DIGEST OF STATE ALCOHOL-HIGHWAY SAFETY RELATED LEGISLATION

JANUARY 1983

DOT HS 806 363U

U.S. Department of Transportation
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Washington, DC 20590

REPRODUCED BY
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE
NATIONAL TECHNICAL INFORMATION SERVICE
SPRINGFIELD VA 22161

. .

PREFACE

Drunk driving continues to be one of our nation's most serious public health and safety problems. It is, in fact, a national epidemic which transcends State boundaries and from which no one is immune. In excess of 50 percent of all drivers killed each year have blood alcohol concentrations (BACs) higher than the legally recognized limit, 0.10 percent. In single vehicle fatal crashes, more than 65 percent of the drivers who died were legally drunk. Over the past decade, the United States has experienced an average of 25,000 deaths per year involving alcohol. Therefore, approximately one quarter of a million persons have been killed in alcohol-related crashes in the past 10 years.

Injuries and costs to society are equally staggering. Over 650,000 persons per year are injured in alcohol-related crashes. Estimates of the cost of these crashes vary widely. However, it has been estimated that such crashes cost the nation over \$24 billion per year in damages, hospital costs, lost work, etc., in addition to the needless pain and suffering. The toll is especially tragic for our young. On the average, 14 teenagers are killed and 360 injured every day. The leading cause of death for the 15-to-24-year age group is drunk driving.

Because of increased national awareness, much activity concerning alcohol legislation has and is occurring. This digest is an attempt to summarize the existing legislation to date.

CONTENTS

INTRODUCTION	1-1
ANALYSIS BY STATEHIGH INTEREST LEGISLATION	2-1
STATE LAW MATRIX	3-1
Alabama Alaska	3-1
Arizona Arkansas	3-13
California Colorado	3-25
Connecticut Delaware	3-37
District of Columbia Florida	3-49
Georgia Hawaii	3-61
Idaho Illinois	3-73
Indiana Iowa	3-85
Kansas Kentucky	3-97
Louisiana Maine	3-109
Maryland Massachusetts	3-121
Michigan Minnesota	3-133
Mississippi Missouri	3-145
Montana Nebraska	3-157
Nevada New Hampshire	3-169
New Jersey New Mexico	3-181
New York North Carolina	3-193
North Dakota Ohio	3-205
Oklahoma Oregon	3-217
Pennsylvania Puerto Rico	3-229
Rhode Island South Carolina	3-241
South Dakota Tennessee	3-253
Texas Utah	3-265
Vermont — Virginia	3-277
Washington West Virginia	3-289
Wisconsin Wyoming	3-301



INTRODUCTION

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) published a document in 1981 entitled "Alcohol and Highway Safety Laws: A National Overview. 1981." This report addressed a limited number of laws which directly affect drinking and driving. The report included statutory material up to 1981, but was not exhaustive in its coverage of laws which relate to alcohol consumption, intoxication, liability, sanctions, and highway safety. However, since that time, a significant increase in legislative activity has developed. NHTSA records indicate that 378 separate pieces of legislation were introduced in the legislatures of 37 States during the last legislative sessions. Thirty-eight laws were enacted. As more task forces report to their Governors, more legislation can be anticipated. In addition, NHTSA has received a large number of inquiries about both specific State legislation and the number of States with certain types of legislation. As a result, a more detailed study was needed to identify and record State laws related to alcohol use and driving.

PURPOSE.

This Digest is designed for use by anyone interested in alcohol-related legislation in the States. This document is the result of a comprehensive search of State Codes and Supplements. As such, it provides the reader and researcher with the status of laws in each State and with the Code citation for further reference. NHTSA expects this to be a living document because we intend to stay abreast of legislative activity through both the Commerce Clearing House electronic system and reports from the States and NHTSA Regions. NHTSA will periodically publish page changes to this "Digest" to include new legislation and to correct any errors we may have made in our research.

ORGANIZATION

This document is divided into three main areas: 1) Introduction,

2) Compilation of 10 types of high-interest legislation, and 3) State Law
Matrix—a comprehensive representation of all State laws relating to
alcohol and highway safety. The primary purpose of this matrix is to
provide interested persons with a document that can facilitate the

comparison of State laws in the subject areas. The matrix is organized by State and by types of legislation. The matrix includes the Code citations and the latest reference used. Generally, State Code Supplements were available through mid 1982. This should facilitate further research or comparison of laws in different States.

ASSUMPTIONS

The following explanations clarify the contents of and/or establish certain presumptions concerning this matrix.

- 1. The section on "Other Tests for BAC Levels Which are Authorized by Law" identifies other tests which are allowed under the implied consent law. Thus, a driver who refuses to submit to such tests, if legally requested to do so by a law enforcement officer, would be subject to the same sanctions as those specified for a refusal to submit to a chemical breath test.
- 2. The sanctions listed for convictions of alcohol driving offenses (e.g., driving while impaired, driving while intoxicated, illegal per se, etc.) are those specified by statute. If a sanction is not specified by law (e.g., community service, et al.), it is not listed.
- 3. The term "mandatory sanction" means a sanction for which statutory law specifically forbids a court from suspending or otherwise preventing the imposition of a certain minimum jail term or a fixed fine amount.
- 4. Unless otherwise stated, the sanctions given for all alcohol driving offenses are the same.
- 5. States without vehicle homicide laws treat deaths caused by persons operating motor vehicles under their general criminal homicide laws such as manslaughter.
- 6. In the section on "Driving After License has been Suspended or Revoked for an Alcohol Driving Offense," the general sanctions for operating a vehicle while in such a status are given in the absence of any specific statutory sanctions dealing directly with the subject of the section.
- 7. A number of States have adopted the concept of a dram shop law by case law decisions, e.g., changing the common law rule rather than by statute. State courts making such decisions have used a multiplicity of legal theories in their opinions.

LEGISLATIVE SUBJECT AREAS

- . BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) Basis for an Alcohol Driving Offense
- Chemical Breath Tests
 - Preliminary
 - Evidential (Implied Consent Law)
- Other Tests for BAC Under Implied Consent Laws
- Sanctions for Refusal to Submit to a Chemical Test Under an Implied Consent Law
- Adjudication of Alcohol Driving Offenses
 - Mandatory Adjudication
 - Anti-Plea Bargaining Statutes
 - Pre-Sentence Investigation
- · Sanctions Following a Conviction for an Alcohol Driving Offense
 - Criminal
 - Administrative (Civil)
 - Rehabilitation
 - Vehicle Impoundment
- Homicide by Vehicle
- Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis
 Thereof was an Alcohol Driving Offense
- Habitual Offender Laws
- BAC Tests Required for Persons Killed as a Result of a Traffic Accident
- Laws Establishing the Minimum Legal Drinking Age
- Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions
- Laws Concerning Criminal/Administrative Actions Against Employees/Owners of Licensed Liquor Establishments who Sell Intoxicated Liquor to Persons who are Under the Legal Drinking Age or who are Intoxicated
- Laws Prohibiting the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages in Motor Vehicles (the Passenger Compartment) or in Public

FEEDBACK

NHTSA staff have made every effort to make the presentation of this information both readable and accurate. The basic research was conducted in the Department of Transportation and Department of Housing and Urban Development Law Libraries. A 10-percent validation was made to ensure that errors were identified. The National Safety Council, the American Insurance Association, the 1981 National Overview, and other compilations were used to check the research data.

Inevitably mistakes are made. We would appreciate your comments and corrections so that we may improve the quality of the product. Please note

that Code citations have been provided for statute identification purposes. If we have made a mistake, please help us by giving the correct citation or a copy of the statute.

As stated above, we intend to use the Commerce Clearing House electronic reporting system and reports from the States and the NHTSA Regions to update this report. Please feel free to send us copies of newly enacted legislation so that we may be more accurate in the future.

Your comments, corrections, and new information may be sent to:

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Office of Alcohol Countermeasures Code NTS-21 400 7th Street, S.W. Washington, DC 20590

Attention: Legislative Resource Center

TELEPHONE: (202) 426-9581

The NHTSA staff hope this document is useful to you and that you will be interested in receiving the updates which we plan. If so, please let us know at the above address.

ANALYSIS BY STATES -- HIGH-INTEREST LEGISLATION

ANALYSIS BY STATES HIGH-INTEREST LEGISLATION										
State	Drinking Age	PBT	lilegal Per Se and Level (≰)	Presumptive and Level (#)	Administrative Per Se	implied Consent (arrest required)				
ALABAMA	19		0.10	0,10		Yes				
ALASKA	19		0.10			Yes				
ARTZONA	19	<u> </u>	0,10	0.10		Yes				
ARKANSAS	21			0.10		Yes				
CALIFORNIA	21		0,10			Yes				
COLORADO	184, 213			>0.5, 0.10 ⁹	Ф	Yes				
CONNECTICUT .	19	<u> </u>	0.10	0.10		Yes				
DELAWARE	20	х,	0.10		_х	No No				
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA	184, 213		0.10	0.05	X	Yes				
FLORIDA	19	X	0,10	0.10		Yes				
GEORGIA	19	I		0,10		Yes				
HAWA I I	18			0.10		Yes				
IDAHO	19			>0.08		Yes				
ILLINOIS	21		0,10	0,10		Yes				
INDIANA	21	×		0.10		Yas				
IOWA	19	{	0.13	0.10	X	Yes				
KANSAS	184, 215	1		0.10		Yes				
KENTUCKY	21			0,10		Yes				
LOUISTANA	18	х		0,10		Yes				
MAINE	20		0.10			No				
MARYLAND	21	X		0.08, 0.13		Yes				
MASSACHUSETTS	20	Ţ]	0.10	Ţ	Yes				
MICH#GAN	21	х	0,10	0.07, 0.109	Ī	Yes				
MINNESOTA	19	×	0.10	<u> </u>	X	No				
MISSISSIPPI	184, 213	х		0.10		Yes				
MISSOURI	21		0,10			Yes				
MONTANA	19			0.10		Yes				
NEBRASKA	20	X	0.10			Yes				
NEVADA	21			0,10		Yes				
NEW HAMPSHIRE	20			0,10		Yes				
NEW JERSEY	21			0,10		Yes				
NEW MEXICO	21			0.10	1	Yes				
NEW YORK	19	x ^θ	0.10	1	T	Yes				
NORTH CAROLINA	184, 213	×	0.10			Yes				
NORTH DAKOTA	21	X		0.10		Yes				
0H10	184, 213			0.10		Yes				

ANALYSIS BY STATES-HIGH-INTEREST LEGISLATION (Continued)

State	Ortnking Age	PRIT	Illegal Per Se and Level (\$)	Presumptive and Level (#)	Administrative Per Se	Implied Consent (mrrest required)
OKLAHOMA	185, 216		0.10	0,10	Х	Yes
OREGON	21		0,10			Yes
PENNSYLVANIA	21	X	0.10	0,10		NΩ
PUERTO RICO	18	X		0,10		Yes
RHODE ISLAND	20	Х		0,10		Yes
SOUTH CAROLINA	21			0,10		Yes
SOUTH DAKOTA	184, 213	X	0,10	0,10		. Yes
TENNESSEE	19			0,10		Yes
TEXAS	19			0,10		Yes
UTAH	21		0.10	0,08		Yes
VERMONT	18	Х	0.10	0,10		No
VIRGINIA	18 ¹ , 19 ² , 21 ³	X		0,10		Yas
WASHINGTON	21		0.10	0,10		Yes
WEST VIRGINIA	18	×	0.10	0,10	X	Yes
WISCONSIN	18	×	0.10			Yes
WYOMING	19					Yes
	18-15 19-15		0,10-25	0.05-1 0.08-3		No+5
TOTAL	20-6 21-26	20 .	0.15-1	0.07-1 0.10-36	6	Yes-47

Lootnotes

- 1. On premises sale of been
- 2. Off premises sale of been
- 3. Fortified wine and distilled spirits
- 4. Heer (alcohol content limitations range from 5.2% to 4% by weight to 6% by volume) and unfortified wine
- 5. 0.5-3.2≠ for females
- 6. All males and above 3.2€ for females
- 7. implied
- H. Limited to drivers involved in accidents
- Lower of two numbers is driving white impaired (DWI); higher is driving under the influence of (DUI)

ANALYSIS BY STATES-HIGH-INTEREST LEGISLATION (Continued)

			Community	Mandatory	Mandatory
State	Dram Shop	Open Container	Service	Jail-Ist Oftense	Jail2nd or Other Offense
ALABAMA	Statute			ļ,	
ALASKA	Statute				
ARIZONA	No		X	X	x
ARKANSAS	No		<u> </u>		
CALIFORNIA	No	Х	<u></u>	<u> </u>	X
COLORADO	Statute		x_		
CONNECTICUT	Statute				X
DELAWARE	No				
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA	Case law				
FLORIDA	Case law		х		
GEORGIA	Statute				
HAWATI	Case law	X	Х		
IDAHO	Case law	X			
ILLINOIS	Statute	X	l		
INDIANA	Case law				Х
IOMA	Statute				X
KANSAS	No	x			
KENTUCKY	Case law				x
LOUISTANA	No		x	x	X
MAINE	Statute			X	. X
MARYLAND	No	X			
MASSACHUSETTS	Statute				
MICHIGAN	Statute	Х	X		
MINNESOTA	Statute	х			
HISSISSIPPI	Case law				
MISSOURI	Case law				
MONTANA	No	Х			Х
NEBRASKA	No				Х
NEVADA	_No				X
NEW HAMPSHIRE	No				Х
NEW JERSEY	Case law		X		
NEW MEXICO	Case law				X
NEW YORK	Statute				
NORTH CAROLINA	No	X			X
NORTH DAKOTA	Statute	X			
OHIO	Statute	X			

ANALYSIS BY STATES-HIGH-INTEREST LEGISLATION (Continued)

State	Dram Shop	Open Container	Community Service	Mandatory Jali-1st Offence	Mandatory Jall2nd or Other Offense
OKLAHOMA	No	Х			
OREGON .	Statute	Х			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
PENNSYLANTA	Statute		х	_x	x
PUERTO RICO	No				
RHODE ISLAND	Statute				
SOUTH CAROLINA	No	. х			
SOUTH DAKOTA	No	Х :			
TENNESSEE	Case law		X	χ	х
TEXAS	No				
UTAH	Statute	χ	X		
VERMONT	Statute				
VIRGINIA	No				×
WASHINGTON	Case law	X		Х	×
WEST VIRGINIA	No		Х	Х.	x
WISCONSIN	No	Х			
WYOMING	Statute			Х	x
	Case law-12				
	Statute -20	19	11	8	20

STATE					Implied 0	Consent Law
	illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other	Preliminary Breath Test Law	Arrest Required (Yes/No)	Other Information
ALABAMA	· 					
See: "Code of Alabama"	0 . 10 ≴ *	0,10 ≴ *		No	Yes	
Note: All laws of a general and permanent nature were enacted by the Alabama Legislature through the 1982 First Special Session of the Legislature.	to be an lilegal per prohibits driving whi more alcohol in the l 32-5A-194 states that	He there Is 0,10% or blood, However, t 0,10% BAC creates a no that the driver was I(a)(1) was enacted would supercede any	,		32-5-192	
ALASKA						
See Alaska statutes	Yes 0,10≴	N/A		No.	Yes	
October 1982	28,35,030(a)(2)			·	28.35,031	
		·				
	1					
		Į į				
	1					

Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level

Basis for a DWI Charge

w
N

· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Other Cham Authorize	ical Tests for BAC Level d Under Law (Implied Con	Which Are sent Law)	Adjustication of DMI Charges			
STATE	Blood	Urine	Other (Specify)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Pies Bargsining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Santence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)	
AL AHAMA							
	Yas	Yes	"Other bodily substance"	le.	140,	400	
	32-5A-194(a)	32-58-194(5)	52-5A-194(a)				
		ļ	. 1				
		}					
			•				
			·				
		1			. [
]		
ALASKA							
	No	No		140		**************************************	
					}	26,35,930(c)	
	}	1					
					1		
		1	• .				
		1					
					1		
]		

				al To Submit to a BAC Breath Test			
STATE	Refusal	To Take Preliminary Bro	eath Test	Refusal To Take implied Consent Chemical Test			
	Crimina) Sanctions (Fins/Jali)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Officer	
ALABAMA		!		·	,		
	N/A	N/A	N/A	None	Suspension		
					(45 days)		
			_				
			•				
				[
		ļ			· ·		
				,	1		
AL ASKA	, , , , ,	1	···	 		,	
	N/A	N/A		Class A misdemeanor. Not more than I year imprisonment and/or \$5,000 fine (sanctions vary for each separate offense)	Suspension or revocation for 3 months		
ĺ			·	\$28,35,0321			
ĺ							
		<u> </u>					

	1		Sanctions Follo	wing a Convictio	on for a DWI Offense							
	Criminal Sanctions											
STATE	Imprise	onment	FI	n●		Other Penalties						
	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Handstory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e.g., Victimis Fund)	Other					
ALABAMA	1					Ì						
1st conviction 32-5A-191(c)	Not more than I year (and/or fine)	-	Not less than 100 nor more than 1,000 (and/or imprisonment)	100	- -÷	-						
2nd and subsequent offenses 32-5A-191(d)	Not more than 1 year (and/or fine)		Not less than 200 nor more' than 1,500 (and/or imprisonment)	200		-	-					
ALASKA						<u> </u>						
-	Class A misdemeanor	-	Not more than 5,000	- [-		41					
	Not more than 1 year	•										
	28_35,030		ļ									
							•					
	1											

		5anctions		on for a DNI OffenseC	ontinued		
				Licensing Actions			
STATE	Pre-DW1	Conviction Licensing	Action		I Conviction Licensia	g Action	
	Administrative Per Se Law	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawa)	
ALABAMA] .						
ist offense	No	No		Suspension 32-5A-191(c)	Not more than 6 months 32-5A-191(c)	_	
2nd and	No	Yes	,	Revocation	. 6 months	6 months	
subsequent offense	1	UVC 6-205		32-5A-191(d)	32-5A-191(d)	32-5A-191(d)	
ALASKA				ł i			
•	No			Revocation 28,15,201 and 28,15,211	30 days 28.15,201 and 28.15,211		
					,		

	Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DNI Offense—Continued								
t	<u> </u>			Other					
STATE	Alcohol Education	Rehabilitation Alcohol Treatment	Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vahicle Will be Released	scation Other	Miscellaneous Senctions Not Included Elsewhere		
ALABAMA									
1st offense	Yes	Yes		No			- .		
ļ	32-5A-191(c)	32-5A-191(c)							
2nd offense	_	_					·		
ALASKA	Yes	Yes	No No	No			_		
		™As the Cou approp	irt feels is Priate"		!				
		28.1	5,231 5,241 5,030			•			
						!			
<u></u>	<u> </u>					i			

			Other		s Related to Al		riving		
				Ho	micide by Vehic	le	-	T 11	
STATE			Criminal	Sanctions	Sanctions	Administra	rative Licensin	a Actions	Other
State Ha: Such a Lei Type of	State Has Such a Lew/ Type of Offense	Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Fine (\$ Renge)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	Langth of Term of Licensing Withdrawal	Mandatory Action Min. Length of License Withdrawal	
ALABAMA									
	Yes "Homicide By Yehicle"	Not less than 3 months nor more than 1 year	3 months	Not less than 500 nor more than 2,000 (and/or Impr(sonment)	500	Revocation	Not more than I year	<u></u> ·	
	32-5A-192					52-5A-195 {}}(1)	32-5A-195(m)		
			٠						
ALA5KA				· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·					
	No	_							
				; 					
					٠.				
}									
		;							
	1							~	

			 		shol Use and Driving-		
		Driving While	e License Suspe		Where the Basis Was	a DWI Offense	
STATE		Criminat	 	Sanctions	,	Istrative Licensing A	ctions
	Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Type of Licensing	Length of Term of License Withdrawai Action	Handatory Term of License Withdrawai Action
ALABAMA							
	(Misdemeanor) not more than 30 days (and/or fine)		Not less than 25 nor more than 500 (and/or Imprisonment)	25	Revocation (At the discretion of the director of public safety)	An additional period of 6 months	
	32-6-19		32-6-19		32-6-19	32-6-19	
				·	:		
		}				}	
		÷			·		
ALASKA							
	10 days	10 days			Suspension or revocation	Original suspension or revocation attended lyear	
	28,15,291				28,15,291		· #
		·				·	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
					·		
					,	{	
							:
	,×.		·				:

3-8

بر	
٠.	
v	

 ,			Other Crim	Inal Actions Rel	sted to Alcohol	Use and Orivin	gContinued		
					Itual Offender	Laws			
				Type of Criminal	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Sanctions Follow While on	owing a Convict Habitual Offend	lon of Driving der Status	
STATE	State Hes Such a Law (Yes/No)	Grounds for Baing Declared an Habitual Offender	Term of License Revocation White Under Habitual Offender Status	Offense If Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status	Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (§ Ränge)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specity)
ALABAMA								}	
	No.								
				,					
ALASKA							<u> </u>		
·	None	_	-						-
		}						,	
				.				,	

	T	Other State Laws Related to Alcohol Use and Driving										
		teguiring BAC				stabilshing the Minimum egal Drinking Age	Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions					
STATE		BAC Chemic	al Test is Gi Howing Perso	ven to the			State	"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted via a				
	State Has Such A Law (Yes/No)	Dr I ver	Yehicle Passengers	Pedestrians	Minimum Age (Years)	Special Exceptions to the Drinking Age Laws for Certain Kinds of Alcoholic Beverages	Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No)	Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record in the State (Give the Case Citation)	Other			
ALABAMA												
	No#	-			19 28-3A-25 (3)		Yes#	No	_			
	however, 344 So. 2 BAC test	*Not specifically provided for by statute: however, in Lankford v. Bedwing Carriers, inc. 344 So. 2d 515 (Ala., 1977) the provisions of BAC test law were deemed to have application to dead persons.					*(Note: Because of new legislation in the 1980s, this law may be limited to acts committed by intoxicated minors or those intoxicated in dry countles.)					
							6-5-71					
ALASKA			<u> </u>			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·			• • • •			
	No	_			19 04.16.052	N/A	Yes 04,21,020	Nazareno v. Urle, 638 P.2d 671 (1981) Note: The holding in this case limited to actions arising before	-			
								§04,21,020 was amended by the legislature in 1980.				
		!			·							

	Other State Laws Related to Alcohol Use and Driving—Continued										
	Criminal Action Again Alcoho	nst Owner or Employees of Esta lic Beverages to Intoxicated P	oblishments That Serve	of Establis	ive Actions Against Owners Aments That Serve Alcoholic s to Intoxicated Patrons						
STATE	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai						
ALABAMA											
	Note: This type of criminal offense was repealed by 1980 legislation.				- .						
-											
ALASKA			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·								
-	Class A misdemeanor	Not more than 1 year	Not more than 5,000	Yes	ist conviction— 45-day suspension						
	1		,		2nd conviction 90-day suspension						
			·		3rd and/or subsequent convictions— discretionary (no time limit given in the statute)						
					Note: The suspensions and revocations are not mandatory.						
ļ	04.16.180			04,16,180	04,16,100						

Ψ	
\vdash	
12	

	Other State Laws Related to Alcohol (Ise and Driving-Continued										
STATE	Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Orinking Age			Establishments Th Beverages or the Mrc Beverage to Those	ons Against Owners of let Serve Alcoholic long Type of Alcoholic Persons Under the Drinking Age	Laws Prohibiting the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Motor Vehicle					
	Type of Criminal Action	Term of imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai	State Has Such a Law (Yas/No)	Explanation of Such State Law If Needed				
ALABAMA							· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				
1st oftense 28-3A-6(1&2)	Młsdemegnor	Not more than 6 months	100-1,000	Yes*) year	No	· <u> </u>				
2nd oftense 28-3A-b(1&2).	Misdemeanor	3-6 months	100-1,000	Revocation .	l year		·				
3rd offense	Misdemeanor	6-12 months	100-1,000	Revocation	1 year	}					
2B-3A-b(and 2)				*(Suspension or revoc more than \$1,000 may of suspension or revo	be authorized in lieu		•				
	·										
ALASKA	·										
,	Class A misdemeanor	Not more than 1 year	Not more than 5,000	Yes	1st conviction 45-day suspension	No					
	04,16,180			04,16,180	2nd conviction—— 90-day suspension		•				
					3rd and/or subsequent convictions Court's discretion (no time limit given in the statute_)						
					Note: The time ilmitations are not mandatory.						

		Basis for a DWI Charge		Chemica	I Breath Tests for B	AC Level .	
STATE				Preliminary	Imp led	Consent Law	
	lilegal Per Se Lew (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	(BAC Level) Other		Arrest Required (Yes/No)	Other Information	
ARIZONA		ı					
See: Arizona Revised Statutes	0.10≸	0.10≴		· No	Y o s	-	
Annotated 1976, 1982-1983 Cum. Pocket Part (current through 2nd Regular & 4th-7th Special	§28-692	§28−692			\$28 -6 92		
Sessions of the 35th Legislature (May 1982)							
	:				-		
ARKANSAS	<u>,</u>						
See: Arkansus Statutes 1947, 1979, 1981 Cum. Supp. (current through 1981	No	0_10≴		No	Yes	-	
Regular Session)							
			·				
<u> </u>			· 				

	Other Chemica Authorized U	l Tests For BAC Leve nder Lew (Implied Co	ol Which Are Insent Law)	Adj	udication of DWI Char	ges	
STATE	Blood	Bladd Urine		Hendatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Ples Bargeining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)	
ARTZONA							
i	Yes	Yes	"Other bodily substances" approved	No	Yes	Yes	
	§28-691	\$28-691	In §28-692(G) but not In §28-691 (lepiled consent statute)		\$28-692(c)	\$28_692_01A	
** · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	. ' .		:	:	·		
!]	<u> </u>			, •			
		i !	1		1		
ARKANSAS							
	Yes	Yes	-	No	No	Yes—for second DM1 offense (Ark, Stat. Ann, 575—1029,4(2))	
		•					
\	- 1	. :		į	i }		
į	i l					•	
	1	·	: .	•			
			<i>i</i> }		.]		
	}]	; ;			
		·			·		

<u> </u>				Sanctions for Refusa Chemical B	il To Submit to a BAC reath Test				
	STATE	Refusal	To Take Preliminary Br	eath Test	Refusal To Take Implied Consent Chemical Test				
		Crimina: Sanctions (Fine/Jail)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other		
	ARIZONA	'N/A	Г		None	12 month suspension	May be required to attend and successfully complete a driver training course		
		·		,		\$28~691	\$28-446		
					·				
,	arkansas								
		· N/A	N/A	N/A	None	Revocation for 6 months	_		
		·				·			
<u></u>		<u> </u>		<u></u>					

	<u> </u>	<u></u>	Sanctions Follo	wing a Convictio	on for a DNI Offense		
				Criminal Sancti	ons		
STATE	lmpri:	sonmen†	FI	ne		Other Penalties	
	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Yerm	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e.g., Victimis Fund)	Other
ARIZONA			}				•
1st offense Class 1 mlsdemeanor	6 months	24 hours	Not more than 1,000	250	Yes 8-24 hours		Traffic safety school may be required
2nd oftense Class I mlsdemeanor (w/36 months)	6 months	60 days	Not more than 1,000	500			
3md offense Class 5 felony	2 years	6 months	Not more than 150,000				
	128-692,01		\$28-692,01		\$28-692.01		§28_446
ARKANSAS							
lst offense	24 hours-30 days	-	50-500	į			
2nd offense (within 1 year of first)	Not more than 1 year		250-1,000			'	
3rd offense (within 3 years)	(Misdemeanor) 3-12 months	← ·		-			
	\$75-1029 \$75-1029,4						
]				

	Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense—Continued										
			Administrative	Licensing Actions	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	,					
STATE	Pre-DWI	Conviction Licensing	Action	Post-INI Conviction Licensing Action							
	Administrative Per Se Law	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawni (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawai					
ARIZONA		·		Ì							
1st offense	No	Yes			1						
2nd offense	No	Yes		Revocation	Not less than 1 year	1 year					
3rd offense	No	Yes	+-	.]	1						
			ļ	\$28-445	§28-448						
i			1		İ						
(] -		1	٠-					
				Į.	[
ARKANSAS						**************************************					
lst offense ^s	No	No		Suspension (a restricted license may be issued)	Not more than 1 year	90 days					
2nd offense ^M (within 3 years for admin, senction)	. No	No		Revocation (or suspension) (a restricted license may be issued)	1 year (180 days—2 years)	180 days					
3rd offense* (within 3 years)	No	No .		Revocation	1-3 years						
"See special note at the end of the sanction section.											

	Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DWI Offense—Continued											
			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Other								
	Rehabilitation			Vehicle								
STATE	Alcohol Education	Alcohol Trentment	Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Released	Other	Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Include Elsewhere					
ARTZONA	ł											
1st oftense	Yes			No	1							
2nd offense		Yes		, No								
3rd offense		Yes		No								
· .							·					
ARKANSAS							·····					
1st offense	-		· —				Special Note:					
2nd offense	{ -	Yesmendatory		No		-	Sanction provisions appear to be conflict					
3rd offense	-	can be re-Issued for those convicted of 3 DMI offenses regardless of the time between convictions		·			Ing and unclear in some instances. Some of the criminal sanctions noted may have been superceded by Ark. Stat. Ann. \$75-1055. In addition, the determination of calculation of time between offenses appears to be unclear. See generally Ark. Stat. Ann. \$575-1027 et seq.					

	Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving Homicide by Vehicle									
STATE	Sanctions									
		Criminal Sanctions Administrative Licensing Actions						na Actions	Other	
	State Has Such a Law/ Type of Offense	imprisonment (Term)	Mendatory Minioum Term	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawmi	Mandatory Action— Min, Length of License Withdrewsi		
ARTZONA		'		·				<u> </u>		
	No			_	<u></u>	=			_	
	1 1		;				528-445	! !		
					·	^{l =} Note: Licens resulting from vehicle.	a revocation to the operation	or any homicide of a motor		
]					
			`]			j j		
				·]			1		
					ļ		,			
ARKANSAS	 				 					
	Negligent homicide	Not more than 1 year	-	100-1,000		Revocation	1 year	1 учаг	_	
	Death based on reckless or wanton disregard of the safety of others			·						
	(Ark. Stat. Ann. 175–1001)									
	}									
	1							1		

۲	٠	,
1	ı	
ŗ	4)
С	_	١

	Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and DrivingContinued											
, [Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense Senctions											
STATE		0-1-1										
.*	Imprisonment (Term)	Criminal Mandatory Minimum Term of imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Istrative Licensing A Length of Term of License Withdrawai Action	Mendatory Term of License Withdrawa Action					
AR I ZONA												
lst offense	10 days-6 months	48 hours	100-300	- -	For driving while suspended	Equal to original suspension period	Same					
· ·	}				For driving while revoked	1 additionat year of revocation	Same					
2nd or subsequent oftense	Class 5 felony If convicted of DUI offense and driving while suspended or revoked	6 months			Same as above							
	\$28-692.02 \$28-473	128-269,02	·		§28-473	528-473						
·												
ARKANSAS												
	Misdemmenor 2 days—5 months	10 days if suspension or revocation based on a DUI charge	Not more than 500		If based on suspension, suspension	Original suspension period extends a like period	Same					
	(Ark, Stat, Ann S	i 75-341, 75-1029,1 a	nd 75-1053)	:	If based on revocation, revocation	Original period of revocation extended 1 year	Same					
		·		10								
		:										
						1						

Ų
1
2
_

}	Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving—Continued Hebitual Offender Laws											
STATE				Type of Criminal Offense If Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status	Senctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status							
	State Hes Such a Law (Yes/No)	Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offander	Term of License Revocation White Under Hmbitum! Offender Status		Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)			
AR I ZONA					'							
	No	_				-		-				
ARKANSAS							<u> </u>					
	, No	-	-	-	- 	-	-	-	-			
		}			S							
					. 1	·						
]									

.

Minimum

Age

(Years)

Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Those

BAC Chemical Test is Given to the

Following Persons

Vehicle:

Passengers | Pedestrians

Persons Killed In Traffic Crashes

Driver

STATE

AR IZONA

State

Has Such

A Low

(Yes/No)

Other State Laws Related to Alcohol Use and Driving
Those Laws Establishing the Minimum

Legal Drinking Age

Special Exceptions to

the Drinking Age Laws

for Certain Kinds of

Alcoholic Beverages

Draw Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions

State

Has a

Dram

Shop

Lav

(Yes/No)

"Dram Shop Law" Concept

Has Been Adopted via a

Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of This

Highest Court of Record

In the State (Give the

Case Citation)

Other

		Other State Laws Related	to Alcohol Use and Driving-	Continued	
		nst Owner or Employees of Esti		of Establis	tive Actions Against Owners Sheants That Serve Alcoholic s to infoxicated Patrons
STATE	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal
ARIZONA					
	Misdameanor		·	Yes	Length of term not fixed
	First two convictions	30 days-6 months	100-300	Revoked	
	Subsequent convictions	30 days-1 year	100-1,000	1	
	}	§4-24 6	14-246	14-210	
	}		<u> </u>		
	1	•			
	. 1		1		
arkansas					
1st offense	M Is demean or		100-250	Revocation	
2nd and subsequent offenses	Misdemeanor	6 months-1 year	250500		Statute
	(Ark. Stat. Ann. 55 48-529), 48-901, 48-902, 48-933)			
			1		
	<u> </u>		<u> </u>	[

.

STATE	Other State Laws Related to Alcohol Use and Driving—Continued												
	Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages of the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age			Beverages or the Wro Beverage to Those	ns Against Owners of at Serve Alcoholic ing Type of Alcoholic Persons Under the Drinking Age	Laws Prohibiting the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compertment of a Motor Vehicle							
	Type of Criminel Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai	State Hes Such a Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Law If Meeded						
ARTZONA		·		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·			<i>,</i>						
	Misdemeanor first two convictions	30 days 6 months	100-300	Yes Revoked	Length of term not fixed								
	Subsequent convictions	30 days 1 year	100-1,000			No	<u></u>						
	54-241	\$4-246	§4 -246	§4-210									
	(AZ \$4~246)												
	1					ı							
ARKANSAS	<u> </u>												
lst offense	Misdemeanor		100-250	Revocation	Mot specified in the statute (but see Ark, Stat, Ann, §48-525)	No	_						
2nd and Subsequent offenses	Misdemeanor	6 months— 1 year	250-500										
	(Ark, Sta	t. Ann 55 48-52	4, 48-901, 48-	902, and 48-903)		·							
						·]							
"	·	ļ		·			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·						
	1				•								

J
1
3

· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		lasis for a DVI Charge		Chemica	Breath Tests for BA	C Level
Ī						onsent Lew
STATE	illegel Per Se Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other	Proliminary Broath Test Law	Arrest Required (Yes/No)	Other Information
CALIFORNIA				}		•
See: West's Annotated California Codes, 1982 Cum, Pocket Part (current through 1981 Regular Session) and West's California Legislative Session 1982 (current through 1982 Regular Session)	0.10≸ Yeh. §23152			No	Yes Yeh . §13353	
COLORADO Sen: Colorado Ravised Statutes 1975, 1982 Cuma Suppa (current through 53rd General Assembly's 2nd Regular Session in 1982)	No	>0.5\$ (Driving white impaired) 0.10\$ (Driving under the influence) \$42-4-1202	- -	No	Yes	_

· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Other Chemics Authorized	al Tests For BAC Leve Under Law (Implied Co	l Which Are nsent Law)	Ad	Judication of DNI Char	185
STATE	Blood	Ur Ine	Other (Specify)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yas/No)	Antl-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)
CALIFORNIA						
	Yes	Yes		No -	No	No
	Veh. §13353	Veh. §13353				
			-			
				:		
	1				1	
]	
'						
COLORADO						
•	Yes	No .		No	No-one way plead	Yes
	\$42-4-1202	·			guilty to nonalcohol or nondrug related	
				·	traffic offense if charged with inter	
					alla, DUI unless prosecutor makes	
		}			good faith allegation that	
					he/she could not establish a prima facie case on	
			•		original charge	
	1			i		

u
ı
2

	1		Sanctions for Refusi Chamical E	al To Submit to a BAC Breath Test		·
STATE	Refusel	To Take Preliminary Bre	eth Test	Refusel To	Take Implied Consent Ci	nemical Test
	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminal Senctions (Fine/Jail)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other
CALIFORNIA	N/A		_	No.	Suspension	No
			_		6 months	~
					Veh. §13353	
					1	
					1	•
				-		
]	
COLORADO						
	N/A	N/A	-	None	Revocation	
İ		ľ			1st9 months	
					2nd and subsequent 12 months	·
					542-4 -1202	
					!]	
					1	

·			Sanctions Folio	wing a Convicti	on for a DMI Offens		-
				Criminal Sanct	lons		
STATE	Impri	sonmen†	FI	пф		Other Penalties	
	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e.g., Victim's Fund)	Other
CALIFORNIA							
1st offense	4 days—6 months	-	375-500	- 1		-	}
Injury/Death	90 days+1 year		375-1,000			<u>'</u>	
2nd offense (w/5 yrs)	90 days-1 year	2 days	375+1,000	375		<u>-</u> -	İ
Injury/Death	120-days-1 year		375-5,000				!
3rd offense (w/5 yrs)	120 days−1 yeer	120 days	375-5000	375	<u></u> ·	<u></u>	
Injury/Death	2-4 years Veh, §§23160, 23165-23170		1,000-5,000 Veh. \$\$23160, 23165, 23170				
COLORADO							
1st offense	5 days-1 year	No*	300-1,000	. 	48-96 hours (48 hours mandatory)		
2nd or subsequent offense (w/5 yrs)	90 days-1 year	7 days*	500+1,500		60-120 hours (60 hours mandatory)		, ,
Driving under the influence					manda i or y i	·	
ist offense	2 days-180 days	No ⁴	100-500	No	24-48 hours (24 hours mandatory)		
2nd or subsequent offense (w/n 5 years)	45 days-1 year (If previous DMI conviction)	5 days ^e	300-1,000	No	48-96 hours (48 hours mandatory)		,
Driving while impaired	60 days-1 year (If previous DWI conviction) \$42-4-1202	6 days*	400-1,000 \$42-4-1202	No	52-104 hours (52 hours mandatory) \$42-4-1202		

w
N
9

	Administrative Licensing Actions												
STATE	Pre-ON	Conviction Licensing		Post-DWI Conviction Licensing Action									
	Administrative Per Se Law	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal							
CALIFORNIA			1 		;								
lat offense	No .		<u></u>	Suspens Ion	6 months	*							
lf injury/death	No			Suspension	1 year	*							
2nd offense	No	-		Suspension	1 year	#							
if injury/death	No		 .	Revocation	3 years								
3rd ottense	No	-	<u>-</u> -	Revocation	· 3 years	3 years							
If injury/death	No	<u>-</u> -	, - -	Revocation	5 years	5 years							
	•		k	Veh. §13352	Veh. §13352								
				*Oriving privi	leges are to be restr	lcted (113352).							
				-	ĺ								
		· i											
COLORADO						<u>-</u>							
bni				Ţ									
1st offense	No			Suspension	l year								
2nd or subsequent	No			Suspension	year	· _							
oftense (w/5 yrs) DWI					l i								
1st oftense	11.												
	No	·		Suspension) year								
_	No			Suspension	lyear								
(W/N) years													
offense (w/n 5 years		, i											

. .----

			ianctions Following	a Conviction for	a DWI OffenseCon	t1nued	
				Other	<u> </u>		,
		Rehabilitation		Vehicle	Impoundment/Confl	scation	1
STATE	Alcohol Education	Alcohol Treatment	Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Released	Other	Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere
CALIFORNIA		•			,		
:	Probation require education or alco	hoi treatment		Yes, but only If convicted of driving with suspended or revoked license	. N/A		
				Veh. § 14602	!		ļ.
							ļ
							Ì
				·			
COLORADO		• * <u> </u>					
	defendant has pre:		ind drug etes obligation	No	· 		
	2nd or subsequent mandatory minimum suspended if defer alcohol and drug level if alcohol of treatment program for 1 year. This offenses.	and stated minumundant receives a payalwation; compled filled in the country country country country country and abstains from	m may be presentence ites a level I or irse and alcohol m alcohol use				
		142-4-1202					

	Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Orlving									
			<u> </u>	Ho	micide by Vehic	la				
		Sanctions					Other			
STATE			Criminal	Sanctions		Administ	rative Licensia			
	State Hes Such a Law/ Type of Offense	Imprisonment (Term)	Mendatory Minimum Term	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal	Mandetory Action— Min_Length of License Withdrawal		
CALIFORNIA				:						
California Penal Code §§192 and 193	Yes Death caused by negligent use of a motor vehicle	Up to 5 years depending on the severity/ type of negli- gence involved	-		-	Revocation		-		
		1st90 days-	No.	375-1,000	No	·	5 years for 3rd offense			
		2nd 120 days- 1 year (within 5 years of DWI or 1st vehicle homicide conviction)	No	375-1,000	No			·		
		3rd2-4 yrs. (within 5 yrs of 2nd prior conviction	No	1,000-5,000	No					
	Veh. 523153	Veh, \$\$23180, 23185, 23190		Vah. 5523180, 23185, 23190	_	Veh. \$13350	Veh. \$\$13352, 23190			
COLORADO										
	Yes—Felony (Colo. Rev. Stat. §18-3-106) §42-4-1201	2-4 years	 -			Revocation	l year	l year		
							·			

	**************************************	(mprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Miniaum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandetory Minimum Fine (\$)	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action	Mandatory Term of License Withdrawa! Action
	CALIFORNIA	[
	1st offense	10 days-6 months	10 days	Not more than 500	-		-	<u>.</u>
	2nd and subsequent offense	30 days-1 year and vehicle Impoundment	30 days	Not more than 1,000	10-4	<u></u>		 .
		1st-6 months (max.)	•					
		2nd-12 months (max.) (§14601.2)						
J		Veh. §14602			·		:	
<u>د</u> د								
	·							
	COLORADO		 		·			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
	lst offense	30 days-l year	30 days	500-1,000		Revocation	4 years	4 years
	2nd and subsequent offenses	90 days-2 years	90 days	500-3,000				
		42-2-130					42-2-130	42-2-130
	•	'						

Criminal

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Orfving—Continued
Driving White License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DNI Offense

Sanctions

Administrative Licensing Actions

STATE

	Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving-Continued												
]					Itual Offender								
ļ į				Type of Criminal	Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status								
STATE	State Has Such a Law (Yas/No)	Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Oftender	Term of License Revocation While Under Habitual Offender Stetus	Offense If Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status	Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)				
CALIFORNIA				<u> </u>				1					
	No	~					·		-				
		·											
COLORADO	Yes	3 or more		Falan	1.2	====							
		serious offenses in 7 years, or 10 or more convictions for offenses of 4 points or more within 5 years, or 18 or more convictions of 3 points or less within 5 years	Revocation for 5 years	Felony	1-2 years								
<u></u>	42-2-201	42-2-202	42-2-205	42-2-206									

.

,		- 1 	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	odfo Sto	te Lows Ke	Voted to Alcohol Use and (Or today		
	Fig.	Servicing BAC and services	othannic (i tri) t Barotian i ta	Chees 1 5		stablishing the Minimum aget Or Intimum Age	Drøm St	op taws end Related Legal	Actions
	Synte Task Such	A. Chem.	of less to Howling Pares	1 lbs	Minimum	Special Exceptions to	State Has a Dram Shop	"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted via a Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record	
<u></u>	A Law (Yes/Ho)	Drivan	Vehic te Passengers	Pedestrians	Age (Years)	for Centala Klads of Alcoholic Bevereges	Law (Yes/No)	In the State (Give the Case Citation)	Other
CAL HORNIA]		
	Yes	Yes Veh. §13353	Implied Veh. \$13353	Implied Veh. 113353	21	 ·	No	No (Note: See Bus. & Prof. Code 125602(c) and Cory v. Shlerloh, 174 Cal. RPTR500 (1981).)	
COLORADO					·	<u> </u>			<u></u>
COLUMNIC	Yes	Yas		Yes	18 21	For 3.2% beer For over 3.2% beer, wine and distilled spirits	Yes	No -	-
						12-47-130	13-21-103		·
		<u> </u>							

		Other State Laws Related t	o Alcohol Use and Driving-Con	vingContinued				
. :	Criminal Action Aga Alcoh	linst Owner or Employees of Esta olic Beverages to Intoxicated P	bilshments That Serva atrons	of Establis	lve Actions Against Owners imments That Serve Alcoholic is to Intoxicated Patrons			
STATE	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai			
CALIFORNIA		·		}				
	Misdemeenor	Not more than 6 months	Not more than 500	Yes	Length of term not fixed			
	(Bus. & Prof. Code (25602)	(Bus. & Prof. Code §25617)		Suspension or revocation				
					·			
COLORADO								
lst offense -	Hisdemeanor		100-500	Suspension	6 months			
2nd and subsequent	Misdemeanor		100–500	revocation				
offenses	12-45-114	ł2-46-114	(\$100 fine is mandatory)	12-47-110				
·								
			·		·			

· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Other State Laws Related to Alcohol Use ### Tellving-Continued									
STATE	Alcoholic Ber Alcoholic Ber	Actions Against F Establishments Perages or the W Perage to Those Jaum Legal Orink	That Serve rong Type of Persons Under	Beverages or the Wro	et Serve Alcoholic ing Type of Alcoholic Persons Under the	Lave Prohibiting the Possessian of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Motor Vehicle				
	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai	State Hes Such a Lew (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Law If Manded			
CALIFORNIA										
	H Isdemeanor	Not more than 6 months	Not wore then 500	YosSuspension or revocation	Langth of term not fixed	Yes	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·			
	(Bus. & Prof. Code \$25658)		. i			Veh. 1123222, 23223	·			
	1									
	·									
COLÓRADO	1	<u> </u>				<u> </u>	 			
1st oftense	Misdemenor	- 1	100-500	Suspension or revocation	6 months	No	-			
2nd and	Misdemeanor	_	100-500							
subsequent oftenses			(\$100 fine is mandatory)							
H	12-46-114	12-46-114		12-47-110	12-47-110					
• .										
						'				

		Basis for a DWI Charge		Chemica	al Breath Tests for B	AC Level
			1		implied (Consent Law
STATE	lliegal Per Se Lew (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other	Preliminary Breath Test Law	Arrest Required (Yes/No)	Other Information
CONNECTICUT						
See: Connecticut General Statutes Annotated	Yes# 0,10g	Yes 0.10≸		No	Yes 14-227(b)	
Note: Contains statutory provisions through November 1982.	(14-227e(g) declares 0_10# 8AC Fliegal per se only for 2nd and/ or subsequent offenders.)	(14-227a(c)(3) makes this amount prima facie evidence that the defendant was under the influence of intoxicating liquor,)				
			······································			
DELAWARE See: Delaware Code Annotated Revised 1974, 1979, 1982, Cum. Supp. current	0,10\$ 21 \$4177			implied 21 52741	Probably not 21 \$2740 21 \$2742(e)	· -
through December 31, 1982						

		cal Tests For BAC Leve Under Law Implied Co		Adjusication of DWI Charges			
STATE	Blood	Urine	Other (Specify)	Mendatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Plea Bargeining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence investigation (.au (PSI) (Yes/No)	
CONNECTICUT				Ì			
	Yes	Yes		No	Yes	Yes	
					(For a second DWI charge, the alcohol offense cannot be	(Would normally applied to first-time DW1 offenders, See	
	·		,		changed to a lesser offense without the permission of the Court.)	Connecticut Legislative Service 1981 January session of the General	
					Court.)	Assembly "P.A. 81-44 Sec. 4".)	
	14-227(d)	14-227(d)			14-227-(g)		
	:				}		
	·	1					
DELAWARE	-1	n Livin i ergenmaen, in i givaz. -					
	Yes	Yes		No	No	No	
	21 \$2740	21 \$2740	·				
;							
·. 							
		·			}		
					1		
					[•	

	Chemical Breath Test Refuse) To Take Profiminary Broath Test Refuse) To Take Implied Consent Chemical Test										
STATE	Criminal Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ (Fine/Jali) Revocation)		cath Test Other	Refural To 1 Criminal Senctions (Fina/Joil)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Chemical Test Other					
CONNECTICUT			01110	(1 11/4) 35111	(Addition)	UTHER					
CONNECTICUT	H/A	N/A	N/A	None	Suspension 90 days	_					
					14-227(b)						
	·										
		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	to the second second second second second second second second second second second second second second second	•							
DELAWARE					l						
PERMIT	N/A	N/A	_ `	None	ist-Revocation for 1 year						
			,		(Note: A conditional license may be issued if certain conditions are met,)						
		·			2nd18 months 3rd24 months	6 6 6					
					21 §2741 21 §2742						

				Criminal Sanct	lons			
STATE	lmpri	sonment	FI	ne	Other Penatties			
	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e _* g _{**} Victimis Fund)	Other	
CONNECTICUT								
ist offense	Not more than 6 months		300-1,000	300	No	. 		
2nd offense	60 days to 1 year	2 days*	300-1,000	300	Yes		<u> </u>	
3rd and subsequent	6 months to 1 year	2 deys#	300-1,000	300	Yes			
subsequent offenses		*Unioss defendant is ordered to participate in education and treatment program,		·			·	
14~227(a)(e)		14-227(a)(e)	·		Public Act. No. 82-408 Amending 14-227			
DELAMARE			···· ·		 			
ist offense	60 days-6 months		200-1,000					
2nd or subsequent offense (v/5 years)	60 days-18 months		500-2,000	_				
<u>.</u>	21 §4177		21 \$4177					
						• ;	•	
I]				

w
•
•
_

		Sanctions	Following a Convict	ion for a DW1 Offense—C	ontinued			
			Administrative	Licensing Actions				
STATE	Pre-Dil	i Conviction Licensing	Action					
	Administrative Per Se Lev	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Miniau Term of Withdrawa		
CONNECTICUT								
lst offense	No	. No	· 	Suspension	Not less than Lyear	_		
2nd offense	No .	No		Suspension	Not less than 5 years	-		
Jrd and subsequent offenses	No	No		Suspens ton	Not less than 5 years	-		
				14-111(6)				
`								
1						·		
						·		
			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·					
DELAWARE								
lat offense	Yes	Yes		Revocation	1 year or 3 conths	*		
2nd offense	Yes	Yes		Revocation	1 yea r	1 year*		
3rd or subsequent offense	Yes	Yes	- 	Revocation	16 months	18 conths		
		·				*Note: A restricte ifcense may be issued after the first 90 days of th revocation period,		
	21 \$2742	21 52742		21 541776	21 \$2742(c)			
		·						

-

		5	anctions Following	a Conviction for	a DW1 Offense Con	tinued		
				Other				
		Rehabilitation		Vehicle	Impoundment/Confl	scation	1	
STATE	Alcohot Alcohol Education Treatment		Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Refeased	Other	Miscellaneous Sanctions Not included Elsewhere	
CONNECTION			ı					
ist offense	Yes	Yes	Yes	No			-	
2nd offense	Yes	Yes	Yes		ļ ·		٠.	
3rd and subsequent offenses	Yes	Yeş	Yes					
	14-227a(f) (P_A _a 81-446(4))	14-227a(f) (P _a A _a 81-446(4))	14-227a(f) (P_A_ 81-446(4))					
			·					
			·					
DELAWARE								
ist offense	Course of Instruction re rehabilitation re convicted persons	quired for		No				
2nd offense	Mordared to complete a program of education or rehabilitation which may include in-patient treatment followed by such other programs as established by training facilitym for a time not to exceed 15 months		·	was operating his	te: Impoundment authorized if wehic s operating his/her vehicle while the earse suspension or revocation. See		·	
3rd and subsequent offenses								
		4177 41770						

Such a Len/ Type of Offense (Term) Handstory Fine (\$ Range) Hinimum Fine (\$) CONNECTICUT Yes* Not more than 5 years Handstory Hinimum Fine (\$) Not more than 5 years Handstory Hinimum Fine (\$) Not more than 5 years Handstory Hinimum Fine and Term of Licensing Hithdranmi Hithdranmi Hithdranmi Hinimum Fine (\$) Suspension Not less than 1 year Handstory Hinimum Fine (\$) Not more than 5,000 Handstory Hinimum Fine and Term of Licensing Hinimum Fine (\$) Indicate of Licensing Hinimum Fine (\$) Authorized and Type of Licensing Hinimum Fine (\$) Indicate of Licensing Hinimum Fine (\$) Not less than 1 year Handstory Hinimum Fine (\$) Hinimum Fine (\$) Authorized and Type of Licensing Hinimum Fine (\$) Hinimum Fine (\$) Authorized and Type of Licensing Hinimum Fine (\$) Indicate of Licensing Hinimum Fine (\$) Hinimum Fine (\$) Authorized and Type of Licensing Hinimum Fine (\$) Hinimum Fine (\$) Authorized and Type of Licensing Hinimum Fine (\$) Indicat	tory sh ength conse
STATE State Hes Such a Law/ Type of Offense (Term) CONNECTICUT Yes* Not more than 5 years Hendatory Minimum Term (\$ Range) Hot more than 5 years Hendatory Minimum Term (\$ Range) Hot more than 5 years Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hot more than 5 years Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hot more than 5 years Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hot more than 5 years Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hendatory Minimum Fine and Type of Action Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hindure Term (\$ Range) Hindure Term (\$ Range	tory sh— sngth conse
State Has Such a Lem/ Type of Offense (Term) CONNECTICUT Yes* Not more than 5 years Hendatory Hinimum Term (\$ Range) Hendatory Hinimum Fine (\$ Range) Hendatory Hinimum Fine (\$ Range) Hendatory Hinimum Fine (\$ Range) Hendatory Hinimum Fine (\$ Range) Hendatory Hinimum Fine (\$ Range) Hendatory Hinimum Fine (\$ Range) Hinimum Fine (\$ Range) Hendatory Hinimum Fine (\$ Range) Hinimum Fine (\$ Range) Hendatory Hinimum Fine (\$ Range) Hinimum Fine (\$ Range) Hendatory Hinimum Fine (\$ Range) Hinimum Fine (\$ Range) Hendatory Hinimum Fine (\$ Range) Hinimum Fine (\$ Range)	tory sh ength conse
Such a Lew/ Type of Offense Imprisonment (Term) Handstory Fine (\$ Range) Hinimum Fine (\$) Authorized and Type of Action Hinimum Fine (\$) Action Hinimu	ongth conse
Yes* Not more than 5 years Suspension Not less than 5,000 IIIII(c)	_
5 years 5,000 1 year 14-111(c) 14-111(c) vahicie* 53(a)-57(a) Class D	-
vehicle= 55(a)-57(a) Class D	1
felony "A person is guilty ofwhenin consequence	, .
of his intoxication while operating a motor vehicle, he causes the death of another person."	
DELAWARE	
Yes 7 years No As court sees No Revocation 3 years 3 years fit	i rs -
11 \$630	732

w
ī
3

	T	Other Cr	Iminal Actions	Related to Alco	shot Use and Driving-	Continued			
		Driving Whil	e License Suspe		Where the Basis Was	a DWI Offense			
STATE	<u> </u>			<u> </u>	 	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·			
		Criminal		<u> </u>	Administrative Licensing Actions				
	imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action	Handatory Term of License Withdrawal Action		
CONNECTICUT		·	İ						
ist offense	Misdemeanor		Not less than 100 nor more		Suspension	Not less than lyear			
	Not more than 90 days (and/or fined)	,	than 200 (and/or imprisoned)						
Subsequent offenses	Misdemeanor		200-500 tand/or		Suspension	Not less than 5 years			
•	Not more than 3 months (and/or fined)		(mprisoned)			, , , , , ,			
		·			14-111				
·							· .		
DELAWARE		· .			_				
ist offense	30 days-6 months	! :	200-500	200	Suspension or revocation	Original period of s			
2nd and subsequent oftenses	60 days-1 year	60 days	500-1,000	500	Suspension or revocation	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·			
	21 52756	21 - 52756	21 §2756	21 §2756	·				
		·		li .					

			Other Crimi	nal Actions Rel	ated to Alcohol	Use and Drivin	g—Continued		
			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		itual Offender			·	
		1	1	Type of Criminal	Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status				
STATE	State Hes Such a Law (Yes/No)	Grounds for Being Deciared an Habitual Offender	Term of License Revocation While Under Habituni Offender Status	Offense If Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Hebitual Offender Status	(mprisonment (Term)	Mendatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$1	Licensing Actions (Specify)
CONNECTICUT						,		' ·	
	No	_	ı 						-
'				<u></u>	[-		ı		
				<u> </u>					,
				,	·				
						<u> </u>			
DELAWARE									
	Yes	3 serious or 10 minor moving violations within a 5-year period	Revocation for 5 years If based on serious offenses or for 3 years If based on minor moving violations	Misdemeanor	1-5 years		7		License denied for 5 years if the habitual offender status is based on serious offenses
	21 52801 et seq.						1. 1.		License denied for 3 years if the habitual offender status is based on minor offenses

.

.

	<u> </u>			Other Sta	to Lews Re	lated to Alcohol Use and (riving			
	Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Those Persons Killed in Traffic Crashes				Laws Establishing the Minimum Legal Drinking Age		Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions			
STATE		BAC Chemical Test is Given to the Following Persons				· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	State	"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted via a Change to the Common Law	·	
	State Has Such A Law (Yes/No)	Driver	Vehicle Passengers	Pedestrians	Minimum Age (Years)	Special Exceptions to the Drinking Age Laws for Certain Kinds of Alcoholic Beverages	Hes a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No)	Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record In the State (Give the Case Citation)	Other	
CONNECTICUT								·		
	Yes	Yes 14-227(c)		Yes 14-227(c)	19 30-86-30-		Yes 30-102	No .	- .	
÷					1(20) (def_ of minor)					
DELAWARE										
	Yes	Yes	Yes		20		No	No (See Wright v. Moffitt, 437A 2d,554 (1981). Note especially statements made on p.559 by the Court on third party Injury flability.)		

		Other State Laws Related 1	to Alcohol Use and DrivingCo	ontinued				
	Criminal Action Age Alcoh	Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons						
STATE .	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fina (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal			
CONNECTICUT								
	Misdemmanoir	Not more than 1 year	Not more than 1,000	Suspension or revocation	Not stated in the statute			
		. 30–113	30-113	30-55				
	•							
				ļ				
					·			
DELAWARE				-				
	Not specified	1 month	Not more than 100	Suspension	Not specified by statute			
		4 5903	4 \$903					
			į					
		·						
		:						
			}		u.			

w
₽-
œ

	 		Other Sta	te Laws Related to Alc	cohol Use and Driving-	Continued		
STATE	Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age			Establishments Th Beverages or the Wro Beverage to Those	ns Against Owners of set Serve Alcoholic ing Type of Alcoholic Persons Under the Drinking Age	Laws Prohibiting the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Notor Vehicle		
	Type of Criminal Term of Action imprisonment		Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai	State Hes Such a Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Law If Meeded	
CONNECTICUT								
	Misdemeanor	Not more than !	Not more than 1,000	Suspension or revocation	Unspectfied in the statute	No		
-		30-113	30-113	30-55				
		1				İ		
			,					
·			:					
 	·						·	
DELAWARE								
	Misdemeanor	30 days	Not more than 100 (or	Suspension	Not specified by statute	No	<u></u>	
	4 5713	4 5904	imprisonment)					
; ·	" "	4 1904	4 5904	4 \$561]		
·							٠.	

			10 Y					
<u></u>	<u> </u>					,		

	Ba	sis for a DWI Charge	•	Chemics	I Breeth Tests for BA	C Level
. Γ					Consent Law	
STATE	lilegal Per Se Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other	Preliminary Breath Test Law	Arrest Required (Yes/No)	Other Information
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA						
See generally D_C, Code Title 40 Chapter 7 Regulation of Traffic	0.10\$	No	0,05% Constitutes prime facie proof of intoxication	No ··	. Yes	
See: District of Columbia Code, 1981, 1982 Supp, (corrent through March 16, 1982) and Anti-Drunk Driving Act of 1982, D.C. Law 4-145 (September 25, 1982)		,				
FLORIDA Sès: Florida Statutes Annotated through October 1982	0.10# 316.193 322.262	0,10\$ 322,262	_	Yes 322,261(1)(b)(1)	Yes 322,261(1)(a)	_
						·

ىي
J.
50

	Other Chemics	al Tests For BAC Leve Under Law (Implied Co	I Which Are	Adjudication of DWI Charges				
STATE	Blood	Urine .	Other (Specify)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)		
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA								
	Yes	Yes		No	No l	Yes		
	40-502	40-592			l	D _a C _a Code Ann. §23-103		
				İ	-	•		
			·	-				
	· 1	{			}			
		·						
	1			1]			
•	1							
)			ì			
					ļ			
FLORIDA								
•	Yes	No	• 	Yes .	Yes	No		
	(Only If Incapacity			(Fia. Stat. Ann. §322.281(1)	(Fla. Stat. Ann.			
	renders the breath test impractical or			(322,281(1)	5322,281(2)			
• .	impossible)		•		(Note: Only applies if BAC			
	322,261		•	·	level is 0,20% or more.)			
•								
		}	•		1			
					1			
	1 1			1	}			

ىي
•
Ś
مبيو

	Senctions for Refusel To Submit to a BAC Chemical Breath Test											
STATE	Retusal	To Take Preliminary Brea	th Test	Refusal To	Take implied Consent Ci	hamical Test						
	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Juli)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminal Senctions (fine/Jall)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other						
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA												
	N/A	N/A	N/A -	None	Suspension for 12 months							
		}			D _s C _s Law 4-145							
		1										
		1										
FLORIDA				 								
	None	None		None	Suspension for 3 months	- .						
					322,261(2)(d)							
					1							
Ì		1										
		1										
			l		1 1							

, a **u**a

				Criminal Sancti	ons		
STATE	impris	onment	FI	ne		Other Penalties	
	Term.(Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mondatory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e.g., Victim's Fund)	Other
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA							
1st offense	Not more than 90 days	 ·	Not more than 300	·	 .		· -
2nd offense (w/n 15 years)	Not more than 1 year		Not more than 5,000	-	Minus.		-
3rd oftense and subsequent offenses	Not more than I year	<u>i.</u>	Not more than 10,000		-		
							·····
FLORIDA 1st offense	Not more than		25-500	}	50 hours		
	6 months						
for a par se offense	Not more than 90 days		Not more than 250				
2nd offense (w/3 yr)	10 days-6 months	. 	Not more than 500	 .	<u></u>		-
For a per se offense	10 days—6 months	- .	Not more than 500				
3rd and subsequent offense (w/5 yr)	30 days-12 months		Not more than 1,000				
For a per se offense	30 days-12 months		Not more than 1,000				

۹	٠	
	ı	
۹	J	
Ļ	è	

		Sanctions	Fallowing a Convicti	on for a DWI Offense	Continued		
				Licensing Actions		<u> </u>	
STATE	Pre-OH	Conviction Licensing	Action	Post-Di	I Conviction Licensin	g Action	
· 	Administrative Per Se Law	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mendatory Minisum Term of Withdrawel	
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA							
	Yes	Yes —		Revocation	6 months# (Note: This time period or any part of it may be walved at the discretion of D.C. officers.)	· – .	
· .							
FLORIDA							
ist offense	None	Yes		Revocation	90 days- 1 year*	Same	
for per se offense	None	Yes		Revocation	30-90 days*		
2nd offense (w/5 years)	None	Yes		Revocation	6-24 months#		
For per se offense	None	Yes		Revocation	6-24 months#		
3rd and subsequent offenses	None	Yes	-	Revocation	1-5 years		
For per se offense	None	Yes		Revocation	1-5 years		
		·		322,26	*Restricted use ficenses may be issued.		

	Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DMI Offense-Continued											
				Other		·						
•		Rehabilitation			Impoundment/Confl	scation						
STATE	Alcohol Education	Alcohol Trestment	Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Released	Other	Miscellaneous Sanctions Mot include Elsewhere					
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA												
lst oftense	· -	·	 !	No	_	 .	- _					
2nd and subsequent offenses	 .	, 				. •						
· .					·							
						-						
			·									
	·	 										
FLORIDA												
	Yes#		_	No								
	"Required before license can be restored											
			`.		·							
					· .		·					
			<u> </u>]	1						

			Other	Criminal Action			riving		
				Ho	micide by Yehic	le			
			 		Sanctions				Other
STATE	State Hes		Criminal	Sanctions		Licensing	Length of	Mandatory Action—	
	Such a Lew/ Type of Offense	Imprisonment (Term)	Mendatory Minimum Term	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Authorized and Type of Action	Term of Licensing Withdrawai	Min, Length of License Withdrawai	·
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA									
	Yes Negligent homicide	Not more than 5 years	-	Not more than 5,000	_	Revocation	6 months (subject to the discre- tion of D _* C.		_
		D_C_ Law 4-145		D ₋ C ₋ Law 4-145			officials)		
				:					
FLORIDA									
	Homicide by vehicle of ist degree	Not less than 3 nor more than 10 years	1 year	Not more than 5,000	- -	Revocation	Not less than I year		
	68A -903						Use Ilcenses may be Issued)		
									·
			·						
l	.		ļ	 	<u> </u>		ļ		

3-56		Not more than 1 year D.C. Law 4-145	_	Not more than 5,000 D.C. Law 4-145		(Note: Suspension or revocation are not specifically authorized, but under D.C. Code Ann. \$40-302 a license may be withdrawn by D.C. officials for "any cause whichmay seem sufficient.")	 _
	FLORIDA						
	1st offense	Not more than 60 days	 -	Not more than 500	_		 · <u> </u>
		(misdemeanor 2nd degree)	·				
	2nd and subsequent offenses	Not more than 1 year		Not more than 1,000			
	0,100305	(misdemeanor ist					

Fine

(\$ Range)

Criminal

Mandatory Minimum

Term of

Imprisonment

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving—Continued Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DWI Offense

Sanctions

Type of Licensing

Action (Suspension/

Revocation)

Mandatory

(\$)

Minimum Fine

Administrative Licensing Actions

Length of Term of

License Withdraws!

Action

Mandatory Term of

License Withdrawal

Action

STATE

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Imprisonment

(Term)

degree)

STATE	State Hes Such a Line (Yes/No)	Grounds for Being Declared on Habitual Offender	License Revocation White Under Habitual Offender Status	Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status	(Aprisonment (Term)	Mendatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)
COLUMBIA DISTRICT OF									
·	Ho	-		_		- -			
				İ					
					·				
					_				·
					·				
FLORIDA				· [-		·
	Yes	3 serious or 15 normal moving violations within a 5-year period	5-year minimum revocation period	Not a special criminal offense	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A
			(Note: After 12 months, the offender may have his/ her driving privileges restored.)	(Note: The normal sanctions for driving while a license is revoked would appiy.)				·	

322,27(5)

Type of Criminal

Offense If

Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving—Continued Habitual Offender Laws

Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Hebitual Offender Status

322,264

_	<u>T</u>		 	Other Sta	to Lows Re	lated to Alcohol Use and I	Orlving				
	Laws Re	equiring BAC	Chemical Test Fatal Traffic	s on Those Crashes	Laws E	stablishing the Minimum egal Drinking Age	Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions				
STATE		BAC Chemic	BAC Chemical Test is Given to the Following Persons				State	"Dram Shop Lav" Concept Has Been Adopted via a			
	State Has Such A Law (Yes/No)	Driver	Vehicle Passengers		Minimum Age (Years)	Special Exceptions to the Drinking Age Laws for Certain Kinds of Alcoholic Beverages	Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No)	Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record In the State (Give the Case Citation)	Other		
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA											
	No				18/21 (D,C, Code (25-121)	18 for beer and table wine 21 for fortified wine and distilled spirits	No	Marusa v. D.C., 484 F.2d 828 (D.C. Cir., 1973)			
				_							
		,					 				
FLORIDA			<u>,</u>								
	No No		-		19		No	Davis v. Shiappacossae, 155 So. 2d 365 (Fia. 1963)			
					562,11						
							·				
<u></u>											

.

		Other State Laws Related to	Alcohol Use and DrivingCo	ntinued	
	Criminal Action Aga Alcoh	inst Owner or Employees of Estat olic Beverages to intoxicated Pa	olishments That Serve	of Establis	ive Actions Against Owners Aments That Serve Alcoholi is to intoxicated Patrons
STATE	Type of Criminal Action	Term of imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA					:
	Unspecified but probably would be considered to be a misdemannor	Not more than 1 year	Not more than 1,000	Suspension or revocation	It the license has been revoked, no new license should be issued for I year
	(0,0	. Code 1925-118, 25-121, and 25	-132)		
		·			
FLORIDA					
	None (Note: Fie. Stat. Ann. \$562. person selling or disposing of an habitual drunkerd.)	50 makes it Hiegal to sell or the such intoxicating Higher has	dispose of in any way intoxic written notice that the perso	ating liquors n receiving su	to an individual when the ch intoxicating liquor is
					·

	T		Other Ste	te Laws Related to Alc	ohol Use and Driving-	Continued			
STATE	Employees of Alcoholic Bev Alcoholic Bev	Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age			ons Against Owners of lat Serve Alcoholic long Type of Alcoholic Persons Under the Drinking Age	Laws Prohibiting the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Motor Vehicle			
	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Ranga)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawa!	State Has Such e Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Law If Needed		
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA			· .			,			
	Unspecified but probably would be considered to be a	Not more than I year	Not more than 1,000	Suspension or revocation	if the license has been revoked, no new license shall be issued for I year	No i			
	misdemeanor			/D.C. C.A. (175 N.)	25 121 25 1221				
				(D ₄ C ₆ Code 9925~118,	25-121, and 25-132)				
FLORIDA									
	Misdemeanor (2nd degree)	Not more than 60 days	Not more than then 500	YesSuspension or revocation	Time period not specified in the statute	. No	<u></u>		
	(Fla. Stat. Anno. § 562,11)	·		(Fla. Stat. Anno. § 561,29(1)(a) and (w)					
: .									
	# :				-	·			
,				·		}			
		!	 		ļ				

		Basis for a DWI Charge		Chemica	l Breath Tests for B/	IC Level
					Implied (onsent Lew
STATE	illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other	Prefiminary Breath Test Law	Arrest Required (Yes/No)	Öther Information
GEORGIA						
See: Georgia	No	0.,10≴		No	Yes	(
Code Annotated through April 1982		68A-902 _* 1(b)(3)			6 68-3 06	· ·
				İ		1
!			•			
]				,	·	
[,	· I				1
						[
				-		
HAWATE	,					
See: Hawall Revised Statutes, 1976, 1981, Supp. (current through Regular and 1st	No	0. 10g		No	Yes	
Regular and 1st Special Session, 1981)						
		·				
].
					İ	
						}
		·	·			
L		<u> </u>	<u>_</u>	<u> </u>		

	Other Chaml Authorized	cal Tests For BAC Leve Under Law (Implied Co	l Which Are ensent Law)	Ad	Judication of DWI Char	ges	
STATE	Blood	Urine	Other (Specify)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Plea Bargeining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)	
GEORGIA							
	Yes	Yes	Or "other bodily substance" (The code does not specify the	No · ·	No	No (Note: Mandatory	
			substances but only uses the general language.)	_		only in felony cases.)	
	68A-902 ₊ 1	684-902.1	684-902		,	·	
	·						
					} .		
HAWA I 1	 	44 16		 	·		
]	Yes	No	, 	No	No No	Yes	
						(Note: Implied by Statute.)	
				• •-			
						·	

			Sanctions for Refusa Chemical B	I To Submit to a BAC Preath Test		
STATE	Refuse	To Take Preliminary Br	eath Test	Refusat To 1	Take implied Consent C	hemical Test
	Criminat Senctions (Fine/Jali)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminal Senctions (Fine/Jail)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Ravocation)	Other
GEORGIA						
	N/A	N/A	_	None 	Suspension for 6 months	- .
					688-306	
	·	·				
HAWATI						
.	N/A	N/A	N/A	No.	Revocation for 12 months	· <u>-</u> -
					(Hawall Rev. Stat.	
			·			
					.	
				,]	

4	
	1
•	•
	Þ

			Sanctions Follo	wing a Convicti	on for a DWI Offense		
				Criminal Sanct	ions		
STATE	lmprl	sonmen†	Fi	ne		Other Penalties	
	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e.g., Victim's Fund)	Other
GEORGIA							
lst offens e	10 days-1 year		100-1,000			 .	-
2nd and subsequent offenses (w/3 years)	90 days-l year	_	Not more than 1,000				
HAWAII	See Other colu	mn at the right			See Othe	r column	For 1st offense a 14 hour rehabilita- tion course and one of the following
2nd offense (w/n 4 years of a previous conviction)	-	7: 	250-1,000		72-150 hours (In lieu of fine)		a) 72-hour community service b) 30-day license suspension; or 6) 48 hours of imprisonment
3rd offense (w/n 4 years of two previous convictions)	10-180 days		500-1,000		 -		
§291-4			('

		Senctions	Following a Convicti	on for a DWI OffenseC	ontinued	
				Licensing Actions		
STATE	Pre-DWI	Conviction Licensing	Action		I Conviction Licensia	ng Action
	Administrative Per Se Law	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawai (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Minisus Term of Withdrawai
GEORGIA						·
1st offense	None		- 	Suspension	l year	License may be restored after 60 days of the suspension period have passed
2nd offenses (w/3 years) 3rd and subsequent	None		. -	Suspension	3 years	License may be restored after 90 days of the suspension have passed
offenses (w/5 years)	None			Revocation	5 years	5 years
(11/2) (41/2)				688-305	, , , , , ,	688-312
		•	, 			
11 AWAH					·	
1st offense	No	-	_ 	See Other col	usan can p ₊ 3−64	
2nd offense	-		<u></u>	Suspension	90 days	-
3rd offense	-			Revocation	1-5 years	-
	1					
	1					1 .
						·
		·				
	1					
•	1			· f	1	

المحر فيواجد	,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,		anctions Following a							
· .				Other		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	· 			
STATE	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Rehabilitation	Alcohol Educa-	Vehicle	Impoundment/Confi	scation	†			
	Alcohol Education	Alcohol Trestment	tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Released	Other	Miscelieneous Senctions Not includ Elsewhere			
GEORGIA			·							
	<u></u>	<u></u>	 '	No		_				
				(Note: Under illegally par	[Code of Ga. 185-20 ked vehicles:may by	3, only cartain				
	•			177092117 72		- ···· p -····;•-••;				
		·		· i	. '					
				i						
				,			·			
{						· . ·				
					:		-			
HAWA I I							-			
st offense	See	Other column on p.	3-64	No	<u> </u>					
					·					
				 -						
				· 		,				
}	ı						·			

				Ho	micide by Vehic	le			
					Sanctions				Other
STATE	ì		Criminal	Sanctions		Administ	rative Licensin	g Actions	
	State Hes Such a Law/ Type of Oftense	imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (3)	Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawsi	Mandatory Action— Min. Length of Licenso Withdrawal	·
GEORGIA				•]		
	Homicide by vehicle in the first degree for an alcohol offense where a death	1-5 years	-	 '		Suspens I on	Same as for post-DWI conviction ilcensing action	Same as for post-DWI conviction itcensing action	
	occurs						(
	Ga, Code Ann, 568A-903	<u> </u>		·		·			,
HAWA I I	 								
	Yes—2 types of offenses Desth caused by negligent vehicle operation (homicide in the first degree) a Class C felony	Not more than 5 years	To be determined by the percity wie special procedures	Not more than 5,000		Revoc#†jon#	Not loss than I year		
	Death caused by simple negligence	Not more then 1 year (Mawa	li Rev. Stat. !	Not more than 1,000	7-704)	conviction of	Not less than 1 year rocation in the the driver for a definitive man	mans laughter; t	he statute

a may be a may a may a	Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving—Continued Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Basis Was a DKI Offense											
STATE	<u> </u>	A-1-1-1		Senctions	~ · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·							
:	<u> </u>	Criminal Mandatory Minimum	1	Mandatory	Type of Licensing	lstrative Licensing / Length of Term of	Mandatory Term of					
	imprisonment (Term)	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Minimum Fine (\$)		License Withdrawal Action	License Withdrawal					
GEORGIA												
	2 days-6 months	_	Not more than 500		Suspension/ revocation	The original suspension or	The original suspension or					
	··(mlsdemeanor)			•		revocation is extended 1 year	revocation is extended 1 year					
•							<u> </u>					
							• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •					
*****		 		<u> </u>								
HAWA I I	Misdemeanor not more than	_	250+1,000	_	Discretionary license suspension	If suspension not more than 1 year;	_					
) year	(Hawaii Rev. Stat.)	286–132)		or revocation	If revocation not less than 1 year						
	i											
					:							
			<u></u>	· ·			, i					

	,		. Other Crim	inal Actions Rei	ated to Alcohol	Use and Drivin	g-Continued		
	<u></u>				Itual Offender				
		j		Type of Criminal		Sanctions Following	owing a Convict Habitual Offend	ion of Driving ler Status	
STAFE	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender	Term of License Revocation While Under Habitual Offender Status	Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status	Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)
GEORGIA	}								
	Yes 688-308	3 serious or 15 normal moving violations within a 5-year period	5-year revocation period	F el onγ	l -5 years :		 -		<u>-</u>
							· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
HAWA I I	No		+-						-
							·	·	
	·								

				Other Sta	to Laws Re	lated to Alcohol Use and D	Driving			
	Laws Re Per	quiring BAC sons Killed	Chemical Test In Traffic Cr	s on Those ashes	Laws E:	stablishing the Minimum agal Orinking Age	Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions			
STATE		BAC Chemical Test Is Given to the Following Persons		ven to the			State	"Dram Shop Lav" Concept Has Been Adopted via a		
	State Has Such A Law (Yes/No)	Driver	Vehicle Passengers	Pedestriens	Minimum Age (Years)	Special Exceptions to the Drinking Age Laws for Certain Kinds of Alcoholic Beverages	Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No)	Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record In the State (Give the Case Citation)	Othe	
GEORIGA]			
	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	19		No '	No		
		21,205	21,205	21,205	5A~510					
			<u> </u>							
) 	·		·				
HAWATI			<u> </u>							
	Yes (Hava I I	Yes	Yes	Yes	18	+*	No	Ono v. Applegate, 612 P.2d 533 (1980)	+	
	Rev. Stat. (841-3)			j		·	-			
	1				}					
			!							
				}	}					
	1	•			j					

M. Samuel

,		Other State Laws Rolated 1	o Alcohol Use and Driving—Co	n†Inued				
	Criminal Action Age Alcohe	Inst Owner or Employees of Esta oils Beverages to Intoxicated F	blishments That Serve	of Establis	Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons			
STATE	Type of Criminal Action	Term of imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of Licens Withdrawal			
GEORGIA								
, .	Misdemeanor Acts 1980, pp. 1573, 1649	Not more than 12 months	Not more than 1,000	Suspension or cancel- lation	2 years			
					· ·			
	1	-		Ì				
					{			
HAWALI					,			
	Misdemeanor	Not more than 6 months	Not more than 500	Suspension or revocation	statute			
				than \$500	leivil penalty of not more may be assessed in lieu of spension or revocation.			
		(Hawali Rev. Stat.,	[155281-78, 281-91 and 281-102]	. [
			1		l			
				1				

		· · · · ·	Other Sta	fe Laws Related to Ala	ohol Use and Driving-	Continued		
STATE	Alcoholic Ber Alcoholic Ber	Actions Against f Establishments verages or the W verage to Those fmum Legal Drink	That Serve rong Type of Persons Under	Establishments in Beverages on the Wro Beverage to Those	ons Ageinst Owners of this Serve Afcoholic tong Type of Alcoholic Persons Under the Orinking Age	Laws Prohibiting the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Motor Vehicle		
	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Law It Needed	
GEORGIA	Misdemeenor Act 1980 pp. 1573,	Not more than 12 months	Not more than 1,000	Suspension or cancellation	2 уөагѕ	No I	· —	
	1649	 	,					
				·				
HAWAII			,				·	
TAWALI	Misdemeanor	Not more than 6 months	Not more than 500	Suspension or revocation	Not specified in the statute	Yes (Ha. Rev. Stat. \$291-3.3)		
	}	 		(Note: A cly) penal \$500 may be assessed suspension or revocat	In Ifeu of IIcense Ion.)			
			(Ha	wali Rev. Stat. §§281-	78, 281-91, and 281-10	2)		

	<u> </u>	lasis for a DWI Charge		Chemics	I Breath Tests for BA	C Level
Ţ				 	Imp!led C	Consent Law
STATE	lllegal Per Se Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other	Preliminary Breath Test Law	Arrest Required (Yes/No)	Other Information
EDAHO						
See: General Laws of Idaho Annotated, 1980, 1982, Cum. Supp. laws through March 24, 1982		>0.08\$ 18-6901	No	No .	Yes	No
	·					·
						·
ILLINOIS See: Smith/Hurd Illinois Annot. Statutes through February 1982	Q _e 10≸ Ch _e 95 1/2 §11-501	0.10≸ Ch. 95 1/2 §11-501(a)(1)		No	Yes Ch. 95 1/2 §11-501.1	. -

	Other Chamle Authorized	al Tests For BAC Lev Under Law (Impiled C	el Which Are onsent Law)	Ad	judication of DWI Char	g e 3	
STATE	Blood	Urfne	Other (Specify)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Antl-Piea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)	
IDAHO							
	Yes	Yes	Saliva	No	No	Yes	
						(Mandatory only for 2nd offenders who may be placed on probation)	
•	§49 - 352	§ 49-352	149-352			§18-6901 §18-111 §20-220	
ILL INOIS							
	Yes	Yes	Yes	No	No	No	
			"Saliva and other bodily substances"		·	-	
٠.	Ch. 92 1/2 \$11-501	Ch. 95 1/2 §11-501	Ch. 95 1/2 § 11-501				

			Sanctions for Refus Chemical	al To Submit to a BAC Breath Test	Sanctions for Refusal To Submit to a BAC Chemical Breath Test										
STATE	Refusal	To Take Preliminary Br	eath Test	Refusal To Take Implied Consent Chemical Test											
	Criminal Senctions (Fine/Jall)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jali)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other									
IDAHO		1													
	N/A	N/A	N/A	No	90 days suspension	No									
					·	•									
		j													
					.										
					1										
ILLINOIS															
	N/A	N/A		None	Suspension										
					1-501.1(2)										
		1			1										
			Ŀ												
		[
				1	1										
ļ															
. 1				1											

<u> </u>			Sanctions Folio	wing a Conviction	on for a DWI Offense	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
·				Criminal Sanct	fons		
STATE	Impri	sonment	F1	ne		Other Penalties	
	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e.g., Victim's Fund)	Other:
IDAHO							
	Not more than 6 months for 1st offense	None	Not more than 300 for 1st offense	None	No .	No	No
	Not more than 5 years for 2nd and subsequent offenses	Mone	Same as 1st offense	Nona .			
			1 Sept. 1884, 1875, http://doi.org/10.100/10.100/10.100/10.100/10.100/10.100/10.100/10.100/10.100/10.100/10.100				
ILLINOIS							
lst and subsequent	Class A misdemeanor	***	Not more than 1,000				-
offenses	Not less than 2 days+1 year						
	\$11-501		§11-501				
		•					
	,	•					
·							

	. 	Sanctions	Following a Convicti	on for a OWI Offense-C	ont I nued	
			Administrative	Licensing Actions		
STATE	Pre-Ow	l Conviction Licensing	Action	Post-Or	I Conviction Licensin	g Action
-	Administrative Per Se Law	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawal (Dmys, Honths, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawai
IDAHO	,					
	No .	Yes	N/A	Suspension#	90 days for 1st offense	90 days
		-		*Hardship license available.	6 months for 2nd oftense	6 months
	ļ.				1 year for 3rd offense	1 year
		\$49 –330		§ 18-6901	§ 18~690 i	§18-6901
						·
ILLINOIS		·				
	No	Yes	-sta-rev	Revocetion	Not less than 1 year	
•				§11-501(i)		
	·					

		.	Sanctions Following		a DWI OTTONSE-CONTI	nueo	·-··
		Rehabilitation		Other			
STATE	Alcohol Education	Alcohol Treatment	Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Released	Other	Miscellaneous Sanctions Not include Elsawhere
1DAHO							
		participation in rehabilitation pi driver improvement judge, a district	nt counselor, a t court he hearing officer	No	N/A	No	No
ILLINOIS	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·					<u> </u>	
	No	No		No			
		1		l			
]
	-						
		ļ					
-			•	1			

	<u> </u>		Other	Criminal Action	s Related to Al-	cohol Use and C	riving		
				Ho	micide by Vehic	le			
		 			Sanctions			····	Other
\$TATE	1		Criminal	Sanctions		Administ	rativa Licensin		
	State Has Such a Law/ Type of Offense	Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Wintmum Term	Fine (\$ Range)	Mendatory Misimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawel	Mandatory Action— Min。Length of License Withdrawai	
IDAHO									
	Yes-death as a result of an unlawful act not amounting to a felony								
	Where gross negligence is involved	Not more than 5 years	7-	Not more than 1,000		Revocation	Not less than 1 year	l year	·
	Where there is no gross negligence	Not more than 1 year		Not more than 500	+				
	§18-4006	§ 18–4007				§49-329	549-331		
ILLINOIS					<u> </u>				
	Class 4 felony	1-3 years		Not more than 10,000		Revocation	1 уевг	1 year	
	Reckless homicide (Note: Death				,			(Note: A restricted license may be issued.)	
	must be the result of reckless action of the accused driver)		·						
	u, 170, 7								

	Other Cr	Iminal Actions	Related to Alco	hol Use and Driving	Continued	<u> </u>		
	Oriving Whil	e License Suspe						
— — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — —	Celeinal		Sanctions		istrative Licensing A	ing Actions		
imprisonment (Term)	Mendatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai Action	Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action		
	-					· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		
Misdemeanornot less then 10 days nor more then 6 months	No .	100-300	No	Suspension or revocation	Period equal to the existing period of suspension or revocation	Period equal to the existing period of suspension or revocation		
Not less than 30 days nor more than 6 months (within 12 months)	No	100-300	No			·		
6 months	No	100-300	No					
-		·		§49~337				
Class A misdemeanor Less than i year		Not more than 1,000		Suspension or revocation	If the original charge is based on a suspension, the original suspension period is extended an additional like period of	Same		
					suspension. If the original charge is based on a revocation, the original revocation period is extended 1 year.			
	Misdemeanor not less then 10 days nor more than 6 months Not less than 30 days nor more than 6 months (within 12 months) 6 months Class A misdemeanor	Criminal Imprisonment (Term) Mendatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment Misdemeanor—not less than 10 days nor more than 6 months Not less than 30 days nor more than 6 months (within 12 months) 6 months No Class A misdemeanor ——	Criminal Imprisonment (Term) Mendatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment (\$ Range) Misdemeanornot less than 10 days nor more than 6 months Not less than 30 days nor more than 6 months (within 12 months) 6 months No 100-300 Class A misdemeanor Not more than 1,000	Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Sanctions Criminal Mendatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment (\$ Range) Misdemeanor—not less than 10 days nor more than 6 months Not less than 30 days nor more than 6 months No 100-300 No 100-300 No 100-300 No 100-300 No 100-300 No 100-300 No No 100-300 No No 100-300 No No 100-300 No No 100-300 No No 100-300 No No 100-300 No No 100-300 No No 100-300 No No 100-300 No No 100-300 No No No 100-300 No No No No No No No No No No	Driving While License Suspended or Revoked Where the Besis Was Sanctions Criminal Admin Imprisonment (Term) Mendatory Minimum Form of Imprisonment (\$ Renge) Minimum Fine (\$ Revocation) Misdemeanor—not less than 10 days nor more than 6 months Not less than 30 days nor more than 6 months (within 12 months) 6 months No 100-300 No 100-30	Criminal Mendatory Minimum Fine (Term) Mendatory Minimum Fine (Term) Minimum Fine (Term) Minimum Fine (Term) Minimum Fine (Term) Minimum Fine (Term) Minimum Fine (Term) Minimum Fine (Term) Minimum Fine (Term) Minimum Fine (Term) Minimum Fine (Term) Minimum Fine (Term) Minimum Minim		

· ·	<u> </u>	 	Other Cele	nal Actions Rel	nted to Alesbei	Hea and Dalvie	Continued		
			, Other Crim		Itual Offender		g-Continued		
		, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,		Type of Criminal			owing a Convict Habitual Offend	ion of Driving ler Status	7: 7: 7: 7: 1: 1: 1: 1: 1: 1: 1: 1: 1: 1: 1: 1: 1:
STATE	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender	Term of License Revocation While Under Habitual Offender Status	Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Hebitual Offender Status	imprisonment (Yerm)	Mendatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandstory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)
IDAHO					•				
, e	No	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A
				(
				2		:			
				<u> </u>					
ILLINOIS					 				
	No		-						
]	
			 	:					

				Other Sta	te Laws Re	lated to Alcohol Use and D	riving		
	Laws Re	equiring BAC	Chemical Test In Traffic Cr	s on Those		stablishing the Minimum egal Orinking Age	Dram Sh	op Laws and Related Legal	Actions
STATE			al Test is Gi Howing Perso				State	"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted via a	
	State Hes Such A Law (Yes/No)	Driver	Vehicle Passangers	Pedestrians	Minimum Age (Years)	Special Exceptions to the Drinking Age Laws for Certain Kinds of Alcoholic Beverages	Has a Oram Shop Law (Yes/No)	Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record in the State (Give the Case Citation)	Other
IDAHO			-						
	Yes	Yes If dead	No	Yes If dead	19	No	No	Alegria v. Payonk 619 P. 2nd 135 (1980)	No
		§49~1016		\$49-1016	\$23-312				
				,					
ILLINDIS									
	Yes Ch. 95 1/2 §1-501,1	Yes	, No	Yes	21 43-131		Yes 43-135	Colligan v. Couser, 38 III. App. 2d 392, 187 N.E. 2d 292 (1963)	
	Ch. 31 §10		·						
							:		
		ı			:				ţ

		Other State Laws Related t	o Alcohol Use and Driving-Co	beunitr	
	Criminal Action Agai Alcoho	Inst Owner or Employees of Esta olic Beverages to Intoxicated P	bilshments That Serve	of Establis	ive Actions Against Owners Aments That Serve Alcoholic is to Intoxicated Patrons
STATE	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai
IDAHO					
	Misdemeanor	3 months-1 year	300-1,000	Yes, but may pay \$5,000 for 1st offense in lieu of	Statute has no time period stated.
L				suspension.	
· 	\$23-605	·		523-933	
· [Ì	
: ILLINOI\$			* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 		
	Class B Misdemeanor	Not more than 6 months	Not more than 1,000	Yes Revoked	1 year
	43-131		43-148	Į	
				1	
				1	
				1	}
····	<u> </u>			<u> </u>	

I	<u></u>			Other Sta	te Laws Related to Alc	cohot Use and Driving—	Cont I nued	
	STATE	Employees of Alcoholic Bey Alcoholic Bey	Actions Against Establishments verages or the W verage to Those Imum Legal Drink	That Serve rong Type of Persons Under	Establishments Th Beverages or the Wro Beverage to Those	ns Ageinst Owners of let Serve Alcoholic leg Type of Alcoholic Persons Under the Drinking Age	Containers	biting the Possession of Open of Alcoholic Beverages in the Compartment of a Motor Vehicle
		Type of Criminal Action	Term of imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Langth of Term of License Withdrawai	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Law If Needed
	IDAHO)	
		Misdemeanor for ist Felony-2nd and	3 months— I year 5 years	300-1,000 5,000	Yes but may pay \$5,000 for 1st offense in lieu of suspension	Indeterminate (statute has no specific time period)	Yes	
		subsequent	[, an al-		407 575	
		\$23-603			§29−933	\$23-933	§23-505	
78-E				,	·			
	ILLINOIS				· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		**************************************	
	iceinois	Class B mlsdemeanor	Not more than 6 months	Not more than 1,000	Yesrevocation 43,149	l year	Yes (III. Stat. Ann. Ch. 95 1/2 §11-502)	
				· ·				
					·			
		}						

		Basis for a DWI Charge		Chem1cs	I Breath Tests for Bi	AC Level
· [lmp1led (Consent Law
STATE	Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	` Other	Preliminary Breath Test Law	Arrest Required (Yes/No)	Other Information
INDTANA		-				
See: Burn's Indiana Statutes Annotated, 1980, 1981 Cum. Supp. (1978, 1981 Cum. Supp. alcohol \$\$).	No	0, 10≴ -	No	Yes	Yes	No arrest is required under Clark v. State, 372 N.E. 2nd 185 (Ind. 1978)
Current through 1981 Special Session						·
	. •					·
			,			
10wA						
See: lowa Code Annot, through October 1982	0,13# 58 514 (Laws 1981)	0 ₄ 10≴ S8 514 (Laws 1981)		No	Yes 3218 _• 3	_
			ı			
	·					L

	Other Chemic Authorized	cal Tests For BAC Lave Under Law (Implied Co	l Which Are nsent Law)	AdJ	udication of DWI Char	ges	
STATE	Blood	Urine	Other (Speclty)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Piea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Santence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)	
INDIANA							
	Yes	Yes		No	No	No	
-							
		·					
						·	
IOWA							
	Yes	Yes	Sat I va	No	No	No	
	321B ₊ 3	3218.3	321B ₊ 3	:			
	{					•	
		·			ļ	-	
)							
	.						
Ì							

نبا	
ı	
8	
~	

			Sanctions for Refus Chemical	al To Submit to a BAC Breath Test					
STATE	Refusal	To Take Preliminary Bro	eath Test	Refusal To Take Implied Consent Chemical Test					
	Criminal Sanctions (fine/Jall)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jall)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other			
IND IANA		({				
	N/A	N/A	N/A	No	1-year suspension	No			
-									
			·						
				·					
				·					
SOWA .									
	N/A	- N/A		None	Revocation				
	1	[120 days+1 year				
	1				3210.7				
		-		1					
		1							
]	, i							
	}								
				ł					

sentence may be suspended.

Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DW1 Offense
Criminal Sanctions

1		Janci Ions	 	tion for a DWI Offense—C					
STATE	P+ P=	I Conviction Licensing		e Licensing Actions	Il Conviction Licensii	no Action			
JIAIC	Administrative Per Se Law	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawai			
IND IANA						-			
	No	Yes	. No	Suspension—Court shall recommend the suspension of the di license for a period of not less than 2 months nor more to I year. However, for 1st offense the Court may withhold Imposition of such suspension and provide the offender with restricted license. For second and subsequent offenses the Court shall recomme					
	. •	,			ver's license for a page 2 years. It is mende	period of not less that story that the			
				*Court may put the fi license.	rst offender on prob	otion with Himited			
JOWA						·			
0.10 presumption offense	:	•							
lst	Yes	Yes		Revocation) year	120 days*			
2nd	Yes	Yes	ļ	Revocation	1 year	240 days ■			
3rd and subsequent	Yes	Yes	ļ	Revocation	1 year	1 year#			
0.13 per se ottense									
15†	Yes	Yes	1	Revocation	1 year	30-90 days*			
2nd	Yes	Yes	1	Revocation	1 year	30-90 days*			
3rd and subsequent	Yes	Yes	}	Revocation	l year	30-90 days*			
lowa Code Ann. §321,281				321~209		(*Note: A restricted license may be [ssued.]			

							•				
<u> </u>					- 044 0	A					
ŀ	Sanctions Following a Conviction for a DNI Offense—Continued Other										
ŀ		Rehabilitation		Yehicle							
STATE	Alcohol Education	Alcohol Treatment	Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Released	Other	Miscellaneous Sanctions Not included Elsewhere				
INDIANA		Judge can take juthe fact of elcoh addiction and red to retraining and Such referral may	olism or er the offender	No	N/A	Na	No				
·		In supplement to	regular penalty.								
IOWA 0.10 presumption offense	-			No No							
1st		Yes	Yes								
2nd 3rd and subsequent		Yes	Yas								
0,13 per se offense			.		,	•					
lst			'								
?nd											
3rd and subsequent	·		<u></u>								
lowa Code Ann. § 321,281											

1			Other	Criminal Action	s Related to Al	cohol Use and D	riving		
ļ		, 		Ho	micide by Vehic	:le			
STATE		 			Sanctions	I - 35-3 3			Other
SIAIC	State Has Such a Law/ Type of Offense	imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Sanctions Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Administ Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal	Mandatory Action— Nin. Length of License Withdrawai	
INDIANA	}								
	Yes Felony	Not less than I year nor more than 5 years with no fine	1 year	No fine	No fine	Court shall recommend license suspension for 1 year	1 year	-1 year	
		or Not less than I year nor more than 2 years, Plus a fine	1 year	Not less than 250 nor more than 5,000	250	end commissioner must comply with such recommendation			
							· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		
10WA		1		·				1	
	No 1	-							-
			·					·	
				·					

		Other Cr	iminal Actions	Related to Alco	hol Use and Driving-	Cont I nued		
i		Driving Whil	e License Suspe		Where the Basis Was	a DWI Offense		
STATE	,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,			Sanctions				
		Criminal Mandatory Minimum	<u></u>	Mandatory	Admin Type of Licensing	Istrative Licensing / Length of Term of	Mandatory Term of	
	imprisonment (Term)	Term of imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Minimum Fine (\$)	Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	License Withdrawai Action	License Withdrawai Action	
INDIANA								
	Misdemeanor	2 days	Not more than 500	No	Additional mandatory driving while his li	! / suspension for a lib cense is revoked woul	l se period and a person d incur a mandatory	
	Not less than 2 days nor more than 6 months	·			1-year extension of	revocation.		
		·						
						·		
IOWA								
lowa Code Ann. §321/218	Simple misdemeanor Not more than 30 days	30 days	Not more than 100	100	Suspension or revocation	Original period of suspension or revocation extended an additional like period	Original period of suspension or revocation extended an additional like period	
		/						
	·							

	•			UTNer Crimi	Inal Actions Ref	ated to Alcohol Itual Offender		gContinued		·····		
l	.				Type of Criminal	Senctions Following a Conviction of Driving White on Habitual Offender Status						
	STATE	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	a Law Habitual	Term of License Revocation While Under Habitual Offender Status	Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status	Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)		
I	INDIANA											
		Yes	Three convictions for DWI within a 10-year period	10-year revocation	Class D felony	Not less than 1 year nor more than 5 years. Court may suspend up to 180 days of the sentence.	160 days	No	No	Forfelture of license for life		
	IOMA							<u></u>	·	; ; ; 		
	lowa Code Ann. §§321.55 and 321.560	Yes	3 serious offenses within a 6-year period or 6 minor offenses in a 2-year period		Aggravated misdemeanor	Not more than 2 years	-	Not more than 5,000		Same as for driving while suspended or revoked		
		321,55 and 321,560	k 									

STATE	Other State Laws Related to Alcohol Use and Driving								
	Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Those Persons Killed in Traffic Crashes				Laws Establishing the Minimum - Legal Drinking Age		Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions		
	State Has Such A Law (Yes/No)	BAC Chemical Test is Given to the Following Persons					State	*Dram Shop Law* Concept Has Been Adopted vin a	
		Dr I ver	Vehicle Passengers	Pedestrians	Minimum Age (Years)	Special Exceptions to the Drinking Age Laws, for Certain Kinds of Alcoholic Beverages	Has a Dram Shop Law (Yas/No)	Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record In the State (Give the Case Citation)	Other
INDIANA									
	Yes	Yesif driver dies within 4 hours of accident	Yes implied	YesIf pedestrian dles within 4 hours of accident	21	No	No	Elder v. Fisher 217 N.E. 2nd 847 (1966) and Parrett v. Lebamoff, ind. App., 408 N.E. 2d 1344 (1980)	
				, L					
IOWA									
	No				19 123.33 123.47	 ·	Yes 123 . 92	Lewis v. State, 256 N.W. 2d 181 (lowa 1977)	
								·	
				i					
		1		<u> </u>	l		<u> </u>		

	T .	Other State Laws Related to	Alcohol Use and Driving-C	Continued	
	Criminal Action Aga Alcoho	inst Owner or Employees of Estab olic Beverages to intoxicated Pa	lishments That Serve	of Establis	lve Actions Against Owners hments That Serve Alcoholic s to Intoxicated Patrons
STATE	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai
INDIANA	·				
1st offense	Misdemeanor	Not more than 60 days	10 to 100	Yes	No period specified in statute
2nd offense	Misdemeanor	Not more than 6 months	25-200		No period specified in statute
	}				
IOWA					
	Simple misdemeanor	Not more than 30 days	Not more than 100	Suspension or revocation	Term of suspension not specified in the statute
				T BVOCET ION	If the license is revoked term of revocation is 2 years
	123,50(1)	123,50		123,50	
					_
	1		·		•

(·	Other Sta	te Laws Related to Alc	cohol Use and Driving-	Continued	
STATE	Alcoholic Ber	Actions Against (If Establishments verages or the Wi verage to Those (Imum Legal Orink	That Serve rong Type of Persons Under	Establishments Ti Beverages or the Wro Beverage to Those	ons Against Owners of Nat Serve Alcoholic Ong Type of Alcoholic Persons Under the Drinking Age	Containers of	Iting the Possession of Open of Alcoholic Beverages in the ompartment of a Motor Vehicle
·····	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Law If Needed
IND I ANA		,			1	}	
1st offense	Misdemeanor	Not more than 60 days	10-100	Yes	Not less than 15 days	No	
2nd offense	Misdemeanor	Not more than 6 months	25-200		A 2nd violation within 12 months results in permanent revocation of permit		
		}	1				
IOWA				<u> </u>			
	Simple misdemeanor	Not more than 30 days	Not more than 100	Ist offense suspension	14 days	No .	<u></u>
]	; 	2nd offense within 2 yearssuspension	30 days		
				3rd offense within 5 yearssuspension	60 days		·
				4th offense within 5 years-≃revocation	2 years		·
	123,50			123,50			

	E	lasis for a DWI Charge		Chemica	I Breeth Tests for BA	C Level
Ţ	<u> </u>					onsent Lew
STATE	lliegal Per Se Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other	Preliminary Breath Test Law	Arrest Required (Yes/No)	Other Information
KANSAS						
See: Generally Ch. 8 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, 1976, 1981 Cum, Supp. and Senate Bill 699 of the 1982 Legislative Session as	No	0, 10≴	 ·	Na	Yes	-
enacted						;
}		·	·			
						·
						·
KENTUCKY						
See: Kentucky Revised Statutes Annotated, 1980, 1982 Cum. Supp. (current through 1982 Regular	. No	0.10≴	No	No	Yes 	No
Session)	1					
						-
		·				

	Other Chemi Authorized	cal Tests For BAC Leve Under Law (Implied Co	i Which Are esent Law)	Ad J	udication of DWI Char	.der
STATE	Blood	Urine	Other (Specify)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)
KANSAS			·	·		
ĺ	Yes			No	Yes	Yes
						Mandatory traffic records check
·			· 			58 -1567(f)
			ŧ.			
					j	
						•
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				<u></u>	
KENTUCKY		<u> </u>				
See: Kentucky Revised Statutes Annotated, 1980, 1982 Cum. Supp. (current through 1982 Regular	No	0,10\$	No	No	Yes	No No
Session)	<u> </u>					
		,				
					ļ	
				,	!	
				·		

		•	Sanctions for Refuse Chemical B	I To Submit to a BAC reath Test		
STATE	Refusel	To Take Preliminary Bro	eath Test	Refusal To	Take Implied Consent C	hemical Test
	Criminal Sanctions (fine/Jali)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminai Sanctions (Fine/Jall)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other
KANSAS		·				i
	N/A	N/A	N/A	No	Suspension tor 180 days	-
					(Kansas Stat. Ann. \$8-1001)	
·						
		·	•			
•						
		,				
KENTUCKY		·				
	N/A	N/A	N/A	No	Possibility of 6 months license suspension, if defendant is found	No
					quilty of DWI, the 6 months suspension is not added onto sentence but is	
·					dropped.	
				1		
	ŀ			į	1	

			-210.1018.10110	Criminal Sanct	on for a DWI Offense		
STATE	lene l	sonment	FI	ne Sanct	Tons	Other Penalties	
SINIE	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fina (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e.g., Victim's Fund)	Other
KANSAS							
1st offense	3 days	3 days	350-500		Yes#	Yes*	-
2nd offense	90 days	90 days (5 days*)	500-1,000		Yes*	Yes*	_
3rd and subsequent offenses §8-1567(c), (d), and (e)	90 days	90 days (See note in the last column on p. 3-102.) *Mandatory term may be reduced to not less than 5 days if person enters an approved treatment program.	1,000-2,500		"May be ordered as probation. §21-4610	a term of §21–4610	_
KENTUCKY							
1st offense	No	N/A .	100-500	100	No	No	No
2nd offense	3 days-6 months	3 days	100–500	100			
3rd offense (Mandatory sentences for 2nd and 3rd offenses)	30 days-6 months	30 days	100-500	100	·		
		·					

,		. Sanctions	Following a Convic	tion for a DW1 Offense—C	ontinued	
İ			Administrative	Licensing Actions		
STATE	Pre-Di	I Conviction Licensing	Action	Post-OW	I Conviction Licensin	ng Action
	Administrative Per Se Law	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Tarm of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawai
KANSAS						
1st offense	No	No		Restricted#	Not to exceed 1 year	_
2nd offense	No	No.		Suspension) year	l year#
3rd and subsequent	No	No		Revocation	1 year) year
offenses				#License must be restricted in use in going to and from work		*License suspension terminates when an approved treatment has been completed, this could take more than or less than one year.
KENTUCKY		}]
	No	Yes	No	1st offense6 months restrict	license suspension d ed license	 or education course and
	ļ			2nd offense1 year I	icense suspension. A	Mandatory
1				3rd oftense~-2 year l	icense suspension. I	landatory

	Ţ	. S	anctions Following	a Conviction for	a DWI Offense—Con	tinued	
				Other			
ļ		Rehabilitation		Vehicle	Impoundment/Confi	scation	
STATE	Alcohol Education	Alcohol Treatment	Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Released	Other	Miscallaneous Sanctions Not Included Etsewhere
KANSAS			(Note: Attendance at an alcohol education or treatment program could be a condition for issuing a restricted license.)	No			Note: Under \$\frac{1}{22-2906} et seq., a person may elect to enter a special diversion program; If the person fulfills the obligations of this program, the criminal charges against the persons shall be dismissed with prejudice.
KENTUCKY	The DMV may refer to retraining or upon written reco Court.	a DW1 offender rehabilitation mmendation of the	No	No .	N/A	N/A	. No

		·		Ho	micide by Vehic	10			
STATE		·			Sanctions				Other
State Ha Such a La Type of	State Has Such a Law/ Type of Offense	imprisonment (Term)	Criminal Mandatory Minimum Term	Senctions Fine (\$ Range)	Mendatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Administ Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawai	Mandatory Action— Min_ Length of License Withdrawai	
KANSAS	YesClass A misdemeanor. Death caused by operation of a vehicle in a manner which causes	Not more then 1 year		Not more than 2,500		Revocation	Not less than I year	1 year *A restricted license may be issued.	
	unreasonable risk.						İ	 	
	(Ka	nsas Stat. Ann.	\$\$21-3405, 21-	4502, and 21-45	03)				
KENTUCKY	(Ka	nsas Stat. Ann.	 	4502, and 21-45	J. - 3. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1.	N/A	N/A	N/A	
CENTUCKY			\$\$21-3405, 21-	G.J.J. (1.4. i. 2. i. J. i. J. i. J. L.)	03) N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	No
CENTUCKY			 	G.J.J. (1.4. i. 2. i. J. i. J. i. J. L.)	J. - 3. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1.	N/A	N/A	N/A	No

w
Ŧ
-
6
4

 _		Other Cr	Iminal Actions	Related to Alco	ohol Use and Driving-	Confinued	
		Driving Whil	le License Suspe		Where the Basis Was	a DMI Offense	
STATE				Sanctions		 	
	Imprisonment (Term)	Criminal Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mendatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Type of Licensing	Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action	Mandatory Term of License Withdrawat Action
KANSAS		1	, vianger			7,5,7,5,1	NC () OI
ist offense	Class B misdemeanor Not more than 6 months	5 days (must be sentenced to serve 5 days, but parole for this period is possible)	Not more than 1,000	-	if convicted of driving while license suspended, a suspension	Suspension period extends and equals that of original suspension period	Suspension period extends and equals that of original suspension period
2nd offense	Class A misdemeanor Not more than I year	5 days	Not more than 2,500	, -	If convicted of driving while license revoked, a revocation	Revocation period is 6 months and is added onto the original revocation period	Revocation period is 6 months and is added onto the original revocation period
3rd and subsequent offense	Class E felony 1-5 years	5 days	Not more than 5,000				
§8-262		(Kansas Stat. Ann.	18-262)				
KENTUCKY						·	
	No '	No	No	No	Denial of license	For additional like period of previous denial period	Yes
			:				

	-		Other Crimi	nal Actions Rel			g—Continued	 .	
· !	<u> </u>			Type of	Itual Offender				
				Criminal .		Senctions foli	owing a Convict Habitual Offend	ion of Driving	
STATE	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender	Term of License Revocation While Under Habitual Offender Status	Offense If Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitwal Offender Status	lmprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)
KANSAS		(
	Yes	Three serious offenses within 5 years	3 years	Class E felony	1-5 years	-	Not more than 5,000	 :	No specific ficensing action in the statute for this offense
\$8-285	O	ansas Stat. Ann	. 158-284 et se	(q.)					
		}		.			·		
I			·	,			·		
KENTUCKY							,		
186,642	Yes	Three or more serious offenses (including DWI within 5 years)	Revocation of license for a period of 5 years if habitual offender status is based on three or more convictions for DWI	Misdemeanor	Not to exceed 12 months	No	No	No .	See section of suspended or revoked license (column 3)
				1					

			<u> </u>	Other Sta	te Laws Re	lated to Alcohol Use and D	riving		
	Laws Re	quiring BAC	Chemical Test in Traffic Cr	s on Those		stablishing the Minimum egai Orinking Age	Dram Sh	nop Laws and Related Legal	Actions
STATE		BAC Chemic	al Test is Gi tiowing Perso	ven to the			*Dram Shop Law* Conce State Has Been Adopted via		p† e
	State Has Such A Law (Yes/No)	Or I ver	Vehicie Passengers	Padestrians	Minimum Age (Years)	Special Exceptions to the Drinking Age Laws for Certain Kinds of Atcoholic Beverages	Hes a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No)	Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record in the State (Give the Case Citation)	Other
KANSAS									
	No				21	Persons over 18 years old may consume 3.2% beer	No	No	_
							_		
KENTUČKY						-			
	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	. 21	No No	No	Pike v. George 434 SW 2d 626	No
Language in Ky. 9 Ann. 1189,590 red	ulring							(Ky. 1968)	
coroners to repor circumstances sur tatal accidents r	rounding								
impiledly require tests. Woosley v Unitorm Rental, 4 345 (1971). An	such Centrel 163 S.W. 2d Investi-								
getive officer or may direct taking samples of dead necessary. OAC 73 73-196.	of blood		***************************************						
A person dead or sclous is deemed have revoked impl sent to BAC test. Stat. Ann. \$186.	not to led con- Ky. Rev.								

	Criminal Action Age	ninst Owner or Employees of Esta	bilshments That Serve	of Establis	ive Actions Against Owners Aments That Serve Alcoholic
STATE	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	atrons fine (\$ Range)	Beverage License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal
KANSAS					
	Misdemeanor	Not more than 30 days	Not more than 200	Suspension or revocation	Not specified in the statute
				A civil penalty of up to \$1,000 may be imposed	
		(Kansas Stat. Ann. \$\$21-4501, 41	-320, 41-328, 41-705, 41-2708,	and 77-201)	•
KENTUCKY					
ist offense	Misdemeanor	Not more than 6 months	100-200	Yes	Not specified
2nd offense	Misdemeanor	Not more than 6 months	200–500	Yes	Not specified
·					
	· [1	1	İ
				1	

			Other Sta	ite Laws Related to Alc	onol Use and Driving-	Cont I nued		
STATE	Alcoholic Ben Alcoholic Ben	Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age			ons Against Owners of nat Serve Alcoholic ong Type of Alcoholic o Persons Under the Orinking Age	Laws Prohibiting the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Motor Vehicle		
	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Law If Needed	
KANSAS	1							
	Class B misdemeanor (furnishing Intoxicating Ilquor to any person under 21 years of age) (See Kansas Stat. Ann. §21-3610)	Not more than 6 months	Not more than 1,000	Suspension or revocation (See Kansas Stat. Ann. 1941-2611(e) and 41-2708(k))	Not specified	Yes		
21-3610		·			\$41-715 \$41-2615 \$41-2708	§41-804		
KENTUCKY	}							
lst offense	Misdemeanor	Not more than 6 months	100–200	Yes	Not specified	No	N/A	
2nd offense	Misdemeanor	Not more than 6 months	200-500	Yes	Not specified			
	1					<u> </u>		
			,					
İ								

	Be	asis for a DWI Charge		Chemicai	Breath Tests for B	AC Level
T T					Imp Ted	Consent Law
STATE	(ilegal Per Se Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other	Preliminary Breath Test Law	Arrest Required (Yes/No)	Other Information
LOUISIANA	.					
See: West's Louisiana Statutes Annotated: Revised Statutes, Cum. Ann, Pocket Part 1982 (current through	No	0,10≸	No .	No	Yes ∮32:661	No
1981 Regular and Extraordinary Sessions, 1/1/82, Interim annotation service, 9/82) and West's Louisiana Session Law Service 1982 (current through 8th Regular Session, 1982, 7/12/82)						
MAINE See: Maine Revised Statutes Annotated. Includes laws through 110th Legis. 1982 Fifth Special Session May 1982	Yes 0.10≴			No	No .	The law enforcement officer must have "probable cause" before he/she can require a suspected drunken driver to submit to a BAC test.
	C.29 \$1312(5)					C.29 §1312

14 11 11 11 11 11 11 11 11 11 11 11 11 1	Other Chem Authorize	ical Tests For BAC Leve d Under Law (Imp∤led Co	I Which Are msent Law?	Adj	udication of DWI Char	ges
STATE	Blood	Urina	Other (Specify)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)
LOUISTANA						
	. Yes	Yes	Other bodily substance	No	No :	Optional
	\$32:661	§32:661	\$32:661	·		
				·		
MA INE						
	Yes C,29 §1312			Must adjudicate as a criminal violation of BAC level is 0.204 or more		No
					·	
·						
	·]				

w
1
_
—
-

		·	Sanctions for Refus Chemical I	al To Submit to a BAC Breath Test		
STATE	Refusel	To Take Preliminary Bre	ath Test	Refusat To	Take Implied Consent C	hemical Test
	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other
LOUISIANA		·			1	
	H/A	N/A	N/A	No	Suspension (6 months which is added onto any other administrative action arising out of the same set of operative facts) §32:667	
				-		
MAINE						
	N/A	N/A	N/A	No	Suspension for 180 days	
}	}				C,29 §1312(2)	
]]]				
	1	}		\		
	}]	
}						
{				1		
	<u> </u>	<u> </u>		<u></u>		·

.

			Sanctions Folio	owing a Convicti	on for a DNI Offense		
				Criminal Sanct	ions	· <u> </u>	- <u>-</u>
STATE	1mpr1	sonment	Fi	lne .		Other Penalties	~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
·	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e.g., Victim's Fund)	Other
LOUISTANA							
	1st 10 days-6 months	2 days	125-500	No	Alternative to minimum 10-day sentence is	When defendant placed on probation court	I. Alternative to jail term: treat- ment at substance
	2nd 30 days-6 months	l5 days	300-500	No	(1) to do 4 days community service.	may order restitution	abuse treatment center (1st and 2nd convictions) and driver improvement course. 2. In addition to or in place of
	3rd 1 year-5 years (w/or w/o hard labor)	6 months	1,000	No	substance abuse, and driver improve- ment program with 2 days in jall or		
	4th 10 years- 30 years (hard labor)	No .			(2) see "Other" column, item number 1.		restitution court may order defendant on probation to pay X amount to
					2nd conviction: same as above except 30-days community service (effective 1/1/83)		criminal fund of parish where conviction obtained.
	514:98 Act. No. 14	§14:98 Act. No. 14	\$14:98 Act No. 14	14:98	\$14:98 Act. No. 14	C. Cr. P., Art. 895	§14:98 Act. No. 14
MATNE							
Criminal violation	Class D crime less than 1 year	48 hours	Not more than 1,000	Not less than 350			
Traffic Infraction	Not appplicable to a traffic infraction	-	250–500	250		·	Note: If BAC is less than 0.20\$, the State may not elect to prosecute the DWI offense as a violation and not as a crime
C,29 §1312(10)							C.29 §1312(c)

		Sanctions	Following a Conviction	on for a DWI Offense—C	Continued	
			Administrative	Licensing Actions		
STATE	Pre-Di	il Conviction Licensing	Action	Post-Dr	I Conviction Licensin	g Action
	Administrative Per Se Lew	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal
LOUISTANA		1				
	No No	Yes		1stsuspension	60 days*	No
	ţ			2ndrevocation	12 months	12 months
		}			"Hardship provision (to earn liveli- hood) for 1st offense only	(p. 152, §32:414)
	<u> </u>			\$32:414 Act. No. 822	\$32:414 \$32:415 Act, No. 822	
						. * .
MAINE						
Criminal violation	No No	Yes		Suspension	90-275 days	90 days
Fraffic Infraction	No	Yes		Suspension	45-135 days	45 days
C. 29 §1312(10)						
·			-			

	ļ		Sanctions Following		a DWI Offense-Cont	nued	<u> </u>
		Rehabilitation		Other Vehicle	e Impoundment/Confisc	ent lon	Τ
STATE	Alcohol Education	Alcohol Treatment	Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Owscribe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Released	Other_	Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Includ Elsewhere
LOUISTANA							
			1	No	N/A	N/A]
	first time offention. Restricte attendance in drigrants such opposevaluation and bill DNI offender is a habitual driftnom such treatmeto order a DNI offende	ders for retraining the licenses are issolver improvement something the licenses are incommendation to pathologically addiction and addiction and addictions.	seed to facilitate schools. Court is of a) medical that the convicted licted to atcohol or who will benefit sthorizes the court or substance abuse				
MA INE							
•	-	_	After 2/3 of	No	_		

			Utner		· —— · — — · ·	cohol lise and D	riving		
				Ho	micide by Vehic	le			Other
STATE			Criminal	Senctions	Senctions	Administ	rative Licensin	a Actions	OTNEC
	State Has Such a Law/ Type of Offense	Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Fine (\$ Ranga)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal	Mendatory Action— Min, Length of License Withdrawal	·
LOUISIANA				·		. }			
	No, but has megligent homicide statute	0-5 years w/or w/o hard labor	No	0-5,000	No .	Revocation	12 months	12 months	No
·	§14;32								
						·			
		;						i i	
•				i					
HAINE	<u> </u>			<u> </u>		:		<u> </u>	···
· .	The law applies only if death is caused by the reckless operation of a vehicle.	Not more than 5 years	+	Not more than 2,500		Revocation	5 years	5 years	_
	C. 17-A \$203 and C. 29 \$1313	,	9						

·		· Other Cr	Iminal Actions	Related to Alco	thol Use and Driving-	Continued	
		Driving Whil	e License Suspe		Where the Basis Was	a DMI Offense	
STATE	····			Sanctions			
	Imprisonment	Criminal Mandatory Minimum Term of	Fine	Mandatory Minimum Fine	Type of Licensing	istrative Licensing A Length of Term of License Withdrawal	Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal
	(Term)	lmprisonment	(\$ Range)	(\$)	Revocation)	Act Ion	Action
LOUISTANA							
Note: "offenses"	6 months	No	10-500	No	Suspension period Increases if	1 year	t year
defined at Art. 933, C. Cr. P.	7 days—6 months (If such violation was simultaneous with 2nd DW; conviction)	7 days	300~500	No No	driving with suspended license and likewise for revocation period		
		·	\$32:415 \$32:427 Act No. 556				
MATNE							
	Less than 1 year (Class D crime) C.29	7 days	Not more than 2,500 C.29	350	Suspension	1-3 years added to the original suspension or revocation	I year edded to the original suspension or revocation
	\$2184		§2184	i			
							·
						-	
	<u> </u>						

	State Has Such a Law (Yas/No) Yas	Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender 3 or more con- victions w/n a 5-yr, period, for operating or attempting to operate a motor vehicle while (1) under the influence, (2)	Term of License Revocation While Under Hebitual Offender Status 3 years (plus, *financial responsibil- ity require- ments must be met and	Type of Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving White on Habitual Offender Status	Itual Offender Emprisonment (Term) 1-5 years	Sanctions Foll	owing a Convict Habitumi Offend Fine (\$ Range)		Licensing Actions (Specify) None
	Such a Law (Yes/No)	Being Declared an Habitual Offender 3 or more con- victions w/n a 5-yr. period, for operating or attempting to operate a motor wehicle while (1) under the	License Revocation White Under Hebitual Offender Status 3 years (plus, "financial responsibil- ity require- ments must	Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving White on Habitual Offender Status	(Term)	Mille on Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Habitum (Offend Fine (\$ Range)	Mendatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Actions (Specify)
	Such a Law (Yes/No)	Being Declared an Habitual Offender 3 or more con- victions w/n a 5-yr. period, for operating or attempting to operate a motor wehicle while (1) under the	License Revocation White Under Hebitual Offender Status 3 years (plus, "financial responsibil- ity require- ments must	Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status	(Term)	Minimum Term of Imprisonment	(\$ Range)	Minimum Fine (\$)	Actions (Specify)
LOUTSTANA	Yes	victions w/n a 5-yr, period, for operating or attempting to operate a motor vehicle while (1) under the	(plus, "financial responsibli- ity require- ments must	Misdemeanor	1-5 years	No	None	No	None
		Impaired by use of, and (3) intox= icated by use of intoxicat= ing liquors, (This part of the statute relates to sicohol onty,) §32:1472	patition must be mode to court which may, upon showing of good cause, restore license) §32:1479 Act. No. 555	Act. 933, C. Cr.P.	\$32:1480 Act No. 555				
MAINE		,							
	Yes C. 29	Convictions for 3 serious offenses, (DWf)	Revocation period is indefinite but relief from the habitual offender status (revocation) is removed after i year.	C_29	Not more than 5 years	60 days	Not more than 5,000	,	Reliaf from habitual offender status shall not be granted for at least 5 years from the date the offender would have been eligible for relief.

	Laws Re	equiring BAC	<u>In Traffic Cr</u>	ashes	Laws E	stablishing the Minimum egai Drinking Age	Dram Sh	op Laws and Related Legal	Actions
STATE		BAC Chemic Fo	al Test is 61 Llowing Perso	ven to the			State	*Dram Shop Law* Concept Has Been Adopted via a	
	State Has Such A Law (Yes/No)	Driver	Vehicle Passengers	Pedestrians	Minimum Age (Years)	Special Exceptions to the Orinking Age Laws for Certain Kinds of Alcoholic Beverages	Has e Drate Shop Law (Yes/No)	Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record In the State (Give the Case Citation)	016
LOUISTANA						-			
		Yes §32:661(A)	Yes §32:398(E) (F)	Yes \$32:398(£) (F)	18 \$26:88 (1)	None	No	No (but, see, 373 So. 2d 494, 385 So. 2d 772&326 So. 2d 831)	No
	,								
			·		,				
MA INE									_
	No	-	-		20 C.28 §303		Yes C. 17 § 2002	No.	
	·				·				-
						J			
							.*		

		Other State Laws Related 1	o Alcohol Use and Driving-Conf	Inved	
	Criminal Action Age Atcol	ainst Owner or Employees of Esta holic Beverages to intox:cated F	blishments That Serve	of Establis	lve Actions Against Owners hamments That Serve Aicoholic is to intoxicated Patrons
STATE	Type of Criminal Action	Term of imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal
LOUISTANA					
A. For alcoholic beverages with an alcohol content of 6% or above	Misdemeanor	30 days-6 months \$26:191	100-500 or 1st50-500 2nd*250-1,000	Yes (not mandatory)	1 year
B. For alcoholic beverages with an alcohol content of 1/2 of 1% to	Misdemeanor	Ist offense30 days-6 months 2nd or subsequent offense 60 days-12 months	3rd*500-2,500 *Within 3 years \$26:94 100-500 200-1,000 or	\$26:88	1 year
6%		126:521	1st50-500 2nd*250-500 3rd500-2,500 #Within 3 years \$26:290		\$26:29 \$
			Note: However, this graduate or in addition to revocation/ listed fine.		
MAINE	_				
	None	N/A	N/A	Yes Suspension or revocation C_28 1401	Not specified in the statute
		·			
_					

		,	Other Sta	te Laws Related to Alc	ohol Use and Driving-	Continued		
STATE	Alcoholic Ber Alcoholic Ber	Actions Ageinst F Establishments verages or the W verage to Those leam Legal Drink	That Serve rong Type of Persons Under	Beverages or the Wro Beverage to Those	at Serve Alcoholic	Laws Prohibiting the Possession of Open Containers of Aicoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compertment of a Motor Vehicle		
,	Type of Criminel Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Law If Meeded	
LOUISTANA	}							
	Misdemeanor	0-6 months	0-300 ·	Yes, but not mandatory	1 уваг	No	N/A	
		It could be the penalty option the preceding a specific excigeneral rule.	s listed on page apply as					
		\$14:91	\$14:91					
MAINE							<u>-</u>	
,	None	N/A	N/A	Yes Suspension or	Not specified in the statute	Additional		
	1	}		revocation		note		
		1				C.28 \$303	•	
				1				
							•	
		1				1 1		

<u> </u>	В	asis for a DWI Char	je	Chemical Breath Tests for BAC Level				
[-				Implied	Consent Law		
STATE	illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other	Preliminary Breath Test Law	Arrest Required (Yes/No)	Other Information		
MARYLAND								
See: Annotated Code of Maryland, 1957, 1982 Supp.	No .	No No	A BAC of 0.08 is prima facie evidence of driving while under the influence. A BAC of 0.13 is prima facie evidence of intoxication. (Ann. Code of Maryland, Courts and Judicial Proceedings \$10-3029 and 10-307)	Yes	Yes			
MASSACHUSETTS		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				 		
See: Massachusetts General Laws Annotated August 1982	No	Yes 0 _• 15≴	_	No	Yes	If person refused to consent after being arrested, police officer immediately prepares written		
		C.90 §24(1)(e)			C.90 \$24(f)	report; and this is forwarded to the registrar who then suspends the person! license for 90 days,		

•

:	Other Chami Authorized	cal Tests For BAC Leve Under Law (Implied Co	l Which Are nsent Law)	Ad	Judication of DW: Char	g ès
STATE	Blood	Urine	Other (Specify)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)
MARYLAND						
	Yeş	No		No	No	No
	(Ann. Code of	™uryland, Transportat	ion §16-205,1)			(Note: PSI require only for conviction of felony offenses.
,						
-						
		,				
MASSACHUSETTS						-
	^{+ −} No	No	~	Yes	No	Yes
				C.90 124(g)		C.90 §24(I)(a)
	·					

_ -		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		al To Submit to a BAC Breath Test		
STATE	Refusal	To Take Preliminary Bro	eath Test	Refusal To	Take implied Consent C	hemical Test
	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jall)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other
MARYLAND			·	}		
	Mone	None		None	Suspension for 60 days—6 months*	- -
					*Restricted license available.	
·		<u>-</u> : }				
·	:					
MASSACHUSETTS			<u> </u>			
	No	No		No .	Suspension of license for 90 days	
					C_90 \$24(f)	
			ı			
			l			
				,		

	1		Senctions follo	wing a Convicti	on for a DNI Offense)	·
				Criminal Sanct	lons		
STATE	Impri:	sonment	FI	ne		Other Penalties	
	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mandetory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Sarvice	Restitution (e.g., Victimis Fund)	Other
MARYLAND			!				
Offense of driving while under the influence	Misdemeanor				Option when, after determination of quilt or noto contendere plea, entrance of	Option when Judgment's entrance is stayed and individual is placed on	
1st offense	Not more than 2 months	-	Not more than 500	-	judgment is stayed and individual is	probation.	
Subsequent oftense	Not more than 1 year		Not more than 500		placed on probation.		
Driving while intoxicated	Misdemeanor			 -	Art. 27 §641	Art. 27 5641	
1st offense	Not more than 1 year		Not more than	- -			
Subsequent oftense	Not more than 2 years	 .	Not more than 1,000				·
	(Ann. Code of	Maryland, Transports	ation \$\$21-902 an	d 27-101)	<u> </u>		·
MASSACHUSETTS		_ _ . .			,		
•	Not more than 2 years	2 weeks	Not more than 1,000	35	_		_
	C.90 524						
	,						
			1		,		• .
				! 	-		
					,		

		Sanctions	Following a Convic	tion for a DWI Offense—C	ontinued	
			Administrativ	e Licensing Actions		\
STATE	Pre-DW	Conviction Licensing	Action	Post-Di	I Conviction Licensin	g Action
	Administrative Per Se Law	UYC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawn1 (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawai
MARYLAND						
Driving while under the influence					Not more than:	
1st offense	No	No		Suspension#	60 days	_
2nd offense within 2 years	No	No .	-	Suspension*	120 days	-
3rd offense within 3 years	No	No	-	Revocation#		
Driving while Intoxicated	Мо	No	_	Revocation*	6 months for a 1st revocation; 1 year for a 2nd revoca-	
(Ann. Code of Maryland \$12-205)	s ¹			of the criminal sanctions section.	tion; and 18 months for a 3rd revocation	
- MASSACHUSETTS	# ************************************					
	No	No		Mandatory revocation	1 year	90 days
					Unless at Court's discretion the person can be placed on probation for 1 year and may be eligible for early reinstatement after 90 days	
				C.90 f24(b)	C.90 §24(c)	
					\$	

		,	Sanctions Following	a Conviction for	a DWI Offense-Con	Inued	
				Other		·	-
		Rehabilitation		Veh1cle	Impoundment/Confli	cation	_1
STATE	Alcohot Education	Alcohol Treatment	Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Released	Other	Miscellaneous Sanctions Not included Elsewhere
MARYLAND			1]		Special Note:
Orlving while under the influence	Yes	Yes	<u> </u>	No			(1) Under separate provisions, a license may be suspended or revoked for an alcohol offense via the point
Driving while intoxicated	Yes	Yes			!		system, Under this system two driving
•	(Ann.	Code of Maryland	8-404)		{		under the influence offenses within
		[{		2 years would result
	ì			·	i i		in an accumulation of points sufficient to
	1				! !		warrant revocation;
	}		,		i i		note terms of license
	}				1		driving while
	}	!	1		}		intoxicated offense.
	1		ļ	}	i		(2) All suspensions and revocations not
MASSACHUSETTS), 					under the point system
HN33NCHU3E113	1	ļ		1)		are discretionary. (3) If a suspension or
			be placed on 1-year	No		_	revocation is based or
	1 '	loned on attending ant or rehabilitat	an arconor Ion program. Such		Ì		the point system, the state may cancel or
		a \$200 fee for pla	acement in the		}		modify such action if
	program. At Cour	t's discretion.	i		}		It would adversely affect a person's
·]	C.90	!		j		employment or oppor-
		§24(d)	1		1		tunity for employment. (4) There is a provi-
	(Chang	! ied as of September	1982)		{		sion allowing persons
	}				1		who drive for a living
]						to accumulate a higher
	İ]		1	-	license suspension or
		i]		l l		revocation is authorized.
	}	}			1 ((Ann. Code of Maryland
	 	<u> </u>			<u> </u>		§18-401 et seq.)

}			0,114		micide by Vehic	cohol Use and D	1 1 4 1 mg	······	
	 1	,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,	 		Sanctions	10	· 		Other
STATE			Criminal	Sanctions	Juicitoris	Administ	rative Licensia	a Actions	O ING
	State Has Such a Law/ Type of Offense	imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Fine (\$ Range)	Mendatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawai	Mandatory Action— Min. Length of License Withdrawal	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
MARYLAND						:			
1) Death caused by the courselon of a vehicle "in a grossly negligent manner"	Yes Misdemeanor	Not more than 5 years		Not more than 1,000	-	Revocation (via point system)	6 months for first revocation; 1 year if this would be a 2nd revocation; and 18 months	(Note: A restricted license may be issued; see special note at the	
2) Death caused by operation of a motor webicle while intoxicated	Yes Misdemeanor	Not more than 2 years		Not more than 1,000			If this would be a 3rd revocation	end of the DWI criminal sanctions section.)	- -
	Ann. Code of Md. Art. 27, 5388								
MASSACHUSETTS		·							
	Yes {Homicide by motor vehicle} C_90 §24(g)	30 days to 2 1/2 years and/or time	30 days	300 to 3,000 end/or Imprisonment	300	Suspension (based on Commissioneris findings)	10 years	10 years	•
		<u> </u>] ·	·				
,								·	
	į	<u> </u>		[Ì			

		, Other Cr	Iminal Actions	Related to Alco	hol Use and Driving-	Continued	
		Driving Whil	e License Suspe		Where the Besis Was	a DWI Offense	
STATE				Sanctions		·	···
		Criminal	,			istrative Licensing /	
	imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action	Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action
MARYLAND							
ist offense	Misdemeanor Not more than 1 year	-	Not more than 1,000	_	Revocation*	6 months if a first revocation	l year
2nd and subsequent offenses	Not more than 2 years	_	Not more than 1,000	-	Revocation* (*via point system) Registration of any motor vehicle owned	I year If a second revocation 18 months if this would be a third revocation	
	·				by a person whose license was sus- pended or revoked for an impiled con- sent refusal or a DUI/DWI offense may be suspended for not more than 120 days.		(Note: A restricted license may be issued; see special note at the end of the criminal sanctions section.)
MASSACHUSETTS							
1st offense	Not more than 10 days and/or fine	-	50-100 or Imprisonment	50	Suspension	90 days-6 months	90 days
Subsequent offenses	10 days-1 year	10 days		·	Revocation		·
C.90 \$23							
	:						
·							
			L	<u>. </u>			

STATE	Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohot Use and Driving—Continued											
	Type of Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving Criminal While on Hebitual Offender Status											
	State Hes Such a Law (Yes/No)	Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender	Term of License Revocation While Under Habitual Offender Status	Criminal Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status	(mpr)sonment (Term)	Mandatory Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Habitual Offend Fine (\$ Range)	ler Status Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)			
MARYLAND												
	No	_	-	-	-		-		-			
				 				·				
MASSACHUSETTS	Yes	Three or more convictions, singularly or in combination of operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating ilquor in violation of	4 years (if proven hardship license after i year)	Habitual offender (criminal offense)	Not more than 2 years		200-1,000	200	Revocation			
	C.90 §22(f)	C_90 \$24(1) (a)							,			

·	Other State Laws Related to Alcohol Use and Driving										
STATE	Laws Requiring BAC Chemical Tests on Those				Lows E	stablishing the Minimum					
		rsons Killed In Traffic Crashes BAC Chemical Test is Given to the Following Persons				egal Drinking Age	Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal **Dram Shop Law** Concept State Has Been Adopted via a				
	State Has Such A Law (Yes/No)	Driver	Vehicle Passengers	Pedestrians	Minimum Age (Years)	Special Exceptions to the Drinking Age Laws for Certain Kinds of Alcoholic Beverages	Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No)	Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record In the State (Give the Case Citation)	Other		
MARYLAND	1						Ì		}		
	Yes	No -	No	Ng	21	Grandfather clause for those born prior to July 1, 1964 (Ann. Code of Maryland Art. 2B, §§62, 18, and 200)	, No	No			
MASSACHUSETTS				<u> </u>							
	Yes C.38 96(A)	Yes Statute requires medical examiners to submit to police lab of State where accident occurred, blood samples of drivers who die of injuries received in auto accidents within 4 hours of the accident,	. No	Yes (Same rule for drivers who die (C.38 \$6(A)) in accidents applies for pedestrians 16 years or older	20 C.138 §34	_ -	Yes	Adamsin v. Three Sons, 353 Mass. 498; 233 N.E. 2d 18 and Cimino v. The Milford Keg, inc., 431 N.E. 2d 920 (Mass. 1982)	_		

			Administration	ive Actions Against Owners		
Criminal Action Agai Alcoho	inst Owner or Employees of Esta bild Beverages to Intoxicated P	blishments That Serve atrons	of Establis	of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Infoxicated Patrons		
Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai		
Misdemeanor	Not more than 2 years	Not more than 1,000	Suspension or revocation	for certain countles it may be longer		
(Ann. Code q	f Maryland Art, 28, 5569, 69A,	118, and 200)	Comptroller			
·						
				<u> </u>		
fine and/or imprisonment	Not less than 1 month and not more than 1 year	Not less than 50 and not more than 500	No No	. 		
138 \$6 9						
	Type of Criminal Action Misdemeanor (Ann. Code o	Type of Criminal Action Term of Imprisonment Misdemeanor Not more than 2 years (Ann. Code of Maryland Art. 28, 5569, 69A, Fine and/or imprisonment Not less than 1 month and not more than 1 year	Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons Fine Type of Criminal Action Term of Imprisonment Not more than 2 years (Ann. Code of Maryland Art. 2B, 1569, 69A, 118, and 200) Fine and/or imprisonment Not less than 1 month and not more than 500	Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons Comparison		

			Other Sta	te Laws Related to Alc	cohol Use and Driving-	Continued		
STATE	Employees of Alcoholic Bev Alcoholic Bev	Actions Against Establishments rerages or the W rerage to Those ewm Legal Drink	That Serve Frong Type of Persons Under	Establishments Th Beverages or the Wro Beverage to Those	ons Against Owners of nat Serve Alcoholic ong Type of Alcoholic Persons Under the Orinking Age	Laws Prohibiting the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Motor Vehicle		
	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fîne (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Law If Needed	
MARYLAND		ļ				}		
Ann. Code of Maryland Art. 2B \$\$118 and 69	Misdemeanor	Not more than 2 years	Not more than 1,000	Suspension or revocation	Generally 6 months but for certain counties it may be longer	Yes	This law is ilmited to certain public parking areas	
	(Ann. Code of	Maryland Art. 118, and 200)	28 \$\$69, 69A,	(Note: For licenses issued by the comptroller a monetary compromise of not more than \$2,000 may be paid in lieu of suspension or revocation.)		See explanation	See Maryland Code Article 28 §§207-214	
MASSACHUSETTS								
	Fine and/or imprisonment	Not more than 6 months	Not more then 200	Possibly (Left up to the Court's discretion)	lf revoked1 year	No		
		}		C. 138 564	C.138 564]		

Į		Basis for a DVI Charge		Chemical	Breath Tests for	BAC Level
					Implied	Consent Law
STATE	illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other	Preliminary Breath Test Law	Arrest Required (Yes/No)	Other Information
MICHIGAN				·		
See: Michigan Statutes Ann. 1981, 1982 Cum. Supp. (current through September 28, 1982)	0,10≸	A BAC of greater than 0.07 but less than 0.10 is a presumption of impairment A BAC of 0.10 or more is a presump-		Yes	Yes	-
		tion of driving while under the . Influence				
					·	
MINNESOTA See: Minnesota Stat. Ann.	Yes			Yes	Yes and No	Test can be given
Includes laws through 1981 Regular Session and 1st and 2nd Special Session (for use in 1982)	0.10\$ Minn. Stat. Ann. 169,121(1)(d) 169,123(5a)			(Minn. Stat. Ann. C.169,121)		1) person has been lawfully placed und errest under C.169.121 and 2) If person has refused to take
			·			preliminary screeni test; 3) If PBT is refuse or shows BAC of 0.1 or more; 4) If person is
						Involved in an accident resulting property damage, personal injury, or death there is implied consent without arrest.

	Other Chaml Authorized	cal Tests For BAC Leve Under Law (Implied Co	l Which Are esent Law)	Ad	judication of DWI Charg	942	
STATE	Blood	Urine	Other (Specify)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Pies Bargaining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)	
MICHIGAN							
•	Yes (Mich. Stat. Ann.	Yes	 .	No ·	No I	Yes	
	119,2325(1), (3), (4), (5), and (6))	·]		
	1				<u> </u>		
					}		
,					}	·	
						•	
MINNESOTA							
	Yes	Yes		Yes	No	Yes	
	•			-		169,123 Subd. 4	
•]		
• .]		
	<u> </u>	•					
	}						
		,		·	}	÷	

		· ·	Sanctions for Refuse Chemical E	I To Submit to a BAC reath Test		\		
. STATE	Refusal	To Take Preliminary Br	eath Test	Refusal To Take Implied Consent Chemical Test				
	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jali)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other		
MICHIGAN	H					•		
,	No	Na	Civil Infraction	Suspension	90 days-2 years			
					1			
					.]			
	·							
N INNESOTA								
MINNESOIA		Revocation for			Revocation for			
·		6 months			6 months	<u>—</u>		
. 1		169,123 Subd, 2(b)(1)	-		169.123 Subd. 2(b)(()			
					1			
			ļ]			
·								
	:				'			
					1	-		

			Sanctions Follo	wing a Convicti	on for a DWI Offense			
				Criminal Sanct	lons	-		
STATE	lmpri	sonment	FI	ne	Other Penalties			
	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e ₌ g ₌ , Victim ¹ s Fund)	Other	
MICHIGAN								
Offense of driving while impaired	Misdemeanor				·			
1st offense	Not more than 90 days	· -	Not more than 300		Yesup to 12 days			
2nd and subsequent offense	Misdemeanor Not more than 1 year	-	Not more than 1,000		Yesup to 12 days			
Offense of driving while under the Influence								
1st offense	Misdemeanor Not more than 90 days		100–500	_ _ -	Yesup to 12 days		. 	
2nd offense within 7 years	Misdemeanor Not more than		Not more than 1,000		Yesup to 12 days			
3rd and subsequent offenses within a 10-year period	1 year Felony 1-5 years	_	Not more than 1,000		Yesup to 12 days		_	
MINNESOTA								
	10-90 days	No (Optional for 1st	10-500				_	
		and subsequent offenders at Court's discretion)						
	·							

		Senctions	following a Convicti	on for a DWI Offense—C	ontinued	
			Administrative	Licensing Actions		
STATE	Pre-Dw	I Conviction Licensing	Action	Post-ON	I Conviction Licensin	g Action
	Administrative Per Se Lew	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Handatory Minimum Term of Withdrawai
MICHIGAN						
Offense of driving while impetred		·				
ist offense				Suspension	90 days+1 year	
2nd offense	No	No		Suspension .	6-18 months	
3rd and subsequent of fense				Revoked	1 year	1 year
Offense of driving while under the influence						
ist offense			·	Suspension	6 months-2 years	_
2nd offense	No	No		Revoked	1 year	1 year
3rd and subsequent offenses (felony)				Revoked	5 years	5 years
MINNESOTA						
}	Yes			Revocation	90 days	90 days
	169.123 Subd. 5a					
(·				
	·····			<u> </u>		

	<u> </u>		enctions Following	e Conviction for	a DNI Offense-Con	tinued	
	<u> </u>	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	3	Other			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
		Rehabilitation		Vehicle	Impoundment/Confl	scation	[
STATE	Alcohol Education	Alcohol Treatment	Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment es an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Released	Other	Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere
MICHIGAN	Yes			No.		 -	Special Note: The Atcohol Driving Legislation was signed by the Governor on September 28, 1982; see Senate Bills 702, 776, and 777 as enacted.
	1	·					
MINNESOTA				ri - 			
ļ	Yes	Yes	Mo	No	<u></u> ·		
	169_124 and 169_126 -		The court may not stay imposition of sentence if defendant submits to treatment at an authorized dependency facility, as previously provided by 169,121 Subd. 5 and 609,135 Subd. 1		·	·	
			(See Laws, 1981 Chap, 9)				

					micide by Vehic	cohol Use and D		- \	
					Sanctions	10			Other
STATE	Į .		Criminal	Senctions	Janerrons	Administ	rative Licensin	a Actions	011101
	State Has Such a Law/ Type of Offense	imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Fine (\$ Ranga)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal	Mandatory Action— Min. Length of License Withdrawal	
MICHIGAN					· •				
	Yes Misdemeanor Death caused by the opera- tion of a vehicle at an immoderate rate of speed or in a care- less, reck- less, or neg- ligent manner but not wil- fully or	Not more than 2 years		Not more than 2,000		Suspension* (6 points are also accu- mulated for each offense)	90 days— 2 years		
	wantonly	. Ann, §§28-556	and 28-557)				note at the end lons section.)	of the Alcohol	and Driving
INNESOTA			· 	į į		,			1
	Yes	Not more than 90 days	 169,121 Subd, 3	Not more than 500	-	Revocation	Optional at discretion of Court	90 days	-
		;							
		·			ِ ب			·	

		- Other Cr	Iminal Actions	Related to Aicc	shol Use and Driving	Continued		
[···-	Driving While	le License Suspe		Where the Basis Was	a DWI Offense		
STATE				<u>Sanctions</u>	<u> </u>			
+		Criminal Mandatory Minimum	Mandatory		Administrative Licensing Type of Licensing Length of Term o			
	Imprisonment (Term)	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Minimum Fine (\$)	Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	License Withdrawal Action	License Withdrawai Action	
MICHIGAN			İ					
1st offense	Misdemeanor 3-90 days		Not more than 100	_	Suspension or revocation	The original license suspension or revocation is	The original licens suspension or revocation is	
2nd and subsequent offenses	Misdemeanor 5 days-1 year	-	Not more than 500			extended for a like period.	extended a like	
. 1		(Mich. Stat. Ann. §9	2604(2))	<u>'</u>				
							-	
}			i					
	•							
ļ								
			<u> </u>					
MINNESOTA								
If InfoxIcated	1 year	1 year	Up to 1,000	-	Revocation	-	90 days with rehabilitation	
For 4th offense within 5 years	l year	1 year	Up to 1,000		Revocation		2 years with rehabilitation	
If not Intoxicated	30 days	30 days	Up to 500		Treated as a misdemeanor			
ł								
1								

				Hab .	Itual Offender	Laws			
•				Type of Criminal		Sanctions Follo	owing a Convict Habitual Offend	ion of Driving er Status	
Such a La	State Hes Such a Law (Yes/No)	Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender	Term of License Revocation While Under Hebitual Offender Status	Offense If Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status	Imprisonment ((Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)
MICHIGAN									
	No	-						-	
			·						
····							·		
IINNESOTA	<u>.</u>			1		Ì	İ		
	No		_	-		-	-		
		{							
								}	
		{							

	T			Other Sta	te Laws Re	lated to Alcohol Use and D	riving		
	Laws Re	quiring BAC sons Killed	Chemical Test in Traffic Cr	s on Those ashes	Laws E	stablishing the Minimum egal Drinking Age	Drem Sh	op Laws and Related Legal	Actions
STATE		BAC Chemic Fo	al Test is Gi Howing Perso	ven to the			State	"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted via a	
	State Has Such A Law (Yes/No)	Dr1 ver	Vehicle Passengers	Pedestrians	Minimum Age (Years)	Special Exceptions to the Drinking Age Laws for Certain Kinds of Alcoholic Beverages	Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No)	Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record In the State (Give the Case Citation)	Other
MICHIGAN									-
	Yes	Yes	No	No	21		Yes (Mich. Stat. Ann. §18.993)	No	
						·			- - -
MINNESOTA									
	Yes	Yes	lmp (led	Yes	19	All types (Beer, winetable and fortifiedand distilled liquors)	Yes Minn, Stat, Ann, 340,95	Trall v. Christlan, 298 Minn. 101, 213 N.W. 2d 618 (1973)	_

		Other State Laws Related to	o Alcohol Use end Driving—Co	ntinued					
	Criminal Action Agel Alcoho	Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons							
STATE	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal				
MICHIGAN									
	Misdemeanor	Not more than 6 months	Not more than 500	Suspension or revocation	Period of license suspension or revocation not specified in the statute				
	(M fe	h. Stat. Ann. 5518.993 and 18.	1021)	(Mich. Stat. Ann. §18.991)	(Note: A civil fine of not more than \$300 may be accessed in addition to or in tieu of a suspension or revocation.)				
MINNESOTA	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·								
	-			Yes	5 years 340,19(2)				
			· .						
	,								

<u> </u>			Other Sta	te Laws Related to Alc	ohol Use and Driving-	Continued		
STATE	Employees of Alcoholic Bev Alcoholic Bev	ctions Against Establishments verages or the W verage to Those mum Legal Drink	That Serve Frong Type of Persons Under	Establishments The Beverages on the Wro Beverage to Those	ns Against Owners of at Serve Alcoholic ing Type of Alcoholic Persons Under the Drinking Age	Laws Prohibiting the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Motor Vehicle		
	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Law If Meeded	
MICHIGAN	Misdemmanor	Not more than 6 months	Not more than 500	Suspension or revocation	Period of license suspension or revocation not specified in the statute	Yes		
	(Mich. Stat.	Ann. §§18.1004	and 18, 1021)	(Mich. Stat. Ann. §18.991)	(Note: A civil fine of not more than \$300 may be assessed in addition to or in lieu of a suspension or revocation.)			
MINNESOTA	Gross misdemeenor	Not less than 30 days; not more than 90 days	Not less than 50 and not more than 100	No	No	Yes	Minn. Stat. Ann. 169.122	
			·					

_	8.	asis for a DNI Charge	·	Chemica	I Breath Tests for BA	C Level
. [Implied C	onsent Law
STATE	Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other	Prefiminary Breath Test Law	Arrest Required (Yes/No)	Other Information
MISSISSIPPI						`
See: Mississippi Code Annotated, 1972, 1982 Cum, Supp, (current through 1982	No	0.10≸		Yes	Yes	
Legislative Session)						
				•		
						·
:						
MISSOURI						
See: Vernon's Annotated Missourl Statutes, 1972,	0.10≴	No	A BAC of 0.10 or more is prima facie evidence of infoxication	Na	Yes	 :
1982 Supp. (Current through 1st Regular Session of 81st General Assembly, 1981)	Ann. Mo. Stat. §577.12		Ann. Mo. Stat. \$577.037		·	
1						

,_--

4

	Other Chemic Authorized	cal Tests For BAC Leve Under Law (Implied Co	l Which Are nsent Law)	Ad	judication of DWI Char	ges	
STATE	Blood	Urlne	Other (Specity)	Mendatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)	
MISSISSIPPI					·		
	No	No		No	No	No	
	}						
:				ļ			
J	}	·					
				Ì			
			·	\		•	
	1				·		
·	Į			ĺ			
MISSOURI							
	Yes	Yes	Sallva	No	No (No .	
	·						
			_				
l		1					
					'		

		,	Sanctions for Refusi Chemical E	ol To Submit to a BAC Breath Test		
STATE	Refusal	To Take Preliminary Br	eath Test	Refusel To T	ake Implied Consent (hemical Test
	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Juli)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other
MISSISSIPPI				{		
	None	None		None	90 days	
ļ			:	(H	iss. Code Ann. 163-1	(-5)
ļ						
		1		ĺ		
.				1		1
]	j	j
MISSOURI:						
	N/A	N/A	N/A	Revocation	1 year	A restricted licens
·	6			Ann. Mo. Stat. §577.41]	may be (ssued.
	•	J	·			
]	[
		1	1	1	-	1
		}			}	1
		}				ļ

					on for a DWI Offense		,
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	 		Criminal Sanct	lons		
STATE	Impr I	Sonment	F1	ne		Other Penalties	·
	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mandetory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e_g_, Victim's Fund)	Other
MISSISSIPPI		1					
Where a chemical		1	}			ł	Ĭ
test was given		1	Ì	i		1	Ι,
1st oftense	<u></u>	1	200		·	ļ· <u>-</u> -	!
2nd offense	10 days-1 year	!	250-1,000		}	<u></u>	<u> </u>
(within 2 years)		ł	1		·		ŀ
3rd and subsequent	30 days-1 year	!	500-1,000	_			l –
oftense	•		}	Į .		1	
(with 4 years)		1	l		ļ	1	
For any offense	Not more than	l 	Not more than			ļ 	.
where a BAC test	30 days		100			1	
was not given but		4	ĺ			i l	į ·-
not refused	Not more than	i	300-1,000			ì	_
For any offense where a BAC test	1 year	ļ	300-1,000		i		
was refused	, year]		·			İ
403 1010300	Miss Code A	nn. \$63-11-30					
	,332 0000 //)''' .	ì				
			}			[,
						· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
MISSOURI	. •		}			4	
H13300K1	Misdemeanors		}			į į	
Intoxicated	7/1300/10/13	•	Not more than		<u></u>	!	·
offense			500			į į	
Ist offense	Class Bnot more	ļ]			1 (
	than 6 months	1 .	.	,		<u>'</u>	
Per se offense		1				Į	
lst oftense	Class Cnot more	1	Not more than	See statement		! !	
	than 15 days	l	300	under		1	
2nd oftense*	Class Anot more	The sentence	Not more than	Mandatory		j 	
Tad 4 a b	than 1 year	cannot be	1,000	Minimum Term		1	
3rd and sub-	Felony Class D not more than 5	suspended, but,	Not more then	column.		1 !	
sequent offense* *For driving	not more than b	imposition of the	5,000			<u>{</u>	
either while in-	Apa 2		ì			Į į	,
toxicated and/or		sentence may be suspended.]			i i	
per se (or a com-		(Applies to 2nd	1	i		<u>'</u>	
bination of the		and 3rd offenses)	•			ì	
two offenses with-	1		{			}	
In 10 years of a		Ann. Mo. S	tat. §§577.010 e	t seg., 557-011	, 558,011, 560,011,	and 560.016	ı
flrst/second off,)		1	1			I	

		Sanctions		tion for a DWI OffenseC	ontinued	
STATE	Pre-Did	Conviction Licensing		e Licensing Actions Post-DW	I Conviction Licensin	no Action
3.7.12	Administrative Per Se Law	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawai
MISSISSIPPI						
Where a chemical test was given		-				
ist offense	. No	No	_	Suspension*	(T year)	· <u>-</u>
2nd offense	No	Yes		Suspension	6 months	Same
3rd and subsequent offense	No	Yes		Suspension	2 years	Same
For any offense where a BAC test was not given but not refused	No	No		Suspension *	(6 months)	
For any offense where a BAC test was refused	No	Yes		Suspension #A restricted license may be issued.	6 months	Same
Intoxicated offense 1st offense Per se offense 1st offense 2nd offense 3rd and sub- sequent offense*	No No No No	No No No No	 	Point system 8 points* 6 points 12 points 12 points	See note below	
*For driving either while intoxicated and/ or per se (or a combination of the two offenses within 10 years of a second offense,)				ist suspension the ti 60 days, and for a 3r 1 year. "A restricted license	it system 8 points = a ime period is 30 days d it is 90 days12 p a may be issued.	; for a 2nd It is coints = revocation fo

[Sanctions Following	a Conviction for	a DWI Offense-Con	t inued	······································
l	 <u> </u>	·	 	Other	·····		····
		Rehabilitation		Vehicle	Impoundment/Confl	scation	
STATE	Alcohol Education	Alcohot Treatment	Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Released	Other	Miscellaneous Sanctions Not included Elsewhere
MISSISSIPPI	{						ł
Where a chemical test was given	j		Yes Licensing action				
1st offense	Yes	Yes		No			
2nd offense	[·				}
3rd and subsequent oftense	-						
For any offense where a BAC test was not given but not refused	Yes	Yes					
For any offense where a BAC test was refused							
MISSOURI	j						{
Intoxicated offense	.]						
Ist offense Per se offense	Yes ·	Yes	Alternative to criminal	No			
Ist offense	Yes	Yes	sanctions				
2nd offense* 3rd and sub-							
sequent oftense]				
l .			Ann. Mo. Stat.]]
*For driving			\$577,047		[}
either while intoxicated and/							
orperse (ora			j 1		·		Ì
combination of the		•		i	}		<u>}</u>
two offenses with- in 10 years of a					[ļ
second offense.)	· }]				[· .
<u> </u>	<u> </u>	···	<u> </u>		<u> </u>	······································	<u> </u>

			Other	Criminal Action	s Related to Al	cohol Use and D	riving		 -
				Ho	micide by Vehic	i fe		<u> </u>	
					Sanctions				Other
STATE	·		Criminal	Sanctions		Administ	rative Licensin	g Actions	,
	State Has Such a Law/ Type of Offense	Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawai	Mendatory Action— Min. Length of License Withdrawai	
MISSISSIPPI	}	·							
	No		-		 ·]	
	revoked if the	hough there is by are convicted revocation is i	of manslaughte	ense of homicid or or negligent	e by vehicle, n homicide resuit	evertheless a pring from the op	person's license peration of a mo	must be itor vehicle;	
			-						
								, .	
MISSOURI							<u> </u>		
	YesClass C felony	Not more than 7 years	-	Not more than 5,000		Revocation (12 points)	1 year	1 year	
	Vehicle homicide					 			
	where death is caused by							[·	
	operating a motor vehicle while in an				ı				
	Intoxicated condition or								
	under the Influence of	ĺ]		·	{		ı
	controlled substances or drugs]			-
	Ann. Mo. Stat.	\$577,005		\		\		i	

	T	Other Cr	iminal Actions	Related to Alco	ohol Use and Driving-	Continued	\
		Orlving While	le License Suspe	nded or Revoked	Where the Basis Was	a DWI Offense	
STATE				Sanctions			
		Crimina) Mandatory Minimum		Mandatory	Admin Type of Licensing	Istrative Licensing A Length of Term of	ctions Mandatory Term of
···	Imprisonment (Term)	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Minimum Fine (\$)	Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	License Withdrawal Action	License Withdrawal Action
MISSISSIPPI	· .	·					
	Misdemeanor	-	Not more than 100		(Note: No specific licensing action		
	2 days-6 months				authorized by statute for this		
	Miss. Code Ann. 963-	1-57			offense)		
					,	·	
	. 1						
							·
					·		
	_				_		
MISSOURI	Misdemeanor						
1st offense	Not more than 1 year	-	Not more than 500		Revocation (12 points)	1 year	Same
2nd offense	15 days-1 year		Not more than 500		Revocation (12 points)	1 year	Same
3rd and subsequent oftenses	60 days-1 year		Not more than 500		Revocation (12 points)	1 year	Same
302,302 and 302,321	302,302 and 302,321					,	
						ł	
]		·		•

			Qther Crim	Inal Actions Rela	ated to Alcohol	Use and Driving	gContinued		
					Itual Offender				
				Type of Criminal		Sanctions Follo While on	owing a Convict Habitual Offend	ion of Driving er Status	
STATE	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender	Term of License Revocation While Under Habitual Offender Status	Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status	Imprisonment (Term)	Mendatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)
MISSISSIPPI									
1	No	 							
		}							
	·								
!									
MISSOURI									
	No	-			_				·
			·						
								·	
					'				
					l				

				Other Ste	te Lavs Re	inted to Alcohol Use and D	riving		
	Lavs R	equiring BAC (Chemical Test In Traffic Cr	s on Those	Laws E	stablishing the Minimum egal Drinking Age	Dram Sh	op Laws and Related Legal	Actions
STATE		BAC Chemical Test is Given to the Following Persons		ven to the			State	*Dram Shop Law* Concept Has Been Adopted via a	
	State Has Such A Law (Yes/No)	Driver	Vehicle Passengers	Pedestrians	Minimum Age (Years)	Special Exceptions to the Drinking Age Laws for Certain Kinds of Alcoholic Beverages	Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No)	Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record in the State (Give the Case Citation)	Othe
MISSISSIPPI									
	Y e s	Yas Miss. Code Ann. §63-11-7	No	No	21/18	18 for beer and wine if under 4% of alcohol by weight 21 for distilled spirits or any alcoholic beverage over 4% of alcohol by weight. These are defined as alcoholic beverages.	Na	Munford, Inc. v. Peterson, 368 So. 2d 213 (Miss. 1979)	
MISSOURI	Yes Ann. Mo.	Yes	Yes	Yes	21 Ann. Mo.		No	Sampson v. W. F. Enterprises, inc., 611 S.W. 2d 333	
	Stat. 1958.445, 58.447 and 58.449		,		Stat. §311.325)			(No. App. 1980)	

		Other State Laws Related to	Alcohol Use and Driving-C		
	Criminal Action Aga Alcoh	Inst Owner or Employees of Estab olic Beverages to Intoxicated Pa	tishments That Serve trons	of Establis	ive Actions Against Owners hearts That Serve Alcoholi is to intoxicated Patrons
STATE	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	F (ne (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai
MISSISSIPPI	,				
	Misdemeanor	Not more than 6 months	Not more than 500		2 years It least 1 year—mandetory wine is given to an person)
	Miss. Co	de Ann. §§67-1-71, 67-3-53, and	67-3-69		suspension may be imposed revocation.
MISSOURI					
	Misdemeanor	Not more than 1 year	50-1,000	Revocation	Not specified in the statute
	Ann. Mo	. Stat. \$5311.310, 311.720, and	311,080		
		*			
			•		

			Other Sta	te Laws Related to Alc	cohol Use and Driving-	Continued		
STATE	Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimus Legal Drinking Age			Establishments The Beverages or the Mrc Beverage to Those	ns Against Owners of at Serve Alcoholic ing Type of Alcoholic Persons Under the Drinking Age	Laws Prohibiting the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passanger Compartment of a Motor Vehicle		
	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Law If Needed	
MISSISSIPPI	•							
Selling alcoholic beverages to those under 21			.					
1st offense	Misdemeanor	-	500-1,000	Revocation*	2 years	No		
2nd and subsequent offenses	Misdemeanor	Not more than 1 year	1,000-2,000	Automatic revocation	Permanent (y			
Selling to person under 18 beer and wine under 4% alcohol by weight	Misdemeanor	Not more than 6 months	Not more than 500	Revocation #	2 yearsvold for at least 1 year (mandatory)	·		
<u> </u>	Miss. Code	Ann. \$\$67-1-71 and 67-3-53	,67-1-81,	*A limited suspension may be imposed in lieu of revocation				
MISSOURI								
	Misdemeanor	Not more than 1 year	50-1,000	Revocation	Not specified in the Statute	No		
ļ	-		٠			[
ĺ		,						
ì		}						
ļ		}		·]]		
	1:		'					
				i.				

		Basis for a DWI Charge	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Chemica	I Breath Tests for BA	C Leval
					Implied C	onsent Law
STATE	Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other	Preliminary Breath Test Law	Arrest Required (Yes/No)	Other Information
MONTANA						n
See: Montana Revised Codes Annotated through 1982	No	0, 10≴		No	Yes	
\$61-8-401		61-8-401(3)(c)			61-8-402	
					-1	
NEBRASKA						
See: Revised Statutes of Nebraska, 1982 Cum, Supp. (current through 1982 session)	0.10≴	No	. No	Yes	Yes	No
				ť		
						·
				}		

. •

\$

STATE		Under Law (Implied Co	el Which Are onsent Law)	Adj	udication of DWI Char	ges
	Blood	Urine	Other (Specify)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)
MONTANA						
	Yes	Yes		No	· No	Yes (If crime carries a sentence of 1 year o more imprisonment)
	61-8-402(1)	61-8-402(1)				46-18-111
		1.			·	
	777.1					
NEBRASKA						,
	Yes	Yes	· No	No	No	Yes
				·	·	
	·					

			Sanctions for Refus Chemical	al To Submit to a BAC Breath Test		
STATE	Refusal	To Take Preliminary Br	eath Test	Refusal To T	ake Implied Consent C	hemical Test
	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jali)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other
MONTANA	·				,	
	N/A	N/A	N/A	No	Suspension for 60 days	. · · -
·					61-8-402	
·		; i				
NEBRASKA						
	100 No imprisonment	No	No	1st7 days + \$200 (maximum)	Revocation 6 months (60 day minimum)	No
				2nd30 days + \$500 (maximum) (48 hours minimum)	l year (6 months minimum)	
			·	3rd +3 months- 6 months (maximum) (7 days minimum)	Permanently (1 year minimum)	
		·				
					·	
				,		

	<u> </u>	·	Sanctions Folia		on for a DWI Offens		
STATE	lene (sonmen†		Criminal Sanct	ions	Other Penalties	
SINIE	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mandafory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e.g., Victim's Fund)	Other
MONTANA							
t offense	Up to 24 hours	 (See Mont, Code Ann, §61-8-714(1)	100–500				
nd offense	7 days-30 days	3 days—may not be suspended except for the defen— dant's physical or	300-500	 ;	 		
d and ubsequent ftenses	30 days-1 year	mental well-being 10 days—may not be suspended if the 3rd offense occurred wihtin	500-1,000	· <u>-</u> -			-
		5 years of the first offense		·			·
	61-8-714(1)(2)(3)	61-8-714(1)(2)(3)					
NEBRASKA							
it offense	7 days	No	200	No No	No	No	Person must attend
d offense	30 days	48 hours	500	No I		,	and successfully complete a driver's
d and bsequent fenses	3 months—6 months	7 days	500	No			education program of, at least, 8 hours duration.
	\$28-106 \$39-669.07	\$28-106 \$39-669_07	\$28-106 \$39-669_07				139-669.27
							·
					• .		

		Sanctions		tion for a DWI Offense-Co	ontinued	
<u>į</u>				Licensing Actions		
STATE	Pre-DH1	Conviction Licensing	Action		I Conviction Licensin	a Action
	Administrative Per Se Law	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawai
MONTANA	·		•			
1st offense	No			Revocation	6 months	6 months
2nd offensé (within 5 years of first offense)	No			Revocation	1 year	1 уеаг
3rd and subsequent offenses (within 5 years of a first offense)	No			Revocation 61-5-205	1 year 61-5-208	1 year
		i				
NEBRASKA						
	. No	No .		Revocation [∉]	1st6 months	60 days
	•	1	l:	and	2nd1 year	6 months
·				automatically accumulates sufficient points to have license revoked administratively	3rdlifetime	1 year
·				*Hardship ficense available.		
				§39 – 669 ₈ 07	139-669,07	§39-669 _• 07

· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Sanctions Following	a Conviction for	a DW1 OffenseCom	rt Inued	
			_ ,	Other			
		Rehabilitation		Vehicle	Impoundment/Confi	scation	
STATE	Alcohol Education	Alcohol Treatment	Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Released	Other	Miscellaneous Sanctions Not included Elsewhere
MONTANA							
1st offense	Yes	Yes	No	No			·
2nd offense (within 5 years of first offense)	Yes	Yes	, No				,
3rd and subsequent offenses (within 5 years of a first offense)	Yes	Yes	No				·
	61-8-714(4)						
NEBRASKA							
	See two columns to the right	Any convicted person may be required to attend an alcoholism treatment program as term of probation.	As condition of probation defendant may be placed in program for retraining and rehabilitating DW1 offenders. Program is modeled efter NHTSA's ASAPs.	No	N/A	No	
·		10.4600.00	71,73-003,51, ,32				

	<u></u>	····	Other	Criminal Action	s Releted to Al	cohol Use and D	riving		
				Ho	micide by Vehic	le			
	j :				Sanctions		·· · ····		Other
STATE	State Has Such a Law/ Type of Offense	imprisonment (Term)	Criminal Mendatory Minimum Term	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Administ Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	rative Licensin Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawai	Mendatory Action— Hin_ Length of License Withdrawai	
MONTAŅA	No		1		†	 -	- 		<u></u>
NEBRASKA	Yes (Two statutes: One in Nebraska rules of road section; 2nd in criminal code section.)	6 months \$39-669,20 a. 1 year b. 5 years (If homicide was result of DUI, reckless driving or wilful reckless driving.) \$28-306	No §39-669₌20 No No	500 §39-669,20 1,000 10,000	No § 39-669, 20 No No	Revocation	Court discretion	6 months	Person must attend and successfully complete a driver's education course of, at least, 8 hours duration.

. .

		Other Cr	Iminal Actions	Refeted to Alco	ohol Use and Driving	Cont I nued	<u> </u>
		Driving While	e License Suspe		Where the Basis Was	a DWI Offense	
STATE				Sanctions	,		
		Criminal Mandatory Minimum		Mandatory	Type of Licensing	Istrative Licensing A Length of Term of	Mandatory Term of
	Imprisonment (Term)	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Minimum Fine (\$)	Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	License Withdrawat Action	License Withdrawal Action
MONTANA		. •					
	Misdemeanor		Not more than 500		Suspension or revocation	The period of such suspension or	The period of such suspension or
	2 days—6 months					revocation extended for an additional tike period	revocation extended for an additional like period
	61-5-212		61-5-212	·	61-5-212	61-5-212	
:					,		
		·	·				
NEBRASKA							
1st offense	3 months	No	500	No	Ordered not to operate any motor vehicle	1 year	l year
2nd offense	3 months	No	500	No		2 years	2 years
3rd or subsequent	5 years	No .	10,000	No	-		
offenses	(If license permanently revoked, i.e., a 3rd or subsequent offense or 3rd or		· .				
	subsequent refusal to submit to a chemical test.)						
	or 3rd or subsequent refusal to submit to a		·				

ſ		- -		Hab	Itual Offender	Use and Drivin			
Ì				Type of Criminal		Sanctions Foll	owing a Convict Habitual Offend	ion of Driving er Status	
STATE	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender	Term of License Revocation While Under Habitual Offender Status	Offense If Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status	lmprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment:	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)
MONTANA									-
	Yes	Accumulation of 30 points in a 5-year period	3 years	Misdemeanor 1961-11-201 and 215	Not more than 1 year		Not more than 1,000		(Note: No specific licensing action state in the statute, but provisins concerning driving whill suspended or revoked may still apply.
NEBRASKA		<u> </u>				·		· ***	
	No								
!		•							
								·	
					,				
			,					-	
	ļ	1	i .]		

				Other Sta	te Laws Re	lated to Atcohol Use and E	riving			
	Lovs R	equiring BAC	Chemical Test in Traffic Cr	s on Those		stablishing the Minimum egal Drinking Age	Dram Sh	op Laws and Related Legal	Actions	
STATE			al Test is Gi Howing Perso				State	"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted via a	1	
	State Has Such A Law (Yes/No)	Driver	Vehicte Passengers	Pedestr lans	Minimum Age (Years)	Special Exceptions to the Orinking Age Laws for Certain Kinds of Alcoholic Beverages	Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No)	Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record In the State (Give the Case Citation)		
MONTANA	}									
	No	N/A	N/A	N/A	19	 	No	No		
•					(Note: See Mont Code Ann §16-3-301			(Note: See Runge v. Watts, 589 P.2d 145 (1979) and 45 AM Jur. 2d, Intoxicating Liquors		
					(a),)	·		§554 _e)		
•	ļ			ļ					1	
			<u> </u> 	! !	·	·			1	
						•		·		
NEBRASKA										
	Yes	Yes 1f dead	No	Yes	20	A minor may possess any type of alcohol in his/her permanent place	No	No		
	!	within 4 hours of accident		dled within 4 hours of accident		of residence.		·		
	<u> </u>									
						. ·			, 	
		•							1	

		Other State Laws Related	to Alcohol Use and Driving-Con	tinued	
	Griminal Action Agai Alcoho	Inst Owner or Employees of Est olic Beverages to Intoxicated	abilshments That Serve Patrons	of Establis	tive Actions Against Owners That Serve Alcoholic That Serve Alcoholic That Serve Patrons
STATE .	Type of Criminal Action	Term of imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal
MONTANA					
	Misdemeanor	Not more than 6 months	Not more than 500	Suspension or revocation	Not specified in the
	(Note: See Mont, Code Ann, §116-3-301, 16-8-304, 16-8-305, and 46-18-212,)		(Note: A civil fine may be assessed by the licensing agency and such fine is not to exceed \$1,500.)	(Note: See Mont. Code Ann. \$16-4-406.	statute
NEBRASKA					
	Class III Misdemeanor	0-3 months	0-500	Yes	Indeterminate
	§53−180 §53−180 ₊ 05	*		\$53-128 \$53-1,104	
				ĺ	

STATE	Employees of Alcoholic Bey Alcoholic Bey	ections Ageinst Establishments verages or the W verage to Those mum Legal Drink	Owners or That Serve rong Type of Persons Under	Administrative Actic Establishments Th Beverages or the Mrc Beverage to Those	cohol Use and Driving— ons Ageinst Owners of nat Serve Alcoholic ong Type of Alcoholic Persons Under the Drinking Age	Laws Prohi Containers	biting the Possession of Open of Alcoholic Beverages in the Compartment of a Motor Vahicle	
	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Law If Needed	
MONTANA								
	Misdemeanor	Not more than 6 months	Not more than 500	Suspension or revocation	Not more than 3 months	Yes		
			(Note: A civil fine may be assessed by the licensing agency and such fine is not to exceed \$1,500.)		Not specified in the statute			
NEBRASKA					<u></u>			
	Class III misdemeanor	0-3 months	0-500	Yes	Indeterminate	No '	N/A	,
	153-180 153-180.05			\$53-128 \$53-1,104				
				·				
	.			· ·			٠.	
				 		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		
• .								
•				·				

, –	В.	lasis for a DWI Charge	<u>. </u>	Chemica	I Breath Tests for BA	C Level
Γ					Implied Co	onsent Law
STATE	lllegal Per Se Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other	Prefiminary Breath Test Law	Arrest Regulred (Yes/No)	Other Information
NEVADA				•		
See: Nevada Revised Statutes through September 1982	No	o, 10\$		No	Yes	
		484,381(1)	,	;	484.383(1)	
					-	·
NEW HAMPSHIRE						
See: New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated through January 1982	No ·	0.10%	A BAC level of 0.10 is prima facte evidence of intoxication.	No	Yes	
		265,89			265,84	
			}			
}	j					

.

.

	Other Chemi Authorized	cal Tests For BAC Lev Under Law (Implied (vet Which Are Consent Law)	Adjudication of DWI Charges				
STATE	Blood	Urine	Other (Specify)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)		
NEVADA	•							
	Yes	Yes	Or other unspecified bodily substances	No .	Yes (Note: A DWI charge cannot be exchanged for a	Yes* *Required only for telony offenses (Nev. Rev. Stat. §176.135.		
					lesser charge unless there is no evidence to support a DW1 charge.) (Nev. Rev. Stat., \$\$484.379 and	N8V. 3181, 91/0,133.		
	484,383(1)	484,383(1)	484,383(1)		484,379(5),)	•		
				•				
NEW HAMPSHIRE				 11 				
	Yes	Yes		No	Yes	No		
	265,85(1)	265,85(1)	j		265_82(6)	§651 . 4		
						·		
:			1					
			1		ļ			

1 1 2

.

		·	Sanctions for Refuse Chemical B	il To Submit to a BAC ceath Test	·	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
STATE	Refusal	To Take Preliminary Br	eath Test	Refusal To	Take Implied Consent C	hemical Test
	Criminal Senctions (Fine/Jali)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jali)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other
NEVADA						. "
	N/A	N/A	N/A	None .	Suspension for 1 year for a 1st refusal	
					Revocation for 3 years for a 2nd or subsequent refusal	
					484,385	
			-			
NEW HAMPSHIRE			. <u>–, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,</u>			
	N/A	N/A	N/A	None	Revocation for 120 days	-
			,		265,92	·
		:				

				Criminal Sancti	ons		
STATE	Impr	sonmen†	FI			Other Penalties	
	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e _e g _e , Victim ⁱ s Fund)	Other
NEVADA		·					
lst offense	Misdemeanor		100-1,000				-
·	Not more than 6 months						·
2nd offense	Misdemeanor	10-days	500-1,000			_ _	
(w/5 years)	10 days-6 months	(15 days if rehabliltation is rejected)					24
3rd and subsequent offense and any	1-6 years .	l year (30 days if rehabilitation is	2,000-5,000		·		-
DWI offense where death or bodily harm results (w/5 years)		rejected)					
484,379 et seq.							
NEW HAMPSHIRE		·			. ,		
1st offense	Violation	- N/A	Not more than			·	-
	No term of imprisonment		1,000				
2nd offense (w/7 years)	Misdemeanor	7 days	Not more than 1,000		·		 .
(w) i you sy	Not more than 1 year	÷	1,000	1			
622A.62 et seq.							
							·
					•		

·I	······	Senctions	Following a Convict	ion for a DWI OffenseC	Continued	·
			Administrative	Licensing Actions		
STATE	Pre-D	Il Conviction Licensing	Action	Post-O	I Conviction Licensin	g Action
	Administrative Per Se Law	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawai
NE VADA				}		
1st offense	No	. No		Suspension	30 days-1 year (restricted license allowed)	
2nd offense	No	No	7-	Suspension	6 months-1 year (restricted license allowed)	-
3rd and subsequent offense where death or bodlly harm results	No	Yes For DWI death or bodlly injury cases		(Not specified)	N/A	N/A
				484.379		
NEW HAMPSHIRE	 			-	**************************************	
1st offense	No			Revocation	60 days-2 years	60 days
2nd offense (w/7 years)	No		+-	Revocation	. 3 years	3 years
265:82			-	.		
·				•		

1.		;	Sanctions Following	•	a DWI Offense—Con	† I rued		
ļ				Other				
STATE		Rehabilitation	Alcohol Educa-	Vehicle	Impoundment/Confl	scation	ţ	
	Alcohol Education	Alcohol Treatment	tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Released	Other	Miscellaneous Sanctions Not included Elsewhere	
NEVADA			Į.		-			
1st offense	_	' Yes	Yes	None	N/A		-	
2nd offense		Yes	Yes					
3rd and Subsequent		Yes	Yes					
offense and any DWI offense where death or bodily harm results			Except for the DWI death or bodily injury offense					
		483,470					j.	
NEW HAMPSHIRE				None	N/A		<u></u>	
2nd offense (w/7 years)		Yes	_				·	
265: 82								
		·						
		}			ĺ			

		 			Related to Al-				
				Ho	sanctions	16			Other
STATE			Criminal	Sanctions	Administ	rative Licensin	n Actions	OTREC	
	State Hes Such a Law/ Type of Offense	Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Fine (\$ Range)	Mendatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawai	Mandatory Action— Min. Length of License Withdrayal	
NEVADA			• !						
	No	- [- ;	- 1	!			-	
						÷			
									•
	·				·				
					,				
					·				
W HAMPSHIRE			12						
	Yes—Class B felony applies only If death results from	Not more than 7 years	-	Not more than 2,000		this offense bunder this states a suspend or rev	oke a license :	visions exist ow the State to for sufficient	-
	the reckless operation of a motor vehicle			·		reasons in ord safety ₄)	ler to protect :	rne public	
	262-A:61	262-A:61		262-A:61					
•									

		Other Cr	Iminal Actions	Related to Alco	hol Use and Driving-	Confinued		
		Driving While	e License Suspe		Where the Basis Was	a DW1 Offense		
STATE				Sanctions	Administrative Licensing Actions			
		Criminal						
	imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai Action	Mandatory Term of License Withdrawai Action	
NE VADA								
	Misdemeanor	30 days	500-1,000	500	For driving on a	The original	The original	
	30 days-6 months				suspended 	suspension period extended a like period	suspension period extended a like period	
				,	For driving on a revoked licenser—a revocation	The original revocation extended 1 year	The original revocation extended 1 year	
483,560	483-560	483,560	483,560	·	483-560	483-560	483-560	
					·			
NEW HAMPSHIRE	,							
	Misdemeanor	_	Not more than	· 	(See note in licensi section.)	ng action portion of	the Vehicle Homicide	
·	Not more than 1 year		1,000		section,			
262:276		·						
	`.			. •				
		·					·	
·				-	·			

			Other Crim	inal Actions Rel	ated to Alcohol	Use and Drivin	g-Continued		
[Itual Offender				
·				Type of Criminal		Sauctions Fold	owing a Convict Habitual Offend	ion of Driving	
Si	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender	Term of License Revocation While Under Habitus! Offender Status	Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitwal Offender Status	imprisonment (Term)	Handatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Renge)	Mendatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)
NEVADA		·		!!!					
	No		_				 .		·
	·					·			
						,	-		•
er.					·		•		
NEW HAMPSHIRE					· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		
See 15262-8:1 to 10	Yes	3 serious offenses or 12 moving violations within a	4 years	(Note: Type of offense is not specified in the statute, it	1-5 years	1 year	No fine stated in statute		No specific licensing action provided for this offense
		5-year parlod		is probably a Class B felony with modifications in the	- 				
				peneity es provided in the habitual offender law.)					
	262-23 262 - 8:21	<u> </u>	262-8:7		·	<u> </u>			

١,

· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				Other Sta	te Laws Re	lated to Alcohol Use and D	Priving		_		
	Laws Re	equiring BAC	Chemical Test In Traffic Cr	s on Those		stablishing the Minimum egol Orinking Age	Dram Sh	Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions			
STATE		BAC Chemic	C Chemical Test Is Given to the Following Persons				State Has a	"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted via a Change to the Common Law			
	State Has Such A Law (Yes/No)	Driver	Yehicle Passengers	Pedestrians	Minimum Age (Years)	for Certain Kinds of	Dram Shop Law (Yes/No)	Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record In the State (Give the Case Citation)	Other		
NEVADA											
See §484.394	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	21	 .	No	No			
	·										
	}										
		÷	<u> </u> !								
•											
NEW HAMPSHIRE				 							
See \$262-A:69-1.	Yes	Yes	No	Yes	20	· •-	No	No	-		
265:93					175:6			(But see, Burns v. Bradley, 419 A.2d 1069			
				\	·			(1980) and Ramsey v. Anctil, 211 A.2d 900 (1965) which held that			
				İ	·		<u>.</u>	New Hampshire permits a plaintiff to maintain a			
		*						common-law action against a liquor licensee for injuries			
		·					}	received as a result of being served additional			
								liquor while in an Intoxicated state, 419 A,2d 1069, 1071,)			

· · · · · ·		Other State Laws Related to	Alcohol Use and Driving-Con	Inued	<u> </u>
	Criminal Action Age Alcoho	Inst Owner or Employees of Esta olic Beverages to Intoxicated P	blishments That Serve	of Establis	Ive Actions Against Owners hments That Serve Alcoholi s to Intoxicated Patrons
STATE	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal
NE VADA					
		+ - -,			-
		vernments broad power to, licens ocal laws may have been enacted cated persons.)			
	}				
				1	
			•	1	
_					
NEW HAMPSHIRE					-
	Misdemeanor	Not more than 1 year	Not more than 1,000	Yes	Suspension
	175.6				Time period not specifi in the statute
			•		
	·				
	,		·		
				1	

· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·			Other Sta	te Laws Related to Aic	cohol Use and Driving-	-Continued		
STATE	Employees of Alcoholic Be	Actions Against f Establishments verages or the W verage to Those imum Legal Drink	That Serve rong Type of Persons Under	Establishments The Beverages or the Wro Beverage to Those	ons Against Owners of nat Serve Alcoholic ong Type of Alcoholic Persons Under the Drinking Age	Containers	biting the Possession of Open of Alcoholic Beverages in the Compartment of a Motor Vahicie	
	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai	State Has Such a Law (Yas/No)	Explanetion of Such State Law If Needed	
NE VADA								
	Misdemeanor	Not more than . 6 months	Not more than 1,000	(Note: Controlled by	local law.	No	, 	
				•				
			,					
			·					
	1). 		·]		
NEW HAMPSHIRE								
-	Misdemeanor	Not more than	Not more	Yes	Suspension	No		
	175:6	1 year	than 1,000		Time period not specified in the statute		·	
· .					3101010			
			,	•				
•								
				: .' !	. '			

	8	asis for a DWI Charge		Chemilica	I Breath Tests for BA	C Level
	T	, ,	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		Implied C	onsent Law
STATE	lilegel Per Se Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other	Preliminary Breath Test Law	Arrest Required (Yes/No)	Other Information
NEW JERSEY		Ì				
See: New Jersey	No	Yes		No	Yes	
Statutes Annotated (statutes through	·	0.10≴				
October 1982)		39:4-50,1(3)		1	39:4-50,2	
	İ					
		·				
NEW. MEXICO						<u></u>
See: New Mexico Statutes	0, 15≴	o . 10 ≴		No	Yes	
1978 Annotated, 1982 Cum. Supp.	Note: Not a true Illegal per se but					·
current through 2nd Special and Regular Session, 35th Legislature	rather a mandatory charge statute.		·		\$66-8-107	
1982						
		Ì				
]					
	1					

	Other Chemi Authorized	cal Tests For BAC Leve Under Law (Implied Co	i Which Are ensent Law)	AdJ	udication of DWI Char	ges
STATE	Blood	Urine	Other (Specify)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)
NEW JERSEY	,					
	-		- -	No.	No	Na
					·	
;						
			·		·	
NEW MEXICO			,			
·	Yes	No	No	No	Yes	Yes
				· ·	(\$66-8-102.1 If guilty plea entered it must be to one of subsections of the DWI statute If BAC=0.15%.)	

į	• •		Chemical E	of To Submit to a BAC Breath Test	·	
STATE	Refusai	To Take Preliminary Bre	eath Test	Refusal To	Take Implied Consent C	hemical Test
	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jell)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other:	Criminat Sanctions (Fine/Jali)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other
NEW JERSEY						·
	N/A	N/A	N/A ,	None	Revocation for 6 months (Note: If refusal was in connection with a subsequent offense, the revocation period is 2 years.)	
				_	39:4-50,4a	
NEW MEXICO						
·	N/A	N/A	N/A) No	1 year revocation	No
					§66-0-111	
	·		-			

					on for a DWI Offense		
	<u> </u>			Criminal Sanct	lons		
STATE	Impri	sonment .	_ Fi	ne		Other Penalties	,
<u> </u>	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mondatory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Min(mum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e.g., Victim's Fund)	Other
NEW JERSEY							
lst offense	Not more than 30 days		250-400			- -	Court may order a work release as ar alternative to imprisonment
2nd offense	Not more than 90 days		500-1,000		30 days		
3rd and subsequent offenses	Not less than 180 days	· 	1,000		Not more than 90 If the 180 days may be served by performing community service		
·	39:4-50		39: 4-50		39:4-50	·	
NEW MEXICO	 					<u>-</u>	
lst offense	30-90 days	No	300-500	· No	No	Yes	. No
2nd offense	10 days-1 year	2 days if within 5 years of prior conviction	1,000	· No	,		
		·			<u> </u>		
				·	• •		
]

 		Sanctions	Following a Convict	ion for a DWI Offense-C	ontinued	
			Administrative	Licensing Actions		
STATE	Pre-DW	l Conviction Licensing	Action	Post-DN	I Conviction Licensin	ng Action
	Administrative Per Se Lew	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Miniaum Term of Withdrawal
NEW JERSEY						
1st offense	No	No .			6 months-1 year	-
2nd offense	No	No		39:4-50(b)*	2 years	-
3rd and subsequent offenses	No	No		*The statute uses the term "forfelt his right to operate a motor vahicle."	10 years	
	·		,			
NEW MEXICO	No	No.		Revocation* \$66-5-29	1 year 966-5-32	1 year
		·		*Hardship provision/ restricted license,		
·						
			·		·	

			Sanctions Following	a Conviction for	a DWI Offense-Con	tinued	
				Other			
1		Rehabilitation		Vehicle	Impoundment/Confl	scation	
STATE	Alcohol Education	Alcohol Treatment	Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Released	Other	Miscellaneous Senctions Not included Elsewhere
NEW JERSEY		·					
1st offense	Yes	Yes	The Court may order a person to	No. '		 ·	-
2nd offense	Yes	Yes	an inpatient rehabilitation				pr.
3rd and subsequent offenses	Yes	Yes	program as an alternative to imprisonment				
1	39:4-50(ь)						
					1	: I	
	}						
NEW MEXICO							
	investigation, a order a first off	2-1 at seq. After tr(at court, at It ender to attend "(it," also called the	ts discretion, may triving-while-	No	· N/A	No	
	rehabilitation pr	ogram, approved by of Motor Vehicles.	y both the Court			•	
	rehabilitation pr Court may dismiss	may be allowed to ogram and if succe DWI charge and it pes constitute a	essfully completed	-			
	Conviction, but	pes construire a	It's Corrense.			•	
1]]·	
	1		<u> </u>				

			Other	Criminal Action			rlving		·
				Ho	micide by Vehic	le			
STATE		<u> </u>	0-1-11	<u> </u>	Senctions			- 4-41	Other
	State Has Such a Law/ Type of Offense	imprisonment (Term)	Mendatory Minimum Term	Sanctions Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	rative Licensin Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal	Mandatory Action Min. Length of License. Withdrawal	
NEW JERSEY									
	Yes Crime of the fourth degree. Death must	Not more than 18 months	-	Not more than 7,500	_	No specific licensing authorized for this oftense		 ,	Restitution
	have resulted from the reckless operation of the vehicle. "Death by								
	auto" 2C;11-2(b)	2C:43-3,1							2C:43-3
NEW MEXICO									
	Yes	16 months	No	0-5,000	No	Revocation	¦ year	1 year	No
							,		
		:							

				•			
		Other Cr	Iminal Actions	Related to Alco	ohol Use and Driving-	Continued	
		Driving While	e License Suspe		Where the Basis Was	a DWI Offense	
STATE	 	Criminal	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Sanctions		Istrative Licensing A	ctions
		Mandatory Minimum	,, -, ,- , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,	Mendatory	Type of Licensing	Length of Term of	Mandatory Term of
	Imprisonment (Term)	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Minimum Fine (\$)	Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	License Withdrawal Action	License Withdrawa Action
NEW JERSEY							
	Not more than 6 months	45 days	200-1,000		Suspension or revocation	An additional period of suspension or	-
·		Involved in an	•		[revocation of not	
		accident resulting In personal injury	-			more than 6 months may be imposed on	
·		'				the original licensing action	
j	39: 3-40	39:3-40		·	39:3-40	39:3-40	-
. 1	!	,		İ		3373 \	
					·		
					,		
			 				<u> </u>
NEW MEXICO							
	2 days—6 months	No	0-500	No	Revocation	1 year	1 year
						commencing with date otherwise could have applied for a new license	(except for minors
	166-5 -39		566-5-39		166-5-39		
				-			
		1	•				
					·		
		1					

	 		mad	Itual Offender				
			Type of Criminal		Sanctions Follo	owing a Convict Habitual Offend	ion of Driving	······································
State Hes Such a Law (Yes/No)	Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender	Term of License Revocation While Under Habitual Ottender Status	Offense If Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Hebitual Offender Status	imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)
						•		
No		-				, 		 ,
					·			
		-						
i						· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		······································
No								
but \$66-5-5 does, inter								
anyone who has been				_				
convicted of DWI 3 times	,							
1955 from having or	,				·			
a drivers								
	No No No No No No No No No No No No No N	State Hes Such a Law (Yes/No) No No No No No No No No No	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No) No No No No No No No No No	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No) No No No No Revocation white Under Habitual Offender Status Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No) No No No No No No No No No	State Hos Such a Law (Yes/No) No No No No Charges of Priving While Under Habitual Offender Status No No No No No No No No No N	State Nes State Nes Such a Law (Yes/No) No No No No No No No No No	State Hos Such a Law (Yes/No) No No No No No No No No No

				Other Sta	te Laws Re	lated to Alcohol Use and D	Priving		
	Laws Re	equiring BAC	Chemical Test In Traffic Cr	s on Those ashes	Laws E	stablishing the Minimum egal Drinking Age	Dram Sh	op Laws and Related Legal	Actions
STATE		BAC Chemic	al Test Is Gi llowing Perso	ven to the		 	State	*Dram Shop Law* Concept Has Been Adopted via a	
	State Has Such A Law (Yes/No)	Or I ver	Vehicle Passengers	Pedestrians	Minimum Age (Years)	Special Exceptions to the Drinking Age Laws for Certain Kinds of Alcoholic Beverages	Has a Oram Shop Law (Yes/No)	Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record In the State (Give the Case Citation)	Other
NEW JERSEY								,	
• .	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	21		No	Rappaport v. Nichols,	+
	26:29-24		·		33: 14-77		1	156 A _* 2d 1 (1959)	٠.
								Ì	
	{ }		1						
			<u> </u>				}		
					-		}		
NEW MEXICO	,								
	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	21	No .	No	Yes	No
	1]	Lopez v. Maze, N.M. 651 P.2d 1269 (N.M. 1982)	
		\$66-8-10 8				•	{	T982)	
			}			-			
•									
						•		·	
•								,	
	1				·		 		
			l l				ļ i		

		Other State Laws Related	to Alcohol Use and Driving-Con	nt Inued	
	Criminal Action Aga Aicob	Inst Owner or Employees of Esta olic Beverages to Intoxicated	abilshments That Serve Patrons	of Establis	Ive Actions Against Owners homents That Serve Alcoholic s to Intoxicated Patrons
STATE	Type of Criminal Action	Term of imprisonment	Fīne (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal
NEW JERSEY	No specific State statute on this subject. State or local law may make such action an offense.	·			-
	·				
NEW MEXICO					
	Misdemeanor	0-7 months	0-300 (If corporation convicted, 0-1,000)	Yes	2 years
·					

			Other Sta	ste Laws Related to Alc	cohol Use and Driving-	Cont Inued	
STATE	Alcoholic Bey Alcoholic Bey	Actions Against f Establishments verages or the W verage to Those Imum Legal Drink	That Serve rong Type of Persons Under	Establishments Th Beverages or the Wro Beverage to Those	ons Against Owners of Nat Serve Alcoholic Ong Type of Alcoholic O Persons Under the Orinking Age	Containers	biting the Possession of Open of Alcoholic Beverages in the Compartment of a Motor Vehicle
	Type of Criminal Term of Action Imprisonment (Fine (\$ Renge)	License to Serve Aicoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Longth of Term of License Withdrawal	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Law 11 Needed
MEW JERSEY	"Petty offense"	Not more than 6 months	Not more than 1,000	Yes Suspension or revocation	lst offense2 years	· Na	
	(Note: Petty offenses are not to be considered crimes.)			(Note: A compromise sum of money may be paid in lieu of suspension.)			
	2: 1-4; 2C: 43-8; and 33: 1-77				33: 1-31		
NEW MEXICO	Misdemeanor	0-6 months	100	Yes	2 years	No	N/A
			(Mandatory minimum)				.,,,,

	Be	isls for a OWI Charg	•	Chemical	Breath Tests for BA	C Level	
Γ					Implied C	onsent Law	
STATE	Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other	Preliminary Breath Test Law	Arrest Required (Yes/No)	Other Information	
NEW YORK						·	
See: McKinney's Consolidated Laws of New York Annotated through July 1982	6. 10≰		A BAC of 0.05-0.07\$ Is relevant evidence (but not prima facie) of being Impaired; and a BAC of 0.07-0.09\$ is prima facie evidence of impairment	Yes# #Note: Limited to drivers involved in accidents.	Yes		
	1192,2		1195(c) and (b)	1193(a)	1194	·	
		·			•		
			,				
NORTH CAROLINA							
All statutory references refer to Gen. Stat. of North Carolina effective January 1, 1982	Yes At 0.10≴	. 		Yes	Yes		
	20.17(2) and 20.138(b)	,		20.16-3	20,16-2(6)		
					:		

		cal Tests For BAC Leve Under Law (Implied Co		Ad	judication of DNI Char	ges
STATE	Blood	Urina	Other (Specify)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence Investigation Lew (PSI) (Yes/No)
NEW YORK						
	Yes	Yes	Yes, Saliva	No '	. No	No
	1194(1)	1194(1)	1194(1)			
	·					p the section of the
	·					•
	·					
			, ·			-
		·				
						·
·			, ,,			·

NORTH CAROLINA						
	Yes	Yes		Yes	No .	Yes (Possibly) Trial judge may re-
						quest a presentence Investigation in the case of subsequent
					-	DWI convictions to determine whether the offender would bene-
			· •			fit from any retrain- ing or rehabilitation
			·			treatment; trial court may order suit- able treatment for
	·					the person as a con- dition for suspension
						of a sentence or in addition to prescribed
······································						1

			Sanctions for Refusa Chemical B	I To Submit to a BAC reath Test		
STATE	Refusal	To Take Preliminary Br	eath Test	Refusal To T	hemical Test	
	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jali)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other
NEW YORK	,					
	N/A	N/A	N/A	None	Revocation for 6 months 510(d) and 510(6)	Civil penalty of \$100
ORTH CAROLINA			,			
	No	No		No	Revocation of driving privileges for 6 months	
}	•					
· .			- '			
ļ						
ł						
4				Ī.	1	

			Sanctions Folio	wing a Conviction	on for a DWI Offense		
				Criminal Sancti	ons		
STATE	impri	sonment	FI			Other Penaities	
	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e.g., Victimis Fund)	Other
NEW YORK							
See 510 and 1192 (1 and 5) under "Impaired" status offenses							
1st offense	Not more than 30 days	· -	250 ,			 .	
2nd offense (w/5 years)	Not more than 60 days		350-500				
3rd and any subsequent offense (w/10 years)	Not more than 180 days		500-1,500			 ,	
Per se and Intoxicated status offenses							
1st offense (Misdemeanor)	Not more than 1 year	- -	350-500				_
2nd and any subsequent offenses (Class E felony)	Not more than 4 years	- -	500-5,000		. - - ·	- -	
NORTH CAROLINA		÷.					
ist offense (w/3 years)	Not longer than 6 months	-	100-500	100	· <u></u>		
2nd offense (w/5 years)	3 days-1 year plus fine	3 days cannot be suspended	200-500 plus Emprisonment	200	-		
3rd offense	3 days-2 years plus fine	3 days cannot be suspended	Not less than 500	500	 ·	. 	

		Sanctions	Following a Conviction	on for a DWI Offense—C	ont I nued	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
				Icensing Actions		
STATE	Pre-Ok	I Conviction Licensing	Action		I Conviction Licensin	g Action
	Administrative Per Se Law	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawai
NEW YORK					,	
"Impaired" status offenses						
1st offense	No			Suspension	90 days	
2nd offense (w/5 years)	No		'	Suspension	180 days .	
3rd and any sub⇒ sequent offense (w/7 years)	No		. 	Revocation	At least 6 months	
Per se and InfoxIcated offenses				-		
1st offense	No	-	-	Revocation	At least 6 months	
2nd and any subsequent offenses	No .			Revocation	At least 6 months	-
NORTH CAROLINA						
	Yes,	if defendant does not	l object	Revocation	1 year) year
				Revocation	2-4 years	2 years
				Revocation	3 years to permanent	
j		Į	·			

			Sanctions Following	 	a DWI Offense-Con	TINVEG	
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	0-b-b1114-41	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Other			Y
STATE	Alcohol Education	Rehabilitation Alcohol Treatment	Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Released	Other	Miscallaneous Sanctions Not include Elsewhere
NEW YORK							
"Impaired" status oftenses						•	}
lst offense	Yes	Yes	Yes	No.			ļ
2nd offense	Yes	Yes	(with Court's permission)	·			
3rd and any subsequent offense	Yes	Yes					,
Per se and Intoxicated offenses				· <u>.</u>			
lst offense	Yes	Yes			}		
2nd and any subsequent	Yes	Yes		!			
offenses	523(a)	521	521(c)				
NORTH CAROLINA						,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,	
			 .	No			
	Yes	Yes	3 days-1 years				
	i		or	·]		
			rehabilitation cannot be suspended				
	Yes	Yes			}		

	L								
				Ho	micide by Vehic	le			
	,	<u> </u>			Sanctions				Other
STATE			Criminai	Sanctions		Administ	rative Licensin	g Actions	
	State Has Such a Law/ Type of Offense	lmprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawai	Mandatory Action Min. Length of License Withdrawal	
NEW YORK							<u> </u>		
	No .				 			-	
NORTH CAROLINA	"Death by	Not more than		Not more than		Revocation	1 vear	6 months	-
	Vehicle ⁿ	2 years	OR.	500 BOTH			unless trial judge issues a limited		
							driving priv- liege to the person con-		
							victed that contains a condition		
	⁻			·			that the defendant		
							successfully complete the course of		
				,			Instruction at an Alcohol Drug. Ed.		
							Traffic School, If the defendant		
							compiles w/ these provis- lons, the		
ı							Olvision must restore license w/in		
	20-141(4)						6 months. 20-141(4) 20-17(a)		

.

.

3

		Other Cr	Iminal Actions	Related to Alco	hol Use and Orlving	Continued	
		Driving Whil	e License Suspe		Where the Basis Was	a DWI Offense	
STATE	<u> </u>	Criminal		Sanctions		Istrative Licensing A	ctions
	imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Length of Term of License Withdrawel Action	Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action
NEW YORK		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·					
	Misdemeanor	7 days	200-500	200	Suspension or	Not specified in	 .
	Not less than 7 nor more than 180 days				revocation	the statute	
	511(Б)	511(b)	. 511(Б)	511(Б)	··		
	ļ					·	
						-	
		;					
					·	-	
NORTH CAROLINA		+					, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
1st offense	Not to exceed 2 years		Not less than 200	200	£Ither	1 year (additional to original term)	90 days
2nd offense					Elther	2 years (additional to original term)	12 months
3rd offense					Revoked	Permanent Ly	3 years
	20-28(a)		20-28(a)				
	ļ						
						!	

			Other Crimi	nal Actions Rel	ated to Alcohol	Use and Drivin	gContinued		
					Itual Offender			·	
				Type of Criminal		Sanctions Following While on	owing a Convict Habitual Offend	ion of Driving or Status	
STATE	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender	Term of License Revocation While Under Habitual Offender Status	Offense If Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Hebituel Offender Status	Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)
NEW YORK	1								
	No			- ,	-				
		· ·							
			·						
			ľ						
	:								
	·						,		
NORTH CAROL I NA						**************************************			
	No		-	-	-				
	Law for habitual offenders (20-220 to 20-231) repealed by		·						
	Session Laws 1977, c. 243 s. 1				·	-			
i]					

	Ţ		•	Other Sta	te Laws Re	lated to Alcohol Use and D	riving		·· ·
		lequiring BAC				stablishing the Minimum egal Orinking Age	Dram Sh	op Laws and Related Legal	Actions
STATE		BAC Chemical Test is Given to the Following Persons				State	"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted via a		
	State Has Such A Law (Yes/No)	Driver	Vehicle Passengers	Pedestrians	Minimum Age (Years)	Special Exceptions to the Drinking Age Laws for Certain Kinds of Alcoholic Beverages	Has a Oram Shop Law (Yes/No)	Change to the Common Lew Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record In the State (Give the Case Citation)	Other
NEW YORK			- ,						
Nicohollo Beverage Code Vol. 3	Yes	Yes If dead NY County Law 674.3	Yes If dead NY County Law 674.3 (must be 16 or older)	Yes If 16 years or older and dead NY County Law 674,3	19 65(f)		Yes (65)	Berkeley v. Park, 282 N.Y.S. 2d 290 (1965)	- -
		If alive NY Vehicle and Tratfic Law 1195(a)	If alive NY Traffic Law 1193(a)	If allve NY Vehicle and Traffic Law 1193(a)					٠.
NORTH CAROLINA									
	Yes 20-166-1 (f)	Yes Given If dead	Yes Given it dead	Yes	18	Mait beverages or unfortified wine allowed Fortified wine, spirituous liquor, or mixed drinks (Gen. Stat. of NC 188-302)	No	Chastain v. Litton Systems, Inc., F.2d (c.A.4), No. 81-2034, December 2, 1982	
									,

···		Other State Laws Related	to Alcohol Use and DrivingCon-	Inued	
	Criminal Action Age Alcot	inst Owner or Employees of Est	abilshments That Serve Patrons	of Establis	lve Actions Against Owners Aments That Serve Alcoholic is to Intoxicated Patrons
STATE	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Langth of Term of License Withdrawal
NEW YORK					,
Alcoholic Beverage Code Vol. 3	Mi≤demeanor	30 days-1 year	200-1,200	Suspended, cancelled, or revoked	Not specified in statute
	§130 ·	4		}	·
				1	
				1	
		·	·		
		·			
NORTH CAROLINA					
	None		1st offenser-up to 500*	Yes	For a specified time up to
			2nd offenseup to 750*	(Left to Board's	3 years if suspended and permanently it revoked
			3rd offense up to 1,000*	discretion	·
			*Administrative penalties.	suspended or	
}				revoked.)	
ļ :			§ 188−104 § 188−305	\$ 188-104 \$ 188-305	§ 188-104 § 188-305
ļ					
		·			
ļ				<u> </u>	

			Other Sta	te Laws Related to Alc	oho! Use and Driving-	Continued		
STATE	Employees of Alcoholic Bev Alcoholic Bev	ctions Against Establishments erages or the W erage to Those mum Legal Drink	That Serve rong Type of Persons Under	Beverages or the Wro Beverage to Those	at Serve Alcoholic	Laws Prohibiting the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Motor Vehicle		
	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonmenti	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawat	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Law If Needed	
NEW YORK	·							
	Misdemeanor Alcoholic	30 days− 1 year	200-1,200	Suspended, cancelled, or revoked	Not specified in statute	No		
	Beverage Code (Vol. 3) 1117(3), 65							
	Penal Code 260,20							
· .								
					•) ·		
		;						
NORTH CAROLINA		<u> </u>			<u> </u>			
	None		lst oftenseup	Yes	For a specified time up to 3 years if	Yes	Gen. Stat. of NC 188-401(a)	
			to 500*	(Left to Board's discretion whether	suspended and permanently f			
			2nd offenseup to 750*	suspended or revoked.)	revoked	·		
			3rd					
	·		offense up to 1,000*					
		,	*Administra- tive					
			penalties. §188-104	§ 188~104	§ 168 – 104			
			§ 188-302	§ 188-302	§ 188-104 § 189-302			

	В.	asts for a DWI Charge		Chemica	I Breath Tests for BA	C Level
ſ					impiled C	onsent Law
STATE	Illegal Per Sa Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other_	Preliminary Breath Test Law	Arrest Required (Yes/No)	Other information
NORTH DAKOTA						
See: North Dakota Century Code Annotated, 1980 (current through 46th Legislature)	No	0.10≸	No	Yes	Yes	No
			•			
	·					
OHIO						
See: Ohlo Revised Code Annotated 1981 Supp. (current through 114th General Assembly,	No .	0.10≴	No	No	Yes	No
November 14, 1981)		§4511 , 19			\$4511.191(A)	
			·			

•

1	Other Chemic Authorized	cal Tests for BAC Lave Under Law (Implied Co	el Which Are Jonsent Law)	Adj	judication of DWI Charg	ges	1
STATE	Blood	Urine	Other (Specify)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Plea Bergaining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)	
NORTH DAKOTA		<u> </u>	1]
}	Yes	Yes	Saliva	No .	No ·	No	
		I	1	1			
		1	1	1	1		
	İ	1	. 1	1	1		
1		l .				·	
		1	1				
		l ·	1	1	1	,	
.	ļ	ı		1	1		
Ţ		l		1			
							1
0410		I	1	. !	1		
1	Yes	Yes	Probably no; "other bodily substance"	No	No	No	
]		I	applicable to 4511,19 but not mentioned in	1	[_	
	·	1	4511,19,1 which is the implied Consent		1	·	
	J	1	statute				
: .	64511.191(A)	54511.191(A)	54511, 191(A) 54511, 19				
		1	1	 			
		I	1	1			
ļ		ı		[
Í	1		1			·	

•

Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation) 6 months revocation of	Other No
Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation) 6 months revocation of	
revocation of	No
revocation of	No
·	ļ.
;	
	<u> </u>
Suspension	No
(6 months) Irlal Judge may Impose additional	
suspension of 30 days-3 years (or revoke license)	
\$4507.16 \$4511.191(D)	
r S S	(6 months) Tal Judge may mpose additional uspension of 0 days-3 years (or evoke license)

. •

	1		Sanctions Follo	wing a Convicti	on for a DWI Offense)	
				Criminal Sanct			
STATE	Smpri	sonment	FI	h e		Other Penalties	
	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e.g., Victimis Fund)	Other
NORTH DAKOTA							
1st offense	3 days and/or fine	No	100	. No	Na	No	No
2nd and subsequent offense	3-30 days and/or fine	No	100-500	No	No	No	No
							·
					-		
0H10		<u> </u>					
·	6 months suspended Jall term If no Imprisonment sentence given	No But see Alcohol Treatment column	1,000	No	No	Discretionary	No
	6 months (provided for by penalty statute)		·				
· •	\$4511,99 \$4507,16 \$2929,21		§2929 ,21			\$2929 _• 21	
					·		·

		Sanctions	Following a Convict	lon for a OWI OffenseC	ontinued	·		
Ĺ			Administrative	Licensing Actions				
STATE	Pre-DW I	Conviction Licensing	Action	Post-Or	Post-DWI Conviction Licensing Action			
	Administrative Per Se Law	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawai		
NORTH DAKOTA	}							
Ì	No	Yes	No	1st offense28 days	suspension	1 ·		
	}			2nd offense28 days	suspens (on			
ł			• .	3rd offense28 days				
		Ì		Licensing authority #	ay issue a temporary	restricted license.		
				ļ				
Ì					,			
		ļ	·					
				•				
				·				
0Н10					I			
	No	No .	No	Suspension or revocation (judge's discretion) plus 6 points under point system. 12 points in a 2-year period= 6 month suspension (5 points=a warning) judge-imposed suspension credit=able to later point-imposed suspension. *Hardship license available (for	30 days÷3 years	30 days		
\$55-7-113(d) \$55-10-301(b) \$55-10-406(d)				94507.16 94507.40				

······································	T	<u></u>	anctions following	a Conviction for	a DWI Offense-Con	tInued	
				Other			
		Rehabilitation		Vahici	Impoundment/Confl	scation	1
STATE	Alcohol Education	Alcoho; Treatment	Atcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licansing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Released	Other	Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsawhere
NORTH DAKOTA							
	Both retraining a tor DUI offenders	ind rehabilitation s are possible.	No	No	· · N/A	N/A	, No
			. 1		•	,	
]						į.
			,				
							· ·
	1				1		
ОНІО		·		· .			
	No .		May be Imposed if defendant is	No	· N/A	No	<u>-</u> -
·			an alcoholic or suffering from acute alcohol intoxication.				
·	}		This treatment may be imposed in place of a				
			Jail term, Con- finement shall				
			be for at least 3 days and no more than length of maximum pris- on sentence.	·			
	<u> </u>		§2935 ₂ 33				

			Other (Telminai Action	C Related to At	cohol lise and D	cluina				
	. – –.		Other Criminal Actions Related to Alcohol Use and Driving Homicide by Vehicle								
					Sanctions				Other		
STATE			Criminal Sanctions				Administrative Licensing Actions				
	State Hes Such a Law/ Type of Offense	imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal	Mandatory Action~- Min. Length of License Withdrawal			
NORTH DAKOTA						·					
·	No	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	· N/A	N/A	No		
				•							
						·					
G1H0	<u></u>							 			
	Yes	6-months sus- pended jell sentence by judge it no imprisonment term was given.	· Na			Suspension or revocation (judge's discretion) plus 6 points suspension system)	·· 30 days- 3 years	30 days			
		1st6 months	No	0-1,000	No	37310117		}			
		2nd+ 6 months- 5 years	No	0-2,500	No						
		11			· ·	ļ					
		aggravated (reckless)	No	0-2,500	, No						
		tst 6 months- 5 years									
·		2nd+1-10 years \$2929_11	No .	0-5,000	No						
	\$2903.06 \$2903.07	\$2929.11 \$2828.21		\$2929.11 \$2929.21		\$4507,16 \$4507,40]			

		Other Cr	iminal Actions	Related to Alco	hol Use and Driving-	Continued	
		Driving Whil	e License Suspe		Where the Basis Was	a DWI Offense	
STATE		Criminal		Sanctions	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , 	Istrative Licensing A	ict lons
	Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action	Mandatory Term of License Withdrawai Action
NORTH DAKOTA	No ·	No	No	No	Add 1+10-11 models	suspension for a lik	
į	MO ·		, NO	, No	person driving while	his license is revok ension of the period	ed would incur a
			•				·
			 				
оню	·					:	`
	2 days-6 months	No	500	Na	Suspension points gained	6 points on 12-point suspension system	No
					(Note: Certificate of registration and license plates in defendant's name		
					Impounded for duration of license suspension time.)		
	\$4507.99		\$4507,99		\$4507 . 38 \$4507 . 40	\$4507.40	
1		·		! [

Ţ		******	Other Crim	Inal Actions Rei			rContinued	·····		
				Type of Criminal	Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status					
STATE	State Hes Such a Law (Yes/No)	Grounds for Being Declared an Habitusi Offender	Term of License Revocation While Under Habitual Offender Status	Offense If Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status	lmprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)	
NORTH DAKOTA										
	No	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	
					_					
			!							
]						
онто							,			
	No	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	
.		ļ	·							
					-					

 	T			Other Sta	te Laws Re	lated to Alcohol Use and I	Orlying		
	Laws R	equiring BAC	Chemical Test In Traffic Cr	s on Those ashes	Laws E L	stablishing the Minimum egal Drinking Age	Oram Sh	op Laws and Related Legal	Actions
STATE		BAC Chemic	al Test is Gi Howing Perso	ven to the			State	"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted via a	
	State Has Such A Law (Yas/No)	Driver	Vehlcle Passengers	Pedestrians	Minimum Age (Years)	Special Exceptions to the Drinking Age Laws for Certain Kinds of Alcoholic Beverages	Has a Oram Shop Law (Yes/No)	Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record in the State (Give the Case Citation)	Other
NORTH DAKOTA									
	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	21	No	Yes §5-01-06	No	No .
				·					: :
							·		
					·				
0н10			-						
		Yes	No .	No	18 (beer)	No.	Yes	Mason v. Roberts, 244 N.E. 2d 884 (1973)	No .
		·		·	21 (all others)				
§38-709 §55-10-406		\$4511-19-1 (B)			\$4301,22 (A)		\$4399,01		
									· ·

	<u> </u>	Other State Laws Related	to Alcohol Use and Driving—Cont	/Inued	
	Criminal Action Agai	ilnst Owner or Employees of Esta olic Beverages to Intoxicated P	obilshments That Serve	of Establis	tive Actions Against Owners shments That Serve Alcoholic es to intoxicated Patrons
STATE	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	
NORTH DAKOTA		1			
	Class A Misdemeanor	Not more than 1 year	Not more than 1,000	Revocation or suspension	In the statute
	5-01-09	§12,1+32-01	§12_1-32-01	\$5-02-10 \$5-02-11	\$5-02-11
1	(1			
		1			
онто		<u> </u>			
	Misdemeanor	None	1st100-500	Yes	indeterminate
	1	1	2nd +200-500	1 '	1
			and, order the place where liquor sold to be abated as a nulsance or order defendant to pay \$1,000 bond with sureties not to violate law again	!	
	\$4301,22(B) \$4399,09 \$4399,99			\$4301.25 \$4301.27	
	1	1	1	1	1

			Other Sta	te Laws Related to Alc	ohol Use and Driving-	-Continued		
STATE	Employees of Alcoholic Bea Alcoholic Bea	Actions Against FEStablishments Verages or the W Verage to Those Imum Legal Drink	That Serve Frong Type of Persons Under	Beverages or the Wro Beverage to Those	at Serve Alcoholic	Laws Prohibiting the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Motor Vehicle		
	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Ranga)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Lew If Needed	
NORTH DAKOTA								
	Class A misdemeanor	Not more than 1 year	Not more than 1,000	Revocation or suspension	Time period not specified in the statuto	Yes		
	5-01-09	§12,1-32-01	§12, 1-32-01	∮5-02-10 ·∮5-02-11	§5-02-11			
					· .	:		
]							
OH10								
	Misdemeanor	None	1st100-500	Yes	Indeterminate	No		
			2nd + 200-500 and order the place where liquor sold			but see, \$4301.62 \$4301.64		
			to be abated as a nulsance or order the defendant to					
			pay \$1,000 bond with sureties not					
			to violate law again {4301,22(B); {4399,09 {4399,99	\$4301,25 \$4301,27			·	

	 	Besis for a DWI Charge		Chemica	l Breath Tests for BA	C Level
STATE				Preliminary	Arrest	onsent Law
	Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other	Breath Test Law	Required (Yes/No)	Other Information
OKLAHOMA						
Oklahoma Statutes Annotated, 1962,	0,10≴	>0.05% and <0.10% is evidence of Driving		No	Yes	
1982 Cum. Supp.		While impaired (DWI)			47 §751	
		O,10% constitutes Driving Under the Influence (DUI)				
		47 §755			·	
				<u>-</u>		
{						
				·		•
OREGON						
Oregon Revised Statutes, 1981	0,10≴	No		No	Yes 9487 ₊ 805	
	·			. ' !	,,	
		}	·			
					·	
	·					
		1				

		ical Tests For BAC Leve d Under Law (Implied Co		Adj	Judication of DWI Char	ges
STATE	Blood	Urine	Other (Spec) ty)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yas/No)	Pre-Sentence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)
OKLAHOMA						
	Yes	Yes	Saliva	DW1No	DWINo	Dw1No
				DUINo	DU1No	DUIYes for 2nd and subsequent offenses
	47 5751	47 \$751	47, \$751	22 §982	22 5982	22 \$982
				(Note: DWI=Driving k DUI=Driving k	thile impaired thile Under the Influe	nce.)
					· .	
					·	
			·			
	 	 				
OREGON Pregon Revised	V	· Van	None	No	Yes	Yan
tatutes, 1981	Yes	Yes	впом	, wo	· res	Yes but discretionary
	§487.815	\$487_815		·	\$484.385	
	-	}				
						•
]	·	·	1	
			; 			

			Sanctions for Refus Chemical	el To Submit to a BAC Breath Test		
STATE	Refusal	To Take Preliminary Bro	eath Test	Refusal To	Take implied Consent Che	mical Test
·	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jall)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jall)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other
OKLAHOMA						
DWI	N/A	N/A	N/A	None:	Revocation	
				ļ	6 months	
וטם	_ N/A	N/A	,N/A	None	Revocation	
					6 months	
					47 5753	
	1				1	
					1	
	·					
OREGON						
	N/A	N/A	N/A	None	Suspension	
					120 days	
					5482_540	
	·					
					1	
				,]	
		1		1		

ر 10

				Criminal Sanct	on for a DWI Offense lons		
STATE	Impris	onment	FI	ne		Other Penalties	
	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e.g., Victimis Fund)	Other
OKLAHOMA	1)			i	}
DWI					·		
lst		Na	100-300	No	No	No	No
2nd plus			100-300	ľ		{	
			47 \$76.1				
DUI	1		Ì				}
1s†	10 days-1 year	No	500	No	No	No	No
2nd plus	l year-5 years		1,000				Ì
	47 §11-902		47 \$11-902	j i	·	ļ	Ì
OREGON							
	1 year	No ·	2,500	No	No	, No	•
					er. If act was w/r of entry into a Div stay DWI charge pur seq. a. w/n 30 day fendant may file D/District Attorney dant has a convict ticipated in a dive victed of motor vel defendant was involages or death; (4) If D.A. allows defe stance abuse treatme. DA lasts from dant's motion, or s	fo determine if person 5 years of previous version Agreement (DA syada, so of being summoned A petition. The petition for DWI w/n prior ersion proq.); (2) de hicle homicide w/n prived in an accident occurred be endant to be evaluate ment (and to be treat 180 days—1 year. d. sua sponte (after 6 moon showing that DA to be treat to be on showing that DA to be treat to be summer to the control of	conviction or date () or 2) court may (445 and 484,447 et (1st appearance) detion is granted, if it, unless (1) defended to the content was content was content was content was content of the court may, at defendent way, and way,

	L	Sanctions	Following a Conviction	on for a DWI OffenseC	ontinued	
		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Administrative	Licensing Actions		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
STATE	Pre-DWI	Conviction Licensing	Action		I Conviction Licensing	Action
	Administrative Per Se Law	UYC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawai (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal
OKLAHOMA			•			
DW1	Yes	No		Suspension	6 months	6 months
	,			47 \$761	(for 2nd and subsequent offenses)	
DW I	Yes	No		Revocation	6 months	6 months
	after 4/1/83				I year If prior con- victions of any vehicle violation or revocation/ suspension within 3 years	
					2 years if orior DWI convictions	
-	47 §754	·		47 \$6-208	47 \$6-208	
OREGON						
	No	Yes		Suspension	1 year*	1 уваг
		. *			"Hardship occupa- tional license may be issued.	
				\$486,211	§482_820 §482_977 §486_291	
]					
				}		

•

·

		S	ianctions Following	a Conviction for	a DWI OffenseCon	tinued	
		·		Other		<u> </u>	
STATE	Alcohol Education	Alcohol Treatment	Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Impoundment/Confl Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Released	scation Other	Miscellaneous Sanctions Not included Elsewhere
OKL AHOMA							
		may, upon DW) defigulity or note of before judgment defendant to undefourses (with defendant judicial	ofit educational algher learning, nonprofit for courses for estraining; court fendant's plea of contendere, but its entered, commit entake these fendant's consent), proceedings are on conditions that and successfuly	No .			
DREGON		484,385(2). Has provisions for re- rehabilitative tr- offenders. Court of defendant, rec- essessment to def- defendant needs a	etraining and reatment of DWI have, with consent quest a diagnostic termine if a rehabilitative have then issue a on order. Faction of the sentence.	Yes for 2nd and subsequent DWI charge and other reasons. §484,222	After period of Impoundment (not more than 120 days) and after paying for cost of vehicle's removal and storage.		

.

•

					micide by Vehic	<u> </u>	<u> </u>	•	
					Sanctions				Other
STATE		· -· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Criminal	Administ	rative Licensin	q Actions	3,,,,		
	State Has Such a Law/ Type of Offense	imprisonment (Term)	Mendatory Minimum Term	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawai	Mandatory Action— Min. Length of License Withdrawal	
OKLAHOMA									
	Yes	i year	No	100-1,000	⁻ No	Revocation	6 months	6 months	
47 \$11-903	47 \$11-903						but 1 year if within prior 3 years have a motor vehicle violation conviction		
						,	2 years If revoked twice before for Dul, negligent homicide, etc.		
OREGON									
	No § 163, 145	N/A	· N/A	N/A	N/A	Revocation §482.430 §486.211	1 year	No	
	·								

	 	Other Co	Iminal Actions	Related to Alco	hat Use and Driving-	Continued	· · - · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
					Where the Basis Was		
STATE	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Di tving will	o ciconso suspe	Sanctions		3 1247 01140130	
22		Criminal				Istrative Licensing	lctions
	imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (%)	Type of Licensing	Length of Term of License Withdrawai Action	Mandatory Term of License Withdrawa Action
OKLAHOMA							
1st offense	None	No	50-200	No	Suspension or revocation	12 months	No
2nd and subsequent oftenses	but if revoked because of a refusal to take a chemical test or because test resulted in a BAC of 0.10% or greater		but if revoked because of a refusal to take a chemical test or because test resulted in a 0.10% or greater BAC	•			
	47 56-303		100-500 47 §6-303		47 \$6-303	47 56-303	
OREGON							
	5 years	No	100,000	No	istsuspension of vehicle's registration	120 days	†20 days*
:					2ndImpound vehicle	120 days	No #Unless it was not driver's car and owner of the vehic was not implicated
\$484.222					§484 _• 222:	\$484,222	5484.222
				·			

-

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Other Crimi	nal Actions Ref	ated to Alcohol	Use and Drivin	gContinued		
				Hab	itual Offender	Laws			
				Type of Criminal		Sanctions Foll While on	owing a Convict Habitual Oftend	ion of Driving ler Status	
. STATE	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender	Term of License Revocation While Under Habitual Offender Status	Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Hebitual Offender Status	Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)
OKLAHOMA			•				1		- · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
	, No	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A
	}		·						
			·						
CREGON	·								
	Yes	Include, Inter alla, conviction (or bond for- telture) on third and sub-		Class C felony	5 years	No	100,000	No	None
		sequent occa- sions of DWI "motor vehi-	available if certain conditions						
		cle homicide* driving with suspended or revoked license	are met)						
	1484.705	5484,705	. \$484,735	\$484,740	§ 161-605			}	

						lated to Alcohol Use and C	Priving		
	Laws R	equiring BAC rsons Killed	Chemical Test in Traffic Cr	ts on Those teshes		stablishing the Minimum egal Drinking Age	Dram Sh	op Laws and Related Legal	Actions
STATE		BAC Chemic	e) Test is Gi	iven to the			State	"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted via a	
	State Has Such A Law (Yes/No)	Driver	Yehlole Passengers	Pedestrians	Minimum Age (Years)	Special Exceptions to the Drinking Age Laws for Certain Kinds of Atcoholic Beverages	Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No)	Change to the Common Lew Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record In the State (Give the Case Citation)	Other
OKLAHOMA									
	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	21	No	No	·	No
	,				(3.25 and above)				
					37 5537				
					(for 1/2 of 1\$ to 3,2\$)	No	No		, No
			; ; !		18 for females 21 for males				
	47 §751	47 §751	47 \$10-113	47 510-113	37 5163.1 375 242, 246		·		. ·
OREGON									
	Yes	Yes (If over 13 years of	Yes (It over 13 years of	Yes (If over 13 years of	21	No	Yes	Campbell v. Carpenter, 279 Or. 237, 566 P.2d 893 (1977)	No .
		age and within 5 hours of accident)	age and within 5 hours of accident)	ege and within 5 hours of accident)	·		§30.950		
l		. \$146.113	§ 146, 113	§146, 113			,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,		

	Criminal Action Again	nst Owner or Employees of Est	whilehousts That Sarva	Administrat	lve Actions Against Owners thments That Serve Alcoholi
	Alcoho	lic Beverages to Intoxicated	Patrons	Beverage	s to Intoxicated Patrons
STATE	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Ranga)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of Licens Withdrawal
OKLAHOMA					
	Felony	1 year (max1mum)	0-1,000	Yes	In the discretion of the Alcoholic Beverage Contr Board
	37 5538	37 \$538	37 §538	37 §528	
				<u> </u>	
OREGON					
	Misdemeanor	1st6 months	0-500*	Yes	indeterminate
	(If committed by hote), Individual, private club, or	(maximum)			
	the like: individual drink sales)	2nd1 year	0-1,000	· ·	
		(maximum)		1	
			"Fines may be in addition to or in place of short term suspension.		
•				\$471 \$385	

[<u> </u>	Other Sta	te Laws Related to Alc	cohol Use and Driving-	Continued		
	Employees of	ctions Against Establishments	That Serve		ons Against Owners of eat Serve Alcoholic			
STATE	Alcoholic Bev	erages or the M erage to Those mum Legal Drink	rong Type of Persons Under	Beverage to Those	ong Type of Alcoholic Persons Under the Drinking Age	Laws Prohibiting the Possession of Open Conteiners of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Motor Vehicle		
	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai	State Hes Such a Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Lew If Needed	
OKLAHOMA						,		
37 \$537(a)(7) 37 \$538	Felony	5 years	0-5,000	Yes	In the discretion of the Alcoholic	Yes	This law appears to also include nonintoxicating	
37 §528 21 §1220	(for 3.2% and above)	(ma×lmum)		37 \$528	Beverage Control Board		beverages, with an alcoholic content of between 1/2 of 1% and 3.2%	
	None	None	None	Ye	12 months	{	dia 3.18	
# 1 · ·	(for 1/2 of 1%-3_2%)	_		·				
	37 5538	37 §538	37 \$538	37 5242			,	
				·	•			
OREGON								
	Violation	None*	200*	Yes	Indeterminate	Yes		
1st offense	-	None*	1,000#	(Commission may add				
2nd offense	·	30 days*	1,000*	withdrawal in certain		·		
3rd offense and subsequent		(Court may als restitution to voluntary serv	r damages or ices with a	circumstances or fine instead of withdrawing				
4.4		community serv	ice agency.)* .410	license.)		· .		
	Misdemeanor			\$471 _~ 365		1487.841		
1st offense		6 months (maximum)	0-500			\$487,843		
·	·	(see preced- ing page)		restaurant, health ca	ewery, distillery, who re and package store l i.e., where tood and	icenses. Al	beverage and wine, bottle, so not applicable to	
2nd offense		l year (maxlmum)	0-1,000					

-		Basis for a DWI Charge	,	Chemica	I Breath Tests for BA	C Level
					Implied C	onsent Law
STATE	Ittegat Per Se Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other	Prefiminary Breath Test Law	Arrest Required (Yes/No)	Other Information
PENNSYL VANTA						
See: Pennsylvania	o, 10¢	0,10≴	No	Yes	No	No
Statutes Annotated 1971, 1982 Supp. Pennsylvania	75 §3731(a)(4)	75 §1547(d)(3)		75 \$1547		
Legislative Service 1982 (Nos. 1, 2, and 3), plus Drunk Driving Laws of						
1982 (House 8111 2533, November 1982)		·			·	
	·					·
PUERTO RICO					<u> </u>	
See: Laws of Puerto Rico Annotated, 1976, 1981 Cum. Supp. (current through 7th Special Session of 8th Legislature (September 11,	No .	0, to≰	No .	Yes 9 §1043	Yes 9 §1043	No
1979))						
	,	**			- <u>-</u>	

		cal Tests For BAC Lev Under Law (Implied C		Ad	Judication of DWI Char	g⊕s
STATE	Blood	Urine	Other (Specify)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Antl-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)
PENNSYLVANIA	_					
-	Yes	Yes	No	No	Yes, qualified	Yes
	75 §1547	75 \$1547			(A.R.D. may not be	75 \$1548
					allowed if: (1) de- fendant was con- victed or accepted	
			<u> </u>		A.R.D., because of DWI charge within	
		·			last 7 years; (2) present offense	
					violated habitual offender state	
				,	ute(s); (3) If any person other than	14.
					the defendant was seriously injured	
				•	or killed.) Also, judge may not les-	
					san the charge at preliminary hearing.	
PUERTO RICO						
	Yes	No	"Any other susbtance of his body"	No	No	Yes
	9 \$1043	9 §1043	9 § 1043			9 \$1042
	·	·		_		
	· ·				[
,				·]	
			}			
			;			
		•				

STATE	Refusal	To Take Preliminary Br	eath Test	Refusal To Ta	ske Implied Consent Chem	lcal Test
	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jait)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jali)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other
PENNSYLVANIA						
	No	No	No	No No	Suspension	Na
			·		(12 months)	
			,		75 § 1547	
	·					
				1		
	·					
	ļ		ļ			
						
PUERTO RICO						
lst offense	\$100 or 10 days in Jali	No	No	\$100 or 10 days in jali	Suspension	No
2nd offense	If within 1 year of ist, \$200 and/or 20 days	·		If within 1 year of 1st, \$200 and/or 20 days	2 years	
3rd offense	If within 1 year of 1st, \$500 and/or 6 months			If within 1 year of 1st, \$500 and/or 6 months		· •
	9 §1221	}		9 §1221	9 \$1044	
			l ·			
	1		1	}	·	

	<u> </u>			Criminal Sanct	lons		
STATE	Impri	sonment*	FI	пе		Other Penalties	
	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e.g., Victimis Fund)	Other
PENNSYLVANIA	48 hours** or 30 days if prior conviction in any jurisdiction within previous 7 years or 90 days if 2 prior convictions within last 7 years	tance into and sati 2) Acceptance deter- and any victims. J such as may be impo- and costs, and may not be imposed." 4	mandatory 75 §3731 75 §3731 75 §3731 75 §3731 775 §3731 78 §3731 78 §3731 79 §		may lead to dismissa levant facts of pros R.D. 3) "Conditions r conviction, ind to by parties, exce	Court supervision for at least 6 months if counseling/ treatment not necessary and for not less than 12 months if counseling or treatment is necessary and person is in A.R.D. 75 §3731	
	1 year if 3 prior convictions within	nated and the prose A.R.D. program b/c **Acceptance of A.R	cutor may procee of a DWI charge .D. shall be co	ive violated A.R ad w/the DWI chai the Pa. D.O.T.	D. terms the progra rge(s).6) When def	m will be termi- endant enters for 7 years.	
PUERTO RICO	1 year if 3 prior	nated and the prose A.R.D. program b/c	cutor may procee of a DWI charge .D. shall be co	ive violated A.R ad w/the DWI chai the Pa. D.O.T.	.0. terms the progra rge(s). 6) When def shall keep a record	m will be termi- endant enters for 7 years.	
	1 year if 3 prior convictions within	nated and the prose A.R.D. program b/c **Acceptance of A.R	cutor may procee of a DWI charge .D. shall be co	ive violated A.R ad w/the DWI chai the Pa. D.O.T.	.0. terms the progra rge(s). 6) When def shall keep a record	m will be termi- endant enters for 7 years.	May be ordered to
PUERTO RICO ist offense 2nd offense	1 year if 3 prior convictions within last 7 years	nated and the prose A.R.O. program b/c **Acceptance of A.R subsequent violatio	cutor may proceed of a DWI charge .D. shall be consistence.	ive violated A.R ed w/the DWI chai the Pa. D.O.T. ensidered a 1st	.D. terms the progra rge(s). 6) When def shall keep a record conviction for purpo	m will be termi- endant enters for 7 years. ose of computing any	May be ordered to take and pass a driver's
lst offense	1 year if 3 prior convictions within last 7 years	nated and the prose A.R.O. program b/c **Acceptance of A.R subsequent violatio No	cutor may proceed of a DWI charge .D. shall be consistence.	ve violated A.R ed w/the DWI cha the Pa. D.O.T. unsidered a 1st	.D. terms the progra rge(s). 6) When def shall keep a record conviction for purpo	m will be termi- endant enters for 7 years. ose of computing any	May be ordered to
st offense 2nd offense	1 year if 3 prior convictions within last 7 years 15 days 30 days	nated and the prose A.R.D. program b/c **Acceptance of A.R subsequent violatio No No	cutor may proceed of a DWI charge .D. shall be conserved	ve violated A.R ed w/the DWI cha the Pa. D.O.T. ensidered a 1st	.D. terms the progra rge(s). 6) When def shall keep a record conviction for purpo	m will be termi- endant enters for 7 years. ose of computing any	May be ordered to take and pass a driver's
st offense Ind offense Ind offense Ith and ubsequent Iffenses	1 year if 3 prior convictions within last 7 years 15 days 30 days 60 days	nated and the prose A.R.D. program b/c **Acceptance of A.R subsequent violatio No No No	cutor may proceed of a DWI charge .D. shall be conserved. 100-300 200-400 300-500	No No No	.D. terms the progra rge(s). 6) When def shall keep a record conviction for purpo	m will be termi- endant enters for 7 years. ose of computing any	May be ordered to take and pass a driver's
st offense Ind offense Ind offense Ith and ubsequent	1 year if 3 prior convictions within last 7 years 15 days 30 days 60 days	nated and the prose A.R.D. program b/c **Acceptance of A.R subsequent violatio No No No	cutor may proceed of a DWI charge .D. shall be conserved. 100-300 200-400 300-500	No No No	.D. terms the progra rge(s). 6) When def shall keep a record conviction for purpo	m will be termi- endant enters for 7 years. ose of computing any	May be ordered to take and pass a driver's
st offense Ind offense Ind offense Ind offense Ind ubsequent Iffenses Injury caused:	1 year if 3 prior convictions within last 7 years 15 days 30 days 60 days 60 days-6 months	nated and the prose A.R.D. program b/c **Acceptance of A.R subsequent violatio No No No No	cutor may proceed of a DWI charge	No No No No	.D. terms the progra rge(s). 6) When def shall keep a record conviction for purpo	m will be termi- endant enters for 7 years. ose of computing any	May be ordered to take and pass a driver's

		Sanctions	Following a Conviction	on for a DWI Offense—C	ontinued	
			Administrative L	Icensing Actions		
STATE	Pre-Dw	I Conviction Licensing	Action	Post-DN	I Conviction Licensin	g Action
	Administrative Per Se Law	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawai
PENNSYLVANIA				ļ		
	No	Na	No ,	Suspension	12 months or 1 month+12 months	12 months
·					(If accepted Into A.R.D. program.)	1 month
					-	
PUERTO RICO	No	No	No .	Suspension* *Hardship provision.	Until defendant participates in and passes a driver's Improvement course or until agency in charge of rehabilitation certifies defendant is qualified to drive (probably not more than 1 year),	Yes 15 days or length of driver's improvement course
		·	1	9 (69)	9 5691	9 \$691

Γ				Sanctions Following	a Conviction for	a DWI Offense-Con	† I nued	
ļ				·	Other			
	• •	ļ. <u></u>	Rehabilitation	1	Vehicle	Impoundment/Confl	scation	Į.
	STATE	Alcohol Education	Alcohol Treatment	Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Released	Other	Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere
ŀ	PENNSYLVANIA							
	• ;	Yes ·	Yes	Yes	No .	·		
			! ed person must take highway safety cla		· •			
		Individual or gro intervention prog	or participation (soup impatient or or or or gram to treat substance or or or or or or or or or or or or or	utpatient tance abuse.			:	
		abuser, who repre	person is found to asents a "demonstra a ordered (committe oved facility. 75 11548	sted and serious"				
-								·
	PUERTO RICO	presentencing rep kind of treatment advice") would	effects of 1st co port indicates reha , orientation, gui be effective and es to undergo rehab	abliitation ("any idance or detendant	No _.			
		defendant would t	enses, if Court de penefit from rehable Jail penaity if d litation.	ilitation, court				·
		Hospitalization, be ordered if the necessary.	for up to 3 consec Court deems such	cutive months, may treatment				
			9 51042					

	··		Other C		s Related to At-		riving		
	····	<u> </u>		Ho.	micide by Vehic	le ·	······		200
STATE	-		Criminal S	Sanct Lone	Sanctions	Administ	rative Licensin	a Actions	Other
·	State Has Such a Law/ Type of Offense	lmprlsonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawai	Mendatory Action— Min. Length of License Withdrawai	
PENNS YL VAN I A		_			.,		_		
	Yes	3 years	No No	None	No	Revocation	lyear	l year	
				•					
						1	 		
					·	_			
	l -	Į.	i		1	<u> </u>			
						·			•
PUERTO RICO						, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , 			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
FULKIO KIGO	.					D41			
	Yes	3 years	No	3,000	No	Revocation	1 year	1 year	
	33 \$4005				[!	
								<u> </u>	
								}	
	,	1			1		Ì	1	
		\	ļ		ł			Į	
					Į	•		İ	
]	•	1	Ì		l i	
]		1				
	ł		<u> </u>		ł				

sa 11,70

					shol Use and Driving		····
STATE		Driving Whil	e License Suspe	ended or Revoked Sanctions	Where the Besis Was	DWI Offense	
SINIE		Criminal	7	Sanctions	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , 	istrative Licensing A	ctions
	Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Langth of Term of License Withdrawai Action	Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action
PENNSYLVANIA							
1st offense	90∵days≇	90 days#	1,000* or 200	1,000* or 200	Revocation	6 months (additional)	6 months (additional)
2nd offense	1 year	No	200-1,000	, No	Revocation	6 months	6 months
	*Applicable when ind Rehabilitative Dispo	ividual is participat sition Program follow	ing in Accelera ing a DWI convi	ted iction.		(additional)	(add)tional)
		75 §1543 75 §6503		1	75 §1543	75 \$1543	75 \$1543
		·	·				
PUERTO RICO	<u> </u>						
lst offense	1-3 months	No	200	No	Probably revocation	Indeterminate	No .
2nd oftense	3-6 months		500		Ì		
}					9 (691	9 \$691	
			·				
		• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •					

ŀ	 	,	OTHER CITM	Inal Actions Rela)Continued	 	
		<u> </u>		Type of Criminal	Itual Offender	Sanctions Follo	wing a Convict labitual Offend	tion of Driving	
STATE	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender	Term of License Revocation While Under Habitual Offender Status	Offense If Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status	Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory -Mintaum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)
PENNSYLVANIA									
	Yes	*	5 years	Summery , offense	1 year	No	200-1,000	No	2 years
	*Three convict within a 5-yea	lons of any one or period:	or more of the	following					revocation period
	2) DUI; 5) other offer 4) operation 5) using a vel 6) using vehic trolled sui	nicide when DUI uses listed in i following regist hicle without kn cle for unlawful pstance; ,in which wehicle	75 (1532; tration's suspended or con- lisate of alcoho	sent of owner; of or con-		:			
	75 §1542	in which venic	75 \$1542	75 §1543	75 \$6503		75 16503		75 \$6503
PUERTO RICO), , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , 						 		
	No	N/A	N/A	N/A	. N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A
					· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				
·									
	Ť.	T .	ľ	7	Ī		Ī		

	Laws R Pe	equiring BAC (rsons Killed	Chemical Test In Traffic Cr	s on Those ashes	Lavs E	stablishing the Minimum egal Drinking Age	Dram Sh	op Laws and Related Legal	Actions
STATE		BAC Chemical Test is Given Following Person					State	"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted via a	
	State Has Such A Law (Yes/No)	Driver	Vehicle Passengers	Pedestrians.	Minlmum Age (Years)	Special Exceptions to the Drinking Age Laws for Certain Kinds of Alcoholic Beverages	Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No)	Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record in the State (Give the Case Citation)	Oth
PENNS YL VAN I A				,					
	Yes	Yes	Implied	Yes	21	No	Yes	Jardine v. Upper Darby Lodge No. 1973 Inc.,	
		(if over 15 and died within 4 hours of accident)		(If driver 15 and died within 4 hours of accident)			·	413 Pa. 626, 198 A.2d 550 (1964)	-
		75 §3749	75 §3749	75 §3749					
		-							
PUERTO RICO			····						
	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	18	No	No	No	No
9 \$1043(a)	9 51043	9 51043	9 \$1043	9 51043	ĺ				
•] .		•						
									-
	1								
•					·		į.		
						•			

		Other State Laws Related	to Alcohol Use and DrivingCor	tinued	
	Criminal Action Aga Alcoh	Inst Owner or Employees of Este olic Beverages to Intoxicated	ablishments That Serve	of Establis	lva Actions Against Owners Aments That Serve Alcoholic as to Intoxicated Patrons
STATE	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal
PENNSYLVANIA					
1st offense	Misdemeanor	1-3 months	100–500	Yes	3 years If revoked
2nd and subsequent offenses		(if fall to pay finé) 3 months-1 year	300-500 (and possibly 50-1,000)	or Ilquor controt board may impose a fine. See column to left within paren- thesis. 47 §4~471	(1 year for location unless ownership changes hands, including immediate tamily members.) If suspended: Indeterminate
PUERTO RICO	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A

Γ			Other Sta	te Laws Related to Alc	cohol Use and Driving-	Continued	
STATE	Employees of Alcoholic Bey Alcoholic Bey	ctions Against Establishments Perages or the W Perage to Thosa Bum Legal Drink	That Serve rong Type of Persons Under	Establishments The Beverages or the Wro Beverage to Those	ons Against Owners of nat Serve Alcoholic ong Type of Alcoholic o Persons Under the I Drinking Age	Containers	biting the Possession of Open of Alcoholic Beverages in the Compartment of a Motor Vehicle
	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Law If Needed
PENNSYLVANIA							
ist offense	Misdemeanor	1-3 months (if fine not paid)	100-500	Yes '.	3 years If revoked (I year for structure unless ownership changes hands, Including immediate	No	
2nd and subsequent offenses	:	3 months- 1 year	300-4,500 and		family) suspension indeterminate or		
	:		maybe .	47 §4-4 71	liquor control board may impose a fine. See fine range column.		·
				47 \$5-514	47 \$4-475		
PUERTO RICO							·
	Misdemeanor	30 days- 6 months	100-500	Yes	Indeterminate	No No	
						·	
			,	·			
				;			
				·			

<u> </u>	8	asis for a DWI Charge	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , 	Chemic	al Breath Tests for BA	C Level] .
STATE	lilegal Per Se Law (BAC Level)	Presumption	, make a	Preliminary Breath Test	Arrest Regulred	Orher	
RHODE ISLAND	Law (BAL Level)	(BAC Level)	Other	Law	(Yes/No)	Information	1
ee: General aws of Rhode sland, 1956, eenactment of 976, 1981 Cum, upp. Reenactment of	No	. 0 ₊ 10≸ . §31-27-2 ₊ 1		Yes	Yes	No	
968, 1981 Cum. upp. Motor ehicle section) current through anuary Session, 981)			•				
SOUTH CAROLINA ee: Code of ews of South aroline nnotated, 1976, 981 Cum. Supp.	No	0, 10≴	No	No	Yes	No	
current through 981 Session of he General ssembly)							
	·		,		<u> </u>		1

		cal Tests For BAC Leve Under Law (Implied Co		Adj	udication of DWI Char	ges
STATE	Blood	Urine	Other (Specify)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)
RHODE ISLAND						
	Yeş*	Yes	No, qualified			Yes
	May be excepted on religious grounds.		Penalties for refusing a chemical test applies only to "breath, blood, and/or urine,,,,"			where 1 year or more sentence may be imposed
	\$31-27-2 \$31-27-2 ₋ 1	\$31-27.2 \$31-27.2.1	\$31-27-2 \$32-27_2_1			
•		•			·	
	·					
				÷ :		
SOUTH CAROLINA						
	No ·	No	, No	No	No	No
	·					
	·			•		

			Sanctions for Refuse Chemical I	al To Submit to a BAC Breath Test		
STATE	Refusat	To Take Preliminary Br	eath Test	Refusal To T	ake Implied Consent C	hemical Test
	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jall)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jall)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other
RHODE ISLAND						
				1st (within 3 year period)250, or	30 days suspension	Attendance at a DW class
	None	None		2nd (within 3 year period)500,	6 months suspension	Attendance at a DW class
				or 3rd + (within 3 year period)1,000	l year suspension	Affendance af a DW class
				\$31-27-2.1	§31-27-2 . 1	
SOUTH CAROLINA	N/A .	N/A	No	No	90-day suspension of license	No
						·

			Sanctions Follo	wing a Convictio	on for a DWI Offens	0	
				Criminal Sancti	lons		
STATE	Impris	onment	FI			Other Penalties	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e.g., Victim's Fund)	Other
RHOOE ISLAND	}].	}			
ist offense (within 3 year period)	1 week (alternative to fine and/or suspension)	No	500	No .	Na .	No	Attendance at a DW class required
2nd offense (within 3 years)	1 month	No	500	No	•		Aftendence at a DWI class required
3rd + (within 3 years)	6 months	No	1,000	No			Attendance at a DW Class required
	131-27-2		\$31-27_2 \$31-27-13				
SOUTH CAROLINA							
1st offense	10-30 days Imprisonment and/or tine	No	50-100 or ImprEsonment	No	No	No ·	No
2nd offense	1 year Imprisonment and/or fine	No	1,000 m[a]mum and/or Imprisonment	No			
∄rd offense	3 year Imprisonment and/or fine	No .	2,000 minimum and/or imprisonment	No			

ļ.,	<u> </u>	Sanctions		on for a DWI OffenseCo	ont inued	
<u> </u>				Licensing Actions		
STATE	Pre-DW:	Conviction Licensing	Action		g Action	
	Administrative Per Se Law	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Minimus Term of Withdrawa
RHODE ISLAND	ľ					
	No	Yes		lstsuspension and/or revocation	1 year	No
				2nd-+suspension and/or revocation	1 year	6 months
				3rdsuspension and/or revocation	lyear	l year
				\$31-11-6 \$31-27-2	\$31-11-6 \$31-27-2	131-27-2
			·			
						-
SOUTH CAROLINA	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				·	
	No	No	No	Suspension		
				1st offense	6 months	6 months
		`		2nd offense	l year	1 year
-				i i	_	-
				3rd and subsequent offense	2 years suspension	2 years
				First offenders may obtain a Provisional License.		
						·
i i	į.			1	·	

	<u> </u>	S	anctions Following	Conviction for	a DWI Offense-Con	† i nued	
				Other			
		Rehabilitation		Yehlcle	Impoundment/Confl	scation	<u>Į</u>
STATE	Alcohol Education	Alcohol Treatment	Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Released	Other	Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere
RHODE ISLAND	No -	No	No	No			
·							
SOUTH CAROLINA	Alcohol and Drug	Safety Action Prog	ram for first	Yes	When It Is no	No	No
	offenders.				longer necessary to protect the vehicle from danger	·	
				,			
·							·

		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Other	Criminal Actions	s Related to Al-	cohol Use and D	riving		
				Ho	micide by Vehic	le			
	. 1	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·			Sanctions				Other
STATE			Criminal	Sanctions		Administ	rative Licensin		
	State Has Such a Law/ Type of Offense	Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawai	Mandatory Action— Nin。Length of License Withdrawai	
RHODE ISLAND									
·	No	10 years	No			Revocation	3 years	Yes	
	but has statute re: driving caused deaths	·				,	·	3 years	
	\$31-27-1					531-11-6	531-11-6	\$31-11-6	
	·								
SOUTH CAROL I NA									
j	Yes (Reckless Homicide)	Not more than 5 years	No	Not less than 1,000 nor more than 5,000	No	Revocation	5 years	5 years	No
	556+5+2910	\$56~5~2910		\$56-5-2910	-	§56-5-2910	\$56-5-2910	§56-5-2910	
		·		·	·				

		 	 		hol Use and DrivingC	 			
•		Driving Whil	e License Suspe		Where the Basis Was a	DWI Offense			
STATE	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·			Sanctions	y idaka ki malaka da 1919, 19				
		Criminal			Administrative Licensing Actions				
	imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action	Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action		
RHODE ISLAND									
lst offense	Misdemeanor (revocation, etc., due to DWI convic- tion, refusal to submit to chemical test, reckless driv-	No .	500 (within 3~year period)	No	Suspension	"Time deemed proper" (additional)	3 months		
	Ing, motor vehicle manslaughter, or 3 moving violations In 1 year: less than 1 year					·			
2nd offense	1 уеаг	No	1,000 (within 3-year period)	No	Suspension	Dept. of Motor Vehicles! discretion (additional)	6 months		
3rd offense	· 1 year	No	2,500 (within 3-ýeár period)	No	Revocation	1 year	l year		
§11-1-2 . 1		531-11-18,1	531-11-18,1	531-11-18-1	531-11-18.1	531-11-18,1	531-11-18,1		
SOUTH CAROL INA				·					
1st offense	30 days	None	100	None	Suspension for a like suspension was for a				
2nd oftense	Not more than 60 days	None	500	None	suspension for an add	fitional 3 months.			
3rd and subsequent offense	Not less, than 45 days nor more than 6 months				If license was revoke an additional 1 year entitled to apply for	from the date such p			
	§56-1-460	•	\$56-1-460			§56-1-460	i		
				, .					

			Other Crimi			Use and Driving	gContinued			
		r		Type of	Itual Offender		wing a Convict	tion of Deluine		
			Term of	Criminal Offense if	Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status					
STATE	State Has Such e Lew (Yes/No)	Grounds for Being Declared an Habituat Offender	License Revocation While Under Habitual Offender Status	Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status	lmprisonment (Term)	Mendatory Minimum Termi of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)	
RHODE ISLAND						}				
	following: 1) motor vehic 2) DWI (alcoho 3) driving whi 4) wilfully op 5) any felony 6) fallure to driver was	le license susperating a motor offense using a stop and report involved in; driver to stop	ended or revoke vehicle withou motor vehicle; death/injury a	ed; if a license; ; after accident	5 years (maximum)	No but if an inprisonment sentance is given it may not be suspended or deterred except to save a life	None	N/A	No apparent specific provision, but see 31-11-18, driving after danial, generally 1 year extension of revocation	
SOUTH CAROLINA									113.5	
	Yes	3 or more serious offense convictions, or 10 or more convictions for violations rated at 4 points or more under the point system, all within a period of 3 years	5 years and until the court thereafter restores the driving privilege	Misdemeanor	Not less then I year nor more than 5 years	None				

the state of the s

:	Laws Re	oulrina BAC	Chemical Test	s on Those		stablishing the Minimum	riving		
STATE	Per	Sons Killed BAC Chemic	In Traffic Cr al Test is Gi Howing Perso	ven to the	s Legal Orinking Age			op Laws and Related Legal *Dram Shop Law* Concept Has Been Adopted via a	Actions
	State Has Such A Law (Yes/No)	Driver	Vehicle Passengers		Minimum Age (Years)	Special Exceptions to the Drinking Age Laws for Certain Kinds of Alcoholic Beverages	State Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No)	Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record in the State (Give the Case Citation)	Other
RHODE ISLAND		• .	·						
	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	20	No '	. Yes		No
		\$23-4-9	123-4-9	\$23 - 4-9	§3-8-5	• .	§3=11=1		
									<i>.</i>
					·		,		•
SOUTH CAROLINA		• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •							
		Yes	Yes	Yes	21	18 years minimum drinking age for all been and table and fortified wines	No	No	No
								·	
		. !		·	·				

		Other State Laws Related t	o Alcohol Use and Driving—C				
	Criminal Action Age Ajcoh	Inst Owner or Employees of Esta olic Beverages to Intoxicated P	blishments That Serve atrons	Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholi-Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons			
STATE	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai		
RHODE ISLAND							
	Misdemeanor	1 year '	1s+50	Yes	l year		
			2nd~~100	§3-5-21	§3-5-22		
5 	<u> </u>						
SOUTH CAROLINA	Misdemeanor	Not more than 30 days	Not more than 100	No provisio	ns are provided for		
				ficensing a	ction.		
			·				

يعادون المراض والمستولد الجارين

			Other Sta	te Laws Related to Alcohol Use and Driving-Continued					
STATE	Employees of Alcoholic Bea Alcoholic Bea	Actions Against Establishments Peragus or the W Perage to Those Imum Legal Drink	That Serve rong Type of Persons Under	Establishments Th Beverages or the Wro Beverage to Those	ns Against Owners of at Serve Alcoholic ng Type of Alcoholic Persons Under the Drinking Age	Laws Prohibiting the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Motor Vehicle			
<u>-</u>	Type of Criminal Action	Term of imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Law If Needed		
RHODE ISLAND									
1st offense 2nd offense	Misdemeanor	Up to 1 year	250 500	Yes ,	1 year	No	· No		
3rd and subsequent offenses		Up to 1 year	750 (if no offenses in 3 successive years, next						
			offense shall be treated as lst.)	§ 3-5-21	§5-5-22				
SOUTH CAROLINA	Mlsdemeanor	Not more than 5 years	Not more than 5,000	No provisions are pro action.	vided for licensing	Yes	South Carolina Code §61-5-20		
				·					

	В	asis for a DWI Charge		Chemica	t Breath Tests for BA	C Level
STATE					Implied C	onsent Lav
STATE	lilega: Per Se Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other	Preliminary Breath Test Law	Arrest Required (Yes/No)	Other Information
SOUTH DAKOTA						
See: South Dakota Codified Laws, 1982 Supp. 57th Session (1982)	0_10≸	0, 10≰	No	Yes §32-23-1 _• 2	Yes §32-23-10	No
		·			9	
·						
TENNESSEE						
See: Tennessee Code Annotated, 1980 and 1982 Cum. Supp. (current through 1982 Adjourned Session of 92nd General Assembly)	No	0.10≸	No	No	Yes	No
·	·				·	
·			·	·		

			, . .		·	
	Other Chemi Authorized	ical Tests For BAC Leve I Under Law (Implied Co	i Which Are nsent Low)	Adi	udication of DWI Char	qes
STATE	Blood	Urine	Other (Speclfy)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)
SOUTH DAKOTA			-			
,	Yes	No :	"Other bodily substances"	No	No	Discretionary
, , ,	\$32-23-10	132-23-10	§32-23-10			••
				. ·		
·						
TENNESSEE	· <u>.</u> — <u>-</u> — - .		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·			
	Yes 55-10-405	Yes 55-10-405	No	Yes §55~10-403(b)(l)	Мо	No
	•					
						. (
		·	·			•
						· :
·.						
·	·					

				al To Submit to a BAC Breath Test		······································
STATE	Refusal	To Take Preliminary Br	eath Tast	Refusal To 1	ake implied Consent (hemical Test
·	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jali)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other
SOUTH DAKOTA	·	}				
	No	No	No	30 days in county jail and/or \$100	1 year (revocation*) #Hardship license	No .
			•		exception evailable.	
\$23A-27-5				1	§32-23-11	
	·					
					į	<u> </u>
					<u> </u>	
TENNESSEE						
	N/A	N/A	N/A	\$ 2-50	Suspens Ion	In addition to or in lieu of fine and/or
				and/or	1st6 months	jali defendant may tordered to attend a
				30 days	2nd +1 year	driver education course.
•				§55–10–301	§55 - 10-406	§55-10-301
		1				
					{	
•			·			

 .	1		Sanctions Follo	wing a Convicti	on for a DWI Offense	•	
				Criminal Sanct	ions		
STATE	imprl:	t nemnos	FI	пе		Other Penalties	
	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e.g., Victimis Fund).	Other
SOUTH DAKOTA							
1st offense	1 year	No	1,000	No	No	No	No
	(county Jall)						
2nd oftense	1 year	No	1,000.	No		į	
	(county Jali)				·		
3rd and subsequent	2 years	No	2,000	. No .			
offense	(state penitentiary)						
*	\$32-25-2 \$32-23-3 \$32-23-4						
TENNESSEE					٠.	Ì	
1st offense	48 hours- 11 months 29 days	48 hours	250-1,000	250	After serving min- imum sentence ludge may order	Shall be ordered as a condition of probation	Upon conviction detendants in countles with
2nd offense	45 days— 11 months 29 days	45 days	500-2,500	500	defendant to re- move litter from various public	(probation may commence only after minimum jail	600,000 or more people and in countles with a
3rd and subsequent	120 days- 11 months 29 days	120 days	1,000-5,000	1,000	areas or work in a recycling center		metropolitan form of government, must
of fense			(unless judge determines defendent is	٠.	or mother approp- rlate location" for any period of	defendant can afford it.	pay a BAC test fee of \$10.
;		·	indigent)		time in lieu of or in addition to other penalties. The community ser-		
					vice work may be done at non- working hours.		
	555-10-403		(55-10-403		\$55-10-403	_ 403-5-10-5رۇ	155-10 -4 03

المرافق الرواد المستحدد والمرابعة والمستحد المحاف المرافق في المرافق والمرافق والمرافق في المستحد المرافق المرا

		Sanctions	Following a Convict	lon for a DW1 Offense—C	ontinued	
			Administrative	Licensing Actions		
STATE	Pre-DW	I Conviction Licensing	Action	Post-DN	I Conviction Licensin	ig Action
	Administrative Per So Law	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Minisum Term of Withdrawal
SOUTH DAKOTA						
·	No	No		lstrevocation#	1 year	30 days
	·			2ndrevocation (no hardship license)	1 year	. 1 year
			,	3rd+revocation (no hardship license)	1+ year	1 year
				Suspensionif 15 points accumulated in 12 consecutive months or 22 points in 24 consecutive months DWI=10 points *Hardship provision	1 year	No
				for employment purposes. §32-23-2, §32-23-3 §32-23-4	\$32-23-2 \$32-23-3 \$32-23-4	\$32-23-2 \$32-25-3 \$32-23-4
TENNESSEE						
	No	Yes	No	Revocation*	lst1 year	t year
	;			Additionally, court	2nd+-2 years	2 years
				defendant from driving for: 1stup to 6 months 2ndup to 3 years 3rd and subsequent up to 10 years **Hardship license for employment avail-	3rd+→3→10 years	3 years For 2nd and subsequent convictions revocation will be lifted only upon showing that defen dant has completed program of alcoho education or recel
		\$55 –7–113		able after 1st con- viction if no one is killed or seriously injured.	18E 10 407	treatment from one three acceptable sources: psychi- atrist; psychologi
		100-7-110		\$55-10-403 \$55-7-113	§55-10-403 §55-10-412	treatment facili: \$55+7+113

<u> </u>	<u> </u>	S	anctions Following	a Conviction for	a DWI Offense-Con	tinued	
				Other			
		Rehabilitation		Vehicle	Impoundment/Confl	scation	
STATE	Alcohol Education	Alcohol Treatment	Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Refeased	Other	Miscellaneous Sanctions Not Included Elsewhere
SOUTH DAKOTA							
	No -	No	. No	, No	N/A ·	N/A	
	V *		•			·	
			·		·	·	
			·			,	
TENNESSEE					·		
	See columns on previous page and to the right	gram required as part of proba- tion (probation	- -	No	N/A	No	No
		can bagin only after serving minimum impris~ onment term).		·			
		For 2nd and sub- sequent convic- tion, a condi- tion of proba- tion is partici- pation in a					
		rehabilitation program treat- ment facility.					<u> </u>

			Other (Criminal Action	s Related to Al	cohol Use and D)riving		
				Но	micide by Vehic	le			
•				<u> </u>	Sanctions				Other
STATE	State Has Such a Law/		Criminal_	Sanctions	Mandatory	Administ Licensing Authorized	Length of	g Actions Mandatory Action Min, Length	•
	Type of Offense	Imprisonment (Term)	Mendatory Minimum Term	Fine (\$ Range)	Minimum Fine (\$)	and Type of Action	Licensing Withdrawai	of License Withdrawai	
SOUTH DAKOTA								1	
	No	10 years	N/A (No)	N/A (10,000)	N/A (No.)	Revocation	l year .	Yes	
	(covered by 2nd degree manslaughter statute)			,	(110)		(not spelled out in statute)	(but length Is uncertain)	
	\$22-16-20		1			§ 32-12-52		·	
		·							
TENNESSEE									
	Yes	1-21 years	No	No	Na	Revocation	Equals term of sentence	1 year	
					·		received. If paroled defendant may have license reissued upon		
							satisfactory completion of licensing exam and on patition of detendant's		
		-					parole officer.		
	139-2412(b)	539-2-413				555-7-112	155-7-112		

		Other Cr	iminal Actions	Related to Alco	hol Use and Driving-	Continued	
		Driving While	e License Suspe		Where the Basis Was	DWI Oftense	
STATE		0-1-1		Sanctions		(-44)	
	Imprisonment (Term)	Criminal Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Admin Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Istrative Licensing A Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action	Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action
SOUTH DAKOTA							,
	3+ days (If convicted after 2nd DUI offense. No apparent criminal sanction if convicted after only one DUI conviction)	3 days .	N/A	No	Revoca†loπ	1 year (additional)	, lyear
	10+ days (If convicted after 3rd DUI conviction)	10 days	N/A	No			
	Also, a Class 2 mlsdemeanor 30 days	No	100	No			
	§32-12-65 §32-12-22	5 22 - 6-3			132-12-66	§32-12-66	§32-12-66
TENNESSEE							
	2 days—6 months	No No	0-500	No	Revocation	l year (additional)	1 year
	§55-7-116		155-7-116		§55-7-116	§55-7-116	
: .		·		·			
					·		
	·				·		

[Other Crim	inal Actions Rel	ated to Alcohol	Use and Drivin	gContinued		
İ				Hab	itual Offender	Laws			
				Type of Criminal		Sanctions Foli While on	owing a Convict Habitual Offend	ion of Driving er Status	
STATE	State Hes Such a Lew (Yes/No)	Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender	Term of License Revocation While Under Habitual Offender Status	Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status	lmprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	fine (\$ Range)	Mandetory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)
SOUTH DAKOTA									
	No	. N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A
	_						-		
						·	·	:	
TENNESSEE			<u> </u>						
	Yes	3 convictions w/n 3 years of any of the	3 years.	Felony .	· 1-10 years	No	None but, judge or	No	l year revocation
:		following: 1) voluntary or involuntary motor vehicle homicide; 2)					Jury has discretion to impose another \$1,000 fine		(additional)
	\$55-10-601 to 617	DWI; 3) fall- ure to stop at scene of accident; 4)			§39-104	·	§39-104		
		violation of statute on meeting and overtaking school buses.				N			19 19

				Other Sta	te Laws Re	lated to Alcohol Use and D	Orlving		
	Laws R	lequiring BAC ersons Killed	<u>in Traffic Cr</u>	ashes	Laws 6	stablishing the Minimum egal Drinking Age	Oram Sh	op Laws and Related Legal	Actions
STATE	, .	BAC Chemical Test Is Giv Following Person		ven to the	!		State	"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted via a Change to the Common Law	
	State Has Such A Law (Yes/No)	Dr I ver	Yehlcle Passengers	Pedestrians	Minimum Age (Years)	for Certain Kinds of	Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No)	Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record in the State (Give the Case Citation)	Other
SOUTH DAKOTA									
	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	21	Low point beer (3,2% or less)	No		No
					18 (for every- thing,	Low point beer if with parent/guardian or spouse 21 or over			
			·		low point beer. included:				
		§39-25-22,1	§39-25-22.1	§39-25-22.1	135-4-78 135-9-1				·=u
TENNESSEE									
		Yes §55-10-406	Discre- tionary §38-709	Discre- tionary	19 11-33-113	· No .	No	Mitchell v. Ketner, 54 Tenn. App. 656, 393 S.W. 2d 755 (1964)	No
		752 10 100		,30 ,00	,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,] -	·	· · !
					İ				:
								·	

<u> </u>		Other State Laws Related t	o Alcohol Use and Driving-Co	nt Inued	
	Criminal Action Age Alcoho	Inst Owner or Employees of Esta olic Beverages to Intoxicated F	blishments That Serve	Administrat of Establis Beverage	tive Actions Against Owners shments That Serve Alcoholic as to Intoxicated Patrons
STATE	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	
SOUTH DAKOTA			·		
	Class 1 misdemeanor	l year (county jall) ,	ι,000	Yes	l year
	935-4-78	·		135-2-10	§ 35– 2–20
				.	}
				1	İ
TENNESSEE					
lst offense	Misdemeanor	30 days-6 months	500-1,000	1	
2nd offense				Yes	Permanently
	57-4-203		}		,
·					
				<u> </u>	

	!		Other Sta	te Laws Related to Alc	cohol Use and Driving-	Continued		
STATE	Employees of Alcoholic Bey Alcoholic Bey	Actions Against of Establishments verages or the Moverage to Those Immum Legal Drink	That Serve rong Type of Persons Under	Establishments Th Beverages on the Wro Beverage to Those	ns Against Owners of lat Serve Alcoholic long Type of Alcoholic Persons Under the Drinking Age	Laws Prohibiting the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passengar Compartment of a Motor Vehicle		
	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal	State Hes Such a Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Law It Needed	
SOUTH DAKOTA				,				
	Class 2 misdemeanor (qenerally)	30 days (county Jall)	100	Yes ,	1 year	Yes	No	
	Class 1 misdemeanor (for licensee)	l year (county Jali)	1,000			·		
	§35-4-78 §35-9-1		· .	§35-2-10	§35-2-20	\$35=1-9 _* 1		
TENNESSEÉ								
1st offense	Misdemeanor	30 days- 6 months	25-500	Yes	10 day suspension	No		
			(for 5 \$>)		if unknowing violation (for sale			
	{]	500-1,000		of beverages with alcoholic content of	}		
	i		(for 5 ≴<)	-	[5≴>) 			
2nd and subsequent offenses	Felony	I-3 years	500-3,000	Yes	Permanent (for sale of any alcoholic beverage)			
	\$57-3-412 \$57-5-303 \$57-4-203	\$57-5-303	\$57-4-203 \$57-5-303	§57-5-303	\$57-5-109 \$57-5-303			

1		Basis for a DWI Charge		Chemi ca	I Breath Tests for BA	C Level
Ī					implied 0	Consent Law
STATE	illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other	Preilminary Breath Test Law	Arrest Required (Yes/No)	Other Information
TEXAS						
See: Vernon's Texas ClvII Statutes, Cum. Annual Pocket Part 1982-1983 (current through		0.10% or more it is presumed defendant was under the influence		Na .	Yes	
Third Called Session, 1982), Vernon's Texas Statutes and		(Vernon's Texas Clvil Statutes) 6701 L5	•			
Codes Annotated, July 1982	•	5.3(a)				
1						
UTAH	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·					
See: Utah Code Annotated (current through March 17, 1982)	0,10\$ 541-6-44,2	0.08\$ \$41-6-44	No .	No	Yes	No.
	· .					

		cal Tests For BAC Leve Under Law (Implied Co		Adj	udication of DWI Char	ges
STATE	Blood	Urine	Other (Specify)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)
TEXAS						
	No express authority to take sample without permission of defendant	No		No	No	. No
	6701 ₊ L5	6701 ₊ L5		•	: :	
2		-	•			
				}		
UTAH						
	Yes	. Yes	No	No	No	No
					but if defendant pleads quilty or note contenders to reckless driving as a substitute that shall be considred a 1st conviction for DUI	(optional in felony cases, e.g., vehicle homicide)
	541-6-44,10	§41-6-44 ₊ 10			941-6-45	§ 76 - 3-404
•	·					

				ol To Submit to a BAC Breath Test		
STATE	Refusal	To Take Preliminary Brea	th Test	Refusal To	Take Implied Consent C	hemical Test
	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jall)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other
TEXAS				·		
	N/A	N/A	N/A		Suspension	
					(1 year maximum)	
					but only after a hearing to determine:	
					1) probable cause;	
					2) arrest made and opportunity to take test given; and,	
					3) defendant refused to submit to testing §6701,L5.	
UTAH						
	N/A	N/A	N/A	6 months	Revocation	No
				(maxlmum)	(1 year)	
·				\$41-6-12 \$76-3-204		
				ļ		
					}	

			Sanctions Follo	wing a Convicti	on for a DWI Offense)	
				Criminal Sanct	lons		
STATE	Impr 1s	onmen†	F1	пе	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Other Penalties	· · ·
	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term	- Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e.g., Victim ^s s Fund)	Other
TEXAS							
Misdemeanor 1st offense	Not less than 3 days or more than 2 years	No	Not less than 50 nor more than 500	No ·			-
6701-L1			and	·	·		·
Felony 6701-L2	Not less than 10 days nor more than 2 years in	No	Not less than 100 or more than 5,000	No .		 .	++
2nd offense	county jall						
	not more than 5 years in the state penitentiary						
ШАН							
	60 days-6 months, (if bodily injury Inflicted, 1 year additional)	No	299 I,000 (If bodily Injury Infilcted)	No	1st2-10 days work at an alcohol rehabilitation facility in place of 2-10 days in jali.	Discretionary with Judge	Defendant may be required to pay a additional \$150 th fund "Intoxicated driver rehabilitation account."
	Ist2-10 days 2nd (within 5 years) 2-10 days	No		No	2nd10-30 days work at alcohol rehabilitation facility 3rd and subsequent30-90 days work		
	3rd and subsequent (within 5 years) 30-90 days	No		No	at alcohol rehabilitation		
	§41-6-44		563-43-10 541-6-44		\$41-6-44	577-35-17	j

		Sanctions	Following a Convicti	on for a DWI Offense-C	ont I nued	
•			Administrative	Licensing Actions		
STATE	Pre-DW	t Conviction Licensing	Action	Post-DW	I Conviction Licensia	<u>q_Action</u>
	Administrative Per Se Law	UYC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawal
TEXAS	No	No		Automatic mandatory: suspension 6687(b) §24 Limited license 6687(b) §23A(a) (for employment)	Not more than 12 months for 1st conviction 18 months for any subsequent conviction 6687(b) 124(a)(b) and 6687(b) 124(a)(c)	f2 months
UTAH	No	Yes	No	Revocation*	1 year	1 year
		§41-2-19		Also has complicated point system: points tailled on basis of offense, however, judge may increase or decrease point total by indicating severity of violation within its type. Points tailled within 3 year period and if cartain (unnamed) total reached, license is suspended \$41-2-18 *Restricted (license available.	Point schedule is published in newspapers	

ſ			<u> </u>	Sanctions Following	a Conviction for	a DWI OffensaCon	† Inued	
İ					Other			
Ĺ			Rehabilitation		Vehicle	Impoundment/Confl	scation	1
	STATE	Alcohol Education	Alcohol Treatment	Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Yehicle Will be Released	Other	Miscellaneous Sanctions Not included Elsewhere
	TEXAS			ļ				
		Yes (driver's	Yes					
		education training)						
		6687(b) \$24A(a)	5561(c) §12		-43			
			·		•		-	
-				}		·		
1				}				
	- -							·
	UTAH ·		٠.			·		
		Judge may order convicted defendant to	lst2-10 days to than jall (2-10) Service	reatment rather or community	No			
		attend education class(es)	2nd20-30 days	treatment		!		
			rehabilitation o	Ith work at alcohol enter. The two D day jall term not				
							·	
		<u> </u>						

					s Related to Alc micide by Vehic				
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		-		Sanctions				Other
STATE	1 1		Criminal S	Sanctions	1	Administ	rative Licensin	g Actions	<u> </u>
	State Has Such a Law/ Type of Offense	Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Fine (\$Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawai	Mandatory Action— Min, Length of License Withdrawai	
TEXAS	}								
·	Yes	2-10 years	No	5,000	No	Suspension	Not more than	- <u>-</u> -	
	3rd degree felony			•	·		, , , , , , ,		
	§19_05 Penal Code	§12-34 Penali Code	§ 12 ₊ 34	§12.34	§ 12,34	6687(b) \$22(b)(2) 6687(b) \$24(a)	6687(b) §23		
			ŀ				ŀ		
		·							٠.
UTAH						· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·			
	Yes	fysar (If not DUI)	No ·	100-1,000	No .	Revocation) year	l year	
		5 years (If DUI)	No	5,000	No ·	Revocation	lyear	1 year	
	541-6-43.10	541-6-43 _• 10		§41-6-43 _• 10		\$41-2-18 \$41-6-43,10	§41-2-21		

		Other Cr	Iminal Actions	Related to Alco	ohol Use and Driving	Cont I nued	
i		Driving While	e License Suspe		Where the Basis Was	a DWI Offense	
STATE	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Criminal		Sanctions		Istrative Licensing A	
	Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action	Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal Action
TEXAS		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·					
	Not less than 72 hours nor more than 6 months	No	Not less than 25 nor more than 500	No	Suspension	12 months	12 months
	6687(b) §34				6687(b) \$24(c)		
					·		
					·		
UTAH							
	6 months (maximum)	No No	299	No	Revocation	l year (additional)	l year
	541-2-30		§41-2 - 30		§41~2~18	§41-2-18(b) ·	
			·				· ·
		·		;			
. '			ļ				

			Other Crimi	nal Actions Rel	ated to Alcohol	Use and Drivin	g—Continued_		
1					Itual Offender				
1	!			Type of Criminal		Sanctions Foll	owing a Convict Habitual Offend	lon of Driving	
STATE	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Grounds for Being Decimed an Habitual Offender	Term of License Revocation White Under Habitual Offender Status	Offense If Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status	Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)
TEXAS	[
	Yes	"Any person with four or more convictions arising out of different transactions in a consecutive period of 12 months or 7 or more convictions arising out of different transactions w/in a period of	12 months 6687(b) §23 18 months In addition to a suspen- slon of a like amount as to original suspension if applicable	felony (If driving while Intox(cated)	Ist subsequent offense—not less than 10 days nor more than 2 years in county jail or not more than 5 years in state penitentiary (if driving while intoxicated)	No	Not less than 100 nor more than 5,000	No .	Suspens I on
	6687(b) \$22(b)(4)(6)	24 months" 6687(b) \$22(b)(4)(4)	6687(b) §24(c)	6701 . L1	6701 . L2				6687(b) 122(b)
UTĄH									
	No	{ —	-	-	-	,	} 		
	1		·			}	1		

.

				Other Sta	te Laws Re	lated to Alcohol Use and D	Priving		
		tequiring BAC ersons Killed			Lavs E	stablishing the Minimum egal Drinking Age	Dram Sh	op Laws and Related Legal .	Actions
STATE		BAC Chemic	al Test is Gi llowing Perso	ven to the			State	[™] Dram Shop Law [™] Concept Has Been Adopted via a	<u> </u>
	State Has Such A Law (Yes/No)	Driver	Vehicle Passengers	Pedestrians	Minimum Age (Years)	Special Exceptions to the Drinking Age Laws for Certain Kinds of Atcoholic Beverages	Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No)	Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record In the State (Give the Case Citation)	Other
TEXAS									
	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes.	19	· .	No	No .	
	See 6701(d)	(indirectly at 6701(d).							
· · · · · ·	\$46	\$46)			\$106.01	e-			
	}						}		
							,		
UTAH				<u>.</u>					
	Yes	Yes	· No	Yes	21	No	Yes	No	No
			·	(adults only)					
;		§26-1-30 (17)		\$26-1-30 (17)	132-7-15		§32-11-1		
		541-644.10							
					·				
							-		
•	1								
						·			

	Criminal Action Agai	nst Owner or Employees of Est lic Beverages to Intoxicated	to Alcohol Use and Driving—Cont ablishments That Serve Patrons	Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholi Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons		
STATE	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai	
TEXAS						
1st offense	Misdemeanor	Not more than 1 year	Not less than 100 nor more than 500	Yes	Not more than 60 days	
2nd offense Note: All statute references come from Vernon's Texas Code	§101 _. 63	Not more than 1 year 202,62(b)	Not less than 500 nor more than 1,000		\$61 , 71	
Annotated Alcoholic Beverage Code	·				,	
UTAH						
	Misdemeanor	30 days-1 year (mandatory)	100-1,000 (mandatory)	Yes	3 years	
	\$32-7-14 \$32-8-59	§32-8-59	§32-8-59		·	
	·	·.				
	·			1		

			Other Sta	te Laws Related to Alc	ohol Use and Oriving-	Continued		
STATE	Employees of Alcoholic Ber Alcoholic Ber	Actions Against f Establishments verages or the W verage to Those Imum Legal Drink	That Serve Frong Type of Persons Under	Establishments Th Beverages or the Wro Beverage to Those	ns Against Owners of at Serve Alcoholic ing Type of Alcoholic Persons Under the Drinking Age	Laws Prohibiting the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Motor Vehicle		
	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Law If Needed	
TEXAS	Misdemeanor	Not more than I year OR E	Not less than 100 nor more than 500	Yes (license may be suspended or cancelled at Commissions discretion \$106, (3(a))	1stnot more than 60 days 2ndnot more than 3 months 3rd (within 36 months)not more than 12 months	No	<u>-</u>	
UTAH	Misdemeanor	30 days- 1 year (mandatory) 532-8-59	100-1,000 (mandatory) \$32-8-59	Yes	3 years	Yes §41-6-44.	No	
	§32-8-59		·		·	20		

	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Basis for a DWI Charge		Chemical	Breath Tests for BA	C Level
					Implied C	onsent Law
STATE	Illegal Per Se Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other	Preliminary Breath Test Law	Arrest Required (Yes/No)	Other Information
VERMONT					,	
See: Vermont Statutes	0 . 10 \$. 0,10≴	No	Yes	Unclear, but probably not	No
Annotated, Cum, Supp, 1982 (current through Aprll 22, 1982)	23 §1201	23 §1204		23 {1202		
			•			
	•	·			·	·
		·		·		
VIRGINIA			· · · · · ·			
See: Code of Vinginia 1950	-	0.10\$		Yes	Yes	
Annotated, 1982 Cum. Supp.		(Code of Va. Ann. §18,2-269(3))		(Code of Va. Ann. § 18,2-267(c)		
			· 			
						<u> </u>
	•					
						}
				1		

	Other Chemi Authorized	ical Tests For BAC Level Under Law (Implied Co	ol Which Are onsent Law)	Adj	judication of DWI Charg	les
STATE	Blood	Urine	Other (Specify)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)
VERMONT					}	
;	Yes	No .	· No	No	No	No
i					:	
!						
					[
	·					
•				·		
VIRGINIA						
711171	Yes		·	No	No.	No
	·		·			
						·
		,				
· ·						1

			Sanctions for Refusal Chemical Br			<u>-</u>
STATE	Refusal	To Take Preliminary Bre	ath Test	Refusal To	Take Implied Consent (Chemical Test
	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jali)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jall)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other
VERMONT						
	Unclear, Individual may be subject to penalties provided for in 23 \$1210(a), i.e., \$125-500 and/or 1 year imprisonment	Na	No	125-500 and/or } year	1stsuspension 1 year 2nd (after 5 years)1 year suspension 2nd (within 5 years3 years revocation 3rd6 year revocation 4th + (after 15 years from 1st)6 years 4th + (within 15 years of 1st) for life	Suspension may be reduced to 6 months if defendant successfully completes a driver rehabilitation course and pays a fee into driver rehabilitation program. 3 year revocation may be reduced to 18 months if rehabilitation and therapy program completed plus costs paid. 6 year revocation may = 3 years if same conditions as above are mat.
W CONTA					23 \$1205	
VIRGINI A	N one	None	~	None	Suspension for 90 days; for a second or subsequent refusal within 1 year-suspension	

			Sanctions Follo	wing a Convicti	on for a DWI Offens	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
				Criminal Sanct	lons		
STATE	Impri	sonmen t	FI	ne		Other Penalties	
	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e.g., Victimis Fund)	Other
VERMONT							
	1 year	, No	125-500	Na	No	No	No
	}	·	23 §1210	•			
						 	
						j	
VIRGINIA				<u> </u>		<u>}</u>	:
1st offense	Class 1 misdemeanor 12 months	 -	Not more than 1,000		·		(Code of Va. Ann. §§18.2-11, 18.2-266, 18.2.270,
2nd offense (within 5 years)	1 month-1 year	48 hours	200-1,000				and 46.1-423.1)
2nd offense (5-10 years from 1st)	1 months-1 year		200-1,000	·			
3rd and sub. off. within 5 years	2 months+l year	30 days	500-1,000	· +-			
3rd and subsequent	2 months+1 year	10 days	500-1,000	-			·
offense 5-10 years from 1st							
4th offense [#] within 10 years	3-12 months		100-1,000*				
			*Additional penaities to those already				
			provided for under 3rd off.		· 	ļ	

		•				
		Senctions	Following a Convict	ion for a DWI OffenseC	Continued	
				Licensing Actions		
STATE	Pre-U)	II Conviction Licensing	Action	Post-Di	Term of License	g Action
	Administrative Per Se Law	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Withdrawal (Days, Honths, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawai
VERMONT				T		
	No	No	, No	Suspension	ist1 year suspension	90 days
				Also has a point system. When 10 points are accumulated in	2nd (after 5 years) 1 year suspension	90 days
				2-year period license may be suspended, Point	2nd (within 5 years) 3 years revocation	l0 months* (with rehablilitation therapy)
				schedule appears not to be in code. 23 §1206	3rd6 years revocation	3 years (with rehabilitation and therapy)
				23 12501~2507	4th + (after 15 years from 1st) 6 years 4th (within	
·				1	15 years)Ilfe	23 11208
VIRGINIA						
st offense	· No	No		Revocation	3 years	Same
nd offense ulthin 5 years)	. No	No		Revocation	3 years	See Rehabilitation section.
d offense (5-10 ers from (st)	No	No		Revocation	3 years	
d and sub. off. thin 5 years	No	No		Revocation	10 years*	
d and sub. off. 10 years from it	No	No		Revocation	10 years*	
th offense [*] Ithin 10 years	No	No		Revocation	5 years #See special note at the end of the	

			Sanctions Following	e Conviction for	a DWI Offense-Con	tinued	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
				Other			
		Rehabilitation		Vehicle	Impoundment/Confl	scation	1
STATE	Alcohol Education	Alcohol Trestwent	Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Released	Dther	Miscellaneous Sanctions Not included Elsewhere
VERMONT							
	Therapy a prerequisite also for 2nd conviction, within 5 years,	Successful completion of driver's rehabilitation program		No			
	for getting license back sooner.	prerequisite to getting license back in less than 1 year					
	Any revocation of 3+ years may be ended upon showing of total atcohol						
	abstinence for 2 years						
VIRGINIA							
1st offense	Yes	Yes	A restricted permit may be	No			Special Note: A
2nd offense (within 5 years)	Yes	Yes	Issued, If court authorizes offender to		·	· · · .	be restored after 5 years if they are at the time of the DUI
2nd offense (5-10 years from 1st)	Yes	Yes	participate in either an education or				conviction dependent on sicohol, and have been cured of such
3rd and sub, off. within 5 years	Yes	Yes	treatment program,				dependency, and are not otherwise a threat
3rd and sub. off. 5-10 years from 1st	Yes	Yes					to the public safety.
4th offense* within 10 years	Yes	Yes		. *			
	18,2-271,1	<u> </u>			L		1

		······································	Other (Oriminal Action	s Related to Al-	cohol Use and D	riving		
Ī	<u> </u>	<u> </u>		Ho	micide by Vehic	le			
ĺ	·				Sanctions				Other
STATE			<u>Criminal</u>	Sanctions		Administ	rative Licensin	g Actions	•
	State Has Such a Law/ Type of Offense	imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal	Mandatory Action— Min. Length of License Withdrawal	:
VERMONT								·	
	Yes	1-15 years#	No	3,000	No	Suspension	5 years	No	
		#These penalties do not foreclose option of tougher penalties for manslaughter (homicide) convictions. 23 [1091(a) 23 [1210(b)					·		
VIRGINIA									
	· No		-		-				
						-	·		
	· . ·	·			Ì				
						·			
,)				

Ļ			 		hol Use and Driving-		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	1
	,	Driving Whii	e License Suspe		Where the Basis Was	a DWI Offense		4
STATE		Criminat	 	Sanctions		istrative Licensing A	ctions	1
[Imprisonment	Mandatory Minimum Term of	Fine	Mandatory Minimum Fine	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/	Longth of Term of	Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal	1
	(Term)	Imprisonment	(\$ Range)	(\$)	Revocation)	Action	Action	
VERMONT							•	
1st oftense	30 days	. No	500	No I	Suspension	30 days (edditional)	No	ļ
2nd offense	90 days	No	500	No		90 days		1 .
3rd offense	6 months	No	1,000	. No	· ·	6 months or	· .	1
4th offense	2 years	No	1,000	No		suspension under point system whichever is		
•	·					greater		1
	23 5674		23 \$674			23 12506		
				1			,	•
				}	·			
j					-			}
1]
VIRGINIA								
1st offense	10 days - 6 months		100-200		Revocation or	The same period for	Same	1
2nd and	2 months-1 year	all of the jall sentence may be	200-1,000	'	suspension	which the license has been previously		
subsequent offenses		suspended; term of mandatory		1		suspended or revoked; If	•	
•		imprisonment not specified in the		!		original period not specified, then the		l
į		statute			• • • • • • • •	suspension or		
	· (Cq	de of Va Ann. 5546.1-	350, -351.1)	1		revocation is not to exceed 90 days		ł
1		,		!				1
j					·.	. .		ł
• • •								1
}	•	-						
Į.	. 1					!		ŀ

		. 	Other Crim	Inal Actions Rel	ated to Alcohol	Use and Driving	jContinued		
		· ····			Itual Offender				_ -
1				Type of Criminal		Sanctions Follows While on the	owing a Convict Nabitual Offens	tion of Driving Jer Status	
1	Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender	Term of License Revocation While Under Habituel Offender Status	Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status	imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)	
VERMONT						}		,	
	Yes	8 or more convictions	2 years	Misdemeanor	1st30 days	No	500	No	Suspension
1	23 \$6730	based on moving violations							30 days (additional)
		within 5-year period			2nd90 days	No	500	No	90 days
	,	perioa		}	3rd6 months	No	1,000	No	6 months
					4th+2 years	No	1,000	No	6 months or suspension under point system whichever is greater
VIRGINIA									
	Yes	3 serious offenses within I year or 12 serious and/or minor violations with 10 years	10 years	Felony	1-5 years	I year (Note: The statute states that a portion of the sentence may be suspended;	<u> </u>	_	There is no specific licensing. action.
	(Code of Va.	Ann. 1118,2-8, ,12, 46,1-5	46,1-387,9:2, 14,6 et seq.	46,1~387,1 to		therefore since the minimum sentence is 1 year. This is the minimum term of imprisonment.			

<u> </u>	r -		Other Sta	ite Laws Related to Alc	obol Use and Orlying-	-Cont Inved	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
STATE	Employees of Alcoholic Bey Alcoholic Bey	Actions Against Establishments Verages or the M Verage to Those Imum Legal Drink	Owners or That Serve Irong Type of Persons Under	Administrative Actio Establishments Th Beverages on the Wro Beverage to Those	ens Against Owners of lat Serve Alcoholic leng Type of Alcoholic Persons Under the Orinking Age	Laws Prohibiting the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Reverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Motor Vehicle		
	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Law If Needed	
VERMONT	Misdemeanor	l year	0-200	Yes	indeterminate	No	No	
··	·	7 1658	7 \$658	7 5236	7 §236			
				·			·	
VIRGINIA	Misdemeanor	Not more than 12 months	Not more than 500	Revocation or suspension	Time period not specified in the	No .		
	(Code of Va. 4-37(Ann. §§ 4-37(C1), 4-37(C2), -92)	(Note: In addition or in lieu of revoking or suspending a license, a civil fine may be imposed as follows:	statute			
				Istnot more than 1,000 2ndnot more than 2,500 3rdnot more than 5,000)	·			

		Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons							
STATE	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of Licen Withdrawai				
VERMONT									
	None	N/A	N/A	No	indeterminate				
,	Specified dram shop section implies that some sales of alcohol may be unlawful (e.g., if to person on list of persons to whom alcohol is			but license revoked if					
	of persons to whom alcohol is not to be sold).	·		civii judgment eqeinst licensee not pald					
		·		within 30 days					
	7 5501		,	7 \$236					
VIRGINIA									
	Misdemeanor	Not more than 12 months	Not more than 500	Revocation	Time period not specif				
	(Cod	e of Va. Ann. §§4+37, 4-62, and	4-92)	suspension ⁴	In the statute				
				*See note In section on sanctions for serving minors Intoxicat-					
				fng (Iquor					
									
			•						

				Other Sta	to Laws Re	lated to Alcohol Use and D	riving		
	Laws Re	equiring BAC	Chemical Test in Traffic Cr	s on Those	Laws E	stablishing the Minimum egal Drinking Age	Dram Sh	op Laws and Related Legal	Actions
STATE		BAC Chemic fo	al Test is Gi Howing Perso	ven to the			State		
	State Has Such A Law (Yes/No)	Driver	Vehicle Passengers	Pedestrians	Minimum Age (Years)	Special Exceptions to the Drinking Age Laws for Certain Kinds of Alcoholic Beverages	Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No)	Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record In the State (Give the Case Citation)	Other
VERMONT					,				
·		Yes 23 §1202	Unclear, probably yes	Unclear, probably yes	· 18	No	Yes	No	No
					7 \$173	·	7 \$501		
							:		
				! . 		-		·	
		-							
VIRGINIA						-			
	No	. 			18/21	18on premises sale of beer	No	No	-
		·	·			19off premises sale of beer			
						21wine and distilled spirits			
					(Cod	e of Va. Ann. §4-62)		·	

		Basis for a DWI Charge		Chemics	I Breath Tests for 8A	C Level
					Implied C	onsent Law
STATE	lilegal Per Se Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other	Preliminary Breath Test Low	Arrest Regulred (Yes/No)	Other Information
WASHINGTON						
See: Revised Code of Washington Annotated, 1970, 1982 Cum. Supp. (1962, 1982 Cum. Supp., alcohol sections) and	0_10\$ (Rev. Code of Wash. Ann. §46-61.506(1))	0,10\$ (Rev. Code of:Wash. Ann. §46,61,502(1))		Na	Yes (Rev. Code of Wash. Ann. §46-20-308)	 -
Washington Legislative Service (West's) 1982, #1-6						·
WEST VIRGINIA						
See: West Virginia Code take effect September 1, 1981	Yes 0 _• 10≴	0, 10≴	+-+	Yes	Yes	
		17C-5-8		17C-5-5	170-5-4	,
						·
	,					

	Other Chemi Authorized	cal Tests For BAC Leve Under Law (Implied Co	el Which Are Misent Law)	Adj	udication of DWI Char	ges
STATE	Blood	Urine	Other (Specify)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)
WASHINGTON						
	Yes			No	No !	Yes
			·			for 2nd and subsequent DWF offenses
			•			
			•			
		·				
WEST VIRGINIA		-				
	Yes	Yes		No	Мо	·
	17C-5-8(c)	17C-5-8(c)			·	
·						
		-				
				f 	·	
			·			
						·.
						<u> </u>

STATE	Retusat	To Take Preliminary Br	Chemical B		Take Implied Consent Ch	enical Test
	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jail)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jali)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other
washington	N/A	N/A	N/A	None :	Revocation for 6 months (Rev. Code of Washington §46,20,311)	
· .		·	· · ·			
WEST VIRGINIA	None	None		No	1 year 17C-5-4 17C-5-7	

			Sanctions Follo	wing a Convicti	on for a DWI Offens	6	
				Criminal Sanct	lons		
STATE	lmpri	sonment	Fine				
	Tarm (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e.g., Victim's Fund)	Other
WASHINGTON			·				
1st offense	24 hours-1 year	24 hours	Not more than 500**			-	
2nd and subsequent offenses (w/n 5 years)	7 days-1 year	7 days*	Not more than 1,000**				_
2nd and subsequent DUI oftense but	90 days-1 year	90 days#	Not more than 1,000	200	. 		-
offender has no license or because suspended or revoked		"May be suspended only if jall would impose a risk to defendant's physical or mental well-being.	**An additional amount equal to 25% of any fine is paid into a special fund for a statewide				·
			alcohol safety program.				•
	(Rev. Code o	f Wash. Ann. \$546.61	502, - 504, and	- , 515)	· — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — —		
WEST VIRGINIA	ļ						
	24 hours-6 months	24 hours	100-500	100	Yes		_
	17C-5A-2	17C-5A-2			17C-5-2(1)		
					·	1	
	·						
			·			}	
					·		

ļ		Sanctions		on for a DWI OffenseC	onflnued	
		. <u> </u>		Licensing Actions		
STATE	Administrative Per Se Law	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Post-ON Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawai
WASHINGTON						
1st offense	No	Yes	 -	Suspension	Not less than 30 days	*
2nd offense (w/n 5 years)	No	Yes		Suspension	Not less than 60 days	Same*
3rd and subsequent offenses (w/n 5 years)	No	Yes		Revocation	1 year	Same* "A restricted licens may be issued under certain conditions; see the Rev. Code of Wash. Ann. \$46,20,391.
WEST VIRGINIA	Yes			Revocation 17C-5A-2	6 months 17C-5A-2	6 months

		· •	Sanctions Following		a DWI Offense-Con	t Inued	·
	 			Other			
STATE	Alcohol Education	Rehabilitation Alcohol Treatment	Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Impoundment/Confl Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Released	Other	Miscelfaneous Sanctions Not Included Eisewhere
WASHINGTON				,]		
lst oftense	Yes	Yes	Yes	No			- -
2nd offense (wn/ 5 years)	Yes	Yes	Yes Except for the first 60 days		·		
3rd and subsequent offenses (w/n 5 years)	Yes	· Yes	No No				
WEST VIRGINIA							
'		Yes 170-5A-3	-	No			-
						. •	
,							

			VINDI	Criminal Action			TITING		
	<u> </u>			Ho	micide by Vehic	16			041
STATE			Criminal	Sanctions	Sanctions	Administra	rative Licensin	a Actions	Other
	State Has Such a Law/ Type of Offense	Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	iength of Term of Licensing Withdrawal	Mandatory Action— Min. Length of License Withdrawai	·
WASHINGTON									
	Yes Where death Is caused by	Not more than 10 years		Not more than 1,000		Revocation.	1 year	Same* *A restricted	
	the operation of a vehicle while under the influence		·					be issued under certain conditions.	
	of Intoxicat- ing Hquor or In a reckless manner.			·	,				
		Rev. Code of Wa	sh. §§46.20,285	and 46.61.520)	· 			
WEST VIRGINIA	Yes	Not more than 1 year	·	Not less than 100 nor more than 1,000		Revocation	If death directly due to reckless- ness due to BAC10 years for 1st offense of	Depends on circumstances surrounding death (whether direct or proximate cause)	
	17C-5A-2(1)					170-5A-2(1) and (2)	DWI; If 2nd or more offense of DWIw/ drawal for		•
							Ilfe; If death is proximately caused by DWI 5 years If lst offense of DWI and w/		_
				·			drawal for life if 2nd or more con- victions of		

		Other Cr	iminal Actions	Related to Alco	hot Use and Driving-	Continued		
		Oriving While	e License Suspe		Where the Basis Was	a DWI Offense		
STATE	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·			Sanctions	Administrative Licensing Actions			
	imprisonment	Criminal Mandatory Minimum Term of	Mandatory Fine Minimum Fine		Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/	Length of Term of	Mandatory Term of License Withdrawal	
·	(Term)	Imprisonment	(\$ Range)	(\$)	Revocation)	Action	Action	
WASHINGTON	,	• .						
ist offense	10 days-6 months	. 	Not more than 500		Suspension or revocation	it offense is driving white	Same*	
2nd offense	90 days-1 year		Not more than			suspended, an additional suspension for a		
3rd offense	1 year	-	Not more than 500		·	period equal to the original suspension period; if the		
						offense is driving white revoked, an additional revocation period of lyear		
		ense listed under the sh. Ann. \$\$46.20.342,					"A restricted license may be issued under certal conditions.	
WEST VIRGINIA								
1st offense	Misdemeanor -	48 hours	50-500	50		if Ilcense was		
	. 48 hours	, e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e				originally Suspended the license withdrawal		
2nd offense	Misdemeanor 10 days		100-500			would be equivalent to the original period of		
3rd and subsequent	Misdemeanor		50-500			suspension.		
offenses	6 months				·	If license was revoked, I year extension of the original		
•	178-4-3	<u> </u>	178-4-3	,		revocation. 178-4-3		
	1/8-4-3	}	1/6-4-3			i i		

f			OTHER GITTER		Itual Offender	Use and Driving	g		· 		
				Type of Criminal	Sanctions Following a Conviction of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status						
STATE	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Grounds for Being Declared an Habitusi Offender	Term of License Revocation While Under Habitual Offender Status	Offense If Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Hebitual Offender Status	Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)		
WASHINGTON		·									
	Yes	3 serious offenses with- in 5 years or a combination of 20 minor and for serious offenses with- in 5 years provided that 3 minor offenses must have been committed within a period of 360 days for this alternative to apply.	treatment program; or after 2 years a restricted or whole license may be issued.	Gross mlsdemeanor	Not more than I year If convicted for DWI and for this offense, the penalty is 30 days— I year and the 30 day sentence shall not be suspended or deferred				There is no special ilcensing action for this offense.		
EST VIRGINIA	 										
	No	None	. 		+		 .				
					-	•					
					}						
	·							ļ			
ľ	l		·.	ļ							

<u>.</u>				Other Sta	te Laws Re	lated to Alcohol Use and E	Orlving			
	taws F	Requiring BAC ersons Killed	Chemical Test In Traffic Cr	s on Those	Laws E	stabilishing the Minimum egal Drinking Age	Dram Shop Laws and Related Legal Actions			
STATE	·	BAC Chemical Test is Given to the Following Persons				State	"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted via a			
	State Has Such A Law (Yes/No)	Driver	Vehicle Passengers	Pedestrians	Minimum Age (Years)	Age	Special Exceptions to the Drinking Age Laws for Certain Kinds of Alcoholic Beverages	Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No)	Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record In the State (Give the Case Citation)	Other
WASHINGTON										
	Yes	Yes	No	Yes	21		No	Callan v. O'Nell,		
	(Rev. C	ode of Wash. 46.	Ann. §§46.20. 52.065)	308(1) and	, (Rev	. Code of Wash. Ann. . §46,44,290)		578 P,2d 890 (1978)		
•						·			·	
						·	•	·		
•										
WEST VIRGINIA										
	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	18	N/A	No	N/A		
	17C-5- 7(4)				60-3-22	ં તું જ				
		,					ļ. 			
						٠.				
				·						

	Other State Laws Related t	o Alcohol Use and Driving—Con-	t Inued	
			of Establis	rive Actions Against Owners Inments That Serve Alcoholic is to intoxicated Patrons
Type of Criminal Action	Term of imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawal
	Not more than 2 months	Not more than 500	Suspension	1
	Not more than 6 months	+-	revocation	statute
	Not more than I year	 .	•	
		Not more than 5,000	!	
(Rev. Code of Wash, Ann, 6	 \$66_04_010, 66_24_010, 66_44_1E	Not more than 10,000* *And/or fortelture of Its corporate license. 30, 66,44,200, and 66,44,280 (Recommendations)	epealed))	
Misdemeanor	Not more than 1 year	Not less than 100 nor more than 500	Yes	1 year
			Suspended or revoked	
	60-17-13			
1				
		·		
	Type of Criminal Action (Rev. Code of Wash, Ann. 5	Criminal Action Ageinst Owner or Employees of Esta Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated P Type of Criminal Action Term of Imprisonment Not more than 2 months Not more than 6 months Not more than 1 year (Rev. Code of Wash. Ann. \$566.04.010, 66.24.010, 66.44.18 Misdemeanor Not more than 1 year	Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons Fine Type of Criminal Action Not more than 2 months Not more than 500 Not more than 6 months Not more than 1 year Not more than 10,000* And/or forteliture of Its corporate license. (Rev. Code of Wash. Ann. 1166,04,010, 66,24,010, 66,44,180, 66,44,200, and 66,44,280 (Rev. Misdemeanor) Not more than 1 year Not less than 100 nor more than 500	Criminal Action Against Owner or Employees of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Type of Criminal Action Term of Imprisonment Not more than 2 months Not more than 500 Not more than 6 months Not more than 1 year Not more than 1,0000* *And/or fortaliture of its corporate license. (Rev. Code of Mash. Ann. 1566,04,010, 66,24,010, 65,44,180, 66,44,200, and 66,44,280 (Repealed)) Misdemeanor Not more than 1 year Not less than 100 nor more than 500 Suspension or revocation Not more than 10,000* *And/or fortaliture of its corporate license. (Rev. Code of Mash. Ann. 1566,04,010, 66,24,010, 66,44,180, 66,44,200, and 66,44,280 (Repealed)) Misdemeanor Not more than 1 year Not less than 100 nor more than 500 Suspended or revoked

<u>.</u>			Other Sta	te Laws Related to Alc	cohol Use and Driving-	Continued		
STATE	Employees of Alcoholic Bey Alcoholic Bey	Actions Against Establishments Verages or the W Verage to Those Imum Legal Drink	That Serve rong Type of Persons Under	Establishments Th Beverages or the Wro Beverage to Those	ons Against Owners of Nat Serve Alcoholic Mag Type of Alcoholic Persons Under the Drinking Age	Laws Prohibiting the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Motor Vehicle		
· -	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawat	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Law If Needed	
WASHINGTON								
		Same penalties serving alcoho to intoxicated	lic beverages	Suspension or revocation	Not specified in the statute	Yes	This law provides that no person shall open a package containing liquor or consume liquor in a public place	
	(Rev. Code of	 Wash. Ann. 556	6.24.010, 66.4	 4.180, 66.44.270, 66.4	4,320, and 66,44,325)	66,44,100		
	<u>.</u>	ĺ						
	} -		;	·			·	
			:					
WEST VIRGINIA								
	Misdemeanor	Not more than 1 year	Not less than 100 nor more than	Suspended or revoked	1 уеаг	No		
			500				•	
	}					}		
					}		·	
•								
						}		
]		
						:		
				<u> </u>				

	В	lasis for a DWI Charge		Chemica	1.Breath Tests for BA	C Level
STATE				Preliminary	Arrest	onsent Law
	(illegal Per Sa Law (BAC Level)	Presumption (BAC Level)	Other	Breath Test Law	Required (Yes/No)	Other Information
WISCONSTN						
See: Wisconsin Statutes Annotated, 1971, 1982 Supp. and West's Wisconsin Legislative Service, 1982 (current to June 14, 1982)	0_10≸		 ,	Yes	Yes	
			·		·	
WYOMING						
See: Wyoming Statutes Annotated, 1977, 1980 Cum. Supp. (current through 1979 Regular Session and 1980 Budget Session)			A BAC of 0.10% is admissible as prima facie evidence of intoxication. (Wyoming Stat. Ann. §32-5-233)	No	Yes	
		:				

	Other Chemi Authorized	cal Tests For BAC Leve Under Law (Implied Co	I Which Are insent Low)	Adjudication of DWI Charges				
STATE	Blood	Urlne	Other (Specify)	Mandatory Adjudication Law (Yes/No)	Anti-Plea Bargaining Statute (Yes/No)	Pre-Sentence Investigation Law (PSI) (Yes/No)		
WISCONSIN								
	Yes	Yes	·	No	. No	Yes		
					·	(Wis. Stat. Ann. §343.305(9)(c)		
		,	·			•		
	-		e i			$v_{i,j} = v_{i,j}$		
	·				}			
WYOMING								
	Yes	Yes		No	No .	No		
			·					
					}			
	·		·		}			
	·	;]			
					!			
					į			
						•		

				el To Submit to a BAC Breath Test		
STATE	Refusal	To Take Preliminary Br	eath Test	Refusal To T	ake implied Consent C	hemical Test
	Criminal Sanctions (Fine/Jall)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other	Criminat Sanctions (Fine/Jall)	Administrative Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Other-
WISCONSIN						
	None	None	(Wis. Stat. §§343,305(1) and 343-305(2)(a))	Nana	6 months (a restricted license may be issued after 15 days); " I year (a restricted license may be issued after 60 days) where there has been a previous refusal and/or DUI conviction and/or injury/death accident by vehicle where intoxication was involved within 5 years; "2 years (a restricted license may be issued after 90 days) where there has been suspension for 30 days	Two or more previous refusals and/or DWI convictions and/or injury/death accident where intoxication was involved within 5 years, i.e., three refusals or DUI related convictions within 5 years
WYOMING	·					
	N/A	N/A	N/A	None 	Suspension for 30 days	
	·					

 		 	Sanctions Follo	wing a Conviction	for a DWI Offense	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , 	
				Criminal Sanctio	ns		
STATE	I mpr l	sonmen†	FI	ne		Other Penalties	
	Term (Day, Months, Years, Etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Amount (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Community Service	Restitution (e.g., Victim's Fund)	Other
WISCONSIN]						İ
Non-Injury related DUI oftenses*			:				
1st offense			150-300		None	None	*Special Note: A revocation is one
		es only if there has r driving while into ype within 5 years					based on a refusal to submit an implied consent chemical test.
2nd offense	5 days- 6 months	, == 2	300-1,000				Chemical 1651.
	revocation or drivi	ly If there have bee ng while intoxicated ype within 5 years, ions within 5 years	l type				
3rd offense	30 days-1 year		600-2,000				
	previous revocation	ly if there has been s or driving while i type within 5 years, lons within 5 years	ntoxicated type				
Injury related	30 days-1 year		300-2,000				
DUI offenses	(Wis. Stat. Ann.	\$\$343_305, 346_65, a seq.)	and 885,235 et			·	
WYOM I NG		·					
1st offense	Misdemeanor 1-30 days	1 day	Not more than 200	'			
2nd and subsequent oftenses	Misdemeanor 7-90 days	7 days	Not more than 200		 .	·	
(w/n 5 years)	 (Wyoming Stat. A	nn. \$\$31-5-233, 51-6	-101, and 31+7+1	27 et seq.)	•		

 	<u> </u>	Sanctions	Following a Conviction	on for a DW1 OffenseC	Continued	
			Administrative i	Icensing Actions		
STATE	Pre-DW	I Conviction Licensing	Action	Post-Dw	II Conviction Licensin	g Action
	Administrative Per Se Law	UVC Type of Provisions	Other	Type of Licensing Action (Suspension/ Revocation)	Term of License Withdrawal (Days, Months, Years, etc.)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Withdrawai
WESCONSEN						
Non-Injury related DUI offenses#	Na .	No				
ist offense	,				Suspension 3-6 months	
2nd oftense			ŕ		no previous refusals me within 5 years; a r	or DUI type offense estricted license may
210 0110030				Re	evocation 6 months—1 y	ear
				convictions of any ty		
3rd offense		,			Revocation 1-2 years	i
Injury related	No	No		convictions within 5	years; le., three ref	d/or DUI type offense usals/convictions e Issued after 60 days.
DUI offenses]	.~		Revocation	1-2 years	60 days
	(Wis. Stat. Ann.	11343,30, 343,31, 343	.305, and 346.65)	A restricted license	may be issued after 6	0 days
WYOM ENG						
1st offense	No	No	- -	Suspension or revocation	90 days*	90 d a ys
2nd offense	No	No .		Suspension or revocation	6 months#	6 months
3rd offense:	No	No		Reoveation	1 year #It appears that a Ifcense could be	Same
	(Wyoming S	tat. Ann. \$\$31-7-123 t	o 31-7-135)		suspended or revoked up to 1 year	

<u> </u>			Sanctions Following	a Conviction for	a DWI Oftense-Com	tinued	
Ì				Other			
<u> </u>		Rehabilitation	·	Vehicle	Impoundment/Confl	scation	
STATE	Alcohol Education	Alcohol Treatment	Alcohol Educa- tion/Treatment as an Alternative to Criminal/ Licensing Actions (Describe)	Authorized By Specific Statutory Authority	Terms Upon Which Vehicle Will be Released	Other	Miscellaneous Sanctions Not included Elsewhere
WISCONSIN							
	Yes	Yes	Operating privilege shall be suspended if a person does not comply with Court-ordered alcohol assessment (DWI screening), education or treatment program	No .		(Note: Vehicles may be impounded as a result of an operator-owner's fallure to post security for an accident; see Wis. Stat. Ann. \$344.12 et seq.)	
WYOMING				-			
				No			 !
					· ·		
]							

				Ho	micide by Vehic	le			
	 				Sanctions				Other
STATE	[<u> </u>	Criminal	Sanctions	June 11 June	Administ	rative Licensin	a Actions	51,101
J	State Has Such a Law/ Type of Ottense	Imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fina (\$)	Licensing Authorized and Type of Action	Length of Term of Licensing Withdrawal	Mandatory Action Min, Length of License Withdrawai	
WISCONSIN		·			,				
	Yes Class E felony Death caused by operation of a vehicle with a high degree of	Not more than 2 years		Not more than 10,000		Revocation	l year	A restricted ilcense may be issued.	
	negligence Class D felony	Not more than 5 years		Not more than 10,000		Revocation	5 years	120 days	
	where death caused by the operation of a vehicle in an infox— icated	o years		10,000				A restricted license may be issued after this period.	
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	condition (Wis, St	at. Ann. \$\$343.	10, 343,31, 939	.50, 940.08, an	d 940,09)		·		
WYOMING	•								
	Yes Death caused	Not more than		Not more than 2,000		Revocation or suspension	Not more than 12 months	Same	
	by operation of a vehicle in violation				İ				·
	of the motor vehicles laws regulating traffic								
	control	ng Stat. Ann. 1	131-5-1115 (rep	ealed) and 31-5	-1117)	(Wyomlong Stat. Ann. §§31-7+126(a) ([[]) {repealed}			

					hol Use and Driving		
		Driving Whil	e License Suspe		Where the Basis Was	a DWI Offense	
STATE	<u> </u>	Criminal		Sanctions		Istrative Licensing A	ictions.
	imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Type of Licensing	Length of Term of License Withdrawal Action	Mandatory Term of Elcense Withdrawal Action
WISCONS IN			·			,	
1st offense	Not more than 6 months	, - -	150-600	·	Revocation	6 months	A mandatory license withdrawal period is
2nd offense*	10 days-6 months		300-1,000.		Revocation	6 months	not specified; a restricted ilcense could be reissued
3rd offense*	30 days-9 months		1,000-2,000	·	Revocation	6 months	but only if there has been no previous
4th oftense*	60 days-1 year		1,500-2,500		Revocation	6 months	Suspension or reovcation for the
5th and subsequent offenses	6 months-1 year		2,000-2,500	· · ·	Revocation	6 months	past year.
*(Within 5 years)	(Wi	s. Stat. Ann. \$\$343,3	1 and 343,44)				·
,		·	·				
WYOMING							
	Misdemeanor		Not more than		Suspension or	The original	Same
	Not more than 6 months		100		revocation	suspension or revocation period is extended 1 year	·
		(Wyoming Stat. Ann.	31-7-135)				
	Solution and the solution of t	•					
	: :	-		•	· ·.		
		·					
				:		-	
							· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
	•				•		

	,		Other Crimi	nat Actions Rela	···		gContinued	·	·····
					Itual Offender			les et Delutes	
		1		Type of Criminal		Sanctions rotte	owing a Convict Habitual Offend	er Status	
STATE	State Has Such e Law (Yes/No)	Grounds for Being Declared an Habitual Offender	Term of License Revocation While Under Habitual Offender Status	Offense if Convicted on Charges of Driving While on Habitual Offender Status	imprisonment (Term)	Mandatory Minimum Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	Mandatory Minimum Fine (\$)	Licensing Actions (Specify)
WISCONSIN								·	
	No.			 -				. - -	
			,					· .	
	1		,					-	·
WYOMING	No			- -		 -			
			. '						
					,				
						·	_		

		·		Other Ste	te Laws Re	lated to Alcohol Use and D	riving		-
	Laws Re	equiring BAC	Chemical Test in Traffic Cr	s on Those	Laws E	stabilshing the Minimum egat Drinking Age	Dram Sh	op Laws and Related Legal	Actions
STATE	·		al Test Is Gi Howing Perso				State	"Dram Shop Law" Concept Has Been Adopted via a	
	State Has Such A Law (Yes/No)	Orlver	Vehicle Passengers	Pedestriens	Minimum Age (Years)	Special Exceptions to the Drinking Age Laws for Certain Kinds of Alcoholic Beverages	Has a Dram Shop Law (Yes/No)	Change to the Common Law Rule by Action of This Highest Court of Record In the State (Give the Case Citation)	Other
WISCONS IN		-		•			_		
	Yes	Yes	No	Yes	18 (Wis. Stat. Ann. §125.07)		No (Wis. Stat. Ann. §176,35 repeated l		- -
,									
WYOMING									
	Yes	Yes	No	, No	19	 ,	Yes	·	
	20 54935				(Wyoming Stat. Ann. \$12-6-101)		(Wyoming Stat. Ann. §12-34)		
			+ 1	·				·	
		;				!			

, 110

	Criminal Action Aga Alcoho	Administrat of Establis Beverage	Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages to Intoxicated Patrons		
STATE	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai
WISCONSIN		Not more than 60 days	100–500		. 12 months
	Misdemeanor (N	Revocation	Revocation 12 months		
		·			
		}			•
***************			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		
WYOMING					
	(Wyo				
		·			

STATE	Other State Laws Related to Alcohol Use and Driving—Continued								
	Criminal Actions Against Owners or Employees of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age			Administrative Actions Against Owners of Establishments That Serve Alcoholic Beverages or the Wrong Type of Alcoholic Beverage to Those Persons Under the Minimum Legal Drinking Age		Laws Prohibiting the Possession of Open Containers of Alcoholic Beverages in the Passenger Compartment of a Motor Vehicle			
	Type of Criminal Action	Term of Imprisonment	Fine (\$ Range)	License to Serve Alcoholic Beverages Withdrawn (Yes/No)	Length of Term of License Withdrawai	State Has Such a Law (Yes/No)	Explanation of Such State Law If Naeded		
WISCONSIN									
1st affense	(Forfelture)		Not more than 500	* *		Yes			
2nd offense (w/n 12 months)	(Fortelture)	-	200-500	Suspension*	Not more than 3 days	(Wis. Stat. Ann. §346,935)			
3rd offense (w/n 12 months)	(Forfeiture)		200~500	Suspension*	3-10 days				
4th offense W/n 12 months).	(Forfelture)	-	200–500	*noteneque2	15-30 days		·		
	(Wis. Stat.	Ann. \$\$125-07,	and 125, (2)	*Revocation for 12 months.					
WYOM I NG							· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		
	Misdemeanor	Not more than 6 months	Not more than 100	Suspension or revocation where there is gross violation of the law	A suspension is not to exceed the balance of the ferm for which the license was issued; as for revocation, no time period is fixed in the statute.	No			
	(Wyoming S	Stat. Ann. 5512- 12-7-102)	6-101, and						

