrs) - 60 dys to 1 yr; 47 \$6-303(c)

None

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Where the original licensing action was a 1st or Fine (\$ Range): 2nd off of either driving under the influence, Illegal Per Se or Admin Per Se - \$250-600; Where the original licensing action was a 3rd off of either driving under the influence, Illegal Per Se or Admin Per Se (w/n 3 yrs) - \$500-2,000 Mandatory Minimum Fine: None Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Susp or nev; 47 %6-303(d) Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action: Period of susp/rev extended not more than 12 mos; 47 §6-303(d). Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action: Period of susp/rev extended not more than 12 mos; 47 \$6-303(d) . . . Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): No Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents:

> State Has Such a Law (Yes/No); BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian;

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages:

> Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

> Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

> Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

21 37 §241 & 37 §537 (a)(1) (Year Eff: 1983) 21 (Applies to possession of alcoholic beverages of not more than 3.2% alcohol in a public places 21 §1215, 37 §163.11, 37 §537(a)(1), & (5) and 37 §538(e) see the special note below.

Special Note: Under 37 \$537(a)(8) No one may consume (or possess with the intent to consume) alcoholic beverages containing more than 3.2% alcohol in public. Under 37 \$246 alcoholic beverages containing less than 3.2% alcohol may not be consumed in public by a person under 21 yrs old unless the person is being directly supervised by either a parent or guardian.

Yes Brigance v. The Velvet Dove Restaurant, et al., 725 P.2d 300 (Okl. 1986) No (No Cases) None

For alcoholic beverages except nonintoxicating beverages¹ Felony 37 \$506(3), \$537(A)(2) & \$538(G) Not more than 1 yr 37 \$538(G) \$500-1,000 37 \$538(G)

No

¹A person who serves a nonintoxicating alcoholic beverage (alcoholic beverages with an alcoholic content of % of 1% to 3.2% alcohol) to an intoxicated person may not have committed an offense under 37 §§537(A)(2) & 538(G); see 37 §§506(3) and 506(13). This matter is not addressed in the laws covering nonintoxicating beverages; see 37 §§163.1 et seq.

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term of License Withdrawal:

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

> License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Yes Rev 37 §528(C)(1)

Length of Term of License Withdrawal: At the discretion of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board

> For alcoholic beverage 3.2% and above - Felony 37 §§537(A)(1) & 538(F); for alcoholic beverages % of 1% to 3.2% Misd 37 §§163.1, 163.20, 217 & 241

> For felony off - Not more than **5 yrs**(37 §538(F)) For misd off - Not more than **6 mos** (37 §217) For felony off - **\$2,500 - \$5,000** (37 §538(F)) For misd off - Not more than **\$500** (37 §217)

Yes Rev 37 \$\$163.11(3), 217, 528(C)(1) & 538(F) For alcoholic beverages 3.2% or more - in the discretion of the alcoholic beverage control board; for nonintoxicating alcoholic beverages of % of 1% to 3.2% - 12 mos

Yes 37 (537(a)(7)

No

Yes, driver and passengers 37 \$537(a)(8) (The law states that "It shall be unlawful to drink intoxicating liquor ... in a public place.") STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

OREGON

See Oregon Revised Statutes

Under the influence of intoxicating liquor \$813.010(1)(b) Yes, 0.08 5813.010(1)(a) None (1) A Controlled Substance or (2) a Controlled Substance and Intoxicating Liquor 5813.010(1)(b) & (c) A BAC level of not less than 0.08 constitutes being under the influence of intoxicating

liquor; see §813.300(2).

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law:	No
Implied Consent Law:	
Arrest Required (Yes/No):	Yes \$813.100
Implied Consent Law Applies to	
Drugs (Yes/No):	No
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test	
Admitted into Evidence:	Yes (Criminal and Civil Cases) \$813.310
Other Information:	None

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which

Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

1.11	and the second second	 1
Blood:		No
Urine:		No
Other:		None

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

• .

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):

Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):

Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC Chemical Test:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test:		
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	N/A	
Administrative Licensing Action		
(Susp/Rev):		
Other:	N/A	

No

Yes \$813.170 Special Note: There is a diversion program for DWI offenders who have not been convicted of a DWI off w/m a 10-yr period; see §813.200 et seq.

Yes §813.020(1)(b)

STATE - Oregon

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>: (continued)

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail):

None

Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

1. Susp for 1 yr if there have been no previous susps for either a test refusal or a DWI off (90 dys are mandatory)

Susp for 3 yrs if there has been either a previous test refusal or a previous DWI off based license susp w/n 5 yrs (1 yr is mandatory)¹ §§813.100, 813.420, 813.430 & 813.520 <u>Important:</u> See Special Note below. None

Other:

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment:

> Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

> Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine:

Amount (\$ Range): Mandatory Min. Fine (\$): Other Penalties: Community Service:

> Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)

Other:

A DW1 off is a C1 A Misd - Not more than 1 yr \$\$813.010(3) & 161.615(1) 48 hrs \$813.020(2)

Not more than 2,500 ORS $161.635(1)(a)^2$ None

80-250 hrs (As an alternative to imprisonment) \$9813.020(2) & 137.129(4)

Yes Direct compensation to victims by the defendant (\$\$137.102 to 137.109) and also via a victims' compensation fund (\$147.005 et seq.) A \$175 fee is charged in addition to any fine imposed; the fee is used to pay for intoxicated driver programs and for police training; see \$\$813.020(1)(a) & 813.030.

¹A restricted hardship license may be issued after this mandatory period; see §813.520(1) & (3). ²There is also a special assessment of \$40 which must be imposed by the court not withstanding other fines, however, (indigent persons are not required to pay this assessment); see ORS §147.259(1).

<u>Special Note:</u> Under §807.220, a person may be issued an emergency driver's license if they are at least 14 years old. Except for restrictions that may placed on the emergency license such as when and where a vehicle may be operated, it appears that such license can be issued for any emergency situation regardless of whether the person being issued this license has had their regular one either suspended or revoked for either (1) an implied consent law refusal, (2) an administrative per se law violation, or (3) a conviction for either a DWI or other traffic law offense(s). This section further provides that for persons 17 years old or younger, an emergency includes the situation where the person has to use a vehicle to travel to and from school.

STATE - Oregon

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:</u> (continued)

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law:

Yes - BAC Level of 0.08 1. A 90 dy susp (30 dys are mandatory¹) if there has been no previous susp for either a chemical test refusal, or an admin. per se violation, or a DWI off

2. A 1 yr susp (mandatory) if there has been (w/n 5 yrs.) a previous susp for either a chemical test refusal, an Admin. Per Se off or a DWI off §§813.100, 813.420, 813.430 & 813.520 <u>important:</u> See Special Note on p. 3-298.

Other:

None

Post DWI Conviction Licensing Action:

Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.): <u>Ist Off-Susp; 2nd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-Susp; Special Note: The State issues special licenses to persons 14-17 yrs old for the purpose of attending educational institutions; the State, it appears, issues such licenses notwithstanding a DWI conviction and the mandatory licensing sanctions provided for such an off if veh transportation is needed by the minor to attend such institutions; see \$\$807.230, 809.420 & 813.400

<u>Ist Off</u>-1 yr; <u>2nd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-3 yrs. Under \$\$809.260 & 809.280(7), a person under 17 but not younger than 13 who is convicted of a DWI offense is subject to the following licensing action: <u>Ist off</u>.-a susp. for 1 yr or until the person reaches 17 whichever is the longer susp. period; <u>2nd or</u> <u>sub. off.</u>-a susp. for 1 yr or until the person reaches 18 whichever is the longer susp. period.

A restricted hardship license may be issued after this mandatory period; see \$813.520(2).

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

Mandatory Minimum Term of

Withdrawal: Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education:

> Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority:

> Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released:

Other:

determine if the offender is a problem drinker. If he or she is determined to be a non-problem drinker, the offender must enroll in an alcohol education program. However, if the offender is

determined to be a problem drinker, he or she must enroll in a rehabilitation program. The offender must enroll in either of these programs before such a license may be issued. See \$813.500.

Yes, See Note above.

Yes, Impoundment for <u>2nd or subsequent DWI</u> offs \$809.700

. . .

After a period of impoundment of not more than 120 dys and after paying the costs of the veh's removal and storage. See ORS §809.700(2) Special Note: This sanction also applies where a person has been driving while their driver's license is either suspended or revoked; see §809.700(1)(a). Under §809.010(1)(b), a peron's vehicle

registration may be suspended a for <u>2nd or</u> <u>subsequent</u> DWI conviction.

Yes

والمراجع والمحمور والمحار المراجع

<u>Ist Off</u>-see Footnote No. 1; <u>2nd Off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-90 dys²; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-1 yr² For persons under 17 but not younger than 13: <u>Ist off</u>-90 dys; <u>2nd and sub. off</u>-1 yr For persons under 17 but not younger than 13, <u>Ist off</u>-90 dys; <u>2nd or sub off</u>-1 yr Important: See Special Note on p. 3-298.

Note: For second or subsequent DWI offense convictions, a restricted hardship license can be issued only following an examination of the DWI offender by the mental health division to

¹A 30 dy susp is mandatory if the defendant within the previous yr has been convicted of a major trafffic off. See 6813.520(8).

 $^{^{2}}$ A restricted hardship license may be issued after this mandatory period; see §813.520(4) & (5).
<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DW1 Offense:</u> (continued)

> Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere:

Under a pilot program to conducted by the State Traffic Safety Commission, a number of counties will be selected to participate in an evaluation of the use of <u>ignition interlock devices</u>. In the counties selected to participate in this program, persons convicted of DWI offenses shall have this device installed in their vehicles prior to being issued a hardship license. This program terminates on June 30, 1989. See H.B. 2449 as enacted in 1987.

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Offense: No Sanctions: Criminal Sanction:

Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action:

Note: Even though this State does not have a veh homicide statute, it, nevertheless, provides for mandatory license rev for 5 yrs for manslaughter etc. resulting from the operation of a motor veh (\$809.410(1)). <u>Important:</u> See Special Note on p. 3-298. Note: \$807.240 on hardship occupational licenses applies only to persons who have had their licenses suspended <u>not</u> revoked; see especially \$807.240(1).

Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: Mandatory Action ---Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other:

STATE - Oregon

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action: Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender:

> Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status:

Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify): Not more than 5 yrs (CI C felony) §§811.175 & 161.605

None :

Not more than \$100,000 \$161.625 None

Rev Note: For a violation of \$811.175, a defendant's veh may be impounded for not more than 120 dys under \$809.700; the vehicle's registration can also be suspended under \$809.010(1)(a).

None

N/A

Yes \$809.600 et seq.

(1) Three serious traffic offs (w/n 5 yr period) or (2) A combination of 20 minor and serious traffic offs w/n a 5-yr period)

5 yrs (1 yr probationary and renewable license is available if certain conditions are met) \$\$807.270 and 809.650 <u>Important:</u> See Special Note on p. 3-298.

CI C felony See 5811.185(3).

5 yrs \$161.605 None \$100,000 \$161.625 No

None

STATE - Oregon

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents:

State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver:

Vehicle Passengers:

Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:

Other:

Yes

Yes (If over 13 yrs of age and within 5 hrs of accident) §146.113 Yes (If over 13 yrs of age and within 5 hrs of

accident) \$146.113

Yes (If over 13 yrs of age and within 5 hrs of accident) §146.113

21 (Year Eff: 1933) \$\$471.410 & 471.430 21 Exemption for either the possession or the consumption of an alcoholic beverage in a private residence accompanied by or with the consent of a parent. \$\$471.410 & 471.430 See above under "Minimum Age (Years) Possession"

Yes §§30.950 & 30.960

Yes, Cambell v. Carpenter, 279 Or, 566 P.2d 893 (1979)|

Yes \$\$30.955 & 30.960 Note: In order to be liable, the social host must have served alcoholic beverages to a guest who was visibly intoxicated.

None

See also Chartrand v. Coos Bay Tavern, Inc., 696 P.2d 513 (1985).

STATE - Oregon

F

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: A Collins I Andi Τv

Type of Criminal Action:	I.) CLA Misd - applies to the sale of alcoholic
	beverages by <u>non-licensed</u> persons ¹⁸² ; see
	§471.410; 2.) Misd - applies to individuals and
	liquor (includes beer and wine) "by the drink"
	licensed establishments; §§472.310 & 472.990
Term of Imprisonment:	1.) <u>CLA Misd</u> - Not more than I yr ¹ Misd <u>Ist</u>
	off- Not more than 6 mos; 2nd or subsequent offs
	- Not more than 1 yr
Fine (\$ Range):	I.) <u>CI_A_Misd</u> - Not more than \$2,500²; <u>Misd_lst_</u>
	off - Not more than \$500; 2nd or subsequent offs
	- Not more than \$1,000
	·

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Yes

Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Any licensed establishment that either sells liquor by the drink, or packaged alcoholic beverages, that violates the liquor laws concerning intoxicated persons may have their license revoked/suspended for an indeterminate period of the time and/or be fined via administrative action; see \$471.385

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

Type of Criminal Action:	 CI A Misd - applies to the sale of alcoholic
	beverages by <u>non-licensed</u> persons ¹⁸² ; see
	§471.410; 2.) Misd - applies to individuals and
	liquor (includes beer and wine) "by the drink"
	licensed establishments; \$\$472.310 & 472.990
Term of Imprisonment:	I.) <u>CLA Misd</u> - Not more than I yr ¹ Misd <u>Ist</u>
	off- Not more than 6 mos; 2nd or subsequent offs
	- Not more than I yr
Fine (\$ Range):	1.) <u>CL A Misd</u> - Not more than \$2,500 ² ; <u>Misd lst</u>
	off - Not more than \$500; 2nd or subsequent offs
	- Not more than \$1,000

For a 3rd off - There is a mandatory imprisonment term of 30 days; see \$471.410(3)(c) and (4). ²The following mandatory fines apply: 1st off - \$350; 2nd and subsequent off - \$1,000; see \$471.410(3)(a), (b), & (c) and (4).

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages

Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Yes

No

. .

Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Any licensed establishment that either sells

.

i . .

liquor by the drink, or packaged alcoholic beverages, that violates the liquor laws concerning minimum legal drinking ages may have their license revoked/suspended for an indeterminate period of the time and/or be fined via admin. action; see \$472.385.

. .

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Yes \$811.170(1)(b) & (c) Yes, driver and passengers \$811.170(1)(a) (Excludes passengers riding in a veh used to carry persons for hire.)

and the second
A Maria Maria Maria

e . .

· ,

S. . .

• • • •

and the second second

in the second second

and the second

and the second s

· · · ·

3 - 305

.

1

. 4 g 14 g 1

.

1. **1**. 1. 1. 1. ۰.

с. ,

21 - 25 - 34

STATE -General Comments:

Other:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Presumption (BAC Level):

PENNSYLVANIA See Pennsylvania Statutes Annotated

Under the influence of alcohol 75 §3731(a)(1) Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): None 0.10 75 \$1547(d)(3) Type of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol: (1) A Controlled Substance or (2) a Controlled Substance and Alcohol 75 §3731(a)(2) & (3) None

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law:	Yes	75 \$1547(k)	
Implied Consent Law:			
Arrest Required (Yes/No):	No		
Implied Consent Law Applies to			
Drugs (Yes/No):	Yes	75 547(a)	
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test			
Admitted into Evidence:	Yes	(Criminal Cases)	75 §1547(e)
Other Information:	None		

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes	75	\$1547
Urine:	Yes	75	\$1547
Other:	None		

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):

Nof No, but see footnote below

Yes 75 \$1548

Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC Chemical Test:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail): None Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): None Other: None

Accelerated Rehabilitation Disposition (A.R.D.) may not be allowed if: (1) defendant was convicted or accepted A.R.D., because of DWI charge within last 7 yrs; (2) present off violated habitual offender statute; (3) if any person other than defendant was seriously injured or killed. Also a judge may not lessen the charge at preliminary hearing.

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> Chemical Test: (continued)

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test

Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Other:

None

.

Susp (12 mos) 75 \$1547(b)(1) (Mandatory) None

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment:

> . Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.): Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range): Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

الحالي المراجع المراجع المراجع المحالي

Other Penalties: Community Service: Restitution (eq Victim's Fund) Any DWI off is a 2nd degree misd

All offs - not more than 2 yrs; 18 \$1104 <u>lst off</u>-48 con hrs¹; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 7 yrs)-30 dys; <u>3rd off</u> (w/n 7 yrs)-90 dys; <u>4th off</u> (w/n 7 yrs)-1 yr 42 \$9721, 75 \$3731(e) & 204 \$303.5

Not more than \$5,000; 18 \$1101 <u>1st off</u>² - \$300; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 7 yrs.)³ - \$300; <u>3rd off</u> (w/n 7 yrs.)³ - \$300; 4th off (w/n 7 yrs)³ - \$300 75 \$3731(e)

1st off² - Possible under A.R.D.

Required under A.R.D. 75 \$3731(e)(6) (Restitution is to be paid by the defendant.)

¹Work release allowed for the purpose of litter collection from either public or private property; see 75 \$3731(h).

²Accelerated Rehabilitation Disposition (A.R.D.). (75 §1552 & Pa. Cr. Pro. Rule 175 et seq.) 1) Acceptance into and satisfactory completion of program may lead to dismissal of DWI charge. 2) Acceptance determined by judge after hearing relevant facts of prosecutor, defendant and any victims. Judge also announces terms of A.R.D. 3) "Conditions of program may be such as may be imposed w/respect to probation after conviction ..., including restitution and costs, and may include other conditions agreed to by parties, except that a fine may not be imposed." 4) Programs duration shall not exceed 2 yrs. 5) If defendant is found by Judge, at a hearing, to have violated A.R.D. terms the program will be terminated and the prosecutor may proceed w/the DWI charge(s). 6) When defendant enters A.R.D. program b/c of a DWI charge the Pa. D.O.T. shall keep a record for 7 yrs.

³Acceptance of A.R.D. shall be considered a 1st conviction for purposes of computing any subsequent violations. A.R.D. applies only to first offs.

Other:	If a person is in A.R.D. court supervision for at least 6 mos if counseling/treatment not necessary and for not less than 12 mos if counseling or treatment is necessary. 75 \$3731
Administrative Licensing Actions	counsetting or freatment is necessary. 75 \$5751
Pre-DWI Conviction Licensing Action:	
Administrative Per Se Law:	None
Other:	None
Post DWI Conviction Licensing Action:	
Type of Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	Susp 75 §1532(b)(3)
Term of License Withdrawal	
(Days, Months, Years, etc.):	12 mos or if accepted into A.R.D. program - 1
Mar data a Minimum Tana d	mo to 12 mos
Mandatory Minimum Term of	
Withdrawal:	12 mos or if accepted into A.R.D. program - 1 m
Other:	
Rehabilitation:	
Alcohol Education:	Yes
Alcohol Treatment:	Yes ¹
Alcohol Education/	
Treatment as an Altern-	
ative to Criminal	
Licensing Actions	
(Describe):	Yes
Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation	•
Authorized by Specific	
Statutory Authority:	No
Terms Upon Which Vehicle	
Will Be Released:	
Other:	None
Miscellaneous Sanctions	

I) Every convicted person must take and pass an approved alcohol highway safety class. 2) A Court may order participation (successful) in an individual or group outpatient intervention program to treat substance abuse. Participation may be ordered for up to 2 yrs. 3) If a convicted person is found to be a "chronic" abuser, who represents a "demonstrated and serious" threat, he may be ordered (committed) into treatment at a D.O.H. approved facility. 75 \$1548 Required counseling or treatment under A.R.D.; see 75 \$3731(e)(6).

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle:

State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action:

> Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal:

Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal:

Other:

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWJ Offense:

Sanction:

Criminal: Imprisonment (Term):

.

<u>Ist off</u> - None; <u>2nd and subsequent offs</u> - Not more than 1 yr 75 ± 1543 and 6503^{1}

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

None <u>lst off</u> - \$200; <u>2nd and subsequent offs</u> - \$200 to 1,000

If a person drives on violation of a susp or rev issued as a condition of A.R.D., the following sanctions apply: imprisonment of not less than 90 dys and a fine of \$1,000; see 75 \$1543(b). Note: This is a summary off.

18 \$\$1101, 18 \$\$1103, 18 \$\$1104, 75 sec. 3732, and 75 \$\$3735.

Yes See the following provisions of Pa. law:

<u>Misd 1st degree</u> (non-alcohol related death - 75 \$3732) - Not more than 5 yrs; <u>Felony 3rd degree</u> (alcohol related death - 75 \$3735) - Not more than 7 yrs

<u>Misd 1st Degree</u> (non-alcohol related death) -None; <u>Felony 3rd Degree</u> (Alcohol related death) - **3 yrs** (75 sec. 3735(b))

<u>Misd 1st Degree</u> (Non-alcohol Related Death) not more than \$10,000; <u>Felony 3rd Degree</u> (Alcohol related death) - Not more than \$15,000 None

<u>Misd 1st Degree</u> (Non-Alcohol Related Death) -Rev; <u>Felony 3rd Degree</u> (Alcohol Related Death) - Rev

<u>Misd 1st Degree</u> (Non-Alcohol Related Death) - 1 yr; Felony 3rd Degree (Alcohol Related Death) -1 yr 75 §1532

<u>Misd 1st Degree</u> (Non-Alcohol Related Death) - 1 yr; <u>Felony 3rd Degree</u> (Alcohol Related Death) -1 yr

None

STATE - Pennsylvania

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

None

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender:

> Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitdal Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No):

Yes 75 \$3749

Applies also to A.R.D. susp/rev violations.

3 = 311

If based on a susp - 6 mos (additional); If

based on a rev - I yr (additional) 75 \$1543(c)¹

<u>ist off</u> - Rev; <u>2nd off</u> - Rev 75 §1543

Same as above

Yes

3 convictions of any one or more of the following w/in a 5-yr period: 1) veh homicide when DUI; 2) DWI; 3) other offs listed in 75 §1532; 4) operation following registration's susp; 5) using a veh w/out knowledge or consent of owner; 6) using veh for unlawful sale of alcohol or controlled substance; 7) any felony in which veh was essentially involved. 75 \$1542

5 yrs 75 \$1542

Summary off 75 \$1543

l yr 75 \$6503

None

None

\$200 to 1,000 75 \$6503

2 yrs additional Rev period, 75 \$6503

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use

And Driving: (continued)

BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver:

Vehicle Passengers:

Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:

> Minimum Age (Years) Possession: Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:

Yes (if driver 15 yrs old and died within 4 hrs of the accident)

Yes, but only if the driver of the veh cannot be determined Yes (if over 15 yrs old and died within 4 hrs of

tes (it over 12 yrs old and died within 4 nrs ot the accident)

21 (Yr eff. 1935) 1 \$1991, 18 \$6308 and 47 \$4-493(1) 21

21

Yes 47 \$4-497



Yes, Jardine v. Upper Darby Lodge No. 1973 Inc., 413 Pa. 626, 198 A.2d 550 (1964) Yes (Limited) Congini v. Porterville Valve Co., 470 A.2d 515 (1983); this case limited liability of social hosts to the actions of intoxicated minor guests.¹ See also, Klein v. Raysinger, 470 A.2d 507 (1983); where the court found no social host liability for the actions of adult guests. None

Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:

Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Misd 47 \$\$4-493(1) and 4-494(a) <u>lst off</u> - 1 to 3 mos (for failure to pay fine); <u>2nd and subsequent offs</u> - 3 mos to 1 yr <u>lst off</u> - \$100 to 500; <u>2nd and subsequent offs</u> -\$300 to 500 (Note: There is also a possible civil fine of from \$50 to 1,000, see 47 \$4-471)

See also Macleary v. Hines, 817 F.2d 1081 (3rd Cir. 1987) and Orner v. Mailick, 527 A.2d 521 (1987).

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term of License Withdrawal: 3 yrs if revoked (1 yr for location unless

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

and the second

. . .

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic

Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Yes or liquor control board may impose a fine of \$50 to 1,000. (1 yr for location unless ownership changes hands, including immediate family members.)

3 yrs if revoked () yr for location unless ownership changes hands, including immediate family members.) If suspended: indeterminate 47 §4-471

Misd 47 §§4-493(1) and 4-494(a) <u>lst off</u> - 1 to 3 mos (for failure to pay fine); <u>2nd and subsequent offs</u> - 3 mos to 1 yr <u>lst off</u> - \$100 to 500; <u>2nd and subsequent offs</u> -\$300 to 500 (Note: There is also a possible.

civil fine of from \$50 to 1,000; see 47 \$4-471)

Yes 47 \$4-471

3 yrs if revoked (1 yr for structure unless ownership changes hands, including immediate family); if Susp: indeterminate or Liquor Control Board may impose a fine; see fine range on previous page of \$50 to 1,000.

. .

No

No

۰.

Yes - driver only 75 \$3715

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

PUERTO RICO

See Laws of Puerto Rico Annotated

Standard DWI Offense:	Under the influence of intoxicating drinks 9 \$1041(a)
illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):	None
Presumption (BAC Level):	0.10 9 \$1041 (b) (2)
Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:	 Any Narcotic Drug, (2) Marihuana and (3) Depressing or Stimulating Substance 9 \$1045
Other:	None

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law:	Yes	9 51043
Implied Consent Law:		
Arrest Required (Yes/No);	Yes	9 \$1043
Implied Consent Law Applies to		
Drugs (Yes/No):	No	
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test		
Admitted into Evidence:	n.a.	
Other Information:	None	

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes 9 \$1043
Urine:	Nol
Other:	"Any other substance of his body" 9 \$1043

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):

Yes 9 \$1042

No

No

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath	Test:	
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):		None
Administrative Licensing Action		
(Susp/Rev):		None
Other:		None

The law states that for "any substance of his body <u>except</u> <u>urine;</u>" see 9 \$1043.



<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>: (continued)

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Other:

None

Susp - Not more than 2 yrs 9 \$1044 None

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment: Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

> Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine:

> > . . .

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

Other Penalties: Community Service: Restitution (eg Victim's Fund) Other: <u>lst off</u> - 15 dys; <u>2nd off</u> - 30 dys; <u>3rd off</u> - 60 dys; <u>4th or subsequent off</u> - 60 dys to 6 mos; If injury related: <u>ist off</u> - 30 dys; <u>2nd off</u> - 60 dys; <u>3rd and subsequent off</u> - 30 dys to 6 mos; 9 \$1042All offs - None

.

<u>lst off</u> - \$100-300; <u>2nd off</u> - \$200-400; <u>3rd off</u> - \$300-500; <u>4th and subsequent offs</u> - \$300-500; If injury caused: <u>lst off</u> - \$200-500; <u>2nd off</u> -\$300-500; <u>3rd and subsequent off</u> - \$300-500; 9 \$1042

All offs - None

None

None

May be ordered to take and pass a driver improvement course

.

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law: Other:

None None

. . .

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued)

> <u>Post DW1 Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> > Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Susp (Hardship provision; see 9 \$\$1042(h) and 1042(i)

Until defendant participates in and passes a driver improvement course or until the agency in charge of rehabilitation certifies that the defendant is qualified to drive (probably not more than 1 yr). 9 \$1042(h)

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

None

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education:

A court may suspend the effects of a 1st conviction if a presenting report indicates rehabilatation ("any kind of treatment, orientation, guidance or advice...") would be effective and defendant voluntarily agrees to undergo rehabilitation. For all other off, if a court determines the defendant would benefit from rehabilitation, court shall suspend the jail penalty if the defendant agrees to undergo rehabilitation. Hospitalization, for up to 3 cons mos, may be ordered if the Court deems such treatment is necessary. 9 §1042

Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: No Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other: None Miscellaneous Sanctions

Not Included Elsewhere:

None

¹There are no specific licensing actions for a persons who are convicted of driving while under the influence of "drugs" (9 §1045).

STATE - Puerto Rico

Ither Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle:

State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term):

> Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: Rev Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: l vr Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: 1 yr

Yes Misd. 33 \$4005 (Involuntary manslaughter) or Felony-33 §3044 (Death caused by gross or willful negligence in driving a motor vehicle)

Misd. off-1 yr or 3 yrs (if there are aggravating circumstances); felony off-6 yrs or 10 yrs (if there are aggravating circumstances) See Footnote No. | below.

Misd. off-\$3,000; felony off-none None

Other: None

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense:

Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

ist off-1 to 3 mos; sub. off-3 to 6 mos Misd. 9 \$\$721(13) & 722(d)

Mandatory Minimum Term of imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action: Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

None

None

Ist off-\$200; sub. off-none None

None

Restitution may be imposed.

Habitual Offender Laws:	
State Has Such Law (Yes/No):	No
Grounds for Being Declared an	
Habitual Offender:	
Term of License Rev While	
Under Habitual Offender Status:	
Type of Criminal Offense if	
Convicted on Charges of	
Driving While on Habitual	
Offender Status	
Sanctions Following a Conviction of	
Driving While on Habitual Offender	~
Status:	
Imprisonment (Term):	
Mandatory Minimum Term of	
Imprisonment:	
Fine (\$ Range):	
Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$):	
Liconaina Actions (Sanaiful)	
Licensing Actions (Specify):	
Ercensing Actions (specify):	
Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use	
Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use	
Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:	
Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on	
Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic	ŕY es 9 ≶1043
Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents:	´Y es 9 ≸1043
Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No):	Yes 9 ≸1043
Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the	Ýes 9 §1043
Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons:	
Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver:	Yes
Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers:	Yes No
Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:	Yes No
Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian: Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages	Yes No
Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian: Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages:	Yes No Yes

~

.

.

STATE - Puerto Rico

÷. .

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use	
And Driving: (continued)	
Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No):	No
"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common	
Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case	
Citation):	No
Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:	No
Other:	None
Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic	
Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:	
Type of Criminal Action:	None
Term of Imprisonment:	
Fine (\$ Range):	
Administrative Actions Against Owners of	
Establishments that Serve Alcoholic	
Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:	
License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages	
Withdrawn (Yes/No):	None
Length of Term of License Withdrawal:	
Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve	
Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type	
of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons	
Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:	
Type of Criminal Action:	Misd 3 \$6107
Term of Imprisonment:	30 dys to 6 mos
Fine (\$ Range):	\$100 to 500
Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic	
Beverages to Those Persons Under the	
Minimum Legal Drinking Age:	
License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages	
Withdrawn (Yes/No):	Yes 13 \$6093
Length of Term License Withdrawal:	Indeterminate
Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:	No
Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of	
Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages	
and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic	
Beverages in the Passenger Compartment	
of a Vehicle:	
Open Container Law (Yes/No):	No
Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):	No
3	- 320

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:	
Standard DW1 Offince:	Under the influence of intoxicating liquor \$31-27-2(a)
lllegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):	Yes, 0.10 \$31-27-2(b) Persons under 18 who have a BAC level of between 0.04 and 0.10 are considered to have been driving while impaired which is not a criminal offense; see \$31-27-2.5(d) & (g).
Presumption (BAC Level):	None
Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol"	(1) Any Drug, (2) Toluene, (3) any Controlled
	Substance and (4) Any Combination of These
	substances and intoxicating liquor \$31-27-2(a)
Other:	None
Chaminal Provide Tanda for BAC Lough	
Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:	
Preliminary Breath Test Law:	Yes \$31-27-2.3
Implied Consent Law:	
Arrest Required (Yes/No):	Yes (Implied) \$31-27-2.1
Implied Consent Law Applies to	
Drugs (Yes/No):	Yes 531-27-2.1
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test	
Admitted into Evidence:	D-8.
	····
Other Information:	None

× ;

<u>Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which</u> Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:

. . .

Urine: Other:

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No): Yes (exception on religious grounds.) \$31-27-2 and \$31-27-2.1 Yes \$\$31-27.2 and 31-27.2.1

None

No No Yes, Alcohol assessment \$31-27-2(d)(7)

and the second sec

3 - 321

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

Other:

None

None

Administrative fine-\$15; see \$\$31-27-2.3(B) & 31-41-4.

Ist refusal-\$200-500 and 10-60 hrs of public

period)-\$300-500; <u>3rd and subsequent refusal</u> (w/n a 5 yr period)- \$400-500 (Special Note: In add: ion to the above fines, an assessment fee of \$250 is charged to the defendant.) The

service; 2nd refusal (w/n a 5 yr

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test

Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail):

Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

Other:

imposition of these fines, assessments and/or
public community service is mandatory.)
§31-27-2.1
Ist Refusal- 3-6 mos susp (For persons under 18
years old-mandatory susp for 6 mos; see
§31-27-2.5a); 2nd refusal (w/n 5 yr period)- 1-2
yrs Susp; 3rd and subsequent refusal (w/n 5 yr
period)- 2-3 yrs Susp; (These susps are

mandatory) \$31-27-2.1 <u>1st Refusal</u>-Attendance at a DWI class or alcohol/drug treatment program; <u>2nd refusal</u> (w/n 5 yr period)-Attendance at an alcohol/drug treatment program; <u>3rd and subsequent refusal</u> (w/n 5 yr period)-Attendance at an alcohol/drug treatment program (Attendance at these classes or programs is required.)

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions:

Imprisonment: Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term:

<u>1st off</u>-Not more than I yr; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-10 dys-1 yr; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-6 mos-1 yr; <u>531-27-2(d)</u> (Note: A DWI off is a misd) DWI serious bodily injury offs: <u>1st</u> <u>off</u>-not more than 5 yrs; <u>2nd and sub. off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-1-10 yrs <u>531-27-2.6</u> For persons under 18 see Misc. Sanctions on p. 3-xxx.

<u>1st off-None; 2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-48 cons hrs; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-48 cons hrs For DW1 serious injury offs-none

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:</u> (continued)

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

Other Penalties: Community Service:

> Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)

Other:

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law: Other:

> <u>Post DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> > Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: <u>Ist off-</u>\$100; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-\$400; <u>3rd and</u> <u>subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)- \$400¹ DWI serious injury offs: <u>Ist off-</u>\$250-2,500; <u>2nd and sub.</u> <u>off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-**\$500,5,000** §31-27-2.6 <u>Ist off-</u>\$100; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-**\$400**; <u>3rd and</u> <u>subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-**\$400**; (In addition to the above fines, an assessment fee of \$250 is charged to the defendant.) §31-27-2(d) For DWI serious injury off-none

1st_off - 10-60 hrs

Yes, Victim's compensation fund; see \$12-25-1 et seq.2 None



None None

Susp all non-injury DWI offs For DWI serious injury offs-Rev. For persons under 18, see Misc. Sanctions on p. 3-xxx.

DWI non-injury offs: <u>lst off</u> - **3-6 mos**; <u>2nd off</u> - <u>l-2 yrs</u>; <u>3rd off</u> - <u>2-3 yrs</u>; <u>§31-27-2(d)</u> DWI serious injury offs: <u>lst off-2 yrs</u>; <u>2nd and</u> <u>sub. off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-4 yrs <u>§31-27-2.6</u>

DWI non-injury offs: <u>lst off</u> - 3 mos; <u>2nd off</u> l yr; <u>3rd off</u> - 2 yrs; §31-27-2(d) DWI serious injury offs: none

<u>Ist off</u> - Alcohol (DWI)/drug education course and/or treatment program (Required)

¹The defendant must also pay a fee of either \$20 or 10% of the fine imposed which ever is the greater amount. This fee is for the purpose of supporting the fund which compensates victims of violent crimes such as DWI related deaths or injuries; see \$12-25-12(c). ²Award limited to \$25,000 plus attorney's fees; see \$12-25-6(b).

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: M Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released:

Other:

Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere:

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol

<u>Use and Driving</u>: Homicide by Vehicle:

State Has Such Law/Type of off:

Criminal Sanction:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

None

Yes

Death related DWI offs-felony-<u>lst off</u> - 6

mos-10 yrs; <u>2nd and subsequent</u> (w/n 5 yrs) -5-20 yrs §§31-27-2.2 & 11-1-2; 2) Non-DWI related driving causing death-felony-Not more than 10 yrs §§31-27-1 & 11-1-2

Death related DWI offs, <u>lst off</u> - **\$500-5,000**; <u>2nd and subsequent</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - **\$800-5,000** None

<u>2nd_off</u>-Yes (Required); <u>3rd_off</u>-Yes (Required)

No

None

For persons under 18 years old who have been found to have been driving while impaired (BAC level between 0.04 and 0.10), an assessment fee of \$150 or community service (\$31-27-2.5(d)(1)) and the following licensing sanctions: 1st 🖂 violation-6 mos susp; 2nd violation-susp until the person is 21 years old; 3rd and subsequent violations-suspension until the person is 21 years old plus an additional 2 yr susp (§31-27-2.5(d)(2), (3) & (4). These license suspensions are mandatory. In addition, the following sanctions apply to persons convicted of DWI who are under 18 years old: 1st off.-a highway assessment fine of not more than \$250, 10-60 hrs. of community service & a 6 mon. lic. susp. (mandatory); 2nd and sub. off.-confinement in a training school for not more than one (1) yr., a fine of not more than \$500 & a one (1) yr lic. susp. (mandatory). See §31-27-1(d)(a) & (b) _

>

<u>Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol</u> <u>Use and Driving:</u> (continued)

Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action:

> Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal:

Death related DWI offs, <u>1st off</u> - 3 yrs; <u>2nd and</u> <u>subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - 5 yrs; Non-DWI related driving causing death - 3 yrs

Death related DWI offs, <u>lst off</u> - Rev; <u>2nd and</u> subsequent (w/n 5 yrs) - Rev; Non-DWI related

driving causing death - Rev; 31-11-6

Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal:

Death related DWI offs, <u>1st off</u> - 3 yrs; <u>2nd and</u> <u>subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - 5 yrs; Non-DWI related driving causing death - 3 yrs None

Other:

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Ist off (Misd)-10 dys; 2nd off (w/n 5 yrs)
(Misd)-6 mos-1 yr; 3rd and subsequent offs (w/n
5 yrs) (felony)-1 yr \$31-11-18.1; (Rev, etc. due
to DW1 conviction, refusal to submit to chemical
test, reckless driving, motor veh manslaughter,
or 3 moving violations in one yr.)

<u>Ist off-10 dys; 2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-6 mos; <u>3rd</u> <u>and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-1 yr; <u>\$31-11-18.1(d)</u> <u>Ist off - \$500; 2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)- \$500; <u>3rd</u> <u>and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs) \$1,000; <u>\$31-11-18.1</u> <u>Ist off-\$500; 2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-\$500; <u>3rd and</u> <u>subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)- \$1,000;

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action

(Susp/Rev):

<u>Ist off-Susp; 2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-Susp; <u>3rd and</u> <u>subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-Rev; §31-11-18.1

\$31-11-18.1(d)

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Mandatory Term of License • Withdrawal Action: <u>lst off</u>-"Time deemed proper" (additional susp period); <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-Dept. of Motor Vehicles' discretion (additional susp period) | yr; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-| yr (additional rev period); §3|-|1-|8.|

<u>lst off-3 mos; 2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-6 mos; <u>3rd</u> and subsequent offs (w/n 5 yrs)-1 yr; §31-11-18.1

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender:

Yes

Three or more convictions within 3 yrs for any of the following: 1) Motor veh manslaughter; 2) DWI (alcohol or drugs); 3) Driving while license suspended or revoked; 4) Willfully operating a motor veh without a license; 5) any felony off using a motor veh; 6) failure to stop and report death/injury after accident driver was involved in; 7) failure of driver to stop and report accident where damages = \$150 or more. \$31-40-1 to 31-4-13

Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of

Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify): 1-5 yrs

Felony

5 yrs (maximum)

None, but if an imprisonment sentence is given it may not be suspended or deferred except to save a life

None None

No apparent specific provision: but see 31-11-18: driving after denial, generally a l yr extension of rev

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:

Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

21 (Year Eff: 1984)
21, Applies to the possession of alcoholic beverages containing more than 3.2% alcohol \$\$3-8-5,-6, & -10
21, Applies to licensed premises

Yes; \$3-14-1 et seq.

No

No

Possible statutory liability under §3-14-10(g)2 None

<u>Ist off</u>-Petty Misd; <u>2nd off</u>-Petty Misd; <u>3rd and</u> <u>Subsequent offs</u>-Misd; <u>55</u> 3-8-1, <u>3-11-5</u> & <u>11-1-2</u> <u>Ist off-3 mos</u>; <u>2nd off-6 mos</u>; <u>3rd and subsequent</u> <u>offs</u>-Not more than 1 yr <u>ist off</u>-Not more than <u>\$200</u>; <u>2nd off</u>-Not more than <u>\$300</u>; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u>-Not more than <u>\$500</u>

¹Rhode Island's Dram Shop Law is similar to the Model Alcoholic Beverage Retail Licensee Liability Act of 1985. This model law was developed via a grant for the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism.

²At first appearance it would seem that only commercial servers could be defendants in a dram shop action; see 53-14-5. However, 53-14-10(g) seems to imply that social hosts are liable under the dram shop act if they serve alcoholic beverages in a reckless manner as provided under 53-14-7.

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term of License Withdrawal: 1 yr \$3-5-22

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action:

> Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: License to Serve Alcohlic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

<u>lst off</u>-Petty Misd; <u>2nd off</u>-Misd; <u>3rd and</u> <u>subsequent offs</u>-Felony; §§3-8-1, 3-8-5 & ||-1-2 N/A

<u>lst off</u>-\$250; <u>2nd off</u>-\$500; <u>3rd and subsequent</u> <u>offs</u>-\$750 (If no offs in 3 successive yrs, next off shall be treated as ist.)

Yes; §3-5-22 | yr; §3-5-22

Yes P.L. 85-345

Yes - Driver \$31-22-21

No

STATE: General Comments:

Under the influence of intoxicating liquors

 Narcotic Drugs, (2) Barbiturates,
 Paraldehydes and (4) Drugs, Herbs et al.
 Note: The term "drug" is defined as an "illicit or licit drug, a combination of alcohol and an illicit drug or a combination of alcohol and a

Yes (Criminal Cases) State v. Miller,

Yes² Only required if a breath sample cannot be

Yes² Only required if drugs other than alcohol

.

,

\$56-5-2930

0.10¹ §56~5-2950(b)(3)

licit drug" \$56-5-2930

185 S.E.2d 359 (1971)

obtained \$56-5-2950(a)

are involved \$56-5-2950(a)

• • •

None

None

No

Yes

No

None

None

No

No

Yes §56-5-2990

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):
Presumption (BAC Level):
Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence:

Other Information:

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:

Urine:

Other:

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> Chemical Test:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test:	
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	N/A
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	N/A
Other:	N/A

¹South Carolina law uses the term "inferred" instead of "presumed." ²These tests are not authorized if the driver has registered a BAC level of 0.10 or more on a breath test device; see \$56-5-2950(a).

3 - 329

STATE - South Carolina

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u> : (continued)	
Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test	
Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail):	None
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	90-dy susp of license (Mandatory) §56-5-2950(d)
Other:	None
Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Of	fense:
Criminal Sanctions:	
Imprisonment:	
Term (Day, Month, Years,	
Etc.):	<u>lst off</u> -48 hrs-30 dys; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-48 hrs-1 yr; <u>3rd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-60 dys-3 yrs; <u>4th</u> <u>off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-90 dys-4 yrs; <u>5th and subsequent</u> <u>off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)- 1-5 yrs \$56-5-2940; DWI where there is great bodily injury-felony, 30 dys-10 yrs; \$56-5-2945
Mandatory Minimum Term:	<u>lst off</u> -48 hrs; <u>2nd off</u> -48 hrs; <u>3rd off</u> -60 dys; <u>4th off</u> -90 dys; <u>5th and subsequent offs</u> -1 yr; DWI where there is great bodily injury-30 dys ¹
Fine:	
Amount (\$ Range):	<u>ist off</u> -\$200; <u>2nd off-Not</u> less than \$1,000; <u>3rd</u> <u>off</u> -Not less than \$2,000; <u>4th off</u> -Not less than \$3,000; DWI where there is great bodily injury-\$5,000-10,000
Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):	<u>lst_off</u> =\$200 ¹ ; <u>2nd_off</u> =No; <u>3rd_off</u> =No; <u>4th_</u> <u>off</u> =No; DWI where is great bodily injury= \$5,000 ¹
Other Penalties:	
Community Service:	<u>lst off</u> -A minimum of 48 hrs in lieu of imprisonment; <u>2nd off</u> -Not less than 1 0 dys in lieu of imprisonment
Restitution	
(eg Victim's Fund)	Yes, Victims' Compensation Fund §16-3-1110 et seq.
Other:	None
Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action:	
Administrative Per Se Law:	No
Other:	None

¹These minimum sanctions are mandatory and, therefore, cannot be either suspened or probated; see \$56-5-2945(A)(2). .

.

.

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued)

> Post DWI Conviction Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> > Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education:

(1) For suspended licensed drivers, a successful completion of an Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program prior to license reinstatement (or a special recommendation by the Medical Advisory Board before the license is restored; and (2) For revoked licensed drivers, the license may be reinstated after 5 yrs provided such drivers have been rehabilitated. See \$56-5-2990.

Yes see above

Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal **Licensing Actions** (Describe):

Yes 1st off only \$\$56-1-1320 & 56-1-1330

Note: An off is considered either a \$56-5-2930, \$56-5-2945 or other alcohol use and driving related law violation. \$\$56-1-1320 & 56-5-2990.

1st offl-Susp; 2nd offl (w/n 5 yrs)-Susp; 3rd off! (w/n 5 vrs)-Susp; 4th off! (w/n 5 yrs)-Susp; 5th and subsequent offs1 (w/n 5 yrs)-Rev; OWI off where there is great bodily injury-Susp (\$56-5-2945)

Ist off-6 mos; 2nd off (w/n 5 yrs)-1 yr; 3rd off (w/n 5 yrs)-2 yrs; 4th off (w/n 5 yrs)-3 yrs; 5th and subsequent offs (w/n 5 yrs)-Permanent; OWI off where there is great bodily injury-Term of imprisonment plus 3 yrs (\$56-5-2945)

l<u>st</u> off - For a 1st DWI off, a provisional license may be issued for the 6-mo susp period provided the defendant participates in an alcohol/drug education/treatment program (see 5556-1-1320 and 56-1-1330); 2nd off (w/n 5 yrs)-l yr; 3rd off (w/n 5 yrs)-2 yrs; 4th off (w/n 5 yrs)-3 yrs; 5th and subsequent_offs (w/n 5 yrs)-5 yrs; DWI off where there is great bodily_injury_Term of imprisonment plus 3 yrs

STATE - South Carolina

2

and the second second second

ontinued)	ense: All Market All Market and All Market A Market All Market All Ma
Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation	• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •
Authorized by Specific	
Statutory Authority:	No
Terms Upon Which Vehicle	
Will Be Released:	
Other:	Note: Veh impoundment used only to protect a
	veh from danger.
Miscellaneous Sanctions	
Not Included Elsewhere:	None
er Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol	
and Driving:	
	· · · · ·
Homicide by Vehicle:	· · · · ·
State Has Such Law/Type of offense:	Yes, There are two offenses: (1) Felony if
	based on a DWI off that results in death
	\$\$16-1-10 & 56-5-2945; and, (2) Misd if caused
	by the operation of a vehicle in a reckless
	manner (non-DWI related) \$\$16-1-10, 16-1-20 &
	56-5-2910.
Sanctions:	-
Criminal Sanction:	
Imprisonment (Term):	Felony off-1-25 yrs; misd off-not more than 5 yrs
Mandatory Minimum Term:	Felony off-1 yr
Fine (\$ Range):	Felony off-\$10,000 to \$25,000; misd
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	off-\$1,000-5000
Mandatory Minimum Fine:	\$10,000
	• 10,000
Administrative Licensing Action:	
Licensing Authorized and	
Type of Action:	Felony off-Susp \$56-5-2945; misd off-Rev
	\$56-5-2910
Length of Term of	
Licensing Withdrawal:	Felony off-Term of imprisonment plus 3 yrs; misd
•	off-5 yrs
Mandatory ActionMinimum	Circo yis
	Felony off-Term of imprisonment plus 3 yrs; misd
	off-5 vrs \$56-5-2910
Other:	None
	•
<u> </u>	
6-5-2945(A) (2)	

المراجعة المراجع بين المراجعة إلى المراجعة ومن المراجعة المراجعة المراجعة المراجعة المراجعة المراجعة المراجعة المراجعة المراجعة المر المراجعة الم

n Come de

1

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense:

Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: mos; <u>3rd and subsequent off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-6 mos-3 yrs; 556-1-460

1st off-10-30 dys; 2nd off (w/n 5 yrs)-60 dys-6

<u>ist off</u>-10 dys; <u>2nd off</u>-60 dys; <u>3rd and sub off</u>-6 mos Ist off-**\$200**; 2nd off-**\$500**; <u>\$56-1-460</u>¹

Susp for a like period of time if the original susp was for a definite period of time. If not, then a susp for 3 mos. If license was revoked,

additional I yr from the date such person would have otherwise been entitled to apply for a new

a new license shall not be issued for an

None

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

Susp/Rev

Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action: None

Yes \$56-1-1010 et seq.

yrs \$56-1-1020(a) & (b)

license. \$56-1-460.

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender:

> Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status:

Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status 3 or more serious off convictions or 10 or more convictions for violations rated at 4 points or more under the point system within a period of 3

5 yrs and until the court thereafter restores the driving privilege; this period may be reduced to 2 yrs upon a showing of "good cause." \$56-1-1090(a) & (c)

Misd \$56-1-1100

It is not clear whether a fine sanction can be imposed on a person who has been convicted of driving while suspended or revoked where the license suspension or revocation was based on a DWI offense conviction.

STATE - South Carolina

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): l yr to 5 yrs \$56-1-1100 Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: None Fine (\$ Range): None Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): N/A Licensing Actions (Specify): None Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): Yes \$17-7-80 BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Yes Vehicle Passengers: No Yes (16 years old or older) Pedestrian: Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: 21 (Year Eff. 1986) \$\$20-7-380, 61-3-990(3) & Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: 61-9-410(1) (Exemptions for home use and for religious Minimum Age (Years) Possession: 21 ceremonies and employment (the employment exemption applies only to persons over 18 years old).) \$\$20-7-320,-317,-370,-380, and §§61-9-40, and 61-13-290 Minimum Age (Years) Consumption: None Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): No "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation): Possible case law; see Chritiansen v. Cambell, 328 S.E.2d 351 (CA 1985) Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: No See Garren v. Cummings & McCrady, Inc., 345 S.E.2d 508 (CA 1986). Other: None

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

For alcoholic liquors-(Misd), See \$\$66-3-990. 61-5-30 & 61-5-110; For nonintoxicating beverages¹, see \$61-9-410 For alcoholic liquors-Not more than 30 dys; For nonintoxicating beverages-Not less than 3 mos **661-13-870** 1.) For alcoholic_liguors-Not more than \$100; 2.) If the person is a licensee, <u>lst</u> off-\$200-500; 2nd off (w/n 3 yrs)-\$200-500; 3rd_ off (w/n 3 yrs)-Not less than \$500; 3.) For

nonintoxicating beverages¹-Not less than \$100 \$61-13-870

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

For Liquor - Yes; For Beer and Wine - Yes Length of Term of License Withdrawal: For Alcoholic Liquors, 1st off - 30 dys; 2nd off (w/n 3 yrs) - 180 dys; 3rd off (w/n 3 yrs) -Permanently; For nonintoxicating beverages -License rev or administrative monetary penalty of \$25 to 1,000; \$61-13-510

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action:

Alcoholic Liquors-(Misd) (Note: The seller must have knowingly sold alcoholic beverages to a minor.); See \$61-13-290 nonintoxicating beverages² See §61-90-40

Applies to beer not in excess of 5% alcohol and wine not in excess of 21% alcohol; see 61-9-10. Note: The term "Alcoholic Liquors" applies to all other alcoholic beverages; see 61-3-20(1).

²Applies to beer, ale, porter, wine or other similar malt or fermented beverages. Note: The term "Alcoholic Liquors" applies to all other alcoholic beverages.

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term License Withdrawal: Alcoholic Liquors-**30-60 dys;** Nonintoxicating beverages-**30-60 dys;** §§61-9-40 & 61-13-290 Alcoholic Liquors-**\$100-200;** Nonintoxicating beverages-**\$100-200**

Yes

No

Alcoholic Liquors, <u>1st off</u>-1 yr or a \$250 administrative monetary penalty (Special Note: Liquor licensees may have to pay from \$100 to \$1,500 as an alternative to license rev; see \$61-13-510), \$61-15-500, \$61-13-510; <u>Subsequent</u> <u>offs</u>-2 yrs or \$500 administrative monetary penalty; Nonintoxicating beverages license withdrawal or administrative monetary penalty or from \$25 to \$1,000

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Yehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yés/No):

Yes \$\$61-5-20 & 61-9-87

Possible, Driver and passengers \$61-13-360; The law states that "Any person who drinks alc.liquors in any public conveyance shall be deemed guilty of a misd." This provision does not apply to railroad dining or club cars or to commercial aircraft.
STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level):

Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law:	Yes	§32-
Implied Consent Law:		
Arrest Required (Yes/No):	Yes	§32-
Implied Consent Law Applies to	-	
Drugs (Yes/No):	Yes	32-3
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test		
Admitted into Evidence:	Yes	32-3
Other Information:	None	

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which

Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood: Urine: Other:

.

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):

Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):

Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC Chemical Test:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Other:

SOUTH DAKOTA See South Dakota Codified Laws

at the fight the second state and Under the influence of an alcoholic beverage \$32-23-1(2) 0.10 \$32-23-1(1) 0.10 §32-23-7 (Note: §32-23-7 applies this presumption to the veh homicide off.)

(1) Any Substance, (2) Any Controlled Drug, (3) Marijuana or (4) a Combination of These Substances and an Alcoholic Beverage §32-23-1(3) & (4) . . . None

· . · · · · · · 2-23-1.2 2-23-10 -23-10 -23-10

• • • • • • • • 1.14 Yes \$32-23-10 No \$32-23-10 "Other bodily substances" §32-23-10

6 Q

يهي أنجلت المتحج المتحج المراجع

· · · ·

No

No (Note: A DWI charge may be reduced or dismissed only when written reasons for such have been file with the Court)

A second second second second

Yes (discretionary)

None None None

STATE - South Dakota

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>: (continued)

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail):

Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

Rev I yr[|] (A restricted hardship license is

available.) §32-23-11

Other:

None

None

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions:

isonment: Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

<u>Ist off</u> Cl | Misd-l yr (county jail); <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) Cl | Misd-l yr (county jail); <u>3rd</u> <u>and subsequent off</u> Cl 6 Felony (w/n 5 yrs) - 2 yrs state penitentiary §22-6-1, 22-6-2, 32-23-2, 32-23-3, 32-23-4 None

Ist off-\$1,000; 2nd off (w/n 5 yrs)- \$1,000; 3rd

and subsequent off (w/n 5 yrs) - \$2,000

Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine: Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$): Other Penalties: Community Service: Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)

None

None

None

None

Yes \$\$23A-28-1 et seq. (Restitution is to be paid by defendants to the victims.) None

Other:

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law: Other:

¹Under \$32-23-11.1, a driver's license is not subject to revocation for refusal to submit to a chemical test under the implied consent law if they plead guilty to a DWI offense and such plea

hearing is not requested, prior to a revocation order being issued.

occurs either (1) prior to a licensing agency hearing on the refusal issue, or (2), if a

3 _- 338

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:</u> (continued)

<u>Post DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

(no hardship license); <u>3rd and sub off</u>2-Rev (no hardship license) (Special Note: Susp-If 15 points accumulated in 12 cons mos or 22 points in 24 cons mos; DWI=10 points)

1st off-Prohibit driving or rev; 2nd off- Rev

<u>lst off-30 dys-1 yr; 2nd off-1 yr; 3rd and sub</u> <u>off-1+ yr (Under the point system susp 1 yr)</u> §32-23-2, §32-23-3 and §32-23-4

<u>ist off-None</u>¹; <u>2nd off-</u>1 yr; <u>3rd and sub off</u>-1 yr²; (Under the point system susp - No) \$532-23-2, 32-23-3, and 32-23-4

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: None Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other: For

For any offense conviction, where a driver's license can be revoked or suspended, the registration of all vehicles owned by the driver shall also be suspended; see §32-35-44.

Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere:

None

¹A restricted hardship license is available. See §§32-23-2, 32-23-3 and 32-23-4 ²The defendant's license is to be revoked not less than one (1) year from the date of final discharge; see §32-23-4.

STATE - South Dakota

and Driving:	
Homicide by Vehicle:	
State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:	Yes, CI 4 felony where death is caused by veh operation while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. §22-16-41
Sanctions:	· . · · ·
Criminal Sanction:	
Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term:	Not more than 10 yrs None
Fine (\$ Range):	Not more than \$10,000
Mandatory Minimum Fine:	None
Administrative Licensing Action:	
Licensing Authorized and	
Type of Action:	Rev \$\$32-12-44 and 32-12-52 ¹
Length of Term of	1987 JJJL~12-99 GNU JL-12-JL
Licensing Withdrawal:	l yr
Mandatory ActionMinimum	• • •
Length of License	
Withdrawal:	
Other:	l yr
Other:	None
Driving While License Suspended or Revoked	
Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:	
Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction: Criminal:	
Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:	Cl Misd - Not more than yr §§32-6-2(1) & 32-23-5
Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction: Criminal: Imprisonment (Term):	Cl Misd - Not more than yr §§32-6-2(1) & 32-23-5
Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction: Criminal: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term	32-23-5
Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction: Criminal: Imprisonment (Term):	32-23-5 3 days if the original licensing action was for
Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction: Criminal: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term	32-23-5 3 days if the original licensing action was for a 2nd DWI offense (\$32-23-3) and 10 days if the
Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction: Criminal: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term	32-23-5 3 days if the original licensing action was for a 2nd DWI offense (\$32-23-3) and 10 days if the original licensing action was for a 3rd DWI
where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction: Criminal: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment:	32-23-5 3 days if the original licensing action was for a 2nd DWI offense (\$32-23-3) and 10 days if the original licensing action was for a 3rd DWI offense (\$32-23-4).
Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction: Criminal: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):	32-23-5 3 days if the original licensing action was for a 2nd DWI offense (\$32-23-3) and 10 days if the original licensing action was for a 3rd DWI offense (\$32-23-4). Not more than \$1,000
Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction: Criminal: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine:	32-23-5 3 days if the original licensing action was for a 2nd DWI offense (\$32-23-3) and 10 days if the original licensing action was for a 3rd DWI offense (\$32-23-4). Not more than \$1,000 None
where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction: Criminal: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Actions:	32-23-5 3 days if the original licensing action was for a 2nd DWI offense (\$32-23-3) and 10 days if the original licensing action was for a 3rd DWI offense (\$32-23-4). Not more than \$1,000 None
where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction: Criminal: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action	32-23-5 3 days if the original licensing action was for a 2nd DWI offense (\$32-23-3) and 10 days if the original licensing action was for a 3rd DWI offense (\$32-23-4). Not more than \$1,000 None
where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction: Criminal: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Actions:	32-23-5 3 days if the original licensing action was for a 2nd DWI offense (\$32-23-3) and 10 days if the original licensing action was for a 3rd DWI offense (\$32-23-4). Not more than \$1,000 None Susp-if the conviction was based on driving
where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction: Criminal: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action	32-23-5 3 days if the original licensing action was for a 2nd DWI offense (\$32-23-3) and 10 days if the original licensing action was for a 3rd DWI offense (\$32-23-4). Not more than \$1,000 None Susp-if the conviction was based on driving while suspended; Rev-if the conviction was based
Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction: Criminal: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):	32-23-5 3 days if the original licensing action was for a 2nd DWI offense (\$32-23-3) and 10 days if the original licensing action was for a 3rd DWI offense (\$32-23-4). Not more than \$1,000 None Susp-if the conviction was based on driving
Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction: Criminal: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Length of Term of License	32-23-5 3 days if the original licensing action was for a 2nd DWI offense (\$32-23-3) and 10 days if the original licensing action was for a 3rd DWI offense (\$32-23-4). Not more than \$1,000 None Susp-if the conviction was based on driving while suspended; Rev-if the conviction was based on driving while revoked \$32-12-66
Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction: Criminal: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:	32-23-5 3 days if the original licensing action was for a 2nd DWI offense (\$32-23-3) and 10 days if the original licensing action was for a 3rd DWI offense (\$32-23-4). Not more than \$1,000 None Susp-if the conviction was based on driving while suspended; Rev-if the conviction was based on driving while revoked \$32-12-66 An additional susp period equal to the original
Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction: Criminal: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Length of Term of License	32-23-5 3 days if the original licensing action was for a 2nd DWI offense (\$32-23-3) and 10 days if the original licensing action was for a 3rd DWI offense (\$32-23-4). Not more than \$1,000 None Susp-if the conviction was based on driving while suspended; Rev-if the conviction was based on driving while revoked \$32-12-66

1§32-12-52 applies the license rev provisions specifically to manslaughter from the operation of a motor veh; it is, therefore, unclear whether these provisions apply to the crime of veh homicide which is a separate off (not manslaughter).

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term):

> Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on	
Persons Killed in Traffic	
Accidents:	
State Has Such a Law (Yes/No):	Yes
BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the	
the Following Persons:	
Driver:	Yes
Vehicle Passengers:	Yes
Pedestrian:	Yes

An additional susp period equal to the original period.¹ §32-12-66

No

s \$34-25-22.1

¹Mandatory licensing withdrawal actions apply <u>only</u> to the offense of driving while suspended. There is no additional mandatory licensing action (e.g., 1 yr. additional revocation period) for driving while revoked. Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:

Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Minimum Age (Year's) Consumption:

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation): Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: Other:

Nol

None

No \$35-11-2

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:

Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

CI | Misd §35-4-78 l yr (County jail) \$1,000

¹Case law establishing civil liability, Walz v. City of Hudson, 327. N.W.2d 12 (S.D. 1982), was specifically abrogated by statute.

6th Edition

21 for all alcoholic beverages (eff. 4/1/88)² 19 for 3.2% beer; 21 for all other alcoholic beverages. (Yr Eff: 1984) §§35-4-78 & 35-9-1,-2,-4 21 for all alcoholic beverages (eff. 4/1/88)² 19

for 3.2% beer; 21 for all other alcoholic beverages. There is an exemption for the possession alcoholic beverages greater than 3.2% alcohol by persons under 21 yrs of age for religious ceremonies \$\$35-4-78, 34-9-1, 35-9-2 8 35-9-4

21 for all alcoholic beverages (eff. 4/1/88)² 19 for 3.2% beer; 21 for all other alcoholic beverages. (Exemption for the consumption of alcoholic beverages greater than 3.2% alcohol by persons under 21 yrs of age for religious ceremonies.) §§35-4-78, 35-9-1, 35-9-2, and 35-9-43

No¹ 5935-4-78 & 35-11-1

²See §57 of H.B. 1345 enacted in 1987 for effective date.

³Repealed as of 4/1/85; see §13 of H.B. 1345 enacted ing 1987.

nd Driving: (continued)	
Administrative Actions Against Owners of	
Establishments that Serve Alcoholic	
Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:	
License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages	
Withdrawn (Yes/No):	Yes \$35-2-10
Length of Term of License Withdrawal:	l yr \$35-2-20
Criminal Actions Against Owners or	
Employees of Establishments that Serve	
Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type	
of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons	
Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:	
Type of Criminal Action:	Cl 2 Misd (generally); Cl 1 Misd (for licensees); §§22-6-2, 35-4-78 & 35-9-1
Term of Imprisonment:	Cl 2 Misd-30 dys (county jail); Cl Misd-1
	(county jail)
Fine (\$ Range):	CI 2 Misd-\$100; CI 1-Misd \$1,000
Administrative Actions Against Owners of	
Establishments That Serve Alcoholic	· ·
Beverages to Those Persons Under the	
Minimum Legal Drinking Age:	
License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages	
Withdrawn (Yes/No):	Yes §35-2-10
Length of Term License Withdrawai:	l yr §35-2-20
Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:	No
Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of	
Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages	
and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic	
Beverages in the Passenger Compartment	
of a Vehicle:	ι.
Open Container Law (Yes/No):	Yes §35-1-9.1
•	

Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No);

. , No

.*

· ·

.

, .

, .

T

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No):

> Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence: Other Information:

TENNESSEE See Tennessee Code Annotated

Under the influence of any intoxicant \$55-10-401(a) None 0.10 \$55-10-408(b) (1) Any Intoxicant, (2) Marijuana, (3) Narcotic Drug and (4) Stimulating Drugs (listed in \$55-10-401(b)) \$55-10-401(a) None

No

No (The officer may request a test based on reasonable grounds; see \$55-10-406(a).)

Yes 55-10-405(5)

No Crawley v. State, 413 S.W. 2d 370 (1967) None

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes 55-10-405(5)
Urine:	Yes 55-10-405(5)
Other:	None

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): No Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No): No

Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC Chemical Test:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action	N/A
(Susp/Rev):	N/A
Other:	N/A

Yes §§55-10-403(b)(1) and 55-7-116

STATE - Tennessee

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> Chemical Test: (continued)

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action

(Susp/Rev):

None

Susp - Not more than 6 mos \$55-10-406(a)(3) A restricted license may be issued; see \$55-10-406(d) None

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions:

Other:

Imprisonment:

Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

Other Penalties: Community Service:

.

Restitution (eg Victim's Fund):

Other:

<u>1st off</u>-48 hrs-11 mos 29 dys; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 10 yrs)-45 dys-11 mos 29 dys; <u>3rd and subsequent</u> <u>off</u> (w/n 10 yrs) - 120 dys-11 mos 29 dys \$55-10-403 <u>1st off</u>-48 hrs; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 10 yrs)-45 dys; <u>3rd</u> <u>and subsequent off</u> (w/n 10 dys)-120 dys

<u>1st off</u>-\$250-1,000; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 10 yrs)-\$500-2,500; <u>3rd and subsequent off</u> (w/n 10 dys)-\$1,000-5,000; §55-10-403 <u>1st off</u>-\$250; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 10 yrs)-\$500; <u>3rd and</u> <u>subsequent off</u> (w/n 10 yrs)-\$1,000 (unless judge determines defendant is indigent)

After serving the minimum sentence, a judge may order the defendant to remove litter from various public areas or work in a recycling center or "other appropriate location" for any period of time in lieu of or in additional to other penalities. The community service work may be done at non-working hrs. \$55-10-104

Yes - A victim's compensation fund; see 5529-13101 et seq. and 40-24-107(a)(3). Also, the defendant shall be ordered to pay restitution as a condition of probation (probation may commence only after minimum jail sentence has been serve) if defendant can afford it; 555-10-403Upon conviction <u>all</u> defendants in counties with 600,000 or more people and in counties with a metropolitan form of government, must pay a BAC test fee of \$10. This fee is paid to the county. 555-10-403

6th Edition

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued) Administrative Licensing Actions:

<u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law: Other:

None None

Yes see below

facility.²

Post DWI Conviction Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Rev §55-10-403, §55-7-113

Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

<u>Ist off</u> - 1 yr; <u>2nd off (w/n 10 yrs)</u> - 2 yrs; <u>3rd and subsequent offs (w/n 10 yrs)</u> - 3 to 10 yrs; \$\$55-10-403 & 55-7-112

<u>lst off</u> - 1 yr¹; <u>2nd off</u> - 2 yrs; <u>3rd and</u> <u>subsequent_offs</u> - **3 yrs**

Yes, participation in an alcohol safety DW1 prog. is required as part of probation

(probation can begin only after serving the min. imprisonment term). For 2nd and subsequent convictions, a condition of probation is participation in a rehab prog. treatment

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment:

> Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority:

No (Note: See State v. Bouldin, 717 S.W.2d 584 (Tenn. 1986), where a temporary vehicle forfeiture provision of a DWI plea bargaining/probation agreement was voided by the Tennessee Supreme Court.)

Terms Upon Which Yehicle Will Be Released: Other:

Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere: None

None

¹Hardship license for employment available after 1st conviction if no one was killed or seriously injured as a result of the DW1 off. See §§55-10-403 and 55-7-113. ²For 2nd and subsequent convictions rev will be lifted only upon showing that defendant has participated in a program of rehabilitation at an alcohol treatment facility. See §55-10-403.

3 - 347

6th Edition

STATE - Tennessee

and Driving:					
Homicide by Vehicle:					
State Has Such Law/Type of	Off: Yes Felony ≸§39-1-10	3 & 39-2-231			
Sanctions:	•				
Criminal Sanction:					
Imprisonment (Ter	n): Not more than 5 yrs;	Not more than 5 yrs; if DWI related, I to 21			
,	yrs \$39-2-232				
		· · · ·			
Mandatory Minimum	Term: None				
Fine (\$ Range):	None				
Mandatory Minimum	Fine: N/A	,			
Administrative Licensi	ng Action:				
Licensing Authori	zed and				
Type of Action:	Rev \$55-7-112(1)	, ·			
Length of Term of	· · ·				
Licensing Withd	rawal: (1) If DWI related, 3-	-10 yrs or (2) equals term			
	of sentence received	(\$\$39-2-232 &			
	55-7-112(1)). If pare	oled, the defendant may			
	have their license re	issued upon satisfactory			
	completion of licensi	ng exam and on petition of			
	defendant's parole of:	ficer. §55-7-112(1)			
Mandatory Action-	-Minimum				
Length of Licen	se	• .			
Withdrawal:	3 yrs if DWI related	(§39-2-232); l yr			
	(§55-7-113(g))	-			
Other:	None				
Driving While License Suspended	or Revoked				
∦here the Basis Was a DWI Off:					
Sanction:					
Criminal:					
Imprisonment (Ter	n): <u>lst off</u> - 2 dys to 6 n mos 29 dys; §55-7-116	nos; <u>2nd off</u> - 45 dys to 11 5			
Mandatory Minimum	Term				
of Imprisonment	: <u> st off</u> - 2 dys; <u>2nd</u>	<u>off</u> - 45 dys			
Fine (\$ Range):		nd off - \$500 to 1,000;			
	<u>\$55-7-116</u>				
Mandatory Minimum	Fine: None	· ·			

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Susp - if the conviction was based on driving while suspended; Rev - if the conviction was based on driving while revoked.

An additional susp period which is equal to the original period; The original rev period extended I yr.

<u>Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol</u> <u>Use and Driving</u> : (continued)	
Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:	An additional susp period which is equal to the original period; The original rev period extended 1 yr.
Habitual Offender Laws:	
State Has Such Law (Yes/No):	Yes \$\$55-10-601 to 55-10-617
Grounds for Being Declared an	
Habitual Offender:	3 convictions of any of the following offs w/n 3 yrs: 1) voluntary or involuntary motor veh homicide; 2) DW1; 3) failure to stop at scene of an accident; 4) violation of statute on meeting and overtaking school buses.
Term of License Rev While	
Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Off if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual	3 yrs
Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status:	Felony
Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of	l to 10 yrs §39-1-201
Imprisonment:	None
Fine (\$ Range):	None
Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$):	N/A
Licensing Actions (Specify):	l yr rev (additional)
Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:	
Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic	
Accidents:	
State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test is Given to the	Discretionary See \$38-7-109

the Following Persons: Discretionary Vehicle Passengers: Discretionary Discretionary

Driver:

Pedestrian:

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages:	
Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:	21 §57-4-203(b) (Year Eff. 1984)
Minimum Age (Years) Possession:	21 There is an employment exemption
Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:	21 §§1-33-113, 57-4-203(b)(1) and (2) and / 57-5-301
Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions:	•
State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No):	Yes-57-10-101 et seq. ¹ (Comment: This law enacted in 1986 may have abrogated, at least in part, the case law noted below.)
"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been	
Adopted Via a Change to the Common	
Law Rule by Action of the Highest	
Court of Record in the State	
(Case Citation):	Y es, Mitchell v. Ketner: 54 Tenn. App. 656, 393 S.W.2d 755 (CA 1964)
Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:	No (No Cases)
Other:	None
Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees	
of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic	
Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:	·
Type of Criminal Action:	Misd \$57-4-203
Term of Imprisonment:	30 dys to 6 mos
Fine (\$ Range):	\$500 to 1,000
Administrative Actions Against Owners of	
Establishments that Serve Alcoholic	
Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:	
License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages	
Withdrawn (Yes/No):	Yes
Length of Term of License Withdrawal:	<u>lst off</u> - Time period not specified in the statute; <u>2nd off</u> - Permanently

¹Before a commercial server can be held liable for the actions of their intoxicated patrons actions, the following must be proven. The court must determine "beyond a reasonable doubt" that the sale of alcoholic beverages was the proximate cause of the injury sustained and that such beverages were sold either to a person under 21 years old or to an obviously intoxicated person whose consumption thereof was the direct cause of the injury.

of a Vehicle:

.

Open Container Law (Yes/No):

Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

.

1

<u>ner State Laws Related To Alcohol Use</u> <u>1 Driving</u> : (continued)			
Criminal Actions Against Owners or			
Employees of Establishments that Serve			
Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type			
of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons			
Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:			
Type of Criminal Action:	lst off - Misd; 2nd and subsequent offs -		
	Felony; \$\$57-4-203 and 57-5-303		
Term of Imprisonment:	<u>Ist off - 30 dys to 6 mos; 2nd and subsequent</u>		
	offs - 1 to 3 yrs		
Fine (\$ Range):	<u>Ist off</u> - \$25 to 500; <u>2nd and subsequent off</u> :		
	\$500 to 3,000		
Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term License Withdrawal:	Yes §57-5-303 <u>Ist off</u> - Time period not specified in the statute ¹ ; <u>2nd and subsequent offs</u> - Permanen §57-5-109, §57-5-303		
Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations: Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic	No		
Beverages in the Passenger Compartment			

¹For alcoholic beverages of less than 5%, <u>lst off</u> - License susp for not to exceed ten (10) dys; see \$57-5-109(b).

No

No

• • • •

STATE: General Comments:

TEXAS All citations are to Vernon's Texas Civil Statutes unless otherwise indicated.

Intoxicated while driving¹ Art. 67011-1

(1) Any Drug, (2) a Controlled Substance or (3)

0.10 Art. 67011-1(a)(2)(B)

a Combination of These and Alcohol Arts. 67011-1-(a)(2)(A) & 67011-1-(b)

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense: lilegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law:	Na				
Implied Consent Law:					
Arrest Required (Yes/No):	Yes	Art. 67011-5			
Implied Consent Law Applies to					
Drugs (Yes/No):	Yes	Art. 67011-5, §1			
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test					
Admitted into Evidence:	Yes	(Criminal Cases)	Art.	67011-5,	§3(g)
Other Information:	None				

None

None

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes Art. 67011-5
Urine:	No
Other:	None
djudication of DWI Charges:	
Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No):	No
Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):	No
Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI)	
(Yes/No) :	Yes, Required only for a 1st DWI (non-injury)
	off See \$4(h), Article 42.12 and \$4, Article
	42.13, Code of Criminal Procedure.

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail): N/A

¹The term "intoxicated" means not having normal use of mental or physical facilities by reason of the introduction of alcohol into the body or having a BAC level of 0.10 or more; see Art. 67011-1.

STATE - Texas

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test:</u> (continued)

> Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Other:

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action

(Susp/Rev):

Etc.):

None

N/A

N/A

Susp - 90 dys Art. 67011-5, §2(f) (Hardship licenses may be issued; see Art. 6687b, §23A) None

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment:

Other:

Term (Day, Month, Years,

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

Other Penalties: Community Service:

Restituaion

(eg Victim's Fund)

<u>Ist off</u> - 72 hrs to 2 yrs; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 10 yrs) - 15 dys to 2 yrs 67011-1; <u>Subsequent offs</u> (w/n 10 yrs) - Not less than **30 dys** nor more than 2 yrs in county jail or not less than **60 dys** nor more than 5 yrs in the State penitentiary. See Footnote No. 2 below.

<u>lst off</u> - None; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 10 yrs) - 72 hrs¹; <u>Subsequent offs</u> (w/n 10 yrs) - 10 dys¹ Art. 67011-1(c), (d) & (e)

<u>lst off</u> - \$100 to 2,000; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 10 yrs) -\$300 to 2,000; <u>Subsequent offs</u> (w/n 10 yrs) -\$500 to 2,000 Art. 67011-1(c), (d) & (e) None

Yes 1st and Subsequent offs Art. 42.12, §§6(c) & 10A Code of Criminal Criminal Procedure

None Note: A victim of a DWI offense can receive payments from a State victims' compensation fund only if the defendant's actions were intended to cause personal injury or death. Art. 8309-1 (See especially \$3(4)(D) if this article.)

¹As a part of probation; see §6b, Article 42.12 and §6b, Article 42.13 of the Code of Criminal Procedure.

²Under Art. 67011-1, §f, a person convicted of a DWI offense may be subject to special enhanced sanctions, if at the time of the offense they had in their immediate possession an open container of an alcoholic beverage. Ist DWI off.-min. term of confinement increased 3 dys; min and maximum fines increased \$100. 2nd DWI off.-min term of confinement increased 6 dys; min and maximum fines increased \$200. Sub. off.-min term of confinement increased 12 dys; min and maximum fines increased \$400.

3 - 354

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:</u> (continued)

Other:

Special Note - If there as been bodily injury of another person as a result of the defendant's actions for each of these offs the min. term of imprisonment is increased by 60 dys (30 dys are mandatory¹) and min. and max. fines are increased by \$500. Art. 67011-1(f) For second or sub. DWI or DWI related homicide offs, the court may require that a defendant install an alcohol breath sensitive ingnition interlock device on their vehicle. Art. 6687b, \$\$23A(f) & 25(a) and Art. 42.12, \$6f(b) (Note: It is a Class B Misd. to tamper with such a device; see \$38.15 of the Penal Code.)

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law: Other:

Post DWL Conviction Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action

> (Susp/Rev): Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

Susp

None

None

<u>1st off</u>-90 to 365 dys; <u>subsequent off</u>-180 dys to 2 yrs (See Footnote No. 1 below.) Art. 6687b, \$24

None (An occupational or restricted license may be issued; see Art. 6687b, §§23A and 25.) Special Note: A license may not be suspended if either (1) a defendant is required to attend an alcohol education/treatment program or (2) a jury recommends no susp. Art. 6687, §24 (g)(1) and §3a(b), Art. 42.12 Code of Criminal Procedure.

¹For persons under 17: <u>lst off</u>.-susp. until the person reaches 17 or for 365 dys whichever is the longer susp. period; <u>sub. off</u>.-a susp. until the person reaches 19 or for 365 dys whichever is the longer susp. period. An occupation license is available if the person is eligible for a provisional license under §23A of Art. 6687b.

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued)

Mandatory Minimum Term of

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education:

> Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

Withdrawal: (continued) However, there are exceptions. The above and the suspended by the court if (1) a defendant has previously attended an alcohol education program as a part of probation for a DWI conviction and (2) they are required to attended such a program again of a sub. DWI offense conviction. For the purposes of this prohibition upon the court, a previous DWI off is any previous DWI off not just those committed w/n a 10 year period. Art. 42.12, \$6d(b), (c) & (d) Code of Criminal Procedure

> Yes-1st DWI off. Art 42.12, 96d Code of Criminal Procedure (Required as a part of probation¹.)

· ,

Yes Art. 5561(C), \$12

and the second A restricted license may be issued for either occupational reasons or for participation in an alcohol/drug treatment/rehabilitation program see Art. 6687b.

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: and the second sec

Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other: Miscellaneous Sanctions

Not Included Elsewhere:

Yes - A defendant's veh may be subject to forfeiture by the State following three or more DWL convictions. Art. 67011-7

None . and the second None

.

For 2nd or sub. off., the court may order alcohol education as a condition of probation even though the defendant may have already received such education as part of probation for a first offense. Art. 42.12, \$6d(b) Code of Criminal Procedure

STATE - Texas

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

> Sanctions: Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term:

> > Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal:

Yes DWI related 3rd degree felony. \$19.05(a)(2) Penal Code

2 to 10 yrs \$12.34 Penal Code 120 dys if probation is granted; see Art. 42.12, \$6b(c) Code of Criminal Procedure \$5,000

Other:

Susp Art. 6687(b), §§22(b)(2) and 24(a)

Not more than I yr Art. 6687(b), §23

None None

None

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action: Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

1st off-not less than 72 hrs nor more than 6 mos.; 2nd & sub. off (Class A Misd.)-not more than I yr Art. 6687b, §34; Art. 6701h, §32(c); and §12.21 of the Penal Code

None

1st off-not less than \$100 nor more than \$500; 2nd and sub. off.-not more than \$2,000 None

Susp Art. 6687(b), §24(c)

12 mos 12 mos

STATE - Texas

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender:

- Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Offender Status:
- Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:

Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

Yes Art. 6687(b), §22(b)(4)

"Any person with 4 or more convictions arising out of different transactions in a cons period of 12 mos or 7 or more convictions arising out of different transactions w/in a period of 24 mos..." Art. 6687(b), §22(b)(4)

Susp for not more than 1 yr 6687(b) §22(a) An occasional license may be issued on a showing of "essential need"; see Art. 6687b, §23A.

None

No

21 (Year Eff: 1986) Alcoholic Beverage Code \$106.01 et. al.

21, exemptions for employment or while in the presence of a parent or guardian.

21, (Exemption for a minor's consumption of alcoholic beverages when they are in the "visible presence" of a parent or guardian.) Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No):

> "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

Fine (\$ Range):

Term of Imprisonment:

No Note: Recent amendments to the Alcoholic Beverage Code may have limited liability only to the actions of intociated persons below the age of 18; see Alcoholic Beverage Code \$2.01 et seq. and Footnote No. 1 below.

Yes Note: The following case law may have been aborgated in part by the above provisions of the Alcoholic Beverage Code. See Poole v. El Chico Corporation, 713 S.W.2d 955 (Tex. App. - Hous. 14 Dist. 1986). No (No Cases) None

Misd; \$101.632

<u>1st off</u> - Not more than 1 yr 101.63(b)²; <u>2nd off</u> - Not more than 1 yr 101.63(c)² <u>1st off</u> - Not less than \$100 nor more than \$500; <u>Subsequent off</u> - Not less than \$500 nor more than \$1,000

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Suspended for not more than 60 dys, revoked or cancelled \$66.01 and 61.71²

²Alcoholic Beverage Code

¹Note: Under \$106.14 of the Alcoholic Beverage Code, actions of employees in serving alcoholic beverages to either minors or intoxicated persons are not attributable to employers if (1) the employer has required its employees to take alcoholic beverage seller training, (2) the employees have completed this training and (3) the employer has not encouraged employees to sell alcoholic beverages to such persons. This section, plus the fact that service to minors under \$106.03 must be criminally negligent may have also abrogated at least in part the case law in Poole v. El Chico Corporation.

STATE – Texas

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

> Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Misd

Not more than 1 yr²; see 55106.01 and 106.03^3 Not less than \$100 nor more than \$500; <u>Subsequent offense</u> - \$500-1,000; see $$106.03^3$

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Yes ≶106.13(a)³

<u>lst off</u> - suspended for not more than **60 dys** or cancelled; <u>2nd off</u> - suspended for not more than 3 mos or cancelled; <u>3rd off</u> (within 36 mos) suspended for not more than 12 mos or cancelled

Yes (regulation - Rule 060.09.04.001)

No⁴

Yes Applies only to drivers Art. 6701d, \$107E

¹The sale to a minor must be with <u>criminal negligence</u>; see §106.03(a) of the Alcoholic Beverage Code.

²Applies to both a 1st and sub off.

³Alcoholic Beverage Code

⁴Under Art. 67011-1, §f, a person convicted of a DWI offense may be subject to special enhanced sanctions, if, at the time of the offense, they had in their immediate possession an open container of an alcoholic beverage; see Footnote No. 2 on p. 3-354.

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense: Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence:

Other Information:

<u>Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which</u> Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

			,	
Blood:			Yes	\$41-6-44.10
Urine:		r		\$41-6-44.10
Other:			 None	Ð

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

the state of the

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No):

Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):

Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No); No (Note: A Magistrate may not grant diversion in a DWI case; see \$77-2-9)

No (Note: If the defendant pleads guilty or <u>nolo</u> <u>contendere</u> to reckless driving as a substitute for a DWI charge, the prosecution must state for the record whether alcohol or drugs were related to the pleaded off.) §41-6-44(7)

Yes \$41-6-44(4) & (5)

UTAH

None

None

No

None

See Utah Code Annotated

Yes, 0.08 \$41-6-44(1)

and Alcohol \$41-6-44(1)

Yes \$41-6-44.10(2)

§41-6-44.10(8)

Yes \$41-6-44.10(1)

Yes (Criminal and Civil Cases)

Under the influence of alcohol \$41-6-44(1)(a)

(1) Any Drug and (2) a Combination of Any Drug

· . .

. '

. . . .

6th Edition

STATE - Utah

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test:	
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	N/A
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	N/A
Other:	N/A

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

None

Rev for 1 yr Mandatory; §41-6-44.10(2) (Note: No hardship license may be issued for revs based on a test refusal; see §41-2-19(d).) None

Other:

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions:

Imprisonment:

Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

<u>Ist off and sub off-non-injury related-Class B</u> misd.- not more than 6 mos; <u>Ist and sub</u> <u>off</u>-where there is an injury related to negligent action-Class A misd.- not more than 1 yr \$\$41-6-44 & 76-3-204 <u>Ist off</u>, non-injury related/injury related (negligence)-48 cons hrs; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-non-injury related/injury related (negligence)-240 cons hrs; <u>subsequent off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-non-injury related/ injury related (negligence)-720 hrs

<u>Ist off and sub off</u>-non-injury related-Class B misd.-not more than \$1,000¹; Not more than \$1,000¹; <u>Ist and sub off</u>-where there is an injury related to negligent action-Class A misd.-not more than \$2,500¹ \$\$41-6-44 & 76-3-301 See footnote I below.

¹Under §63-43-10(1), the Court is <u>required</u> to impose, in addition to the above fines, a special fine of \$150 for 1st offenders, \$299 for 2nd and subsequent offenders; this special fine is for the purpose of funding alcohol education and treatment programs under §63-43-11; in addition, under §63-43-10(2), the Court is also required to impose other assessments that fully compensate agencies for the costs of treating DWI defendants. Defendants are also required to pay a fee of \$100 into a "Crime Victims' Reparations Trust Fund;" see §41-25-1.

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:</u> (continued)

> Other Penalties: Community Service:

Restitution

(eg Victim's Fund):

Other:

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law:

Other:

Post DWL Conviction Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawa':

<u>Ist off</u>, non-injury/injury related - 24 to 50 hrs in lieu of imprisonment (24 hrs mandatory); <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs), Non-injury/injury related -80 to 240 hrs in lieu of imprisonment (80 hrs are mandatory); <u>Subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs), Non-injury/injury related - 240 to 720 hrs in lieu of imprisonment (240 hrs are mandatory)

Yes Via a Victims' Compensation Fund (\$63-63-1 et. seq.) or via direct payment by the defendant to the victim (\$76-3-201(3)(a)(i)) N/A

Yes - A BAC level of 0.08 (or reasonable grounds that a DWI violation has occured) - <u>ist admin</u> <u>action</u> - Susp for 90 dys; <u>2nd and subsequent</u> <u>admin actions</u> - Susp for 120 dys (The susp pd. begins on the 31st dy after the arrest.) Note: These license susps appear to be mandatory; however, see Footnote No. I below. \$\$41-2-127(1)(c), 41-2-129 & 41-2-130 None

<u>Ist DWI off</u> (for either injury or non-injury related offs)-Susp; <u>2nd and subsequent DWI offs</u> (for either injury or non-injury related offs)-Rev \$\$41-2-127, 41-2-128 & 41-6-44(9)

<u>Ist DWI off</u> (for either injury or non-injury related offs) - 90 dys; <u>2nd or subsequent offs</u> (for either injury or non-injury related offs) -I yr; 541-6-44-(9)

<u>Ist DWL off</u> (for either injury or non-injury related offs) - 90 dys; <u>2nd or subsequent offs</u> (either injury or non-injury related offs) - 1 yr; <u>541-6-44(9)</u> These license susps appear to be mandatory; however, see Footnote No. 1 below.



<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:</u> (continued)

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education:	Yes, A judge must order a convicted DWI defendant to attend either an education or treatment program. \$41-6-44(4) & (5)		
Alcohol Treatment:	See above.		
Alcohol Education/			
ative to Criminal			
Licensing Actions (Describe):			
	e e e e e		
Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation Authorized by Specific			
Statutory Authority:	No		
Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released:			
Other:	None		
Miscellaneous Sanctions			
Not Included Elsewhere:	None		

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

(a) A set of the s

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term):

. .

Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Yes Note: There are two different types of veh or automobile homicide. 1) <u>"Simple" Negilgent</u> <u>Homicide</u>: Death caused by operating a motor vehicle in a negligent manner while DWI or with a BAC level of 0.08 or more - 3rd degree felony §76-5-207(1) and 2) <u>"Criminal" Negligent</u> <u>Homicide</u>: Death caused by operating a motor vehicle in a criminally negligent manner (as defined by §76-2-103(4)) while DWI or with a BAC level of 0.08 or more - 2nd degree felony §76-5-207(2).

<u>Simple Negligent Homicide</u> - Not more than 5 yrs; §76-3-203(3) <u>Criminally Negligent Homicide</u> -1-15 yrs §76-3-203(2) None 1) <u>Simple Negligent Homicide</u> - Not more than **\$5,000**; 2) Criminal Negligent Homicide - Not

more than \$10,000; \$76-3-301(1) & (2).

3 - 364

6th Edition

A second se

n n n

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal:

For both offs - Rev §41-2-127(1)(a)

For both offs - 1 yr; 541-2-21(1) and (4)

For both offs - I yr (No hardship license may be issued; see \$41-2-127.)

Other:

None

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: CI A Misd not more than 1 yr; §§41-2-136(3)(a), 41-2-30(2), 41-6-44 and 76-3-204(1)

Not more than \$2,500 \$76-3-301(3) \$1,000

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

> Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

For driving while suspended - Susp; For driving while revoked - Rev; \$41-2-127(2)(a)

For driving while suspended - an additional like period of susp for driving while revoked; For driving while revoked I yr additional period rev ; \$41-2-18(b)

Licensing action may not be mandatory; see Footnote No. 1 on p.3-xxx.

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status

No

None

¹The fine shall be in an amount not less than the maximum fine for a Class B misdemeanor; see §§41-2-136(3)(b) and 76-3-301(4).

STATE - Utah

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers:

Yes No

Yes \$26-1-30(17)

Yes (adults only)

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:

Pedestrian:

Minimum Age (Years) Possession: Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No):

> "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation): Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: Other:

21 \$\$32A-12-8(1) & 32A-12-13.4 (Year Eff: 1935) 21 \$32A-12-13 21 \$32A-12-13

Yes §32A-14-1 (Note: Damages are limited to \$100,000 per person and \$300,000 per occurance.)

No Possible statutory liability §32A-14-1 None

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action:

> Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Class B Misd \$\$32A-12-4, 32A-12-9, 76-3-204(2), 76-3-301(4), & 76-3-302(3) Not more than 6 mos Not more than \$1,000 for individuals and not more than \$5,000 for corporations, associations, partnerships, or Governmental instrumentalities

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:

License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action:

> Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: License to Serve Alcohlic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Yes! Suspension or Revocation; §32A-1-19 Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Suspension: Time period not specified in the statute Revocation: At least 3 yrs; \$32A-1-19(9)

> Class A Misd \$\$32A-12-8, 76-3-204(1), 76-3-301(3), & 76-3-302(2) Not more than I yr Not more than \$2,500 for individuals and not more than \$10,000 for corporations, associations, partnerships, or Governmental instrumentalities.

Yes¹: Suspension or Revocation §32A-1-19 Suspension: Time period not specified in the statute; Revocation: At least 3 yrs \$32A-1-19(9)

Yes \$41-6-44.20(2) Yes - driver and passengers §41-6-44.20(1)

Special Note: Under §32a-1-19(10), employees in violation of this law may be prohibited, via a suspension action from serving alcoholic beverages for a period of up to one (1) month. However, any employee who has had three (3) suspensions within a 36 month period may be prohibited from handling liquor, in the course of employment, for one (1) year.

No

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types or Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence: Other Information:

<u>Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which</u> Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes
Urine:	No
Other:	None

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pre-Sentencing Investigation^{*}Law (PS1) (Yes/No): VERMONT See Vermont Statutes Annotated

Under the influence of intoxicating liquor 23 \$1201(a)(2)Yes, 0.10 23 \$1201(a)(1)Yes, 0.10 23 \$1204(1) Any Drug² and (2) a Combination of Any Drug and Alcohol 23 \$1201(a)(3)None

Yes 23 \$1202(b)

Unclear, but probably not 23 §1202(b)

No

No

No

Yes (Criminal Cases) 23 \$1205(a) None

Yes, the court may require a defendant to undergo an alcohol assessment screening 23 \$\$4(49) and 1210(a)

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail): None Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): None Other: None

Includes all alcoholic beverages; see 23 \$1201(b).
²"Drug" means regulated drugs as defined in 18 \$4201; see 23 \$1201(e).

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>: (continued)

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test

> Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

Other:

None

1st off - Susp 6 mos (mand.); 2nd off (after 5 vrs) - 6 mos susp (mand.); 2nd off (w/n 5 vrs) -18 mos susp (mand.); 3rd off - 3 yr rev (2 yrs mand.); 4th and subsequent offs (after 15 yrs from 1st) - Rev 6 yrs (2 yrs mand.); 4th and subsequent offs (w/n 15 yrs of 1st) - Rev for life (2 yrs mandatory); 23 \$1205 Special Note: 1) A previous DW1 conviction is also considered a previous refusal for the purpose of computing subsequent chemical test refusals. (2) If a person, who has had their license revoked for three (3) or more yrs, has abstained from the consumption of alcohol for two (2) yrs, they may have their license reinstated. (3) Before a license can be reinstated following a susp/rev for any chemical test refusal, a person must complete an alcohol and driver education program; for 2nd (w/n 5 vrs) and 3rd refusals, the driver must also complete a therapy program at their own expense before their license is reinstated.

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions:

Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

DWI Offs: <u>lst off</u> - Not more than 1 yr; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - Not more than 1 yr; <u>3rd off</u> (w/n 15 yrs) - Not more than 1 yr; <u>Serious injury</u> <u>related DWI off</u> - 1 to 15 yrs; <u>23 \$1210</u> <u>2nd DW1 off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - **48** cons hrs (Community service in lieu of imprisonment); <u>3rd DW1 off</u> (w/n 15 yrs) - **48** cons hrs

<u>Ist off</u> - \$200 to 750; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) -\$250 to 1,000; <u>3rd off</u> (w/n 15 yrs) - \$500 to 1,500; <u>Serious injury related DWI off</u> - Not more than \$3,000 None

STATE - Vermont

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued)

Other Penalties: Community Service:

Restitution (eg Victim's Fund): Other: Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWL Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law: Other: <u>Post DWL Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev);

> Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - Not less than 10 dys; <u>3rd</u> <u>DWI off</u> (w/n 15 yrs) - Not less than 10 dys (Community service in lieu of imprisonment)

None None

None None

<u>ist off</u> - Susp; <u>2nd off</u> (after 5 yrs of 1st) -Susp; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - Susp; <u>3rd off</u> - Rev; <u>4th and subsequent offs</u> (after 15 yrs of 1st) -Rev; <u>4th and subsequent offs</u> (w/n 15 yrs) - Rev; <u>23 551206 and 12081</u>

<u>1st off</u> - 90 dys; <u>2nd off</u> (after 5 yrs of 1st) -90 dys; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - 18 mos; <u>3rd off</u> -3 yrs; <u>4th and subsequent offs</u> (after 15 yrs of 1st) - 6 yrs; <u>4th and subsequent off</u> (w/n 15 yrs of 1st) - Life

<u>lst off</u>-90 dys; <u>2nd off</u> (after 5 yrs of lst)-90 dys; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-18 mos; <u>3rd off</u>-2 yrs; <u>4th and sub offs</u> (after 15 yrs of lst)-2 yrs; <u>4th and sub offs</u> (w/n 15 yrs)-2 yrs; See Rehabilitation

Yes

<u>Special Note No. 1</u>: For any DWI off conviction, a defendant must complete an alcohol and driver education program prior to having their license reinstated.

<u>Special Note No. 2</u>: For 2nd (w/n 5 yrs) and 3rd DWI off convictions, a defendant must <u>also</u> complete a therapy program at their own expense. <u>Special Note No. 3</u>: If a person has had their license revoked for 3 or more yrs as a result of a DWI conviction, they may have their license reinstated provided they have abstained from the consumption of alcohol for 2 yrs; 23 \$\$1206, 1208 and 1209a.

Note: Vermont has a point system, but such a system does not apply to DWI cases; see 23 \$2502.

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:</u> (continued)

Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/	Yes, s
Treatment as an Altern-	
ative to Criminal	
Licensing Actions	
(Describe):	
Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscatio	n:
Authorized by Specific	M .
Statutory Authority:	NO
Terms Upon Which Vehicle	
Will Be Released:	
Other:	None

Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere:

<u>Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol</u> <u>Use and Driving</u>:

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine:

> Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action:

see Special Notes above

None None

Yes (There are two veh homicide laws, 23 \$1091(c) applies to death caused by motor veh operation in violation of law and 23 \$1210(e) applies to death caused by DWI. Both of these offenses are felonies and the criminal sanctions for a conviction under either section are the same.)

and the second
1 to 15 yrs Special Note: These penalties do not foreclose the option of tougher penalties for manslaughter (homicide) convictions. 13 §1, and 23 §§1091(c) and 1210(e)

None \$3,000

None

If death is DWI related, ie. a 23 §1210(e) conviction — Susp¹; If death is not DWI related, a 23 §1091(c) conviction — Susp; 23 §§1206(b), 23 1210(e), 23 1091(c)

Before a defendant's license is reinstated, they must complete an alcohol and driver education program; see 23 §§1206(b) and 1209(a)
Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

> Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal:

If death is DWI related - 1 yr; If death is not DWI related - 1 yr plus any other susp period required under the point system; see 23 \$\$2505 and 2506

If death is DWI related - I yr; If death is not DWI related - I yr plus any other susp period required under the point system; see 23 §§2505

Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal:

Other:

and 2506 None

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

> Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

None

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: <u>lst off</u> - 30 dys; <u>2nd off</u> - 90 dys; <u>3rd off</u> - 6 mos; <u>4th off</u> - 2 yrs; 23 $\frac{674}{7}$

None (Note: In certain cases there are mandatory minimum sanctions; see 23 5674(c)) <u>lst off</u> - \$500; <u>2nd off</u> - \$500; <u>3rd off</u> -\$1,000; 4th off - \$1,000; 23 5674None

All offs - Susp

<u>lst off</u> - 30 dys (additional); <u>2nd off</u> - 90 dys; <u>3rd and 4th offs</u> - 6 mos or susp under the point system whichever is greater; 23 \$2506 Note: If more than one license susp/rev results from the same incident, the susp/rev periods are cons.

NONe

Yes, 23 \$673

8 or more convictions based on moving violations (with 6 points or more assessed) and DWI offs within 5-yr period Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued) Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents:

> State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Yéars) Sale/Purchase:

Pedestrian:

١

Minimum Age (Years) Possession: -

Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): -Yes 7 \$501

¹Persons who have attained the age of 18 by June 30, 1986, shall be allowed to continue to purchase, possess and consume alcoholic beverages; see §4 of H.B. 6 enacted in 1986.

No

Ist off - 30 dys; 2nd off - 90 dys; 3rd off - 6 mos; 4th and subsequent offs - 2 yrs

Note: Mandatory minimum sanctions in certain cases; 23 \$674(c) Ist off - \$500; 2nd off - \$500; 3rd off -\$1,000; 4th and subsequent offs - \$1,000 None Ist off Susp - 30 dys (additional); 2nd off Susp - 90 dys; 3rd off Susp - 6 mos; 4th and subsequent offs Susp -6 mos or susp

under point system whichever is greater.

21¹ (Year Eff: 1986) 7 \$\$173, 657 and 658

consumption per se but makes illegal the

the purpose of consumption.

21¹ see special note above

21¹ (employment exemption) Special Note: The

possession on alcoholic beverages by minors for

law does not specifically prohibit possession or

2 yrs

Misd

Other State Laws Related To Alcohoi Use And Driving: (continued)

"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation): Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:

No

None

No

Yes Langle v. Kurkul, 510 A.2d 1301 (1986) A common law legal duty may be imposed in situations where a social host has furnished alcoholic beverages either to a visibly intoxicated person, who may operate a motor vehicle, or to a minor (510 A.2d 1301, 1306)¹. None

Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term of License Withdrawal;

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range): Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: License to Serve Alcohlic Beverages

Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term License Withdrawal: Misd 2 yrs 7 9658 \$200 - \$1,000

Yes 7 §236 Indeterminate 7 §236

¹Title 7, §501(g) provides that nothing in the dram shop law shall create a "statutory" cause of action against a social host. This subsection, however, states that it "shall not be construed to limit or otherwise affect the liability of a social host for negligence at common law." <u>Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use</u> <u>And Driving</u>: (continued)

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

No

No

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Yes, driver only; 23 §1134

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Yes	§18.2-267(c)
Yes	§18.2-268
No	
Yes	But only for rebuttal pu
\$18.	2-268(i)
None	,
	Yes No Yes §18.

8

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes
Urine:	No
Other:	None

Adjudication of DW1 Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): No Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): No Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No): No

Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC Chemical Test:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test:	
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	None
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	None
Other:	None
Refusal to Take Implied Consent	
Chemical Test	
Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail):	None

VIRGINIA See Code of Virginia Annotated

Under the influence of alcohol \$18.2-266
Yes, 0.10 \$18.2-266
Yes, 0.10 §18.2-269(3)
(1) Any Drug, (2) Any Narotic or Drug, (3) any
Self-Administered Intoxicant or Drug of
Whatsoever Nature and (4) Combined Influence of
Alcohol and any Drug or Drugs \$18.2-266
None

and a second
urposes

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>: (continued)

Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

Other:

Susp for 6 mos to 1 yr; for a <u>second or</u> <u>subsequent refusal</u> w/n 1 yr - susp for 1 yr (Mandatory) \$18.2-268(n) None

lst off -12 mos; 2nd off (w/n 5 yrs)-1 mo-1 yr; 2nd off (5-10 yrs from 1st)-1 mo-1 yr; 3rd and

subsequent offs (5-10 yrs from 1st)-2 mos-1 yr;

<u>2nd_off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-48 hrs; <u>3rd_and_sub_off</u> w/n 5 yrs-30 dys; <u>3rd_and_subsequent_off_w/n 5-10</u>

Ist off-Not more than \$1,000; 2nd off (w/n 5

yrs)-\$200-1,000; <u>2nd off</u> (5-10 yrs fram 1st)-\$200-1,000²; <u>3rd and sub off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) -\$500-1,000; <u>3rd and subsequent off</u> (5-10 yrs

sub_off (w/n 5 yrs)-2 mos-1 yr; 3rd and.

\$18.2-270 CLI misd for all offs

yrs from 1st off - 10 dys

from 1st) - \$500-1,000

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment: Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

Other Penalties: Community Service: Restitution (eg Victim's Fund): Other:

Administrative Licensing Actions:

Pre-DW1 Conviction Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law: N Other: N

None None

None

None

None

None

Post DWI Conviction Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action

(Susp/Rev):

<u>Ist off</u>-Privilege to operate any motor veh is deprived (Either susp. or rev.); <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-Rev; <u>2nd off</u> (5-10 yrs from 1st)-Rev; <u>3rd</u> <u>and sub off</u> (w/n 10 yrs) Rev §18.2-271

Note: The State's victims' compensation law does not cover injuries caused by persons driving in violation of the motor vehicles except when the injuries were intentionally inflicted; see \$19.2-368.1 et seq.

²If a person is required to enter a driver alcohol rehabilitation program under §18.2-271.1, they must pay a fee of not less than \$250 but not more than \$300; see §18.2-271.1(al).

3 - 378 -

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

(continued)

Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

Other:

Rehabilitation:

Alcohol Education:

Alcohol Treatment:

Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other:

Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere: <u>1st off-6 mos; 2nd off (w/n 5 yrs)-3 yrs; 2nd</u> <u>off</u> (5-10 yrs from 1st)-3 yrs; <u>3rd and sub off</u> (w/n 10 yrs)- 10 yrs (See special note at the end of the Sanctions section)

<u>Ist off</u> - See footnote 1; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) 2 yrs²; <u>2nd off</u> (5-10 yrs from 1st)-1 yr²; <u>3rd and</u> <u>sub off</u> (w/n 10 yrs)-5 yrs (See Special Note at end of Sanctions section); (See special note under Miscellaneous Sanctions.)

Ist off-Yes; 2nd off (w/n 5 yrs)-Yes; 2nd off (5-10 yrs from 1st)-Yes; 3rd and sub off - See special note at Miscellaneous Sanctions; \$18.2-271.1

<u>Ist off-Yes; 2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-Yes; 2nd off 5-10 yrs from Ist-Yes; <u>3rd and sub off</u>-See Special Note at Miscellaneous Sanctions

If court authorizes an offender to participate in either an education or treatment program, a restricted permit may be issued.

No

Under \$46.1-418 a defendant's veh registration certificate and registration plates shall also be suspended when the defendant's license is either suspended or revoked

Special Note: If a person is at the time of the DWI conviction dependent on alcohol, their license may be restored after 5 yrs provided they have been cured of such dependency, and are not otherwise a threat to the public safety.

¹A restricted lic. may be reissued if defendant participates in a rehabilitation program. ²A restricted lic. may be issued after the minimum period of lic. withdrawal has passed and a defendant has completed a rehabilitation program.

Note: See the following other references: 18.2-11, 18.2-266, 18.2-70 and 46.1-423.1.

3 - 379

<u>Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol</u> <u>Use and Driving:</u>

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of off: Sanctions: Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine:

> Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action:

No

Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other:

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Off:

Sanction:

Criminal: Imprisonment (Term):

> Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Length of Term of License

Withdrawal Action:

<u>ist off</u> - 10 dys-6 mos; <u>2nd and subsequent</u> offs-2 mos-1 yr \$46.1-350 See Footnote No. 1 below.

Special Note: Even though this State does not have a veh homicide statute, it, nevertheless, provides for a mandatory l yr rev for a conviction of manslaughter resulting from the

operation of a motor veh.

A portion but not all of the jail sentence may be suspended, however, the term of mandatory imprisonment is not specified in the statute (Code of Va. Ann. §§46.1-350, -351.1) <u>lst off</u>-\$100-200; <u>2nd and subsequent offs</u>-\$200-1,000 None

ist off-Rev or Susp 546.1-350

The same period for which the license has been previously suspended or revoked; if the original period not specified, then the Susp or Rev is not to exceed 90 dys.

Another provision, \$18.2-272, makes it a misdemeanor to operate a vehicle when a perosn has been denied the right to drive. Sanctions: Jail-10 days-6 mos; fine-not more than \$500.

3 - 380

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No):

> Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender:

Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status: Type of Criminal Off if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status

Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status:

> Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

> Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the

No

the Following Persons:

Driver:

Vehicle Passengers:

Pedestrian:

The license may be restored after five (5) years upon a showing of good cause; see \$46,1-387.9:2.

previously suspended or revoked; if the original period not specified, then the Susp or Rev is not to exceed 90 dys.

The same period for which the license has been

Yes \$\$18.2-8, 46.1-387.9:2, 46.1-387.1 to .12, 46.1-514.6 et seq.

3 serious offs within 1 yr or 12 serious and/or minor violations within 10 yrs

10 yrs!

Felony

1-5 yrs

Note: The statute states that a portion of the sentence may be suspended, thus there would appear to be an unspecified mandatory term since the law states that just a portion of such term may be suspended

None None None

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:

Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been

> Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:

Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): No (Note: For a case denying liability, see Williamson v. Old Brogue, Inc., 350 S.E.2d 621 (Va. 1986)²) No (No Cases) None

21 for all alcoholic beverages (Year Eff:

21 for all alcoholic beverages.¹ Special exemptions for physicians who administer alcoholic beverages to minors, for employment reasons, and at the order of a parent. \$\$4-5,

(Special Exemptions for physicans who administer

alcoholic beverages to minors, for employment reasons, and at the order of a parent.)

1987) \$\$4-5, 4-62 & 4-112

4-62 & 4-112

No

Misd \$\$4-37, 4-62, and 4-92 and 4-98.10 30 dys-12 mos

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages

Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Yes, Rev or susp (See note in section on sanctions for serving minors intoxicating liquor.)

Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Time period is not specified in the statute

\$50-500

¹Persons who have attained the age of 19 by July 1, 1985 shall be allowed to consume and possess beer.

 $^{^{2}}$ For another case denying liability under Virginia law, see Webb v. Blackie's House of Beef, Inc., 811 F.2d 840 (4th Cir. 1987).

aws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle: Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No);

STATE - Virginia

¹The law states that "If a person shall take a drink of alcoholic beverages or shall tender a drink thereof to another whether accepted or not, at or in any public place, he shall be guilty of a CL 4 misd." The law provides exemptions to this prohibition for licensed establishments, commercial carriers and the consumption of beer at certain sporting events.

No

Possible¹ driver and passengers \$4-78

STATE: General Comments:

WASHINGTON See Revised Code of Washington Annotated

Under the influence of or affected by intoxicating liquor; see \$46:61:504(3) & (4)

(1) Any Drug and (2) a Combination of Intoxicating Liquor and Any Drug

DWI where there has been an injury related accident which may result in death; see

Yes, 0.10 §\$46.61.502(1) & (2) and 46.61.504(1)

Basi	s fo	ar a	DWI	Char	ge:

Standard DWI Offense:

Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):

Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law:	No
Implied Consent Law:	
Arrest Required (Yes/No):	Yes \$46-20-308
Implied Consent Law Applies to	
Drugs (Yes/No):	No
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test	
Admitted into Evidence:	Yes (Criminal Cases) 46.61.517 ¹
Other Information:	Special Note: A person may be administered
	either a breath or blood test without their
	consent, if they have been arrested for either
	(1) vehicle homicide, (2) vehicle assault or (3)

\$46.20.308

8 (2)

\$46.61.502(3) & (4)

No

None

<u>Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which</u> Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes
Urine:	No
Other:	None

¹A refusal to take a chemical test is only admissible when the defendant initially raises the issue of a blood alcohol test by contesting the credibility or competence of police procedures; see State v. Zwicker, 713 P.2d 1101 (Wash. 1986).

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No): No¹ (Note: Court appearance mandatory.) No¹

Yes Permissive authorization; but not mandatory; see \$46.61.515

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> Chemical Test:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test:	
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	N//
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	N//
Other:	N//

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail):

Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

Other:

<u>lst refusal-Rev for I yr (Mandatory); 2nd</u> <u>refusal</u> (w/n 5 yrs) Rev for 2 yrs (Mandatory)

None

\$\$46.20.308 and \$46.20.311(2)
A blood or breath test may be taken without
consent for the following offs.: Veh. homicide,
veh. assault and DWI were there are injuries
likely to cause death; see 46.20.308(3).

Sanctions_Following a Conviction for a DWI_Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment:

Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term:

<u>Ist off</u> - 24 hrs - 1 yr; <u>2nd and Subsequent off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - 7 dys - 1 yr; <u>2nd and Subsequent</u> off but offender has no license or because their license was either suspended or revoked - 90 dys - 1 yr; <u>Veh assault</u> (Drunk driving related injury CI C felony) - Not more than 5 yrs; <u>\$\$46.61.502,-504, .515, .522</u> <u>Ist off</u> - 24 cons hrs¹; <u>2nd and Subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - 7 dys²⁸³; <u>2nd and Subsequent off</u> but offender has no license or because their license was either suspended or revoked - 90 dys

¹The State has a deferred prosecution program for DWI offenses. A person is eligible for this program <u>only</u> once in every five (5) years. The program provides for alcohol treatment for a two year period. Upon successful completion of the program. The court shall dismiss the charges pending against the defendant. See §§3 et. seq. of S.B. 3230 as enacted in 1985. ²May be suspended only if jail would impose a risk to defendant's physical or mental well-being. ³With 48 con. hrs; see §48.61.5151.

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

(continued)

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

<u>ist off</u> = \$250-\$1,000¹; <u>2nd and Subsequent off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) = \$500-\$2,000¹; <u>2nd and Subsequent</u> <u>DWI off</u> but offender has no license or because their license was either suspended or revoked -Not more than \$1,500¹; <u>Veh assault</u> (Drunk Driving related injury CI C felony) - Not more than \$10,000

1st off - \$250²; 2nd and Subsequent offs (w/n 5

yrs) - \$500²; <u>2nd and Subsequent DWI offender</u> but offender has no license because their license was either suspended or revoked - \$200;

55 46.61.502 - 504, and - .515

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

Other Penalties: Community Service: Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)

Other:

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law:

Other:

Post DWI Conviction Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

None

Yes, as an alternative to a fine \$\$9A.04.04(2) and 9A.20.03 See also \$7.68-03 None

None (Note: The Admin. <u>Per Se</u> law, due to become eff 1/1/86, was repealed by §6 of Ch. 407, Laws of 1985.) None

<u>Ist off</u> - Susp³; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - Rev; <u>3rd</u> <u>and subsequent off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - Rev; <u>Veh</u> <u>Assault</u> - Rev; §\$46.04.285, 46.04.480 and 46.61.515(5))

<u>ist off</u> - Not less than 90 dys³; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - I yr; <u>3rd and subsequent off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - 2 yrs; <u>Veh assault</u> - I yr; §§46.20.285, 46.04.480 and 46.61.515(5))

An additional amount equal to 25% of any fine is paid into a special fund for a statewide alcohol safety program.

²Unless the defendant is indigent.

³If the defendant is under 19 yrs old, the susp is for 90 dys or until they reach 19 whichever is the longer susp period.

¥ M

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:	<u>lst off</u> - 30 dys ¹ ; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - 1 yr;
Withdrawal:	ist off = 30 dws $ $: 2nd off (w/n 5 vrs) = 1 vr
	<u>3rd and subsequent off</u> (w/n.5 yrs) - 2 yrs; <u>Yeh</u>
	<u>Assault – 1 yr</u>
Other:	
Rehabilitation:	
Alcohol Education:	Yes for all offs ²
Alcohol Treatment:	Yes for all offs ²
Alcohol Education/	$\mathcal{K} = \{ e_1, \dots, e_{n-1}, \dots, e_{n-1}, \dots, e_{n-1}, \dots, e_{n-1} \} $
Treatment as an Altern-	• A second se
ative to Criminal	
Licensing Actions	
(Describe):	
Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscati	on:
Authorized by Specific	
Statutory Authority:	· No _{ce}
Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released:	
Other:	None
Miscellaneous Sanctions	
Not Included Elsewhere:	The court may order a person convicted of a DWI offense to install an ignition inerlock breath alcohol device on their vehicle; see Ch. 247 of the laws of 1987.
. .	
Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol	• · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
d Driving:	·
micide by Vehicle:	
State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:	•
	operation of a vehicle while under the influence
	of intoxicating liquor or in a reckless manner.)
Sanctions:	
Criminal Sanction:	
Imprisonment (Term);	Not more than 10 yrs; \$\$46.20.285 and 46.61.520
Mandatory Minimum Term:	None
Fine (\$ Range):	Not more than \$20,000 (Under §9A.20.30 restitution may be authorized in lieu of a fine)
	None
Mandatory Minimum Fine:	

²Note: Alcohol education/treatment are required and are in addition to any other criminal/ civil sanctions; see \$46.61.515. · ..

ال المراجع الم المراجع
Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol

<u>Use and Driving</u>: (continued)

Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: Rev Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: 2 yrs Mandatory Action--Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: 2 yrs \$46.20.391 Other: None

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense:

Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action:

> Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Susp or Rev³

None

None

and 46.61.515(2)

For all offs - Not more than \$500

If off is driving while suspended, an additional susp for a period equal to the original susp period; if the off is driving while revoked, an additional rev period of 1 yr.

<u>ist off</u> - 10 dys to 6 mos; <u>2nd off</u> - 90 dys to 1 yr; <u>3rd & sub. off</u> - 1 yr (Note: See last off listed under DWI sanctions section)¹ \$\$46.20.342

If off is driving while suspended, an additional susp for a period equal to the original susp period; if the off is driving while revoked, an additional rev period of 1 yr^2 .

Habitual Offender Laws: State Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender:

Yes \$46.65.020

3 serious offs w/n 5 yrs or a combination of 20 minor and/or serious offs w/n 5 yrs provided that 3 minor offs must have been committed w/n the pd. of 360 dys for this alternative to apply.

²A restricted license may be issued under certain conditions.

³If the driver is the registered owner of the vehicle used in the offense, the vehicle's registration/license may be cancelled; see Ch. 388 of the laws of 1987.

Note: If the vehicle used in this offense is owned by the driver, the vehicle may be impounded until any penalties, fines or forfeitures associated with the offense are satisfied; see §46.20.435.

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Term of License Rev While Under Habitual Offender Status:

5 yrs (Special stay of rev if based on DWI offs and person is attending an alcohol treatment program; or after 2 yrs a restricted or unrestricted license may be issued.)

Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term):

Gross misd

None

Not more than 1 yr; if convicted for DWI and for this off, the penalty is 30 dys to 1 yr and the 30 dy sentence shall not be suspended or deferred.

Mandatory Minimum	Term	of
Imprisonment:		
Fine (\$ Range):		
Mandatory Minimum	Fine	(\$):
Licensing Actions	(Spec	:ify):

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

None N/A There is no special licensing action for this off.

Yes \$\$46.20.308(1) and 46.52.065



21 (Year Eff: 1934) \$\$66.44.270 and 66.44.290 21 (Exemptions for minors who have been served alcoholic beverages by their parents or guardians and for religious services.)

21 (Exemptions for minors who have been served alcoholic beverages by their parents or guardians and for religious services.)

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): No¹ "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation): Yes

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:

Other:

Fine (\$ Range):

Yes, Halvorson v. Birchfield Boiler, Inc., 458 P.2d 897 (Wa. 1969), Callan v. O'Neil, 578 P.2d 890 (Wa. 1978) and Young v. Caravan, 663 P.2d 834 (Wa. 1983)²

Yes Halligan v. Pupo, 678 P.2d 1295 (CA 1985)³

Under \$4.56.301(2), non-economic damages, in any action seeking damages for personal injuries/death, cannot exceed an amount that equals (0.43)X(The Average Annual Wage)X(The Person's Life Expectancy). Note: For purposes of determining this damage award limitation, a person's life expectancy cannot be less than 15 years.

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic

Beverages to intoxicated Patrons:	•
Type of Criminal Action:	\$\$66.44.18
Term of Imprisonment:	lst off -

\$\$66.44.180 & 66.44.200
<u>lst off</u> - Not more than 2 mos; <u>2nd off</u> -Not more
than 6 mos; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> - Not more
than 1 yr;
For individuals, <u>lst off</u> - Not more than \$500;
For corporations, <u>lst off</u> - Not more than
\$5,000; <u>2nd and subsequent offs</u> - Not more than
\$10,000 (And/or forfeiture of its corporate)

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Not specified in the statute

license.)

¹Note: This State's Dram Shop Law was repealed in 1955; see Ch. 372 of the laws of 1955. ²Applies only to the actions of (1) intoxicated minors and/or (2) adults who have lost their will to stop drinking.

³The Court of Appeals stated that the "relevant inquiry is whether social host had authority to deny further service of alcohol when intoxication became apparent."

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

> License to Serve Alcohlic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

None

Same penalties apply as to serving alcoholic beverages to intoxicated persons \$\$66.44.180, 66.44.270 & 66.44.320 Same penalties apply as to serving alcoholic beverages to intoxicated persons

Yes Susp or Rev Not specified in the statute \$\$66.24.010, 66.44.180, 66.44.320 and 66.44.325

No

Yes \$\$66.44.100 and 46.61(2)¹ Yes - Driver and Passengers² \$\$66.44.100 and 46.61(1)¹ Note: Under sec. 66.44.100, "no person shall

open the package containing liquor or consume liquor in a public place;" the law allows for exceptions (e.g. licensed establishments)

See sec. 28 of H.B. 289 enacted in 1983; A violation of the open container provisions is a traffic infraction.

²Does not apply to passengers in commercially chartered vehicles.

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense: Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law:	Yes	§17C-5-5
Implied Consent Law:		
Arrest Required (Yes/No):	Yes	\$17C-5-4
Implied Consent Law Applies to		
Drugs (Yes/No):	No	
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test		
Admitted into Evidence:	Yes	State v. Cozart, 352 S.E.2d 152 (W.Va. 1986)
Other Information:	None	

WEST VIRGINIA

0.10 \$17C-5-2

0.10 \$170-5-8

See West Virginia Code

٠,

Under the influence of alcohol \$17C-5-2

Any Drug, (2) Controlled Substance, (3)
 a Combination of Alcohol and Any Other
 Controlled Substance or Any Other Drug, (4)
 Habitual Users of Narcotic Drugs, Amphetamine or

0.102is prima facie evidence of driving under

Any Derivative Thereof \$17C-5-2

the influence of alcohol \$17C-5-8(c)

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which

Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes	17C-5-4
Urine:	Yes	170-5-4
Other:	None	
Adjudication of DWI Charges:		
Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No):	No	
Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):	No	
Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI)		

(Yes/No):

. . . .

- . .

No

1. 19

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Other:

None None

None

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action

(Susp/Rev):

None

. .

<u>ist refusal</u>-Rev for 1 yr (Mandatory); <u>2nd</u> <u>refusal</u>-Rev for 10 yrs (5 yrs mandatory); <u>3rd</u> <u>refusal</u>-Rev for life (10 yrs mandatory) <u>\$\$17C-5-4 & 17C-5-7</u> None

1 ...

. .

Other:

3 - 394

And the second second 1.5 Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: . * Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment: Term (Day, Month, Years, DWI not related to death or bodily injury, ist Etc.): off - I dy² to 6 mos; 2nd off-6 mos to I yr; 3rd and subsequent offs-1 to 3 yrs; DWI resulting in death where there is reckless disregard of the safety of others - I to 10 yrs; DWI resulting in death where there is an illegal act or a failure to perform a legal duty, 1st off-90 dys to 1 yr; 2nd off-6 mos to I yr; 3rd and Sub offs-1 to 3 yrs; DWI resulting from bodily injury where there is an illegal act or a failure to perform a legal duty, 1st off - 1 dy² to 1 yr; <u>2nd off</u> -6 mos to 1 yr; 3rd and subsequent offs - 1 to 3 vrs: §17C-5-2 See Footnote No. 3 below. Mandatory Minimum Term: None See Footnote No. 4 below: Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

disregard of the safety of others¹- \$1,000 -3,000; DWI resulting in death where there is an illegal act or a failure to perform a legal duty, <u>lst off</u>- \$500-1,000; <u>2nd off</u>-\$1,000-3,000; <u>3rd and Sub offs</u>- \$3,000 to 5,000; DWI resulting from bodily injury where there is an illegal act or a failure to perform a legal duty, <u>lst off</u> - \$200 to 1,000; <u>2nd off</u> - \$1,000

> to 3,000; <u>3rd and subsequent offs</u> - \$3,000 to 5,000; §17C-5-2 See Footnote No. 3 below. §17C-5-21(m) provides the above sentences are mandatory and are not subject to either susp or rev.

DWI not related to death or bodily injury, <u>lst</u> off - \$100 to 500; 2nd o<u>ff</u>-\$1,000 to 3,000; <u>3rd</u>

and subsequent offs-\$3,000 to 5,000; DWI resulting in death where there is reckless

10 **-** 1 -

Felony

²Actual confinement of not less than 24 hrs.

⁴Note: Sec. 17C-5-2(m) provides that the DWI sanctions are mandatory and are not subject to either susp or probation; i.e., the minimum imprisonment sanction, it appears, must be served. However, this section does provide that for jail sentences of one (1) yr or less, the provisions of sec. \$962-11A-1 et. seq. may be applied by the Court. In brief, \$62-11A-1provides for a defendant's temporary release from confinement for employment, educational, medical, or family needs/reasons.

³Note: It is a misdemeanor for a person to drive a vehicle if they are an habitual user of narcotic drug or an amphetamine or any derivative thereof. The sanctions for this offense are as follows: Imprisonment from I day to 6 months with actual confinement of not less than 24 hours and/or a fine of from \$100 to 500.

<u>Sanctions</u>	Following	a	<u>Conviction</u>	for	a	DWI	Offense:
(continue	d)						

0	ther Penalties:	and the second
	Community Service:	None
· .	Restitution	
	(eg Victim's Fund):	Yes Victims' Compensation Fund; see \$14-1-1 et
		seq. & §14-2A-3 et seq. Direct compensation by
		the defendant to the victim via court order is
		also possible; see, e.g., §14-2A-3(b)(1).
	Other:	None

1

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law: E

Basis of action: A BAC of 0.10 or driving while under the influence of alcohol) Admin actions where there is neither death nor a bodily injury: 1st action - 6 mos rev (90 dys are mandatory); 2nd action - 10 yrs rev (5 yrs are mandatory); 3rd action - Rev for life (10 yrs mandatory) §§17C-5A-2 and 17C-5A-3(a), (b) and (c); Admin. actions where there is a death and the driver has also acted in reckless disregard for the safety of others <u>ist_action-10 yrs rev</u> (5 yrs mandatory), 2nd action-Rev for life (10 yrs mandatory). Admin actions where there is a death of a person but no recklessness on the part of the driver: 1st action - 5 yrs rev (2 1/2 yrs mandatory); 2nd action - Rev for life (10 yrs mandatory). Admin actions where there is bodily injury: 1st action - 2 yrs nev (1 yr mandatory); 2nd action - 10 yrs rev (5 yrs mandatory) 3rd action - Rev. for life (10 yrs mandatory) \$\$17C-5A-2 and 17C-5A-3. See Footnote No. I below. Note: The admin. per se law appears to apply to both residents and nonresidents; see \$17B-3-2. A person, under 19 years old, who has violated the admin. per se law, must have their license revoked until they are 19 or for the applicable statutory period whichever is longer; see

Other:

\$17C-5A-2(n).

Note: If an habitual user of a narcotic drug or an amphetamine or any derivative thereof has operated a motor vehicle, their license is revoked as follows: Ist action - 6 mos; 2nd action - 10 yrs; and 3rd action - for life. \$17C-5A-2(i)

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: 1 The second states with the second states in internet (continued)

Post DWL Conviction Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

e - Contra Co Contra C 2 ⁻ 1 . Term of License Withdrawal

(Days, Months, Years, etc.): N/A Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education:

e.,

Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other: Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere:

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

- Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Offense:

Sanctions: Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine:

1... Note: License susp/rev provisions under previous law following a DWI conviction have been replaced by the provisions of the

•

Administrative Per Se Law.

•, •

Yes \$17C-5A-3 Note: After (1) the period of mandatory rev has elapsed and (2) the driver has successfully completed an approved program of either alcohol/drug education or alcohol/drug treatement, a defendant's license may be reissued with or without conditions. Yes see note above

Generally no, but there are some alternatives. See \$17C-5A-3

No

None

None

Yes, Misd See Footnote No. 1 on p. 3-398. Negligent homicide \$17C-5-1 (For details on deaths related to DWI, see DWI sanctions above.)

Not more than I yr None \$100-1,000 None

ł

and Driving:	tions Related to Alcohol (continued)	
.		
Adm	inistrative Licensing Action:	
	Licensing Authorized and	·
	Type of Action:	Rev \$\$17B-1-1(n) & 17B-3-5
	Length of Term of	
	Licensing Withdrawal:	l yr
	Mandatory ActionMinimum	
	Length of License	
	Withdrawal:	l yr
	Other:	None
-	License Suspended or Revoked is Was a DWI Offense:	I .
	minal:	
577	Imprisonment (Term):	<u>lst off</u> Misd – 6 mos; <u>2nd off</u> Misd – 1 yr; <u>3rd</u>
		and subsequent offs Felony - 1-3 yrs
		(penitentary) \$178-4-3(b)
	Mandatory Minimum Term	
	of Imprisonment:	<u>ist off - 6 mos; 2nd off - 1 yr; 3rd and </u>
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	subsequent offs - I yr
	Fine (\$ Range):	<u>ist off</u> - \$100-500; <u>2nd off</u> - \$1,000- 3,000; <u>3rd</u>
		and subsequent offs = \$3,000- 5,000 \$17B-4-3(b)
	Mandatory Minimum Fine:	<u>Ist off</u> - \$100; <u>2nd off</u> - \$1,000; <u>3rd and</u>
		subsequent offs - \$1,000
Adm	inistrative Licensing Actions	
	Type of Licensing Action	
	(Susp/Rev):	Either Susp or Rev
	Length of Term of License	·
	Withdrawal Action:	If license was originally suspended the license
		withdrawal period would be equivalent to the
		original period of susp. If license was
		revoked, I yr extension of the original rev.
		\$17B-4-3(c)
	Mandatory Term of License	
	Withdrawal Action:	Same as above
Habitual Offe	nder Laws:	
State Ha	s Such Law (Yes/No):	No
Grounds	for Being Declared an	
Habitu	al Offender:	•
Term of	License Rev While	
Under I	Habitual Offender Status:	
Type of	Criminal Offense if	
Convic	ted on Charges of	
Drivin	g While on Habitual	
Offend	er Status	

IA felony is defined as an offense for which the law which specifically requires that the incarceration sanction is to be served in the State penitentiary; see 17B-1-1(n). Since the 17C-5-1 does not specify where the term of incarceration must be served, the offense would appear to be a misdemeanor.

<u>d Driving</u> : (continued)	an an an Arran ann an Arran a Arran an Arran an Arr
Sanctions Following a Conviction of	
Driving While on Habitual Offender	
Status:	
Imprisonment (Term):	
Mandatory Minimum Term of	
Imprisonment:	
Fine (\$ Range):	
Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$):	
Licensing Actions (Specify):	
Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on	
Persons Killed in Traffic	
Accidents:	
State Has Such a Law (Yes/No):	Yes 17C-5B-1
BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the	
the Following Persons:	
Driver:	Yes
Vehicle Passengers:	No
Pedestrian:	Yes (Adult Pedestrians)
Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages	
Concerning Alcoholic Beverages:	
Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:	21 (Year Eff: 1986) 11-16-18(a)(3),
	60-3-22(1), 60-3-12(3), and 60-8-20(c)
Minimum Age (Years) Possession:	None
Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:	None
Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions:	
State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No):	No
"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been	
Adopted Via a Change to the Common	
Law Rule by Action of the Highest	
Court of Record in the State (Case	
Citation):	No (Note: A Federal District Court has held
	that West Virginia courts would find in favor of
	a dram shop action based upon common law
	grounds; see Walker v. Griffith, 626 F.Supp. 350 (1986).)
Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:	No (No Cases)
Other:	None

.

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Criminal Action Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:

License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

- . . · · · · , . ÷ 1 Misd.-For all offenses

Alcoholic_Liquor¹⁸⁶: Sales by the State Commission/Agents2-5 dys-6 mos; Special Licensees³-30 dys-1 yr; Private Clubs⁴-not more than I yr; Wines⁵-30-dys-6 mos. Nonintoxicating Beer^{1&7}: Class A & B Licensees-30 dys-6 mos. Footnotes are on p. 3-402. Alcoholic Liquor¹⁸⁶: Sales by the State Commission/Agents²-\$10-500; Special Licensees³-\$50-500; Private Clubs⁴-\$100-500; Wines⁵-\$25-500. Nonintoxicating Beer¹⁸⁷: Class A & B Licensees-\$25-500. Footnotes are on p. 3-402.

Yes, Discontinued, suspended or revoked Length of Term of License Withdrawal: Alcoholic Liquor¹⁸⁶: Sales by the State Commission/Agents²-State stores or agents may be discontinued at the discretion of the commissioner; Special Licensees³-Rev time period is not specified but normal licensing period is one (1) year; Private Clubs4-Rev/susp-Licenses are usually revoked for up to one (1) year; Wines⁵-Rev/susp time period is not specified in the statute. Footnotes are on p. 3-402. Nonintoxicating Beer^{1&7}: Class A & B Licensees-Rev/susp-If the license is revoked, no new license shall be issued for two (2) years; the statute does not state a specific time period for a suspension. Footnotes are on p. 3-402.

<u>Other State Law Related to Alcohol Use</u> and Driving: (continued)

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment:

Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

> License to Serve Alcohlic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

a provinsi kara sa ba

Misd.-For all offenses <u>Alcoholic Liquor</u>^{1&6}: Sales by the State Commission/Agents²-5 dys-6 mos; Special Licensees³-30 dys-1 yr; Private Clubs⁴-not more than I yr; Wines⁵-30-dys-6 mos. <u>Nonintoxicating</u> <u>Beer</u>^{1&7}: Class A & B Licensees-30 dys-6 mos. <u>Footnotes are on p. 3-402.</u> <u>Alcoholic Liquor</u>^{1&6}: Sales by the State Commission/Agents²-\$10-500; Special Licensees³-\$50-500; Private Clubs⁴-\$100-500; Wines⁵-\$25-500. <u>Nonintoxicating Beer</u>^{1&7}: Class A & B Licensees-\$25-500. <u>Footnotes are on p.</u> <u>3-402.</u>

Yes, Discontinued, suspended or revoked Alcoholic Liquor¹⁸⁶: Sales by the State Commission/Agents²-State stores or agents may be discontinued at the discretion of the commissioner; Special Licensees³-Rev time period is not specified but normal licensing period is one (1) year; Private Clubs⁴-Rev/susp-Licenses are usually revoked for up to one (1) year; Wines⁵-Rev/susp time period is not specified in the statute. Footnotes are on p. 3-402. Nonintoxicating Beer^{1&7}: Class A & B Licensees-Rev/susp-If the license is revoked, no new license shall be issued for two (2) years; the statute does not state a specific time period for a suspension. Footnotes are on p. 3-402.

STATE - West Virginia			····
Other State Law Related to Alcohol Use		2	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
and Driving: (continued)			· · · · · ·
Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:	No		
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		• • • • • • •	
Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of			~ ·
Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages			• • • • • •
and (2)"the Consumption of Alcoholic			
Beverages in the Passenger Compartment			
of a Vehicle:			
Open Container Law (Yes/No):	No		
Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):	Yes - Driver a	and passengers	660-6-9(a) (3)

¹Alcoholic Liquor-all alcoholic beverages except nonintoxicating beer; nonintoxicating beer-all cereal malt beverages and malt coolers containing at least 0.5% alcohol by volume but not more than 4.2% alcohol by weight <u>or</u> 6% by volume whichever is greater. \$\$11-16-3 & 60-1-5.

²Establishment by the State Alcohol Commissioner of State stores or private agents to sell alcoholic liquor in packages at retail. \$\$60-3-1 (monopoly), 60-3-2 & 60-3-16 (sales in sealed packages only)

³Special Licensees-E.g., manufacturers of alcoholic liquor, wholesale and retail druggists, users of alcohol for scientific purposes, users of wine for sacramental purposes, etc. \$60-4-1 et seq.

⁴Private Clubs, which are not open to the public, may be licensed to sell alcoholic liquor by the drink. §60-7-1 et seq.

⁵Licenses may be granted for the "off premisis" consumption of wine by any reatailer. Licneses may be granted for the "on premisis" consumption of wine to restaurants which are not open to the public. §60-8-1 et seq.

6<u>Alcoholic Liquor-citations</u>: Sales by the State Commission-\$\$60-30-2, 60-3-22 & 60-6-15; Special Licensees-\$\$60-3-22, 60-4-1, 60-4-1 & 60-68; Private Clubs-\$\$60-7-12 & 60-7-13; Wines-\$\$60-8-18, 60-8-20 & 60-8-25

⁷<u>Nonintoxicating Beer-citations:</u> \$\$11-16-9, 11-16-18 & 11-16-23 Special Note: Class A Licenses ("on and off premisis" sales) are issued (1) to retail businesses (profit) and (2) to social, fraternal, private clubs, etc. (non-profit); Class B Licenses ("off premisis" sales only) are issued to retail food stores. STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

WISCONSIN See: Wisconsin Statutes Annotated

Standard DWI Offense:Under the influence of an intoxicant
§346.63(1)(a) & (2)(a)Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level):Yes, 0.10§§346:63(1)(b) & 346.63(2)(a)2Presumption (BAC Level):NoneTypes of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:(1) Any Drug, (2) an Intoxicant, (3) a
Controlled Substance, (4) a Combination of
an Intoxicant and a Controlled Substance and
(5) a Combination of an Intoxicant and Any
Other DrugOther:None

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law:	Yes	\$343.303
Arrest Required (Yes/No):	Yes	\$343.305(3)
Implied Consent Law Applies to		
Drugs (Yes/No):	Yes	\$343.305(2)
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test		
Admitted into Evidence:	Yes	(Criminal Cases)
	Stat	e v. Albright, 298 N.W.2d 196 (CA, 1980)
Other Information:	None	

<u>Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which</u> Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes
Urine:	Yes
Other:	None

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):

Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):

No

No (Note: However, the Court must approve dismissals of or amendments to DWI charges; see \$967.055)

Yes \$\$343.305(9)(c) & 343.30(lq)(c)1 (intro)

STATE - Wisconsin

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> <u>Chemical Test</u>:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath	Test:
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail):	. I
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	- -
Other:	1

None None

None

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

None

<u>Ist refusal</u> - 1 yr rev, after 30 dys of the rev period, the driver is eligible for an occupational license; <u>2nd refusal</u> (w/n 5 yrs) -2 yr rev, after 90 dys of the rev period, the driver is eligible for occupational license; <u>3rd and subsequent refusal</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - 3 yr rev, after 120 dys of rev period, the driver is eligible for an occupational license¹; Note: Previous DWI convictions and admin. per se actions are considered to be prior refusals. \$343.305(9) None

计分数有法则进行机构代码 机械运行机

Other:

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment: Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

<u>Non-injury related DWI off</u>: <u>lst off-None; 2nd</u> <u>off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-5 dys to 6 mos; <u>3rd and sub off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-30 dys to 1 yr; <u>Injury related DWI</u> <u>offs</u>, Without great bodily harm - 30 dys to 1 yr; With great bodily harm (CI E felony) - Not more than 2 yrs; \$\$346.631(1), 346.65(2), and 346.65(3) and 939.50 and 940.25 None

Mandatory Minimum Term:

¹If a person, under the legal drinking age has been arrested for a violation of §346.63(2m), driving with a BAC level of more than 0.00 but less than 0.10, refuses to submit to a chemical test, their license is revoked for six (6) months. After the first 15 days of this revocation period have passed, an occupational license can be issued. A refusal based <u>only</u> on this offense is <u>not</u> considered a prior refusal for enhanced sanctioning purposes for either DWI convictions or other chemical test refusals. See §§343.305(9) (em) & 346.63(2m). <u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

Other Penalties: Community Service: Restitution (eq Victim's Fund): Benning Benning and State 1941, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1 State 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 1947, 194

Non-injury related DWI offs, <u>1st off</u>- \$150 to 300; <u>2nd DWI off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - \$300 to 1,000; <u>3rd & sub. off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)-\$600 to 2,000; <u>1njury</u> <u>related DWI offs</u>, Without great bodily harm -\$300 to 2,000; With great bodily harm (CI E felony) - Not more than \$10,000 Note: Persons convicted of a DWI offense must pay a driver improvement surcharge of \$200 in addition to any other fine or forfeiture that may be imposed; see \$346.655(1). None

entral de la companya
None

Yes Direct compensation by the defendant to a victim for some types of "pecuniary losses;" see §346.65(2r)(a). In addition, the State has a victims' compensation fund; this fund is supported in part by a \$150 fee imposed on each DWI offender; this fee is an addition to any fine which may also be imposed

Special Note: An adult passenger may not receive an award from this fund if they knew the driver they were riding with was intoxicated or had a BAC level of 0.10 or more; see \$\$949.001 et. seq. and 346.655. None

Other:

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law:

Other:

Yes 0.10 BAC §346.305(7) & (8) (Action is taken via the licensing agency; see §343.305(8.)-Susp 6 mos (15 dys mandatory)¹ Referal to licensing agency after two or more DWI arrests; §343.16(2)

¹A restricted occupational license is available via the courts. A person may file a petition for such a license before the court without a waiting period. Upon receipt of the petition, the court may grant a temporary occupational license which is valid for 30 days. However, 15 days must have elapsed since the date of the suspension before this license can be issued. See \$\$343.30(1q)(b)(2) & 343.10(1)(d).

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:</u> (continued)

<u>Post_DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	<u>Ist off</u> - Susp; <u>2nd and 3rd off</u> s - Rev; DWI injury related offs, w/or w/out great bodily harm - Rev §§343.10 & 343.30 See Footnotes I & 2 below.
Term of License Withdrawal	
(Days, Months, Years, etc.):	<u>Non-injury related DWI offs; 1st off</u> - Susp 6-9 mos; <u>2nd off</u> -Rev I yr-18 mos; <u>sub off</u> - Rev 2-3 yrs; <u>Injury related DWI offs Without great</u> <u>bodily harm</u> - Rev I to 2 yrs; With great bodily harm - Rev 2 yrs Note: A previous conviction includes refusals.
Mandatory Minimum Term of	16.1 C
Withdrawal:	<u>Non-injury related DWL offs; 1st off</u> - 15 dys ³ ; <u>2nd off</u> - 60 dys ⁴ ; <u>sub off</u> - 90 dys ⁴ ; <u>Injury related DWL offs Without great</u> <u>bodily harm</u> - 60 dys; With great bodily harm - 120 dys

See §343.30(1) where a violation of §346.46(2) by a person under the legal drinking age results in a 3 mo license susp; however, an occupational license is available. ²Under §343.30(1q)(g), if a person has a chauffeur's license and they are

convicted of a DWI offense while not operating a

motor vehicle as a chauffeur, the chauffeur's license is not suspended or revoked.

 ${}^{3}A$ restricted occupational license is available via the courts. A person may file a petition for such a license before the court without a waiting period. Upon receipt of the petition, the court may grant a temporary occupational license which is valid for 30 days. However, 15 days must have elapsed since the date of the suspension before this license can be issued. See §§343.30(1q)(b)(2) & 343.10(1)(d).

⁴A restricted occupational license may be issued after this period of time.

STATE - Wisconsin

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued)

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

Yes Yes

Persons convicted of a DWI related injury offense (without great bodily harm) must submit to an alcohol assessment and comply with a driver safety plan. Operating privileges shall be suspended if a person does not comply with Court-ordered alcohol/drug assessment (DWI screening), education or treatment program; see \$343.30(1q)(c) & (d).

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other:

Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere: No

Note: Vehicles may be impounded as a result of " an operator- owner's failure to post security for an accident; see §344.14 and for a conviction of driving while license is either suspended or revoked; see §343.44(4)

A person who has not attained the age of 19, may not operate a motor veh with a BAC level of 0.0% up to 0.10%; see \$346.63(2m); for a violation of \$346.63(2m) there is a license susp for 3 mos (For a 1st off., an occupational hardship license is available at any time.) See \$343.30(1p). There is also a forfeiture of \$10 (see \$346.65(2q)).

<u>Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol</u> <u>Use and Driving</u>:

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of Off:

Yes—<u>Cl E felony</u> where death is caused by operating a veh with a high degree of negligence; <u>Cl D felony</u> Where death is caused by the operating a veh in an intoxicated condition \$\$343.10, 343.31, 939.50, 940.08, and 940.09

1.1.1

STATE - Wisconsin

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: Mandatory Action---Minimum Length of License Withdrawal:

<u>Cl E felony-Not more than 2 yrs; <u>Cl D felony-Not</u></u> more than 5 yrs; (Wis. Stat. Ann. §§343.10, 343.31, 939.50, 940.08, and 940.09) None

CI E felony - Not more than \$10,000; CI D felony - Not more than \$10,000 None

Administrative Licensing Action:

For <u>CIE&D felonies</u> - Rev

<u>CIE felony</u> - I yr; <u>CID felony</u> - 5 yrs

<u>CI E felony</u> - A restricted license may be issued; CI D felony - 120 dys; A restricted license may be issued after this period. None

Other:

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: % Fine (\$ Range): .

Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action: Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Ist off-Not more than 6 mos; 2nd off-10 dys to 6 mos; 3rd off-30 dys to 9 mos; 4th off = 60 dys to I yr; 5th and subsequent offs-6 mos to I yr; (Within 5 yrs) \$\$343.31 and 343.44

None

Ist off-\$150 to 600; 2nd off - \$300 to 1,000; 3rd off-\$1,000 to 2,000; 4th off- \$1,500 to 2,500; 5th and subsequent offs - \$2,000 to ... 2,500 \$\$343.31 and 343.44) None

Rev

6 mos

A mandatory license withdrawal period is not specified; a restricted license could be issued but only if there has been no previous susp or rev for the past yr.

Within 5 yrs
Use and Driving: (continued)	
Habitual Offender Laws:	
State Has Such Law (Yes/No):	Yes 55351.0
Grounds for Being Declared an	
Habitual Offender:	Four or more moving viola
Term of License Rev While	-
Under Habitual Offender Status:	5 yrs (A hai yrs of the ri
Type of Criminal Offense if	-
Convicted on Charges of	
Driving While on Habitual	
Offender Status	Misd
Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender	
Status:	
Imprisonment (Term):	90 dys
Mandatory Minimum Term of	
Imprisonment:	None
Fine (\$ Range):	Up to \$1,000
Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$):	None
Licensing Actions (Specify):	None
Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:	

And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase:

Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

11. of 1

serious offs or 12 or more normal tions w/n 5 yrs

rdship license may be issued after 2 rev period have passed; see §351.07)

Yes §346.71(2)

Yes No Yes (16 years or older)

21 (Yr eff: 1986) 55125.02(8m), 125.07(1) & 125.07(4)

21 Applies to either possession or consumption in public places unless accompanied by a parent or guardian \$\$125.07(1) & 125.07(4)

21 Applies to either possession or consumption in public places unless accompanied by a parent or guardian

STATE - Wisconsin

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No):

> "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:

Other:

Fine (\$ Range):

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment:

Misd \$\$125.07(2)(a) & (b) Not more than 60 dys \$100-500

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term of License Withdrawal: 12 Months -

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action:

> Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

All offs are violations and they are therefore not criminal offs \$125.07(1)(a) & (b) N/A 1st off - Not more than \$500; 2nd and subsequent

The holding in this case applied only to the actions of intoxicated minors.

Yes \$125.035 Note: Liability limited to the serving of alcoholic beverages to minors (Case law noted below may have been abrogated in part.).

Sorenson v. Jarvis, 350 N.W.2d 108 (Wis. 1984) 1 4 Yes \$125.035 Note: Liability limited to the actions of intoxicated minors. See also, Koback v. Crook, 366 N.W.2d 859 (Wis. 1985) which also limited liability to the actions of intoxicated minors. None

Yes Rev \$125.12

offs (w/n 12 mos) - \$200-500

Other State Laws Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

License to Serve Alcohlic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

No

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Susp. 3 to 10 dys; 4th off (w/n 12 mos) - Susp. 15 to 30 dys (Also, possible Rev for 12 mos under \$125.12.)

Yes for 2nd and subsequent offs; §125.07(1)(b)(2)

1st offs - None; 2nd offs (w/n 12 mos) - Susp. not more than 3 dys; 3rd offs (w/n 12 mos) -

Yes \$\$346.735(2) & (3) Yes ~ driver and passengers §346.935(1) (Does not apply to a motor bus)

STATE: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

WYOMING See Wyoming Statutes Annotated

Standard DWI Offence: Under the influence of alcohol \$31-5-233(a) Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): No Presumption (BAC Level): 0.10 §31-5-233(b)(iii) Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol: (1) Controlled Substance and (2) a Combination of Alcohol and Any Controlled Substance \$31-5-233(c) Other: None

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence: Other Information:

Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which Are Authorized Under Law (implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes
Urine:	Yes
Other:	None

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Ptea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):

Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):

Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC Chemical Test:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test:	
Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jall):	N/A
Administrative Licensing Action	
(Susp/Rev):	N/A
Other:	N/A

No Yes

No

Yes (Criminal and Civil Cases) \$31-6-105(f) None:

No

Yes §31-5-233(h) A DWI charge may not be reduced or dismissed, unless the State in open court moves or files a statement containing supporting facts to indicate that there is insufficient evidence to support the original DWI charge.

No

STATE - Wyoming

Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC Chemical Test: (continued)

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Susp/Rev): Other:

None

Susp for 6 mos (Mandatory) §31-6-102(c) None

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions:

Imprisonment:

Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term:

Fine:

Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$): Other Penalties: Community Service: Restitution (eg Victim's Fund)

Other:

Ist off Misd - Not more than 6 mos; Subsequent offs (w/n 5 yrs) Misd - 7 dys to 6 mosl; Serious bodily injury DWI off (\$31-5-233(g)), 1st off -Not more than 1 yr; Subsequent offs - Not more than 20 yrs Subsequent DWI offs (w/n 5 yrs)-7 dys (see

Special Note under Other); \$\$31-5-233, 31-6-101, and 31-7-127 et seq.

1st off - Not more than \$750; Subsequent offs -\$200 to 750; Serious bodily injury DWI off (§31-5-233(g)), <u>ist off</u> - Not more than \$5,000; subsequent off - None (Note: A surcharge of \$50 is assessed against convicted DWI offenders. This surcharge is used to help finance the Victims' Compensation fund. See \$1-40-119.)

None

None

None Note: The State has a Victims' Compensation Act (\$1-40-102 et seq.). However, the funds established via this law to assist victims of crimes is not available for either an injury or death involving the operation of a motor vehicle unless either the injury or death was recklessly or intentionally inflicted by the use of such vehicle; see \$1-40-102(a)(iii). Special Note: Under \$31-5-233(F), a defendant may be allowed out of jail long enough to complete actual hrs of employment or education and a reasonable time to travel to and from his place of employment or school (i.e., work/school release program)

The discretionary portion of a jail sentence may be supended if the defendant agrees to pursue and complete an alcohol education and treatment program; see \$31-5-233(d).

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

Administrative Licensing Actions: <u>Pre-DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law:

Yes, 0.10 BAC Susp. for 90 dys (for a subsequent action w/n 5 yrs, this susp. is mandatory)¹-A person arrested for a DWI off has their license taken by the arresting officer; the officer issues a temporary license to the driver; this temporary license is valid for 30 dys. See \$531-5-1205(k), 31-6-102, and 31-6-103. See Footnote No. 2 below. None

Other:

<u>Post DWI Conviction</u> Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Susp/Rev):

> Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

<u>1st off</u>-Susp; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs)- Susp; <u>3rd &</u> <u>Sub. offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs)- Rev §31-7-127(d); DWI serious bodily injury offs- Rev; see comment below

<u>lst off</u> - 90 dys; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - 1 yr; <u>3rd & subsequent offs</u> - 3 yrs; DW1 serious bodily injury offs - see comment below

<u>lst off</u> - A hardship license may be available; see Rehabilitation; <u>2nd off</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - 1 yr; <u>3rd & subsequent offs</u> (w/n 5 yrs) - 3 yrs to 5 yrs; DWI serious bodily injury offs, for <u>lst and</u> <u>2nd off</u>s-1 yr; 3rd off (w/n 5 yrs)-3 yrs

Comment: Even though convictions for DWI serious bodily injury offenses clearly result in mandatory license revocations (\$31.-5-233(g)(iii), Wyoming law does not provide

specific guidance as to the length of such revocations.

For a first offense, the law establishes <u>no</u> clear period of mandatory license revocation. For two reasons, the mandatory license revocation provisions of \$31-7-127 would not apply to a first conviction for a DW1

¹For a 1st admin. per se action, the 90 day suspension may be withdrawn or modified if the defendant participates in either an alcohol education or treatment program; see §31-7-105. ²Under §31-7-138(e), a driver's license is restored (full driving privileges are restored) if the driver is not convicted of a DWI charge. I.e., the administrative per se action is terminated if the driver is not convicted of a DWI offense.

3 - 415

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: (continued)

• • and a second second . . and the second e and the ~ 100

• · Serge and

: -× + + • . . . and a second of the ي يعني ال

,

and a state of the second state of the

Comment (continued)

serious bodily injury offense. (1) The one (1) year mandatory license revocation provided for under \$31-7-127(a)(i) & (b) for any felony conviction related to the operation of a motor vehicle does not apply since a conviction for a first DWI serious bodily injury offense is not a felony. (Note: A felony is defined as any offense for which a person may be sentenced to serve more than one (1) year in prison; see \$6-10-101. However, for a first DWI serious bodily injury offense conviction, the maximum prison term is only one (1) year; see \$31-5-233(g)(i).) And, (2) the three (3) year mandatory license revocation for DWI convictions (\$31-5-233 convictions) under \$31-7-127(a)(ii) only occurs when there is a third or subsequent offense committed with a five (5) year period (see below). In addition, there are no other provisions of Wyoming law that provide for revocation periods in the absence of ones specifically established under law. As a result, the law does not provide for a specific license revocation period for a first DWI bodily injury offense.

As far as mandatory license revocations for subsequent offenses are concerned, the issue is whether such offenses will result in either a one (1) year or three (3) year period of revocation. Subsequent convictions for DWI serious bodily injury offenses are felony convictions since a defendant may be sentenced to serve up to 20 years in prison (\$\$6-1-101 and 31-5-233(g)(ii)). Consequently, a license would be revoked for at least one (1) year as noted above under \$31-7-127(a)(i) & (b). However, as also noted above, if three (3) or more subsequent DWI convictions occur within a five (5) year period, a license could, it appears, be revoked for three (3) years. (Note: Section 31-7-128(a)(ii) does not distinguish between "regular" and serious bodily injury subsequent DWI offenses for license revocation purposes and, as such, it could be argued that the three (3) year license revocation period applies to both types of offenses.)

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:</u> (continued)

Comment (continued)

For subsequent DWI serious bodily injury offense convictions, a license revocation for either one (1) or three (3) years may be meaningless. Persons convicted of such offenses face severe prison sentences (up to 20 years) which could last longer than their license revocation period. Thus unless such revocation period starts to run after the person's release from prison, its value is questionable since it would occur in whole or in part during a period of time when the person is confined and unable to operate a motor vehicle regardless of their licensing status.

SPECIAL NOTE: Section 31-7-129(b) provides for discretionary license suspensions by the State based on a DWI conviction. The suspension periods are as follows: For a 1st conviction there is a 90 day suspension and for subsequent conviction there is a one (1) year suspension.

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education:

Yes 1. The court may suspend part or all of the discretionary portion of an imprisonment sentence under \$31-5-233(d) if the defendant agrees to pursue and completes an alcohol education or treatment program as prescribed by the court; see \$31-5-233(d)2. In order to obtain a hardship license, the defendant must agree to pursue and complete an

detendant must agree to pursue and complete an alcohol education and treatment program as the driver licensing agency prescribes; see \$31-7-127(e)(i)

Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal Licensing Actions (Describe):

Yes, see Alcohol Education above

Yes

STATE - Wyoming

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWL Offense:</u> (continued)

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other:

No

For a subsequent DWI conviction (w/n 2 yrs), a defendant's veh registration shall be suspended for the same period as their license rev/susp; see \$31-7-128(c)

Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere: Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

None

Homicide by Vehicle: State Has Such Law/Type of off:

> Sanctions: Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term):

> > Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action:

> Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: Mandatory Action—Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other:

Yes, two types of offs; 1.) Death caused by operation of a veh in violation of the motor vehs laws regulating traffic control Misd. 2.) Aggravated veh homicide if death caused veh DWI Felony \$\$6-2-106 & 6-10-101

1.) Death by a violation of the motor veh laws - Not more than 1 yr; 2.) Aggravated veh homicide if death caused veh DWI - Not more than 20 yrs None

 Death caused by a violation of the motor veh laws - Not more than \$2,000
Aggravated veh homicide DWI - None

None

Rev or susp (Note: \$31-7-126(a)(ii) has been repealed; however, see \$31-5-1117.)

Not more than 12 mos

Not more than 12 mos

.

and Driving: (continued)			· -
Driving While License Suspen Where the Basis Was a DWI Of			
Sanction:			
Criminal:	. .		
Imprisonment	(Term):	Misd ~ Not more than 6 mos	\$31-7-135(a)
Mandatory Min	imum Term	<i>,</i>	
of Imprison	ment:	None	
Fine (\$ Range):	Not more than \$750	
Mandatory Min	imum Fine:	None	
Administrative Lic	ensing Actions:	;	
Type of Licen	sing Action	·	
(Susp/Rev):		Susp or rev	• ,
Length of Ter	m of License		
Withdrawal	Action:	The original susp or rev p	xeriod is extende
		yr \$31-7-135(b)	
Mandatory Ter	m of License		
Withdrawal	Action:	The original susp or rev p	period is extende
		yr §31-7-135(b)	
Habitual Offender Laws:	•		
State Has Such Laws:	(Ni=) -	No	•
Grounds for Being Decla			
Habitual Offender:			
Term of License Rev Whi	le		
Under Habitual Offend			
Type of Criminal Offens			
Convicted on Charges			
Driving While on Habi			
Offender Status			
Sanctions Following a C	onviction of		
Driving While on Habi			
Status:			
Imprisonment (Term):		
Mandatory Minimum			
1mprisonment:			,
Fine (\$ Range):		-	
Mandatory Minimum	Fine (\$):		
Licensing Actions	(Specify):		

.

\$

STATE - Wyoming

Other State Laws Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession:

Ninimum Age (Years) Consumption:

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No):

> "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the State (Case Citation):

Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts:

Other:

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons:

Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): 19 \$12-6-10(b) (yr eff: 1973)

No

19 Applies to possession in a public place; there are exemptions for either employment or by order of a parent \$12-6-10(b) None

Yes (Limited) Liability limited only to the actions of persons who are under 19 years old¹ \$12-8-301

No (Case law, McClellan v. Tottenhoff, 666 P.2d. 408 (Myo. 1903), was apparently indirectly abrogated by §12-8-301)¹ Yes (Limited) Social hosts who serve alcoholic beverages illegally, such as to persons who are under 19 years old and who are not their child or ward, etc., may be liable for resulting damages. §12-8-301(c)¹ None

None (Note: \$12-5-501 repealed)

¹§12-8-301(a) specifically prohibits dram shop type actions against <u>anyone</u> (e.g., licensees and social hosts) who has legally served or furnished alcoholic beverages to another person. Dram shop liability only applies if the person serving or furnishing such beverages violates Title 12, Alcoholic Beverages, of the Wyoming Statutes. There is no provision under this title making it an offense to serve alcoholic beverages to an intoxicated person. However, it is an offense (§12-6-101) to serve alcoholic beverages to certain persons who are under 19 years old.

Other State Laws Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term of License Withdrawal:

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action:

Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

License to Serve Alcohlic Beverages
Withdrawn (Yes/No):

Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations: Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

Nisd 5512-6-101, and 12-8-101) Not more than 6 mos Not more than \$750

Yes Susp or rev where there is gross violation of the law

and the property of the

A susp is not to exceed the balance of the term for which the license was issued; as for rev, no time period is specified in the statute. \$12-7-102

No

11m

3 - 421

a di cana a di cana a di cana a di cana a di cana a di cana a di cana a di cana a di cana a di cana a di cana a

• ·

.

ITEN: General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense: Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No):

> Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence: Other Information:

UNIFORM VEHICLE CODE (UVC) The UVC as revised by the National Committee on Uniform Traffic Laws and Ordinances in 1987.

Under the Influence of Alcohol \$11-902(a)(2) 0.08 \$11-902(a)(1) 0.08 \$11-903(b)(3) (1) Any drug, (2) a combination of drugs and (3) a combination of alcohol and drugs \$11-902(a)(3) & (4) None

Yes \$6-208

No – A formal arrest is not required in all DWI situations. A chamical test may be administered under the following conditions where there is evidence showing probable cause of a DWI offense and one of the following exists: (1) an arrest for a DWI offense; (2) an accident; (3) refusal to submit to preliminary breath test; and, (4) a preliminary breath test was administered and indicates a BAC level of 0.08 or more. 56–207

Yes \$6-207

A = I

Yes (Criminal & Civil Cases) \$11-903(c) A driver may be compelled to submit to a chemical test if they are involved in an accident resulting in death or serious personal injury to another person and there is reason to believe that they are guilty of a DWI offense. \$6-209

<u>Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which</u> Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	Yes ≸6 –207(a)
Urine:	Y es \$6 -207(a)
Other:	None

Uniform Vehicle Code

Adjudication of DWI Charges:

Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No):

Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No):

No

No However, the prosecution must state for the record the factual basis for substituting another charge for a DWI one and whether an alcoholic beverage or any drug has been ingested or administered to the defendent in connection with the offense. \$11-905

1.00

and the second
1.1

Yes, Alcohol Screening \$11-904(a) (Special Note: Prior to sentencing, a victim's impact statement may be made to the court either orally or in writing; see \$11-906.)

<u>Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a BAC</u> Chemical Test:

Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/Revocation): Other:

Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test

Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jali): Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/Revocation):

Other:

None

None

None

None

Rev. for 6 mos/i yr.¹ 556-207(c) & 6-213(a)(1) Note: The UVC recommends that either a 6 month or a Lyear revocation period be adopted by the States as a licensing sanction for an implied consent law refusal. None

and a second second

Under 66-214, a limited license may be issued after 30 days of the revocation period have passed. The limited license can only be issued if (1) no prior limited license has been issued within the preceeding 12 months and (2) there have been no prior revocations. This section imposes no specific restrictions on a person's use of this license. However, it does grant the licensing agency the authority to impose any conditions or limitations on the use of such license as it deems are needed for the public's safety.

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:

Criminal Sanctions:

> Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine:

> > Amount (\$ Range):

Mandatory Min. Fine (\$): Other Penalties: Community Service:

> Restitution (eg Victim's Fund):

Other:

<u>ist off</u> - Misd¹-10 dys - 1 yr; <u>2nd. & sub.</u> <u>off</u>-Misd¹-90 dys -1 yr. \$11-902(c)None²

<u>lst off</u>-Misd-\$100 - 1,000; <u>2nd & sub.</u> <u>off</u>-Misd-Not more than \$1,000 \$11-902(c) None2

Possible as a condition of either probation or suspension of a DWI imprisonment sanction. See \$17-103(b).

Possible as a condition of either probation or suspension of a DWI imprisonment sanction. See \$17-103(b).

Attendance and satisfactory completion of a driver improvement course may be ordered by the court. 917-103(a)(3)

Administrative Licensing Actions: Pre-DWI Conviction Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law:

Other:

BAC 0.08 - Rev 3 mos/6 mos³ (Note: The UVC recommends, that for an admin. per se violation, the States revoke a license for either 3 or 6 mos.) \$\$6-207(d), (e) & (f) and 6-213(a)(2) See Special Note on p. A-4. Under \$\$6-210(a)(1) and 6-215, a person's license may be suspended for not more than 1 yr if they have committed (but have not necessarily been convicted of) an off that requires mandatory license revocation (e.g. DWI).

Since \$11-902 does not declare that a DWI offense (either a 1st or a subsequent offense) is a felony, it is a misdemeanor via the provisions of \$17-101.

6th Edition

²See §17-103(c) where a court may probate or suspend sanctions for any misdemeanor traffic off unless such penalities are made specifically mandatory by law.

³Under \$6-214, a limited license may be issued after 30 days of the revocation period have passed. The limited license can only be issued if (1) no prior limited license has been issued within the preceeding 12 months and (2) there have been no prior revocations. This section imposes no specific restrictions on a person's use of this license. However, it does grant the licensing agency the authority to impose any conditions or limitations on the use of such license as it deems are needed for the public's safety.

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

Post DWI Conviction Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/Revocation):

> Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.): Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

lyr (1st and sub. off) \$6-213(a)(3), (4) or (5)

See Footnote No. 1 and Miscellaneous Sanctions below.

Yes (1st and sub. off) \$11-904(b)

Rev (1st and sub. off) §6-206(2) See the

Special Note below.

Other:

Rehabilitation:

Alcohol Education: Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal

Licensing Actions (Describe):

Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other:

No

Following a DWI conviction, a defendant may have his/her vehicle(s) registration(s) suspended. Note: The UVC does not recommend a length of time for such suspension. \$17-301(2)

Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere:

After the revocation period, a new license shall not be issued until the person satisfies the State licensing agency that it is reasonably safe to permit them to drive; see §6-213(b).

Special Note: If a person receives revocations for both an admin. per se violation and for a DWI conviction based on the same occurrence, the total revocation period that shall be imposed cannot exceed the longer of the two revocation periods; see $\frac{6-213}{d}$.

¹Under §6-214, a limited license may be issued after 30 days of the revocation period have passed. The limited license can only be issued if (1) no prior limited license has been issued within the preceeding 12 months and (2) there have been no prior revocations. This section imposes no specific restrictions on a person's use of this license. However, it does grant the licensing agency the authority to impose any conditions or limitations on the use of such license as it deems are needed for the public's safety.

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle:

UVC Has Such Law/Type of Offense: Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction: Imprisonment (Term):

> Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range):

Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: Mandatory Action---Minimum Length of License Withdrawal:

Yes-Misd or Felony \$11-907(a)

3 mos - 1 yr in the county jail or not less than than 1 yr nor more than 5 yrs in the penitentiary \$11-907(b) None² \$500 - 2,000 \$11-907(b) Note: The fine sanction does not apply if the penitentiary

imprisonment sanction is imposed. None²

Rev. \$6-206(1)

1 yr \$6-213(a)(3), (4) or (5)

l yr \$\$6-206 & 6-213(a)(3), (4) or (5) See Footnote No. I on p. A-4.

11 appears that a UVC vehicle homicide offense could be classified as either a misdemeanor or a felony depending upon whether respectively a datendant is given the county jail sanction (3 mos-1 yr) or the penitentiary one (1-5 yrs). At first impression, it would seem that a vehicle homicide offense should be classified as a misdemeanor under \$17-101(a) since \$11-907 is silent as to such classification. However, if certain general principles of criminal law as well as other UVC provisions are applied, UVC vehicle homicide could be classified as either a misdemeanor or a felony depending upon where and how long a defendant is to be incarcerated. In brief, using these general principles, a crime is classified as a misdemeanor if an incarceration sanction does not exceed one year and/or such is to be served in a county (or local) jail; a crime is classified as a felony if an incarceration sanction is greater than one year and/or such must be served in a State penitentiary. Thus, under these principles, it is possible that an offense, such as UVC vehicle homicide, could have a dual classification (misdemeanor or felony) depending upon the type of incarceration sanction imposed by the court. See 21 Am Jur 2d, Criminal Law, \$29 and the definition of a felony in Black's Law Dictionary, 4th Ed., 1968. Further support for dual classification comes from the UVC itself. Under \$17-201, a person convicted of a felony is to be sentenced to a term of imprisonment of not less than 1 yr nor more than 5 yrs; this sanction is identical to one of the sanctioning options under §11-907(b). Thus, although there is no specific language on this matter, it seems only reasonable to conclude that the UVC would classify a vehicle homicide offense as a felony if a defendant is given the penitentiary incarceration sanction. To classify a vehicle homicide as a misdemeanor when the sanction imposed on a defendant is the same as for a general UVC felony offense would render the UVC inconsistent in sanctioning and classification matters; such a result does seem warranted if a more logical classification/sanctioning scheme can be justified.

²See §17-103(c) where a court may probate or suspend sanctions for any misdemeanor traffic off unless such penalities are made specifically mandatory by law. For felony offenses, the UVC provides no specific guidance as to mandatory sentences; however, many State criminal laws provide for the suspension or probation of a sentence for certain types of felony offenses.

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Other

For a vehicle homicide conviction, a defendant may have his/her vehicle(s) registration(s) suspended. Note: The UVC does not recommend a length of time for this suspension. \$17-301(1)

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanctions:

Criminal:

Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine:

Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/Revocation): Withdrawal Action:

> Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action:

Other:

2 dys - 6 mos Misd \$6-303(a)

Nonel Not more than \$500 \$6-303(a) Nonel

Rev \$6-303(b)

l yr from and after the date the period of revocation would otherwise have terminated \$6-303(b)

l yr from and after the date the period of revocation would otherwise have terminated \$6-303(b)

Following a conviction of driving while their license is revoked, a defendant may have his/her vehicle(s) registration(s) suspended. Note: The UVC does not recommend a length of time for this suspension. \$17-301(6)

Habitual Offender Laws:

UVC Has Such Law (Yes/No): Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Revocation While Under Habitual Offender Status:

¹See §17-103(c) where a court may probate or suspend sanctions for any misdemeanor traffic off unless such penalities are made specifically mandatory by law.

No

6th Edition

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued)

Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving ⊯hile on Habitual Offender Status

Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$);

Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify):

Other UVC Provisions Related To Alcohol Use And Driving:

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents:

> UVC Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: Minimum Age (Years) Possession: Minimum Age (Years) Consumption:

a a ser a

Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: UVC Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the Case (Case Citation): Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: Other:

.

Yes \$10~116

Yes \$10-116(a) No Yes for persons at least 16 years old \$10-116(a) & (b)

See Footnote No. 1 below.

See Footnote No. I below.

N/A See Footnote No. 1 below.

This area of the law is not normally covered by UVC.

Uniform Vehicle Code

Other UVC Provisions Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term of License Withdrawal:

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age:

Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

> Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

None None

See Footnote No. | below.

See Footnote No. 1 below.

¹This area of the law is not normally covered by UVC.

A – 8

6th Edition

APPENDIX B

(408 CRITERIA)

ITEM:

General Comments:

Basis for a DWI Charge:

Standard DWI Offense: Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level): Presumption (BAC Level): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol:

Other:

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level:

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Implied Consent Law Applies to Drugs (Yes/No): Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Admitted into Evidence: Other Information:

<u>Other Chemical Tests for BAC Level Which</u> Are Authorized Under Law (Implied Consent Law):

Blood:	2 · · ·	BASC - Yes ³
Urine:		BASC - Yes ³
Other:		<u>BASC</u> – Yes ³

¹Applies to rehabilitation and treatment <u>only</u>; see 23 CFR \$1309.6(b)(22). ²Authorized only where there is probable cause to suspect a driver is impaired. ³The Basic Criterion on implied consent test refusal refers to "chemical test" (i.e., no specific type of test is required); therefore, any chemical test whether it be for breath, blood, urine, etc. will satisfy this criterion. See 23 CFR \$\$1309.3(f)(2) & (3) and 1309.5(a)(1).

BASC - 0.10 23 CFR \$\$1309.3(b) and 1309.5 (c)(1) SUPC - 0.08 23 CFR \$1309.6(b)(13) SUPC - Controlled Substances

Federal Alcohol Incentive Grant Criteria

See 23 USC \$408 and 23 CFR Part 1309

<u>SUPC</u>=Supplemental Grant Criteria SPEC=Special Grant Criteria

BASC=Basic Grant Criteria

<u>SUPC</u> - Controlled Substances 23 CFR \$1309.3(a)¹

SUPC -Yes² 23 CFR \$1309.6(b) (15)

Adjudication of DWI Charges: Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No): Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No): SUPC - Yes (limited) 23 CFR \$1309.6(b)(16) Pre-Sentencing Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No): SUPC - Yes 23 CFR \$1309.6(b)(8) Sanction for Refusal to Submit to a BAC Chemical Test: Refusal to Take a Preliminary Breath Test: Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/Revocation): Other: . Refusal to Take Implied Consent Chemical Test Criminal Sanction (Fine/Jail): Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/Revocation): BASC - Susp. (or Rev.) - 1st Refusal-90 dys (mandatory); 2nd and subsequent refusal-1 yr (mandatory) 23 CFR §§1309(f)(2) & (3) and (1309.5(a)(1) Other: Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense: Criminal Sanctions: Imprisonment: Term (Day, Month, Years, Etc.): SPEC - ist off-48 con. hrs.² Mandatory Minimum Term: 23 CFR \$1309.7(a)(2)(ii) See community service below. BASC - 2nd off (w/n 5 yrs)-48 con. hrs.² 23 CFR \$1309.5(b)(1) See community service below. SPEC - 2nd off (w/n 5 yrs)-10 days² (at least 48 con. hrs. is to be served) 23 CFR \$1309.7(b)(1) SPEC - 3rd off (w/n 5 yrs)-120 con. dys.² 23 CFR §1309.7(c)(1)

Fine:

۰.

Amount (\$ Range): Mandatory Min. Fine (\$):

6th Edition

¹No alcohol-related charge shall be reduced to a non-alcohol-related charge or probation without judgment be entered without a written declaration of why the action is in the interest of justice.

²Imprisonment includes confinement in a jail, minimum security facility or in-patient rehabilitation or treatment center; see 23 CFR §1309.3(c).

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

> Other Penalties: Community Service:

<u>SPEC</u> - <u>1st off</u>-100 hrs. (to be completed w/n 3 mos) as an alternative to the 48 con. hrs. of imprisonment 23 CFR \$1309.7(a)(2)(i)<u>BASC</u> - <u>2nd off</u>-10 dys as an alternative to the 48 con. hrs. of imprisonment 23 CFR \$1309.5(b)(i)

Restitution (eg Victim's Fund): Other:

Administrative Licensing Actions: Pre-DWI Conviction Licensing Action: Administrative Per Se Law: <u>SUPC</u> - Yes 23 CFR \$1309.6(b)(17)

(Special Note: The Basic Criteria requires that the overall average time from arrest to suspension (or revocation) of a driver's license either cannot exceed an average of 45 days or cannot exceed an average of 90 days and a State submits a plan showing how it intends to achieve a 45 day average; see 23 CFR §§1309.3(d) and 1309.5(a)(l). In addition, the Supplemental Criteria requires that a State have a license suspension (revocation) system in which the average time from the date of arrest to suspension does not exceed 45 days; see 23 CFR §1309.6(a).)

Other:

Post DWI Conviction Licensing Action: Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/Revocation):

> Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.):

> > B '-

BASC and SPEC - Susp./Rev. 23 CFR \$\$1309.3(f)(1), 1309.5 (a)(1) and 1309.7

 $\frac{BASC}{23} = \frac{1 \text{ st off.-90 dys (Susp/Rev)}}{23 \text{ CFR $$1309.3(f)(1) and 1309.5(a)(i)}}$

6th Edition

<u>Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense:</u> (continued)

> Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal:

 $\frac{BASC}{SPEC} = \frac{1 \text{ st off.} - 30 \text{ dys}^{1} \text{ (Susp/Rev)}}{SPEC} = \frac{1 \text{ st off.} - 90 \text{ dys} \text{ (Susp)}}{23 \text{ CFR §1309.7(a)(1)}}$ $\frac{BASC}{BASC} = \frac{2 \text{ nd and subsequent off.} -1 \text{ yr}}{(\text{Susp/Rev)} 23 \text{ CFR §$1309.3(f)(3) and}}$ $\frac{1309.5(a)(1)}{23 \text{ CFR §1309.7(b)(2)}}$ $\frac{SPEC}{SPEC} = \frac{2 \text{ nd off.} -1 \text{ yr}}{3 \text{ off.} -3 \text{ yrs}} \text{ (Rev)}$ $\frac{23 \text{ CFR §1309.7(c)(2)}}{23 \text{ CFR §1309.7(c)(2)}}$

Other:

Rehabilitation: Alcohol Education: SUPC - Yes 23 CFR \$1309.6(b)(3) & (22)2 Alcohol Treatment: Alcohol Education/ Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe): Vehicle Impoundment/Confiscation: Authorized by Specific Statutory Authority: Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will Be Released: Other: Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere:

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving:

Homicide by Vehicle:

Criteria Has Such Law/Type of Offense: Sanctions:

Criminal Sanction:

Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine:

¹After the mandatory 30 day period, a restricted license may be issued for not less than 60 days. This restricted license can only be used for the purposes of going from a residence to or from a place of employment or to and from a mandated alcohol education or treatment program. 223 CFR §1309.6(b)(22) provides for the rehabilitation and treatment of persons arrested and convicted of driving under the influence of a controlled substance.

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving: (continued) Administrative Licensing Action: Licensing Authorized and Type of Action: Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal: Mandatory Action—Minimum Length of License Withdrawal: Other: Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense: Sanction: Criminal: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: SPEC - 30 con. dys. | 23 CFR \$1309.7(d)(1) Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine: Administrative Licensing Actions: Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/Revocation): SPEC - Susp/Rev 23 CFR \$1309.7(d)(2) Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action: <u>SPEC</u> - See the statement below. Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action: <u>SPEC</u> - Upon release from imprisonment, an additional period of license suspension or revocation of not less than the period of suspension or revocation remaining in effect at the time of commission of the offense of driving with a suspended or revoked license; see 23 CFR \$1309.7(d)(2) Other: SUPC - Mandatory impoundment or confiscation of license plates/tags of any vehicle operated by an individual whose license has been suspended or revoked for an alcohol-related offense; see 23 CFR \$1309.6(18). Habitual Offender Laws: Criteria Has Such Law (Yes/No):

Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender: Term of License Revocation While Under Habitual Offender Status:

¹This penalty would also apply to driving in violation of a restriction placed on a defendant's driving privileges because of a DWI conviction; see 23 CFR §1309.7(d).

<u>Other 408 Criteria Related To Alcohol Use</u> <u>And Driving</u>:

Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status: Imprisonment (Term): Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range): Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$): Licensing Actions (Specify): Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Persons Killed in Traffic Accidents: State Has Such a Law (Yes/No): BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the the Following Persons: Driver: Vehicle Passengers: Pedestrian:

Laws Establishing the Minimum Ages Concerning Alcoholic Beverages: Minimum Age (Years) Sale/Purchase: SUPC - 21 23 CFR \$1309.6(b)(1) Minimum Age (Years) Possession: SUPC - 21 23 CFR \$1309.6(b)(1) SUPC - 21 23 CFR \$1309.6(b)(1) Minimum Age (Years) Consumption: Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions: Criteria Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No): <u>SUPC</u> - Yes¹ 23 CFR \$1309.6(b)(20) "Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted Via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of the Highest Court of Record in the Case (Case SUPC - Yes 23 CFR \$1309.6(b) (20) Citation): SUPC - Yes | 23 CFR \$1309.6(b) (20) Dram Shop Actions-Social Hosts: Other:

¹Liability against any person who serves alcoholic beverages to an individual who is visibly intoxicated.

Other 408 Criteria Related To Alcohol Use And Driving: (continued)

Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: Type of Criminal Action: Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term of License Withdrawal:

Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments that Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: Type of Criminal Action:

> Term of Imprisonment: Fine (\$ Range):

Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age: License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No): Length of Term License Withdrawal:

Anti-Happy Hour Laws/Regulations:

Laws Prohibiting (1) the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages and (2) the Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Vehicle:

Open Container Law (Yes/No): Anti-Consumption Law (Yes/No):

*U. S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE 1987: 202-862/60076

· · --- -

· · ·